User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(302)

302

4 stars

(171)

171

3 stars

(32)

32

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "It is relatively easy to use and set up and it does what it's supposed to. It's a great way to run other operating systems like Linux, Mac OS, Android, etc. And best of all, it's free!"

  • "Easy to install and easy to use. Great for firing up a VM for testing. I use this regularly for testing beta Linux isos. Works great on both Windows and Linux hosts."

  • "easy to use versatility easily switch between multiple tasks"

  • Cons

  • "I would like less bloat ware prompts during the installation. other than that this product is doing everything that i wanted it to do. "

  • "It freezes up sometimes, but could be my settings. It can be annoying at times when you're trying to get things done, but I guess you can't complain too much when its open source and free."

  • "Sometimes is not adjusting correctly to the bigger screens when using laptop+external monitor set up, but it is minor issue, overall really great software."

Browse VirtualBox Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 505 results

December 2019

Hung from FPT Software

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

VirtualBox for quickly initial new environment for testing

I use VirtualBox to initial my testing environment for my shell script function which needs to run in Centos, RedHat, Debian and Ubuntu, I download the virtual OS and add into VirtualBox which alow me quickly verify my script and when I work with Kubernetes, it already support installation environment as Virtual OS and we use VirtualBox to host it.

Pros

With VirtualBox, I easily create a test and dev environment for different OS, it supports all type of OS from Window, Ubuntu, Centos. VirtualBox Guest system is quickly created and start and I could share data between Host OS and Guest OS including copy/paste, disk sharing and drag-drop. VirtualBox consume very little resource and is able to host multiple Guest OS at same time, it is an excellent feature when we want to test our script in different OS

Cons

Using VirtualBox is quite complex to setup Guest OS, special to enable access to Host OS hardware such as Printer, switch between Host OS and Guest OS have delayed time

Reasons for Choosing VirtualBox

We choose VirtualBox because it is free compared to other tools like VMware, it is more complex but has the good document for learning, it is quick and free compare with creating multiple VMs in Cloud for testing.

January 2020

Harshit from Nuviso Networks

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2020

VirtualBox, The little brother to the Workstation.

The ability to spin up and test instances of our application and also new flavours is the primary business purpose and virtual box ticks all thos boxes is a great asset to have to meet the business goals.

Pros

Have been using VirtualBox to spam new distributions of linux and other open source operating systems and also use Virtual box to deploy our application as well and we use it as a benchmarking mechanism tool.

Cons

The least thing we like about this is the amount of compute it takes to run the application on the slight less specked machine and it does a take on the battery life, otherwise the application is good.

Reasons for Choosing VirtualBox

The ability to use Virtual on OS-X is a primary factor to select Virtualbox as the images can be shared with multiple folks within the organisation.

April 2020

Angelo from Influo Games

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Games

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

A good free alternative software for machine virtualization

My overall experience with VirtualBox is satisfying, it solves my problems more than enough. I mainly use it to run Windows on a Mac, because of some softwares specifically designed for Windows. It required a few tweaks until I was satisfied with performance, and although sometimes it gets really laggy, I can do what I need to do.

Pros

Despite being a free software, it is very powerful tool with lots of customizations and can do pretty much the same as the other competitors. It is also open-source which is really cool, democratizing knowledge and technology for all. It gets regular updates and is very well documented, and you can find a very helpful and engaged community.

Cons

Despite the installation being simple enough, it demands a little patience to configure your virtual machine. There's a lot of customizations and if you are not a heavy user it can be quite a challenge. Thankfully, there is a lot of tutorials to follow, but, in order to set the best optimal configuration you need'll some computer systems knowledge.

February 2019

Mo'men from Sigma Tax Pro

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2019

VirtualBox Review

My personal experience with it could be both satisfactory and disappointing, honestly. On the personal side, I'd say almost flawless, but on the professional side, it's not what I'd rely on, but again, you get what you pay for!

Pros

VirtualBox is open-source, easy and super fast to install and start, and it's free as well. It helps you test any OS in a few steps and switch between the operating systems you're running easily and swiftly. It's not exclusive to only one operating system.

Cons

If you just want to test operating systems and not go in-depth, VM VirtualBox would be okay. However, if you'd like to use it more in-depth, you'd find a few issues. Some computers do not allow the installation of a Virtual Machine software without changing the BIOS, and this, of course, isn't something everyone can do. Some features aren't supported without installing add-ons. Also, sound drivers aren't available. It takes a while to come up and if your computer isn't good on the specs side, you might have a laggy and slow experience. Changing the size of disk storage could be an issue, but such issued were paid attention to with newer versions (5.2). If you use the virtual OS you're running as a main drive or you rely on it for professional purposes, this could be a total disaster as you'd face countless network issues that'd hold you back. However, again, to be fair, these issues would be faced only if you go deep, but if you just run virtual OS for fun, or for simple usage, you'd have nothing to worry about.

March 2020

André from Computer Software

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

Amazing and free virtualization software!

Virtualbox has been an amazing tool for us. We’ve never encountered any errors/problems and we were able to use their virtualization software just fine!

Pros

The simplicity, and ease of use caught my eye. I was looking for a great tool to run virtual machines, and Virtualbox was the one!

Cons

There aren’t alot of cons, because this software is so professional and efficient!

Reasons for Choosing VirtualBox

Virtualbox asks for less but gives more! It’s very stable and easy to use.

September 2019

Nicolas from E-Saurio

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Great choice for VMs in Mac

I use Virtualbox to setup environments. I'm Mac user and I use daily vm to configure and deploy mainly linux distributions.

Pros

When I started using Mac it was a problem for me, but when I started using VirtualBoxVM everything became easier. Easy Setup, Easy VM setup and administration, Easy everything. Runs fast. Even if I keep some VMs open.

Cons

I don't find any cons at all. Maybe the resource consumption, but that's really not on VirtualBoxVM, is cause of VMs assigned resources.

February 2020

Kevin from Arklight dev

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Virtualization is awesome.

I use Virtual Box to provide multiple services while retaining a single server. For the classroom VirutalBox provides students with an environment where they can experiment while keeping the base operating system secure and locked. The ability to preserve aging software is critical to many companies I deal with. Inability to upgrade or lack of migration options often means that they need to keep these programs running while replacing broken or old hardware. Snapshots help me to keep perfect copies of system content and provide 100% restores.

Pros

The ability to quick install and work inside a virtual operating system with having to build an entirely new system. No messing around with hard disks and bios. Its great when you want to test out Operating System alternatives or when testing current systems via hard disk imaging.

Cons

No "out of the box" compatibility with Apple IOS operating system. This is obviously no fault of its creators as Apple has made use of its Operating System near impossible with its hardware but from a teaching perspective its a wasted opportunity especially for those learning helpdesk skills.

Reasons for Choosing VirtualBox

Virtual Box is quick and very easy to install and configure and its survive the test of time while others are either become outdated or become not as simple to use.

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Best virtalization tool by oracle

Mainly we use it to test on all major Operating systems as its portable to any System structure form UNIX to Windows

Pros

Due to its open source nature and ease to use this is a best tool for any one from business to normal users allows use of any OS inside Windows (mainly) which makes testing easy on other OS like Linux (all flavors)

Cons

Not much any cons about this tool but it could be built more ease to use though its good but can be improved and all connections should be automatically detected inside virtual machine such though they work doesn't feel like real OS can adopt "NEW DESKTOP"like tech and improve it.

April 2020

Damon from Sigma Connectivity

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

Good Choice

Pros

VirtualBox makes it relatively easy to switch between operating systems. I use VirtualBox to develop applications on Windows or Linux using my MacBook. The virtual operating system runs in the VirtualBox window and can be made full screen. VirtualBox is a good solution when you need multiple OS on a single machine, and the price is right.

Cons

VirtualBox can have graphics compatibility issues during installation and may require add-on packages for the window to fill the screen. It can also be difficult to configure drag-n-drop between the VirtualBox window and the host machine's file system. The running instance can be saved as a snapshot for backup but the saved images are HUGE. MacBook Touch Bar users may have to do special configurations to get the Touch Bar for the running instance instead of the VirtualBox container. This is a must-fix for developers that expect to use function keys to build, step through code, etc.

May 2020

Humayan from Team Cyber army

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Very helpfull to use multiple OS

Without bad sides, the product is very useful.

Pros

• Easy to install any OS. • Interface is very user friendly and there I can see each machine I have installed. • Every Linux distro works smoothly. • Totally free of cost.

Cons

• Sometimes slowed down. • Running windows in this is a very bad decision.

November 2019

Josué from Emcali Telecomunicaciones

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

The tool needed to virtualize and test software in secure environments

VirtualBox has allowed me to develop and test applications on different operating systems in a safe and controlled environment. It is really an excellent tool to develop all kinds of tests the idea of being able to virtualize any operating system and within being able to apply test settings verify its behavior and even more its compatibility with the system is fantastic. It is even ideal to test an operating system with some internal modification, as in my case a Linux distribution to which a modified kernel was implemented in which different types of tests were performed before placing it in production, It is definitely safe reliable and robust Therefore, I would not hesitate to recommend its use as a virtualization tool.

Pros

VirtualBox has the quality of virtualizing almost any operating system with excellent driver compatibility using VirtualBox from the versions where it was necessary to capture the mouse and keyboard to use it on the guest and then release them with the Ctrl key to use it on the host, and I can say that the development and constant updating by the community have made this a great virtualization software that has great driver support. and the most attractive point is that it is free and is backed by a great company such as Oracle, it is important to highlight that VirtualBox is an excellent tool for home virtualization because in the business field we have more specialized ones, an important extra is that once installed the host host, it is possible to obtain additional functionalities, such as clipboard sharing, drag & drop support and adaptation of the host screen to the size of the host even by resizing one of its excellent features lies in the possibility of customizing each machine to the required needs Hardware with CPU, Memory, storage among others. In the networks section, the configuration capacity that can be obtained due to its different network modes is excellent, such as: Bridge mode, NAT, Internal network, host-only and Not connected, this can be said to be a tool Very complete virtualization.

Cons

In some operating systems such as Linux, the configuration of the extras that allow us for example the auto resizing of the screen and the other features mentioned in the pro section can be complicated. Additionally there is a point that, although I would not consider it so much a negative aspect of the tool if it is necessary to mention, and it is the subject of the resources of the host team because of this the performance of the virtual machines will depend, and that is that the essence of virtualization, one needs many system resources to take full advantage of the host and virtual machine simultaneously and finally I can not fail to mention the inability to make changes to the hardware of the virtual machine running, otherwise it is a excellent tool that more than positive aspects prevail over negative ones.

March 2019

Sébastien from Omnívoro

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Real Problems No Longer Feel Real Inside a Perfectly Replicated Virtual System with VirtualBox

Thanks to VirtualBox, I have been able to test different systems under controlled conditions. I was able to quickly test the minimum requirements of specific applications by simply changing the settings affecting the virtual machine before using it. It has also allowed me to get comfortable with other operating systems that I don't use regularly and to open native applications flawlessly as opposed to trying to emulate those with an incompatible system. It has saved me many times when deploying destructive scripts for testing purposes that would otherwise have wiped out my real hard drive or infected my machine directly. I feel this is a very well built software and I would be confident in recommending its use to anyone who is looking into virtualization.

Pros

The ability to install almost any operating system with great support for USB, ACPI and SMP without the risk of breaking the machine that is being used for virtualization is a strong advantage of VirtualBox. Apart from the fact that it is free and backed by a legendary company, one of its great features resides in the guest additions, which makes it possible to get better performance and communication with the host, such as adding drag & drop and copy/paste abilities. It also supports a wide range of hardware and has always worked very well for my testing purposes as long as enough memory and CPU can be allocated to the virtual machine without affecting the host. Because it is also possible to take snapshots of the virtual machine at any point, it is easy and convenient to test almost anything without having to reformat and waste many hours to set things up again: it suffices to go back in time to retrieve a working version of the instance. I use it mainly on Linux machines, but its great portability and cross-platform nature is an asset when it comes to deploying it on other systems.

Cons

When not used to the software, it is confusing why some functions might not be available without the guest additions. On some systems, using a desktop environment with fixed sized windows may distort the aspect ratio of the virtual machine. Instead of auto-scaling, it is then necessary to switch the window into "floating mode" to resize manually. Depending on the resources available, the virtual machine will certainly feel slower than the host, especially with no hardware acceleration. By the nature of virtualization, one needs a lot of system resources to take full advantage of both the host and the virtual machine at the same time. On the positive side, it is easy with VirtualBox to adjust the resources allocated to the virtual machine. It cannot be changed on the fly while using the virtual environment, but it is nevertheless indispensable to be able to do so otherwise.

July 2018

Francis Carolina from elbrunchshow.wordpress.com

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Everything you need to do software testing in a single workstation

In the organization in which I worked some time ago, all platforms were migrating to free software. As a geographer, I had to make expedited deliveries of maps and that platform was not yet stable, with Virtualbox, I could use traditional software to respond to requests from my bosses. Currently I'm still using Virtualbox but outside the business scope. At home my family enjoys playing video games from the time of our childhood and they can only be executed in windows 98. It could not be possible to have this hobby without VirtualBox.

Pros

What I like most is that tool is free, easy to use and functional. These characteristics is what makes software distinguish from other similar ones. I also want to highlight its functions, such as: It allows installing virtually any operating system such as Linux, Android, Mac OS X, Windows, Chrome OS, etc; unlike others in the market. It is extremely easy to create an environment for testing of all kinds. In this way we will easily obtain a test environment completely isolated from the rest of the systems. Virtual machines and virtualization allow to use a single service per virtualized server easily and simply. In this way, even if one of the virtualized servers is dropped, the other will continue to work. Finally, the fact of virtualizing servers or operating systems can mean significant savings in maintenance and energy consumption.

Cons

Directly on the software, I could not say that there is something that I do not like, it is quite efficient. The issue is, we must have a computer or workstation that is powerful, since, if we use 2 operating systems simultaneously we are using twice as many resources. In addition, it is also possible that sometimes operating systems and programs will run slower in virtual machines. This is because the virtual machines can not get an ideal performance of the hardware that we have in our team. The more powerful our computer is, the less you will notice the loss of performance.

June 2018

Dominic from Sentz Consulting

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Great tool for running additional environments on your workstation

Nice free virtual machine tool to keep my primary workstation from getting too "cluttered"

Pros

VB is a great little tool to spin up additional OS environments on my workstation. I use this for 2 reasons. First, to be able to spin up other operating systems to do cross-platform testing (Linux, Windows (multiple versions), ChromeOS, etc). Secondly, I use it to have separate environments for clients. We have a multitude of clients that each require different (or worse, sometimes the same) VPN tools, software, etc. When you try to install all these tools on your regular desktop, we were constantly running into conflicts (one client needed to be v5.1 to connect to the VPN and a different client needed v4.7). It just became too much clutter. So I started spinning up a different Windows (or Linux) environment for each client install their tools separately. It has worked wonders!

Cons

The only downside is related to the /way/ I use the software. Because I spin up different environments for each client, if I have to work with a couple clients simultaneously (not often, but it happens), it can be incredibly slow because my workstations resources now have to be split 2, 3 or 4 ways (each envirnment usually gets 1/3 of my RAM allocated). Running 1 at a time is perfectly fine. Running 2 is usually OK, but once I hit 3, I've pretty much maxed out my host and it can be slow. That being said, I could accommodate for that by simply installing more RAM or allocating less to each.

February 2018

Zhao from University of Southern California

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

As a graduate student majoring in Computer Science, I use VirtualBox a lot to set up Ubuntu.

I pay nothing to gain all the functionalities that I need to implement my coursework and research experiment. Although I am a Mac user, I can also install Windows on VirtualBox and use Office conveniently.

Pros

Firstly, VirtualBox is free. But it doesn't mean that it has bad quality. Its various features and functionalities are totally enough, especially for students to use for the academical purpose. I am using Ubuntu on VirtualBox to develop an Operating System kernel this semester. VirtualBox is the first recommendation by my professor. My laptop is Mac OS and only has 4G memory. Since VirtualBox is lightweight and uses smaller memory than VMware, startup or shutdown of the virtual machine on my laptop is very fast, only a few seconds. For students, VirtualBox initial settings are simpler than those on VMware. Most of the time, those settings have nothing to do with coursework or academic experiment. We usually use default values. Too many settings will distract our attention. So the simpleness of VirtualBox can help students focus on their coursework topic.

Cons

Compared to VMware, drag-and-drop functionality on VirtualBox is less convenient. Although we can do sequence settings on VirtualBox to make it support drag-and-drop functionality between host and virtual machine, it is time-consuming and easy to make mistakes to learn and implement these settings.

March 2018

Libio from MPPVH

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Excelente para probar programas nuevos y diferentes sistemas

To test operating systems. To use software that is not available in our operating system. Create and simulate a network of servers.

Pros

It allows me to test different programs without altering my operating system. I can create multiple servers to simulate different networks and test the operation of a server before putting it into operation. I can enter with different programs without altering my operating system. can be installed in any operating system and be able to use all programs, either private or free, since you have no restrictions for use. VirtualBox supports the virtualization of the following operating systems: Microsoft Windows GNU / Linux Mac OS X OS / 2 Warp Solaris / OpenSolaris FreeBSD MS-DOS Android etc.

Cons

You need a powerful computer. We have to take into account that if we use 2 operating systems simultaneously we are using twice as many resources. Operating systems and programs will run slower in virtual machines. This is because the virtual machines can not get an ideal performance of the hardware that we have in our team. The more powerful our computer is, the loss of performance will be noticed. If we have a problem with the computer hosting the host operating system, the service may fall on the entire virtual machine. Therefore the computer that runs the virtual machine is a critical part.

September 2019

Krishna from Cogswell College

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

No more spending money to buy computers just to use different operating systems

Overall, Virtualbox has done wonders for me. Allowing me to try to learn new operating systems without having to spend a lot of money to buy a machine that has that operating system.

Pros

Virtualbox is open-source software that hosts just about any operating system as a file: Windows, macOS, Linux, Ubuntu, Android, etc. A ton of operating systems to choose from. Of course, to do that, you have to download the actual operating system file that can be several gigabytes. But once done, it's easy to import the OS into Virtualbox and start using out of the box. As a Student Ambassador, one of the duties I have is to showcase my computer science projects in an open house event. I have showcased my projects using the Ubuntu operating system. I wasn't comfortable inserting Ubuntu into my main hard disk as a dual boot. If I need to switch the OS on the fly, having a dual boot setup doesn't let me do that, but VirtualBox does. I am asked to showcase Linux commands I learned in my class to prospective students and their families.

Cons

I cannot think of a single dislike. VirtualBox is quite simply, easy to use. No learning curve, and it works out of the box. Of course, the only valid gripe I can give is that you need to have a powerful computer with a good amount of RAM and hard drive space.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2019

Virtualization in Minutes - Virtual Box

Overall VirtualBox servers the total purpose. It can be installated on any operating system, so no matter if your Server is sitting on Windows or Linux box, VirtualBox can be installed and used flawlessly without any powerful configurations. So if you have a Server which in turn is connecting to multiple different servers sitting at different sites at your organization, you can use VirtualBox to bring all the Servers in one instance and make the process more efficient and streamlined.

Pros

VirtualBox is a really lightweight but powerful virtualiztion software. It allows us to build machines within machines and interconnect each machine in a personalised manner of networking. It is helps hugely on Servers for creating minor servers within one parent server which facilitates the basic functioning of any Server. Additionally we can create multiple machines and run all of them at once considering cores of your base machine and each virtual machine will work as a dedicated system serving the purpose.

Cons

Support can be a con for this software. We can get a lot of open source/ public communities supporting this software but there is not formal teaching lessons/ vedios from Oracle explainig the functioning of this software in detail. So learning the software can consist of alot of reaching which eventually becomes frustating at times but overall you learn more when you research. But Oracle can publish some offical videos exolaning the software which will be a lot more helpful.

March 2019

Caleb from Transparent BPO

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2019

VirtualBox - Free hypervisor for your computer

One of my personal favor feature of the application is the ability to create handy snapshots of different state of each VM you create. I use it mainly to test software and websites before launching them in production. with the snapshot feature, I can install all basic required software in the operating system of my choice and when I believe I have the perfect environment, I create a snapshot, in the event something goes wrong, I can easily revert to the snapshot create for this purpose. This allow me to have a clean slate to start from each time I want to run another test and have all I need.

Pros

VirtualBox - is a free open-source, cross-platform and a solid built hypervisor for your computer, which was development by Oracle Corporation. This software is perfect for software reviewers, software testers, software developers and software designers, just to name a few. VirtualBox makes it very easy and convenient to have multiple different operating systems running as guest on your single computer, which acts as the host, eliminating the need to dual boot your machine or the need to have more than one physical computer to run each operating system you might need to perform optimally.

Cons

The most recent version 6.0, has a cool and clean interface with minimal clutter. On the left-hand side of the application you can find global tools and all virtual machines and also virtual machine groups that you have created and available on you computer. You also have the handy import and create new VMs with related toolbar buttons for customizable options to suite your needs. Although the software is free, you can adjust just about any feature available, making it work in as you want and need.

August 2018

John from Family Heritage Life Insurance Company of America

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Easy to use Workstation Virtualization!

Considering the product is open source and free, it is easy to install on windows or linux clients and spin up test virtual machines in a few minutes. It also, allows for rapid testing and ever setting up of small networks to simulate a prodution server environement of a desktop machine if needed. Would highly recommend for programmers, sysadmin, or even home hobbyists that have a need to run multiple machines but do not have the hardware available to do so.

Pros

This has been my go to cross platform virtualization software for testing and development. It is easy to acquire and install. Supports a wide breadth of hosts (Linux, Windows and Macs) and Guest OSs( even dating back to DOS and Windows 3.1!) . It can even he run headless with a simple web interface and does not require dedicated hardware like ESX. Also, Apps can be run seamlessly within the host operating system.

Cons

Even though it is easy to use, I do not think it runs as thin as VMware. Also, to autostart machines requires third party hacks rather than a intergrated service within the product. Undestanding that Virtualbox is meant to be more of a client based virtualized product, it would still be nice to see the autostart of the guest machines baked into the product.

April 2018

Jonathon from Jamestown Baptist Church

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Simple and the best part... FREE

Cheap high quality operating system virtualization that hasn't let me down yet.

Pros

This is the easiest Virtualization software I've been able to find and the best part is that it's FREE. I use it for virtualizing several machines for our organization. We are a smaller business but still have a need for some things to be on a dedicated "server" (door locks and our older Church Management software). These 2 things could not be installed on a machine that was running other services as they use some of the same ports that the other ones did and it was causing conflicts. I used Virtual Box so they could run virtually on the same machine that they wouldn't work on previously. The feature set (network settings, display settings, and the KB/Mouse passthrough once the Virtual Box tools is installed) in Virtual Box is right up there with the "big dogs" but they do it for free which for a smaller organization such as ours is huge.

Cons

There have been a few Virtual Box software hiccups that require me to shutdown and reboot the 2 virtual servers but it's been fairly solid and only happened 3 times in the 2+ years that machine has been running.

February 2019

David from Gimnazija i ekonomska skola "Jovan Jovanovic Zmaj"

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

VirtualBox- Review

With VirtualBox I am solving problems like tuff installing windows 10 on my computer which I don't know if its gonna turn well for me , I just simulate it and see how is my computer reacting on it , its like I am going around all hard and complicated installations and just installing it on easy way, that's also my main benefit.

Pros

What I like most about this software is his flexibility. You can choose it to simulate every computer software you like , from Windows (XP Vista, 7, 8, 10) to Linux and more. I would recommend it to every programmer or ethical hacker who is still learning about hacking, installation of all packages is really fast and easy. They are guiding you to every step and there is no chance you can make mistake. The simulations are very likely to original software which I found very amazing. Thank you VirtualBox!

Cons

What I least like about this software is that sometimes some simulations are very slow to install and use ,I don't know if its because of my computer or because VirtualBox system, its like I am having 25 FPS when I am on Linux Software, and internet can be very slow there, also In the beginning I couldn't find way to exit VirtualBox simulation, which I found very troubling.

March 2018

Jorge from Ministerio del Poder Popular para Habitat y Vivienda

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2018

is a very practical application that allows to install additional operating systems within another

You can install several operating systems on a desktop, Hosts and cross-platform guests, including Windows, Linux and Oracle Solaris, and Mac OS X as host, has Teletransport of virtual machines running between hosts without interruption, has a high performance, supports loads of Massive work of up to 32 virtual CPUs and compatibility with OVF format.

Pros

It is an open source software compatible with a large number of guest operating systems, its versatility makes it compatible with x86 / amd64 architectures, it is an application that allows to install additional operating systems, known as "guest systems", within another system operative "host", each with its own virtual environment. In terms of hardware emulation, the hard disks of the guest systems are stored in the host systems as individual files in a container called Virtual Disk Image, incompatible with the other virtualization softwares.

Cons

they add great complexity to the system at runtime. The main disadvantage of the virtual machine, is that in the application of some process will have the effect of the slowness of the computer, that is, the computer in which this process is running must have a quite remarkable capacity must be of great capacity or powerful. The languages based on virtual machine, have a disadvantage is that they are actually slower than fully compiled languages, due to the overload generated by having an intermediate software layer between the application and the computer hardware, however, This limitation does not it's too critical.

December 2018

sumit from Netsmartz

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

Oracle Virtual Box Review

It’s a very good experience to work on Virtual Box

Pros

1) It allows to create virtual machine of any OS. 2) It allows to change settings for every single virtual machine. 3) We don’t need to create servers for testing purposes as the virtual machine provides the same functionality. 4) It does not limit the user for using it.

Cons

1) Installation process takes very time. 2) On some computers, one must allow virtualisation through bios to create Virtual Machine. 3) There is no copy and paste option in virtual machine. For that we need to open session in putty. 4) Sound Drivers are not present and even we do have full screen size for virtual machine.

May 2019

Luis Daniel from YCS PR Corp.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Best VMs around

Pros

I've been using Virtual Box for years now and for different OS. Recently last week I got even Mac OS X Mojave to work on a VM on a windows machine! It's always been really, really powerful and the snapshots feature it's a godsend. I'm a software engineer and we have to test different kind of apps and on different kind of systems and VMWare for me, again is a godsend because I can keep multiple systems running with different OS or different versions of the app and make them work with each other. The resource management is great and even on the free version! I honestly cannot recommend it enough.

Cons

There were some issues with Windows 10 lately and VMWare where some of the VM extensions wouldn't register properly and over the years, it feels that when using Linux Systems, the VMWare tools aren't too good and you have to resort to tutorials or scripts online to get them to work.

August 2018

PHANEENDRA from Juniper networks

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Free virtualization software to work on multiple OS with decent feature set

The VirtualBox software overall performance is low compared to other proprietary application like parallel and VMware on Mac. Also the performance is slow on computer hardware few years old, as the virtualisation support is recently added in recent intel processors. But the performance and configuration issues can be ignored for the free nature of software and with the hope that future versions will offer better.

Pros

I find VirtualBox to be very useful to install and use various Linux distros on my windows/Mac OS laptops. Before the virtualization software improved, dual OS installation is the only option and its risky and may run into cases where we need to reformat the whole hard drive thereby end-up losing data. The completely and opensource nature of VirtualBox helps in saving money to business. With recent improvement there are many features being added to VirtualBox, shared folders and shared clipboard which greatly enhance the usability when running in emulated OS. Also since the hard drive emulation is supported in multiple formats, the hard drive files can be shared with team members.

Cons

The major con in my experience with VirtualBox is with the USB data transfer speed as USB 2 is not widely supported in VirtualBox. Although this can be worked around copying files to shared folder of host OS. The guest addition component installation and configuration to get full features is a pain and needs some googling.

November 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

A sandbox where nothing can go wrong

VirtualBox is my choice when I need to test software in different OS, also it's great to give it a try to the myriad of OS out there without ruining our computer. If you are something that likes playing with fire (but safely) then VirtualBox is for you.

Pros

As a software developer and a geek by nature, it's quite common to ruin my whole workstation because I was playing with something I wasn't supposed to do. Imagine that your project is delayed because you tried to emulate a super old game on your PC, not cool. With VB I can safely play with any and multiple operative systems and install dangerous software, just for fun. It's great to be able to virtualize any Linux distro out there before really installing it on my computer, it also helps with getting used to a new OS before switching to it. VB is simple and easy to use, you can go a long way just with the default settings and it will setup your virtual machine based on the OS you pretend to install.

Cons

It's not necessarily a VB problem but about virtualization in general, I run my virtual machines on 4GB of RAM and my host machine can be really slow when running the virtual machine, it's important to know that to fully enjoy the benefits of virtualizations and run virtual machines smoothly we need a decent video card and more RAM. Besides my poor setup, VB runs incredibly well.

July 2018

Joshua from Metro-North Railroad

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

When coupled with a powerful PC, VirtualBox delivers great performance.

Pros

What I like most about this software is the ability it gives to run various operating systems simultaneously, regardless of the operating system environment that the application is running in and definitely allows for much faster crossover between different operating systems as opposed to more manual options that are not as quick to change between such as dual booting a pc or using other VM software. This proves very useful when I am writing a report in one operating system while using another via VirtualBox to run experiments or creating and executing scripts in the VM.

Cons

While every VM I have used I do experience lag with, I will also mention this lag with VirtualBox. If VirtualBox is run on a standard or average office computer with limited memory (such as limited RAM), there almost always is a lag when performing long computations such as those that can be associated with programming in a VM. However, when these same computation or programs are run in a machine of higher performance, such as a gaming PC, there is significantly less lag. While this may sound like a computer performance issue, given my computer engineering experience, I feel that VirtualBox can definitely make software improvements to allow for smoother operation of the VM when under "heavy loads".

April 2019

Pedro from Faculdade de Desporto da Universidade do Porto

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Professional Training & Coaching

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Any OS system, anywhere!

VirtualBox permits me to have only one computer (MAC OS), with all the software I need, without the obligation to restart every time I need to access other OS System. I can work and share work between machines (virtual and physical) without any problem!

Pros

For those that work with multiple software know that a Virtual Machine is a must-have software. For those that work with MAC OS, is even more important. Many of the software I use on an investigation in social sciences are made for the Windows environment. VirtualBox is a very handy and powerful tool. The fact that it's free, is even better! There are other offers on the market, with more elaborated tools. But for the price (free), VirtualBox is the key!

Cons

There are some tricks you need to handle. For example, when you work with virtual disks, with space allocated dynamically, it's easy to increase size, but it's very hard to decrease after a cleanup. It should be possible to do both things with the same effort.

August 2018

Fernando from Pelissari Gestão e Tecnologia

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Easy to use and reliable virtualization solution.

It has been of big help in my work, it saves me so much time because I only need to create a virtual machine and setup the VPNs once. After that I can just copy the virtual disk files to another machine if I need (when I change my laptop or restore a backup). This is great!

Pros

You can create many virtual machines very easily. I use it to setup Virtual Private Networks (VPNs) so they don't affect my host computer setup. VPNs can be very problematic sometimes, and can mess up with your host's network setup, so Virtual Machines are a good way to deal with them. Virtual Box makes this experience much better, it has so many features like the Seamless viewing method and cursor integration that sometimes you don't care if you are using a virtual machine or your host machine, it seems to be the same. You have a great control of the machine execution and parameters, so you can fine tune it the way you like.

Cons

The updating method is manual, it checks automatically and tells you that a new version is available but you need to download and install it separately. Maybe it could be improved by being another configuration among many others, so you can choose between "update automatically" or "manual update". But I guess this is even a security measure, so this is not a big con.

May 2019

Simon from pointer

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

virtual box review

Being in a tech solutions company we have to utilize both Linux and windows operating systems. Virtual box enables us to use both without the need to purchase multiple very enormous quantities of computers for each type of task thereby saving time, officespace,monetary and time resources.

Pros

The software is easily downloadable from their website virtualbox.org. They also a very easy to understand guide on how to use it. What I liked most about the software is that it creates a perfectly virtualized environment separate from the actual computer it's installed on(host machine). It enables a user access to as many virtualized computers as wanted by user on the host machine, each operating independently and simultaneously if needed to. Also each virtual machine consumes minimal space on your hard drive.

Cons

Though the hard drive space is virtualized, it uses the actual ram memory and CPU processing speed. This means powering multiple virtualized environments at the same time may lead to slow processing of tasks both on the virtual machine and on the host machine.

November 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Virtual Computers For Studies

Overall virtual box helps me a lot to have virtual PCs to try and test different kind of networking, security or software things without harming my real computer system.

Pros

As an undergraduate student I always try new things to implement in systems. So I need a test environment to run those new things without harming real world software or hardware on that point VirtualBox comes in handy. With the use of VirtualBox I can create virtual windows, linux or mac PCs and run my tests on those virtual machines. It is very easy to setup virtual systems on VirtualBox and the software is free to use so anyone who need a good software to create a virtual machine this software comes in handy.

Cons

When its come to the performance, sometime time we feel the loss of hardware accelerated performance on the virtual PC. When we try to run two or more virtual PCs our real world PC's performance may be not enough to have a flawless operation. When need to manage few networks interfaces sometime I got issues that I could not resolve.

May 2019

Max from SparkCognition

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Great free tool for development sandbox work on local machine

This is a must have tool for every software developer to have on their local machine. You don’t want to be testing code on your production machine, but rather in a sandbox environment. This gives a free way to have access to another machine without going through IT or other roadblocks. You can easily make images, save versions and share with others with this tool. There are a lot of images out there that you can load on your machine to try out like Kali Linux. Virtual Box is a great must have tool.

Pros

This tool is a great, must have free development tool for software development work. When you are building a piece of software virtualization is the best way to work on it and flush out the kinks. With Virtual Box you can easily save versions/images and share with others. You can work on your software on your local machine without having to go through IT or portals to set up a dev box and you if something breaks you can revert back an image. Great tool.

Cons

Don’t expect to run a business critical application on this software. That is more for a hypervisor like Windows Hypervisior or VMWare ESXi or similar. The setup to get this running as a network appliance can be hard too, so if you are doing development work on something that needs port access to the VM is hard to configure.

August 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

A very good hypervisor for lab use

Our tech support team uses it daily for labs/training purposes. It does have features that you can use for production machines, such as auto-start VMs etc. But it feels like it's not there yet. I'd say it's the best there is out there for desktop use, especially since it's provided at no cost.

Pros

Its super easy to use it and create VMs and it's pretty lightweight. Also like the fact that each VM opens in separate window and you can take advantage of all of your screens. For a freeware hypervisor you get anything you love, snapshots, vm integration options like clipboard and so much more.

Cons

It's network adapters break at some point and you need to troubleshoot a bit. Sometimes you even have to completely uninstall it and reinstall it. It's not a big issue, unless you're in the middle of a process or a presentation. Then it's really a big issue.

January 2019

Jose from Gluu Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

A mature desktop virtualization tool

I've been using virtual machines for a decade or so - back in those times VirtualBox was already a strong player in the field. It was one of a few free options available at the moment, and I picked it because there was a big company behind it (Sun Microsystems in that time). From day zero I enjoyed VBox a lot. With rich, comfortable to read docs, and point-and-click virtualization configuration, I've had no complaints at all. Even, I've used it as a vehicle to learn about virtualization stuff. Virtual Box can cope with most of the needs an IT professional may have when it comes to desktop virtualization. Support for operating systems is broad, all at a cost of zero!.

Pros

It makes cross-platform virtualization a breeze. A fairly complete solution. No surprises.

Cons

Certain network setups are not very easy to achieve. Sometimes it demands a bit of internet research but after digging some docs, you can get the task done.

January 2019

Tolga from VirginiaTech

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2019

Oracle VM Box

Free software but not ideal.

Pros

A way for the users of one operating system to gain feasible access to other OSs in time of need. Eg. A Windows user can easily go into Unix to more robustly run python code. It will also give access to two command prompts that might be desirable in certain network programming situations for the elementary testing stages of some networking software.

Cons

It is frustrating to set-up and has clunky functionality. The connection between the main OS and the hosted OS is rudimentary and won't allow for a very flexible working environment. For instance, transferring files from the home OS to hosted OS is difficult to achieve. Even though the program claims to offer some services in this regard, the functionality is sometimes not responsive.

November 2018

Sukesh from Tech Mahindra

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Perfect platform for beginers/professionals to install guest vmmachines and work on it

I had great experience using virtual box in my environment which allows me to perform experiments on different OS platform hence helping me to improve my knowledge and curiosity.

Pros

As I work in IT sector,I often come across situations where I need to test manytechnical things in the Linux/other OS platform and I have Windows version installed on my personal Laptop. Virtual box allows me to create and install guest vm machines where I can install linux/other OS and perform my testings. We will have network connectivity between different virtual machines that are create on a single virtualbox which is one of the most impressive feature of virtual box. I can easily transfer files or folders between the virtual box and my personal laptop operating system.I can create many virtual machines in a single virtualbox ,install multiple linux/other operating systems and perform my testing which will be hardly available in real time environment if virtualbox was unavailable

Cons

I don't find any cons of such but the network connectivity between virtual machines inside the virtual box and my personal Laptop is hard to achieve

April 2018

Rafael from Instituto Medico Especializado Victoria

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

The perfect tool to setup and run multiple and fully functional virtual machines in a single PC

Test Network Architectures and Servers to see if they meet the requirements or if the architecture or software installed has the desired behavior before build the setup physically. this was very handy during my grade internship in the teleinformatics delegation at my local university, where we were driven to test the setups using this software before build the systems using physical devices.

Pros

- The several amount of operating systems that the software support for the virtual machines (from nearly all version of windows, multiple linux distributions like ubuntu, fedora, debian and even android linux , to FreeBSD systems like pfSense. -Full control over the resources each machine can get from the host PC - Optimized to take advantage of your pc specs to run vm's without generate a high impact on your system performance (of course this depends of the host pc specs) - Allows to setup complex builds including multiple vm's and physical with great accuracy for testing.

Cons

- Network configuration for complex builds using multiple vm's can be tricky. - Some systems doesn't have full support to mount and recognize external usb devices

December 2019

Esther from Self-Employed

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Excellent Virtual Machine Software for Individual Users

VirtualBox excels at its primary purpose, which is to help individual users set up virtual machines on their computers quickly and easily. The interface is one of the best I've seen in almost any product category, and its ability to hide advanced options while still making them available as needed is top notch. Almost every modern operating system can be installed on VirtualBox, including the always-popular Windows and most Linux distributions. When it comes to negatives, some operating systems (especially Linux distributions) require additional programs or drivers to be installed before they will support all of the virtual machine features, and these drivers can occasionally break when updating the operating system until a fix is developed. Nonetheless, these are minor concerns, and VirtualBox is almost always my top recommendation for virtual machine creation, not to mention my own personal favorite.

Pros

Setup wizards make it extremely easy to set up your virtual machine, supports most popular operating systems, has advanced options available for those who need them, interface is excellent to work with

Cons

Some operating systems require additional configuration after installation, some limited driver support depending on operating system

November 2019

Charith from University of Moratuwa, Sri Lanka

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Create a Virtual Machine inside your PC

The experience I had with VirtualBox is simply amazing. This is a lightweight yet a powerful software that enables the user to emulate a PC with an OS in your computer and test-out its functionality. As a programmer, I found this really helpful in learning different Operating systems like Linux and Ubuntu. In the second semester of my University we used this tool to learn Linux shell commands and related functionality efficiently without directly installing Linux in our computers .

Pros

VirtualBox is an open-source/free hosted hypervisor developed by Oracle. Using VirtualBox we can allocate some RAM and Secondary Storage to create a Virtual Machine (emulation of another PC) inside of our PC. This helps a lot when you want to try out the functionality of different Operating Systems. I used VirtualBox to create a Virtual Machine with Linux Installed (I use Microsoft Windows 10 as my primary OS) to learn about the functionality of Linux Shell and its commands. It is efficient and easy to create such a Virtual Machine and install a OS to it rather than installing a second OS to your own PC. You can create such a virtual machine even if you don't have a large RAM or a secondary storage.

Cons

There were no major cons of this software in my experience. However, I believe that the user-interface of the app looks a bit outdated and it can be improved. Also, the procedure of creating a virtual machine and installing an OS can be a bit confusing and complicated for a beginner.

September 2018

Dylan from IXON B.V.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Great for setting up free virtual machines.

We use this in our organization to create development environments comparable to our production environment, where we can create and develop without fear of breaking things.

Pros

The tool is free to use and has unlimited use. It can be used for any type of OS and you can provide your own .iso files if you have a special need for it. It is also very easy to manage a virtual machine and in the interface you can configure alot in regards to hard disk, network, etc.

Cons

The only downside to this is that the software is regularly updated (which is a good thing of course). The problem is that it is common to encounter virtual machine-breaking incompatibilities, leading to having to destroy and recreate my machines more than once.

September 2019

Jim from AristaMD

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Solid product. Takes some practice. Updates may break it.

Overall experience is excellent. VirtualBox is a great all-but-free option for recreating your server environment locally as a testbed.

Pros

Value for the money! Easy to install, can run a virtual instance of most major operating systems. Variety of options to handle peripherals and networking. API allows interaction with other build products (Vagrant, Terraform, Puppet), which is great for keeping images current.

Cons

Updates will occasionally (2-3x per year) break either filesharing or networking capabilities on your existing virtual boxes. The fix is to roll back to the previous version and wait about a week until they fix it.

Reasons for Choosing VirtualBox

Cost of Implementation, and ability to use on a local workstation.

December 2018

Dale from Bimota Usa

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

More OS, more fun!

I love it! I can use and tyr different OS because of VirtualBox.

Pros

I am using VirtualBox on my 2011 Macbook Pro to run Windows 10 and it works flawlessly. I love the fact that is is completely free and it has lots of functionalities. The specs of my Macbook Pro are not that great and outdated but still, running VirtualBox is really smooth. It is lightweight and I can customize how I allocate the resources of my Macbook. Learning and using it is easy and they have a helpful community that are willing to help users if they encountered any problems with it.

Cons

The only minor drawback of VirtualBox is i can't copy and paste from my host or native os into the virtual os.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

Great option for development testing

Pros

You can create a virtual machine of almost any OS. This means that you can replicate a production environment. This will save you time because you can find incompatibility issues with production servers early.

Cons

It’s not an specific problem of VirtualBox itself, but of any Virtual Machine tool. The guest machine may/will run slower than the host one, and you will need to put an eye on the resources use (not only CPU and RAM, but the HDD space that every VM uses; this can be critical now that lots of developers use laptops with small SDD disks). Docker environments can be an alternative (although they do not have the exact same benefits, they have some other advantages).

February 2018

Earle from EKO Enterprises

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Great Product at a Great Price

Pros

It is FREE!!! That is always good. But it is not the only factor. Usually, you get what you pay for, but with VirtualBox, you get much much more! This software is easy to use and an invaluable asset for a blended environment. I support both Mac and PC users, and being able to keep abreast of the new operating systems on one piece of hardware is awesome! It is also easy to use as an imaging solution in concert with FOG.

Cons

I can think of only one "con." (Granted, I have not tried this in a while), but the ability to run in transparent mode (ala Parallels) is lacking in stability. I do not need this functionality, but it would be nice to have in my back pocket.

December 2018

Christopher from UXC Eclipse

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

A great virtualization for Windows - especially if using multiple VPNs

I use VirtualBox for development machine, support machine, and keeping my source laptop "clean". As I upgrade my source machine the VMs move seamlessly to the new environment.

Pros

The virtual machine is completely separate from the host PC, yet has easy access to files if needed. Minimal processor and RAM resources are required of the host machine, and everything is in a central location. I can safely install many different VPN solutions for connecting to customer systems on the VM without fear of corrupting my source machine OS. I can also switch between OS with multiple VMs to allow for older apps.

Cons

There appears to be some amount of file size bloat with usage of the VM over time.

November 2018

Octavi from CTTC - Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Virtualize everything

I use Virtualbox mainly to have a virtual Windows on the machines where I work with ubuntu. Often use it to test new versions of operating systems before putting them into production

Pros

With VirtualBox you can virtualize any operating system with a Windows, Linux or Mac host. The integration between the virtual system and the host is perfect, you can configure the network, the USBs, the audio, etc. In addition it should be noted that it is free despite being maintained by Oracle.

Cons

The negative part of VirtualBox is basically the management of virtual disks, it is very difficult to resize them or assign them to other virtual machines, since all the actions must be done with terminal commands.

September 2018

Tajammal from Online ILM Ki Dunya

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

A Great Solution to Run morethan one OS

It solved me the problem for running Linux and Windows on different PC at same time because I was working on both operating systems at same. Using it I installed both operating systems in one computer. It save me to buy extra compute and saves my time for changing computers.

Pros

Virtual Box is a great solution to run more than one operating system. It is available for most plateforms likely Windows,Ubuntu, Linux, Fedora, etc. Once user install it then he/she can run any operating system through its ISO file. We can not only run as live, also we can install operating systems in it as a second computer operating system. It acts as host for second OS and play the major role of connecting between two or operating systems. It most likely use when we need to work on different softwares at same time but software not available for other primary operating system.

Cons

There are some little cons of it but these are minors not bigger. Computer should have more than 4GB of RAM for working it correctly, for best and high performance RAM should be more than 8GB. Some time it takes long time than normal for first time booting operating system. Some time it not load ISO file properly so it could not boot.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

An Easy to Use Simple Hypervisor

Pros

One of the best things about Virtualbox is that its free. This makes it an excellent choice for students or anyone needing a homebrew setup. It has all the virtualization options for anyone but enterprise users would want. Along those same lines, Virtualbox is probably the most user friendly Hypervisor amongst available solutions so its a great way to jump into virtualization for testing and tinkering, or to provide another operating system.

Cons

At one point I did a Hypervisor performance test as a term project, and Virtualbox generally had the worst performance compared to other solutions. If performance is what you are looking for this probably isn't the product for you, VMware or a bare metal hypervisor would suit you better. However I still think that Virtualbox is amongst the best for home users and students due to its simplicity and that its free. Additionally, I have struggled immensly with Virtualboxs drag and drop feature. I cannot seem to get it to work reliably.

March 2018

Michael from iQor

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

I have used VirtualBox every day for years, and it has made my life infinitely easier.

I can make changes to my live machine images, and make sure that everything is perfect before I deploy it into a production environment. This makes VirtualBox an invaluable tool for any IT department.

Pros

I use VirtualBox to build images for live machines, and then capture the image with a FOG server. I like the fact that I can make changes to my images on the fly, and then take a snapshot of it before I capture in case I made a mistake then I can just restore to the snapshot.

Cons

I have experienced updates in the past that completely wiped my virtual machines. This does not happen often, and has not happened in a couple years, but it is a major annoyance when it does happen.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 505 reviews