All Chrome River EXPENSE Reviews

1-25 of 172 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Davette

Information Technology and Services, 5,001 - 10,000 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed May 2021

Easy Expenses

User Profile

Karen

Verified reviewer

Law Practice, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

Paperless expense reimbursements with automated routing - great combination!

PROS

Our expense reimbursement process improved greatly when implementing Chrome River Expense 12 years ago. No more paper shuffling from in box to in box for approvals, potentially getting lost. Also, Chrome River continues to improve their product and keeps up with client demands as technology evolves.

CONS

Customer service is up and down. Chrome River now charges for changes you want to make, where that used to be baked in the subscription price. Or you can pay for an almost unlimited service model - a bit pricey, but overall worth it if you have a lot of changes to make like we do. (Changes are because our business needs often change).

Amber

Law Practice, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Mercury is wonderful!

PROS

The new receipt functions within Mercury are a life saver for the auditing process. We love the way it crops and attaches the receipts to individual line items, it makes auditing a breeze rather than going through countless pages of receipts. Its a huge time saver and that is important as we have such a high volume.

CONS

Help Desk Turn Around time could be better.

Reason for choosing Chrome River EXPENSE

Chrome River worked better with our line of business.

Tess

Non-Profit Organization Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2021

Need more control and responsiveness from Chrome River team

- We have experienced a drastic reduction in turn around time for our help desk tickets. Untimely or disparate responses and questions back to us. Attempting to charge us extra fees when there are minor changes to our expense rules that happen regularly.

PROS

Tiles are easy to use and explain. Process for submitting and tracking expenses is user friendly.

CONS

- Importing in Pcard expenses and receipts seems to take too many steps and are at different visual points for users. - The initial form is not configurable to select the type of expense report you are completing FIRST

Reason for choosing Chrome River EXPENSE

Integration with our current ERP provider Banner Ellucian

Melissa

Insurance, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Customizable User Friendly Expense Platform

Chrome River has worked closely with us to understand our business and business needs. The staff is innovative and eager to solve any issues your business presents.

PROS

The ability to build rules around compliance and polices is top notch.

CONS

The reporting (Analytics) isn’t as easy to navigate as it should be.

Reason for choosing Chrome River EXPENSE

Ultimately it was the ability to customize our user experience and policy rules.

Reasons for switching to Chrome River EXPENSE

IBM was no longer supporting their tool.

Mark

Law Practice, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2020

Excellent Solution for Expense Report Automation

Chrome River has been such a valuable tool for our Firm, especially with the challenges raised by COVID-19. Our ability to work with EXPENSE remotely was unaffected.

PROS

The OCR capability is fantastic...expenses can be captured from anywhere using any device and interpreted as accurately (in many case more so) than our users! Really saves time and enforces compliance.

CONS

We really don't have anything not to like...it just works!

Reason for choosing Chrome River EXPENSE

Partnership with practice management software, reputation, value.

tosha

Legal Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

Expense report

Chrome River has been a great company to work with. They are always open to hear about features that would make our lives easier and try to accommodate when possible.

PROS

The digital receipts and paperless. You can do everything on an app. People get paid faster. Easy to use just click on the icon you want and fill in the data.

CONS

Some customization are a bit challenging at times.

Reason for choosing Chrome River EXPENSE

You could customize to what you wanted or needed for your business.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2019

Excellent Tool to go from paper to Digital Expense Review

Chrome River helped us digitize, and streamline our expense claims and workflows for all levels of our organization.

PROS

from a user perspective, this software has helped eliminate steps in submitting and processing expense claims. The use of the Snap App to process the paper claims and combined with OCR capabilities help to make claims a breeze compared to our older manual method. Further, our AP team and others have gained greater efficiencies by being able to collect this information in real-time and process it faster. Easily integrates with other accounting system or organization uses. Easy to use user interface.

CONS

The reporting/analytics features can be revamped, as well as greater flexibility in customization. Overall, the tool does a great job.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2020

Good tool for automating Travel expense and claims, makes easy to manage employee claims

We have automated our Travel/tour reimbursement process with Chrome River. The system does save us a lot of processing and getting the bills on time. The option for itemizing the bills is also great for dividing expenses into different heads!

PROS

The ability to submit bills directly by scanning and uploading is a very good feature. Definitely saves time and resources - sending bills by courier or mail. The automation in travel/tour claims and reimbursements is a must have feature and Chromeriver is good at it. Works well with our travel portal and Hotel Vendors. The rules and flexibility offered is great for controls and monitoring spends.

CONS

The interface looks clunky and not that intuitive. The workflow also is not that straight forward, with different steps required sometime unnecessarily. Its response time sometimes becomes too slow. We had 2-3 maintenance shutdowns and it was not acceptable.

User Profile

Ken

Verified reviewer

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2018

Been on ChromeRiver Expense for over two years and our users are very happy with the product.

PROS

The user interface is very easy to use. We have the person load feeding from our HR data, so new employees are automatically fed into the system. When an employee leaves they are also removed from ChromeRiver

CONS

The itemizing of hotel bills has been an issue when the hotel does not send all the information. Not really a chromeriver issue, because the hotel is not sending the information, but the users see it as a problem with ChromeRiver. This process has gotten much better since we originally went on the system

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2019

A good upgrade to our Expense Reconciling Procedures

We use Chrome River to reconcile all Purchasing Card transactions as well as all Travel transactions. It is much easier to use than the previous system and has great reporting features and the ability to go back and review previous transactions and documentation is fantastic!

PROS

Very easy to use, has a lot of report functionality and can add notes and attachments super easily as needed.

CONS

Limited on approval routing, but not so much that it has been difficult to adjust to.

Shawn

Legal Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

Chrome River is Great once Set Up

Emburse Chrome River put us in a great position when the pandemic hit and everyone was working from home. It was a much easier transition than it would have been if we were still manually processing with paper. The geographic ease of use across our offices is something I think is huge compared to other options. Due to the effort in setup, we also have a highly customized workflow that handles volume, and we work at a pretty rapid pace now with a relatively small staff.

PROS

Chrome River is highly accessible and available across many devices and platforms. You basically just need and internet connection. This allows us to work and function across many dispersed offices. It's a fairly easy interface for the average user, and puts the ability to quickly submit an expense in the purchaser's hands. We are able to send data to and from Chrome River, which is vital. Emburse stays ahead with technology and is working on AI receipt readers.

CONS

The integration certainly felt like a struggle. Basic data feeds were easy, but when we updated our accounting software from Elite Enterprise to Elite 3E, the export integration - which was fully handled by the CR development team - did take quite a bit of time and effort to get right. It's working great now though, but was more effort than anticipated to set up initially. I would advise to keep custom rules simplified if possible too. Overall the product is good, it's just about getting it set up in my opinion.

Reason for choosing Chrome River EXPENSE

I was not the purchaser

Craig

Verified reviewer

Legal Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2019

Chrome River Expense - Expense reports made easy

Chrome River has been a great company to work with. They are always open to hear about features that would make our lives easier and try to accommodate when possible. We have since started using their Invoice capture service to help automate AP even more and the results have been fantastic.

PROS

This software lets our users attach receipts hands free by either emailing receipts or using the Chrome River SNAP app. This allows delegates to go in and create expense reports for our users who would rather have their assistant perform this practice. The software is also usable on any computer, smart phone or tablet allowing users to work from anywhere they have an internet connection. Chrome River is also integrated with our Corporate credit card (US Bank) so transactions come through showing our users exactly which items need to be submitted. The product also integrates with Uber, Lyft, and Spot Hero so those receipts are automatically sent to Chrome River.

CONS

We have not had any major issues with the software. The OCR function for reading receipts does not always work as well as you would like but this only makes users select a different expense type than is suggested.

Debra

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2021

You're gonna love it!

Reimbursable claims come in faster and are much more accurate. PCard reconciliations are done in a much more timely fashion.

PROS

Easy to send receipts to the product. Very easy for occasional users to pick up. Rarely any down time.

CONS

Customization is able to be done in house, but it is not easy to learn in a non tech department.

Reason for choosing Chrome River EXPENSE

Easy to use and continuous updating.

Melody

Legal Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2017

Business expense reimbursement software

my firm has been using Chrome River since 2011 for expense reimbursement processing. Implementation was quick. They have kept up with changing client needs and technology by constantly updating the software and offering new options. End users are happy because they have easy options such as connecting receipts directly from Uber, and can get downloaded transactions daily. Submitting expenses are icon based and are tailored to exactly your specs. Back office is happy because duplicates can be immediately identified and importing into GL packages is almost seamless once set up. Take a look. Chrome River is growing fast because they do it right and to your specifications.

PROS

customizable for my business rules

CONS

we opted for daily feeds of certain information. Sometimes new options are added that I might be interested in, but until I read their updates in detail, I won't know about changes.

User Profile

Ravinder

Verified reviewer

Legal Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2020

Chrome River Expense - An easy tool for expense and travel management

Earlier we used to submit hard copy receipts and excel files which is a time-consuming process for the employer as well as for accounts staff. I am really happy with the product because it saves a lot of time and makes the expense reporting process very easy.

PROS

Chrome River Expense is fast, fluid, and easy to use the application to report travel expenses done with a corporate credit card or even with a personal card. The application is available for all platforms including desktop, mobile, and tablet, etc. which makes the expense reporting process fast and easy even when you are on the go. Some of the features of the application are – Automated spend control, automated approval routing, credit card integration, Snap and send receipt submission, optical character recognition (OCR), integration with leading financial systems, configurable policies, and routing, online dashboard and self-service inquiries. The application has a powerful analytics engine that saves a lot of time for employers and accounts staff.

CONS

You need to spend some time initially to understand it as the tool includes a lot of categories and sub-categories which makes it a little bit confusing to use, but trust me it saves a lot of time. Receipts have to PDF formatted. Ad-hoc functionality seems a little slow and can be improved.

Ben

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2022

Emburse Chrome River--Travel and Expense Management for Higher Ed

We've literally saved over a million sheets of paper in ~30 months. CR Expense was a huge step forward for us and we look forward to continuing to improve along with the software.

PROS

Emburse Chrome River has empowered the local admins more every month we've been a customer. This allows us to create a familiar and intuitive system for our users.

CONS

Would still like additional capabilities for reviewers/approvers to modify expense reports. I believe CR is moving in this direction soon, however. This will be a great change!

Wayne

Law Practice, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2022

Chromeriver Expenses

Does exactly what we need it to do and is easy to use

PROS

Can easily upload expenses and can be monitored. This is then easily exported to be upload into our accounts software therefore we don't have to import the information twice.

CONS

Need to look into more about how to make changes but have seen some of the webinars and this looks like it will be getting easier

Reason for choosing Chrome River EXPENSE

Does what we need it to do

Maurita

Non-Profit Organization Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT