All MicroStation Reviews

1-25 of 173 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Arshad

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2021

MicroStation

I primarily use MicroStation mostly for CAD and like it die to its powerful but yet lightweight processing engine.

PROS

MicroStation appeals to me in every way. Text styles, dimension styles, references, and line styles are among the software's most intriguing features, all of which may be easily altered. Highways can be built in a variety of ways, including with extensive building plans. It is the most trustworthy and high-quality software on the market. The best thing about this show is that it never lets you down. The platform is fairly stable and does not crash all that often. It's good that there aren't any enormous tags on the screen. The various view tabs are useful because moving between them is simple. On the internet, there are a plethora of videos to choose from. The extent to which xRefs can be customized is astounding.

CONS

The user interface is not very user-friendly or intuitive. Some tasks are simple to do yet need a bit more work in it. Internal programming is used for 3D mouse control, however it does not cover all of the features. Dealing with computer issues is exhausting. The vast majority of first-level IT response is based in Asia, and responses can take up to a day because of which smaller issues may take more than required time to get sorted.

Narayan

Design, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2019

User friendly

I have been using microstation for more than 11 years and I find it very easy to use plus it can be customised for industry specific needs.

PROS

The shortcut features, it is flexible to multiple sectors of designs, it can allow user to create batch process script for automation.

CONS

User guide with frequently asked question in bentley communities to be linked with the software help menu.

Reason for choosing MicroStation

More features. Allows users to in maitaining consistency in drawing preparation.

Dan

Civil Engineering, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed January 2018

Answers for Open Roads and SS4 - poor performance and issues with new software bugs need work around

Working on 3D Model development and workflows

PROS

I like they are moving to doing design in 3D - software from what I seen the interface in Open Roads looks easier.

CONS

Help files are poor - difficult to set up standards and information on setting up standards is hard to find - using software seems tricky very picky on the prompts new users can not get a grasp - need to use heads up prompts than switch to key board - many bugs in SS4 difficult to move standards forward - trying to develop work flow is cumbersome - using Project Wise is another issue with their own Bentley software - difficult to snap to elements in SS4 tentative snap works funny - changed printing dialog so every time a user hits enter on the dialog it send a print - difficult to mange new setting like this when using multiple version of the software behaves one way in SS2 and another in SS4 - Support closes tickets without asking if issue is resolved - support page selection for area needing help on needs updating - Plan prep in open roads very lacking -

User Profile

Michael

Verified reviewer

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2018

Great CAD product which has evolved into the strongest available

Ease of project creation and distribution. The ability to open DGN files that date back to the 90's as well as other formats.

PROS

MicroStation has great file sizes. Compared to competitors, MS file sizes are a fraction. The amount of control for many of the elements is beyond comparison! Text styles, dimension styles, references, and linestyles can be controlled and manipulated to the greatest extent. This allows for easy use of these objects. Printing in MS is the most reliable, and predictable, of any CAD product I have used. Some products will shift the print from one user to another, even if the same printer is used. MicroStation can/will overcome simple obstacles and yield the same results from printer to printer.

CONS

Some tools that exist in other CAD platforms need to be implemented in MS. The ability to select an element and trigger a tool that would then select similar objects based on type, level, color, etc. The Select by Attributes tool available is nice and highly functional, but requires too many clicks.

User Profile

James

Verified reviewer

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2018

MicroStation is no doubt the best software working for the development of 3D models.

PROS

The file sizes in MicroStation is great. One can easily control the dimension styles, references, text styles and line styles.It is very stable.For daily production it is the main platform.Integrating with the advancement of new technologies, the future of MicroStation software is very bright. MicroStation software allows us to open and covert AutoCad files.

CONS

The price of MicroStation license is very high but I know it is absolutely because of its quality. So there are no specific cons but there should be some different line styles and font styles.There should be some improvements in word editor. Whatever any thing is, this software no doubt improves our modelling skills.

User Profile

Craig

Verified reviewer

Civil Engineering, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2018

Easy to use with lots of other capabilities

The easy creation of a 3D model has helped convey design aspects to non-engineers and the public.

PROS

They have a lot of support videos of community forums that have been really helpful on resolving issues or finding best practices for each particular use. The file format makes opening and switching between files much quicker than autocad.

CONS

No complaints about microstation itself but they have been making a lot of improvements and changes to their 3D package. It's been a difficult to keep up with the all the changes as an original geopak user. Once I got used to the new tools it an helped my efficiency working on projects.

User Profile

Barb

Verified reviewer

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2018

I have been working with MicroStation for over 8 years now. I really like the program.

PROS

Easy to use help is easy to use and get the help you need the features it has are exactly what I need to complete my day to day activities Easy to search for features snapping is great functions to what I need Able to bring in almost any format that I have access to

CONS

Not able to export to Excel Not able to export to ArcMap sometimes it drops tags, I have had it delete every tag in a project, and have it unrecoverable. Some other glitches like, changing something, saving it. Then later going back and having it not save it at all.

HAFIZ USMAN

Civil Engineering, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2024

Amazing CAD tool and easy to use for beginners

PROS

Its easy to use as compare to other CAD software.

CONS

The software gets close and does not allow multiple files opening at the same time.

User Profile

EK

Verified reviewer

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2020

Quality Drawing through Microstation

I feel Good about my daily using experience with Bently Microstation

PROS

Microstation is very good software to make drawings Specially for Brown filed projects.It is Very easy to attach maps,Coordinates and Feeling satisfaction towards by producing Quality drawings.

CONS

Software need to improve in areas like keyboard commands and tools selection window to meet user friendly requirements.

User Profile

Boris

Verified reviewer

Shipbuilding, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2018

Microstation v8i

PROS

It is an old program version for DGN drawings but it is fast and good alternative to other software. You can open DWG drawing, import AutoCAD files. It is programmable by adding more functionalities using MACRO VB Scripts.

CONS

When comes to programming, not that resourceful documentation. That is, with this version.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

The best design tool for Architects

I will continue to test this cool and amazing application that suit me for my project.

PROS

MicroStation is one of the modern software you need for architecture related projects, MicroStationoffers you features like 2D and 3D design, estimation and it is suitable for many professionals.

CONS

I think the software is a bit expensive for small businesses.

Lorys

Civil Engineering, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2018

I have been using microstation everyday for nearly 30 years since intergraph days till todate

Geographic coordinate accuracy, compatibility with many other software platforms in multidicipline environments. ie survey, mapping, civil drafting, 3d modelling

PROS

Of the all the CAD programs I have tried over the years Microstation is the most :- Customisable to user needs and multiply workflows. Intuitive dialog tools. Easy to learn. Prepackaged with excellent tools to improve workflows and can emulate Autocad and work with DWG files in a Microstation environment. Comes with 2d & 3d tools and some GIS features, Backward compatability of old files, that is to say you can open DOS version DGN files from 25 years ago and they still work in the current version.

CONS

The latest version CE has moved away from the traditional interface and adopted the MS Ribbon bar, which I don't like , the change is too radical and looks too much like Autodesk. I'm sure will get used to it eventually but for now I find it clumsy and time consuming.

Sam

Civil Engineering, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

Still can't understand why Bentley forced Connect from V8i

Used to love it with V8i. Not sure yet when it comes to Connect version

PROS

This is one of our primary accu drawing tool for years. Functions cover almost all needs for civil plan drawings

CONS

As a long-time user, the recent, forced change from V8i to Connect version presented significant changes to the interface - the menu of the tools is completely re-organized. Many of the habits established over years of work are forced to change. With all these negative impacts, the functions don't seem to improve. So what's the point? There are also bugs such as printing transparency and live reference that prevent users from easy workout like in the discarded V8i version.

Faisal

Civil Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

Easy to use interface for powerful tool

I have been working on traffic engineering design and details development. this software is powerful and save me a lot of time. I can work on multiple DGN files without the need to open and close each file every time. once someone get experienced with it, one person production can equal to 3 person production. it saved me a lot of time. I use it with FDOT SS4 and it make plans productions a breeze with all the cell libraries and ready to use features.

PROS

easy to use many features for different engineering and science disciplines saves time, money, and effort professional results easy to integrate with other software plenty of learning resources online

CONS

challenging for new users Help section needs to be more simplified

Collin

Civil Engineering, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2019

My preference in highway design software

I used this software in my undergraduate classwork, and I enjoyed the learning process, even if the bentley learning studio is a little difficult to navigate.

PROS

I appreciate the tools available in InRoads Suite, for use with surfaces and geometry alignments when creating models or roadway elements. I currently use Microstation V8i as my current version, and it satisfies my companies needs for roadway highway design.

CONS

I have found some small bugs that will cause either an abrupt crash or a 'slow' crash that is more recoverable. I have heard that the CONNECT Edition is much less stable than the V8i version of Microstation, and for that reason our company has avoided switching to CONNECT for future projects, until bugs have been worked out.

Rick

Civil Engineering, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2018

CONVINENCE FOR DESIGN WORK

I am able to work thru many project and agency cross the nation, I hope more and more client could accept MS to be the official design software

PROS

The mega project is cross different offices and company, the Project Wise integration with associated software are allow me working at anywhere I need, which is making the production and design process without the boundary

CONS

The most common conversion with autodesk software sometime is not fully convert to what I want and hope the later version can make the integrations more detail and complete

Nikolay

Events Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2018

the excellent cad software that offers complicated tasks finish with ease.

The software growth with your knowledge and expertise. It has all you might think for cad software, render, solar study, photo-matching etc. etc. etc.

PROS

has multiple disciplines under one hood. solid, surface, feature and parametric modelling, with very high quality of the visualisation and animation.

CONS

not very intuitive or user friendly interface. Some tasks are not very hard to follow and requires full attention. 3D mouse control used as internal programming, that does not support all the features.

Johannes

Civil Engineering, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2016

CAD is simply easy

Bentley's interoperability between Applications like OpenRoads, OpenPlant, ProSteel, ProConcrete and AECOsim makes it easy get up to use. All Applications work from same dgn format file and do not have to export. All Application is build on top of MicroStation and CAD used can easily understand new applications.

PROS

Small file size, once workspace been established the software forces a standard in the office, easy CAD tools, good 3D capabilities, can open most CAD file formats,

CONS

Takes time to get workspace set up, license system complex.

James

Utilities, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING: