All IconCMO Reviews

1-25 of 361 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Terri

Verified reviewer

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2018

Great Product! Excellent Support!

This software is affordable and produces quality results. It's easy to learn, intuitive and relevant. I recommend it to our congregations often.

PROS

I have been working with this software since 1999, back when it was Revelations and through the migration to Icon CMO. I serve in a synod (district) office of our church, so our contributions are a bit different from those of a congregation, but IconCMO serves us well. I've also used the congregation version and it's equally as functional. What I love most is the support! Quick answers to questions both online and by phone (I love that I've talked to my executive for almost all of these years!) and the team is responsive to suggestions of improvements to the software that would allow me to do my job better.

CONS

Some forms and reports are set up more from a congregational perspective than for a synod, but that's a minor inconvenience.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the awesome review, Terri! We appreciate your feedback and are grateful for the opportunity to work with you for so many years.

Replied November 2018

Kris

Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2019

ICON-CMO

PROS

Ease of use, great functionality, user friendly navigation

CONS

Functionality for multi family levels, more than one main address.

Reason for choosing IconCMO

We actually had IconCmo (Revelations for 15+ years) went to Parishsoft (for one year) returned to IconCMO because of it's functionality and user friendly functions.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the kind words, Kris! We appreciate your feedback and are so grateful to have you as a customer.

Replied June 2019

Alan

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2019

improved but still needs more help

When I started working at St Stefanos GOC I was told I had to enter deposits into ICON and Qiuckbooks and I do. I get stewardship reports from ICON and also print reports for mailing.

PROS

There are a large number of reports available and it is easy for us to mail out statements of to our stewards from the software.

CONS

Some simple fixes are still not done. Many of our checks come from banks issued but the check number field will not accommodate the number of digits. I enter deposits twice, once in ICON and once in QuickBooks. The deposit in ICON takes much longer because I have to use a cursor to select a letter range before searching for a steward family name. In QuickBooks I just type one or two letters to find the name. Deposit batches that need to be edited are assigned a new batch number, which is out of sequence with when the original batch was done. It would be easier if the batch was just marked as "edited". Some fields do not accept characters like / so dates must be typed out.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the review, Alan! We appreciate your feedback and are so grateful to have you as a customer. I'm sorry to hear you've had some issues with the system. We recently increased the check number field to accommodate larger numbers. A while back we added a "smart search" to the contribution entry window so you can easily search by typing in the first few letters of a name. It sounds like you've missed a few of our updates! Please reply back or email support@iconcmo.com so we can get you on our email newsletter list. Please don't hesitate to reach out with any suggestions, recommendations, or issues you run into down the road. IconCMO is evolving every day and much of our product development is based on feedback from users like you. Have an awesome day!

Replied June 2019

Barbara

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2019

2019 Review

availability of logical program reports that can be date specified.

PROS

Able to run finances from one bank account with separate designated Fund accounts.

CONS

nothing comes to mind in this area. Not sure why this keeps highlighting when I hit the submit button. Maybe response was not long enough!!

Reason for choosing IconCMO

again, able to run one bank account with designated funds and it was more reasonable prices for our small church.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the kind words, Barbara! We appreciate your feedback and are so grateful to have you as a customer.

Replied June 2019

Larry

Verified reviewer

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2018

Treasurer, Spirit of Joy Church, Indianapolis, IN

As I am not an accountant, I find the customer support team to be superb! As a small church, less than 100 members, we find the cost to be very reasonable.

PROS

As a non-accountant, I like the ability to gather data for my reports. Once setup, with Icon help, I'm able to write checks to my vendors without having to reenter the account and fund information by using the last six transactions drop down. This is very helpful when writing payroll checks, as we only have three employees and we do not use the Icon payroll module.

CONS

When paying the credit card, the check number on the Credit Card Payment screen is the next number in sequence; however when returning to the check writing screen, the check number is not updated to account for the check written in the Credit Card Payment screen.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the kind words, Larry! We appreciate your feedback.

Replied February 2019

Karen

Verified reviewer

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2019

IconCMO

Our buisness has enjoyed our experience. Having one central location for all types of administrative/client information is helpful and that each person on staff can access that information is key.

PROS

I like that this software is a hub for all of the things our business needs. It is easy to use because of the way each area is categorized. It is also easy to update information. Multiple log-ins allow each staff person access and I can take this software on the go, too, which is important in today's fast-paced world.

CONS

It took some time to be come familiar with the layout and how to access the information you are looking for.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the kind words, Pastor Karen! We appreciate your feedback and are so grateful to have you as a customer.

Replied May 2019

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2019

Works very well for our needs

I moved our church database from the PC-based software to the cloud-based system shortly after becoming the office manager. It solved nearly every problem that we were encountering and allowed remote data entry as well as allowing users real-time access to information rather than waiting on me to have time to compile it. I have found the technical service team to be very responsive to questions and suggestions.

PROS

The membership database is useful to church leadership in several ways. I like the ability to customize accessibility levels for different users and the ability to design our own reports.

CONS

I wish there were a way to change the color scheme.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the kind words! We appreciate your feedback and are so grateful to have you as a customer.

Replied June 2019

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2018

Comprehensive and Modular!

We replaced a much clunker system when we switched to IconCMO, and so overall, from ease of use to contacting customer service, we have found IconCMO to be the perfect balance of meeting our needs in an affordable solution.

PROS

IconCMO is very easy to use, with intuitive interfaces and appropriate help screens when you need a little nudge! I like the portability and ability to control various account access levels for users with different needs and levels of access.

CONS

Actually, the software works exactly as described. Maybe the colors or smoothing of fonts would be an improvement.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the review! We appreciate your feedback.

Replied November 2018

Larry

Verified reviewer

Religious Institutions, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2018

Time Saving software

The capture of contributions is very important to my position as Church Financial Secretary. CMO makes my entry process very simple and fast. I love the distribution button so I can add one donation and then divide into the specified funds. The end of year statement process only takes a few seconds to generate statements. Great program.

PROS

I love the ability to collect a vast amount of data and then be able to present that information in many ways to meet our church needs. I love the fact that the company is constantly improving the product and list to the users needs.

CONS

There are many different reports but the location for different ones are found in different places. It would be great to have a general report tab and then a drop down menu showing categories then drop down showing the specific reports. I don't always remember where some reports are since I don't run all of them often.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the review, Larry! We appreciate your feedback.

Replied November 2018

User Profile

Sonia

Verified reviewer

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2018

Pros and Cons for our congregation

We are very satisfied with ICON. We are able to keep all our information in one program versus multiple. It is designed for churches, so the program has those items that a congregation uses. Limitation is only by the user. ICON is very receptive and offers updates to keep up with congregation needs are they arise.

PROS

This program is excellent for for tracking Membership and Contributions. It offers a great variety of reports and functionality for keeping your information tracked and available. The program can easily be configured to meets a congregations needs and wants. We have been very satisfied.

CONS

The only con that we have found is it would have been nice to view some examples of how other users use the program.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the review, Sonia! We appreciate your feedback.

Replied November 2018

Marlene

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2019

Using ICON for church membership

Overall it has been a good experience. The times that I have needed to call for help, I have had my questions answered. It is nice that it is cloud/internet based so that if I am off-site and need to do something/find something in the database, I am able to access it.

PROS

With this software we are able to keep track of our members -- current and past. It is nice to be able to archive member information if they have passed away or transferred, it becomes a historical record. We are able to create reports and various groups based on our needs. For example, we have a group for those we mail bulletins to and for certain age groups for children. We are also able to create reports based on giving records; these records do not have to show personal information, the information can be data only.

CONS

I find there are a couple fields in the member info that it seems like if I fill it out once, it should transfer to the smiliar field in another view, but it does not so we then need to fill it in/update it twice. For example, it would be nice if it would automatically pick up the 2 adult members from a household and make those the household name, but it does not, it only lists the name selected as "head of household." It is sometimes hard to find answers in the help section, it appears to be mainly questions others have asked, so sometimes the answers are out-of-date because parts of the software have changed/been updated.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the kind words, Marlene! We appreciate your feedback and are so grateful to have you as a customer. When you create a new household, the system will automatically take the household name and create the family member record(s) for the head(s) of household. It's possible this setting was turned off on your account. Please give me a call at (218) 236-1899 and we'll take a look. We hear you--we're currently working on cleaning outdated and irrelevant posts from the support forum so it's easier to find the help you're looking for.

Replied May 2019

Jeanette

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2019

Lukewarm

Very full-featured for managing membership, though not always intuitive. Report generating difficult, but support very helpful. I support it in-house, and do not use it as much as others, so we go around in circles a lot trying to figure things out. Our staff is pretty suave, but they still have difficulties. We are grateful that we only do contributions, and do not use the financial/accounting features (outsource our accounting).

PROS

* Local company (in MN) * Cloud-based * Fabulous (local) support

CONS

The way you sometimes feel like you are going in circles. It is not very intuitive. I think it is not as "full-featured" as some of the alternatives, and now simple things like text messaging, are out-sourced to third-party companies--that you have to pay additional for. The directory features are lacking, as is the member portal.

Reason for choosing IconCMO

It was, at the time, the first cloud-based alternative, and we liked (and still do like) that feature, it was a local product.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the kind words, Jeanette! We appreciate your feedback and are so grateful to have you as a customer. We do have a partner integration with Call-em-all for text messaging and voice broadcasting. However, at this time you're still able to send text messages directly from the system for no extra cost. That part hasn't changed. Sorry for the confusion about that! P.S. We have several live training webinars coming up. Check your email for invitations to register. If you can't attend live, I'll be sending out recordings. Have a wonderful day!

Replied June 2019

Kaitlin

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2019

Excellent Tool for Churches

PROS

I'm not very familiar with accounting, or most accounting programs, and so I was nervous about learning to use ICONCMO when I took on the role of financial secretary at the church where I work. However, once I learned a few basics, ICOMCMO has proven to be an extremely useful and efficient program for keeping track of contributions to the church. Being able to record weekly gifts, assign portions of that to specific funds, and generate a wide variety of reports on both funds and individual givers has been invaluable. We are especially thankful come tax season, where it is shockingly easy to generate giving/contribution reports for each person who has given to the church throughout the year. I've also been extremely pleased with both customer service and the online resources for "how-to" questions.

CONS

As I said, I'm not familiar with accounting software, so I cannot compare it to other programs in this field. I do have trouble navigating the menus at times, as they don's seem intuitive to me- though again, as someone with limited exposure to programs like this, it may just be me. But as I mentioned above, a quick search in google or through the online manual answers my question 99% of the time. Ultimately, I think anyone could use this program.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the kind words, Kaitlin! We appreciate your feedback and are so grateful to have you as a customer.

Replied June 2019

Glen

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2018

Review From Gloria Dei Lutheran Church

During budget preparation, it is easy to fine what contributions have been made, how it relates to the pledges and who is behind. The contribution statements are great and I can send by email to those who have email addresses, then print out the statements that need to be snail-mailed. One of the best features I have found the working on the end of the year Congregational Report for the Synod. It makes this job a lot easier.

PROS

This program helps keep all information about members of the congregation located in one location. Once signed on to ICONCMO, I can find all members of the family, important dates about each member, addresses, etc. I also like the Contribution section because I can access the pledges for the members if there is any question.

CONS

There are times when I have to hunt for the records I need because I am not sure where to look. I have tried to use the user manual, but I don't think it is very user friendly.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the review, Glen! We appreciate your feedback. The user manual is pretty extensive and can be overwhelming. I recommend searching for keywords in the support forum or printing out the "Getting Started" guides found in the top-right menu when you're logged in. If you can't find the answer, call or send an email to our support team. We're happy to help.

Replied November 2018

Lou Ann

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2019

Outstanding Product

I have used many church software programs, but IconCMO is the most user friendly. I initially began with the Revelations program, many years ago. The new IconCMO has so much more to offer in church record keeping. And with new features to track people for events and the ability to offer check-in for events will be an added plus when we plan to incorporate these programs. I think the key to having a good product is the technical and support staff, which is outstanding with IconCMO. I would highly recommend this church software program to anyone.

PROS

The easy way to use this software it it's best feature. It's very easy to navigate, and little tutorial is actually needed. However, if you do need help, the support staff is outstanding. They are very familiar with the product and can usually answer the questions within minutes. They are professional and kind.

CONS

Nothing really. IconCMO has so many features that I do not use. But to have the capability to enhance our record keeping, is nice to know.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the kind words, Lou Ann! We appreciate your feedback and are so grateful to have you as a customer.

Replied June 2019

Cynthia

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2019

A software system that works for all

As an employee who uses IconCMO frequently, I find it easy to understand and use. I am able to quickly access the information I need, make corrections and changes or updates without frustrations.

PROS

The software system is organized. Easy to read and find information. Just run your mouse on what you are looking for and a quick click will send you into the category of your choice. Information is stored in a manner that is easy to input, read and understand. Updating information is easy as well.

CONS

After making changes, additions or corrections on individuals you have to click the save button on each section and sometimes I have forgotten to do it and it doesn't save my changes. An auto save would be nice but also maybe just making one save button or not putting two categories that need to be saved separately together to avoid confusion.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the kind words, Cynthia! We appreciate your feedback and are so grateful to have you as a customer. Stay tuned! We are working on some changes that will make it easier to updated and save member records.

Replied May 2019

Markus

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2017

An excellent value for an integrated web-babsed church management software program.

Better fund accounting module. Decentralization of the data allowing for multiple users to access via the web.

PROS

* Web based. No software to install locally and maintain. No need to worry about your data getting lost. * FASB 117 compliant, allowing for true fund-based non-profit accounting. * Allows for unlimited number of users, each one's access customizable down to the individual menu level. * Able to signup for a free trial so I was able to see what the software was really like before I made the purchase decision. With other vendors, I'd have to rely on slick marketing promises that seem to promise the world and then you find out after you purchase it that it's not what you expected.

CONS

* Payroll module seemed a bit difficult and clunky. However, this should not be hinderance since I highly recommend that everyone should use a payroll service and not do it yourself anyway.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the review, Markus. We appreciate your feedback!

Replied July 2017

Lori

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY