All Deltek Costpoint Reviews

1-25 of 208 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2017

Use daily reports work well

Just in time reporting

PROS

It combines accounting and contracts. Easy to use and run reports and pull data from system. Love the real-time reporting

CONS

The contracts model needs more attention. It could be more robust. It is really not functional out of the box

Karen

Government Administration, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2017

I have used Costpoint for 8 years. I have been able to learn a lot.

Reporting, payroll, versatility, project reporting and capture, labor capture

PROS

I love the versatility of this software. It does so much and we can pull a lot of different information. It's very detailed in most areas and we can hold notes as well. Since I work in payroll, I think that the people and payroll modules are most useful for me.

CONS

I really don't like that we can not accrue a non-cash fringe. We have asked and asked for this feature and it has never been considered. All our employees accrue fringe non-cash to use towards benefits. I also don't like the way the employee garnishments are set up. Every time there is a change to a garnishment (such as the amount in a child support order), I have to stop the garnishment and set up a new one in order to preserve any history. It can be confusing for anyone else looking at someone's file. Also, the note field is to small, doesn't hold enough information for the order (like children or custodial parents) that used to be included in Costpoint 6. I was disappointed when this was removed.

Ruby

Banking, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2018

Deltek Review

It is an ok system overall but there needs to be a huge update to the system to compete with it's competitors. The strong point is that most government contractor are using Deltek Time and Attendance since it is engineered for this industry so people are more likely to get the HRIS system to integrate easily with timesheets.

PROS

The system has a pretty easy interface to enter in basic information such as personal information, checking, tax information, and updating benefits. The ESS system once setup, it is pretty great for the employees as they can choose benefits through open enrollment, update tax information and update their address information. The reporting is simple for standard reports and can be easily pulled in excel format so you are able to manipulate the spreadsheets.

CONS

The software is very outdated and has not been updated in several years. Other systems are light years ahead of this system as it looks like it is from the 1990's. The custom reporting is very clunky and hard to create any of these reports as there are many files to look into and no intelligent search functions. You can only pull the reports in excel format so there not other options such as CSV and PDF. The ESS section is also out of date and not very integrative to the HRIS system. The setup for benefits, tax and validations tables in the back end of the system is hard to recognize and makes it harder for complete setup. There is ACA integration as well and it makes it hard that you have to click on separate sections of the screen to look at information rather than clicking one repository to reach all of the information.

Robert

Aviation & Aerospace, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2017

This Software is a must have for any Gov't Contractor that wants to do business in this space

PROS

The application is very powerful and very flexible which allows you to set things up for your business as simply or as complex as you would like. The ability to enter everything only once and capture all the data needed to properly allocate all of your Fringe / Overhead / G&A or Material & Handling Cost Pools is critical to being able to prepare DCAA / DCMA compliant Invoices, DCAA Disclosure Statements and Incurred Cost Submissions. Every module that you add on automatically links with the existing Accounting data so no extra steps are needed to get different modules to talk to one another.

CONS

Not always easy to tell if or when a patch is needed to update a specific module. Don't really know anything is needed until you run into an error message. Sometimes it is hard to update or patch just the application that is giving you problems because fixes can cover more then one application.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2018

Simple software everyone understands

Deltek helps us take care of our timesheets in short order, with very helpful search and report functions to boot.

PROS

I always like how easy it is to use. I create favorites so I don't even have to search for the right codes - they're just right there. And the web pages load very quickly on our awful work computers!

CONS

Depending on how your company set it up, it can be confusing to find your codes initially... but all they have to do is give them to you and then it's super easy.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed March 2024

Any review above 1 star is suspect

PROS

Nothing I can think of. The only reason to use Costpoint is when a company I'm employed with forces me to use it.

CONS

Outdated UI from 1995, no thought whatsoever about the user experience or flow, very unintuitive and clunky, the mobile app is even worse.

User Profile

Narasimhan (Nari)

Verified reviewer

Oil & Energy, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed August 2019

A simple concept is complicated and user time is wasted with Deltek

Stuck with it so obviously I am using it but I figured I would help other organizations make better choices for their employees.

PROS

It doesn't crash or freeze up, I have to give credit that their server connections and implementations are proper. So it doesnt crash during use, although logins sometimes get delayed due to some cookie issues.

CONS

Ah where do I start. No clear user interface set up method. It has a bunch of poorly worded menus and some other buttons and a whole lot of unnecessary "Query" buttons. For most users, the goal is select a charge code, pick the day of week, add the hours and save, At the end of week, they sign the sheet. Simple, right? But not, Deltek makes the whole process of actually finding the "timesheet" and adding a line to it pretty convoluted. Note I didnt say complicated because it is not. But a simple process is converted to a random goose chase through multiple menu locations, clicks, searches and then selections. Picking a project code yay.. click on random looking glass icon or square faded blue icons and search, leave codes -- search through layered menus and then figure out what to add. Use -ve and + signs on user side, because the geniuses that built this software couldn't figure it on their side.

Kent

Verified reviewer

Defense & Space, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2019

Deltek

PROS

Deltek Costpoint is a great software tool to manage parts, inventory, finances and cost reports. It is very easy to use if you are aware that the first priority of Costpoint is a financial tool. It is customizable to link to other software for ERP and MES solutions.

CONS

There is a dedicated support team, but for an enterprise solution there aren't many options for individual sites.

Randall

Verified reviewer

Defense & Space, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2018

Easy to use once you get the hang of it

Overall I think Deltek is a solid tool and I would not mind continuing to use the software, however I've worked at other places that have had better or at least more user-friendly timekeeping systems.

PROS

As a user, my only involvement with Deltek is entering my hours on a daily basis after work. It took some fiddling around but once I got the hang of it, it was pretty straight forward to log my data. The tool allows you to see how much holiday or PTO balance you have as well as allowing you to access your paystub. These were things that my company previously had as separate systems, so it's nice that they're all together now.

CONS

It was hard to familiarize myself with the tool at first as it seems all the basic functions for simply entering my time data is hidden under various levels of menus. I don't know if it's merely because of the way my company configured the tool, but I haven't figured out how to print things, especially my paystub. There is no option that I'm aware of for looking at my PTO history.

David

Government Administration, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2016

Work Smarter not Harder

The Costpoint enterprise suite allows a complete set of tools that can influence critical business decisions in a vertical business. What sets this software apart from others, is the tools available to customize the software using Extensibility.

PROS

ease of use and customization features

CONS

native application limitations out of the box.

Nabeel

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2017

CostPoint Review

Overall, if you are in the government contracting industry, CostPoint is as reliable as a software as any out there. With its wide acceptance across the industry, it is a extremely useful software to be familiar with.

PROS

CostPoint is an extremely powerful and a widely used accounting software. One of its best features is the ability to accommodate a diverse set of accounting and financial needs and the innate ability to run seamless interfaces with other Deltek products such as T&E and Cognos. It's relatively easy to use and can be picked up by most users quickly.

CONS

Costpoint lags behind its competitor in the innovation it offers it's users and customers. They software updates are infrequent and often do not result in any major updates and upgrades. There are also many areas of functionality within Costpoint that seem to be offer duplicity and could be improved.

Heather

Aviation & Aerospace, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2017

The system is very straight forward and easy to navigate.

It meets all my HR Technology needs.

PROS

From an HR standpoint, the system is very easy to use and well thought out. The reporting is easy to do for mandatory compliance. It makes our jobs easier. We just starting using the Talent Management last year for applicant tracking and onboarding. Once we go live with the integration from Talent Management to Costpoint, it will create efficiencies for HR and payroll departments.

CONS

Once some is entered and saved in someone's record. It can be hard to remove that person. There also seems to be a lot of hotfixes, but it does make the system better in the long run.

Jason

Management Consulting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2017

Ultimate GovCon Compliance

Deltek pushes this ERP solution to all Government Contractors now, no matter the size of the business. As a GovCon accounting/business system SME, I would not recommend this system to businesses with less than 100 FTE / 5M annual revenue.

PROS

The Costpoint ERP system is well integrated depending on the features/add-ons you purchase. It drives compliant practices if you've set it up correctly.

CONS

Setup and maintenance is not for the average user. Training is a bit scarce unless you hire a consultant. Very expensive if you want full integration. Support from the manufacturer is fair at best.

Jim

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2022

Comments on Costoint

PROS

I find Costpoint to be the most effective and comprehensive Government Cost Accounting system available. Contains many related back office functions that are integrated within the system. It is an government approved system.

CONS

User interface needs improvement for non finance and accounting users. It should be easier to use for basic functions such as daily timesheets, expense reports, and approvals of these two items.

Sarah

Civil Engineering, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2017

A few kinks but easy to use

PROS

The platform is decently organized by Employee/Salary information and Leave information - managing either is simple and the accrual process is easy as well. I manage employee data and leave data but I am not an expert on any of the other system capabilities.

CONS

We've had issues with file feeds that have taken a long time to resolve. There are a few manual processes that need to be done during the accrual process that seem like they should be automated (i.e. removing duplicate beginning balance records when an employee goes from one type of leave to another in the same year).

Reese

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed December 2017

Terrible timekeeping system for employees and my company.

PROS

This software is useful, when it works, to bill time for which I will get paid (hopefully). That's about it (and the former requirements aren't being met to guarantee that outcome).

CONS

I used deltek about 6 years ago and now again (it's changed for the worse). Always had a single charge code to worry about, so that's easy. That said, basic functions of this iteration (account set-up, log-in from various browsers, password reset, etc.) are abysmal. I've had to contact my company at least once a day regarding issues simply logging into my sheet (various browsers, two different computers) and once just to find my charge code. Corporate always has to get involved or intervene. This is supposed to be a timekeeping system for logging hours you get paid for. Who is paying for all the work to deal with the problems of this unreliable software? It shouldn't take me numerous attempts across different browsers and devices to access an application with a single username, password, and domain log-in. My company shouldn't have to "help" its employees enter in their own time.

Tina

Aviation & Aerospace, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed May 2018

Incredibly inefficient system

CONS

The amount of keystroking required to complete a simple task is staggering. It takes hours to complete a simple task that should only take minutes to complete due to the number of separate steps required. It's like working with 1970's technology. The system will not allow even minimal customization, i.e. menu fonts/set-ups. I would rather work in an old DOS program than this one.

David

Philanthropy, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY