Lightyear Software

Find out more:

Find out more:

Lightyear Software

Find out more:

FrontRunners 2021

Find out more:

About Lightyear

Lightyear is a cloud-based accounts payable solution designed to help businesses automate data entry by extracting details from invoices, credit notes, bank statements and receipts, streamline approvals through customizable workflows and maintain a record of outstanding amounts. Features include messaging, audit trail, statement reconciliation, multi-currency and duplicate auto-flagging. The application's rules automation feature enables accountants to automatically assign line items with general ledger (GL) codes, tax rates, categories or departments. Finance professionals can check product prices against the verified supplier pricing and route bills to relevant approvers. The dashboard lets supervisors view the number of bills processed, signed off, reviewed or ...

Lightyear Pricing

Lightyear is available across 3 pricing tiers: Starter, Business, Enterprise. Pricing starts at $79/per month and scales with each tier, outlined below: Starter - $79/month - Unlimited Users - Unlimited Sub-entities Business - $179/month - Unlimited Users - Unlimited Sub-entities - Purchase Orders - Good Receivable Notes - Inventory Management Enterprise - $1,099/month - Unlimited Users - Unlimited Sub-entities - Purchase Orders - Good Receivable Notes - Inventory Management - Dedicated Account Manager - White Labelling Capabilities

Starting price: 

$79.00 per month

Free trial: 

Available

Free version: 

Not Available

Close

Image 1 of 4

Lightyear receipt upload

Headshot of Software Advice Advisor

Find the right Accounting Software for you.

What key features are most important to you in Accounting Software?

Lightyear User Reviews

OVERALL RATING

SECONDARY RATINGS

Ease-of-use

5

Value for money

5

Customer support

5

Functionality

5

Showing 1 - 5 of 103 reviews

Yasmin

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

November 2021

Great AP Software

Daniel

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Accounting

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2021

Great Software to Streamline your Accounts Payable Process

I find Lightyear easy to use and I have only had positive feedback from clients.

Pros

I love the automation of data extraction and the built in approval process Lightyear has to offer. It helps me to get my clients data correct, having the correct expenses and payables, and it means I can get multiple levels of approvals before the invoice hits the GL.

Cons

Sometimes the OCR doesn't work the way I expect, but I know they are constantly improving the software and I'm confident it will be better in future.

Reasons for choosing Lightyear

Lightyear data extraction was much better than the rest and the built in approval process means I can ease the pressure from the business owners and put it back on the staff, but the business owners still have ultimate control of the suppliers.

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2020

Game changer

Fantastic, over the couple of years I have been using the program I have had nothing less than outstanding service from the support team and after initially only using it for my larger clients, it has been an easy decision to bring all my clients across to the platform. The program is intuitive to use and easy to implement and scale up or down depending on the client and approvals process needed.

Pros

The invoice approval function was the reason for initially coming across to Lightyear but the statement reconciliation process was a hidden surprise that has enabled my last remaining paper based clients to take the leap to being completely paperless. The integrity of the data being exported to the accounting software is much better than other programs.

Cons

My clients who use purchase orders are currently needing to batch together the PO pdf & supplier invoice images before sending to Lightyear which would be amazing if we could either match them up within the app, or issue PO's direct from the app which are then able to be viewed with the supplier invoice.

Reasons for choosing Lightyear

It was some time ago now and I can't recall all the other programs we looked at, but Lightyear really came out as the only contender due to the price point and the approvals process.

Reasons for switching to Lightyear

My clients needed a program which offered a layered approvals process

Debra

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2021

Game Changer

Simplifying the approval process

Pros

Having data extraction & approval within one system is a game changer for us. The approval process is simple to use once you spend the time to set it up. The Keyword feature works really well when working with multiple locations. The mobile phone app is easy to use and easy to switch between companies.

Cons

No ability on the mobile app to add a note to the receipt/invoice and no feature for multiple page or long receipts / invoices.

Reasons for choosing Lightyear

Single e-mail address for incoming bills Mobile phone app easier to use Approval process easier to set up

Reasons for switching to Lightyear

Needed an all in one app for bill approval & accounts payable automation

Michael

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
1

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
1

Functionality

out of 5

January 2019

Failure

Terrible is all i can say to be honest

Pros

Nothing to like about light year it is doesn’t work simple

Cons

Slow, Unstable, inaccurate ocr of invoices causing excessive manual re-entry of invoices, customer support non existent as they can’t do anything as it is a terrible system I have waited for improvements over the last 3 months they haven’t happened stay from lightyear find something else

Response from Lightyear

Hi Michael, Thank you for the feedback. I've reviewed your history on our system and I believe you were using our system in the early days whilst it was still in Beta and were also having some connection issues with internet speeds. I'm sorry you didn't have a great experience with the product, certainly not what we strive for at Lightyear. Lightyear is now in full release and has been receiving great reviews all round with a much improved user experience and speed. Our team would be very happy to spend some time with you and show you the product now if you like. Just drop the team a line if so.. Many thanks, Chris.

Replied January 2020

Popular Lightyear Comparisons