All Vectorworks Architect Reviews

1-25 of 50 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Adam

Verified reviewer

Architecture & Planning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2018

Simple, effective CAD package that looks great

This effective and intuitive CAD platform enables me to produce architectural drawings for clients with ease. I can produce incredibly detailed construction drawings that are both readable and informative and enable contractors, clients and any other 3rd party to understand exactly what is being proposed or changed.

PROS

2D tools are simple and intuitive - I have taught complete novices very quickly how to use the tools and produce great looking Architectural drawings. Can be set up so it is as easy as drawing on a drawing board (I.e. you draw to scale on a piece of paper (no silly model space/paper space like AutoCAD)). Colours, hatched, patterns and opacity all allow you to produce beautiful architectural drawings that are easy to understand and interpret. With tailoring shortcuts it is also very quick to use - I can produce drawings twice as fast as other employees on AutoCAD. Has options for 3D and BIM modelling (although I have only used it minimally as I prefer the freedom of drawing with simple lines). System for backing up data and saves is great and has saved my skin often when I could of lost days worth of work.

CONS

Has had issues with iOS updates in the past and time has been wasted waiting for patches. Very occasionally crashes for bizarre reasons.

David

Architecture & Planning, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2023

The hub of my architectural workflow

Overall, I'm pleased with it. It fits well into my workflow. It's a little bit expensive, and I do find it a bit frustrating that Vectorworks offers seasonal discounts that I can never take advantage of because my annual subscription renewal never coincides with them!

PROS

I love the flexibility and customisation options Vectorworks gives me. I can use it as a very simple drafting software for simple projects, or a fully-fledged BIM application for larger projects. With Vectorworks, I don't feel like I have to design in a way the software wants me to design.

CONS

There is a fairly long learning curve to get the most out of the software, and occasionally you do have to do a bit of head-scratching to figure something out. However, I feel like that is inevitable for software that offers this degree of flexibility.

Reason for choosing Vectorworks Architect

Revit is too expensive and I didn't think it was very good.

Reasons for switching to Vectorworks Architect

I got started with AutoCAD LT because it was cost-effective, but ultimately lacked features. I found ArchiCAD to be too restrictive - I felt like I had to design the building ArchiCAD wanted me to design!

LarissA

Architecture & Planning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed February 2020

It does absolutely everything

I do not like it.. I find it a waste of time

PROS

If you want to do something there are probably at least 3 ways to do it in this software.

CONS

There are too many ways to customize and do things.. this makes everyday simple tasks very time consuming. It has too many glitches with Mac OS.. We havent been able to use the file sharing option without wasting hours and hours on redoing work due to crashing or random glitches that wont allow the files to save and sync.

Reasons for switching to Vectorworks Architect

New job uses only vectorworks

Simon

Architecture & Planning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2020

Great software, but....

We started using Vectorworks many years ago because it was truly superior to Autocad at producing legible drawings. But Autocad has caught up. And we prefer modeling in Rhino, even though it is a more cumbersome work flow. Meanwhile. for BIM, it makes more sense to use Revit simply because everyone else is using it. IF we were starting our office today, we would not be selecting Vectorworks, much as I like it as a drafting program. And the expensive annual upgrades are frustrating, given how little benefits are.

PROS

Vectorworks is a great drafting program. it allows you to do anything you want, with great control over how the drawings look, and many ways to organize a complete drawing set.

CONS

The software is expensive, and the annual updates add very little. Autocad as pretty much caught up in terms of object-based controls. and ability to make beautiful, robust, legible, intelligent 2D drawings. While the 3D is very intuitive, Rhino is more robust. And for BIM, it is hard to justify not using the industry standard software. So where is the edge for Vectorworks?

Reason for choosing Vectorworks Architect

20 years ago it was a superior drafting program.

David

Architecture & Planning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

Best BIM software for a growing practice

We have generally had a superior experience using VectorWorks Architect, primarily on a OSX platform.

PROS

the vast array of features and it's integration with other 2D, BIM and 3D software.

CONS

The service select feature which is marketed as a customer service platform comes at a separated cost, further you cannot get updates or pay for upgrades without it.

Reason for choosing Vectorworks Architect

cost and ability to run natively on mac

Reasons for switching to Vectorworks Architect

it was the most cost effective BIM solution available on the mac platform at the time

Rob

Architecture & Planning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2020

Outstanding Software

We have been using the software over 20 years without hardly any issues! We can still open files from 1994!!!!!! We look at other softwares to make sure we are keeping up. When we factor in money, easy answer.....VectorWorks! We are a full BIM FIRM and VECTORWORKS does everything we need.

PROS

BIM capabilities, ease of learning, ease of use, ease of rendering, Smart tools, exceptional customer service, stability and speed of work.

CONS

Really ...... nothing. If the software doesn’t have something someone else has, they are probably developing it for the next version.

Reason for choosing Vectorworks Architect

Way back in 1994, it was one of the only Mac platforms. We were just lucky they kept growing and improving!

Bill

Architecture & Planning, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2020

VECTORWORKS REVIEW

The transition has been a smooth and good experience so far.

PROS

The ease of use, the customer support from the software company, and the ease of training

CONS

The process of creating drawing sets and create all the viewports can be tedious.

Reason for choosing Vectorworks Architect

The price point and the ease of making the switch over

Reasons for switching to Vectorworks Architect

The software was 2d only and the support for upgrades was not great

User Profile

Sarah

Verified reviewer

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2020

Vectorworks review

PROS

Wide breadth of features and functionality

CONS

Glitchy quirks that randomly show up and little support from VWX techs.

Reason for choosing Vectorworks Architect

More similarity to AutoCAD, easier for staff to learn.

David Laurence

Architecture & Planning, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2020

Legacy User Loves Vectorworks 2020

As an Architect + Planner + Interior Architect & Designer... Having the ‘Verticle Market’ solutions available like Vectorworks ‘Architect’ & ‘Designer’ is so very valuable!

PROS

Features & Ease of Use + Price!!! And Vectorworks Customer Service & Community is Absolutely Amazing!

CONS

I wish that the initial price was lower :-)

Reason for choosing Vectorworks Architect

• Best Features! • Best Customer Service! • VectCommunity! • Best Value! ...THANK YOU VECTORWORKS!!!

Erwin

Architecture & Planning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2024

Intuitive, easy to use, powerful

In general, my experience of many years of using the software and having grown with it from its very primitive versions, has been very good. I have managed to carry out complete designs with a very good integration in BIM, in a very easy and intuitive way. Without hesitation I recommend this platform for the development of any project in the industry.

PROS

Complete solution to develop architectural designs from the first sketches, with complete ease of 3D control of volumetry and shapes, perfect integration of 2D drawing and the generation of construction documents, as well as the possibility of generating complete reports for a good constructive process. Actually an excellent BIM option.

CONS

The possibility of generating optimal quality renders on the MAC OS platform is almost impossible. It must be integrated with other software solutions and at least on MacBook Pro it is a disaster. I understand that it is not entirely a software problem but it is really depressing.

Nicole

Architecture & Planning, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2020

Vectorworks User Review

After a couple years of transitioning into this software, our team now has templates, object libraries, and graphic standards which can be easily implemented to all projects. The Vectorworks support team has been really helpful along the way with answering our questions and providing training on specific topics when needed. I would recommend this software to other architecture and interior design firms.

PROS

Vectorworks gives our studio the ability to combine design drawings, construction documents, and renderings into one file. We take advantage of the software’s BIM capabilities to generate elevations, schedules, and smart tags. This program is visually appealing and easy to navigate. It is a good choice for a mac-based office.

CONS

Our team has experienced a bit of a learning curve when it comes to modeling curvy objects. Vectorworks has subdivision and parametric modeling capabilities, but these do require some training. While you can import 3D files for items such as furniture from Sketchup or Revit, this can slow down the model.

Reasons for switching to Vectorworks Architect

We made the switch to Vectorworks because our previous software was not capable of BIM. We also needed a mac based program, as we are an all-mac office.

Kristan

Architecture & Planning, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2022

VectorWorks really work hard

Vectorworks will help you deliver excellent 2D drawings and can really work hard as a 3D program too. It has all the thrills of BIM but without the major benefit of being able to collaborate with other consultants, unless they also use Vectorworks.

PROS

Vectorworks produces the most graphically appealing and customisable drawings that I have experienced on any BIM software. This ability to make highly desirable 2D graphics and a simple 3D rendering tool that can quickly realise concepts in 3D makes Vectorworks appealing for small and mid sized Architecture practices. The program also harnesses the power of BIM to make models that are data driven.

CONS

The only downside of Vectorworks is that it won't work well when you need to collaborate with those who don't use it. Although it works well DWG as soon as you want to issue a model to a Revit user you are in trouble. This may be fine for a small Architecture practice that wants to use Vectorworks for 2D drafting and not share the 3D model, however this isn't very future proof.

Heidi

Architecture & Planning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2020

Best Software for Architects

The 3d benefits of VW is amazing! We are finding now that some of our consultants are now using the software therefore the sharing of files is extremely easy. BUT the exporting of files to AutoCad are great too.

PROS

This software is very intuitive. It works well with presentation software especially TwinMotion. We are a Mac based office and VW is very compatible. The VectorWorks Service Select subscription is great due to all the "how to" videos and consistent updates to their 3D library, etc.

CONS

The only con is that this software is so robust that we fear that we are not aware of all that it can do. A couple years ago we tried the VectorWorks cloud service so that a team can work on the same project at once and found it cumbersome. We have not tried it lately therefore this feature may have improved.

Sam

Architecture & Planning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

One of the good BIM software for achitect

Once you get used to how to setup design layers and sort the classes, this software is a very smooth and competitive BIM software for architects.

PROS

This software is easy to use with different setup design layers, easy to setup the sheet, just simply import the design layers as viewport, easy to setup the drawing scale, and compatible with other software like auto CAD, auto Revit etc. Also easy to setup 3D model use design layers, and easy to do the rendering. the elevations and sections can be directly export from the 3D model, very easy to setup.

CONS

It is a bit complex to setup design layers, and also troublesome to sort the classes.

Anthony

Architecture & Planning, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed July 2018

Some good features but let down by bugs and half finished elements. No go for BIM.

Shame as this could be a great software, yet after using it for years it just doesn't seem to be as complete a software as you would expect in 2018. Go for another, such as industry standard Revit.

PROS

2D Drawing is fine, basic 3D work is also fine. Classes and layers system is generally a good way of working. I like the clean appearance of the workspace.

CONS

Half implemented and half finished features. The software advertises itself as being compatible with BIM projects, but the 3D modelling and parametric 'smart' tools are buggy and unfinished, and many tools are way behind other software (i.e. Revit). Support is not great even when paid for.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2022

Vectorworks Review

Over time I have become less and less impressed as other software come out and the limitations of this software have become evident. Good for simple stuff, keep away if you will use this for more complex modern BIM requirements.

PROS

Simple to use and learn, presentation style is good and clean. Great for 2D CAD working and simple projects.

CONS

This is not an advanced BIM authoring tool and I would advise people to steer away from it if this is what is required. Long term should revert itself to a 2D tool and then focus efforts on ArchiCAD as their excellent BIM authoring tool.

Reason for choosing Vectorworks Architect

N/a

Vincent

Architecture & Planning, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2017

14 years using Vectorworks. Never used a CAD/Bim system before this.

Can do it all for small to medium sized studios....really a delightful program to use!

PROS

This does everything....2-d drawings and 3-d modeling, landscape, lighting and site design, interiors, great renderings plus all of my office graphics. The graphic capabilities are awesome from sketch to OpenGL, hidden line and fully rendered

CONS

Not enough local users to share this program. This is a must have program for small to medium sized Mac-based firms...affordable and capable of handling just about anything you can throw at it!

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY