Hurdlr Software

Find out more:

Find out more:

About Hurdlr

Hurdlr helps freelancers, self-employed entrepreneurs, and gig economy workers navigate the stress of running your own business. The mobile app automatically tracks all mileage, expenses, income streams, and self-employment taxes in real-time, maximizing your deductions while keeping everything organized in a secure hub. See your business profitability right from the app, and send detailed reports to your accountant or email inbox with a few taps. On average, users find over $5,600 in tax deductions a year. Hurdlr has over 20,000 online reviews with a 4.7-star average, and to date, has helped users track over $8B in finances and save $400M in taxes. ...

Hurdlr Pricing

Hurdlr Premium: $9.99/month or $99.99/year Hurdlr Pro: $200/year

Starting price: 

$9.99 per month

Free trial: 

Available

Free version: 

Available

Close

Image 1 of 4

Headshot of Software Advice Advisor

Find the right Accounting Software for you.

What key features are most important to you in Accounting Software?

Hurdlr User Reviews

OVERALL RATING

SECONDARY RATINGS

Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4

Customer support

4

Functionality

3.5

Apply Filters:

Filter reviews by company size:

Sort by

Anmol

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Research

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2020

Very helpful expense tracker

Easy to set up, great value. I found it much easier to use than other software that I tried, and definitely easier than keeping track of things myself. Also looking forward to using the mileage tracking once I start travelling to different research facilities.

Pros

I really like the detailed expense tracking and the ability to make rules for my transactions. I have fewer transactions to keep track of and I don't have to worry about losing a receipt since I can upload them to my account

Cons

I'd like to be able to start invoicing from my phone as well as computer, but their help center said that should be coming soon

Reasons for switching to Hurdlr

Quickbooks was a bit too complex for me. Hurdlr works better for my needs and I found it easier to understand. It's also less expensive.

Response from Hurdlr

Thank you for your great review Anmol! We recently released mobile invoicing as well. Please reach out to us via in-app chat or at hello@hurdlr.com if you have any questions about this new Pro feature! Best, Kristen @ Hurdlr

Replied May 2021

William

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Consumer Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2021

THE Best Accounting/Bookkeeping for your money

I run my own business as well as contract with others. Hurdlr lets me separate my mileage and income from each, automatically records and tags business and personal expenses, income from each, and keeps up-to-date tax estimations. And has files (more than you probably need) for tax time. It has been a lifechanger switching to Hurdlr.

Pros

Absolutely best software I've used. More robust on the free version than others, free version is on par with QuickBooks, and the paid is AMAZING! Very simple to setup and use.

Cons

There isn't anything to not like. It's that good.

Reasons for switching to Hurdlr

I made the switch because I wanted a user-friendly and cost-effective software with as much bang for the buck as possible. That solution is Hurdlr.

Response from Hurdlr

Thank you for your great review William! We're so glad you're enjoying Hurdlr. Best, Kristen @ Hurdlr

Replied May 2021

Sergio

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
1

Functionality

out of 5

March 2021

Have You Heard of Hurdlr? It’s a NOT-SO "Automatic" Business Expense & Mileage Tracker!

I signed for Hurdlr and automatically received a 7-day trial of its premium feature (available to any new customer). Unfortunately, I was too busy with my business to try it. After the brief trial concluded, I received an email from customer service with a 40% discount offer to upgrade to Premium that seemed too good to pass up, so I accepted. Little did I know that Hurdlr would not work for my business needs and worse, that they would not refund the charge even though only 48 hours had elapsed between signing up and requesting cancelation. The [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] was very condescending and dismissive of my request for a refund, making assumptions, saying, “we gave you a free trial of Premium to test out the features to see if they met your needs. We also offer both monthly and annual plans, so you don't need to lock yourself into a year-long subscription.” Basically, rather than simply refunding a very dissatisfied customer within just 48 hours, she doubled down on the “we don’t really care because you had your chance to try it, so deal with it because we already have your money.” This is the type of customer service that really kills a business. I can only say this: If you decide to use Hurdlr , even if their product meets your business requirements, be aware of their substandard customer service. Also, while they do have a refund policy, you will only find it if you search. Customer service is imperative to me in any business dealings, and Hurdlr failed me 100%.

Pros

I originally purchased the premium version of this software because it seemed amazingly easy to use and able to integrate with my bank accounts for a reasonable price. Once you link your bank accounts, it automatically pulls all your transactions and suggests rules for you to approve them. Its best feature to me was the ability to ditch spreadsheets and have all transactions categorized and organized with reports available, including quarterly tax calculations. In addition, Hurdlr also tracks your mileage usage automatically. Sounds good, right?! Keep reading...

Cons

Hurdlr’s “auto-mileage” tracking system was a total disappointment. I have a Samsung cell and despite the instructions on optimizing your phone, the app will not accurately log your trips. Addresses will be different and will always be off by a few miles, requiring a manual fix every single time. So much for "auto-tracking!" It may not seem a big deal, but to me, every mile counts when it comes to deductions, and in spite of Hurdlr's insistence that even a car's odometer falls short of miles, I heartily disagree. I have compared my car's odometer to Google Maps and they ALWAYS match exactly. So, that was a huge let-down as I was looking forward to discontinuing mileage logging on a spreadsheet. Another very disappointing feature is the lack of simple details in its income tracking. If you accept different forms of payments and they don't all come from the same source, you will have to manually fix everything. For example, if you receive payments via Square and they are deposited in your bank account, you’ll have double entries with different amounts since Square reports the amount before its fees and your bank deposit will not include the fees. Hurdlr’s solution is to only link one account. The problem is when you use a practice management software, such as Massagebook, and accept other forms of payments without going through Square, you’ll have to manually fix everything!!!

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks Self-Employed

Reasons for choosing Hurdlr

The main reason I chose Hurdlr over Quickbooks was for their supposedly super easy automated system to track miles, income, and expenses. However, unless your business is extremely simple, this is not true and you will end up spending more time fixing mileage, and transactions than taking care of your business. Don't fall for their advertising as I did! If you do decide to use their app, stick with the free version. The auto-tracking is a joke and the fact that Hurdlr would not refund a customer who only used its product unsuccessfully for less than 48 hours is enough for me to end our business relationship. The bottom line is: I lost $36 on Hurdlr, but Hurdlr lost a lot more than that as I will not recommend Hurdlr to anyone in business circle.

Reasons for switching to Hurdlr

Bookkeeping on spreadsheets is time-consuming and Hurdlr's advertisement sold me on ditching spreadsheets and automate my business giving me more time. That was not true. I spent more time dealing with bad customer service and manually fixing "automated entries" than I do with spreadsheets.

Response from Hurdlr

Hi Sergio, I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy Hurdlr. In order to balance accuracy with battery consumption, there may be slight delay where the app "wakes up" and starts automatically recording your mileage. However, this difference is typically 0.5 miles or less. For your transactions, if you link both Square and the bank where you receive Square deposits, both of these transactions would pull into your account. We would recommend linking one or the other so as not to duplicate your data. Hurdlr users can choose to track their net income, or their gross income and their fees separately and still see accurate tax estimates since this nets the same amount. I'm sorry that you did not have a good experience with our support team. Unfortunately it looks like you had disputed your purchase, in which case your bank removes the payment from us and we aren't able to refund. Please reach out to us at hello@hurdlr.com if you have any questions or feedback to share. Best, Kristen @ Hurdlr

Replied May 2021

Mira

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Retail

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

May 2020

Very simple to use and great if you are a contractor or direct seller

Great, simple product. It is easy to use. I appreciate it very much. I just have to double-check each entry to ensure it is recorded.

Pros

This software is simple (not heavy like QuickBooks) and there's a free version. The app is user-friendly, so it is easy for people to understand and use. It is perfect for uber drivers (because the app offers mileage tracking), direct sellers or self-employed people that do not have to track inventory. The app can email reports for use by your tax account.

Cons

The web app (not the mobile app) sometimes fails to record my transactions. This is a big problem if the user doesn't notice, because then they lose out on tax season. It also effects the users' confidence in the app. I have to refresh the page after each entry and double-check that it saved.

Reasons for choosing Hurdlr

There's a free version.

Reasons for switching to Hurdlr

Quickbooks increased my subscription rate.

Response from Hurdlr

Thank you for your positive review Mira! With Hurdlr, any updates that you make would be synced automatically across your web and mobile app. If you aren't seeing your transactions update, could you please reach out to us at hello@hurdlr.com or via in-app chat so we can help? Thank you! Best, Kristen @ Hurdlr

Replied May 2021

Elwood

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

A switch from taxbot

So far I am happy with the switch. It does what I need.

Pros

I need to trsck my milage for tax purposes and this allows me eo do so easily and accurately. I am pleased with the app.

Cons

I was not happy when taxbot moved me to Hurdler. I am having to learn a new app and it is annoying.

Reasons for choosing Hurdlr

I was forced to change due to taxbot's milage app being sold.

Reasons for switching to Hurdlr

I was forced to. I was happy with the old app.

Response from Hurdlr

Thank you for your positive review Elwood! Please don't hesitate to reach out to us if you have any questions about the transition and we'd be happy to help. Best, Kristen @ Hurdlr

Replied July 2021

Showing 5 reviews