What are Coupa Business Spend Management users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using Coupa Business Spend Management software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.11

35 Reviews

5
14
4
16
3
2
2
1
1
2
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer Support

out of 5
3.5

Value for money

out of 5
3.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"Coupa is a reliable software, with good security measures. It has different funcionalities, such as receiving POs, sending invoices, etc."
  • icon"I have to log in to other's such as (not real names) Aribah and VendorCalfA and they both suc. Coupa is so easy for vendors, 2 easy steps."
  • icon"Coupa’s ability to take inputs in any form (question, statement, text, numeric, percentages, etc) and track and compare them is incredibly useful for the bidding process."
  • icon"If an invoice is disputed, it is hard to delete it."
  • icon"Specifically, we are struggling with the supplier integration and though we have weekly calls, we are still having problems."
  • icon"Implementation can be painful depending on which route you go."

Jump to:

Browse all Coupa Business Spend Management Reviews

  • Have you used Coupa Business Spend Management and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 35 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 35 reviews

User Profile

Garth

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2020

Things to be aware of for new users

Overall my experience has been fantastic! I am beginning to get reporting at a detailed level that I've never had, I enjoy the audit trails and Audit oversights

Pros

Super powerful package. We have a Procurement module, SIM (Supplier Information management), Sourcing, AI. This is an extremely powerful and well-orchestrated product. We had a very knowledgeable implementation team from Coupa which to really great job discovering on identifying what we needed due for the setup. We've been using this product now for about 4 months and now implementing a second affiliate company without much assistance from Coupa and it's going pretty well.

Cons

Beware that systems integration is much more complex than anyone tells you it is. Its been four months since go-live, And we are still having problems with integrating to oracle. Some may read this review think that this is a problem with the implementer, some of it may be. Specifically, we are struggling with the supplier integration and though we have weekly calls, we are still having problems. So just wanted to be aware we were made to believe that Integrating was done all the time and has never been a problem

Reasons for choosing Coupa Business Spend Management

Coupa is more functional. It is the most expensive of the solutions we looked at, though it is much more flexible, easier to design and more user friendly

Reasons for switching to Coupa Business Spend Management

SAP though there is a procurement module, it is extremely inadequate for business. The pricing is certainly there for SAP it's quite a bit less money than Coupa, I guess this is an example you get what you pay for

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

May 2019

Bolt-On to NetSuite

Our business added it as a bolt-on to NetSuite, and a large selling point was the Sourcing package. Even though we cannot use the Sourcing module as it is, it has benefits of keeping the invoices and POs tied together and integrates well with NetSuite

Pros

The mobile app is very convenient for our PMs in the field that need to review and approve POs and invoices remotely

Cons

the Sourcing module is far to restrictive and cumbersome - it makes it harder for our vendors to submit quotes and there is now way for them to add options/alternatives to what we have asked them to quote

David

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
1

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
1

Functionality

out of 5

October 2019

Coupa is the worst software I have ever used

Pros

Absolutely nothing. The software is the least institutive, user friendly I have ever used.

Cons

Regardless of whether I am using expenses, requisitions or invoices, I have never been able to submit or save anything without having to get the finance team to perform magic in the background. The end user typically gets an error message "Please fix the errors below", but there are never any highlighted fields or errors displayed.

Shivam

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2020

Good Tool to Manage Purchase Orders

Overall experience has been good. The vendor receives the purchase order once approved via email. Once the service has been received attaching the invoice and the closure procedure is easy as well.

Pros

I have been using Coupa for 2+ years. Mainly use it to create Purchase Orders to vendors. Receive invoices from suppliers. The software has an inbuilt approval process to route Purchase Orders, vendor master service agreements. The software can be synced with Microsoft office which allows you to get notifications when a request is new your queue or the Purchase Order has been approved or denied. It also allows you to run queries to tabulate budgetary expenses and track historical expenditure. Creating a Purchase Requisition is fairly easy and straightforward.

Cons

Coupa is very useful and easy to navigate but requires training to become proficient in the application. Suggestion is to create job aids/ training procedures which can be used as a reference guideline whenever needed specially for personnel not using the application too often.

Lynne

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5

July 2009

Coupa's e-Procurement Solution Helps Students in Need

I highly recommend Coupa as an e-Procurement solution. Once you get the hang of it, it's really quite easy. And, once you do, your organization's work flow will be enhanced forever. The most amazing part is to be able to take immediate advantage of Coupa's incredible new features, such as iRequest. Coupa is not a static company, and they are constantly updating features. Coupa's team provides personalized service and lots of 'hand-holding'. They listen well to our needs. And, our students in need in the Washington, D.C. area are better served as a result Coupa has helped transformed us into a 21st century organization with streamlined operations that enable us to stretch our donor dollars and help more students in need.

Pros

Neediest Kids is a nonprofit organization that works with 8 area school systems in the Greater Washington, D.C. area. We provide emergency funds to these school systems to purchase the basics - new clothes, school supplies, medical or dental care, eye exams and glasses, and more - so students (K-12) can stay in school and thrive. Coupa's system has moved Neediest Kids from a traditional paper-based system of authorizations and receipts with school professionals spending their own time to shop for items for their students in need. We operate now through a web-based process of issuing POs that go directly to vendors with products shipped directly to school professionals. Thus, we have efficient purchasing, streamlined requests to vendors, real-time product and budget tracking, invoice reconciliation, and more. It's fast...it's internet fast!

Cons

There are always a few tweaks that could happen here and there, but we get 95% of what we need!

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2019

Coupa is a versatile platform for procurement as well as billing

This system works well and eliminates a lot of manual entry on the AP department.

Pros

You can make it as formal or informal as you want. billing off of a PO is very simple

Cons

sometimes the servers speed is an issue. it can take up to several minutes to process a single record.

Marsha

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time used: Less than 6 months

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2016

We should have done this years ago!

Our company was stuck in an antiquated paper-based system of tracking indirect spend. Originally it was fine, as managers were able to keep up with their approving responsibilities. As time went on and the company grew, managers backed off of this responsibility and invoices were coming in without any purchase orders, let alone signed ones. Time for a change. I researched many indirect spend, procure-to-pay software systems until we decided on Coupa. We are very happy with the program. Not only does it put the responsibilities back on the requestors and the approvers, we have opened up more time for our Accounts Payable Clerk to handle other meaningful tasks.

Pros

Ease of use; supplier portal

Cons

Currently the phone application does not allow a user to create a requisition

User Profile

Tawanda

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Supply chain solution that actually works

It has been a refreshing experience considering we were moving from a manual system. Procurement process has never been any simpler. I like that I can place my requisitions anytime and from anywhere! That I can track the approval flow is also a plus for Coupa

Pros

Its flexible and has great availability Took lesser time to understand and get to using Mobile support is a good thing Customer support is great

Cons

I cant seem to be able to edit items from a copied requistion when its a product already in the system catalog; thats a no brainier really

Anonymous

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2018

All purchases are placed through this system to deliver to accounting

Pros

The Simplicity of entering items to be approved. The different areas are very self explanatory and it is easy to navigate through.

Cons

Repetitiveness of entering information or submitting something. After entering all the information on one page it makes you re-approve on the next page. When adding another line to the items in cart, it makes you completely re-enter all information which is frustrating when the items are linked but may just be different in price.

Erika

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2020

Comprehensive and easy to use

Overall, Coupa makes the RFx process faster, easier, and more objective, thus yielding better results.

Pros

Coupa’s ability to take inputs in any form (question, statement, text, numeric, percentages, etc) and track and compare them is incredibly useful for the bidding process.

Cons

Having to delete a bid or item field, without the ability to edit them in the template, is more cumbersome than necessary.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

February 2018

Most modern platform with some downfalls

Pros

Modern and simple platform that blows most competition out of the water. Frequent releases and a good portal for customer suggestions and knowledge forums. Handles complex workflows and hierarchies relatively well.

Cons

Their "super" search bar is terrible. Like, the worst search bar I've ever used. No matter how well we tagged items, it would never find them. It was basically useless. Thankfully our users primarily use punch-out catalog. They also don't support IF/THEN statements in much of the platform. That makes certain workflows impossible or extremely tedious.

Sean

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2019

Coupa Review

Great software for the end user and supplies but not for the admins.

Pros

It is very easy for the end user and supplier to submit invoices. Suppliers are able to track the invoice process and payments. Helps reduce the time spent communicating with suppliers.

Cons

Making changes are not easy. Adding custom fields and changing approval chains have not been easy to adjust.

Reasons for switching to Coupa Business Spend Management

More functionality and cheaper.

siva

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2018

Intuitive and stream lined invoice automation

Pros

With Coupa invoicing, your Account payables can handle less paper, reduce errors and decrease the invoice processing times drastically.With Coupa Invoicing, electronic invoices flow into the system from the suppliers, are automatically matched to a PO or contract (two-way or three-way matching), channeled for approval, and then routed for payment. The entire automated invoicing process is electronic for 100% accuracy. With Coupa invoicing one can Strengthen supplier relationships, use resources more effectively, capture early payment discounts, increase compliance, and reduce business risk. Suppliers will love Coupa, because they can monitor the status of their invoice online via a self service portal. There are multiple ways invoices will be processed in Coupa invoicing Viz via supplier portal, Emailed invoices to Accounts Payables etc. Coupa invoicing has automated invoice matching and tolerances capability, supplier actionable notifications, mobile friendly app.

Cons

Coupa cannot handle accounting. It needs to be integrated with an accounting software or Enterprise Resource Planning tool.

Joshua

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2020

Review of Coupa Procurement

I've used Coupa for close to 5 years now. While the product provides a good value to it's primary functionality, the product lacks a level of polish to it. The navigation and processes to do specific steps feel clunky and not very smooth. I've looked for things only to ask Accounting where something is at because I simply can't find what I'm looking for. While overall an ok to good piece of software there are pieces of it that make it time consuming to use and because of that I only use it when I absolutely have to.

Pros

Pros of Coupa: - Allows process and systems to work through large purchases - Helps better keep track of the purchases needed for the company (whether they be large or small) - Ties the purchases to a PO for Accounting and Finance teams to keep track of.

Cons

Cons of Coupa: - The usability of the product isn't polished. You can't find a submitted request easily to see who has the next step in the approval process - It's difficult to search for created items in Coupa - You end up searching for large amounts of time to do things in the product you need to complete but are not quite sure where those things you need to do are at.

Jessica

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2018

Does what it needs to

Pros

That i can use the punchouts to directly order rom stores that link to it. It makes it way easier and takes away other steps for me

Cons

It's hard to search, right now i can't search to find items i have approved other than the administrator.

John

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

January 2018

Modern portal with some caveats

Pros

Modern look and feel. Constantly updating the product. Lots of functionality related to end-to-end procurement. Some promising features in the upcoming road map.

Cons

Rigid rules and hierarchy structure. No conditional logic support. Vendor overpromises, underdelivers. Universal search bar is terrible.

Ciedelle

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2020

Coupa makes business purchasing easy

I am satisfied with how coupa is used for B2B purchases and how most vendors is easily found when issuing the PO.

Pros

I like how helpful the global search is and how integrated it is with specific punchout, also how easy it is to track and receive orders.

Cons

Copying an order should allow punchout specific items to be automatically added to the requisition.

Brook

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2018

Just implementing this new system- it's nice to have a purchase to pay software.

Being able to Purchase and pay out of one system. Instead of using two systems that don't talk to each other.

Pros

The Customer Support has been wonderful so far. They always get answers right back to you and walk us through suggested options to try. Every time we have any kind of question they know the answer right away. There is never a wait time.

Cons

It hasn't been the most intuitive. Hence, why we use the Customer Support so often. I wish it was a little more user friendly.

Andrew

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2018

Spend Management made amazing, and visible, and in control.

Pros

It makes it so easy to get approvals and keep track of our current contractors. The value in time saved is more than enough to justify switching over to Coupa. Having a user oriented platform just makes the system work much quicker than it did with our previous platform.

Cons

Implementation can take some extra hours, and sometimes customer service tickets require a lot more explanation and follow up than I wanted to invest.

Samantha

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

June 2018

Invoicing for railroad

Pros

It is easy to search for previously entered invoices using our invoice number. It shows the status of an invoice

Cons

If an invoice is disputed, it is hard to delete it. We have also submitted invoices for approval and the approver never received.

Empiria

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: GetApp

March 2014

A quick and easy way for me to manage travel expenses!

TripScanner has been an excellent way for me to help manage my company's travel expenses and policies. I've been using TripScanner for a few months and am impressed by the comprehensive reporting and ease of use. I previously had some issues with high travel costs caused by employees not adhering to our policies, but now I receive real time alerts if they go out of policy and can correct the situation immediately. Also with the Low-Price Scanner feature we have been able to spot deals and save money on hotels.

Pros

Quick and easy to setup. Real time reporting. Very easy for my employees to use.

Scott

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5

April 2016

Best in Breed

Easily one of the most user friendly P2P systems on the market. If you're looking for high adoption rates from your user group, this is the tool for you. The platform is highly, yet easily configurable regardless of the industry you're in (Grocery Retail for me). Majority of the configuration is done through CSV files by the on-site Admin so there's little downtime in waiting for your off-site service provider to add items, build vendors, perform system maintenance. Con is that you need a stable ERP to really take advantage of all of the functions.

Darrel

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5

July 2009

St Louis Archdiocese

I would strongly recommend including Coupa when you evaluate e-procurement systems for your organization.

Pros

Coupa has helped to transform the St Louis Archdiocese to a more streamlined process. The Coupa tool is easy to use, streamlines the procurement process and eliminates the paper flow that was slowing down invoice payment.Coupa was also easy to implement when compare to other e-procurement tools.

Cons

No cons to report. Coupa has exceeded our expectations.

Charles

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5

July 2009

Implementation of COUPA in Biotech Environment

Worth the money for the amount of time and energy that this system saves any small to medium sized organization.

Pros

Very helpful in small dynamic start-up environment. Alleviates headaches of ordering, receiving, and AP. Scientists can concentrate on their labwork instead of worrying about whether something has been ordered. Easy to use. Customer Service is quick and helpful.

Cons

System could be more customizable

Bill

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

April 2020

Limited support for Suppliers

Fair. If Coupa would assist the supplier more it would help their customers in implementing some of the solutions (cXML, Flat File, etc.)

Pros

Fairly easy to use. Not very complicated.

Cons

From the Supplier portal perspective there is not much functionality. The only support mechanism is via Chat. The techs seemed to be limited in knowledge to what is just on the Supplier Portal. Any questions related to how to assist our 'mutual' customer they can not answer and state you need to contact customer. Some customers do not have the technical capability to assist a supplier thus making enhancements to the supplier/customer relationship difficult. Customers seem to not get a very good response time from Customer Portal techs which exacerbates the issue.

Showing 1 - 25 of 35 reviews
Coupa Business Spend Management

Coupa Business Spend Management

4.11/5 out of 35 reviews
PriceWatch Demo