GigaTrak Asset Tracking System

GigaTrak Asset Tracking System Reviews

RATING:

4.52

(50)

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.52

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4

  • icon"It is easy to use and easy to customize. The price was right for our small organization."
  • icon"We are very happy with our Gigatools program, it has been a great asset to this business."
  • icon"The ability to process check outs and check ins quickly and reliably."
  • icon"There is no where in the software to input a location within your tool room location."
  • icon"Have not used yet to have a good or bad statement."
  • icon"It can be confusing when first getting started knowing how to catalog items."

Browse all GigaTrak Asset Tracking System Reviews

  • Have you used GigaTrak Asset Tracking System and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 50 reviews

Kyle

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2019

Changed the way we take inventory

Again, the savings in time and money as well as increased accuracy were substantial.

Pros

The GigaTrak system dramatically changed how we handle inventory, the accuracy of our inventory numbers, and the amount of time/labor hours spent taking inventory. Once the system is set up and bar codes are established, we had an up to the minute count on all of our materials and information about who checked them out.

Cons

It was a little cumbersome to set up, but that was purely because of how our previous system was organized. Once that was handled, it worked seemlessly.

Response from GigaTrak

Thank you for your feedback and being a long-time customer! We are so happy the system accomplishes your needs while saving money! We are here to help if you need anything!

Replied August 2019

Lauren

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Defense & Space

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2019

Great Product for Basic Inventory Management

I have a database for all my inventory with a history. Previously we were using Excel to track and manage over 4000 pieces of equipment and it was not a realistic tool for that. Gigatrak has streamlined our property management process and provided us with much more reliable data.

Pros

This software is very user friendly. There is the ability to easily customize a few fields which is nice. I can export reports into a CSV easily and modify them in Excel.

Cons

We have the Asset Tracker tool and the "inventory" feature on the tool needs lot of work. I need to inventory all of my items once a year and the way it is currently set up makes that task very difficult. You also cannot change much of the item's information from the handheld during an inventory which is a problem. You also can not enter a new item using the handheld, which other software products allow you to do.

Reasons for choosing GigaTrak Asset Tracking System

We felt that Gigatrak was the most user friendly platform that would give us the most of what we needed.

Response from GigaTrak

Thanks for your input Lauren! We truly appreciate hearing from our customers on ways to better our product! Right now, our Tool Tracking system does allow you to add in brand new assets on the mobile app. If you are interested in learning more about it, please feel free to reach out to sales@gigatrak.com.

Replied August 2019

Ken

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Environmental Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

October 2018

Gigatrak review

Pros

It provides a robust platform for inventory and equipment management.

Cons

The limit of scalability and customization.

Michael

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2019

Does just what we wanted

The search for a program to use as a lending library was exhaustive and felt like it would never end, until I found Giga Track. The install was easy, adding and tracking items was a piece of cake, and getting a custom form was as simple as asking for it. We like the program very much.

Pros

I like the ease of use. It made our transition from paper to electronic track of our hand held radios flawless.

Cons

Licensing. We will have to buy a very expensive upgrade just to be able to remove items from our database.

Reasons for choosing GigaTrak Asset Tracking System

Easy of use, and the ability to test the product before the purchase.

Response from GigaTrak

Hi Michael! Feel free to contact support@gigatrak.com regarding removing items from your database. This feature is available with all editions of our software and does not require any additional licensing, upgrade or support!

Replied August 2019

Gary

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2019

Quality product easy to learn and implement

Pros

product was easy to implement and easy to learn, it was adaptable to our needs

Cons

do not really have any cons yet the product has done everything I needed.

Reasons for choosing GigaTrak Asset Tracking System

customer support was and is great resolved any question I have had, and comfortable sales staff knowledgeable about the product was able to help me relate it to our needs and suggest better ways of use.

Response from GigaTrak

Thanks for the feedback Gary! We are here to help if you need anything!

Replied August 2019

Greg

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2019

Gigatrak

The sales team and support services are amazing to deal with. I am new to software like this so it was a lot to get used to and to set up.

Pros

The Gigatrak software allows me to keep inventory of all the tools/consumables in our tool room. It has placed not only the students but also the instructors accountable for all tools checked out that day. Before Gigatrak we used a "pen to paper" method of checking tools out. While this method worked, it was quite tedious was often forgot about by staff. Gigatrak has made staff more aware that an inventory control system is in place, and not only that it must be used, but that it is easy to use!

Cons

It is quite hard within the Gigatrak software to give an exact location to an item with a room. We also purchased the Dolphin 60s scanner. I feel that this scanner is very hard to use and is not worth the money spent. A cordless scanner and using the software directly on the computer is much easier.

Reasons for choosing GigaTrak Asset Tracking System

Price-Point, Advertised as a better product

Response from GigaTrak

Thank you for your input Greg! Keeping people accountable for their assets is essential in any business. You can also track down an asset to a specific location within a room by getting more specific in your location structuring throughout the system. With unlimited locations, you can add in as many as you would like. We also now offer a downloadable mobile app for your Asset Tracking System. This way, you can use your own device such as a phone or tablet to do transactions eliminating the need to buy a handheld scanner. Feel free to reach out to sales@gigatrak.com for a free trial!

Replied August 2019

Tammy

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2019

Great Value with Intuitive Framework

We are a one to one district with thousands of devices in the hands of students and staff. GigaTrak has allowed us to document the movement of devices between individuals and any required maintenance that may necessary. It has created accountability with the end user as well. GigaTrak is used at the beginning and end of the year for device roll-out and intake. With the use of GigaTrak, we have refined this process so that it is accurate and expedient. Love the software!!

Pros

This software has been so easy to use and intuitive. There are so many options for customizing to fit your organizations needs and when we did need custom programming, it was affordable and finished in a timely fashion. We researched several options and this one definitely stood out and was the most affordable. We also love the ability to run customized reports, upload large groups of data, and the many ways you can search for information. Because there are Categories, we not only track technology, but some of our other departments items such as uniforms and tools. Also love the "bin item" feature for the consumables that won't be assigned individual asset tags.

Cons

We are tracking inventory based on Asset Tag numbers. It would be nice if all search result screens included the asset tag. Often we see the system assigned barcode and then have to enter that in the asset search field to identify the asset tag. Since these items are already linked, it would be nice to have the search result screen populate the asset tag number.

Response from GigaTrak

Thanks for the review Tammy! We love that you love the software and we love having you as a customer!

Replied August 2019

Jeanie

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2019

GigaTrak Review

I am greatly pleased with GigaTrak. Not only the program itself but with the support and customer service. They are continually updating and growing which keeps the program matching our needs as we grow.

Pros

This program is one of the easiest programs to use that I have had experience with. It has helped our school district tremendously in maintaining better inventory records.

Cons

My only dislike is that the program seems to be more " GigaTrak barcode" driven and we inventory using our own asset tags/numbers. So when trying to search for a device in some reports our asset number will not flow through, only the GigaTrak barcode number will show. So it requires more work on our end.

Response from GigaTrak

Appreciate the feedback Jeanie! We do rely heavlily on barcode as the unique identifier for an asset. We do allow customers to check out/in an asset with either barcode or asset number! We can also create custom reports for you that can include the information you are looking for. Feel free to reach out to sales@gigatrak.com for a quote!

Replied August 2019

Drew

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Banking

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2019

Very Useful Product

For the most part it has been a really good experience. The more I use it the more I realize as to what it does. I really like all the different reports you can generate also.

Pros

I like how you can assign an asset to an individual and then keep track of the history of that asset as to who used it last. I also like how you can look each individual asses up by the asset number assigned to it.

Cons

I wish there was a mobile app I could use to scan the asset bar code so I didn't have to run back and forth to the computer to enter an asset's number. We bought a scanner but hardly ever use it. I typically open the note app on my iphone and keep track of what asset numbers need to be assigned to different users. It would save so much time if there was an app I could use to scan the bar codes of the assets.

Response from GigaTrak

Hey Drew! We now have a mobile app available for our Asset Tracking System that can accomplish just what you are looking for! Feel free to reach out to sales@gigatrak.com to learn more about it!

Replied August 2019

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

May 2019

Not quite good enough

Pros

This is average inventory tracking software, it print barcodes, and comes with a portable scanner for auditing inventory.

Cons

It doesn't work right often enough that it's frustrating. Reports don't work and cause crashes, there are better products on the market now that use apps on smart devices.

Response from GigaTrak

Sorry that you are running into issues! Reports should never be crashing and you may be missing an important file in your registry. We also offer a downloadable mobile app for both our self-hosted solutions and cloud-hosted solutions so that you can use your own devices! Please contact support@gigatrak.com so we can figure out the next steps in getting your system running correctly!

Replied August 2019

Gabriel

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Warehousing

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

May 2019

Order from Chaos

Gigatrak allows us to keep accurate update records on the go in a very fast paced and unpredictable environment.

Pros

extremely versatile, we use Gigatrak for both our package and asset tracking needs. The programs allow great flexibility in how and when we we input information. With the dolphin mobile scanners we can effectively keep accurate track of everything coming in and going out across two campuses. All that information is easily retrievable by anyone, anywhere which makes our daily workload much more organized and efficient.

Cons

so far i haven't found a way to record notes upon delivery with the dolphin mobile scanner. We can take notes while receiving an item but not on delivery. re-scanning as a second receipt with notes and then delivery is a somewhat bulky process I still have some configuring to do. Sometimes while scanning in packages the notes feature will activate and you end up scanning the following tracking number into the notes instead of scanning as package.

Response from GigaTrak

Thank you for your feedback! We are always updating our tracking systems to be more versatile with customer needs! I will add your "delivery notes" as a request feature for our Package Tracking System.

Replied August 2019

Maria

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2019

My Experience with GigaTrak

Pros

What I like the most about this software is that it is very easy to understand, and to follow thru. The assets are easy to find with all the many search criteria that it has. I like the reports, and the ability to add more than one picture or document to each asset.

Cons

What I like the least about this software, is that every time that I search a bar code list for a location the order of the assets is different every time. It would be better if the order would always pull up by the smallest number to biggest number. Another thing would be good to have is the picture of the asset printed on the "print bar code list."

Response from GigaTrak

Thanks for the feedback Maria! We provide many different fields that allow you to track very detailed information about an asset and search by that criteria. When searching for an asset using filters on the F1 tab, you can easily sort by barcode by clicking on the Barcode column header. This setting will save for your next search. Also, we are always adding feature requests to the system so I will be sure to put down adding a picture to the barcode list! Thanks for being a GigaTrak user!

Replied August 2019

Lola

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2019

Gigatrak for Charter Schools

Gigatrak has been a super helpful tool in tracking and inventory of all the valuable assets we as a charter school purchase as resources for our daily success.

Pros

This program is super user friendly and the customer service is prompt and effective.

Cons

The only thing I do not like is the fact that once an asset is marked as consumable it can not be change back to non-consumable.

Response from GigaTrak

Thanks Lola! The ease of use for our customers is our number one priority. Unfortunately, because of how consumables are tracked in the system and "consumed" once checked out, we cannot easily switch them to an individually barcoded asset. However, the copy function can be used to quickly create a new asset when needed!

Replied August 2019

Lisa

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2019

Easy to use system, great value!

GigaTrak is an exceptional company to work with. Their employees are very knowledgeable and they have a resolution to any kind of problem you may experience within 24 hours.

Pros

The software is easy to use, easy to customize, and does everything we wanted it to do. The reports are easy to read and with 8,000+ items, it has not slowed down.

Cons

The setup process was tedious, but this was not the software's fault. It's typical to spend a lot of time setting up a brand new inventory system.

Reasons for choosing GigaTrak Asset Tracking System

GigaTrak does not come with annual fees or subscription fees. There is an optional annual support fee for access to their customer service line but even that is minimal compared to some of the other software we were looking at.

Response from GigaTrak

Thanks so much Lisa! Implementing a new system can be a daunting task and we strive to make this process as easy as possible for our customers by providing exceptional customer service when needed. Please let us know if we can assist with anything moving forward!

Replied August 2019

Joe

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Broadcast Media

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2019

GigaTrak Overview

Our media library houses thousands and thousands of broadcast tapes and drives. The older library system was archaic and GigaTrak helped resolve the challenges we encountered and is still working fine after 9-years of usage.

Pros

Easy use and quick to comprehend for newer users.

Cons

The earlier versions of the software were not as user friendly but changes were made that catered more to our type of business (see below)

Response from GigaTrak

Thanks for being a valued customer! We are always working to better our product and add feature updates as our customers needs change. We appreciate your feedback!

Replied August 2019

Peter

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2019

Excellent Inventory System

We keep tack of all IT hardware. Can easily find who has certain equipment and when some equipment come out of warranty.

Pros

Can easily keep track of our inventory and who is assigned to the equipment. Able to keep notes on what was done to equipment over time.

Cons

The only issue is that conversion from our WASP inventory system to Gigatrak was not an exact conversion. Had to manually make some changes to database.

Response from GigaTrak

We appreciate the feedback Peter! Unfortunately, data conversion isn't an exact science when switching systems but we do our best by providing import templates to our customers. If you need any help, feel free to reach out to support@gigatrak.com.

Replied August 2019

Jennifer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT