All ActCAD Reviews

1-25 of 210 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Santosh

Verified reviewer

Chemicals, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2018

Tutorials

I am a consultant in the field of Chemicals production and have to design different equipment, the complete plant, utilities equipment, plant layout. I am 80 and would like to publish drawings of the equipment based on my experience of nearly 58 years. The problems I face if I have to design equipment based on totally a new concept, particularly in 3D format so that the client has clear idea of the equipment. Now certain Statutory authorities insist on submitting layout drawings in 3D. I would like to learn more on drawing complicated objects in 3D.

PROS

The software has all features which a designer wants, opens all CAD drawings based on other software, irrespective of their issue dates.

CONS

Since I am used to using some other software, the I find the format difficult to use, particularly when I use it after a long gap. I am only a designer of equipment and factory layouts and do not use it very frequently. After a long gap of time, it takes some time to recapitulate the commands. It would be really very helpful if you come out tutorials to draw various shapes of objects using the commands of your software.

Vendor Response

Hi Santhosh, Thank you for your valuable review on ActCAD software. Regarding usage, you can switch from Ribbon interface to Classic interface if you are familiar with it. Just click on Gear icon at right bottom side of ActCAD. Please check our video tutorials on this page: https://actcad.com/actcad-intellicad-videos.php Also, we have created a quick start guide for our users to kick start ActCAD projects. You can download it from below link: https://actcad.com/ActCAD_Quick_Start_Guide.pdf Feel free to contact us on https://actcad.com if you need any support. Best Regards, MM Krishna Director, ActCAD International

Replied November 2018

David

Architecture & Planning, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2022

ActCad does what it is supposed to do....What more could you ask for ?

PROS

All of the familar details of AutoCad but not the cost.....

CONS

Program seems to need to reset and recover a file .... Not sure why this is, but it does recover the file and I am not loosing anything in the process.....

Reason for choosing ActCAD

Price ..... felt I had nothing to loose.... Now I am aware of the great value this program has....

Reasons for switching to ActCAD

I had purchased the AutoCad software and was working with it for years.... I had a perpetual license..... Perpetual until they wanted me to upgrade.... they made it so the program would not initialize.... When I called them about this, they (after multiple calls) gave me another key code to work the problem out ....this solved the issue for ONLY ONE TIME.... then I was right back to the same issues....

Vendor Response

Thank you David for your wonderful feedback. We are releasing patches every month for better performances. Please check the updates from the software.

Replied August 2022

Steve

Civil Engineering, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2022

As Good as most of the icads out there

We have used various versions of icad or autocad light for 30 years. ActCad is an acceptable product but does not stand out as compared to several others that we currently use in house.

PROS

DWG files are compatible with all other autocad based software. The software has steadily gotten better with each release, as has tech support. Importing of text files is very good.

CONS

The menu update option is non functional, making updates difficult at best because tech support must be contacted for a link and the original program completely uninstalled. Some of the snap options, especially to snaps, don't always work even when turned on as in options. The precision settings for Surveyor's Units do not function as they should.

Reason for choosing ActCAD

The demo version seemed good and it was on sale for switching

Reasons for switching to ActCAD

Looking for a product better than GstarCAD

Vendor Response

Sorry for the inconvenience caused. We are in the process of improving our features to give the best performance. Also introducing new features and functionalities which you mentioned in our latest version. Feel free to contact us at support@actcad.com for any technical queries.

Replied August 2022

Kishore

Real Estate, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

have finalize this product after done one month trial and Qty. 5 License across all concern dept.

Can avoid Autodesk monopoly and compliance issues. cost benefit with perpetual and Network license. also customization can be done as per requirement with prompt support .

PROS

easy to use so can replace AutoCAD on immediate basis

CONS

not seen yet, kept under observation for a next few month

Reason for choosing ActCAD

cost effective solution with no compliance conflict

Reasons for switching to ActCAD

Autodesk compliance issues and no cost benefit for perpetual or Network license.

Binit

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2022

Excellent drafting software. S/W has excellent drafting functionality and compatibility with other

Good S/W with commercial affordable to suggest the client

PROS

ActCAD is a 2D & 3D CAD software with functionality of the industry leaders.

CONS

Need to improve the features. We have sold one of Architect and they have so many problems and did not able to solve after taking the support.

Reason for choosing ActCAD

The client is requiring CAD products and we have suggested them ACTCAD

Vendor Response

Thank you Binit for your wonderful feedback. We are releasing patches every month for better performances. Please check the updates from the software.

Replied August 2022

Anil

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2020

ActCad for *.dwg

The war against AutoCad monopoly is truly worth fighting. I appreciate the ActCad team to really push their envelope with limited resources in comparison. You have our full support for further development and implementation.

PROS

It loads quickly It has all the necessary features that I use to design layouts and review equipment designs. It autosaves very often It saves processing time by focusing on performance rather than only aesthetics.

CONS

Sometimes the select window misbehaves by selecting all. The cut selection, block convert and paste function sometimes deletes the selection.

Reasons for switching to ActCAD

Prohibtive costs and monopolistic marketing approach. Researched among other reliable products and chose ActCad.

Vendor Response

We are happy to see your wonderful Review. We are happy to help you with the software to work smoothly. In the Latest version of ActCAD we have solved all the issues which you mentioned like block converter, paste function etc. Please drop a direct mail to support@actcad.com in case of any queries.

Replied February 2022

Naved

Design, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2019

Best Competitive 2D CAD Software

I have been using this software for few months for now & having very good experience overall. Mainly I have work in customized block library which I got here & that too without any extra expenses. Also it is a light weight software so can be used on my simple Desktop PC also.

PROS

- Plug & play if you have already used other 2D CAD softwares. - Vast Library for blocks. - Ease of use & user friendly - Can easily switch the license to other workstations without technical support.

CONS

- Sometimes tend to slow down. - Initially New commands were hard to find because there are many of them.

Reason for choosing ActCAD

Competitive price & more number of extensions at this price. Also an added advantage of Dedicated Customer support team at your service & Customer portal which was not available with any of the competitors.

Reasons for switching to ActCAD

Had terrible experiences for software crash in the previous software which ultimately deleted my unsaved data.

Vendor Response

Naved, thank you very much for your valuable review. We have made several improvements in ActCAD new version in terms of speed and performance. Regarding comamnd usage, please check our Quick Start Guide available under Help menu. We are also launching complete video tutorials this year.

Replied February 2020

David

Industrial Automation, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

Former AutoCAD User

Great. This has been even better than I could have anticipated. I used the software through a trial period and did not hesitate to purchase when the time came. Excellent CAD option for those who prefer not to have a subscription based software.

PROS

Cost and function. As other CAD software moved to a subscription based option, this was a great replacement. Very impressed with the interface (once I determined where everything was located) and the overall product.

CONS

Nothing. As mentioned, I had to learn a little with the location of and functions as they are all different from my experience with a previous CAD software, but this comes with anything new.

Reasons for switching to ActCAD

I do not use CAD software frequently enough to justify the cost of a subscription based software. This is a great alternative and I cannot see feature or benefit loss as a result of this switch. In fact, I suspect there may be some features I have yet to tap into.

Vendor Response

Thank you David for your wonderful feedback. We are releasing patches every month for better performances. Please check the updates from the software.

Replied August 2022

Levent

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2023

Good but!

licanse transfercost savegood support

PROS

very similiar with Autocad. so its easy to use it.

CONS

suddenly its closing. this is big problem.

Reason for choosing ActCAD

ı found many cad software and ı downloaded trials and i tried 1 months. %50 of them was very simple, others was good, I chosed ACTcad. its little bit chance.

Reasons for switching to ActCAD

cost wise and also we dont need such a big software like autocad. actcad and 2D drafting is ebough for our company

Alan

Oil & Energy, 1 employee

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2020

ActCAD Compatibility

I commented above about slowness in opening large 3D projects, crashes, problems with paperspace viewports and conceptual rendering of views.

PROS

It is set up very much like AutoCAD which has been my primary software.

CONS

I found that it is very slow in opening previous large AutoCAD 3D projects and recently it crashed in doing so. Also I had difficulty viewing drawings with conceptual views in paperspace viewports. It seemed awkward and not the same as I was used to.

Reason for choosing ActCAD

Price and compatibility with AutoCAD.

Reasons for switching to ActCAD

I could no longer afford to update the software.

Vendor Response

Thanks for your wonderful feedback. We are releasing patches every month for better performances. Please check the updates from the software.

Replied August 2022

Edmond

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2023

Better than I imagined.

Overall, I am very pleased to have ActCAD, especially considering the value. The transferable key is easy to switch over to my laptop when I travel.

PROS

To be perfectly honest, I was looking for an alternative to the extremely expensive standard when the COVID 19 pandemic occurred and we had to cut down on expenses. So, after trying several other CAD programs which simply were too limited or have an unfamiliar format that would require too long to master, I happened on ActCAD almost by accident. To my delight ActCAD turned out to be the perfect alternative in every way.

CONS

Most of what I do is in 3D rendering. The quality of visual renderings displayed on my excellent monitors, especially when transparencies are involved is noticeably grainy in appearance. Also, what I call "anchor points" which would be the reference base point for copying or moving anything usually defaults to some undesired reference. I'd like to know if there's a fix for that. Finally, when executing any command the default position for the keystrokes should be the COMMAND line. It is a nuisance to have to always anchor the command with the cursor.

Jason

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2023

ActCAD affordable

Loving it.

PROS

What I liked most about this product is the affordable price for a high end drafting software.

CONS

One thing is having to remember to deactivate the licence at the workplace office and reactivate at the home office. Suggest having the software recognised the location of the user when logging in and the program automatically deactivates and reactivates between the IP addresses.

Reason for choosing ActCAD

No yearly fees and license transferable.

Reasons for switching to ActCAD

Price

Alpesh

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2018

GOOD CAD PLATFORM.

Good for existing AutoCad users. They have one more option available now.

PROS

This is very nice and user freiendly software. Very nice alternative CAD software at very reasonable price compare to other software. Most of the Cad user’s need are satisfied in this software. Strongly recommended for student and professionals.

CONS

Courser speed is little slow. Need some improvement related to LISP loading. Also need some improvement for compaitability w.r.t other existing Cad software so that user can check the data in two different software to get more confidence of using ACTCAD.

Vendor Response

Hi Alpesh, Thank you for your valuable review and comments about ActCAD Software. If you are not using ActCAD 2019, I suggest you to download and install the trial version. Please try to switch off Hardware Acceleration to get smooth cursor movement. It also depend on the Graphic card and its latest drivers. Regarding LISP, yes we do not support 100% functions. However, please send us an email to "support@actcad.com" with your issues, we will consider them for future additions. What do you mean by compatibility improvement? We support 100% dwg/dxf file formats. Please send your suggestions, we will take them up immediately if there are any gaps. Thanks & Regards, M.M. Krishna Director ActCAD International

Replied November 2018

Frank

Civil Engineering, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2020

Excellent product. Great technical support.

PROS

It's one of the rare Cad products supported by my operating system with extensive functionality. And the technical service was beyond my expectations.

CONS

A few idiosyncratic flaws that I still deal with.

Vendor Response

Thanks for your wonderful feedback. We are releasing patches every month for better performances. Please check the updates from the software.

Replied August 2022

koya

11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2017

I am using ActCAD 2018 version. I wanted to let you know that you are the best program support

Global Validity of Licenses Many add-on productivity tools High speed & Smooth Performance Self-License Transfer - unlimited times Quick & Free Technical Support Regular Software Improvements

PROS

Native DWG & DXF file formats (R2 to 2018) Many improvements, commands, and features supplementing IntelliCAD 8.4a Very Familiar Interface, commands, and shortcuts - Easy to use High speed & Smooth Performance Available in both 64bit & 32bit Available in Professional & Standard Versions Supports Windows XP (Only Classic Version), Vista, 7, 8, 8.1 and 10 Global Validity of Licenses Self-License Transfer - unlimited times Flexible Licensing - multi-user packs and Corporate Licensing Quick & Free Technical Support Regular Software Improvements Over 5000 Block Libraries In-built PDF to DXF Converter In-built Image to DXF Converter Many add-on productivity tools

Vendor Response

Thank you for your response. ActCAD aims to serve even better to its users as well as upcoming customers.

Replied November 2017

Germán

Civil Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2022

An affordable and useful (but with issues) solution to a professional 2D Drawing program

At least for the kind of work I do, It's a cheap-good solution. Simply put, you get the job done with it. It's easy to use (if you are already familiar with AutoCAD) and you can generate a proffesional product using the program without paying too much. The best part is, you don't have to pay a subscription.

PROS

Definitely the price. The difference is just not comparable when it comes to a standard program on the market (AutoCAD). The overall quality of ActCAD stands out when it comes to a simple CAD program for small and medium companies, includding individuals.

CONS

Altough there are a lot of positive features, there are characteristics that require more polishing. Just to mention a few: Table Import, Dinamic Blocks, Text Style configuration (it usually crashes the program), overkill rework, export data, etc.

Reason for choosing ActCAD

better deal at that time.

Vendor Response

Thank you Germán for your wonderful feedback. We are releasing patches every month for better performances. Please check the updates from the software.

Replied August 2022

Ashish

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

ActCAD is a great product

All very good

PROS

All features are great and easy to use. Reliable and user friendly.

CONS

None. Cannot think for any such shortcomings.

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We are releasing patches every month for better performances. Please check the updates from the software.

Replied August 2022

Sandeep

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE