All Datarails Reviews

1-25 of 70 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Bobby

Verified reviewer

Hospital & Health Care, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2023

Datarails is a great time saver

I love datarails. The implementation team was fantastic and I haven't found anything lacking. We even asked for some functionality to be added to our implementation team, and a few months later they rolled it out as a feature for all users to enjoy.

PROS

Datarails integrates into our accounting system and we upload our operational data via Excel so we can see our whole workspace in 1 place - the best part is the ad-hoc reporting ability in native Excel.

CONS

The dynamic ranges we use are massive and can bog down Excel so we had to upgrade our computers......pretty sure this is an Excel issue vs a Data Rails issue though.

User Profile

Craig

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2022

DataRails Review by Craig Morrow

My experience with DataRails has been first class. I have assisted with a seamless integration for Budgeting purposes and have now rolled out the solution for month end reporting. In both scenario's I have been able to reduce the time required for completion by around 40%. I particularly like the approach of having the Customer Success Manager driving the implementation and having the single point of contact through the customer journey.

PROS

The ease in which the product was to learn and become and expert in. The functionality within the solution is exactly what any FP&A professional should be looking for in a solution. The implementation was extremely efficient as you start to build out real life business processes from the outset which mean you get a return on investment from day 1.

CONS

When deciding to partner with DataRails I was fully aware that they are at the beginning of solution development journey. However, DataRails are always keen to receive feedback on possible suggestions for improvement and are continuously developing and releasing improved functionality.

Reason for choosing Datarails

Implementation timescales, project milestones, cultural/company size growth alignment. Ease of use and value for money.

Justin

Oil & Energy, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2024

Datarails Review

PROS

I enjoyed the flexibility to integrate excel files into the dashboards that were not DR widgets or formulas

CONS

I think there are some rough around edge features that could be tweaked for quality of life, but nothing that is breaking anything. Mainly centered around more options in the widgets and dashboards

Madison

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2024

Datarails Review

PROS

I like the ability to create and store multiple different reports in one platform that is easily accessible. With the number of reports our team produces it is beneficial to report out of one place.

CONS

There are limitations to the types of dashboards we need to create in the system. Some files we are unable to aggregate because of the data type which is crucial to a number of our reports. The file mapping can sometimes get confusing when there are additional columns that have been added and we need to reconfigure the mapping, but our historical data does not have the exact same data, it has caused issues in the past.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2024

Datarails has become an integral part of our management reporting framework

The Datarails product and support team have been very good to work with. The product has automated several very manual processes that save us time and deliver actionable information more quickly.

PROS

Seamless integration with key business applications; strong reporting and dashboarding capabilities; integrates well with Excel to allow for next-level data manipulation and analysis.

CONS

Early in the implementation we discovered a limitation on the volume of data we could effectively pull into and analyze with Datarails. The implementation team helped us reconfigure some workflows, limit the data we needed to expose to Datarails, and we got to a good, workable solution.

Reason for choosing Datarails

Datarails' interface was more intuitive. Datarails was open to signing a business associates' agreement that allowed us to access our key operational data, which is protected health information.

Cynthia

Accounting, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2024

Datarails review

Excellent onboarding experience, customer service is amazing.

PROS

The ability to create a template in excel and then hand off the weekly creation to a lower cost resource.

CONS

We enjoyed the implementation process a great day. It was frustrating at some times, but mostly because we all had a learning curve (including our implementation specialist) with what we wanted to accomplish as a business and how to accomplish that.

daniel

Real Estate, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2024

Best FPA Tool on the market

great. Ari was amazing in implementation

PROS

flexibility with excel is key, i find it easy to use and scalable

CONS

integtration with sage is not perfect, requiring workaround

User Profile

Dustin

Verified reviewer

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2024

Good, but training could be better

PROS

The Excel implementation is great, but the ability to get efficient is labored.

CONS

The inability to know what type of user you are and what access you have. You may be trying to accomplish a task and looking for an option that you may not even have access to. Also, the confusion of File Boxes and Data Mapping and integrations and configurations is all jumbled. More concise direction would be appreciated.

Mark

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2023

Best FP&A Software

Fantastic! It has streamlined my workdays allowing me to focus on analysis instead of creating new reports.

PROS

Datarails has massively cut down on the time we spend assembling reports, updating our KPI's and financial reporting package is streamlined with the ability to refresh data in Excel, in addition version control is a thing of the past as we are easily able to keep track of what data we upload and when files were changed. The dashboards and widgets allow for quick and easy visualization of our data that we distribute across our locations for managers to use. Datarails continues to develop the software adding new features at a regular cadence.

CONS

There is not much I have run into that I dislike about the software, in the beginning some of the formula writing in setting up custom columns was difficult but the release of Datarails University with all the tutorials solved many of the issues of needing a refresher on how to do certain things in the software.

Quentin

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

Experience with Datarail

PROS

I like the flexibility and how intuitive the platform is Datarail. I only had great experience working with their support team and they answered in a timely manner every time I had questions.

CONS

I would love a datarail team who could recreate our financial package from our excel version into Datarail because that part can be very time consuming.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Best financial tool out there, dependable and accurate

DataRails has substantially improved the accuracy of our budgeting and forecasting. I love the ease of it, how accessible it makes our numbers, and how simple it is to follow real-time statuses. With DataRails we know our figures are accurate and up to date, which is precisely what we need from the numbers we base important decisions on.

PROS

-There are many ways to manipulate and look at your data -Drill downs are amazing. Can look at the smallest of variables. -Can work on both Excel and their Insights feature depending on what I want -Easy to use -Easy to connect with our ERP system

CONS

Sometimes it was buggy when logging out. Other than that I can't think of any other notable cons, it really is a great system.

Reason for choosing Datarails

I didn't want to stop using Excels or migrate our information elsewhere.

Vendor Response

Companies that use DataRails don't need to migrate from excel, which is why choosing DataRails doesn't require making any changes to internal workflows. As you pointed out, noticing the smallest variables is what we believe is key to accurate, flexible and efficient reporting.

Replied December 2021

MATTHEW

Security and Investigations, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

Great product

Really good, would recommend............

PROS

Ease of implementation, cost effective, great support, new features added

CONS

getting used to DR formulae as a typical Excel user. Would be great if i could copy paste excel formulae into DR and it could translate to DR formulae.

Garry

Biotechnology, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2024

Datarails Review

PROS

the support we Receive. [sensitive content hidden] is the best

CONS

the Storyboards do not work well with Powerpoint

Shelly

Farming, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

Tons of Features

PROS

The customer service has been oustanding from the beginning. The platform is completely customizable.

CONS

There is a lot to learn, because it's a rich environment. But there is plenty of support to help you figure it out.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review Shelly!

Replied August 2023

Michael

Environmental Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2024

Experience with DataRails

The overall experience with DataRails has been positive, but the company seems more interested with automating as much as possible rather than in teaching and empowering customers to become super users of the software.

PROS

Once set up, DataRails is an effective tool to manage our regular as well as ad hoc financial reporting. It has saved time in constructing standard reports, thus freeing up time for deeper analysis.

CONS

The process of setting up the environment can be tedious and confusing. Troubleshooting errors can be time consuming, particularly if your inputs are larger files (Any change to the Data Mapper needs to process to all files within a File Box) or if you have multiple inputs with different mappers (When input files are not uniform in structure, attempting to construct uniform mappers across inputs can be maddening). There is no readily available resource that can thoroughly or effectively explain the flow of data or how to construct a Data Mapper to specific needs.

Reasons for switching to Datarails

The switch preceded my time at Keter so I cannot say why the switch was made.

Nicholas

Automotive, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2024

Fantastic and Flexible Reporting Software

Our setup and integration was extremely easy and fast. I was the dedicated builder and PM for the implementation for a 200+ store retails company and we were able to sync, validate and build out of data in just under 7 weeks. We've only had a few system hiccups along the way that Datarails has fixed or addressed with reasonably speed. We've been very happy with the decision to work with Datarails and foresee that that feeling will remain for a long time to come.

PROS

Datarails' direct integration with Excel has allowed our team to pick up using the system very quickly. It gives us the flexibility of Excel without having to worry about massive data tables or SQL pulls to get the data to represent in a proper manner. Datarails is constantly improving and they continue to work with their customers to advance their software and address needs. The sky is the limit for cuts of data that Datarails can provide, and with nearly constant improvement over our now two years of use, our satisfaction with the software grows with each passing month.

CONS

It's strength with Excel is also it's weakness. Reports are only as good as the logic that is layered into Excel, so it necessitates numerous data checks to ensure that our numbers are accurate. Fortunately, Datarails makes those overall checks simple. I really want to love the Dashboards and Storybook functions, but the overall functionality of their graphing does need some improvement. Their dashboard have a really amazing variance analysis tool, but it needs updating and resources to be fully fleshed out and used as intended.

Reason for choosing Datarails

Datarails is far more flexible and its ability to seamlessly integrate with a very old ERP system is unmatched. We also felt that the bells and whistles of the other systems were very expensive and more flashy than practically useful.

Reasons for switching to Datarails

Management Reporter (not listed) simply did not have the tools to produce the reports that we needed. Datarails has actually filled a number of holes within our accounting software, as the lookup tables have allowed to create dimensions that would be VERY difficult to manage within the ERP itself. It has taken our financial reporting from the Dark Ages and very much been a proven resource for both internal and external reporting.

John

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

CEO-friendly FP&A tool

The company's support and new feature rollout cadence is fantastic. They are very much innovating and doing all the right things. Very bullish on them!

PROS

The dashboard and visualizations are the best part of Datarails. Our finance team can readily create the visualizations on our data that I can benefit the most from. Deltas and variances jump out at you, trendlines are clear, and the data reporting capabilities really are in a class by themselves.

CONS

Like any FP&A tool, it starts out slow. Your team has to learn how to leverage the tool and work with data that is originating outside of financial systems. It's taken us well over a year to get to the point where we're getting results and answers faster through Datarails than by manually creating a one-off report in Excel. The work has been worth it though, and it's just one of those inevitable aspects of leveling up your reporting and forecasting capabilities: it's not going to happen overnight or without a lot of training and validation work.

Reason for choosing Datarails

Datarails had month-to-month commitment options, while all the competitors wanted a 3-year contract lock-in. While the contract lock-in is understandable since it takes so much time and effort to launch any FP&A solution, what really sealed the deal was Datarails handled all their integrations in-house and the other vendors all outsourced their integration work to 3rd party vendors. This meant we had to get additional contracts and had extra costs associated with the other vendors that well exceeded our budget for FP&A.

LeeAnn

Sporting Goods, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING: