All Shoeboxed Reviews

1-25 of 220 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Chris

1,001 - 5,000 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed April 2021

Love it and couldn't live without it

User Profile

Narasimhan (Nari)

Verified reviewer

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2018

Removes clutter and keeps track of expenses, accessible from anywhere

Clutter reduction, expense management

PROS

I like that this is a cloud based system. Also that it accepts electronic receipts with a simple forward from my email. overall, very good value for the cost and reduces clutter massively.

CONS

Some manual processing is required to approve and resolve expenses so an eventual AI based system would be great.

Nick

Verified reviewer

Publishing, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2017

Amazing customer service by CRM

I'm a freelance illustrator (self-employed/small business) and way behind on taxes (have been delaying b/c of my lack of organization). I have years and years of receipts saved up in shoeboxes/chest of drawers that I have to pile through. I spent a few hours researching the best app to use to do this. After downloading a lot of software, I finally settled on SHOEBOXED. I'm going to slowly pile through my receipt (snapping photos of them) and find my write offs. The images are organized by the company and are searchable (in case you ever get audited). You can even just mail them your receipts (that doesn't work for me as well b/c I have to find my write offs). But going forward I'll probably use that service as well. None of these reasons are why I'm actually leaving this review (see Pros below).

PROS

Having just downloaded the app on my phone I still had some questions about the functionality of the app and its service (are the receipts searchable...how so? ...how are they organized?). I decided to call...low and behold someone answered. I can't tell you how helpful CRM was on the phone. He spoke clearly and answered my random (and very specific) questions concisely. He helped me find which package was best for me and my situation (thousands of receipts piled up for years) ...without hard selling me on anything. I hadn't even signed up for the service officially yet and he sent a quick follow-up email. It was a very calming experience in the stressful situation that is my tax headache. If any higher ups are reading this... I'd recommend giving CRM a big fat raise, but don't promote him to your department ...unless you want to be working for him soon. I'm seriously impressed that I could download a very functional/helpful phone app and a few minutes later be able to call and talk to an actual service representative with no hold, no dial tone button pressing, who was completely knowledgeable about the product he was supporting. My entire field is full of self-employed workers and I'll be recommending this product to every single one because of the experience I had with the app and the customer service.

CONS

The only way to sign in to leave this review was through LinkedIn...a site I haven't used in 8 years (and was attached to old email accounts/password) and frankly...annoyed me with all their updates/emails. BUT, the customer service experience was so good...I'll eat the next 8 years of annoying Linkin update emails...hopefully they don't get hacked again (didn't that happen like 5 years ago).

Neil

Financial Services, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2019

great software and service for staying organized and saving time

Overall, I find Shoeboxed to be incredibly useful and it allows me to get a handle on my receipts. There is room to make the software/service even better, and I hope the company decides to further invest in the features and capabilities. But even as is, it is a good service.

PROS

Shoeboxed makes it very quick and easy to scan and organize receipts. Using my receipt scanner, I can scan a receipt and have it uploaded to the cloud in seconds, and then Shoeboxed takes it from there using OCR/human inspection to extract fields. Receipts are archived and accessible on the Internet, and can be searched and exported.

CONS

I've been using Shoeboxed for many years, and the software has not changed much in that time. The interface is out of date and kind of clunky. It responds slowly and it is quite limited in it's query capabilities. The company has not added any new features, even though there are many obvious and very useful ones that I wish could be added. The company has also raised prices quite a bit, so it is not nearly as good of a value as it used to be. I'd accept this more gracefully if they were also adding useful features along the way, but that has not happened.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2018

I am Europe based and I was a subscriber for a year. I used it for my small e-commerce business.

Simple management of invoices, receipts, all in one place and accessible from everywhere.

PROS

I like the idea of having all my invoices, payments, receipts, etc, stored in one safe place, accessible from everywhere. Shoeboxed does a good service and their app for Android works well. So on the go, you scan the receipt and that's it. No running around with papers in your pockets after a meeting with suppliers in a restaurant.

CONS

The magic envelope service at that time was not available in Europe. This is why I switched to the free version. Also as a European, I found it a hassle that there is no option available to change the settings to European formats such as for dates (in Europe you write dd/mm/yyyy, whereas in the US it is the other way around) and commas / dots to distinguish between thousands and fractions, etc. I also found that sometimes the Amazon webservices are slow and thus the loading of your files takes time. But recently this has improved. The preview pane is also too small and does not adapt to the screen size. Their UX could be uncluttered and simplified.

User Profile

Alicia

Verified reviewer

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2018

Does a lot for small business owners

Saves me a lot of time and helps me stay organized.

PROS

I like the ease of submitting my receipts--from forwarding an email to scanning a receipt it makes things so easy. I also like having easy access to business cards without having to sift through or carry a bunch of them. I use the mileage feature the most and really like it when it's accurate.

CONS

The mileage is not always accurate (my 20 mile ride is sometimes registered as .01 miles) and the app doesn't allow you to correct it (I can correct the equivalent, but my accountant wants actual mileage so it doesn't really help). This happens on average about once a week.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2018

A positive experience! With a few exceptions described below, this is top-notch!

PROS

-Has saved me so much money by upping my deductions tens of thousands of dollars!!! Also, I never used to track mileage. This has made it so easy except when I forget to drop a pin!

CONS

I have called on all of these suggestions: 1. When emailing in a receipt, allow one to add a category and note so you don't have to log on and do it later. 2. Have GPS track all of your trip so you don't have to remember to drop a pin. If you forget, which I am sure people do a lot, you get 0 miles. 3. Sometimes the GPS drops and you lose all data for the trip. 4. Allow one to add a new category on the app from your phone.

Anonymous

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2018

Very user friendly!

PROS

Shoeboxed is user friendly, quick and easy to post receipts and having the program/company enter the information is the way to go!!

CONS

The price is a little steep every month for a small business owner but overall it's a huge time saver.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2019

No Fuss OCR Expense Record

Wonderful, nothing to complain .

PROS

It's easy, with no fuss. Only need to review all the records before tax filing. The data can also be exported and archived in another location.

CONS

There are still small recognition errors. software may be optimised for US receipts, and not localised to the country. This localisation can be done via phone GPS, and thereafter, software adaptation after prolong pattern is seen.

Reason for choosing Shoeboxed

Yes, over Xero Expense. Xero required additional cost for implementation. The ShoeBox option is cheaper.

Anonymous

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2018

Shoeboxed takes many hours out of preparing our business and personal information for taxes.

The biggest benefit by far, is the time that is saved organizing both personal and small business receipts for proper tax/business purposes. It took the hours and hours spent monthly organizing and inputting receipts, down to a few minutes a month.

PROS

The ability to submit both paper and electronic receipts, easily and quickly organize them through the online interface, and prepare them for our use with reports, taxes, etc. Also, the ability to organize the information by location, date, or category; and, export in Excel/CSV format is excellent. Lastly, the ability to create rules for future receipts (for example, what category should be assigned) is great.

CONS

The online interface sometimes operates a little slow when opening up and looking through individual receipts, but it is a minor inconvenience. The cost is a little high, but in the end worth it for the time that is saved annually preparing for taxes.

User Profile

Rachel

Verified reviewer

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2018

Love it.

PROS

The Convenience. I love that it auto-tracks my drives each day. Also love how well organized the actual software side is.

CONS

The price :( It seemed fair until they upped the pricing. I was really bummed to see the price tag go up. It definitely seems high.

Thierno Sadou

Human Resources, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2023

Shoeboxed: A Convenient and Efficient Tax Receipt and Document Management Solution

Overall, Shoeboxed is a solid receipt management solution that offers a lot of benefits for users. By easily scanning, organizing and storing all your receipts in one place, it saves time, optimizes your financial management and makes informed financial decisions.The most notable benefits of Shoeboxed are its ease of use, efficient receipt management, automatic key information extraction functionality, data security, and advanced features, such as business card and email management. expense.However, Shoeboxed is not without its drawbacks, such as relatively high cost, scanning limitations, dependence on scanning, limited functionality, and geographic limitations for international users.All in all, if you are looking for an efficient solution to manage your receipts, Shoeboxed is definitely an option worth considering. However, it is important to assess your specific needs and compare the different solutions available on the market before making a purchase decision.

PROS

Shoeboxed is receipt management software that offers many benefits for businesses and individuals. Here are some of the most notable benefits of Shoeboxed:Easy Receipt Management: Shoeboxed makes it easy to scan, organize, and store all your receipts in one place, making it easy to manage your finances. It also allows you to import your receipts from email and cloud services like Dropbox and Google Drive.Time Saving: With Shoeboxed, you can easily import and file your receipts in just a few minutes, saving you a lot of time compared to manually entering your expenses.Easy access to financial data: Shoeboxed automatically extracts key information from receipts, such as amount, date, and category, making it easy to create reports and make informed financial decisions.Advanced Features: In addition to receipt management, Shoeboxed also offers advanced features such as business card management, expense report management, and synchronization with accounting software such as QuickBooks.Data Security: Shoeboxed uses advanced security measures to protect your financial data, such as SSL encryption and automatic data backup.Overall, Shoeboxed is a great receipt management tool that saves time, helps you manage your finances better, and makes informed financial decisions. If you're looking to simplify your receipt management and improve your financial efficiency, Shoeboxed is definitely a choice to consider.

CONS

Although Shoeboxed has many advantages for users, there are also some disadvantages to consider:High cost: Shoeboxed is relatively expensive compared to other receipt management solutions available in the market. The monthly cost can therefore be a barrier for some people.Scan limits: The number of documents you can scan is limited by your subscription. If you exceed this limit, you will have to pay an additional fee.Reliance on scanning: Shoeboxed relies heavily on scanning your receipts, which can be a problem if you prefer to use more traditional methods of managing your finances.Geographic limitations: Shoeboxed is based in the United States, which can cause issues for international users in terms of billing and currency support.Limited Features: Although Shoeboxed is good at managing receipts, it offers few advanced features compared to other accounting or expense management solutions.All in all, Shoeboxed is a good solution for receipt management, but it may not be suitable for everyone due to its high cost, scanning limitations, reliance on scanning, and limited functionality. Before choosing Shoeboxed, it is therefore important to carefully assess your needs and compare the different solutions available on the market.

david

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2018

Generally works very well to populate images of my mileage and expenses to a spreadsheet

PROS

Easy to post expenses by taking snapshot of receipt, categorize and save it with image available to download or just print an image of all receipts. It's a snap. Same goes for logging actual mileage -- although sometimes the software chooses the "shortest" route.

CONS

1) Should be able to convert and save all images as a PDF. Could store on my phone...but photos take up WAY TOO MUCH SPACE! 2) If youre not careful those images could end up being shared by social media... 3) Sometimes shortest timewise routes are not ones assumed by software which are miles longer 4) Online functionality of software to pull up reports can be a little slow and clunky 5) Would like to know how to set up a second user with the same firm -- as I don't want to pay an additional fee.

Andres

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2018

Very Helpful for a Small Business!

Accounting. I have difficulty keeping track of my documents and receipts and you've covered me for several years.

PROS

I don't have to think about it since it's connected to my Google email account. Almost all of my receipts go through email. Copies of the receipts online are nice to have when needed. The reports have been useful for my accountant at tax time, it saves me a lot of time. The iOS app is very easy to use too for my offline receipts.

CONS

I'd like to get notifications if Shoeboxed thinks an email should have a receipt and doesn't or where problems occur. The Google Mail plugin sometimes misses receipts and the only way I can tell is if the "Shoeboxed" label hasn't been applied to it. I'd rather take care of these ongoing instead of at the end of the month trying to track down old emails. If I were able to get notifications, I could automate the process of forwarding certain emails back to Shoeboxed. I'm on the 'Free' tier (Since 2014) and have gotten a lot out of the service for free. I haven't used the mileage tracker on the iOS app though. To get me to subscribe to the 'Lite' tier, I don't need anything else but what I mentioned above - an error notification to act as a failover.

John

Apparel & Fashion, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2019

Long time customer

We were using another company for tracking receipts. It was quite cumbersome but there wasn't many other options at the time. Then came along Shoeboxed that made everything simpler, providing the options to submit receipts from all different devices.

PROS

The various ways available for filing receipts.

CONS

The mobile app is slow in responding. The server is also slow during peak times, especially around tax season.

Reasons for switching to Shoeboxed

Shoeboxed provided many options to quickly submit receipts

Ray

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed May 2018

Easy tool to use and CSv export

PROS

Email transcibing of Reciepts. Phone image capture, one click app opening. Magic envelopes are simple, durable, and arrive very quickly. The return service is useful to, I simply label the returned envelopes by date & store them.

CONS

Difficult to select report fields from mobile device. Categories often need to be manually corrected. My biggest dislike is dated are often omitted rom the image translations

Andy

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2018

Good and getting better

Has saved a ton of time and now I have a backup for the majority of my receipts.

PROS

Pretty easy to use and review receipts. It has cut down my review time and collating time a lot. I also like the ability to have a digital copy of my receipts in case I lose them or they are destroyed.

CONS

Inability to set default currency to canadian. I am concerned about some of the scans I had made when using the free service. The setup seems unable to bring the images up in ISO app and through the web. I just hope I don't get audited on those receipts.

Saul

Financial Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2018

Essential for my document and receipt organization..

Tax reporting and expense report generation is now painless. Saves so much time and organization. Love it.

PROS

Makes my life easier and more efficient. The software is intuitive and helps expense report generation and tax reporting.

CONS

I am not sure I know of anything! Perhaps the batch editing features could be easier and with less lag.

Jennifer

Consumer Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE