All ARCHICAD Reviews

1-25 of 277 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Laurel

Verified reviewer

Civil Engineering, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

one of the best in the BIM world

PROS

The sober and uncluttered interface makes it easy to use. Management of several data in the same program. Perfectly adapted for medium-sized companies. File sharing, 3D visualization of prototypes. It is possible to make more elaborate presentations and convince partners and collaborators more easily.

CONS

Limited functionality for non-paying versions. Requires enough time to master the GDL programming language to create parametric objects. Basically, it is difficult to master all the features and sometimes the services of an expert will be required.

Brendon

Architecture & Planning, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2020

ArchiCAD

I have been with ArchiCAD since V4 and watched it grow into a great piece of software for our industry. It is used nearly every day and is a great asset in our office.

PROS

With the release of ArchiCAD V23 there are a lot of new features that have increased my more flow. The integration of add-ons like TwinMotion and the new an improved coloumns and beams tools.

CONS

Not a fan of the buy the software and then pay the monthly subscription on top. Adobe and other software don't do this. They should also include more in the subscription, localised add-ons like cadimage add-ons.

Reasons for switching to ARCHICAD

In 1995 it was the first 3D building software that I had seen that actually drew in 3D with ease.

Martin

Architecture & Planning, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed September 2023

Worst optimization ever experienced

Absolutely horrible.

PROS

Its a bim program and thats about it i think.

CONS

The only reason we use archicad is simply that it is slightly better than revit. The problem with the program is that instead of cleaning up the extreme amount of mess they simply add useless new features constantly... which piles ontop of a thousand other useless things, making it less and less intuitive with every release. The absolute biggest problem though is simply how insanely badly optimized the program is. It simply doesnt matter how strong a computer you have... you will sit and wait for that blue circle spinning round and round for ages....

Vendor Response

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Archicad. Your feedback is valuable, and we appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns. Regarding ArchiCAD: Feature Development: Archicad provides architects with powerful yet user-friendly tools. Recent updates and new releases have streamlined the interface and improved features. Please see what's coming next here: https://graphisoft.com/product-roadmap Performance Optimization: We prioritize software performance with regular updates to ensure Archicad runs on new hardware and operating systems. Your comments make it hard to determine whether you have a hardware or software issue. We'd like you to contact our support team at support.na@graphisoft.com to see if you have any software performance issues. Thank you for choosing Archicad.

Replied September 2023

Brian

Architecture & Planning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

Fantastic drafting and BIM software

I really enjoy using Archicad and exploring the options available. I am constantly finding new ways to use the program

PROS

Archicad is very easy to use, has every feature I can think of, and is just as easy to design in 3D as it is in 2D (usually at the same time)

CONS

The biggest con is that most engineering firms use Revit, so the collaborative element with outside firms is limited.

Reason for choosing ARCHICAD

Our firm has used Archicad exclusively in the past, but recently considered Revit, but we found it was not the best choice for us.

Juan

Architecture & Planning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

The real BIM

Superb software, it is a real advantage with all the potential for improvement you can imagine. Great support and permanent development. It is also supported in MAC

PROS

Its a tool created for architecture and it is amazingly agile and powerful. Archicad is definitely a competitive advantage.

CONS

Since Archicad is not the industry standard, it sometimes creates conflict with consultants and clients.

Reason for choosing ARCHICAD

After a deep research we found that it was a more robust and agile tool. We decided 6 years ago and we have never regretted our decision.

David

Architecture & Planning, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

ARCHICAD is the most mature and stable BIM solution available

Overall, it has been a great experience. There are always stumbling blocks with complex software, but we've done a good job of producing what we need with very tight deadlines.

PROS

Very flexible for designers. We can produce the same deliverables in multiple ways depending on how we need to work.

CONS

Sometimes too flexible, especially for newer users learning the software.

Reasons for switching to ARCHICAD

We switched over 24 years ago and never looked back.

User Profile

Sadaf

Verified reviewer

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2019

One of the best tools for BIM implementation

As an Architect, I have been able to use ArchiCAD for conceptual designs, detailed drafting, interior layouts as well as generating high-quality elevations, sections and 3D views for all my projects, including presentation drawings. In fact, 3D modelling and rendering have been made simple thanks to ArchiCAD. Visualization, (placing cameras) and gathering documentation are also uncomplicated. Rendering tools are useful and there is no need to get extra plug-ins for performing the same tasks that can be done within the software itself. I consider ArchiCAD to be better than its counterparts, e.g. Revit mainly because it is uncomplicated to use, with the same functionality at an economical investment.

PROS

ArchiCAD is one of the most innovative platforms for BIM available in the market today. It is a powerful software that can cater to the design needs of architects, interior designers as well as landscape and urban planners. One can either import 2D drafts into ArchiCAD and work on the same to prepare a 3D model; or work on ArchiCAD on Plan mode and the software will automatically generate elevations, sections and 3D views. If the building is multi-storey, it is much easier to correct any minor deficiencies in drafting (that can be missed in the plan view) through the 3D viewer, which makes it perfect to use when trying to pinpoint any errors. There is a wonderful feature in AutoCAD called Solibri Model Checker that can accurately analyse the BIM model to accurately locate errors along with any possible faults in design, and identify areas, where the components used, are clashing. As an Architect, I feel that it is a great tool that can be used to estimate the energy requirements of a building. Moreover, there is a plug-in called EcoDesigner STAR that offers features including energy model visualization, thermal zoning and simulations for energy performance. It is one of the better software I have used for 3D modelling and I never think of switching to any other.

CONS

As is with other similar software, ArchiCAD requires a robust system to operate with a high level of RAM especially when rendering. It does tend to slow down the system a bit especially when you are opening a data-rich file. Secondly, there is a steep learning curve with the software, which is easy to overcome with practice. Apart from these two shortcomings, I have no other major concern that would affect my opinion of this otherwise excellent software.

Megan

Architecture & Planning, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

Love Archicad!

I've been using Archicad for over 6 years and plan to always use it because I like it so much. Never want to use Revit haha

PROS

Can model both schematically and detailed. Like the aesthetics of the 3d window. Love graphic overrides. I'm a mac user so its nice to not have to spilt my operating system to accommodate a pc based software.

CONS

Wish its object library were more residential focused.

Vendor Response

We truly appreciate receiving feedback like this and hope that Archicad, along with our other tools, will nurture your talent, leading to the creation of incredible designs by you! There are a couple of exciting ways to boost your library: you can either craft them right within Archicad or bring them in through importing. With Archicad 27, we've upped our game by integrating Param-O and Library Part Maker as built-in tools, offering you more creative freedom than ever before. And if you're leaning towards importing, all the info you need is just a click away on our partner's website: https://www.bim6x.com/post/how-to-import-3d-models-to-archicad. We're here to help make your design journey smoother and hope you find these resources helpful! Thanks a bunch for sticking with us ❤️

Replied February 2024

User Profile

Adriana

Verified reviewer

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

ARCHICAD is the Best BIM Modeling and File Management Tool.

BIM information management and the skills sharing and new 3D models creation through ARCHICAD tools is excellent and the workflow management is simple.

PROS

The CAD capability that its offered by ARCHICAD is excellent since its easy providing effective Engineering 3D models and import other 3D designs across different modeling platforms.2D drafting for Architectural presentation production and effective simulation and the ability to render final 3D images is incredible.

CONS

Valuable Architectural product and easy to get a long especially when your familiar with other CAD systems and easy customization.

User Profile

Hannah

Verified reviewer

Construction, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

Architectural Design Management and Drafting CAD Tool.

ARCHICAD creates clean 2D drawing for presentation and the ability to render 3D designs for complex projects is excellent.

PROS

ARCHICAD is the mother system when it comes to Construction and Architectural drawings and 3D models production and the effective multiple project file management platform and collaboration is good and nice 3D sharing tool.

CONS

The CAD platform is easy to adapt and the starting is also simple especially to those CAD users and setting is simple.

JOHN

Architecture & Planning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

Great software for small and big projects

It's a good BIM software for the price, and good setup for small projects including interior works.

PROS

Easy to build the models and generate the presentation and construction drawings.

CONS

Take a while to get used to the software from AutoCAD.

Reasons for switching to ARCHICAD

BIM software needed for the current market.

Vendor Response

Thank you for choosing Archicad! We appreciate your feedback and understand that moving from a traditional CAD solution to BIM software can be challenging due to the differences in workflow. However, the transition is well worth it for the enhanced integration and efficiency BIM offers! To enhance your workflow and collaboration further, consider our Archicad Collaborate bundle, which includes Archicad, BIMcloud, and BIMxPRO for nearly the same price ($225+tax/mo VS $200+tax/mo), along with additional tools like the Surface Catalog, Add-ons (such as Library Part Maker or Archicad Design Checker), and access to edu materials (you can utilize them for personal or team educational purposes). This bundle is designed to elevate your team's and clients' collaboration experience, ensuring you can fully leverage Archicad's capabilities. Thank you and please feel free to reach out to us if you face any challenges. We would be happy to hear from you and to see your amazing designs!

Replied January 2024

Mohamed

Civil Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2020

Watch your house before building it from A to Z with the ArchiCAD program

I think it is good enough for my and my friends' work experiences that he achieved with us a lot of structures and buildings

PROS

use of tools that are compatible with the needs of the architectural designer and with its method of work and its way of thinking, we find the tools used in the program are the same architectural elements that are composed for any construction, we find the tools contain wall tools (walls) of various types, columns, beams (all kinds) and tiles As well as general site tools such as the network that are used to create surfaces, terrain and blocks, as well as tools for dimensions and various drawing tools. One of the most important features of the GDL technology used in the program libraries It is the language of engineering description, where Archicad comes with a huge library that contains most of the architectural elements such as doors, windows, internal furniture and structural elements These desktop elements are distinguished by the possibility of modification not only in their dimensions, as in the AutoCAD, but in their structure in terms of encroaching on one of the dimensions only, such as length only or width only, and until the materials and components of these elements change, such as changing the type of door shutters, their handles or shafts, and these office elements are also distinguished. It is possible to take any hometown for it without the need to repaint it as it is a block that has the same characteristics

CONS

I think it is moderate in the direction of the negatives from my personal experience that it only blames the program for its poor 3D output, but the 18th version of the program has added a socket for cinema and it is expected that the 19th version will see this socket, so they want to get rid of this negativity, which I think is the most important Negative in the program for me

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

archicad for bim and 3d

used daily in our office, the workflow is set up very well, drawings can be published quickly and with little effort, so it definitely is worth the money.

PROS

from design to detailing we use the software in every design stage with buildings and landscape designs. 3D models and solutions can be achieved quickly and in depth.

CONS

over the years it has become very detailed and comprehensive, sometimes (stairs e.g.) it has become overbloated a bit. very expensive when used together with the yearly subscription and updates.

Reason for choosing ARCHICAD

better workflow, better on-premise support.

Luis Guillermo

Verified reviewer

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2018

I have solved 3D modelling problems that I had with another software, faster and better

The first hand benefits obtained from using ArchiCAD, are way importants. The way of getting familiar with the work ambient is so easy, the palletes and menus are very easy to configure, and once you get familiar with it, the worflow is almost intuitive, being this a highlight because it increases the productivity on many levels. Another thing that is so beneficial is the project management and organization features availables on this software. It allows me to do changes, revisions and modify many things with few clicks. I can extend on this review explaining on so many levels how this software has helped me to increase my productivity, even with my social networks, because it has helped me increase the amount of likes on my instagram profile given the quality of the renders produced on this application, but the reading could get so extense that I prefer to resume it on few words: you all should definitely try this software, and you'll see how amazing it is.

PROS

How to begin this review? This software is so delightful! Actually, this software is my first option on BIM world. The render engine quality is amazing and very likely and customizable. This is an AMAZING OPTION, an AMAZING PRODUCT, the best choose. In its features, this software it's an adventure, the more you enter the menus and options, the more you get enchanted. One of the best things on it, it's the fluency on the model management and the views, the control on every level of the model, the customizability on the menus. Frankly, this is a great option.

CONS

The dislike about this software? Actually i have minimum dislikes, the only thing I'd recommend to the developers of ArchiCAD would be that the document generator could be more friendly, like other drawing CAD applications, that would make more easier the process of finishing the tasks. Oh, and another thing that I don't find very likeable is that the IOS verson of the bimx is more practical than the pc one.

Castro

Architecture & Planning, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

The Software for all 3D Archirect

PROS

what I like most about Archicad, especially version 25 that I had the chance to test, is the ease of use. but above all of handling as well. the streamlined user interface greatly facilitates the workflow. I recommend Archicad to anyone who would like to get into 3D architecture or to anyone looking for powerful, reliable software for their work.

CONS

If this opinion that I give reaches the technical team, here is what I think would make Archicad the best 3D Architectural design tool: Rendering! If Archicad really improves its rendering engine (Cine Render) so as to raise it to the level of rendering engines like V-Ray, Rhino or others would be a crushing blow to the competition!

Farral

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2018

Great program for architectural design

PROS

This package is feature rich and is well supported. While there are nowhere as many users, at least in the US, as there are for the industry standard, it seems to me gaining in use - probably because of marketing to students. Cost is much more reasonable if you can manage without having the industry standard software.

CONS

It is harder to collaborate with many engineers and other consultants that typically use the industry standard. It does support files created with other CAD packages, but it will never be as seamless as having everyone on the same platform. That said, with limited or no support between versions of the same package from the industry standard, coordination can still be a pain.

Katrine

Architecture & Planning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2023

review employee

very good for cooperating. and can handle big projects. Not the best for sketching.

PROS

good for cooperation between betwwen all groups in a projects.Easy to crash-check possible collisions. good for comunication with both entreprenours and costumers.

CONS

not always easy to get help when file shuts down. We used to work and save directly to a server. this did not work well with big models.

Paul

Architecture & Planning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING: