User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(5)

5

4 stars

(5)

5

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse BlackLine Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -39 of 11 results

February 2019

User Profile Picture

Balázs from Norsk Hydro

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Mining & Metals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Good tool for account reconciliation in a GBS center

We started using it to replace our old client-server based software to support the month-end GL reconciliation process for various entities in our global company.

Pros

Due to the cloud technology it is available from anywhere. It could be really useful if you should manage GL reconciliation for many entities with different ERPs (it was our case) Easy to use interfaces, very good support. Can support the internal or external audit procedure and can reduce its cost. Auto-certification is sophisticated with several customization possibilities.

Cons

The implementation was a bit longer than expected (it was also because of our internal resources). With our current setup line level info cannot be loaded, so Excel sheets - as attachments - are remained after go live.

November 2020

KEELY from HOWARD TERNES PACKAGING

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Package/Freight Delivery

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

Once you have it, you won't want to be without it

I don't have a single bad thing to say about this software. The company I work for now doesn't have it, and I really wish we did. I miss it every day! It is a great month end tool. Nothing better in my opinion. For corporations looking to get a better understanding of your account balances - this was wonderful. Asking and waiting for information was a thing of the past, when all you had to do is log in and pull up an account to see it's balance and supporting detail.

Pros

I LOVE this software. As an accountant, there is no better tool at month end to get your accounts reconciled. Account Reconciliation becomes a breeze, and It makes those dreaded audits not so horrible. Everything is neatly tucked into a software, where the auditors can be set free (in their own approved audit login of course). From Account reconciliation, to matching, and bank reconciliation...I loved this software the more I used it. I even tried to find an open position to work for them!

Cons

When you get started, its like anything, you learn how it all works. In the beginning the only con for me was the level of help (this was back when this software started). But now there are so many online tools to help you with any questions you may have. And their customer service is great and helpful. Super easy to submit a ticket for an issue, and response time was great.

April 2020

Renata from IBM

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

Much to improve

Pros

I use this in monthly accounts reconciliations. Great tool for store data and for making the summary of balances in accounts.

Cons

There is too many fields to fill, many not needed options. When users have many accounts assigned Blackline is realy slowly.

August 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2018

Blackline Integration with Data Management Software such as SAP

Since SAP has been integrated with BlackLine, reconciliations every day+5 of the month end processes are a lot easier. Variances and discrepancies are easily dealt with. Blackline has only been limited to its functions as well as the real-time processing of data.

Pros

It is a web-based application for performing account balances reconciliation which can be easily integrated with other financial software such as SAP.

Cons

The software is limited to reconciliations and intercompany transactions wherein the vast majority of software are investing on in-memory capacity and cloud for more flexible transactions.

December 2017

Debby from Now CFO

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

Great tool for balance sheet recs!

Pros

It provides visibility and consistency to balance sheet recs. Fairly easy to use. Several different templates available pre-built.

Cons

Some of the different screens have the Save button in different places which can be a bit frustrating.

March 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

Awesome software direct and to the point

Pros

At a glance, all the gl account balance is there. You can also upload the report from SAP into blackline so that reconciliation can be done easier. And the approval can just easily approve the ledger at least me go. Allows you to store excel sheet inside so that approval can review it easily.

Cons

It might get be better if the blackline team is able to get back shortly after we upload the ledger balance maybe within an hour or so. This will surely reduce the time we need to take to complete the reconciliation within the timeframe.

June 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Recommend to accounting departments going paperless

Going paperless.

Pros

I like how easy it is to see unidentified balances for each account from the main page, giving you a screenshot of where to spend your time. I used it mostly for insurance amortizations, and the schedules make it easy to do once entered, and the balances closes on the day indicated.

Cons

Not a big deal but small functional things such as having to save a schedule and then clicking cancel in order to exit out. It's not intuitive to click on cancel if you want to exit after making a change.

April 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Records for Closing All In One Place

Having all the financial and accounting work/evidence kept at one place for auditing

Pros

The audit trail functionality that is system certified and option to allow auditors to review closing activities like monthly bank reconciliation, monthly payroll registers, monthly meeting minutes, etc.

Cons

The useful interface's design isn't as fluid as one would like but you get use to it after a using it as your day to day work.

March 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Has some good functionality but implementation is harder than expected

Pros

Great place to centralize reconciliations and journalling etc as opposed to spreadsheets and google docs

Cons

Connectivity with ERP, in our case Netsuite, is a lot more complicated than how it is sold with a loyt of additional development and expense required

July 2018

Hui from KPMG

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Great Product with a lot of features

Pros

Great product overall with a lot of features and available room for customization. Offers great workflow management on top of the automation features.

Cons

No cons to mention. Not sure how many other products are out there that offer the same type of financial solution that Blackline offers, but Blackline is a solid product.

January 2017

Thomas from Hampton Roads Combat Games

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2017

Good Reconciliation software

I was an admin that implemented this reconciliation software at a previous company to prepare reconciliations. It really helped organize our closing process. Highly recommend.

Pros

Great way to organize monthly reconciliations

Cons

There is a learning curve, like everything.