User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(228)

228

4 stars

(91)

91

3 stars

(6)

6

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "The setup and ease of use was great. Very easy to navigate around to the various features. Was able to setup and start managing the box within 30 minutes. Had a guest installed quickly there after. "

  • "The product is very easy to use. It is very easy to search for devices within the interface."

  • "The servers are very easy to prepare and manage. The interface is very easy and very fast. It saves time. "

  • Cons

  • "It might be a bit tough to get started in the begining but its easy to get hands on. "

  • "Since we're on the free flavor, obviously we're hitting some of the limitations of a non-paid version. However, we're looking at possibly making a purchase in the near future."

  • "The installed client of VMWare used to be excellent. The VSphere website, however, seems to have compatibility issues and the constant time-outs can be infuriating. "

Browse Horizon Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 326 results

June 2018

Jose de Jesus from Banco Bicentenario, Banco Universal C.A.

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

My experience virtualizing productivity environment for the growth of services

The opportunity to share my experience with the use of VMwaresVphere is generous because I can help other users with my recommendation or other potential clients who wish to implement a virtualized environment

Pros

I have worked for a few years in virtualization, using virtual environments completely or mixed environments, virtual - physical, and MWware vSphere has shown me to be a hypervisor, taking full advantage of the processing capacity of each host, so taking advantage of the centralized administration that is achieved through VMware Vcenter, the large number of configurations of networks and virtual networks give an additional value to product. Likewise the use of multiple operating systems allows me to have a server farm with a variety of services to our customers to meet their needs 100%. Actually working VMware vSphere together with VMware vCenter is the greatest benefit cost advantage, since we have significant savings in terms of equipment maintenance, licensing, space saving, energy savings and man hours dedicated to supervising a physical environment as such.

Cons

The daily work of the vSphere tool has helped me to know it and not only know its advantages and benefits but also its few weak points, however its greatest weakness may be its high cost, which for implementations in small business environments can be very difficult. of implementing since a technological infrastructure of process of a great capacity is required and the cost in the licensing would affect in an important way the cash flow, and it would be underutilized. Without the integration of VMware Vcenter 100% all the benefits of VMware vSphere would not be used. Equally, the training of the staff would also have a huge cost, even though the training by the technical staff is excellent, there is also the virtual training that gives the advantage of cost savings, however it is not as effective as in person.

August 2019

Gabriel from DellEMC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Big changes on new Vsphere 6.7

Have been on the technology field for over a decade by now working with a lot of different virtualization technologies, by far this is one of the most reliable and easy to use out there. Have seem some weird issues with another virtualization technologies but vsphere always had a lot of redundancy to prevent the production going down once you have configured it correctly.

Pros

- Stylish new look. - Better performance than previous versions. - Lots of support for security bridges not supported on previous version and hardware compatibility with new products and software.

Cons

- User interface is annoying sometimes. Mostly this is one of the huge concerns for me on this new version, If i want to see the running task there are a lot of widget on the screen and need to zoom out the view to see some of the running task, or the alerts, then zoom in to read it correctly and zoom it out to see them again, is a little annoying for me but well it works... For anything else is pretty good.

Reasons for Choosing Horizon

The support, the ease of use and the great rating over the market.

April 2020

Philip from Compusearch

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

vSphere is the best on perm Virtualization Platform Hands Down

We've had a positive overall experience with Vmware vSphere. We use it to power Production, UAT and Dev/QA workloads across multiple sites. It meets our uptime and regulatory requirements.

Pros

Easy to use scalable enterprise virtualization platform. Vsphere is our on perm virtualization platform, across all data centers and offices

Cons

There is no cloud based option, we can connect data centers across our WAN but we have no way to directly connect to a public cloud and transfer workloads.

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Bring back the thick client for Windows

They tried to make it more convenient by forcing everyone to the web version, but they did it too soon. Too slow, buggy, and reliant on old technology. They should have waited until the HTML5 version was fully ready and rolled it out then.

Pros

With esx 6+ you are forced to the web version of vsphere. This does have its conveniences (when it works), and for the most part contains everything in the older thick software client. Managing and access VM's is similar. Installing updates is arguably easier, and vcenter management seems to be more feature filled.

Cons

Where do I start .... first of all, you need to have flash installed and allowed to get the full feature set on the browser. The HTML5 version is great when it works, but very buggy. Also, it is not nearly as responsive as the old software client. For the remote console, you need to install a plugin and software to get that working properly.

February 2020

AMAR from Allscripts

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Works well for large organizations, a bit costly for smaller companies

I've been using it for over 9 years now, started with version 4.0 and have gotten good exposure to all versions up to and including 6.7.

Pros

Ease of use, the functionality. The ability to add more API's as well as creating different levels of administration. IE Helpdesk, user, administrator etc. Helpdesk is very helpful and work with you till there is an actual resolution to the problem.

Cons

The cost. Compatibility with some of the older hardware (specifically Dell R810). Almost impossible to get support for any version less than 6.0.

Reasons for Choosing Horizon

It's almost an industry standard and more versatile than Hyper-V

September 2019

Scott from Farm Credit Bank of Texas

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

The only infrastructure you will need

Pros

The integration with so many products makes this an easy choice.

Cons

The initial setup can take some time to get right.

Reasons for Choosing Horizon

vSpherr is the clear leader in the virtual space

January 2020

Yuri from Millicom TIGO

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Vmware Vsphere the best Hypervisor with rich features for every need

Well we have over 80% of our workloads virtualize with VMware vSphere. We haven't have a mayor issue with the virtual environment. We can optimize the investment of the infrastructure and also respond to the business needs quickly when there is need. The support it is also really great. If you have a active support, they help with any issue really quickly and with a good solution. I can sleep well knowing that the business services are support by VMware vSphere platform.

Pros

Vmware vsphere its a really great hypervisor that can virtualize compute and storage resources right out of the box. I like the fact that you can easly manage the resources and create virtual machines in a intuitive way. The configuration of the storage connection is easy. It has great compatibility with just about any harware out there. We have at our organization more the 70 esxi host with different hardware vendors, but they all are compatible and I can migrate workloads with just a few clicks.

Cons

Maybe the price of the licenses. If you work at a enterprise, maybe that it not a issue. But if you want to have all the cool feature, you will have to purchase the enterprise plus license. It can be a little expensive.

Reasons for Choosing Horizon

We chose Vmware vSphere after we did a PoC and they show us the benefits and how well the workloads the we migrated works and it increase the performance. Also this product it more mature then others, so we felt that we can use it for all the services, included critical ones.

March 2020

Armando from Digitaliza S.A

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

Excelente Solución para virtualizacion de Servidores

Desde que utilizamos vSphere los tiempos de desarrollo se acortaron, los backups son continuos y centralizados. La administración es customizable en sectores gracias al panel de usuarios y grupos. La mejor herramienta para Virtualizacion.

Pros

vSphere hoy dia es nuestro eje en nuestro data center. Nos permite desplegar servidores y administrarlos en minutos. Realizar bakups sencillos y gestionarlos.

Cons

En ocasiones debido a una mala configuración inicial sobre los recursos puede ser tedioso solucionar los problemas, uno de ellos es el espacio en disco para cada VM o los logs despues de cada snapshot.

May 2020

Abid from Jazz

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Vmware vSphere Review

we have almost fulfill every requirement and need regarding the business we can run on the cloud,and the VMware is the primary line of deployment to achieve our business goals with high ROI.

Pros

Vmware Vsphere is the products of suit , that can managed your whole software defined data-center with most efficient and reliable manners,its have many products that makes your,s environment Highly available with complete migration solution and data recovery option as well.

Cons

Because it is suit of products and every product have its own license and capacity requirement so sometimes licensing cost may reach beyond your expectations.

Reasons for Choosing Horizon

Complete range of products of data center solutions like Hypervisors,Storage Options and Networking with Centralize Management and Ease.

February 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Makes Virtualization easy

I am using this from last few years, Its a good virtualization tool but a bit pricey.

Pros

1 -Easy virtual machine Management. 2 -Its user friendly. 3 -Easy to access to from any external network.

Cons

1 -Sometime it acts slow. 2 -Expensive to get all the required function. 3 -Not much training material available.

December 2018

Michael from Whitehall Central School District

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Vmware - The Virtualization Standard

VMWare... If you are virtualization, you've heard of VMware. The free options were a great way to get started, do some basic virtualization for those "silly" services that require a dedicated, standalone machine. Shrink 5 physical servers into one in no time. Then you want more big servers to do more. So you buy into VMware (at substantial expense), licenses lapse, or are difficult to renew (yes this happened, because the VARs couldn't process it right... nice huh? VMware was even involved and couldn't get it quite right). Soon you'll be all-in with VMware, modifying your hardware to meet current version requirements, nickle and diming your datacenter to keep costs low, when security budgets are the focus. You'll find yourself needing to do an upgrade to the VSphere, but not wanting downtime to do it, so you have to buy up to move it to another server in realtime, just to do updates. It gets a little silly. But, let's face it, nothing else comes close. I want VMware to have competition, but nothing else even touches it. HyperV? No. Anything else? Yeaup, there's a few opensource options, but it just cannot compete. VMware vSphere, when you need to virtualize something more than an old video game, it's pretty much where you have to be.

Pros

VMware is what you NEED in Virtualization. It has differing feature sets (licensed), based upon your needs. It has an easy barrier of entry for those just getting their feet wet, and has powerful features that are nearly unmatched. If you have servers, if you have a datacenter, if you are in charge of "Stand Alone" applications, you are likely dealing with VMware, and there is a good reason for that. VMware works, and it works well.

Cons

Not that VMware is not without flaws. The software works, but for some of us semi-whitebox server builders, we are forced to stay close to the hardware qualified lists. Or pay a premium for a pre-built machine that we pay even more in "maintenance." VMwares license tiers make it challenging to reach the more expensive, an often necessary options. VMware's partnerships with VARs are more important that with you as the customer. Expect to be treated that way, as VARs gobble up a large amount of costs, as quotes runaway from you. Just be prepared, VMware solutions do not come cheap. It's the best, and VMware knows it.

September 2019

Anthony from PioneerTech

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Redundant Personal Business Cloud with less Overhead

Overall the experience has been positive and we can't imagine going back to the days of physical servers for each of our server resources. The scale ability, portability, and redundancy are simply unmatched.

Pros

When it comes to servers, hardware is expensive and often not completely utilized. With VMware vSphere, we were able to virtualize our entire development and production environment paired with three medium sized servers. This gave us scalability we never had. Our servers are pooled and share the pool resources allowing us to expand our environment to up to 35 servers running across the three servers. With vSphere we are able to have failover in the event one of the servers go down utilizing the vmotion feature without a single virtual server being interrupted. It allows us to do 90% more maintenance without a single disruption.

Cons

The depth of knowledge to use the advanced features and scripting is intense. There are hundreds of individual features and settings that are very difficult to understand without the proper knowledge or training. Once you figure it out you won't go back.

Reasons for Choosing Horizon

Robust feature set and prior knowledge of the VMware environment

October 2018

Chris from Azusa Pacific University

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

I would choose no other virtualization platform

As an administrator for VMware-related hypervisors and products, I would choose no other hypervisor or virtualization platform to run in my datacenter.

Pros

As a hypervisor, vSphere is and has been the best in class. They are always the first to come out with essential features (vMotion, vSwitch, etc.) and these features become daily used and reliable. I've administered hundreds of VMs over my career and have had little issue from vSphere as a hypervisor. Their feature set is phenomenal, and support is very good as well. Licensing can get costly, but there are several versions to fit your needs. What's perhaps more impresive is that as a platform, vSphere can be built into other VMware components (vCenter, SRM, vRealize, etc.) which keeps growing. Entering vSphere opens your datacenter up to a entrire world of virtualization products, and most third-party products that integrate with virtualization start with vSphere.

Cons

It is easy to get up and running, but it can also get complex depending on what you want to do. It can also get costly if you cannot get discounts and need full feature set.

March 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

A necessary tool for managing your Enterprise VMWare environment easily and quickly.

Pros

VMotion feature to move live VMs between physical virtual hosts is so slick. This feature brought virtualized computing to the next level of functionality and availability. High-Availability: vSphere takes the great value of the free ESXI vmware host offerings and makes them enterprise-grade with High-Availability and vMotion (seamlessly ) Web/thick client (end of life for thick client) consoles available for convenient access to manage your vmware environment. They are well-designed and polished. PowerCLI automation is fully unlocked when used with vSphere, a powerful tool for gathering information and taking care of bulk tasks. A must-have skillset for VMware technicians.

Cons

Pricing: It's not free, this is an enterprise solution that you must pay for, unlike ESXi virtual host software. VSphere thick client management console is end-of-life, has features and UI that I prefer over the web console.

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

They're the market leader for a reason, but so many features means complicated UX

Pros

Every feature an hypervisor can offer - widest feature set and ecosystem to deliver the most comprehensive solution. They scale very well across all parameters: Cluster size, datastore size, VM count, fault tolerance at scale Etc. Their VSAN is great for ROBO deployments, as you get a single pane of glass for all layers (compute, network, storage) HA / DRS / VSMC are all excellent tools for improving availability of the applications that drive the business.

Cons

Every feature means a complicated GUI, with way too many nobs to turn for a small deployment. They VSAN scales poorly in terms of ROI, as more often than not you need the All-Flash VSAN, which after 2-3 copies of the data yields low capacity at double or triple the cost of the (already expensive) Flash Media. Replication is nice but again limited in scale, works great in getting data off the ROBOs to the main datacenter but not scalable enough as a DR solution

September 2018

Hector from School District

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Best Customer Support

Pros

If you are looking for a central solution to consolidate your data center and all servers look no more. This is the best tool you can buy to do so, you can save money because you will use less hardware by virtualizing all your servers, you can adjust settings, or server specs on the fly, you can run hundreds of servers from the same console and you can manage all of them from the same. Wanting to do maintenance but dont know if that patch/update or upgrade will break the server, dont worry, you can take a screenshot and test it before you apply the fix to the server. The best part of this is their support, you can call them or submit a ticket and their team of experts will call back and help you. Really recommend this product to anyone wanting to consolidate servers and save money on hardware

Cons

No complaints about this product, as long as you know how to browse and use the product

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Using VMware to Virtualize Your Systems

For years, I have been designing and managing systems using VMware products. Clients are very happy with their systems.

Pros

Much, much better utilization of physical server resources. VMware hosts are MUCH better at resources sharing than anything Microsoft has ever produced. Take 4 systems, say email, DB, file & print, and authentication/AD, and put those all on 1 MS server. Or... take that same box, install VMware ESXi, and install 4 separate MS servers on top of that, each doing only 1 of those 4 tasks. You will get much better performance in the later configuration. Think about that: By adding an underlying OS (ESXi), and then putting 3 additional OSs (the other 3 MS servers) on top of that, you'll get better performance. And, of course, zero downtime for any physical maintenance in a multi host environment.

Cons

Still not a big fan of the web interface for managing the vCenter and hosts.

January 2019

Joshua from Western Washington University Extended Education

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

The Dream Environment for Managing your Virtual Network

Prior to transferring to my current school, my previous college used vSphere to help prep its team for the Pacific Rim Collegiate Cybersecurity Defense Competition (PRCCDC), and using it in that environment really demonstrates the power of the tool for virtualization of entire networks. Absolutely stunning tool in terms of features.

Pros

VMware products in general are known for being the best of the best when it comes to virtualization, and vSphere is no exception. The benefits of an easy to manage virtual network are numerous, you save on space, energy, and overall costs. vSphere definitely focuses on ease of management; need to patch all your servers? Takes a fraction of the time that SSHing into each one individually would. Need to shut everything down, or boot everything up? The processes are streamlined for you. Want to deploy a new one? The process, if you don't want to clone an existing one, takes minutes.

Cons

It has a very steep learning curve, mostly due to the learning curve involved in virtualization itself. You must be very experienced in virtualization in order to successfully use vSphere to its full potential... Or, at all, potentially. If you can't setup a virtual server and hit it from outside your network using VMware Workstation, you won't be able to use vSphere successfully.

June 2018

Mauricio from BATechnology Group

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2018

Good product for virtualizations, no matter what OS you need to deploy.

-One of the best environments to manage virtual machines.

Pros

-Stability for server environments, most of my client's resources are working with vSphere without issues. The most important thing to do is don´t forget best practices tips for the first deployment. -New interface with HTML5 it´s for me the best upgrade from the last years, no more issues trying to manage environments from Linux or MAC. -HA options and configuration works with single clicks, making easier for none IT guys. -Optimize budget for hardware and energy expenses, making easy upgrades and migrations.

Cons

-Need an experienced partner to deploy it on business with more than 100 servers. This is important for newer users because partner services are very expensive, making professional services more than a half of the budget. -Old users need to adapt his knowledge to the new interface without the appropriate documentation. -The user guide is not very useful for new users, need more details and explain those tips that are not available on the web interface. -The mobile app is the worst feature on VMware, a year ago was the last time I tried to do something there. Until they get his effort on his apps don't spend any time on this.

September 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

VMware vSphere Review

A perfect sofware for virtualization, multi-operating system integration. Good software.

Pros

The software is easy to use, it enables me to run multiple operating systems on my computer and also help me to try and test softwares before I buy them.

Cons

Some times new virtual machine wants to boot to network even when directed to boot from DC or USB.

Reasons for Choosing Horizon

Very intuitive and cross-platform software.

April 2019

Dhilip from Panoramic Tour & Travels

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Excellent virtualization platform, Solid foundation for server & desktop, Worth Upgrading!

VSphere is an awesome software. It offers a truly user-friendly interface where we can see and able to manage all our virtual machines using various kind of products and technologies. We can manage all the specifications and status of each host and the Virtual machines it contains. VMWare is a wonderful product in common, known for its intuitive interfaces, reckless and reliable virtualization applications. We used ESXI and vCenter and realized that it delivers all the features we require and more that allows people to move advance in their virtual environment. One of the stuff vSphere lets us to do efficiently is to run application workloads on the most effective computing, storage, and network capitals. We can manage our time and money with these tools in an effective way. We have a worth investment in VMWare and vsphere is a must, for total control over our environment.

Pros

The ease of manage all virtual environment. It’s so cool and straight forward. Lots of training materials & help forms out there to learn and experience. Very famous product so support is always there. It’s also very effective. We can make changes on the fly and if we break something, we can revert it back within minutes (In some cases).

Cons

The networking part is little straight forward but complicated sometimes when we start to scale out network adapters and we have a complicated networking environment with many WLans and IP structures. With that said, any experienced networking guy would master it out within minutes. I really could not say much of anything bad about this wonderful product. Licensing models are bit disliking but although every effective software is expensive that we buy these days.

March 2018

Marsha from eGov Jamaica Ltd.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

I like that it allows us to optimize or resources and overall cost savings in IT

Having been trained in VMware as my first introduction to the virtualization of servers and utilization of resources; I like what vShere provides. It reduces and simplifies our IT infrastructure and it allows us improvements in the accessibility and connectivity of our computer applications. The components included makes the solution really reliable such as ESXi hypervisor for help in which is responsible for help in setting up multiple VMs and DRS that divides and balances computing capacity for VMs across collections of hardware resources.

Cons

Please ensure that you are familiar with VMWare suite of products and get help from current users of this product. Know that this is an investment and as such the solution comes at a price but the total cost of ownership is well worth the initial investment. And the cost is based on the amount of host and processors.be careful of the additional services provided as they can become pricey.

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

Not perfect but still the best option

We use VMware software as our main solution for creating and maintaining our virtual infrastructure. It is easy for our staff to find and enroll in training or certification to enhance their skills and participate in local user groups due to the large market share that VMware has with their products. In general there is a very large 3rd party market that is supported to work with or inside VMware solutions.

Pros

Huge market share means better community support and user groups. Highly functional management tools to support, maintain and deploy virtual infrastructure. Consistent product updates and new features available.

Cons

Support can be difficult and take time. Some features advertised in marketing are not production ready at the time of release and can be very buggy (HTML5 Interface). Using VMware products at an enterprise level can be very expensive.

March 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Easy & Simplistic to use, yet full of features that make management of virtual machines easy

Pros

Ease of access to manage virtual machines. vSphere allows for you to easily manage your entire Virtual Infrastructure, from the Data Storage used to house the VMs to the creation and management of the Virtual Machines themselves. Clone, Deploy, and Configure multiple VMs within minutes... You can stand up an entire infrastructure composed of virtual machines within a short time (depending on available resources) using vSphere

Cons

There can be a slight learning curve for anyone who has not managed a virtual environment. VMware vSphere has numerous functions, features, and capabilities and it can at times seem overwhelming; however, VMware provides great articles and knowledge bases to help even the most novice administrator become a vSphere power user.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

I can say "It is a Great tool for Virtualization"

Pros

VMware vSphere is a simple tool with advanced features for virtualization. I have used this tool for my studies, research works, and security purposes. It provides a great connection between the base operating system and the virtual machine and the configurations are also easy. Using this tool, I was able to run several virtual machines at once and it was very important for my research work. Actually, I need to say that without having VMware vSphere I could not make it. Integrating with the remote clouds also an advanced feature which is provided. I was able to make my OS images fast and effectively thanks to vSphere. As I mentioned before I use VMware for testing or do something which can be harmful to our base operating system. It can protect our OS from being corrupted. I still use this software and I love it.

Cons

The only thing that I distract from vSphere is when I need to run several VMs at once my machine is getting very slow or stuck. Sometimes virtual machines can be corrupted. Hence we need to keep backups always. Except from these things, I love it.

March 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

the leading virtualization platform on the market since more than a decade. A must

state of the art datacenter automation, virtualization, infrastructure management

Pros

vsphere is the private-cloud datacenter operating system of choice, market leader, full packed of features and with an impressive ecosystem of third party products which integrate fully with it. Since more than a decade, vsphere has brought virtualization into almost every shop on earth and changed the way the IT departments administer their infrastructure, making it way more flexible, easier, faster and smarter.

Cons

i have a hard time when thinking about something I dislike in vSphere. I think that the product can be pricey, depending on the licensing level chosen, and this is maybe the aspect I dislike the most, even if I honestly believe that it is worth its money.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Extremely expensive but still worth it for legacy applications

vSphere revolutionized the datacenter and is still running strong after almost 30 years. Without it we might still be stuck in the stone ages without virtualization or cloud!

Pros

vSphere has been around for a while and is trusted for it's stability and reliability. If your applications are not built to fail, if you treat yours apps like pets vs cattle, you probably want to pay for VMware vSphere. Depending on your use case, vSphere may be the only game in town. For instance, if you want to do some complicated GPU sharding, only VMware has worked with Nvidia to offer this. Certainly feature wise, this is the most robust hypervisor on the market. They also have a large ecosystem, community, and excellent support.

Cons

The pricing is quite high and they try to justify this by including more and more management software, SDN, SDS in the overall vCloud offering. However it's still quite expensive and difficult to rationalize in smaller companies with challenging budgets. On the flip side, they have so many offerings now and have create a variety of total solutions which can fit any number of use cases.

April 2019

Scott from Grundy County Memorial Hospital

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

VMWare vSphere - Managing your Virtual Environment One Click at a Time

VMWare vSphere has improved quite a lot in the last few versions, the latest version I am on right now (7.5) the HTML5 version of the web interface works very well and while it's missing features of the slow, Flash based web interface it can do everything I need day to day and does it quickly and fairly painlessly.

Pros

I use this software a dozen times a day, and I think my favorite thing is that it's very easy to create snapshots and roll back to them if I break something. We have very little downtime thanks to snapshots.

Cons

It's very complex to update. I cringe every time a support ticket leads to me having to update the environment. It's just a complex beast, requiring several different updates/files to be installed in a specific sequence, some of which can cause down time.

August 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Best Hypervisor out there

It's super easy to setup and get started, it's something that should be done in every single company I've seen in my life. Sadly, not all companies use VMs to my personal surprise. Only if they could understand how easy it is to transform your business environment with ease using VMware tools. Premium versions offer real value, so if you need more than 4-5 servers and a rock solid production environment you should invest in vSphere.

Pros

The console, the features, the true power of a hypervisor. I use ESXi/vShpere in every chance I get. It's super-light and very easy to manage, understand. Many benefits, it's a no-brainer!

Cons

Nothing serious, maybe it's lack of integration tools and features like copy-paste and file transfer. But really, that's something small and not needed when it comes to server use.

November 2018

Parag from Cognizant

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Virtualization taken to the next level

My overall experience of VMware vSphere is great, It is the most secure, efficinet and stable virtulization software in the market.

Pros

VMware vSphere is one of the best secure and efficient virtualization software. I found following Pros for the VMware vSphere. 1. Configure and create VMs with ease. 2. You can easily clone existing VM and create a mirror VM is no time. 3. Very intuitive Web and local vSphere client. 4. Always attentive support team. 5. Easily monitor the status of your VMs. Overall best in class virtualization software and way ahead of its competition.

Cons

Found very minimal issues with VMware vSphere. 1. The web client is slow and can be improved. 2. A user must have virtualization knowledge to use this software. 3. For the free version, the physical CPU core limit should be increased from 2 physical cores to at least 8 physical cores. 4. Bit overpriced.

December 2019

Joe from GDMS

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Defense & Space

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

VMWare vSphere

We are able to host much more software on our servers, and manage them through vSphere. This is a large savings in hardware, and increases our reliability. vSphere makes it easier & cheaper to manage the software (VMs) in our environment.

Pros

This software is easy to use and has many powerful management features for our small data center. We have been using this for years and it has been stable and reliable without issue. Once you are familiar with it, very powerful actions can be taken with a minimum number of clicks-- a real time-saver!

Cons

It can take a bit of hunting to find the settings you are looking for-- the software provides many different views so it does take some time to become familiar with the location of what you're looking for.

July 2018

Arpan from Allscripts

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

vSphere makes managing virtual infrastructure so easy!

Pros

- Simple and easy to use interface - Very powerful. Comes equipped with tons of features - Entire virtual infrastructure ranging from configuring and deploying VMs can be done quickly (depending on the skill level) within minutes. - New HTML5 interface can be used to manage VMs from cell phones.

Cons

- Contains so many features that it can be quite intimating even for an inexperienced professional to keep up with the latest releases. VMWare does provides ample of KBs and forums to address this, but many a times, answer is not readily available or it is very difficult to find from docs. This process can be very confusing. - Very expensive - Licensing model can be hard to understand.

December 2018

Austin from Vibration Research

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

A Great Option for Managing Your VMs

I've been using VMware Vsphere for over 6 months and before that I didn't have a lot of exposure to Virtualization. It's a really great and necessary feature for any partially IT-based company these days and Vsphere manages to make it simple enough for most users while providing enough features to make it a worthwhile venture to invest in. Vsphere is a great tool for beginners and advanced users alike. I've set up and managed multiple VMs by now and have used multiple platforms to do it (the only other comparable option being Oracle's VirtualBox), and by far Vsphere would be my go to platform. It allows for an easy interface to manage your VMs resources, allows for taking VM snapshots (in case you kerflunkle your VM), allows you to directly interface with the VM through a console, and so much more. When the licensing police come knocking, though, it's a bit of a task to gather all of the required documentation for their audit, so be ready for that. Other than that Vsphere is a great option if you're looking to use a virtualization platform.

Pros

Easy to use, supports multiple VMs, able to manage VM resources easily

Cons

Licensing can be a bit tricky, although it's not much of a problem if your needs don't change a whole lot.

September 2018

Jeffrey from absa

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Virtualized environments in a click of a button

Pros

Although the company i work for has moved away from using vmware, I will review as part of vSphere as i still use personal version for my VMs. vSphere has two amazing uses namely,spinning up duplicate test environments for students writing on site tests with monitoring. vSphere is also amazing for test environments for our applications to be deployed to before releasing via build servers to a production environment. Software uses minimal memory apart from values set per environment on each PC. load and performance testing seems to kill environments though.

Cons

If not configured correctly, virtual environments created may hang for a long time . Needs fine-tuning before any deployment to be used for tests to replicate live environments. This takes a lot of resource time . Have sometimes found that Windows hypervisor sometimes requires re-enablement after multiple restarts without starting up vSphere suite. This was found to happen if hypervisor was started during the install process.

April 2018

Brandon from City of Sioux Falls

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

The defacto standard for a virtualization platform. All other virtualization solutions look to it.

We trust this platform to run 97% of our servers.

Pros

VMWare's vSphere platform is very mature, and supports ties to all aspects of the computing landscape. VMWare continuously innovates with new features and functionalities. This is the most stable and well supported route for on premise hosting.

Cons

Tier 1 support is terrible. I've had two support cases where my first contact didn't even know what the product was (vCenter Server Support Assistant) Suffer through till higher tiers and they will fix your issue, but if it isn't down expect it to take a minimum of days. Cost for addons such as NSX, SRM, vSAN can be very steep. Licensing can easily outcost your hardware.

April 2019

Alexis from Tradehelm

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Alternative Medicine

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

VMware vSphere - The best option for IT people

Pretty good.

Pros

Virtualization is something that every IT resource must know, VMware provides you the ability to virtualize all your resources, create network adapters from scratch, and connect them all across. Is pretty easy to use, but of course you need to have some IT background because the program uses a lot of terminology related to the Infrastructure side.

Cons

The bad thing is that to host this system, you need to allocate a lot of resources for this tool to work properly. If you have a lot of virtual machines running, the performance of each will be impacted directly if you are not hosting the VMware into a very good infra.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

vSphere, a great solution for your data center.

Definitely meets expectations, its functions to maintain a monitoring and server virtualization makes it labeled as first class. The administration of our cluster through vSphere greatly enhances our activities, even this solution is always at the forefront of new technologies for virtualization with each of its updates.

Pros

The support is very outstanding, worthy of highlighting and of first quality. Operates perfectly in our infraestructure, its great control over virtual machines achieves the goal. Easy to use and gives you many additional functions that give you reliability.

Cons

What conditions the use of this product is its high cost, but it is worth inventing in this powerful virtualizer.

February 2019

Dave from Diversified Dynamics

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Game Changer

The ability to create, move and manipulate Virtual Machines is a game changer. We were able to take multiple physical servers offline and migrate them to the VM environment. Without vSphere, we would have never made such a rapid migration from physical to virtual.

Pros

vSphere gives you the ability to connect to your VMs via the old school Thick Client or the more powerful web client. So you can access the VM Architecture from any computer in your organization.

Cons

It can be a bit of a bear if things arent working. There are so many Internet articles on different issues you may be having. You dont want to "try things" on a production server. Support is a bit on the expensive side.

September 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Flexible virtualization platform lets you consolidate your servers

We have consolidated our old hardware onto new, which means we have a higher density and uptime now. Our physical desktops are also virtual now, enabling our users to work from anywhere. Since everything is integrated, administration has become less time consuming than before.

Pros

The software is very stable and allows us to consolidate physical servers, while making them more highly available. It can hosts virtual desktops and applications, that can be managed through a single management interface. The compatibility with applications is better than with any other virtualzation platform.

Cons

Upgrades need to be carefully planned, because the underlying hardware may need a firmware update as well. This means dependencies. Luckily VMware has extensive documentation and compatibility matrices that help you to find out what to update first.

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Virtualization | Manage VM ware

V-sphere is a system of combined with VMware vSphere Storage Appliance, vSphere Data Protection, vSphere Replication and vShield Endpoint. It helps to manage the VM resources, cloud computing, remote accessing, and replication and many more features.

Pros

VMware V-sphere helps to manage VM ware infrastructure. V-sphere has to install on the server pc on the VM. Then have to configure the V-sphere and it can access using V-sphere client from the host pc. Without using V-sphere we can directly access the VMware using the ESXI platform using the IP, but it directly access through the web browser, when we use the V-sphere can access through V-sphere client and it gives many options to manage the VM.

Cons

Licensing cost is very high, and need a networking knowledge to set up the V-sphere and maintained the system.

November 2017

Scott from Pomeroy

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

The best virtualization platform out there.

Turns just a few physical servers into Hundreds of Virtual servers. The ROI is amazing.

Pros

A complete offering. Feature rich. Works very well with minimal complex setup. Can be configured for maximum performance with some bit of tweaking of hardware and software. Compatible with the widest number of guest operating systems. New HTML5 web interface is accessible from mobile devices.

Cons

Can be very complex in larger configurations. More feature rich editions are quite expensive. You can be nickel and dimed to death with addons. May require outside resources to setup correctly for maximum performance depending on your environment.

October 2019

Sonu from Siddhartha Bank Limited

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

VMware Virtualization tool

It was a good experience, Since installation was simple and a little bit of knowledge one can setup a virtual servers easily.

Pros

It's light weight OS, Which is very easy to load into the server. It requires very less time to setup. Once the OS is installed it can be used to create many VM's which is very helpful to separate the servers virtually.

Cons

The licencing is costly. There is no support from VMware team, in order to get things sorted out it takes much time since one has to experiment there own.

Reasons for Choosing Horizon

But since it's loading time is more it's not suitable. few applications were not supported on Hyperviser interface.

March 2018

Jose from Ogle School Management, LLC

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Repurpose Aging Servers Quickly and Profit

Repurpose old hardware and make great, efficient use of machines that are just sitting idle. Great for testing and certification of applications.

Pros

We've been able to re-purpose some older servers that were not being used. We're currently using vSphere for a sandbox environment and some non-critical business applications. The hypervisor has allowed to host some apps we did not have room for on other servers. The setup was quick and painless. We were worried that the server hardware would not run as smooth but the broad compatibility of vSphere has allowed to us a smooth and suprisingly fast experience.

Cons

Since we're on the free flavor, obviously we're hitting some of the limitations of a non-paid version. However, we're looking at possibly making a purchase in the near future.

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Vsphere easy to use virtual server software

Able to manage My VMs by monitoring and adding resources to VMs when needed.

Pros

I am able to monitor vms on host server for usage to plan expansion later. I can add storage and virtual networks to host server in order to keep certain systems separate from each other

Cons

There is someone a complex setup when it comes to advanced setup and when troubleshooting i do frequently have to contact support if i have issues i cannot figure out as their support site is somewhat confusing to understand

Reasons for Choosing Horizon

Vendor knowledge of the product and was also already installed on another host server in company when we started.

November 2019

Ryan from Siena Francis House

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

vSphere Management

I've been working with vSphere as a student and as a professional for the last year. At my company, we wanted to have less downtime at our office. When we did a backup using our old system, a restore from backup would take many hours. With vSphere, we can restore a backup in minutes.

Pros

I love how easy it is to find other VMs within the network and manage them all in one location. vSphere has given us the ability to back up our VMs from a central location and it has an easy to use interface for management.

Cons

I did have some issues in setting up the software initially. When things were configured and enterprise ready, it was easy for us to control all the VMs. The cost is very expensive for small businesses.

April 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Great product for both small and large business

We were able to consolidate multiple racks of server to a single rack and increase uptime in the process. We scale faster than ever and can transition between hardware platforms seamlessly.

Pros

This product scales exceptionally well. I have gone from a single host to 40 hosts and 1000 VMs pretty painlessly. There are more security options than other competitors and the reliable is hard to beat.

Cons

The software is expensive and you have to pay for each peace. The core product is good for very basic stuff but you have to pay for additional licenses and products to get the really good stuff. It can be very complex and the web GUI is clunky and buggy.

May 2019

Bob from Breaker Technology

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Machinery

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

VMWare VSphere Server Virtualization and Management

I generally enjoy using the application. It makes updating and re-starting servers much easier than using remote desktop and being able to resize servers as business conditions change is much easier than using physical hardware.

Pros

VSphere makes managing servers generally quick and easy from a single interface

Cons

The online portal does not seem as robust as the earlier technician client application. Because it requires the use of Adobe Flash, every time I go to sue it I have to turn on Flash and refresh the portal. Sometimes the portal will not load and I have to exit and try again. It is just tedious and more cumbersome than the older application.

December 2017

Richard from Zounds Hearing

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

Easy to use and reliable

Easy and Reliable VM Management.

Pros

I love this software as it is easy to use. When it comes to your vm's, this is your companies life. If a vm has an issue, this could cost the company thousands of dollars an minute being down. You need something that shows all our vm's in one place, is well laid out and is also reliable. This software is all of that. It makes managing all your vm's from one central place a breeze.

Cons

Sometimes i find the error messages can be a little vague and confusing so i have to call up support to find out what they mean. But support is always fast to answer and very helpful.

May 2019

Sean from Children's Mental Health of Leeds and Grenville

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Reliable High Performance Virtualization

Pros

The high availability and distributed resource scheduler ensure our systems are always online and performing well. The vSphere hypervisor is very stable, secure and easy to update. VMotion is amazing and allows workloads to be moved easily for updates and hardware maintance.

Cons

Licensing costs are high but are competitive with other platforms when you ensure you have the same functionality and features. The web based management does rely on Flash and this is becoming more difficult to work with as browser support varies. This may have been addressed in versions newer than 6.5.

November 2019

Chris from Action Lift Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Machinery

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

WHAT A DIFFERENCE

I highly recommend this for small IT organizations especially. If you do many different things it is nice to have a majority of it all being down in one spot and can be done quickly and efficiently while being able to accomplish other tasks that you may encounter.

Pros

To build out a new server takes only a few minutes and it very easy to maintain being a system administrator. vSphere along with the help of vCenter ties all the administrative tasks for the Data Center in one spot so i can upgrade machines or access them via web console to patch or check the activity on them while they are running.

Cons

The configuration takes some time to get configured and set up. That was somewhat due to the internal configurations of the physical network we were migrating into the virtual environment.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 326 reviews