What are Fixed Assets users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using Fixed Assets software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.08

26 Reviews

5
8
4
13
3
4
2
1
1
0
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer Support

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"One is able to record, calculate depreciation, calculate gain or loss on disposal and asset and track all fixed assets owned by a company."
  • icon"The training and customer service is excellent. I think this is a fantastic choice for fixed assets software."
  • icon"I like how easy it is to set up an asset and the asset wizard."
  • icon"It is complicated and it is difficult for users to adjust the depreciation rates or add anything to it."
  • icon"The reports are somewhat difficult to customize and we had trouble getting them to be in a format that we wanted."
  • icon"The price model is unfair to companies with a large number of assets but few transactions. The reporting is basic and prone to error."

Jump to:

Browse all Fixed Assets Reviews

  • Have you used Fixed Assets and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 26 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 26 reviews

Meredith

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Chemicals

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2021

Couldn't Do Without It

We couldn't have restructured our company without BNA. BNA allows us to track partnership step-ups and create multiple groups without creating new instances of a company.

Pros

The software is easy to use but more importantly, it is flexible. It lets us change our minds about depreciation methods, combine different entities and forecasts depreciation out the entire life of the project. The data tools allow you to download key data points for any group of entities and analyze them without running additional reports.

Cons

The help feature search tool isn't robust so you really need to know where to look in the user guide with questions. Having someone on the team be an expert is important.

Reasons for choosing Fixed Assets

Cost, ease of use and ability to maintain our own data

Reasons for switching to Fixed Assets

Needed a more robust tool that allowed us to combine entities

Tara

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

March 2017

BNA Fixed Assets Review

We have recently upgraded from the desktop version to the web version of BNA Fixed assets. There were many difficulties with the move, but received customer service to slowly complete the transaction. After we accomplished the transfer and customized the system to our specific use, one thing I would say that is extremely helpful is the ability to search within each field. There has been a lot to learn with the system compared to the old with specifics as report creating, defaults, and asset view. In the future I look to learn more about the software and the possible capabilities. We have found a few items that are desired enhancements as listed below: Order of fields in Add Asset windows to be customizable Add option to upload document within the Add Asset window when asset is created rather than editing the asset and then uploading the document Option to add an additional asset after one is complete Default within Add Asset windows: Override Additional First-Year Depreciation - Default next screen to choose No AFYD Setup- Fields Asset Field List larger box to view all data at once Similar: Edit within asset when selecting from PickList - larger selection area Have All Favorites (reports and batches) as a filter in the reports section Asset Viewer ability to go to next asset without exiting asset viewer Assets View add more headers be able to scroll over (left and right) Thank You.

Pros

Ability to search within each field on the asset view.

Cons

Listed below are a few desired enhancements: Order of fields in Add Asset windows to be customizable Add option to upload document within the Add Asset window when asset is created rather than editing the asset and then uploading the document Option to add an additional asset after one is complete Default within Add Asset windows: Override Additional First-Year Depreciation - Default next screen to choose No AFYD Setup- Fields Asset Field List larger box to view all data at once Similar: Edit within asset when selecting from PickList - larger selection area Have All Favorites (reports and batches) as a filter in the reports section Asset Viewer ability to go to next asset without exiting asset viewer Assets View add more headers be able to scroll over (left and right)

Greg

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

October 2016

Very Easy to use; good service, expensive pricing model; weak reporting

The software makes it very easy to upload and mass modify assets. If you buy it, you must get the dataview add-on that lets you integrate the reporting into excel. The base crystal reporting is hard to use and also only allows you to report on one book at a time. The database is very flexible, allowing multiple placed into service dates (one for each book) but the reporting becomes erroneous if you have to input assets placed into service in prior periods or modify the basis of an asset (say, due to an impairment). Instead you need to create new component assets for the modifications. This becomes a problem because BNA charges you based on the number of assets, and the price escalates very quickly. We have only 5 users but are forced to pay for a pricey 100 user license because we have 100,000 assets. In other words, BNA is bad for capital-intensive businesses who need detailed, accurate records. By using easy to understand asset types you can quickly populate all of your books (GAAP, Fed, AMT, etc) because lives and methods are programmed automatically by type. You get great efficiency and simply your tax reporting. If you have unusual assets you can also modify each book separately after you populate the asset type, so you retain flexibility when needed. For a smaller business, this software would be superb. The BNA team was very responsive during our implementation, and did the project management for us. All we had to do was export our old database into CSV or excel and give it to them. The job was very well done.

Pros

The asset type method makes training users very easy

Cons

The price model is unfair to companies with a large number of assets but few transactions. The reporting is basic and prone to error. An upgrade is required to get a good reporting capability.

User Profile

Joy

Verified reviewer

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2018

Accounting for Fixed Assets

The ability to report fixed assets in multiple currencies is the best thing with this software, its so useful for a company that has branches in different countries as it automatically calculates exchange rates .

Pros

This software makes the process of accounting for fixed assets so simple. One is able to record, calculate depreciation, calculate gain or loss on disposal and asset and track all fixed assets owned by a company.

Cons

It is complicated and it is difficult for users to adjust the depreciation rates or add anything to it.

Yardley

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2017

Novo Nordisk Inc BNA Fixed Assets Review

In general, this works about as well and is as user friendly as you can expect from something as complicated as a fixed asset tool. We are, in general, very happy with this product. The one major complaint is regarding reports that are exported to Excel. When producing a report for export to Excel and including a fixed asset description, it automatically puts the description on the next line. Additionally, the Excel cells are all merged and text wrapped. It take a significant amount of time to get the Excel report into a user friendly format that is suitable for Excel analysis each month. The new module for exporting data is not what we are looking for either. We would like the reports with the headers and all fields as shown in the reporting feature, we would just like the report to be Excel-ready. Otherwise, it is a good product.

Pros

Easy to train new, non-tax technical personnel on

Cons

The way that the reports export to Excel

Bob

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

March 2018

Great for managing fixed assets

Pros

Utilizes workflow technology and automation reducing indexing and entry throughout the life cycle of a single location.

Cons

Scanning software for invoices could be better utilized for maximum indexing and automation of incoming invoices.

MITCHELL

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2018

Business data for risk evaluation

Access to key business data that is fairly current.

Pros

Easy to navigate, the terms are not written in to high a level for broad access in the organization.

Cons

Very robust with great depth and breadth of information - takes a little time to successfully navigate

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

October 2018

BNA Fixed Assets

I have no other depreciation software to compare it to but it works for what I need it to.

Pros

I like how easy it is to set up an asset and the asset wizard.

Cons

I wish there were more customization reports. I can't always make the reports how I want them to look

Mark

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Apparel & Fashion

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2021

BNA - Fixed Assets Essential Edition

The migration from our desktop to cloud version was smooth and easy from our end. The functionality and reporting capability meets and in some cases exceeds the needs we have.

Pros

The ease of use is great. The site moves quickly and the excel add-on (dataview) is a great feature for building out custom reporting.

Cons

Setting up users and giving permissions to different areas is not intuitive.

Reasons for choosing Fixed Assets

BNA was a product we were already familiar with. The pricing was competitive and the customer support we were given during our decision stage (and since implementation too) made the decision for us. Being able to track CIP and build out custom excel reporting also was factored into the decision.

John

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2021

Simple Asset Management Program

I've been using this product for over 9 years and it's been great for me and our company.

Pros

This product is easy to use and manage your fixed assets including depreciation and tax rules. Web-based software is great.

Cons

No negative feedback on this product. Does exactly what I need it to do.

Marcia

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2017

BNA Fixed Assets

The software is very user friendly and the reports are easy to manipulate to achieve the results you want. The help index is confusing and I tend to call support if I have questions.

Pros

user friendly and easy to get reports

Cons

help index is confusing and hard to find answers

Chris

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2017

Ease of Use

I have been using Bloomberg BNA Fixed Assets for four years. It has helped to streamline our fixed assets accounting process and has also helped tremendously with tax preparation. We recently switched to the BNA Fixed Assets Web version and this has continued to help streamline our operations.

Pros

Reporting functionality, versatility.

Cons

Need to continue to make strides on the BNA Fixed Assets Web. Would like to see better ad-hoc reporting capabilities.

Lynne

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2018

The best fixed asset program that I have found

Pros

Flexible program making it fairly easy to create your own information reports. Handles AMT well. Current with tax laws.

Cons

Need to refresh sporadically to get correct reports and the learning curve was lengthy. I like to work on Sundays and the site is frequently down for maintenance on Sundays.

Jerry

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2017

Reverse of the last transaction

Generally, I like using BNA Fixed Assets - it is easy to search for particular assets, there are many options to modify reports. The only big problem I have is that I cannot reverse transactions. For instance, if I import 100 assets and I made an error, I would like to be able to reverse the entire transaction. Each time when I import something I print the transaction report. Each report should have its number, and if I want to go back in the future and reverse the transaction, I should be able to search by the transaction number and reverse it, or at least be able to reverse the last transaction. Also, it would be great if you could improve reports saved in excel format. Very often cells in reports are combined, many additional rows and columns are added, and it is difficult to format and work with those reports. Best regards, Jerry

Rachel

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2018

Easy to use

Pros

I like the ease of inputting new assets. You can simply use the tab key to move from field to field and get assets entered quickly.

Cons

The program has small font sizes and sometimes hard to see. The reporting is also a bit confusing once it's printed.

Laura

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2017

BNA Software Review

Pros

The software is user friendly and takes no time to figure out. We were able to easily enter an asset into the system without any issues.

Cons

The reports are somewhat difficult to customize and we had trouble getting them to be in a format that we wanted.

Ian

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2018

BNA Fixed Asset tracker simplifies and cuts down on time

Pros

I like that it is able to track the fixed assets over time and depreciate them accordingly based on the type of asset class it belonged to and if bonus depreciation is used.

Cons

If you transfer over fixed assets on to the software, it can be a little bit of work in the front end.

Anonymous

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

May 2018

The cost and capability of Factset is better.

Our Bloomberg terminals were easily linked to this tool.

Pros

It syncs well with the rest of Bloomberg which we use for other various parts of our business. The keystrokes are all familiar and the user interface is as well.

Cons

Factset analytics is known to be a superior product and when testing the trials on BNA we realized our fixed income business would benefit greater from Factset.

Jennifer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2017

Bloomberg BNA Fixed Assets - It just works

We've been using BNA for over 10 years and it just works. We've been able to track our fixed assets with ease. The rare times we've had a question, the BNA helpdesk has been friendly and responsive.

Pros

Ease of use, great customer service

Cons

Placed in service date

Mike

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2017

Great value for the investment

Overall, the BNA Web fixed asset web product is easy to use and gives me the ability to generate IRS forms, which makes the US tax return process more seemless. The flexibility in reporting is also useful for obtaining both actual and forecast data in a timely manner.

Dawn

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2017

Farmers Bank of Appomattox

We have been a BNA desktop customer for many years and recently converted to the BNA web product. The conversion was not as smooth as hoped but we finally got up and running. The primary complaint thus far is the font size used in reports. It is microscopic! We will work with technical support to solve this issue hopefully. Thus far technical support has been very responsive and helpful.

Marcia

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2017

Easy to use and learn

Pros

There are different functional currencies. The ability to save reports in excel, pdf or csv formats.

Cons

Help site is difficult to find answers. Customer support people are not the friendliest. No other cons

Amanda

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
1

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

December 2018

Fixed Asset Software

Overall it was a very difficult software to use, and we switched once our accounting software released their solution .

Pros

It kept track of all of our fixed assets in one place.

Cons

It was a very difficult staff to use. In the year I had the software I never fully understood how to use it. I wasn't ever sure on how to add things in there or adjust depreciation schedules.

Kelly

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2017

Love BNA fixed assets software

Pros

The software is extremely easy to use. The training and customer service is excellent! I think this is a fantastic choice for fixed assets software!

Cons

My only complaint is that at times the font is too small to see. However, I haven't called customer service regarding this issue. I feel certain that they could help me out with this.

Stephen

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

March 2017

Average Product!

Average. We expected an improvement with web vs desktop. Consolidated reporting is very poor. We need consolidated reporting similar to the desktop for our Tax Accountants.

Pros

Can have more than one company open at the same time.

Cons

Consolidated Reporting1q

Showing 1 - 25 of 26 reviews
Fixed Assets

Fixed Assets

4.08/5 out of 26 reviews
icon2 recommendations
The number of recommendations our advisors have made over the past 30 days. Our advisors assess buyers’ needs for free and only recommend products that meet buyers’ needs. Vendors pay Software Advice for these referrals.
PriceDemo