User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(35)

35

4 stars

(16)

16

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(1)

1

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse Segment Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 53 results

September 2019

User Profile Picture

Jonny from Crowdcube Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Segment - The Data Layer to Have

Segment solves the problem of add script once. Enable quickly. Data flows and needs a pipe to steer it in the right direction. Segment makes this easy. Create a data science team in seconds and connect to a wide and vast number of tools and connections from Adwords to Facebook all the way through to iOS and Android. This covers many bases.

Pros

Segment have built a best in class data layer and data management tool. The tool is easy to set up and creating destinations and understanding sources is simple. Add the code for Web, Mobile or a data warehouse. Then enable product and marketing teams to enable and disable marketing and product tools easily. The new personas feature is also incredibly powerful. Make collecting analytics .track and .page and .identify easy.

Cons

Segment does make data easy and because of the quality of the tool it does come at a cost. The benefit is it does scale with you because the price plan works on MTUs. But it really depends on the size of your business. Beware not to over enable and connect too much if you are not using it. This will add un-necessary load which can impact mobile page speed.

July 2021

User Profile Picture

Giovanni from Different srl

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Useful marketing tool

great, it helps a lot in collecting customer's information

Pros

Segment is a great platform that allows a lot of different functions in customer's data collection. The best thing by my point of view is that a lot of marketing tools are ready to use, you have only to connect them to Segment and all the data will flow.

Cons

if your marketing tool is not on the list you have to code: that is not a bad thing, only you need a developer

April 2016

Or from CrazyLister.com

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

April 2016

Data loss and bad customer support

At first it sounds great, one stop shop for all you analytics needs. What they don't tell you is: 1. Segment API is far less reliable than any of the underlying analytics tools. I've never had any data loss with mixpanel, since I switched to segment I had 3 severe data loss incidents, one was a segment server failure, one was a result of Segment's API and the 3rd is still under investigation. 2. It's literally impossible to get proper support for urgent issues. no matter how much I emphasize the urgency, they'll send 1 reply a day, with the most useless information and ask the same basic questions over and over and over again.

Pros

Reduce the amount of code that handles analytics and tracking No real alternative

Cons

Unreliable. Bad customer support.

April 2018

User Profile Picture

Christopher from Territory Foods

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Food Production

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Great software to remove the burden of countless API integrations

Saved a ton of dev time

Pros

It takes the burden off of our own teams to manage a slew of API integrations. This saves us a ton in developer costs in time, and makes it very easy to vet new tools for our analytics and marketing stacks.

Cons

Like any abstraction layer, not everything is plug-and-play. As you start to use more integrations, this becomes more complicated in it's own right, and you sometimes need to regress back to a standard API integration.

July 2018

User Profile Picture

Fayssal from Telematik

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Segment is a great tool, if you can afford it then you should start using it right now.

Always happy to recommend segment ! A great tool.

Pros

The last tool to integrate with various apps. Write once and integrate infinitely. Time saving is worthless and make your app load much faster.

Cons

Pricing is not small businesses friendly ;( Would be great if we can write and view integrations comments from other users. Please share future integration pipeline.

October 2018

User Profile Picture

Srinivas from eventValue

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Events Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Segment Data collection

Very good and solve the key pain point very well

Pros

3rd party integration is very good , ease of use and whole ecosystem

Cons

Pricing after free tier is very steep instead of restricting free tier on no of sources it should restrict on number of data points or MAU

May 2018

User Profile Picture

Barry from TravelBank

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Lifesaver for growth & marketing tech stack

Pros

- Implement tracking once, automatically and consistently send data to all downstream destinations - Hundreds of integrations (and, with the recent Zapier integration, millions of possible combinations) - Easy to understand pricing

Cons

- Integration implementation can vary widely. Documentation is usually thorough, but often confusing / complicated / out of date / (in the case of beta integrations) not accessible or non-existent - At scale, I could see costs spiraling pretty rapidly

May 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

Segment Event Tracking

Segment does a great job of event tracking for analytics. It integrates well with other tools like Heap and is very easy to explain to others about how to add a new event to track.

Pros

Segment is great at handling event tracking. Once configured, it's very easy to add new events and also specify data associated with those events. We use the tool across multiple codebases and server provisions. It integrates well with other tools like Heap for further analytics.

Cons

It can be a bit difficult to debug, but this isn't really an issue with Segment, but rather event trackers in general. The feed of events can be a bit difficult to filter through when testing new events.

October 2020

User Profile Picture

Daniel from Mother Erth

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Apparel & Fashion

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

The easiest way to pull data from your site or app -- and maintain it

We've drastically reduced the amount of time spent adding in code or removing old code. It also results in a marginal performance improvement since there is just one javascript to fire instead of multiple. You send the data to segment - then it sends it to all the connected apps.

Pros

Segment's value proposition is really simple. Instead of having many different code snippets in various places on your website or app to track page views, clicks, etc, you can just put a segment snippet wherever you need it and then from segment's control panel you can feed that data into any third party tool with one click. Even better - you can feed in historical data as well.

Cons

No cons to think of - the only "hassle" was having a developer put the snippets into the app and website - but I don't see any way around that.

November 2020

User Profile Picture

Rodrigo de Castro from Arena.im

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

Great addition to our marketing stack

Pros

The ease of use is one of the biggest pros. There's a long list of possible destinations and it's possible to turn them on/off very easily, without any development.

Cons

The pricing model (MTUs) when you have a lot of anonymous users can be a problem.

December 2020

Lewis from Chem-Impex International

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Chemicals

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

This CDP is great if you have a plug & play website, more tricky if you have a custom built website.

The customer service team, while fast and responsive, was not particularly knowledgeable about how to get around these issues we were having with visual tagger, and thus we had to work with a consultant that had the know-how of how to fully integrate Segment with our website through GTM. However, now that we have gotten our custom Segment setup up and running, it is very powerful and we're able to communicate our website event and tracking data with a multitude of analytics and other marketing tools. So overall, it has been a challenging experience, but once you get it working, it is worth the extra effort.

Pros

Segment was easy to setup and integrate with our website, using the Javascript code they provided. Also the Segment interface is well designed and easy to navigate. The settings for your Destinations are all clear and laid out, so you can make changes effortlessly. The neatest feature is the visual tagger, which allows you to create and track triggers/events on your website without having to code anything at all. It's great if you want to track very basic behaviors like button clicks or form submissions.

Cons

The most difficult part of Segment was when we wanted to track more granular data, such as user identities/emails. I believe if you have a typical website, built off of WordPress, or Shopify, you might not have these issues. But if you have a custom built website like ours, you will need some technical know-how in order to capture the finer data. For example, visual tagger did not work for us when we tried to use the identify call analytics.js, because our website stored user ID info on our data layer, not the presentation layer, which is only what Visual tagger can see. In order to access fields in your data layer, you'll need to use something like Google Tag Manager (GTM) to trigger and fire those events in Segment (shout out to McGaw.io for helping us with this!). So, if you have a more complex website, triggering certain events or getting fine granular data in Segment is not intuitive.

Reasons for Choosing Segment

It was free to start and easy to set up. Costs seemed reasonable compared to competitors. Is widely compatible with many marketing tools in the industry.

November 2020

Guido from Young Digitals

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

All the info you need. In a snap!

Pros

It is incredibly easy to install with modules for any kind of source (app, server, API, jacasript). It sends coherent and consistent data to hundreds of destinations (I think there are ~200 and counting, but new ones can be added with very little coding), and new destinations can be added with no intervention by an engineer. Among the destinations, there's also relational Databases: you can really track ALL actions of any single user of your system and having access to historical data with a click. This is amazing! It offers an easy and intuitive privacy mechanism that lets you deleta data of a single users from multiple systems with a single click. It offers common, consistent data to all different areas of a company: marketing, product development, finance, ... (and you can chose what different offices can see).

Cons

It is pricy: the cost is based on the average number of single users tracked per month and it's not cheap at all. So better to understand exactly how it can help you grow your business (and how you can fully exploit it) before you decide to adopt it.

Reasons for Choosing Segment

Easier to use and implement

October 2019

Tamás from Bitrise

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

A reliable tool for event tracking and syncronization

In our organization Segment is mostly used to track events from the website backend. There are other feature rich alternatives for frontend tracking but server-side tracking is not a priority for them. Segment really saves a lot of software, devops and data engineer hours alike by reliable continuous data delivery.

Pros

- Intuitive UI. - Event tester on the UI. - Several client libraries. - You can sync even your backdata, e.g. when setting up a new warehouse. - Pricing is based on users not events.

Cons

- Custom schedule for synchronisation or event validation is only available in higher packages. - Some integrations just don't support a moderately sophisticated setup. E.g. if you don't want 1 million API calls a day you should construct specific Segment calls to update Salesforce leads.

November 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2020

Addresses a major use case | requires a data architect to own the implementation and instrumentation

Pros

The ability to easily connect disparate sources of customer data. The ease of adding sources and destinations with or without native integration with Segment. The ability to insert third-party snippets on our site through Segment. The pricing structure of charging by usage rather than by seat, making it easy to increase adoption across the org.

Cons

Still requires technical support to map out the integrations and instrument the right tracking events in your app or on your website. Not all connections are intuitive and the UI makes it hard to find payload information and logs. I recommend pairing a business owner with a technical owner at the outset of implementation.

February 2019

Guruprasad from Vidyanext

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Good tool for startups

Overall, it helps you to start really fast. We at www.quiznext.in use segment to collect data from our app and send it to warehouse, firebase, fb etc.

Pros

Easy setup, Easier to collect data and send to warehouse. Integration with other tools is easy.

Cons

Not all integrations are seemless. Many integrations require client side app installation, which just reduces the code a bit. Once you start attracting decent users, it turns out to be expensive and need to look for alternative tools.

August 2020

User Profile Picture

Andrew from Amazing Business

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

Great for integrating product with multiple products and extending over time

Integrating with multiple other products, it's meant we can add additional products without changing our core product or needing development time. It's meant we can add and test new products and decide if we want to keep them or drop them without needing development to do it.

Pros

The ability to set and forget it, essentially set it up when you launch the product and then needs very little maintenance or hand holding to do the job, and do it well.

Cons

Did feel complicated to set up, and to look into the workflows. Having said that once set up they've worked perfectly and we haven't had to keep working on them.

September 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

Segment for analytics integration

- Great experience, easy integration, saves a lot of time when working with multiple analytics services

Pros

- easy integration - can work with many analytics Saas vendors

Cons

- can be better with some data visualization capabilities

Reasons for Choosing Segment

Integration to many services

December 2020

Steve from Receipt Bank

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Segment does all the heavy lifting so you don't have to

Pros

A centralised place to standardise all of your data through ETL, analytics as well as computed traits that create consistency of information across operational saas systems. Segment's investment in protocols roadmap provides the tools required to address the automatic monitoring of data.

Cons

There aren't many things that come to mind.

November 2020

Andrii from FFW

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

Segment - the best system to control and analyze your customers!

I integrated Segment with the Drupal 8 site. I’m supporting it and improve.

Pros

The great debugger web-based tool. The tool to create audiences to group users by some properties or events.

Cons

All if fine. I can’t even be thinking about cons. Probably would be great to have the ability to copy data between sources.

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Must have software

Pros

Not sure how one can manage app and web tracking without Segment. It quickly enables you to track millions of events and funnel it to the appropriate tools like advertising, analytics, salesforce ... without engineering power

Cons

The capacity to decide which events are sent to each vendors to limit data overusage

October 2020

Altaf from Travelstop

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Modern data consolidation solution

Pros

There’s nothing out there that even comes close to Segment. With just a single integration we can funnel our data to all the essential tools that we use to run out business (Intercom, Amplitude, Google Analytics and many more)

Cons

Nothing specific. Everything works great.

November 2019

Ben from Oikon Stewardship Solutions

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Segment help turn your data into dollars

My overall experience with Segment has been incredible. Never before have I

Pros

There's no single thing I like most about Segment. The mere power to connect all our web properties, product/platform touch points, and marketing campaigns into a central database is incredible, and that's what Segment is all about. It's the whole package that impresses me. Need to sort email interaction data into your database, while filtering out users who have engaged with your product in the last 48 hours, while tracking inbound clicks on your product pages? Yeah, Segment can do all that at the same time and way, way more. I don't know how we did business before.

Cons

Segment has a steep learning curve. It took weeks to really come to grips with everything that Segment can do and how to do it. This is not a weakness, but just be prepared for a lengthy implementation period.

November 2020

Vimal from Caratlane

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2020

Integration and journey

Its really good but not extreme.

Pros

This will be very simple to integrate with any website in short time. The clear understanding of user activities via your api calls. This event module will helpsl us to analysis what user did in the page and what they are trying to make it. If something's broken when user browse, we could pretty much identify easily by debugging via segment instead of searching our code base log files.

Cons

User funnel is not much as per the exception. When I want to compare the multiple user journey, I couldn't feel much.

June 2021

Ivan from Adevinta Spain

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2021

Easy to use and powerful tool, recommended if you work with third-party tools.

One of the tools that we recommend has the possibility of data quality with the "protocols" which is very interesting too.

Pros

It is a very easy-to-use tool that with minimal training you can add/configure third-party tools, accessible to many user profiles.

Cons

We have previously been working with tag manager tools, we miss the possibility of have modifications before sending the segment to 3 party tools. The "functions" are somewhat complex, a UI environment would be nice. Possibility of alerts with ML, for example; if we normally send 1000 events of one type each day, wait that day for those approximate events, intelligent alerts not only when a violation fails.

Reasons for Choosing Segment

especially for the "protocols".

July 2017

Christopher from Opendoor Labs, Inc.

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

really great, simple analytics platform

Pros

Extreme flexibility with data. because segment is just a loudspeaker for your event tracking and analytics, it can be piped to any other platform. the problem with vertically integrated analytics tools is that they create a walled garden for your data. Segment prevents your data from being hoarded by allowing you to directly pipe it into your own data warehouse, for no extra cost.

January 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Great tracking hub

Segment is great - great support & documentation. It's very reliable, covering all your third-party integrations. It saved us a lot of time and stress.

Pros

+ works like a hub (midware software) for all you tracking events/properties + reliable + great monitoring + great retry policies if destination is down + good documentation + great support

Cons

- premium features like Event segmentation only on Enterprise plan (expensive)

December 2016

Onur from DOĞAN TV HOLDİNG

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Broadcast Media

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2016

Segment.io

Segment.io is a customer data hub collecting data from various SaaS tools. You could also integrate Google Analytics and other web analytics tools. It could be also used over Google Tag Manager.

Pros

Easy to get all customer together. Enables to get to own your data in raw format Accessible via BI Tools like Tableau

Cons

Problems with mobile enviornment. Setup takes time.

November 2020

Edgar from Securly

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2020

Quick and practical ETL solution

Good experience overall. A great out of the box and flexible solution.

Pros

Easy to use and has great customer service and support.

Cons

Had to do manual re-syncs for certain formulaic fields.

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

Dynamic and simple Data integration

Pros

Segment is an amazing tool for gathering and data integration among different data sources and consumers. It allows to for easy setting up between multiple platforms with little to no code needed Good and comprehensive documentation.

Cons

The debug tools could use more features and the initial implementation requires a slight learning curve.

December 2020

Jure from Reciprocity Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Simple but powerful

Pros

Ease of use and wide varity of destinations and sources.

Cons

Somethimes it is hard to debug or know what is happening if something goes wrong.

July 2018

Jonathan from Circle with Disney

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Segment is in incredibly powerful tool that allows you to stitch your analytics together seamlessly.

Segment allowed us to bring together all of our website analytics into one central, easy-to-manage place.

Pros

Segment creates a central hub for all of your analytics calls for any website or app. Instead of having to manually configure tons of analytics JavaScript libraries that all step on each other, Segment brings them all together to one place, with one central API for your customer and analytics data.

Cons

Segment is powerful but can get expensive at scale. That being said, nothing beats its easy syntax and seamless installation. It works really well all of the time.

August 2020

Mauricio from American Dream

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

A fine tool to to manage and centralise all data

Experience is great. It helped me by saving me a lot of time. I integrated it in a React Native app and then I was able to decide where I wanted to send all collected data, forgetting about putting every connection in the code.

Pros

The ability of centralise all data in the same tool is the best. You can forget about setting so many different tracking tool and pixels in your web or app. Just by connecting it with Segment you can decide where to send that data.

Cons

Although it has pretty neat features and connections, sometimes integrations may fail for specific events. It's not a common thing but can happens. Anyways, it is fixable and worth the trouble.

November 2020

Wyatt from Go Auto

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2020

Segment works for us

Pros

We have many systems, this allowed us to finally combine all our information and use it in places like automated email. Without it our automations would not be as robust.

Cons

Always features that can be improved. Certain resolutions to bad data were a challenge to make work. Not always the product's problem, but features that would have improved the ease of use.

March 2021

Andrea from Cloudacademy

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2021

A missed opportunity

We've recently trying to adopt this tool in order to automate some internal integrations, but due to the fact that some features are strictly uncustomizable, we're decided to leave. The tool looks great at all, but can't fit all the needs

Pros

It provides full detailed documentation and a few ready SDK that helps a lot of dev to quickly implement this tool inside the platform

Cons

Custom integration or customization is really hard to do, third parties implementation sometimes lack some essential feature that would become a hard blocker during the integration

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

User Analytics ... look no further

Pros

This tool is like none other and is AMAZING...if you are struggling with what analytic tool to use...use this one to implement your events and then skip the data off to any tool with dev involvement. SWEET!!!

Cons

There aren't really any cons here...this product hits the mark in every way!

February 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Get your data synced to all your other SaaS tools

Simple data syncing

Pros

It's an invisible product that you don't interface with often, but it gets your data from one software synced to all the other ones including custom data points. Basically it's the easiest way to sync data from multiple apps and your own product/website.

Cons

None really. Some of their integrations are getting older . If you're in the enterprise, their data integrations basically only consist of BigQuery, PostgreSQL and Redshift which may be different than your existing data stack.

December 2018

User Profile Picture

Simon from House of Einstein

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Apparel & Fashion

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

The ultimate events and analytics connector tool

A good alternative to googles free tag manager.

Pros

It’s a great hub to connect all your tooling with each other and manage events and other analytics.

Cons

It’s quite expensive. And setting up things might be a bit tricky if you’re a newcomer in the world of analytics/JavaScript.

November 2020

Lynn from Jane.com

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2020

My Review

Love it!

Pros

Comprehensiveness, debugger, connectors.

Cons

Update information on creating sessions and stitching users across devices.

Reasons for Choosing Segment

Don't know

Reasons for Switching to Segment

Segment was a more viable option.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Segment - ETL for customer data collection

Pros

The number of integrations it provides both for source and destinations

Cons

very expensive for startups specially to use add on products

December 2017

User Profile Picture

Fernando from FindHotel

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

Segment.io for collect data

Pros

Centralise analytics data, both sent by client and server sides of my applications, in a unique data store. Our data science analysts can consume and work on that data easily.

Cons

There is not client server library available for Elixir or Erlang, my team need to use a third party library to communicate with Segmento.io analytics API.

November 2020

Yaniv from Wochit

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Program Development

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2020

Great service, truly valuable

We mainly use it to learn about our users' engagement with our software.

Pros

Setting new events is easy and the software is very intuitive. The real-time debugger view is super helpful during software development.

Cons

I can't extract the list of events in order to review them offline (in order to manage which to keep and which to disable).

March 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Overall, works as advertised. But expensive.

Pros

Easy to set up, saves developer time from installing 30 different libraries and maintaining those libraries.

Cons

It gets really expensive really quickly. You'll be surprised how quickly you hit your event limit often, the tradeoff means it's actually worth having some technical debt.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2019

A good tool but extremely expensive when needs are growing

Overall experience has been quite frustrating so far. Hopefully this will change as it looks like this tool has great capabilities!

Pros

It's quite easy to connect your tools together. UI is very intuitive. For a quick solution out of the box, Segment is almost perfect.

Cons

Pricing. It can get extremely expensive and extremely fast. Some basic functionalities seem to be missing (such as "select/deselect all" when choosing what to connect). Support never reached back when I contacted them... It would also be nice to be able to sync all historical data (it seems to be possible but as I mentioned before, support never reached out when I contacted them).

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

I love the simplicity and functionality of Segment

Pros

Segment has some of the strongest and most useful lists of integrations for any SaaS product. Hooking all sorts of data sources into one javascript implementation and then to channel it into your selected analytics system is an oversimplified explanation of what makes this product great.

Cons

There are some limitations that aren't on segment's side of things. Make sure you check out each integration as to how it plays with Segment - especially data sources!

February 2018

User Profile Picture

Filip from Castle Intelligence

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

All the analytics in one place

Pros

I love the concept of Segment - write data once, funnel it to multiple places for any type of analytics you might imagine. Works seamlessly. Very stable and reliable platform.

Cons

At first it can be slighlty overwhelming, but once you get a hang of it - you're not going to regret investing your time.

September 2015

Loralee from Her Portable Biz

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


September 2015

February 2020

Karuna from Brand Networks

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Ease of use and great software for marketing analytics

Segment helps us provide breakdown analysis of the users using our software using simple and highly defined charts

Pros

Good tools for creating chart diagrams, flowcharts for users

Cons

I liked everything about this software, it was also very easy to use for novice users

December 2015

Milan from TradeCore

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

December 2015

A real game changer

Introducing Segment in our business is a real game changer. We can easily outsource super complicated aspects of our business to the myriad services Segment connects us to.

Pros

Easy to setup, great customer support, excellent choice of services, simply amazing.

Cons

Renaming events once they're already sent would be an awesome feature, although I'm not quite sure if it can be done at all.

April 2018

Steve from Startup Black Belt

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Analytics plus science

Pros

It lets you track a ton of metrics, and identifies users across their lifecycle. You can actually track real metrics.

Cons

It's not perfect. You get some users that can't get matched down stream, and i still see plenty of couldn't track events.

December 2016

Thierry from OOSHOT

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Photography

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Value for money

2.0

Customer support

4.0

December 2016

Displaying 1 - 50 of 53 reviews