All SimSolid Reviews

1-25 of 34 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Paulo

Verified reviewer

Automotive, 10,000+ employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2024

Incredible Tool

The software's remarkable speed, driven by the innovative "meshless" method, allows for swift yet accurate analyses, revolutionizing traditional simulation timelines. SimSolid's user-friendly interface and compatibility with multiple CAD formats make it accessible to engineers of all levels, facilitating a seamless and efficient workflow. The software's precision and reliability, coupled with its quick processing capabilities, have garnered widespread acclaim, making Altair SimSolid an invaluable tool for optimizing product designs and enhancing overall development cycles.

PROS

Altair SimSolid is highly praised for its exceptional speed, accuracy, and user-friendly interface. Its unique "meshless" method allows for rapid yet precise structural analysis, saving valuable time in product development. The software's intuitive design and compatibility with various CAD formats make it accessible to both seasoned engineers and newcomers. SimSolid's robust solver ensures reliable results, contributing to efficient and informed decision-making in the design process. Overall, it stands out as a revolutionary simulation tool that significantly enhances the speed and reliability of structural analysis.

CONS

Little acceptance by the industry, as it is still a novelty.

Mathieu

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2020

Lead Time reduction for CAE simulation

I use SIMSOLID to simulate various mechanisms. I do linear, non-linear and modal analysis but the software has over capacities (dynamics and thermal). The mechanisms I work on are complex with a lot of contact between the parts. I can obtain results after few clicks and few minutes, this allows me to test a maximum of solutions in a very short time.

PROS

Possibility to import natif CAD format. Type of analyzes that can be performed: linear, non-linear (geometry, materials, contact), modal, dynamic and thermal. It is possible to automatically create weld beads , to detect contacts and to detect scews/bolts. The software is always update with new features. The support can easily be reached

CONS

You can't modify for the moment the CAD in SIMSOLID interface. The import of CAD is a little bit long

Reasons for switching to SimSolid

Simulations are faster The software has a better Value for Money The support is better

User Profile

George

Verified reviewer

Automotive, 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed July 2023

Simsolid

PROS

Easy to use geometrically model without mesh. Easy to use local 9n laptop for complex models.

CONS

Should be added something related by explicit analysis, but I guess Is not easy. And perhaps in future something related by an interface with a deep learning model.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the feedback!

Replied July 2023

Håkan

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2023

Easy to use for our students

Only positiv experience of SimSolid. Easy to use and to learn. As you have to import all geometry, it is a good feature that SimSolid can recognice if it is a simular geometry, BC and other features applies directly and you get many different results in the tree to caompare.

PROS

Easy to use, you do not have to mesh the model something that take a lot of time. Wery fast solver, 5 time faster then traditional FE softare. Easy to learn, many features and is still under development.

CONS

Maybe to easy to use. Have seen som strange results that I can not explain.

Reasons for switching to SimSolid

We did not switch, we use both FE software and SimSolid

Vendor Response

Thanks for the great review!

Replied July 2023

vidyaprakash

Textiles, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2023

Speed of Design-with SIMSOLID

For linear static SIMSOLID is the best option for solving- single part as well whole assembly simulation of the parts.User friendlieness, solving speed is very high.Results accuracey very good in simple linear static analysisTransient,nonlinear analysis yet to be validated

PROS

Ease of learn,use and take out the resultsFastner Pretension resultsStructure as whole assembly simulation

CONS

Results accuracey sometimes need to be verifiedModel corrections not possibleUndo option is not availableMeasure,move,replace parts in Assembly is not possible

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2023

Use of SimSolid for porous structures

PROS

I like the simplicity of the software interface and ease of use. It can import and run simulations on breb models as well as mesh files. The software successfully runs simulations on intricate geometry without the worry of mesh generation failure.

CONS

Not many customization options are available in the simulation setup. It is highly memory intensive but uses less CPU which makes it slow in operation. I am facing inconsistency in the results sometimes.

amol

Machinery, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed July 2023

Democratize FEA for design community

We are rolling out to more and more designers so that inital concept screening is done by designers and Professional CAE analyst can focus on final and complex verifications

PROS

ease of useshort learning curvecan use without/little hand holdingSpeedease to switch to non linear fea

CONS

more options to control each DOF and not to depend on limited options.

Reason for choosing SimSolid

ease of useshort learning curvecan use without/little hand holdingSpeedease to switch to non linear fea

Reasons for switching to SimSolid

ease of use and short learning curve

Vendor Response

Thank you for the great review!

Replied July 2023

User Profile

Benjamin

Verified reviewer

Industrial Automation, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2024

With the right care, it's a huge time saver and a great way to enter simulation

PROS

It can take the full CAD, right down to the nuts and bolts, and use it add more detail to the analysis. It has a great range of features from linear static to modal and more. I like the the feature where simulations setups can be copied over to new version of the design automatically

CONS

It seems simple but there are some key settings you have to get right in order to get sensible results. Sometimes habdling the number of contacts and joints in an assembly is unwieldy.

sorabh

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2024

Extremely user friendly

PROS

Very quick result Least training required

CONS

Accuracy can be increased. Export option can be further enhanced

woosik

Chemicals, 10,000+ employees

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

Pros and Cons of SimSolid

PROS

It belongs to HyperWorks products.It's easy to get an education, and the price isn't bad.

CONS

It is different from the program you are used to.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the positive review!

Replied July 2023

Tom

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1 employee

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2021

SimSolid Upends Traditional FEA Solutions

This comment is NOT about SimSolid, but about the survey. It's too constricted in how questions are to be answered, when drop-down choices don't include what I want to say. Saw this earlier on page 1 and 2.

PROS

1) ZERO need to spend time to mesh a model 2) ZERO need to spend time to first simplify a model, and remove small details, features, etc. 3) Ability to import a huge number of neutral file formats, as well as NATIVE CAD file formats 4) Ability to run a simulation in seconds to minutes. That REALLY happens! 5) Small footprint of disk space used, once installed. Surprisingly compact. 6) Ability to handle increasingly more complex types of simulations, as it has evolved over time

CONS

1) It will be nice if/when the GUI that is as it was designed (before the acquisition by Altair), can be more similar or eventually the same, as the GUI used with Inspire 2) The Tutorials are very good, but there can never be enough. More examples, videos, tutorials would be welcome.

Reason for choosing SimSolid

I was following SimSolid for 6 months, before Altair acquired them. It was amazing to hear of some of their claims about reducing time for setup/solve of structural, modal or thermal problems. The founders effectively 're-approached' the underlying math that launched the entire FEA field, going back to the 60's and 70's. Then when I learned that Altair bought the whole company, it was very clear then that they really did produce something revolutionary. Because of Altair's long history in the Simulation space, they would not have done that had the product not been everything it was advertised as.

Alessandro

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

Fast, complete simulations on Assemblies with an easy to use program!

Simply put: I was astonished by this program. I used it for my bachelor thesis and it really saved me months of time.

PROS

The thing I really liked about this product has been the simplicity of use. I mostly used it for displacement and stress analysis on complete assemblies. The process was ridiculously fast: I would model my assembly in Solidworks and directly from there (SimSolid does have some nice integrations) I would click an icon that would place my assembly in the SimSolid environment. From there it was possible to define different load configurations directly on the assembly (that's something I had never seen) and see the results in just a bunch of seconds (maybe 4 seconds?). When the results are out you are able to see stresses, displacements, modal analysis (these are the features I looked at)... and you can navigate between results from different load configurations in 1 click. You can then save scenes of your work, hiding parts that are not useful for certain focuses (you might want to see stresses applied to a piece that is hidden by other pieces in the assembly) and get back to analyse it later...

CONS

As I have used just a bunch of simulation programs for the moment, I didn't notice downsides of the program during the use. The simple stuff is really good and intuitive but there might be some problems with advanced feature... I really can't say that I've seen them though.

Jacob

Automotive, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed December 2021

Recommended for rough estimations and visualizations

PROS

SimSolid has a very fast and straight forward setup process which helps a lot to get a first impression of a systems behavior. The results are good enough for rough estimations and visualizations especially when you are looking at something "new". A real benefit is also the fast and reliable auto contact definition algorithm. Even models with several hundred parts can be set up within 1 hour.

CONS

The results can be very inaccurate depending on the problem. And to very the error can be very difficult because to do convergence study you have to run the model from the beginning every time. So solver and solution control are definitely a weak spot and can be further improved. Also the model discretization for results visualization sometimes looks very rough and there is no control for that (created a ticket already).

Pranav

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

Awesome Product!!!

Great! so far.

PROS

I am very impressed with SimSolid, I have used a lot and I recommend my clients also for preliminary check.although it cant replace the FEA results, but it gives a nice understanding about the product which has large number of parts and its material library is very useful.

CONS

GUI should be changed to "Altair New generation GUI" it will dominate easily once this is done.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the great review - we appreciate it!

Replied July 2023

Charles

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1 employee

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2017

This software takes the pain out of structural analysis. This meshless analysis is quick & accurate

FEA analysis software at a great price. Runs quickly, accurately, all from an stl export. Navigation through the software is almost self explanatory, but tutorials are available if anything is unclear. Components or assemblies are easily constrained and loaded, and graphical results can be quickly added to your Powerpoint presentation.

PROS

Easy start up and intuitive menus. I switched from Siemens NX Nastran without any issue adopting it. Working with .stl files instead of a mesh is very easy. At first I wasn't sure of the accuracy, but I benchmarked it against hand calculations and Siemens NX Nastran and I was impressed. Solve time on both components and full assemblies is quick. The software is also very intuitive with assemblies, stitching where required or adding bolt connections. If there were any issues, the owner would email you directly with quick solutions. Looking forward to it's app in Onshape, as long as the cost is not too high.

CONS

License is a pain. It should be floating because we don't always use it on the same machine. More literature should be available about how the stl is an accurate mesh. People don't believe my results until empirical testing proves the software is accurate.

Sam

Defense & Space, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

Great Early Design Tool

Overall I have a positive experience with SimSolid. We have implemented it into the early stages of our design processes.

PROS

The ability to perform early stage analysis on different product designs in terms of speed is second to none.

CONS

Legend editing is somewhat lacking. Also ability to integrate 1D elements (springs, rigid and unstructured mass) would be great.

Reason for choosing SimSolid

Speed associated with the mesh less aproach.

Robert

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2023

Pro and Cons of SimSolid at AMST

Overall experince is very positiv, because the use of SimSolid save us a lot of time and is easy to use. As well for employees with low experience.

PROS

Fast modeling and shoirt computing times of structures with high quailty results

CONS

In concept development, a structure is usually not fully constructed. Missing components and functions cannot be modeled in SimSolid. Definitions for various joints are missing.Model tree cannot be organized and could be clearer (especially with large Modells)

Reason for choosing SimSolid

Because we already have an Altair Licence and I think it is the best product for our needs on the market.

Aniket

Automotive, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY