Dundas BI Software


Showing 21-40 of 44

Start your review of Dundas BI

Click to start
http://www.softwareadvice.com/bi/dundas-bi-review/

Devon from Tenaska Power Services Co
Specialty: Energy & Utilities

October 2015

October 2015

Great product that balances Ease-of-use with Functionality well.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Likes Best

Striking the balance between functionaility and ease-of-use, Dundas BI is accessible while remaining robust, which is unusual for this type of software. The out-of-the-box functionality is deep, and most things you cannot do natively can be scripted using Javascript. The learning curve is short to get started creating high level visualizations.

Likes Least

The depth is nearly unlimited, however you have to know Javascript (or be willing to learn it) to get functionality that isn't native to the product. As the product is relatively new, there are some bugs, but they have a reasonably fast release cycle and those bugs are squashed quickly and/or have an acceptable short-term workaround. Sometimes it is difficult to understand what an error means without some technical background, but their support makes up for this.

Recommendations

If you need a deep tool that will give you plenty of flexibility this product will suffice. The customer support great. Their pricing is very flexible. For any tool like this, massaging/preparing your data is the most time-consuming part and Dundas is no different. After that, though, they excel in creating usable, great looking, data visualizations.

 
 

Mark from Tenaska Power Services
Specialty: Energy & Utilities

October 2015

October 2015

Solid Performer

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Likes Best

The ease of use is fantastic. New users can have a dashboard up and running in minutes but it still offers the depth required to create custom visualizations and interactions.

Likes Least

Sometimes the controls can be frustrating to access with lesser-used settings that are buried several menus deep.

Recommendations

Cost, ease of use, and customization (without expensive consulting) are key.

 
 

Lori from ISI
Specialty: Consulting

October 2015

October 2015

Powerful visualizations at a cost effective price

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support
N/A
Likes Best

The software is very flexible and has a variety of options to choose from when building dashboards. The Dundas Team is professional, responsive and easy to work with.

Likes Least

It would be beneficial if there was a technical rep in the DFW area.

Recommendations

Do your research about the staging of the data. Understand the pitfalls associated with connecting directly to source systems.

 
 

Dan from ISI
Specialty: Consulting

October 2015

October 2015

Great BI Platform to Satisfy Broad Spectrum of BI Stakeholders

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Likes Best

This is a well designed end to end, ie data staging to visualization tool. It will satisfy the dev and power analysts through decision makers. Unlike many legacy platforms, this is not bulky, can be on prem, in the cloud or hosted. It is a fully browser enabled application, unlike leading newcomers who have bulky client components. The collaborative capabilities are unique and differentiate this product from leading players. Lastly, the output is fully HTML5 enabled for mobile consumption. Competitors have developed siloed device OS apps which are costly and complex to support.

Likes Least

Dundas has been a well kept secret, even though they've been around for 20+ years. New marketing and partner relationships will deal with this.

Recommendations

Dundas BI definitely should be on your list when selecting a BI solution. The pricing model is unique, in particular the elasticity model which no one else offers.

 
 

Jacqui from Bespoke Software
Specialty: Consulting

October 2015

October 2015

Fast dashboard development

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Likes Best

Product: That they have taken the HTML5 path and eventually the tool will become more responsive so solution providers can get closer to the build once and deploy on any device nirvana that clients are coming to expect.
Vendor: The awesome support team. Always very responsive to any queries that we have had.

Likes Least

Product: The navigation paradigm for people who don't embed this tool in another application, but rather use it as a stand alone tool. You pretty much need to roll your own.
Vendor: That they don't have the exposure yet that some of the other BI tool providers. It is harder to convince a client to consider a product that they haven't heard about. We in no way think this reflects on the capability of the product.

Recommendations

Be cognizant of the environmental constraints into which you will ultimately deploy, for example, will you need dev, test, production, Disaster recovery instances. Dundas has improved their licensing model and we think it is very attractive compared to some other products we have looked at.
If possible speak to a Dundas partner who operates in your vertical/industry and can demo the product capability using your industry data set and applications.

 
 

Andrew from Decisions
Specialty: Consulting

October 2015

October 2015

Dundas Developer for the last 3 years

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Likes Best

1. Data Visualisation is what Dundas do, and do well at; as opposed to many BI vendors, who offer a broader range of functionality but end up being a jack of all trades, and a master of none.
2. It's a difficult balance for a product to be easy to use, as well as being flexible. It's subjective, but I feel that they have the balance right.
3. I can't speak highly enough about the support team.

Likes Least

1. Exports to Powerpoint, etc... are needed.
2. Ability to work off line, with everything nicely cached. I agree the benefit will diminish over the years, but other products, like Microstrategy, do. Senior managers like this.
3. A better way to add comments; something like Cognos.
4. More an issue with the previous Dundas product, and though rare, but we had a couple of cases where newer versions could often resolve one issue raised, but result in something else no longer working, which made us look a rather silly. With new versions, don't assume anything, and test thoroughly again.
5. Greater presence in Europe.

Recommendations

1. I would strongly recommend getting Dundas design team involved at the start, as they take your ideas, and improve the design significantly.
2. What ever you want, there does seem to be a way to replicate your design. There maybe a wrong around, but you get there in the end.

 
 

Mohammad from InfoCloud Middle East
Specialty: Software / Technology

October 2015

October 2015

I am Dundas BI/Dashboard Developer since 5 years.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Likes Best

Firstly, Its flexibility in both the design and its capability to integrate with other systems. Dundas Team are keen always to server our clients and they are trying always to make customer life is easy.

Secondly, It is ease of use.

Likes Least

It does not support 3D Charts even it is clear that 2D chart is more professional but we receive many requests on 3D charts.

Recommendations

All you need is just small training on the tool and you will be Dundas BI developer/designer since Dundas BI is designed to be used by Business more than IT.

 
 

Rafeek from CH2M
Specialty: Engineering

October 2015

October 2015

A fresh view of analytics with Dundas BI

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support
N/A
Likes Best

Having used other dashboard and reporting softwares, Dundas brings a breath of freshness into the analytics domain. The rendering of graphs, charts and other visualization is very appealing to novice as well as experienced users. The fact that it is web based with the flexibility to connect to a raft of datasets makes it a strong contender.

Likes Least

As the resultant information that Dundas produces are viewed in different kinds of mediums, the responsive design architecture needs to a bit more intuitive and easy to design and develop. Similar to the sandbox view, there could be other predefined views targeting mobile and tablets.

Recommendations

The training courses will give the understanding and hands on experience is the best way of learning the software.

 
 

David from Activeo
Specialty: Software / Technology

October 2015

October 2015

Dundas Review

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Likes Best

Product :
Dundas BI has a very friendly interface and in the same time offers advanced features that help us adding Analytics Layer to our reporting projects.
Vendor :
Special Thanks to presale and partner teams for their help and patience.
As a Partner, we received a toolkit including licenses, training a pre sale material.

Likes Least

I would have like getting more detailed information / training about the R analytic engine.

Recommendations

It is worth deploying Dundas BI on your lab, the deployment procedure is easy to follow.

 
 

Gunder from Ennova
Specialty: Consulting

October 2015

October 2015

Intuitive and flexible

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Likes Best

It is very eays to setup connection to data and build your first metric. The scripting engine is very strong, so you can practically do anything you like with your dashboard. We use Dundas BI to our customers and here it is a really relevant that Dundas offers a multi-tenancy license.

Likes Least

There are some export features, but the export to PowerPoint is missing some features like export to multiple slides.

Recommendations

Consider how flexible the product should be regarding to control colors, hierarchies and other dashboardelements. If you need a flexible dashboard you also need a strong scripting engine.

 
 

Charlie from Cleveland Clinic Foundation
Specialty: Healthcare / Social Services

October 2015

October 2015

Very Intuitive

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Likes Best

Product: The balance between ease of use and flexibility to customize
Vendor: Our Account Rep Denise

Likes Least

Support has been more difficult requiring long detailed emails be sent instead of directly speaking with someone on the phone when the issue is something beyond a simple fix

Recommendations

Decide what you want to see and there is always a way to make it happen in this software

 
 

Greg from Cleveland Health
Specialty: Healthcare / Social Services

October 2015

October 2015

Great Tool

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support
N/A
Likes Best

The flexibility of the tool that allows limitless options.

Likes Least

There is really nothing that I don’t like about the product. I have used Dundas for over 6 years. I have demoed a lot other visualization tools and none of them compare to Dundas.

Recommendations

It’s a great product without any limit’s. The only limit to what Dundas can do is the limit you put on yourself.

 
 

Larry from Donor Network of Arizona
Specialty: Healthcare / Social Services

October 2015

October 2015

Dundas is the way to go!!!

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Likes Best

The visualization is great! I think this is exactly what executives are looking. We looked at several other software that did the same thing but they weren't as visually awesome as Dundas. Dundas BI is much much easier and user friendly than the first version they had. I like this one very much... They have basically incorporated the SSRS, SSIS and SSAS in a nice neat package. The drag and drop features for Excel documents are great.

Likes Least

The mobile app functionality isn't what we thought it would be. It is a bit difficult to understand and get at first.

Currently I'm fighting adding maps to it(I don't be believe this is a Dundas issue), but it would've been cool if they had the US states in the default map along with "every other country in the world"

Recommendations

Know your clients! Know what data they are looking for... Test it out a few times with a couple different scenarios. The video tutorials are great, but they make it look easier than it is sometimes!

Remember your clients don't know what they want until they see what they don't want... expect modifications. :)

 
 

LeAnn from AMSOIL, INC.
Specialty: Manufacturing

October 2015

October 2015

Powerful, Flexible, and Well Supported

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Likes Best

Products that are powerful, flexible, and feature-rich can often be complex and take time to learn. Dundas makes the learning easy, with rich documentation, videos, example scripts, and a wonderful support team. Once you've mastered the basics, creating powerful dashboards in Dundas is surprisingly quick and easy. Dynamic elements give our users the flexibility they need without complex scripting being required, and I love the ability to use Layers for a cleaner design experience.

Likes Least

While we understand the good reasons behind switching from Dundas script to JavaScript, this transition is a bit of an extra learning curve for our team.

Recommendations

Challenge yourself to do a complete a proof of concept using each tool on your shortlist, making sure your POC contains the most complex scenario your user base demands.

 
 

Michelle from Hometown Health
Specialty: Healthcare / Social Services

October 2015

October 2015

New to Dundas BI Platform

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Likes Best

Dundas BI is fairly intuitive, which makes for a quick win. This product is extremely flexible, dynamic, and easy to use. The support staff will go far and above in assisting you, they will help you truly understand what the issue is so you can learn from it not just repair it.

Likes Least

Part of what I appreciate about the product also frustrates me. It is so customizable that you can get lost in customizing and forget about ‘why’ you were developing the visualization to begin with. I am new to this product and have found myself calling support because I have "customized myself" into an error, but never fear the support team always manages to untangle my mess.

We were somewhat hoping to reuse some of the datasets we created in Dundas for other projects but unfortunately the way the warehouse it set up it is not possible to reuse the data (that I am aware of).

Recommendations

The biggest hurdle we have faced is our data structure (or lack thereof) which makes for some difficulty getting started, however Dundas has provided an overabundance of data connection sources and customization, which allows for this product to be used by novices and experts. Be patient as you won't be an expert overnight, but you can definitely move forward quickly. I would also recommend the training program for beginners, even if you have worked in the application for a while, there are so many tips and tricks that you can pick up or ask about.

 
 

Kris from Center6
Specialty: Software / Technology

October 2015

October 2015

Comprehensive BI = Dundas BI

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Likes Best

Dundas BI is the most comprehensive BI platform available (trust me, we looked at BI products for almost a year before choosing DBI). Our three main criteria when selecting a BI platform for our clients were visualizations, reports and mobile. DBI covers all three criteria (with a codicil that will show up in the "What I like least" section) and the licensing costs are reasonable. Key features that are crazy cool: 1) DBI is data-source agnostic, 2) the scripting capability allows developers to do just about anything, 3) DBI is based on HTML5 technology (other well-known BI products are based on proprietary and/or outdated technology) and 4) the DBI support team (including the development team) provides excellent customer service.

For us, as a small software company, there is always the chance to second-guess the selection of a BI product. This was a critical decision for us as the BI software we deploy to our clients will directly impact the viability of our organization and our ability to stay relevant in the coming years. It is a testament to the DBI product and the Dundas team that the answer to the question "Did we select the right software?" is always a resounding "Yes".

Likes Least

The one knock on DBI is the lack of a mobile app. User experience is the number one factor for us when delivering products to our clients. Currently, mobile data is delivered via web pages. DBI would be greatly enhanced if the mobile experience was via a mobile app (even if the "app" was simply a wrapper the redirects users to the web page).

Recommendations

Know your data, your audience and what you want to deliver.
Call Dundas.

 
 

Bernadette from Netrefer
Specialty: Software / Technology

October 2015

October 2015

Dundas is the most advanced and superior BI tool

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Likes Best

Dundas is a pixel perfect business analysis tool. The OLAP cube compatibility is outstanding and we really enjoy the fact that Dundas is a very well thought out product that has everything we need plus so much more. Dundas does the thinking for us with advanced functionality and great canvass components that accomodates large data sets with ease. I can highly recommend this software as is a clear winner on so many fronts.

Likes Least

Slightly difficult to learn in the beginning once you get used to making scorecards and use the reporting module as there is a wealth of features and tools. Thou the dashboard construction is really easy and allows for a lot of controls and flexibility.

Recommendations

Go for a software that is scalable, robust and innovative and has a strong self service and ad hoc reporting. Technology is moving fast, so you want to partner up with the best in the Industry.. Pay attention to the ease of setting up data connectors, if you using multi tenancy the software provider has to cater for such an environment. Also look out for mobile and tablet compatibility.

 
 

Christoph from Siemens AG
Specialty: Software / Technology

September 2015

September 2015

Our go to data visualization tool

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Likes Best

We do like the flexibility, especially through the open API as well as the performance of the entire dashboard. Integration into our own infrastructure was very easy. The performance of cubes (especially when build in-memory) is fantastic.

Likes Least

Because the product is very new, I wouldn't call it feature complete yet. On the data visualization side of things, we have everything we need, but we need more options in the (still brand new) ETL module. Mainly we need to be able to change data after aggregation has happened (e.g. in case you do not want to show results if the base is too low).

Recommendations

Building simple dashboards can be done in a couple of minutes. Do invest the time to build the most complex dashboard your organization requires to know that all requirements are met.

 
 

Andrew from G4S
Specialty: Software / Technology

September 2015

September 2015

Quick and Easy KPI's for the masses

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Likes Best

The software is great - the latest versions of the dashboard are contemporary and look great. The company is friendly and always on hand to help.

Likes Least

The software is not particularly cheap - which does mean that mass take up could be expensive for many named users.

Recommendations

Understand your data from the outset and be sure you have a good design for how you want to drill down through your data. This will ensure you start with a solid foundation.

 
 

Luis from Medidata .Net
Specialty: Software / Technology

September 2015

September 2015

I've using this tool for quite a while, used it in various projects

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Likes Best

It's very easy to use, customizable enough, good performance and, most of all, has a great support team.

Likes Least

I really for the moment have nothing to appoint regarding this vendor is product.

Recommendations

Try Dundas BI. It's very easy to create something awesome. Experiment a centralized well designed BI tool.