Airbase

Airbase Reviews

RATING:

4.96

(47)

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.96

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

5

Customer Support

5

Value for money

5

Functionality

5

  • icon"Very easy to use and track expenses. The user interface is simple and effective, unlike other relative companies."
  • icon"Fast and meaningful product improvements and great UI/UX. Early access to beta features on request (such as receipt audits, advanced approvals)."
  • icon"It is has saved us so much time from a reconciliation standpoint. Our employees love the virtual card functionality and ease of approvals."
  • icon"It would be nice if we can get a warning when we're low on funds, so we can plan accordingly instead of having to deal with declined charges until the next business day."
  • icon"That is the only thing that is missing vs. issuing traditional corporate cards."
  • icon"Virtual cards are only available via the desktop portal. Limited controls on app."

All Airbase Reviews

1-25 of 47 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Dmitri

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2020

Best AP solution for SMB to MidSize businesses

From start to end we had an amazing experience with the sales process, implementation and daily operations. Highly recommend!

Pros

The best thing about Airbase are not the constant flow of features, the insanely fast support team or even the ease of deployment. The best thing is the architecture for approval flows and how the product team pays very close attention to customer needs. The approval flows are setup in such ways as to allow each team to be fully automated in their approval flows and forbids circumvention of controls, thus allowing us a very high level of confidence that each person is accountable for their purchases.

Cons

I highly recommend Airbase, however, this is a new product and I also recommend spending a lot of time analyzing each nuance of your AP process needs before moving forward as not all features are immediately available. At the time of writing this review, international payments are not yet ready but Airbase has communicated their roadmap and we know exactly when this will be rolled out. The minor drawbacks have not impacted our improvements in performance, quality, and stability of accounting controls or slowed us down at all.

Reasons for switching to Airbase

Bill.com is knows for its sync issues and weak approval flows. Airbase not only fixes both but also gives you tools to validate everything through reporting and flows that are flexible but reliable.

Joe

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2021

Essential Tool in Modern Finance Tech Stack

The overall user experience is excellent. Airbase helps Welkin improve accounting accuracy with fewer reclasses and supports a much faster monthly closing process. Time savings come also from the vendor self-onboarding process, which allows to save key documents such as W9/W-8BEN and contracts. Real-time spending monitoring also allows department owners to check on their spending without finance/accounting support.

Pros

- Automatic bill coding with OCR (time savings). - Automatic credit card coding with receipt management function. - Excellent onboarding and implementation team. - Fast responsive customer support team. - Airbase improves features based on customer feedback. - Fast and meaningful product improvements and great UI/UX. - Early access to beta features on request (such as receipt audits, advanced approvals).

Cons

- Airbase lacks a few features to replace some other tools effectively (e.g. Expensify). - Annual fee could be lower or cashback on credit cards higher. - International payments still not supported as of early Feb.2021

Reasons for choosing Airbase

In our vendor evaluation in 2019 Airbase received high scores for key features such as automated accounting procedures (bill coding, credit card coding/approval processes), receipt compliance, vendor self-onboarding, and departmental spending monitoring/reporting). While Brex offered the biggest credit (one-time $5K AWS) and slightly larger cashback reward program (recurring), Airbase offered overall more time savings for the accounting/finance team.

Reasons for switching to Airbase

- Improved accounting accuracy with fewer reclasses. - Faster monthly accounting closing process. - Vendor payments and onboarding through automation. - Efficient year-end receipt compliance audit. - Real-time expense reporting / monitoring by department. - Better UI/UX experience for the accounting team.

Sean

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

July 2021

Bill pay only

Airbase has been responsive and helpful with all issues we've encountered. It took a decent amount of time to set up bill pay and we've misstated our GL multiple times due to lack of understanding of how the product functions. However, we are happy with the product and have recognized significant efficiencies compared to our historic manual processing.

Pros

This software makes it simple and efficient to aggregate, prepare, review, and pay invoices. It has significantly reduced the time to process AP via its clean workflow and automatic timed payments after approvals are completed.

Cons

There are some idiosyncrasies in this product that take time and effort to understand. Unfortunately, our trial and error learnings have resulted in multiple GL misstatements; one of which resulted in an error identified by auditors. For example, when an invoice gets changed/updated by the Vendor the AP processor has an opportunity to "archive" the bill in Airbase. This action does nothing to your GL so any new invoice will be double-counted. I also wish there was a way to remind approvers more frequently. Bill are most often late due to delayed approvals.

Sheng

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2021

Airbase ease of use

Overall the experience has been wonderful, we are able to close more accurately and timely due to using airbase. There's no longer a struggle trying to determine what the spend is on various cards as they all have been categorized previously. Although initial setup may take longer it is well worth the accuracy.

Pros

The best part of airbase is that it easily integrates with QBO. This allows me to setup prepaid on Airbase that automatically set up to sync to QBO for a monthly close. Cards are automatically set up to charge a certain GL code, rendering it unnecessary to go back monthly to determine what the spend was and where to charge it.

Cons

When making some entries, it does not use a new naming convention and would use the most recent journal entry naming convention to make the the journal entry title. This can lead to bit of confusion.

Reasons for switching to Airbase

We wanted more accuracy and timeliness as well as an all in one product

Desene

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2021

Airbase has transformed our AP process!

Airbase solved our messy credit card reconciliation problems and has given us pre approvals and real time insight into all spend as it occurs. As an accounting team we don't feel like we are playing catch up at the end of the month.

Pros

We use the virtual cards, physical cards, POs, and bills/bill payments. Each area works perfectly and syncs directly to our ERP, Netsuite. It is has saved us so much time from a reconciliation standpoint. Our employees love the virtual card functionality and ease of approvals.

Cons

My only dislike is that they don't have Expense Reimbursements up and running. As a finance team we are looking forward to the day when we can have this in Airbase as well.

Reasons for choosing Airbase

Price point, functionality, and ease of implementation.

Reasons for switching to Airbase

Needed an all in one AP solution for credit cards, vendor payments, and POs.

Arianna

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2021

A necessary system for scaling company

We added more control to our expenses, more visibility and improvement on the monthly closing timing.

Pros

When a startup goes above 100 people, you need a spend management software. Airbase has tons of features, the implementation is easy and their product team always strive for continuous improvement.

Cons

I think it's on the right path, however some tool for reconciliation is missing when it comes to check that all the prepaid accounts are cleared and booked and that amortization expense is correct.

Reasons for choosing Airbase

The cash back cancels the price of the product and they are doing an amazing work on adding the features we need. Thank you!

Reasons for switching to Airbase

To have am all in one system that could include approvals workflow.

Steve

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2021

Great All-around solution

Pros

Ease of use and overall beautiful UI / UX for a complex product.

Cons

Lack of international payments will be nice at some point. I was excited when they launched employee reimbursements.

Reasons for switching to Airbase

Wanted an all in one solution, that had easy integration to ERPs, spend control across the organization, and visibility into spend.

Andy

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2021

Easy tool to simplify and unify multiple tools

Pros

Airbase has been very useful for my team in terms of consolidating our company cards, bill payments, and expense reports/reimbursements. The support team has also been super responsive and helpful.

Cons

One product nitpick is that I sometimes have a hard time finding certain bills or payments because they filter by state, and I don't know before-hand what state the bill or payment is in.

Reasons for switching to Airbase

Brex was pretty awful. Support was nonexistent, and the product was hard to use.

Kyle

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2022

Works great for my team — requesting and spending money has become easy and streamlined

Overall, Airbase has been easy to learn and easy to use! As a user (non-administrator) I have found it very straight forward for the things I need to use it for. I love that it has simplified communication and spending requests (and approval of requests) between myself and our finance department.

Pros

The ability to request and review/track multiple budgets (via virtual cards) has been a game changer for us. What used to be a more complicated process with hard-to-track communication (using other internal messaging tools )is now so easy and requires less back and forth comms with our finance department. Requesting reimbursement for out of pocket spending is easy and streamlined as well. We also work with many outside vendors, and I am able to review and approve of invoices through Airbase. Everything is easily assigned to the right people and easy to track. I am looking forward to continuing to use the product as we grow as a company!

Cons

It is somewhat challenging to attach receipts to expenses. By that I mean that I get an email stating that I have an expense that needs a receipt. That part works great. But then finding the exact expense that needs the receipt, and the location where I can upload the receipt within the Airbase UI could use some improvement. It is not as intuitive as I hope and expect. However, this is a small issue for a product that otherwise works really great!

Tarcys

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2022

Airbase is a great software for all companies sizes! I

Very simple, helpful and efficient! that's how any software should be!

Pros

One of the good things about having Airbase is that you can keep track of all the expenses and make sure everything is processed and paid correctly. You can make a different virtual card for other vendors is fantastic.

Cons

I like pretty much everything about Airbase.

Josephine

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2021

Best platform I have signed us up for!

Airbase has been a pleasure to work with from the start. Even the sales part didn't feel... well.. salesy! The onboarding was exceptional. We were assigned an onboarding support specialist who literally walked us through every step of using Airbase over 3-4 training sessions. There wasn't a thing left out and after each session I was sent away with 'homework' to ensure that each stage of setting up Airbase and integrating it with our accounting platform was done correctly. We have now been using it for about 6 months and the customer service continues to be excellent. Despite the fact that it is a general support request, it is always the same support specialist that returns an answer (and usually within a couple of hours). Our team have all had a really positive response to adopting airbase. It has given them the autonomy to spend as they require, but still kept the ultimate control over spending within our finance function for the organization. Prior to Airbase, we used to spend hours trying to reconcile spending at the end of each month! It has also meant that we pay our vendors immediately because the process of inputing a bill and making a payment is so quick and easy.

Pros

I love the user experience on this platform. Everything about it is just intuitive and well thought out. It makes processing purchasing requests a really seamless experience and has saved us hours of work at the month end. Since adopting Airbase as our platform for spend management, we have been able to take everything back in house, have much more control over our spend, receipts and reporting, and have cut our bookkeeping costs by 90%

Cons

I honestly can't think of any downsides to Airbase. Really! It's saved is tons of time, money and headaches.

Kenny

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2019

Airbase makes managing spend a breeze

* It's been a life-saver on the finance side. I've been able to automate all of our spend and everything from recurring software to one-off employee requests get routed through Airbase. Really easy to administer and employees needed no training.

Pros

* Helped me streamline the entire spend process at Coda.io - I route most expenses through the platform - everything from software to travel to one-off expenditures. * Incredibly easy to use - I have never trained an employee on how to use Airbase. They log in, and it's clear what they should do. * It creates tremendous peace of mind on spend - I don't worry about vendors charging us more than they should, people buying software they don't need, and card numbers getting stolen. * Visibility - It's easy to know what has already been purchased, who purchased it, and how much are we spending. * Keeps getting better - Airbase started with just digital credit cards but the tool is quickly replacing all types of spend management software internally.

Cons

* Mobile app still catching up to web app, but moving quickly. * Manually moving over old spend into Airbase by switching credit cards with vendors was tedious, but a worthwhile one-time investment, and Airbase did a lot to make it as painless as possible (found all the vendors for us that we needed to update)

Drew

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2021

Hyper-granular control, finally...without being "that account person bugging people"

Pros

- Hyper-granular control of expenses. Instead of managing limits and checking expenses on corporate cards, each approved expense request receives a single virtual credit card number (managed by accounting) for that specific vendor an expense (one-time or recurring) - Flexible approval workflows

Cons

- Lack of integration with budgeting. Approval workflows should show managers how any discrete approval affects their department budget.

Vivien

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2021

Awesome product!!

Pros

The number one thing I love about Airbase is their ease of use. I particularly love their reporting and tracking features because we're able to view our spend on a general or granular view. We're currently syncing our Airbase transactions with QuickBooks and it has been super seamless to use. We're able to change our GL codes easily before syncing, which is great. Their customer service team is always very responsive and helpful. They will work with you to get anything and everything resolved in a timely manner.

Cons

They only notify you when you run out of funds. This causes inconveniences when we get notified really late in the day because our funds will not get transferred into our account until the next business day. It would be nice if we can get a warning when we're low on funds, so we can plan accordingly instead of having to deal with declined charges until the next business day

Sabrina

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2020

It's very good

While the system is good I actually appreciate the customer support the people are Airbase are very personable and friendly.

Pros

The software is easy to use and navigate, it also helps that the design of the site is pleasing to the eye and doesn't cause confusion or looks to crammed full of features, its formatted in just the right way.

Cons

The only issue if that, is that I keep forgetting to go in and make payments in the bill payment section once its been authorized I also keep forgetting though its simple enough what tab i need to go into in order to release the payments - would be nice if they payment was auto processed once authorized unless a specific date was noted for payments to go out.

Reasons for choosing Airbase

Airbase was being used when i joined the company and we have just renewed for the second year as there are more features being added that would benefit our companies needs and its integration with other finance systems is a great help (even if I do personally sometimes botch things up the support is always there)

Khanh

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY