Axiom Software

Axiom Software Reviews

RATING:

4.21

(29)

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.21

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

3.5

Value for money

4

Functionality

4

  • icon"When we switched our bank to Axiom for Budgeting and Profitability the integration into our current processes was easy."
  • icon"Easy creation of Plan Files. Nice flexibility with security."
  • icon"Ease of basic use, based on excel software. When developed properly it's a great product."
  • icon"We have to pay for additional customizations that are not out of the box functionality and when an upgrade happens, a lot of the customizations go away."
  • icon"It can be slow when querying larges amounts of data. Not sure there is a lot of software out there that isn't slow in this setting, however."
  • icon"The only limitation that we have seen so far and were able to bypass it through the customization within AXIOM is the Cash Flow engine."

Browse all Axiom Software Reviews

  • Have you used Axiom Software and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 29 reviews

JOdy

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2021

Very Flexible and Custom

The implementation was top notch and the annual conferences add a ton of value. The only improvement that needs to happen is on the Support side. The Support team is great and extremely knowledgeable and solves the issues, the problem is getting a hold of someone. They force you to send an email or a chat, but the chat is a bot. The response times are usually hours if not days, but again, once we get someone to answer our question, they always resolve the issue and are extremely helpful.

Pros

We have been able to decrease our Budget Cycle time with the use of AXIOM by almost 75% compared to our previous software. AXIOM has so much flexibility and customization that allows users to create custom reports and Budget plan files based on the exact needs of the bank.

Cons

The only limitation that we have seen so far and were able to bypass it through the customization within AXIOM is the Cash Flow engine. As we would expect , the results from the AXIOM Cash Flow engine vs the ALM software are very different and meaningful material variances that we do not feel comfortable running it for Planning.

Reasons for switching to Axiom Software

Lack of flexibility and long Budget Cycle Times due to the limitations of the software.

Mark

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Banking

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2021

Great product but awful support

I get the sense that financial institutions have taken a distant back seat to health care clients. Syntellis discusses having 3 main verticals: financial institutions, health care, and higher education. However, the years of Kaufman Hall ownership clearly solidified health care as their main vertical, and consequently, most of their support resources are allocated to health care clients. I miss the days when financial institution clients were cared for and treated well.

Pros

It's intuitive for Excel users since Excel sits behind the product. It's a powerful software that satisfies our needs in financial reporting, budgeting, forecasting, profitability reporting, incentive compensation, loan pricing, risk-adjusted capital allocation, etc. I feel like the cost has been well worth the output and information gained.

Cons

When we partnered with Axiom EPM in late 2012, their support was incredible. We would often have our issues resolved within an hour. Now it takes several days, on average, for resolution. I submitted an urgent support ticket earlier in the week. 3 full business days have passed without assignment (I can see the current status in the customer portal). I've complained to them about their support for a few years now, including a 30 minute conversation with their previous [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] last year. They kept saying that they're working to improve support, but this week is evidence that there are still major problems, especially when it comes to supporting financial institution clients.

Reasons for choosing Axiom Software

We saw Axiom as a superior and intuitive product having individuals there with deep knowledge of the needs of financial institutions. Their support was phenomenal (off the charts). They were actually supporting our previous vendor's product for free since many of them moved companies. Their support was a main reason we had confidence in them. Unfortunately, all of the original individuals with many years of banking experience are no longer there. It's a very different company today than the one we signed up with in 2012.

Reasons for switching to Axiom Software

The previous EPM was going to no longer be supported. We also wanted to add profitability reporting.

Response from Syntellis Performance Solutions

Hello Mark, Thank you for your feedback. While we're glad that you're pleased with the quality and functionality of Axiom Software, we regret that you have not had as positive of a support experience. Our team has time set up with you to discuss this further and we're confident that we can resolve the issue. We are committed to providing the best experience to all of our clients, regardless of industry, and look forward to providing you and your team with an elevated level of support that meets your expectations, and ours. Thank you, The Syntellis Team

Replied August 2021

Christopher

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

June 2021

Axiom Budget System Review

Pros

- Ease of use via more intuitive GUI, logical queries that follow SQL and mathematical operator logic. - Flexibility in report building

Cons

- Inconsistent quality, consistent glitches and bugs in the software - Customer support is not knowledgeable and often takes weeks to return requests for help.

Reasons for switching to Axiom Software

Greater flexibility and lower learning curve for end user deployment

Sarah

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2021

Solid all-around product

Overall our experience with Axiom Software has been a positive one. I can't really imagine another software accomplishing everything to the same degree and allowing our organization the same workflows & user capabilities that we have today.

Pros

Axiom sent out a representative to be with our organization on site during implementation which helped us tremendously. We've never felt like we've been lacking customer support when software issues have arisen, and there is a lot of learning material available to let users become comfortable using the product quickly. I'm able to complete the majority of my work using the single platform which makes things a lot easier on users.

Cons

There always seems to be some bugs around software-update time which can cause some work-stoppage issues, but if you plan for updates it's nothing catastrophic. The forecasting features seem a little inferior compared to budgeting, but that could also be due to forecasting being such a new concept.

Dave

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2021

Great for Budgeting & Reporting

Pros

My most valued component of the software is the reporting capability. They have hundreds of standard reports but we more often build an use our own custom reports. We run multiple reports at the department, entity, regional, and consolidated level. Axiom allows you to process them all in a batch with a single click and they are packaged and delivered.

Cons

Over the years the product has grown significantly in it's capability and complexity. To be an expert takes a lot of time and some of the functionality could probably be designed in an easier to use fashion. Online documentation is available, but doesn't always answer your questions. Support is primarily done by email which isn't always the most effective like the old days of picking up the phone.

Claire

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Banking

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2021

Insight Into Profitability Like No Other

Pros

When we switched our bank to Axiom for Budgeting and Profitability the integration into our current processes was easy. Axiom allows you to do so much more with profitability. The Customer and Product profitability allows great insight to what we are currently doing that is profitable and what we need to do better.

Cons

The initial setup is a lot, but do not be discouraged because the support are amazing and they help you the entire way.

Sean

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2021

Excellent Excel based Application!

Pros

I like how this software has an Excel based version which is easily understood if you are a proficient excel user. This allows the software to be simplistic enough for most business people's daily use but also has the capability to be very customizable and technical when needed. My favorite thing is the excel based report writing. It allows for dynamic reports that update automatically and can be fully automated with the scheduler.

Cons

In the capital planning and capital tracking modules web application it doesn't allow you to open attachments in another window, you must duplicate the tab in your web browser and then open to attachment if you want to see both at the same time to confirm quotes to what has been entered in the request.

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2021

Axiom is the future for Higher Ed budgeting

Overall, my experience with Axiom has been very positive. Because of how managing and reporting on data is handled, it makes it very direct and simple to implement improvements and new ideas within the system. I have expanded the existing functionality with only a 2 person team while maintaining the Axiom system for our entire campus.

Pros

The ability to consolidate and deconstruct budgeting data for reporting purposes and individual analysis.

Cons

The Excel client can be sluggish at times.

Reasons for choosing Axiom Software

Price, feature set, vision with regards to budgeting, and admin ease of use.

Reasons for switching to Axiom Software

Axiom was simpler better in terms of configurability, user ease of use, and idea to implementation when it comes to reporting, process handling, and data management.

Ben

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

June 2021

Axiom Review

Pros

The best aspect to Axiom is how customizable it is. Axiom has the ability for administrators to completely customize report writing, dashboard creation, scheduling imports/exports, and add custom tables. This allows the solution to be specifically tailored to meet each client's business needs.

Cons

Axiom does not have a great set of standard or canned reports/dashboards. Most need to be created or tailored by the client, so there is a good amount of time and work needed by the client to get to where they would like post-implementation. Additionally, the multiple unique user interfaces create confusion among users.

Maria

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

2

June 2021

Axiom has its pros and cons

The people we work with are great and knowledgeable. I just wish the software has more standard functionalities.

Pros

The ability to create and customize the look and feel of the report is generally pretty easy compared to other report writers.

Cons

We have to pay for additional customizations that are not out of the box functionality and when an upgrade happens, a lot of the customizations go away.

Timothy

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2021

Axiom Review

Pros

Axiom is great for being able to pull the data that is needed and consolidate it for our organization easily. We're able to run ad-hoc data pulls and design detailed reports to pull everything together.

Cons

To build complex reporting in the system the individual does have to be fairly knowledgeable with the application; however, the report writing tools have been improving to allow a layperson to be able to create more complex reports.

Jasen

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Banking

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2021

Axiom Software Review

The tool has been great for automating reports thus cutting down on creating reports manually. The budget process also was much more simplistic even with greater amounts of detail..

Pros

The consolidation process runs smoothly and is fully automated. It also has functionality for the banking industry that includes FTP and RAROC.

Cons

Still needs work on dashboard functionality and ability to model information using R or a similar modeling language.

Reasons for switching to Axiom Software

Needed a more robust budgeting tool and wanted to be able to use FTP and allocations

Sandra

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2021

Learning curve but worth it

We really like Axiom Software. It has been over five years since we have had it and are able to automate a lot of manual processes and reports.

Pros

Once understood, it is pretty easy to use. You can also customize it to pretty much any type of data you want to bring in

Cons

There is a learning curve with setting up queries. Support could also be better.

Masen

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2021

UCCU Review

We have been pleased with almost everything.

Pros

I enjoy the large capabilities that exist through it. Our last software was very limited, so it has been great to have all those limits removed for our business now.

Cons

The web dashboard builder has been very difficult to learn how to build reports from, and I haven't found many training videos or classes to help me learn more.

Reasons for switching to Axiom Software

It was a legacy system that we had outgrown

Fred

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2021

Axiom evaluation

Relatively east to report, budget &forcast for our entire system.

Pros

User friendly, integration, excel based, report modification.

Cons

Not a fan of Window's client for administrators accessing the budget flan files

Reasons for choosing Axiom Software

Been using Axiom for some time, Kaufman Hall before that.

Thomas

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2021

Powerful Software

Pros

The Syntellis is flexible and allows for customization. Their software support team is prompt and courteous

Cons

It can be slow when querying larges amounts of data. Not sure there is a lot of software out there that isn't slow in this setting, however.

Edelmira

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2021

Axiom Pros/Cons

Excellent tool to analyze and combine data from different prospective. Easy to create new functionalities and scalability

Pros

Excel base. Easy to use. Easy to develop. Scalability. Easy navigation. Data Availability

Cons

Not friendly report creation / Dashboards. Slow dashboards

Kyle

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE