Accounting Seed

Accounting Seed Reviews

RATING:

4.28

(87)

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.28

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4

Value for money

4

Functionality

4

  • icon"The product is very easy to use and very customizable. It easily integrates directly with Salesforce so it feels like you are using one software rather than multiple platforms."
  • icon"The integration with SF and our TMS is great, its fantastic to have all order information linked to the accounting objects. Reporting is great as well, that is mostly a SF feature."
  • icon"Ease of use, not overly complicated. Most features are easy to find."
  • icon"Limited customisation for the developers to modify standard functionality."
  • icon"I was referred to Check21 which was ridiculously expensive. Also cash application takes too long if you have a customer that has x number of invoices."
  • icon"The inability to send ACH payments out of the box was a huge piece for us."

All Accounting Seed Reviews

1-25 of 85 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Collin

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2019

Best Accounting Software for Fast Growing SMB

We have been using Accounting Seed for a bit over a year now and our whole teams loves it!

Pros

Super easy to use and easy to customize to meet your needs

Cons

Not the easiest to transition over to and it lacks good quality consulting partners.

Response from Accounting Seed

Hi, Collin. Thank you for your awesome review of Accounting Seed! We are thrilled to hear you are finding great value in the software and that it is meeting your needs as a fast growing small business. We are always looking to improve - you mentioned there were some challenges with the transition. I would love to hear more about your experience. Please feel free to contact me at scochran@accountingseed.com to discuss in more detail or set up a phone call. Again, thank you for taking the time to review our accounting solution! I look forward to connecting. - Shannon

Replied January 2019

Andersen

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2022

HIG Capital Backing Moving Accounting Seed to the Next Level

I have been working on the Salesforce platform for 17 years and with Accounting Seed for 10 years in accounting for my Legal Funding, Real Estate Rental and Professional Services businesses. It is the ability to leverage the strength of the Salesforce platform that makes the experience strong and the HIG Capital investment and Partner environment that makes the future look stronger.

Pros

In 2021 HIG Capital made a majority investment in Accounting Seed that is moving this native Salesforce application to the next level. This investment has allowed the organization to move beyond an excellent leveraging of the Salesforce object architecture to add the competitive functionality of their more mature enterprise competitors such as Sage Intacct and Oracle Netsuite. Newly release features include Multi-Ledger Consolidation with Elimination Entries, further advancements in reporting. Focusing on the importance of the partner channel has brought much needed integration with Bill.com, Partner Portals and applications. Project Accounting is also been made stronger through a Project Management platform developed by the partner community.

Cons

The Accounting Seed Orders and Entry do not add up to the functionality required in an enterprise resource planning application. One needs to use an outside partner integrated application such as Legendary Supply Chain. The budgeting and commission functionality could still be improved although several partners are stepping up in this area as well.

Reasons for choosing Accounting Seed

The power of the Salesforce platform and the ability of Accounting Seed to leverage it

Reasons for switching to Accounting Seed

There was no CRM capability integrated with the Intuit platform and it was a step backward from QuickBooks Enterprise edition.

Danielle

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2022

Accounting Seed Review

Pros

Accounting seed is a very user friendly software

Cons

It would be nice to have the ability to have a 13th month for accounting

Reasons for switching to Accounting Seed

Better fit for our company

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2022

Pricey

Pros

Nicely formatted reports that can be customized to any needs. Customer service and on boarding was helpful and the inventory management system is very complex. Works well with Salesforce.

Cons

Very pricey system for small to mid range companies. The system can be overly complex.

Stephanie

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Government Relations

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2022

Happy Customer

Once you adapt to moving around the system, it makes getting from one area to another very easy. It has been a pleasant experience learning this system.

Pros

The ability to attach all types of documents in one place. Having a client/vendor record with all transactions and documents in one place allows for easy research and reconciliations. Being able to customize the system and made reporting more efficient. Working with customer service has been a pleasant experience.

Cons

The budgeting feature is very complex compared to other accounting software.

Peter

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2022

Serious software for any business that needs and wants a comprehensive accounting system

Very pleased with working with team at AS. I marvel at how they cross from one industry to another with skill. Insurance accounting is very different from traditional accounting systems and i am impressed with how well AS has handled learning and growing in our vertical.

Pros

One we figure out the workflows and nuances with Accountingseed (AS), it is a pleasure to work with. The speed of the software is fast and AS is on top of regular updates to add important and necessary features. We have been a user of AS now for 3 years

Cons

Updates are not always pretty and could be better tested however AS is not deaf to any problems that result from updates or patches

Reasons for switching to Accounting Seed

I needed to step away from legacy software. We were a 34 year user of Applied Systems products. Having said that, our first year (2019) was super ugly and it has taken a rather herculean effort to get things sorted but they are are now.

Shawn

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2022

Worth the money

Pros

We chose this product for it's ability to integrate with Salesforce. A few extra steps here or there, but overall it is a great product. Other products for our industry are dated and not intuitive. Accounting Seed has a great appearance and functionality.

Cons

This product is not ready for the insurance industry.

Reasons for choosing Accounting Seed

Netsuite has not plans to able to integrate with Salesforce.

Reasons for switching to Accounting Seed

Looking for a great product that works with Salesforce.

Greg

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2022

Aquatic Review

Pros

Implementation and templates provided made the process straight forward. Because it is integrated with SaleForce, we can use the data loader to accomplish mass entries as needed. The system is fairly intuitive in nature.

Cons

Our fiscal year ends in November and when we export financial reports, it always mislabels the months to a calendar year. Having to manually post transactions wastes time. There is not a lot of ability to customize financial reports. It is next to impossible to speak to someone live on the Support Team. The ability to talk to someone live about customer service and payment issues does not exist.

Reasons for choosing Accounting Seed

Was suggested by SalesForce.

Reasons for switching to Accounting Seed

We needed a piece of software that could work with SalesForce.

Lauren

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2022

Upgrading Accounting Software

By transitioning to Accounting Seed, we have been able to STOP operating in separate silos. Accounting Seed was able to marry our accounting and CRM systems perfectly. I would suggest working with a consultant(s) if you are making the switch, this helped us significantly in our transition.

Pros

As a sales organization, our business LIVES in Salesforce. As a result, we needed to make a change to our accounting software, and moving to a program that directly connected was critical. Enter: Aaccounting Seed. We finally have all of our systems talking, making the daily management of our business so much more efficient! Accounting Seed also allows for a lot of customization in setup and reporting--something we were never able to do with past accounting systems.

Cons

The only "con" we could call out if you are transitioning from another system to Accounting Seed--unless you are an expert at transitioning systems, you will want to engage with both Accounting Seed support and likely a consultant to help navigate your transition. This will save you time and money in the long run, and get you up and running faster!

Reasons for switching to Accounting Seed

To connect our accounting system to our CRM (Salesforce)

sharath Reddy

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2022

Really good for small and large Business Salesforce orgs

Pros

It is the Powerful accounting Platform, solid and easy to set up and Use for Big and small businesses

Cons

Sometimes the Support teams take usually longer time to reply to our customer issues.The Trailing modules on Accounting Education are very lengthy to learn.

Rickey

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2021

Accounting Software built into SalesForce

We needed a system that integrated with our contacts and programs. We wanted to be able to see what programs a donor had given to along with financial data for those programs. With Accounting Seed working inside SalesForce, all our data, across all departments, is in one place can easily be linked, integrated, displayed, and reported. This allows us to better serve our constituents with accurate data immediately at our fingers via desktop or mobile apps with access anywhere in the world.

Pros

Accounting Seed works splendidly inside SalesForce. You get all the advantages of a product that integrates with all your SalesForce data. No need for imports or exports. Everything is in one place. Employees learn one system and they can work all across the organization. The availability of multi-levels of security allows you to tailor applications to the appropriate person, department, or team. Internal control features and audit trails are securely automated. Backing up your data is simple with just a few clicks. Project managment allow each project to act almost like its own company and integrates well with any other Salesforce data.

Cons

I would like to see more preformatted reports. There are a few in the system but I suspect there could be more that could print directly from the system in a more presentable format. All reports can be exported to Excel. This allows those that know Excel to manipulate the data as only Excel can do. That is nice but requires extra effort to format the data.

Reasons for choosing Accounting Seed

It fully resided inside SalesForce and us to have full integration of all our data with web access.

Reasons for switching to Accounting Seed

At that time, Blackbuad was designed for an in-office server and did not work well over the internet. It was slow and was not being updated. It did not integrate with our other data. We were looking for a web-based solution that integrated all our data.

Phil

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2021

An Excellent Value Financial Solution

Overall, we have had good experiences. The package has a straightforward install (save once when we didn't have the correct release, and good to very good support. The Knowledge Base is helpful.

Pros

Having a financial solution on the Salesforce platform is a game-changer for development and implementation speed. Real-time financial information available at the Account, Opportunity, and Project record level increases the speed, accuracy, and relevance of critical business intelligence. This, in turn, translates into greater business agility while exponentially increasing confidence in the processing and assessment of business threats and opportunities.

Cons

Recently the platform and license costing has been a bit of a moving target. I have evangelized for this product and assisted several of our clients with AS implementations, and more than once we have found out significant cost impacts after the initial purchase. The bank connections have also been challenging, as while the advertised "1400" banks might sound like a lot, we have discovered the hard way that having a bank name on the list does not guarantee a connection, as each bank can have several connectors, and not all are compatible with Accounting Seed.

Reasons for choosing Accounting Seed

Perceived value.

Reasons for switching to Accounting Seed

Streamlining and optimizing processes

Sam

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2022

Great Product

overall Accounting Seed has been a great experience. I appreciate the architecture of their program as it is built a a very secure way that is intuitive.

Pros

I appreciate the free Documentation on explaining different accounting concepts. I also appreciated the original CEO's music video to help promote. We switched to Accounting Seed after having a terrible time trying to setup Sage and they made the process easy and efficient. Then we moved another company of ours to Accounting Seed which uses the ERP features which have worked well.

Cons

I don't like the process to login to the support portal and put in support tickets. You used to be able to put tickets in via email. But, they took that away. Now you have to login to the support portal, which very annoyingly does not allow you to hit enter to login. and then create a ticket. You receive email updates on tickets, but you can't reply from the email. You have to log back into the support portal for each reply. Seems to be a cheap way to reduce support tickets.

Reasons for choosing Accounting Seed

Price and ease of implementation

Reasons for switching to Accounting Seed

Cost & was not user-friendly

Donna

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Machinery

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

March 2019

Accounting Seed Opinions

Pros

Our company has a small amount of employees who all work from home. Accounting Seed is great because it allows all of us to have immediate access to the data and information at all times, and is much more powerful and customizable than QBO. And of course the integration with Salesforce goes without saying -everything is in one place. It is so simple to close an Opportunity, and create a Purchase Order and everything that follows with just a few clicks of some buttons.

Cons

Some features are very complicated and tedious to set-up and implement, like customizing Financial Reports and setting up a Budget for example. The Knowledge Base is helpful to a point, but doesn't seem straight forward at times. Also, the cost per user is too high. We are paying for the convenience of having everything in the cloud rather than the value of the actual product.

Response from Accounting Seed

Hi, Donna. Thank you so much for your review of Accounting Seed. We always appreciate the feedback from our customers. I'm glad to hear you have found value in Accounting Seed and our native connection to Salesforce. Regarding setting up budgets and customizing reports, these tasks can certainly take time. I'd be happy to connect you with a product consultant if you would like any assistance or direction. Please feel free to reach out to me at scochran@accountingseed.com or 443.825.0646. Happy to help ensure your success with Accounting Seed! Best, Shannon Cochran

Replied March 2019

Katie

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Facilities Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2022

Great software

Our accounts receivable and payable tasks are much easier since changing to Accounting Seed. Our reporting capabilities are much improved over our previous software.

Pros

This software has very robust capabilities. It's good for businesses that have complex operations. It works very seamlessly with Salesforce.

Cons

Their customer support could be better. I wish I had a dedicated point of contact when I have questions. I also wish I could pick up the phone and talk to a person instead of having to create a case and wait to get emailed back days later.

Reasons for choosing Accounting Seed

We chose Accounting Seed because of its integration with Salesforce.

Reasons for switching to Accounting Seed

Quickbooks was not advanced enough to handle a business of our complexity and size.

Justin

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE