Chargify Software

4.48 / 5 (67)

About Chargify


Chargify is Subscription Billing built for SaaS. Most vendors support your basic billing needs and so does Chargify. However, Elastic Billing goes beyond basic, supporting millions of complex scenarios and any business structure.

Chargify empowers your entire team to launch products, sign up customers, and manage subscriptions. Founded in 2009, Chargify has helped thousands of businesses manage millions of offers that drive billions in annual revenue.

Chargify removes billing bottlenecks and gives front, corner, and back office teams the speed and flexibility they need.



Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Mac OS, Linux, Web browser (OS agnostic), Windows 10

67 Reviews of Chargify

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.48 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.5

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(39)

4 stars

(24)

3 stars

(2)

2 stars

(1)

1 stars

(1)

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Filter reviews by:

Sort by: Most Helpful | Most Recent

Showing 1-20 of 67 reviews

Do you use this product?Write a review

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Robust system, particularly for API usage

We came from a competing service where the tech support had devolved. We needed an API that was robust enough to let us convert our existing payment system quickly, which Chargify's did. The customer service and tech support along the way has been excellent. As PCI compliance became more rigorous, we moved to using their hosted public payment pages, which allows us to reduce/remove PCI compliance on our side. However, the public pages do come with some limitations in that customizing them requires knowledge of CSS and Javascript to control various elements. Overall, however, our transition to, and continued use of Chargify has been a great experience and I would recommend them to anyone looking for a merchant account payment processor.

Pros

- API functions to handle almost any processing request you can think of
- Great tech support (actual knowledgeable techs, not script-readers)
- System uptime seems stable and reliable
- Hosted public payment pages helps reduce PCI compliance requirements

Cons

- Cost is a bit on the high side, but not outside the realm of its competition.
- Geared strongly for recurring payments, lacking easy single-charge functions (in particular, scheduling a single charge on the future date).
- Customizing the public payment pages could be easier with options to display/hide various components instead of relying on merchant to create CSS/Javascript to control them.
- ACH support limited to only a couple of merchant account providers. In our case, this requires us to use a separate e-check payment processor, resulting it maintaining two distinct payment processes on our side.

Response from Chargify of Chargify

Replied February 2019

We're glad that your experience with Chargify has been a great experience & appreciate the review. We are always looking to improve our service & value this feedback when prioritizing updates!

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2019

Chargify is great if you need to customize

Pros

We are grandfathered into older pricing which is amazing. It's less expensive than many other rebilling platforms.

It is easy for a developer to customize to your businesses needs. It's a simple program and not a one size fits all approach.



Cons

The dashboard isn't accurate and there's a discrepancy between the main dashboard KPIs and the insights. The data isn't populating correctly and it throws off the numbers. Doesn't take into account certain things like when someone pauses, cancels and is reactivated, etc.

No paypal option if you choose Stripe bc they only allow for one payment gateway.

Response from Chargify of Chargify

Replied February 2019

Thank you for your review! The discrepancy you are seeing in the dashboards is feedback we have received before. Currently, the two graphs show different things (one is cash, the other is a billing based view of revenue). Our team has developed a detailed plan to fix this issue. Feel free to contact us at support@chargify.com or 1-800-401-2412, if you have more questions on this matter.

February 2019

Sandra from MantisHub

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Great product. Easy to setup and use.

We have a self-serve SAAS service and Chargify helps us automate the charging and statements as well as providing customers with a way to manage their information, plan choices and payment details.

Pros

Chargify is a great product. Great for smaller business. I like that it's fairly simple and intuitive for setup and use. The UI is great and easy to navigate. Support are very responsive and friendly. They take initiative to help and advise customers through developments in subscription charging and often introduce useful new features to the tool. Always striving to improve. API is good too.

Cons

Some of the framework introduces complexities and complications. I've struggled a bit manging customers using invoice billing and also having customers manage information, statements etc in the billing portal. Though there are workarounds for any issues it can, occasionally, make things a little fiddly.

February 2019

Justin from Wordpress Related

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

2.0

February 2019

A rock solid billing platform lacking just a few search related features.

Solid and extensible, which is what we wanted, but plenty of room for improvement in admin, search, and reporting areas.

Pros

The platform is fully featured as far meeting as our needs for recurring annual billing for software licenses. It has a fast interface, the API is solid for website related coding, and the

Cons

The admin area is lacking in features. No real ability to generate custom reports, though they have some details reports but the drill down is limited. The search/filter capabilities are poor in most screens. They recently added a global search ability, which is handy for simple account related detail, but presents only a short list, and can only select one account each time, so no good for bulk searches. The main list screens for transactions and subscriptions is severely lacking in searchable parameters. For example, searching transactions exposes only date range and a type. No other transaction data is available to search against. This lack of back end admin features appears in other areas too, such as the web hooks panel.

