ChurchTrac

ChurchTrac Reviews

4.77

(581)

User Review Highlights

4.77

581 Reviews

5
467
4
97
3
9
2
4
1
2
4.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer Support

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"It is pretty easy to use and was most cost effective software that is geared for churches."
  • icon"I love that it is affordable. I love that we can keep track of our membership."
  • icon"Ease of Use and the support is very good. They work with you until the problem is solved and you are satisfied."
  • icon"If Churchtrac could up grade this part of their program we could drop one more program we pay for."
  • icon"The accounting software our administrative assistant used was a constant source of frustration and a money pit."
  • icon"The use of the tags has made the information more confusing. It has been difficult to navigate, but I am working on it."

Browse all ChurchTrac Reviews

  • Have you used ChurchTrac and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 579 reviews

Dennis

Company size: 2 - 10 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

May 2021

Affordable tracking

User Profile

David

Verified reviewer

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2018

Great Product... will grow with your church - Used at a previous church and just got for new church

Pros

If you are a small church that needs a good online database that doesn't break the bank, this is it. There are numerous features that you can choose what fits your particular ministry and have everything in one area... instead of needing 4-5 different programs to do it all. One of the best things is that you can add more and more names and then simply pay to upgrade to the next level as your church grows, so you don't have to waste money for a database of 1,000 if you only have 70 in your church currently! But (hopefully) as your church grows, you will have the finances to have the program expand with you. I also enjoy ChurchTrac as a pastor, because I can log in on my phone or iPad from wherever I am making a visit to add notes about the visit. We have also added multiple volunteers users who want to help make visits, send cards, make phone calls, etc who can add notes when they do so; there are great restriction capabilities available, so I can allow volunteers access to these note areas without allowing them access to giving records or more confidential pastoral counseling notes. We have also integrated this into our children's ministry/nursery area and purchased a Dymo label printer to give each child a name badge upon check in with emergency phone numbers and allergy warnings. Finally, the congregation access is awesome, so everyone can update their own information or get their own giving records whenever they would like to check!

Cons

A few of the reporting features are somewhat limited and not able to be as customized as I would like, but this is such a minor issue compared to all the Pros that it's hardly worth mentioning... but it was a required field so I had to come up with something. I did have an issue when I wanted to add more volunteer users, but it was fixed within an hour of opening the ticket due to their AMAZING customer service!

Lynn

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2022

Comprehensive CMS

It has been a great blessing as it reduces my amount of time each week to update all accounting/giving data from 5-6 hours a week to about 30 minutes on one day.

Pros

Straight forward set up and quick start with free integration of directory data. The accounting system (giving and ledger) are straight forward in their respective applications and ease of use. It helps to have some accounting basics beforehand, but even without this, the online videos and webinars are a big help, especially the Q&A. The reporting features are a real bonus for monthly, quarterly, annual, and especially EOY giving reports. Integration with other apps and ability to link to an existing website is another big bonus.

Cons

It would be helpful to highlight inside the editing screen or with the online help documents the critical info needed when setting up the directories, as this is what connects to all other software features. It would be helpful to provide more instructions on the Stripe integration for a website. The integration with ChurchTrac and Connect is seamless, but attempting to find the correct link or iFrame data to put inside an existing website for giving is nearly impossible to find, and Stripe's help is not very helpful. This is especially needed for those without website modification skills. If ChurchTrac had a Stripe "expert" or an inside contact at Stripe, this would be great! (I am not on FB or Twitter, so cannot chat with other online folks about their experiences.)

Reasons for choosing ChurchTrac

Feature set, especially when email was integrated, support online, and price

Reasons for switching to ChurchTrac

Needed an integrated package to manage all features from and to provide a cloud based product for ease of future training and handoff.

Response from ChurchTrac Software

Thanks for the 5-star review, Lynn. We're so glad you're finding the software easy to use and enjoying the videos, webinars, and other support. Speaking of support, please reach out to us regarding connecting online giving with your existing website. Talk soon!

Replied September 2022

DEMETRA

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Fund-Raising

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
1

Functionality

out of 5

February 2020

Admin Assistant

I am not since i have been locked out. i feel information would be helpful, it i could pull it easily and print. I don't like not being able to speak with someone or at lease have them look a my information.

Pros

I can pull and print reports of the information I put in.

Cons

I liked the previous package better -- it was user friendly. This package is not easily walked thru to pull reports and input the information as the previous package. Someone has changed my login and password - there is not a way to speak with anyone for help! The steps provided did not work. I have been locked out all week and now starting another week. I am disgusted!

Reasons for choosing ChurchTrac

It we something we used and we did not realize so much had changed with the new software.

Response from ChurchTrac Software

As it turns out, this customer had a malware infection on her computer that prevented her from accessing her account. Whenever she visited a website, a popup would say that her computer failed a security check, and told her to call a toll free number answered by a person in India. This is a common scam that all internet users should be aware of....if you cannot access websites or accounts that you normally visit because they are being blocked by a popup, DO NOT call any numbers that are displayed on your screen in the popup. And absolutely DO NOT give anyone your personal information out to criminals who are posing as experts to help you fix your computer. Instead, reach out to the company or account directly to ask for assistance (use a different, un-infected computer to look up the number if necessary). In this case, we were able to help her disconnect her computer from the internet until the malware is removed by a qualified professional.

Replied March 2020

Steve

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2022

Church Trac after years of use.

Our biggest experience is with the Contributions. It is easy to track contributions and the year-end reports are easy and readable.

Pros

The thing I liked about the software is how easy it was to operate the program. We used a leading accounting package and Church Trac far exceeded our expectations.

Cons

The thing I liked the least is not being able to make changes to the members to cut down on the number of fields that you have to operate through. Some businesses like ours don't really need all of the church information.

Reasons for choosing ChurchTrac

Simple to use. Easy to teach others how to use the program.

Reasons for switching to ChurchTrac

QuickBooks, though the accounting is easy, it is very hard to get individual contributions without adding tons of other information.

Response from ChurchTrac Software

Thank you for the kind words and the 5-star review, Steve. We're so glad that you've found ChurchTrac easy to use and even exceeding your expectations. Could you create a feature request support ticket regarding the number of fields? That kind of feedback is much appreciated by our developers. Be blessed!

Replied June 2022

Jackie

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2022

ChurchTrac Meets Our Needs and Then Some

Not only has ChurchTrac offered an affordable way to manage our church records and accounting with accessibility for multiple users.

Pros

ChurchTrac always us to combine our record keeping and accounting all in one handy software application

Cons

Nothing is disliked, we are happy with this tool

Reasons for switching to ChurchTrac

Our Quickbooks was an outdated version, updating would have been cost prohibitive and required a steep learning curve for this involved

Response from ChurchTrac Software

Thank you for the kind words and the 5-star review, Jackie. We're so glad that you've been able to simplify your record keeping. Be sure to check out our other features like Worship & Scheduling, Church Connect (the church app), Mass SMS and Email, and more. As always, don't hesitate to reach out to us if you ever need any support. We're just a quick message away. Be blessed!

Replied August 2022

James

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2022

Amazed

We have been using Quickbooks which can be overwhelming for less experienced users. ChurchTrac is much simpler to use and provides the same functionality we require for church management and accounting.

Pros

User friendly, reasonably priced, great customer support

Cons

Works well for us, not sure about medium to larger churches

Reasons for switching to ChurchTrac

Ease of use, web based, economical, more of the needed functionality, less complex

Response from ChurchTrac Software

Thanks for the 5-star review, James. It's really encouraging that the 3 pros you listed are actually a part of our Core values at ChurchTrac :-) As your church grows, the software will grow with you. ChurchTrac is made for churches of all sizes, including large churches that don't want to pay an arm and a leg just to have software! Don't hesitate to reach out to us if you ever need any assistance. We are here for you. Blessings!

Replied August 2022

Dean

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2022

New ChurchTrac Congregation

I can't say enough good about what a great experience it has been to work with ChurchTrac so far. I'm sure most of our questions have been rudimentary to experienced users but when we get stuck on some special feature, or special formatting, or such we lauch a support ticket with a click and in a few minutes we get a helpful reply back. It has been a very smooth experience, which I appreciate being one of the admins.

Pros

ChurchTrac is very straight-forward and easy to use. The training of staff and other users has been smooth. Having many short videos available on specific topics has been wonderfully helpful. We took advantage of the 30 day evaluation with our real membership records and we are very happy ChurchTrac makes this service available. It convinced us to take the next step.

Cons

Hard to say at this point, as we as such new users, working our way along the user experience. Our improvement in member communication has been a huge early win for us. Accounting though is harder for us to evailuate. Our plan is to run our legacy accounting and ChurchTrac accounting in parallel for a time so that we can better understand what ChurchTrac has to offer us.

Reasons for choosing ChurchTrac

ChurchTrac appeared to have a great training presence, (which is true). We needed something cloud-based and distributed. An office only based, desktop-based model was not going to work for us. The ChurchTrac Church Connect mobile web feature is huge for us. The pricing model of ChurchTrac is very fair and we are a small congregation, so that was a factor.

Reasons for switching to ChurchTrac

Church Windows served us well for many, many years. We were simply ready to make a quantum leap into a whole new way of managing our church.

Response from ChurchTrac Software

Thank you for the 5-star review, Dean. We're so glad that you've found the software easy to use. Don't hesitate to reach out if you ever need any help. If you haven't yet, check out one of our upcoming getting started workshops here: https://calendly.com/churchtrac-connect/getting-started-webinar Be blessed!

Replied September 2022

Paula

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2022

The Best Church app EVER!

The "End-of-year-Statements are PERFECT! and I can configure them anyone way our congregation needs to view them.

Pros

It is easy to use, and I can get whatever type of report I may need from the site. If I need help, the customer service is ALWAYS willing to help.

Cons

There is nothing I don't like about Church Trac.

Reasons for choosing ChurchTrac

The ease of the site, the customer service, and the price.

Reasons for switching to ChurchTrac

The cost and it expires.

Response from ChurchTrac Software

Thank you soo much for the 5-star review, Paula! We're glad that you're enjoying the app. As always, don't hesitate to reach out to us if you ever need any help. Blessings!

Replied August 2022

Terry

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2022

ChurchTrac Features and Function

Capturing attendance, attendance reporting, absentee tracking, individual and family group profiles, membership directory, communicating with members through text/e-mail, recording donations and preparing tax year donation confirmation reports for members, managing funds and balances in accounting, budgeting, financial reporting.

Pros

Functionality, ease of use, features, cost, accounting module, attendance module, people module, donation management and reporting, SUPERIOR CUSTOMER SERVICE and response!

Cons

There is a lot of customization available in the accounting module, but there are a couple of modifications that would make the reports even better. I would also like to have direct integration of song usage from the Worship Module into CCLI to meet the requirements for reporting for our copyright license for CCLI. purposes

Reasons for choosing ChurchTrac

Features, functionality, cost.

Response from ChurchTrac Software

Thanks for the 5-star review, Terry. We're so glad that you're enjoying the software. Part of what makes our support team so great is that they're actively serving in ministry just like you! We do have plans on streamlining the song usage reporting through our API with SongSelect... so be on the lookout. In the meantime, you can still easily generate a song usage report for all of your CCLI reporting. Be blessed!

Replied August 2022

Ruth

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2022

Churchtrac software

The response time to any question is about or less than 24 hours. I appreciate the expertise and quick responses.

Pros

Easy to use and to teach someone how to use the software.

Cons

I would like to be able to create a quarterly review against a quarterly view from the previous year. The software only allows cumulative comparisons for the year.

Response from ChurchTrac Software

Thank you for the 5-star review, Ruth. We're so glad that you've found the software easy to use. As always, don't hesitate to reach out if you ever need any help. Blessings!

Replied September 2022

April

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2022

Wow! Excellent, incredibly affordable software for the mainline micro-church

Amazing experience so far. ChurchTrac is going to be such a huge help to us as we transition into whatever-is-next for our ministry. It really has been a wonderful thing for me as preacher, administrative assistant, worship planner, and chief bottle-washer to be able to enter info and know where it is and how to access it.

Pros

ChurchTrac is obviously designed to assist larger congregations, but it is incredibly versatile for our small church. We were driven to find a database program by our need for accounting and budgeting software. Even if that was all ChurchTrac provided, it would be worth the cost for our little congregation. But the member management platform, the event and scheduling features, the calendaring options, and the Connect app have absolutely blown us away! It is SO intuitive, so easy to use, with a very reasonable investment of time. I've seen other church database programs that are five or six times as expensive (or more!) as ChurchTrac with less features and a much steeper learning curve. The introductory instruction and on-boarding tools are thorough and easily navigable. They offer free import of previous data which is just astonishingly generous. Their free introductory webinar is very, very helpful. I had been using the program for a month and still learned a lot. And the customer support is just incredible. Their help topics are vast and diverse and the team responds almost immediately to other questions not covered in the help topic library. I've no sense that they've prioritized other users with larger accounts over me, either. Every communication has been warm, personal, timely, and has resolved any issue I've had.

Cons

I wish I could more easily use the Worship Planning tools as a small, mainline church with a traditional hymnal. It's not a big deal, because, as I said elsewhere, we purchased this program for the accounting and budgeting program. But I do sort of wistfully wish I could use it, too. I would like to use some of the communication tools with ChurchTrac without it costing us more. We have 25 average attendance on Sunday and with 30 giving units and an electronic newsletter with 72 contacts on Mailchimp. Using that integration would bump our "people count" up to right near the 125 mark which means we would pay more. And right now, every penny is precious, and we need that buffer to communicate with potential attendees. So - there's a bit of a learning curve there that I've not yet conquered. Also - and this is not a con- but a potential future offering - lots of pastors have to save receipts, track mileage, create expense reports, etc. THAT added to ChurchTrac would be a HUGE gift to me.

Reasons for choosing ChurchTrac

SOOOO much less expensive and the breadth of ChurchTrac's software is comprehensive

Reasons for switching to ChurchTrac

ChurchTrac makes the products we used on Tithely redundant.

Response from ChurchTrac Software

Hi April! Thank you soo much for the kind words and the 5-star review. We're so glad that ChurchTrac has helped you and your ministry. We love helping equip churches of ALL sizes. Please schedule a phone call and ask for Wes. He can walk you through how to use the software to plan worship using traditional hymnals. It's actually pretty easy (and will make your life much easier). Talk soon. Be blessed!

Replied July 2022

Denita

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2022

Church Management software at it's best!

I am a happy Customer and a true advocate. You can keep Customers happy by delivering value or you can make happy Customers. There is a difference! Customers who you need to keep happy are dependent on the company cranking out new features. When they stop seeing value, they become unhappy. I am happy in spite of the fact that every feature doesn't work exactly the way I'd want it to. It would be selfish to think they built it for me! I'm happy because I know behind the product is a team that cares. I am happy because I know I am heard. I have feature requests that may never be delivered and that's ok! It's not about the features but about the overall value it has afforded my ministry. I am still a happy Customer because I stand by the mission and vision of the tool and understand it's impact on my ministry and ultimately others. I realize we have purchased a tool but it has become a core resource for how we do ministry effectively. Keep up the great work team!

Pros

I looked into accounting software for my church and found ChurchTrac. After testing it for 30 days, I was sold. The accounting features are top notch and are exactly what we need for my congregation. It's intuitive and fun to use!

Cons

There are some features that could be fleshed out a bit but nothing that is truly a CON. :)

Reasons for switching to ChurchTrac

I detest manual work!

Response from ChurchTrac Software

Thanks for the 5-star review, Denita. We also detest manual work! We're glad that the software has simplified your work and saved you lots of time. As always, don't hesitate to reach out to us if you ever need any help. We're here for you! Be blessed :-)

Replied January 2022

Greg

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2021

We Love ChurchTrac

I'm the pastor of a small church and needed help with the administration, accounting and budget work. I obviously wanted to go with a software based option. A "Google" search revealed ChurchTrac and it appeared to be a good price. It was certainly competitively priced. ChurchTrac was been an amazing tool for our church. It provides our church with everything we need and even more. There are a lot of features we hope to use as we grow. Accounting and budgeting related work is easily tracked. At any moment I can report in detail to the congregation on these matters. ChurchTrac is so user-friendly, but they also offer helpful technical support if needed.

Pros

We really love the accounting and budget features in ChurchTrac. I began using ChurchTrac specifically for this function, but soon realized it was also a great way to track people and attendance. It's difficult to say what I like most, but I do love the new Church Connect feature. Basically our church has an app now. Members can login and update their own information. It might seem like a small thing, but I'm excited about the fact that members can login and see their own giving. They can literally download the giving report weI generate for tax purposes. We are loving the new features. Oh, and "bulk emailing" options. We definitely hope to use this function more.

Cons

ChurchTrac continues to improve and evolve so we haven't used every feature yet. Honestly, I really can't think of anything we don't like. Of course, I don't really have much experience with other products for a comparison. The church was using "Churchsoft" before I became the pastor and I found it very difficult to use. ChurchTrac seems so simple and we love it.

Reasons for choosing ChurchTrac

It seemed like a good price for the product and I liked the name, "ChurchTrac."

Reasons for switching to ChurchTrac

Churchsoft seemed very difficult to use. In my opinion, it was certainly not what you would call "user-friendly."

Response from ChurchTrac Software

Thank you for the 5-star review, Greg! We're glad to hear that the software is helping you and your ministry. As always, feel free to reach out to us for help anytime. Be blessed!

Replied September 2021

Pam

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2021

Love this software! Perfect for smaller churches

This program has been a time saver and I actually enjoy working in it throughout the day.

Pros

Integration was very easy. I did a data dump of my old program in ShelbyNext and sent the file to customer service at ChurchTrac and they took care of uploading it into ChurchTrac for me. The ChurchTrac customer service is amazing!! They always respond within minutes of me opening a ticket and make sure they follow through to completion. The software is very easy to use and I love that most of the member's information is on one screen so I'm not having to bounce around looking for information. I also using the giving module and it is very easy to enter. I love everything about this program and can't say enough good things about it. The other program we were using was not user friendly at all. I love that ChurchTrac was created by pastors because they really understand what information churches need to track. I've worked at 3 different churches and used multiple systems and this is by far my favorite and easiest to use so far.

Cons

The only thing that I could see needs improvement is the reports. They are very basic and don't really look polished. My biggest problem with the reports is printing a church directory and not really being able to manipulate what information I want to include or not. Most times when I run reports I export it to CSV so I can resort and reformat it to how we like it. I wish I didn't have to do that. But they are adequate.

Reasons for switching to ChurchTrac

ShelbyNext did not meet our needs. It was not user friendly and we had a hard time getting accurate reports from the system. It was also 6 to 7 times more expensive than what we're paying for ChurchTrac now. I think ShelbyNext was meant for very large churches.

Response from ChurchTrac Software

Thanks for the kind words, Pam. We're always working hard to add great features that are always easy to use. Anytime you need help, we're here for you!

Replied March 2021

Lisa

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2020

Love using ChurchTrac!

I think being able to email to the entire congregation, enter accounting, giving and child check in, it just makes it the best program and user friendly!

Pros

I really like that everything is in one place. You can track attendance, membership database, accounting, giving, etc. When I started using ChurchTrac it was a desk top program. Not online. But everything transferred over and was even better than before! I have worked for the church almost 6 years and I have ChurchTrac open all day as I am working! We just recently started using the Child Check In and that works fabulous! I have spent countless hours on the phone and thru email with [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and she is the best tech support and I would highly recommend anyone that is new and is struggling with the program to reach to her!

Cons

I don't there is anything that I don't really like about it. You can create reports for almost anything, you just have to learn how to use the program.

Reasons for choosing ChurchTrac

Even though when I was church secretary prior to the church where I am currently employed, I had used Servant Keeper. We checked into Servant Keeper when I first began my employment, because they had no church management software, but it was alot more expensive than ChurchTrac. And it also had several more features.

Response from ChurchTrac Software

Thank you for the kind words Lisa! We're so glad that ChurchTrac has been such a help to your ministry for so many years. Here's to many more years to come :-)

Replied November 2020

Deb

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

New improvements are AMAZING!

I feel my records are more accurate.

Pros

ChurchTrac recently started to automatically import online giving from Stripe to my register on the day the donation was given, plus shows the date in my register when the payment clears the bank. Oh, and the Stripe fees are shown as well with each transaction. This will save me so much time and reduce my own errors. Plus reconciliation of my accounts is so easy. It has cut down my time that I spent on month end procedures. The online help topics, online webinars and videos are very helpful. I must say, too, how wonderful the support people are! I'm doing this job for my church with a very limited financial/accounting background. Whenever I had a question, they answer quickly and continue to help me until I get my issue resolved.

Cons

I had used the free ChurchTrac 9 program (about 2 years) and thought it would be an easy switch to the online version. However, I was thrown for a loop because I was also learning the online giving parts/pieces in addition to the newer software. Some things were not intuitive for me, but it could be that I was overwhelmed in trying to get everything underway in a short time, plus finance/accounting is not second nature for me. Now that I'm three months in, I'm starting to understand it better. Some of the reports could be improved. It would be nice to have the budget analysis report a bit larger for readability.

Reasons for choosing ChurchTrac

When I looked at Tithe.ly, I didn't realize that ChurchTrac had the same capabilities for online giving. I truly only wanted one program for everything, so ChurchTrac made much more sense.

Response from ChurchTrac Software

Thanks for the feedback Deb! Don't hesitate to reach out to our support team if you do need any help with the features (especially accounting). Talk soon!

Replied August 2020

Jerrod

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2020

Great software at the best price.

Churchtrac has helped us keep track of members much easier - including birthdays, addresses, and phone numbers. All of the person's information is in one place (we used to keep it on a spreadsheet). The accounting and giving records part fits our church better than quickbooks, since we are a smaller church.

Pros

I did a lot of research before choosing a solution for our church. Churchtrac had by far the most options included for the price. And their price is at least half of most companies. The monthly subscription includes not only management tools for people, but also accounting as well (which is a huge bonus). We also were able to create printed church directories for people in our church (and can reprint them at any time through the software). We moved our financials into churchtrac, and it is proving to be a great option as well, We are a smaller church, but the software and service have been great. Highly recommend giving them a try. You won't find a better price around - and you won't sacrifice quality for what you get.

Cons

Most of the help is through tutorials, or through videos. It is hard to talk to a live person. But they respond very quickly to any questions, and will schedule a phone call if needed. My bookkeeper is taking a little time to adjust from Quickbooks to this software, as it runs a little differently.

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise

Reasons for choosing ChurchTrac

Features compared to cost was much better than any other solution. And I had experience with their free product years ago and had a good experience with this company.

Response from ChurchTrac Software

Thanks for the kind words Jerrod. We're always working hard to improve our software and keep it at a price point that's actually affordable for smaller ministries. Reach out to us anytime we can be of assistance!

Replied April 2020

Megan

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2019

Perfect Church Management Software

I've been able to do everything I've been asked. We are using Quickbooks for our gov't-required accounting, but for the day-to-day bookkeeping, ChurchTrac even handles that! I especially love how it intgrates giving with bookkeeping so well.

Pros

ChurchTrac integrates everything I could possibly need for all aspects of church administration: people tracking, attendance, giving, receipting, income, expenses, processes, follow up, tracking screening, messaging (email & text), people reports, budget tracking & reporting, online directory (I print only as needed now), congregational access to their own giving record & contact information, ... the list goes on. I haven't found any other software that does as much as ChurchTrac. I recommend it to everyone. The price is also outstanding for what you get. Can't find anything more reasonably priced!

Cons

Would love to be able to sort people on the people screen by membership status & attendance, and would love to see individual attendance on the people screen. Giving vs. Attendance is also a report that is requested often, but I haven't figured out how to easily do that.

Reasons for choosing ChurchTrac

Price & features.

Reasons for switching to ChurchTrac

I needed something online (so I could access it on the run, and have multiple users), and reasonably priced -- we're a small town church with a very tight budget. ChurchTrac is amazing for us!

Response from ChurchTrac Software

Hi Megan, Merry Christmas!!! It's awesome to see that you are finding so much usefulness out of our ministry tool. I have taken your suggestions about the sorting and report to our Development Team to further explore. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us if you have any questions at all!!!

Replied December 2019

Corrine

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

Great Church Management System Option

ChurchTrac has and continues to be capable of everything we needed and most of what we want. ChurchTrac's navigation is fairly straightforward, which is great, and their support posts tend to be helpful for everything that's not straightforward. ChurchTrac is capable of more than what we are using it for - which equates to some good goals for us to move towards things we COULD be doing. Customer service has been efficient when it is needed as well.

Pros

-Compared to what we were using, ChurchTrac is much easier to use! -The ease of getting new users familiar with the basics -Ability to personalize quite a few reports and exports for multiple uses -Overall ability to edit and find information -Customer support is rather efficient and helpful

Cons

-Some things really need some digging to find, but they can be found -Some personalizing would/has require an outside coding expert, but that is to be expected with what ChurchTrac is (want to make it so your child check-in is fool proof? you might need a coding expert) -Wish it integrated MORE with services like MailChimp (more than exporting to MailChimp), but ChurchTrac is transparent in what it does. This isn't unexpected.

Reasons for choosing ChurchTrac

The overall startup costs for RockRMS really made the decision for our church. We felt that both ChurchTrac and RockRMS would do what we needed and most of what we wanted (Rock can do everything you want if you have access to a coding expert), and at the end of the day the ease and lower cost of setup with ChurchTrac won us over. Otherwise we felt we were comparing apples and oranges, both great fruits but so different that it's hard to compare them. There's a reason RockRMS is unique, and a great option.

Reasons for switching to ChurchTrac

ChurchPro, or at least the version we were using, was chunky and hard to use for the average user. Their business model also made it difficult to get customer support without paying, and since it was hard to use this was a huge con for us. Only the staff members who had to use it were using it, that's not the intent of a church management system. Half the information was outdated since it was so rarely used. It did what was needed.

George

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2019

Great Church Membership Software

I have been able to do keep up the information, set up records, print reports, communicate with members, print out yearly contribution reports, etc. I do not have a church secretary to take care of this information for me so I have to do it myself. I love having this software. To be totally frank, it offers much more than I am able to utilize. My goal is to learn even more of what it provides and enjoy additional benefits.

Pros

I am a pastor of a small church and had never been able to afford the "big church software" products. When I discovered ChurchTrac I found a great treasure of opportunities at a very affordable price. First of all, the product is simple to use. As with all programs it takes time to set up the membership information but after that it is very easy to keep the information up to date. The home screen shows the names and dates of those who are having birthdays soon. The People Screen is easy to use, allowing you to see member information. It is very easy to edit the information as needed. From the People Screen you can click on the Tab for Messaging. For a very reasonable price, I am able to select a small group, active members, everyone listed, etc. and then send up to a one minute recorded message. This has been a huge blessing for our church. I record the message and it is immediately sent out to those selected. I can remind them of upcoming events, things they need to remember, etc. The Attendance Screen is great. I can print out dated roll sheets for Sunday School, missions groups, Worship Service, etc. You are even able to allow members to check in via a tablet or touch screen monitor. This incredible software even includes an accounting screen and payroll. I use ChurchTrac online and can access it easily from any computer, smart phone, or tablet! The cost depends on the size of the congregation. We could afford it even as a small church! Check it out!

Cons

My preference has always been to call for tech support when I have an issue. ChurchTrac does not offer tech support by phone initially. You must send and email with a description of the problem and wait until they respond. I have utilized this free service several times. I always get a response and the information I need.

Roy

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2019

Easy to use and Economical Church Membership Software

In my opinion, at this time, ChurchTrac is the best replacement program for my old computer based system. With the cloud based program I can let other Church leaders have access to the information and improve our ministry to our members. I'm a Deacon and this program really can help us with our Deacon Family Ministry Plan. The cost is really great also. We're not a large church and finances are always a concern. Another feature I think will be advantageous is having our data in the cloud. I won't have to worry about keeping the system backed-up. I searched and reviewed several other programs before deciding on ChurchTrac. In my opinion, this is the best program for the money.

Pros

I liked most the ease of learning the software. I took time to enter all of our Church members into the trial version of the database because I wanted to learn the software. By the time I had entered all names (about 200) I was amazed just how much I had learned to navigate the database. I ran all types of reports, tried everything that I thought I would use and I was very happy with the results. I also communicated with customer support and their response was excellent. I won't be using all of the features in the beginning but it's nice to have those extras in case I need them in the future. I also liked the Archive feature. This allows me to place those members who haven't been to Church in many years or have joined another Church (and did not communicate that to us) in a separate area. This helps keep our membership roll clutter free. The capability of bringing these archived members back into the database is extremely important. Their data is still in the system and if we ever bring them back on the Church roll, it's just a matter of updating their information. One more like. The price is excellent. I'm purchasing this software for our Church from my own monies. I have kept the membership roll for many years on an old computer based program. The person that wrote that software is no longer updating the program so I'm sure it will fail to operate in the future as technology changes. Thank you ChurchTrac for an economical database to keep up with Church membership.

Cons

There were a few features that I got used to in the old computer based program that I was using, that was either not possible with ChurchTrac or difficult to make happen. One was a neat little directory of members (5" x 8 1/2" when printed and the paper cut in half). This was the perfect size to fit in your Bible or purse. All our members liked the size. However since playing with the reports on ChurchTrac and communicating with the support team, I have finally figured out how to print a report that is exactly that size. It's a little more work than my old program but, the result is the same. Another feature that is lacking (in my opinion) is the numbering of the pages of the reports. This is very handy when your print the reports that are multiple pages and are assembling them. I think each report should have page numbers. One more dislike. I think all reports should have the total number of members, on that report, at the end of the report. Say, on the last page at the bottom. This would help greatly when someone asks for a total.

Jeremy

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 6 months

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

November 2016

ChurchTrac Online - good value for money, not perfect but does most of what you need to do

We switched to this software from PowerChurch, which is old and outdated. The difference was huge. Compared to outdated software like that, this software is very easy and enjoyable to work with. However, I also tried out Breeze, which is significantly better than ChurchTrac from what I could see. Their pricing is a flat rate, however, so for a small church like ours ChurchTrac provided more value.

Pros

1) Very easy to use 2) A good amount of functionality 3) Above all, the price is better than other online options I found 4) Mobile website works quite well - the online functionality is a big plus for any church who is not already using an online database

Cons

I have not had the best experience with their support people. Getting our database integrated into ChurchTrac was a bit of a hassle, it took us a while to do as we are a smaller church without a ton of staff resources to dedicate to this. We were constantly losing access to the database because our free trial had ended and it was time to pay for a software that we weren't even sure we would use. They did always extend our trial but it was a hassle and I felt like we were under the gun for taking so long. The biggest thing was that at one point the support person made a significant mistake in what she communicated to me, and rather than apologizing for that mistake, she told me it would cost our church a fee to re-import the database. Eventually that charge was waived, but there was never any admission of that mistake or apology at all. The software is also not very customizable for some features. In order to print tax receipts that look official and properly formatted, our accountant is having to download csv files and merge them together in Word. Similarly the calendar isn't very usable, because you can't sync it with your mobile calendar app. To use the calendar on mobile you'd have to log in to the mobile website, which is a lot of extra steps for a common task. Instead we are using google calendars so that we can sync all of our calendars together and use our mobile calendar apps, and then we are syncing those calendars one way with the church trac calendar, and then printing it from Microsoft Outlook, cause that's the only software that seems capable of printing a readable calendar. This all took a lot of time to set up. But now it is working very nicely. There should be a mobile app. I'm not usually one to use apps for something that can be done in a browser, but it would be nice to not have to constantly log in on your phone. An app could just stay logged in so that access is much quicker. I'm not sure if other database software like Breeze offers this option though.

Don

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2020

Very Satisfied

Very pleased. And it saves us a lot of money. Our old computer based system from another company charged us an annual fee much higher than Churchtrac, and then every couple years required us to pay for an “upgraded version”, at a cost of around $350.00. Since Churchtrac is web based, there are no upgrades required. In addition to its “people tracking” system (addresses, phone, membership level, etc), it really simplified our “giving” tracking system, which is also included in the basic package. We have not used their upgraded “Plus Plan” as of yet (worship planning, scheduling, Accounting & Budgeting) so I cant speak to those features.

Pros

Initially it was the cost savings. They are very reasonable and based on your congregation size which really helps smaller churches. Plus it is web based. Our older system, from a different company, was stored on our server. When it crashed we were unable to retrieve the data. This system has no need for a server. Lastly their tech support is included and has been very responsive. Very impressed.

Cons

We gave it a slightly lower rating on “Ease of Deployment”. The nice thing about Churchtrac is also it’s most challenging. It has a lot of useful features, but they take a little time to figure how to use them all. I’m sure someone who is more tech literate and who uses the varied features more regularly would have no problem.

Reasons for choosing ChurchTrac

Same as above.

Reasons for switching to ChurchTrac

Cost savings and we like Churchtrac’s web based feature.

Response from ChurchTrac Software

Thanks for the kind words Don! ChurchTrac does have a LOT of features...but you will be a pro in no time at all. As you continue to learn how to navigate through everything, don't hesitate to reach out for any help. Talk soon!

Replied October 2020

JoEllyn

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2021

Great product, price, customer support

Pros

The price is what initially drove me to ChurchTrac as a CRM since it is tiered and comparatively inexpensive. It does much of what I need. One of the things that has kept me with it is the amazing customer support -- usually have an answer within an hour. It integrates seamlessly with MailChimp and they keep developing it more and more with user feedback. The other major benefit of the software is that giving, scheduling, and database are all in one place so once people access it, they can access everything. Online giving is easy via ChurchTrac and the costs are lower than the alternative.

Cons

It is a little bit clunky in some aspects. One of my least favorite is that when you are creating an event to schedule people to serve, like weekly Sunday services, you have to create each one individually. While you can use a template, you still have to enter every single Sunday. For a church scheduling software, it seems like it should be a no-brainer that you can create weekly meetings with the same roles each time so that all you have to do is assign people. Another critique I have is that some aspects are dated -- like automatically creating a formal greeting for a family to be "Mr. and Mrs. John Smith". Few people use that designation any more so I have to go in and change it for each family I enter.

Reasons for choosing ChurchTrac

Value was the initial driver but the customer service and lower cost for donating online has kept us.

Response from ChurchTrac Software

Thank you for the kind words JoEllyn! We do have templates that store all the roles and everything for each service. Planning each service like that should be really quick. Schedule a phone call when you get a chance so we can work on this together :-)

Replied January 2021

Showing 1 - 25 of 579 reviews