User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(67)

67

4 stars

(64)

64

3 stars

(17)

17

2 stars

(2)

2

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Browse MicroStation Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 151 results

October 2021

User Profile Picture

Arshad from UNIVERSITY OF SWAT

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2021

MicroStation

I primarily use MicroStation mostly for CAD and like it die to its powerful but yet lightweight processing engine.

Pros

MicroStation appeals to me in every way. Text styles, dimension styles, references, and line styles are among the software's most intriguing features, all of which may be easily altered. Highways can be built in a variety of ways, including with extensive building plans. It is the most trustworthy and high-quality software on the market. The best thing about this show is that it never lets you down. The platform is fairly stable and does not crash all that often. It's good that there aren't any enormous tags on the screen. The various view tabs are useful because moving between them is simple. On the internet, there are a plethora of videos to choose from. The extent to which xRefs can be customized is astounding.

Cons

The user interface is not very user-friendly or intuitive. Some tasks are simple to do yet need a bit more work in it. Internal programming is used for 3D mouse control, however it does not cover all of the features. Dealing with computer issues is exhausting. The vast majority of first-level IT response is based in Asia, and responses can take up to a day because of which smaller issues may take more than required time to get sorted.

April 2021

Aditya from Stantec Inc.

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

Must have software if you work with DOT

MicroStation has been a lifesaver for me for Road Projects. I had used AutoCAD for Raod Design and it was very tedious work. MicroStation is easy with Complex Road Alignment, Vertical and Horizontal alignment, cross-section development, Profile Design, and quantity survey. Your single model design can all of it. It reduces the use of other software and programs.

Pros

Integration of MicroStation with State Departments' rules and regulations is one of the best features that it has. I have been using MicroStation for Road design for different state DOTs. MicroStation provides you the ability for Parametric modeling of infrastructure projects. It helps to reduce repetitive work and make it efficient for designers and engineers. Microstation has helped me to design and deliver projects according to DOT's requirements.

Cons

MicroStation is expensive software to have for a single person to design infrastructure projects. It is difficult to get training in the software as you can get it only if you are going to use it for state projects. The ability to understand and make it work the way you want is very limited.

Reasons for Choosing MicroStation

Cost, Parametric Design ability, Quantity Survey, Earthwork calculations ease, Integrated State Laws parameters

Reasons for Switching to MicroStation

Parametric Design ability, Quantity Survey, Earthwork calculations ease, Integrated State Laws parameters

November 2021

Sam from Traffic Engineer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2021

Still can't understand why Bentley forced Connect from V8i

Used to love it with V8i. Not sure yet when it comes to Connect version

Pros

This is one of our primary accu drawing tool for years. Functions cover almost all needs for civil plan drawings

Cons

As a long-time user, the recent, forced change from V8i to Connect version presented significant changes to the interface - the menu of the tools is completely re-organized. Many of the habits established over years of work are forced to change. With all these negative impacts, the functions don't seem to improve. So what's the point? There are also bugs such as printing transparency and live reference that prevent users from easy workout like in the discarded V8i version.

July 2021

User Profile Picture

Grace from ISA CONSTRUCTORA

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Functional Architectural Drawing Production Package.

Very accurate design and drawing production software for the Engineers and Architects for easy documentation.

Pros

MicroStation offers the effective CAD abilities to easily design professional and innovative designs for the various project and easy detailing of multiple documents. The tool allows easy data import from other design platform and easy to set the design functionalities.

Cons

CAD functionality is good and helpful, easy options to manipulate and i never had issues with MicroStation and the tools.

December 2021

Audrey from WSP

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2021

v8i - An archaic drafting software

MicroStation is one of the most frustrating drafting softwares I have had to work with. If you plan on implementing it and have many new users, be sure to provide adequate training and budget for time wasted on the steep learning curve.

Pros

The geographic projects settings are very useful in comparison to competitor software. Microstation v8i has a feature that lets you project coordinate systems. This is extremely useful when dealing with different client coordinate systems.

Cons

The layout and commands of this software are very old fashioned and not intuitive at all. Commands consist of number and letter, although there is an option for allowing key-ins. Remembering the corresponding numbers and letters for commands can be challenging when in a rush and working at fast pace. If you can't remember the commands, then you can use the toolbars. By end of one hour, your right hand and shoulder using the mouse has undergone an intense workout. Your fingers will become very powerful. Using key-ins instead requires long commands. There is a separate save button for saving settings like display and view options. If you forget to press save AND save settings, you'll have to redo your setup when you reopen the drawing. Obvious settings are hidden. Simple commands like the selection tools are random letters like yuihjkl;. If you then try to work with Microstation Connect edition, commands are completely different. This is not a beginner friendly software. There is a lack of training resources and it's only learnable if someone holds your hand and walks you through.

October 2019

Lwin Hnin from STEC

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Good to use . Printing quality is good. Software system is quite good.

Especially for utilities drawing , level overwrite , line weight can easily work with microstation. After print out , can see very clearly. Coordinate system i like. Mostly for government project , we need to work with so many reference file. Microstation only can solve for reference file problem

Pros

Model View( Model view, Design View, Sheet View) Coordinate system, Easy to use and easy to understand , can attach so many references file, Level Overwrite

Cons

Software can work well with so many references files.

Reasons for Switching to MicroStation

AutoCad can work with references file and can't see clearly for government project . Because government project is area is big and included many objects. Autocad is not suitable for that

October 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Functionality and User frieindly

visualizing and modeling point cloud data and reality meshes. microstation have separete module for each and lots or fundtion that can extract data. also reads several formats of point cloud which means i dont have to use another application and allow point cloud classifications with alot of features and specs

Pros

what i like most about microstation it have alot of operations can be done through microstation drawing, 3d modeling, making charts and work sheets. without haaving to close and open another appliation. also i can visualize my work, hide, display or clip my design without deleting or removing any item. also microstation dynamic reference makes it easy to update all my drawings and sheets (3D&2D) with only updating design model. most of all it is Auto-save CAD application. and i can record each change i do on me my design and recall this changes.

Cons

workspace, worksets configurations and design file settings needs to be more easy to understand

Reasons for Switching to MicroStation

for 3d modeling and autocad read specific formats of point cloud so i have to use recap before importing point cloud on any other autodesk app.

October 2019

Narayan from ABB Global

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

User friendly

I have been using microstation for more than 11 years and I find it very easy to use plus it can be customised for industry specific needs.

Pros

The shortcut features, it is flexible to multiple sectors of designs, it can allow user to create batch process script for automation.

Cons

User guide with frequently asked question in bentley communities to be linked with the software help menu.

Reasons for Choosing MicroStation

More features. Allows users to in maitaining consistency in drawing preparation.

August 2019

Hunter from Maryland Department of Transportation

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Useful but requires a lot of training

Pros

I've been using MicroStation as my primary CADD software for my job for the past year and a half. The functions and features are numerous and extremely helpful.

Cons

While it is extremely useful and I have gained a pretty good command over its functions and features, it is difficult and time consuming to learn. I had to sit through hours of tutorials just to learn how to use the interface. Any time I have to learn something new, I often have to search for instructions online or in the help manual. It just isn't extremely intuitive.

Reasons for Switching to MicroStation

MicroStation was the default program that my employer uses.

April 2021

Andrew from IBIGroup, inc

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2021

Microstation review

Again I believe MicroStation is the best software out there for Highway design that I have used. I have tied AutoCad but have not been impressed.

Pros

I am in the Highway design industry which is where MicroStation excels when accompanied with GeoPak. I have been using MicroStation/GeoPak for 23+ years now and it has always been easy to use. Lately there has been some growing pains as it transitions to a new format call OpenRoads Designer Connect edition.

Cons

Lately, as mentioned above, Microstation has been transitioning over to OpenRoads Designer Connect edition which is been difficult at times to work with. Although the format has changed they have been pretty good at trying to set it up similarly to what we are used to. Still there are issues though some may be caused with Ohio DOT trying to setup functionality as well. it has been a struggle as of late but from past experience i believe the bugs will all be worked out.

April 2021

Hillory from Engineering firm

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2021

Microstation Functionality

Overall, it is an expensive product that has great potential but is difficult to operate.

Pros

I love the ability to create an extremely complex and intricate design by utilizing microstation software.

Cons

I dislike the functionality of microstation. It is not user-friendly in the least bit. AutoCAD is easier to use.

January 2018

User Profile Picture

Michael from MJM Consulting, LLC

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

Great CAD product which has evolved into the strongest available

Ease of project creation and distribution. The ability to open DGN files that date back to the 90's as well as other formats.

Pros

MicroStation has great file sizes. Compared to competitors, MS file sizes are a fraction. The amount of control for many of the elements is beyond comparison! Text styles, dimension styles, references, and linestyles can be controlled and manipulated to the greatest extent. This allows for easy use of these objects. Printing in MS is the most reliable, and predictable, of any CAD product I have used. Some products will shift the print from one user to another, even if the same printer is used. MicroStation can/will overcome simple obstacles and yield the same results from printer to printer.

Cons

Some tools that exist in other CAD platforms need to be implemented in MS. The ability to select an element and trigger a tool that would then select similar objects based on type, level, color, etc. The Select by Attributes tool available is nice and highly functional, but requires too many clicks.

January 2018

Steve from Carrick Design Inc.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

Extremely stable CAD platform for professional level production.

It's the main platform for our daily production, so it's essential to us getting our work done.

Pros

Very stable. Never crashes. Getting started is easier than some of the competition, you can be up and drawing very quickly. Some of the features are more intuitive than other software in the same class. You can get your drawing to look how you want it to look more quickly. Software will let you go as in-depth as you want. If you wish to use it for basic tasks you can, but if you want to dig deep and become a power user, there are many many levels of depth. Integration with newly acquired technologies, points to a bright future for the Microstation platform.

Cons

Some of the more powerful features of the software require you to spend some time looking under the hood and learning the inner workings. There is not absolute consistency within every aspect of the GUI. Not every menu etc behaves in the same way, but this is a small nitpick, not a big deal.

January 2018

User Profile Picture

Calvin "Kal" from Florida Department of Transportation

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

I have been using Microstation to design Highways and complete construction drawings since 1994.

Microstation with GEOPAK is a COMPLETE Highway Design and Construction Plans Production Package. All needed tools are included from Survey Data Reduction to As-Build Plans Preparation. I would never switch from Microstation to AutoCAD!

Pros

The command set and menu has not changed dramatically in last 20 years. So as improved versions are released, there is never a completely new interface to learn. The existing drawing command still work in the new releases. New functionality is added on top of existing tools. Complete tools for design drawing standardization and detailed construction quantity takeoff are unique to Microstation with GEOPAK. The Autodesk Civil3D do not have the same capabilities for quantity measurement, takeoff, and tabulation.

Cons

The high cost of each design seat to use the software license. The competition has an LT version for less cost. But you get what you pay for. Microstation with GEOPAK is the MOST complete and advance highway design software available.

January 2018

Lorys from Cardno

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

I have been using microstation everyday for nearly 30 years since intergraph days till todate

Geographic coordinate accuracy, compatibility with many other software platforms in multidicipline environments. ie survey, mapping, civil drafting, 3d modelling

Pros

Of the all the CAD programs I have tried over the years Microstation is the most :- Customisable to user needs and multiply workflows. Intuitive dialog tools. Easy to learn. Prepackaged with excellent tools to improve workflows and can emulate Autocad and work with DWG files in a Microstation environment. Comes with 2d & 3d tools and some GIS features, Backward compatability of old files, that is to say you can open DOS version DGN files from 25 years ago and they still work in the current version.

Cons

The latest version CE has moved away from the traditional interface and adopted the MS Ribbon bar, which I don't like , the change is too radical and looks too much like Autodesk. I'm sure will get used to it eventually but for now I find it clumsy and time consuming.

October 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Review from a seasoned college graduate.

Pros

After a while it becomes second nature to use, and the grid hotkeys are the best setting there is

Cons

When making the transition from autocad to micro station, there is a lot of frustration because some college students come out with decent drafting skills. MA suggestion would be to approach more school and see if they can use micro station next to autocad in the drafting classes.

Reasons for Switching to MicroStation

Mandatory

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

User friendly Engineering software

Coming from a background of using AutoCad, it was a little bit of a learning curve. This program is necessary for state/city projects in our location.

Pros

3 years ago I made a switch to a new company that solely used MicroStation and I have an AutoCAD background. Once I was acquainted with the general layout and set up my toolbars, it's been very easy to learn the program. I love the autosave feature, that it accepts AutoCAD files, and the way the select function works.

Cons

That they do not have efficient quick keys. AutoCAD quick keys make the workflow easier. In MicroStation, they are not user-friendly, so I draft without. Also, beware of the way they work the network licenses if you accidentally go into a version you do not have extra seats for, it will allow you to work in it and you'll receive a HUGE bill.

July 2018

User Profile Picture

James from Xerox

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

MicroStation is no doubt the best software working for the development of 3D models.

Pros

The file sizes in MicroStation is great. One can easily control the dimension styles, references, text styles and line styles.It is very stable.For daily production it is the main platform.Integrating with the advancement of new technologies, the future of MicroStation software is very bright. MicroStation software allows us to open and covert AutoCad files.

Cons

The price of MicroStation license is very high but I know it is absolutely because of its quality. So there are no specific cons but there should be some different line styles and font styles.There should be some improvements in word editor. Whatever any thing is, this software no doubt improves our modelling skills.

February 2018

Patricia from Erdman Anthony of Florida

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Microstation is much easier to use that autocad. It's less time consuming to use than autocad.

It's just easy to use. I use it at my job here and it makes my job easier. I also use AutoCAD but avoid it if I can. Microstation is just much, much better.

Pros

Ease of use. User friendly. Can use two, three screens which make it easy to copy items to find things on the screen easily. Microstation allows you to open and convert autocad files. YOU DON'T HAVE TO SAVE YOUR WORK!! I just love this product. I can't say enough good things about Microstation by Bentley.

Cons

I do like the tabs that autocad uses so that you don't have to open a file separately. The cost of a Microstation license is fairly expensive. I'd like to have some different fonts and linestyles given by the manufacturer.

October 2019

James from National Grid

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Fantastic Software

I personally started out on AutoCAD by Autodesk for my drafting experience and I switched to MicroStation when I started working for National Grid and I have had nothing but great things to say about MicroStation. This software is much more user friendly.

Pros

The most beneficial tool in MicroStation is the ease of finding support. Questions are easily answered by typing in what you want help on, there are plenty of quick keys and YouTube videos to assist you. Also the MicroStation support team is always willing to help with quick response time

Cons

I do not have any bad things to say about Bentley or MicroStation. I have never had a problem

Reasons for Switching to MicroStation

I made the switch when I switched companies

October 2019

Faisal from ATKINS

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Easy to use interface for powerful tool

I have been working on traffic engineering design and details development. this software is powerful and save me a lot of time. I can work on multiple DGN files without the need to open and close each file every time. once someone get experienced with it, one person production can equal to 3 person production. it saved me a lot of time. I use it with FDOT SS4 and it make plans productions a breeze with all the cell libraries and ready to use features.

Pros

easy to use many features for different engineering and science disciplines saves time, money, and effort professional results easy to integrate with other software plenty of learning resources online

Cons

challenging for new users Help section needs to be more simplified

January 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

Solid tool suite for multi-discipline integrated design!

Pros

Stable platform, excellent visualization and rendering, robust tool set even for just drawing geometry. Discipline BIM tools integrate amongst each other miles beyond the Autodesk realm. All time favorite feature? The reference manager dialog box and using logicals!

Cons

Click heavy, users can develop wrist strain easy if not careful. There is ambiguity about how some features work. For example, is it really necessary to shift the global origin in design files anymore? Why is it that level display settings will carry across reference models, but then become broken? Why not a quick fix button for that?

January 2018

User Profile Picture

Craig from Woolpert

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

Easy to use with lots of other capabilities

The easy creation of a 3D model has helped convey design aspects to non-engineers and the public.

Pros

They have a lot of support videos of community forums that have been really helpful on resolving issues or finding best practices for each particular use. The file format makes opening and switching between files much quicker than autocad.

Cons

No complaints about microstation itself but they have been making a lot of improvements and changes to their 3D package. It's been a difficult to keep up with the all the changes as an original geopak user. Once I got used to the new tools it an helped my efficiency working on projects.

January 2018

Shameeem Mohammed from Arcadis Australia

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

A fantastic Design Software to work with!

My Modeling skills are improved and Can definitely a much better modeler than, If I use AutoCAD these times. Highly recommend this product over AutoCAD in infrastructure.

Pros

I find 3D modeling and and my integration with Civil discipline is lot more easier with this software. As a civil structural Modeler myself, I find Microstation is the best to my industry and Bentley's R&D is one of the best learni g paths one could go through.

Cons

Needs some improvements in Word editor. Its not that versatile as AutoCAD I always find that Microstation can definitely do much better Parametric Cell creation. Needs some improvements there.

July 2018

User Profile Picture

Natalia from SAIC

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

This software is really a blessing in my work, and it has made my work every time easier for me.

Pros

Easy to use with the friendly users. It's multiple screens helps the user to copy items and  find stuff on the screen. MicroStation is the best software which allows us to open and convert Autocad files. Dialogue box and reference manager are the great features that this software has. So I would say this is versatile with many functionality.

Cons

If i talk about the cost license of MicroStation is a little high but i also know that is because of its quality.There are no complaints about itself even they are improving and bringing some innovations about 3D packages .

November 2016

Johannes from Corridor Engineering Solutions

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2016

CAD is simply easy

Bentley's interoperability between Applications like OpenRoads, OpenPlant, ProSteel, ProConcrete and AECOsim makes it easy get up to use. All Applications work from same dgn format file and do not have to export. All Application is build on top of MicroStation and CAD used can easily understand new applications.

Pros

Small file size, once workspace been established the software forces a standard in the office, easy CAD tools, good 3D capabilities, can open most CAD file formats,

Cons

Takes time to get workspace set up, license system complex.

October 2019

Collin from Michael Baker International

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

My preference in highway design software

I used this software in my undergraduate classwork, and I enjoyed the learning process, even if the bentley learning studio is a little difficult to navigate.

Pros

I appreciate the tools available in InRoads Suite, for use with surfaces and geometry alignments when creating models or roadway elements. I currently use Microstation V8i as my current version, and it satisfies my companies needs for roadway highway design.

Cons

I have found some small bugs that will cause either an abrupt crash or a 'slow' crash that is more recoverable. I have heard that the CONNECT Edition is much less stable than the V8i version of Microstation, and for that reason our company has avoided switching to CONNECT for future projects, until bugs have been worked out.

January 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2018

Can be very cumbersome transitioning from Autodesk products

Ease of 3D modeling, ability to handle complicated graphics with little disruption. Access to the Bentley website and access to product support and training is fantastic. All and all it is a good software package just is cumbersome to get started in.

Pros

Mostly the add on software, Descartes, GeoPac, etc. The 3D modeling is fantastic, if they could apply these concepts to the 2D seeds and access to tools, etc. the software would be much better.

Cons

Text editor is garbage, keyboard shortcuts are very cumbersome, to many options for setting up workspace, almost have to understand programing just to start drafting.

January 2018

User Profile Picture

Barb from City of Ottawa

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

I have been working with MicroStation for over 8 years now. I really like the program.

Pros

Easy to use help is easy to use and get the help you need the features it has are exactly what I need to complete my day to day activities Easy to search for features snapping is great functions to what I need Able to bring in almost any format that I have access to

Cons

Not able to export to Excel Not able to export to ArcMap sometimes it drops tags, I have had it delete every tag in a project, and have it unrecoverable. Some other glitches like, changing something, saving it. Then later going back and having it not save it at all.

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

Great product for infrastructure design

I have been using MicroStation for over 7 years. It is the best drafting software for engineers designing infrastructure.

Pros

MicroStation is the best product for highway and bridge design. It is a very easy software to use and has a minimal learning curve. Overall, I find MicroStation to be much easier to use than AutoCAD. Bentley is improving all of their MicroStation/OpenBridge products and advancing the future of BrIM.

Cons

I have no major criticisms of the software. There are some limitations with creating 3D models, but the product is coming along quickly.

October 2019

Jovan from WSP

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Microstation is the best CAD platform

Large scale infrastructure projects where some disciplines use AutoCAD & others use Microstation, the speed and advanced functionality (such as dealing with reference files) becomes clearly evident.

Pros

Speed and interoperability. Microstation supports many different file types and provides additional software for a wide range of engineering design disciplines.

Cons

Administration can seem confusing as there are so many different options.

Reasons for Choosing MicroStation

Microstation is faster (even when opening purely dwg projects), and supports greater interoperability.

January 2018

Rick from WSP USA

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

CONVINENCE FOR DESIGN WORK

I am able to work thru many project and agency cross the nation, I hope more and more client could accept MS to be the official design software

Pros

The mega project is cross different offices and company, the Project Wise integration with associated software are allow me working at anywhere I need, which is making the production and design process without the boundary

Cons

The most common conversion with autodesk software sometime is not fully convert to what I want and hope the later version can make the integrations more detail and complete

January 2018

Sean from Stantec

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2018

30 years experience in Civil roadway design. But 15yrs or so with Inroads, 3yrs with Microstation

Faster Road design with Inroads running inside of Microstation

Pros

Fairly stable platform doesn't crash to often. Nice that there are no large "Ribbons" that crowd the screen. I do like the multiple view tabs changing between them is a snap. Lots of on line video's. Control of Xref's is fantastic.

Cons

Setting up a CAD standard for the office to use is a bit confusing. Need to improve the selection method for selecting multiple objects. Full snap button should include the parallel snap option.

August 2020

Alexander from Quantum Spatial

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

Occasional glitches but effective for my tasks

My company is using Microstation combined with Terrascan to visualize lidar data and model utilities. The software has a lot of functionality and I am learning new abilities weekly.

Pros

Microstation has a a very active set of forums and help where you can generally look for a problem you are having and someone else has already come across the issue and solved it.

Cons

A recent update changed some of the files on my machine, effectively breaking my normal workflow and resetting my machine to a previous version of the software would not fix the issue. Working with customer support we were not able to fix it and I had to find a workaround

January 2018

Nikolay from ITE Group PLC

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Events Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

the excellent cad software that offers complicated tasks finish with ease.

The software growth with your knowledge and expertise. It has all you might think for cad software, render, solar study, photo-matching etc. etc. etc.

Pros

has multiple disciplines under one hood. solid, surface, feature and parametric modelling, with very high quality of the visualisation and animation.

Cons

not very intuitive or user friendly interface. Some tasks are not very hard to follow and requires full attention. 3D mouse control used as internal programming, that does not support all the features.

December 2018

User Profile Picture

Alice from CyberCoders

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

The most user friendly software with excellent visualization.

It is really easy to use software. I like all its features as it is making my work easier day by day. I would say it is the most preferable software for performing multiple tasks.

Pros

I love everything about MicroStation. Its most interesting features include text styles plus dimension styles as well as references and line styles can be easily controlled through this software. There are fantastic ways of designing highways along with complete construction designs. It is the most reliable and excellent software. The best part of this software is that it never crashes.

Cons

This software works perfectly. I can hardly find cons in it. One of the cons is that MicroStation license is quite expensive but if we look at its quality and output, it surely deserve high price. One thing I want to suggest is that it should include some different line styles as well as font styles.

January 2018

Neal from Kapur & Associates

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

Adaptable and powerful software.

I am able to model and deliver plansets for roadway designs quickly and efficiently. More so than AutoDesk products at this point.

Pros

I like its adaptability and ability to work with other Bentley software packages. Additionally I like the ability to customize it and create macros that speed up the work process.

Cons

It can be buggy when working with 3D Modelling software and often crashes. Large files take a very long time to load as does switching between drawings with many references.

January 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2018

MicroStation is fairly simple to use and is highly adaptable to our uses (Landscape Architecture)

It is easy to learn and works well with State Agencies (DOT, Colleges, Etc).

Pros

It is built at "actual scale" so scaling onto sheets is very simple. It's well integrated into GIS and most state entities use it. Because the plans are geolocated, if you merge adjacent areas, they fit seamlessly

Cons

Addressing tech issues is extremely burdensome. Most of the first level IT is in the far east and responses can take a day. This means low priority issues can drag on forever.

December 2020

Tyler from Parsons

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Great for Civil Engineering

very positive

Pros

Microstation is a great CAD platform for civil engineering. When used with design software I much prefer microstation to autocad. I feel it fits civil engineering much better from everything from file structure to button assignments.

Cons

One con would be how button keyins change when design software is loaded. This can be worked around by changing your task but it seems there could be a better way

September 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

The Backbone of our Company Draftsmen

A cheaper and more lightweight AutoCAD. If you spend some time with it, you can do anything you need to do on AutoCAD with it.

Pros

It uses way less resources than AutoCAD. Microstation has lots of capabilities of custom code and it runs way faster than AutoCAD.

Cons

They keep on trying to force you to update to the newest version however our custom macros will not be supported. They took away our large volume discount after we refused to upgrade.

February 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2021

basic 2D / 3D advanced drawing program

It can be used as a common platform in all engineering areas such as Map, Infrastructure, Architecture, Construction, Mechanical, Installation, GIS.

Pros

Engineering programs that cannot do 3d modeling but have other advantages connect two programs to each other with an interface developed for microstation.

Cons

There is a problem that the lines drawn in the latest v8 version, but in this version, cannot be opened in the previous versions.

January 2018

User Profile Picture

Mike from Greenhorne & O'Mara, now Stantec

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

I have enjoyed (and cursed) MicroStation for many years. Since the DOS days, to be specific.

It is a very versatile and efficient mapping software.

Pros

It is very versatile with a lot of functionality. For just about anything you can think of, there are two or three (or more) ways of doing it. I like that you can build in a virtual real-world environment and that there a lot of tools to help with that.

Cons

Because of its versatility it's also quite complicated. Trying to do something that is not familiar can be quite the challenge.

October 2019

James from Western Power, Perth, Australia

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

MicroStation - an user's review

I have used MicroStaion for Highway Design, Bridge Design, Railway Design, sewage treatment plant etc. Now I am using for electricity distribution and transmission industry. It is a fantastic software for all the industries.

Pros

Overall it is a fantastic software. All utilities in this software are powerful. To familiarize these applications we have to spend a little time.

Cons

I would like very much to use this software without any boring because of the powerful tools.

January 2018

Brian from Lingle Engineers

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

I have several copies of usta and it is very versatile.

The use in a civil and structural design firm is invaluable for the daily design of projects.

Pros

The ability to interact with autocad and other cad systems directly. The system can interconnect with other programs that are available for highway design, structural design, drainage, etc.

Cons

As with any cad system, there is a learning curve. With each new version that comes out, they rearrange the location of the tools and they must be relearned.

October 2019

Shazal from Michael Baker International

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Improvement for Beginner use

Pros

Able to get work done. I like it better than other CAD Software.

Cons

Features are not very user-friendly. There is confusion in the beginning. I continue to use what I know, learning new features are time-consuming and not intuitive.

January 2018

lina monica from AECOM

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

There a lot of ways to do the same outcome with the ability to customize.

I've taken to like the flexibility and robustness

Pros

I gives you option to customize with the option of preset shortcuts to increase productivity. Plus doing 3D is easy with the understanding of views and help from accudraw

Cons

because it has the ability to customize there is a risk of each doing their own way. That is unless the CAD manager have set up a way to standardize the system.

April 2020

User Profile Picture

EK from General Electric Company

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

Quality Drawing through Microstation

I feel Good about my daily using experience with Bently Microstation

Pros

Microstation is very good software to make drawings Specially for Brown filed projects.It is Very easy to attach maps,Coordinates and Feeling satisfaction towards by producing Quality drawings.

Cons

Software need to improve in areas like keyboard commands and tools selection window to meet user friendly requirements.

January 2018

Raghavendran from PIXEL SOFTEK PVT LTD

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

I have been a MicroStation evangelist since MicroStation 95 version and will continue to be...

Productivity, Automation, Discipline specific implementations/services

Pros

The collaborative working platform with plethora of tools that MicroStation provides for Engineers. The advantage of several discipline specific solutions on MicroStation

Cons

Sometimes you get lost in the world of MicroStation with so many functionalities to work with. This is not really a cons, but may be for a novice user.

January 2018

Richard from Crosslinx Transit Solutions

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2018

Great tool for 2 & 3 D, versatile and easy to learn and use

Is very useful for our CAD/BIM team and for the project that we are working currently, easy to use and share between team members, etc.

Pros

Reference & Level Manager and Display, printing settings, Import & Export tools Compatibility with other CAD software,

Cons

I am not very comfortable with the lack of shortcuts, keyboard commands. The icon commands are great but still I like more typing my commands.

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

I thought I was an AutoCAD devotee until I met MicroStation

Pros

Excellent array of civil tools, great for structures, best training available through Bentley Learn, compatible with all Bentley programs, easy to create everything from sketches to plan sets

Cons

Harder to use than other CAD software I've used (but so, so very worth it), requires seed files for best results, can be expensive to implement for small firms.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 151 reviews