July 2018

Megan from Big Picture Studio

Company Size: 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Hands down best product on the market.

The easiest billing software that I've come across. And I've encountered many.

Pros

Above all else, their instant online CHAT SUPPORT should be an industry standard. I have had some crazy, custom expert level scenarios with which I have tried to "stump the chump", and every time, they have not only helped me come up with a great solution, but walk me through how to implement it.

Their support staff have real personalities, you can actually feel the ownership they have for the product when they assist you in the areas of the software that you need help with. They are fun, and professional at the same time.

A client came to me with this already in place, and I'll recommend them to every client I have who needs this software, all day, every day.

Cons

Since there is a 100 character limit that I must fill, I'll just sit here and type whatever comes to mind. There isn't one con. Wait. Maybe one.




Nope. Can't think of it.

February 2019

Michael from Tap Inspect

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Billing in for multiple types of subscription models

We did not want to write a full customer billing system when we started 10 years ago. Chargify let us get up and running quickly and has kept pace with our needs as we grow.

Pros

Easy integration brought us to Chargify and it has been consistently good. The simple interface and a fair number of modifications have been great to manage our billing system without having to master an overly complex system.

Cons

We sell recurring and also Pay As You Go subscriptions. Recurring works great and our customers love it. Our Pay as You Go customers complain from time to time because their statement can arrive up to 30 days after their purchase. That makes them assume they have be billed on a recurring plan.

We understand we are a weird kind of account and you focus on recurring ... so no hard feelings

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Chargify is simple and easy to use, but also a very robust tool

We are a company with thousands of active and inactive customers and Chargify gives us the ability to easily manage all of our accounts without hassle. It takes seconds to process new charges, generate billing statements, and apply refunds. We are much more efficient as a team thanks to Chargify!

Pros

-Easy to process charges in a matter of seconds
-Reviewing and sending out billing statements is quick and simple
-Updating payment information is easy to do over the phone or by sending a "self service link"
-Processing refunds takes moments

Cons

-Not being able to update contact information on billing statements after a charge has been processed

Response from Chargify of Chargify

Replied February 2019

We're glad to hear Chargify has helped make your team much more efficient. Thank you for the feedback - our team is always working to improve our product!

November 2016

Anonymous

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2016

Best Till Date

It is a great app. I can totally rely on it. Compare to other apps, it's quick, efficient, I love how easy it is to manage the funds with it! Also, it integrates really well with the other tools we use. It has quick responsive services. Must say this is great service. Very relaxing and easy.

Pros

Chargify’s Revenant billion answer is ideal for small scale and midsize growing corporations.
It offers mobile dedicated app for iPhone and for iPad device users, not like different similar tools. The client support of Chargify offers phone, on-line and mail support for users.
The Revenant charge platform supports integration with Salesforce not like different similar tools.
The Revenant billion answer offers yearly, quarterly and monthly charge cycles feature.
Chargify doesn’t supply any mobile dedicated app for robot smartphone and pill users.

Cons

The continual charge resolution doesn’t supply intelligent funds routing feature like different similar tools.
The customer-bound mail feature of Chargify isn't extremely customizable like different similar tools.

February 2019

Jason from Vehicle

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Chargify has everything you need

We've been with Chargify since the early days, and although they have raised their prices we are still very happy not only that we chose them to begin with, but that we are still happy with the service. If you want a solid payment processor that will meet all your business/corporate/legal needs, Chargify is the one-stop-package.

Pros

Meets all legal standards
Hosts transactions
Accepts payments outside US
Handles Dunning
Reliable
Many useful features like step-tiered billing
Helpful support

Cons

Cost has been raised several times since we started
Rate limiting on API is pretty low
Wish it had more hosted payment page/email templates/customizations
Locked in once you choose them as your payment provider, no real migration path to other service.

November 2017

Leilani from SPOTIO

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

Makes My Job 10 TIMES Easier!

Chargify has helped our support team be able to maintain transparency and integrity of our automation and billing process when its come into question. I cannot say enough wonderful things!

Pros

We use Chargify for all things billing like processing subscription charges. We've also been able to automate invoicing/statements, failed credit card payments, subscription state, customized billing, etc... and can we talk API? Their API was very easy to integrate with and use has shown to be very valuable when regarding disputes and verification of integrity of our customer accounts. We couldn't be any happier! Plus, their support team is and has ALWAYS been helpful when anyone from our team reaches out.

March 2016

Michael from KnowledgeVision

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support