Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(8)

4 stars

(16)

3 stars

(6)

2 stars

(0)

1 stars

(0)

Feature Ratings Breakdown

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Funtionality

4.0 / 5
  • Pros

  • "I like how fast this system works. Looking for existing documents and creating new ones is really faster via using this document management system. "

  • "This product has been around for a while so it's pretty battle tested. Macola 10 is web-based so more progressive in design."

  • "Has many functions available, and security options to ensure each person sees only what applies to then."

  • "This sorts our product correctly and handles our orders correctly. Does everything that we need it to do."

  • Cons

  • "Simplicity. Not a lot of depth to the product. More functionality would be nice."

  • "native reports are not usable, crystal reports or SSRS must be used to customize common reports. Macola and Synergy have different databases"

  • "Mixed Architectures as they move from legacy code to modern screens. Sometimes too many options for our needs."

  • "Nothing as of now. I have not used all features so there could be some options to be improved but I do not have much awareness about these. "

Filter reviews by:

Sort by: Most Helpful | Most Recent

Showing 1-20 of 30 reviews

Do you use this product?Write a review

June 2017

Dave from JL Darling LLC

Company Size: 51-200 employees


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2017

The add-on accounting package that became our ERP!

Pros

The development of this mature full featured accounting system in to a full, all features included ERP system has been great for our company over the last 20+ years. We have been able to avoid migrating to a new ERP system and all of the loss of productivity and learning curve challenges that reality brings. We have been able to migrate our now legacy manufacturing shop-floor software, the one that Macola was sold with as an add-on accounting package, back in to Macola this year. The capital savings alone has gone directly to our bottom line. The Professional Services team has some serious longevity and in many ways, has been a part of our company longer than most of the employees. Change is constant and Exact Macola has put great effort in keeping up with the industry and completing business software applications.

Cons

Like with any modern ERP system, when they are so capable, full featured, they have challenges with integrations and modules interacting correctly after updates.

December 2018

John from Country Life Natural Foods

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2018

A flexible ERP solution, but limited integrations

Pros

We've used Macola software for over 20 years in our business. We recently upgraded to the newest version (Macola 10) almost 2 years ago. We are in manufacturing, wholesale distribution, and e-commerce. We've worked with a Reseller who has been very helpful in supporting the software. You can customize the software, but it can get expensive depending on what customizations you need.

Cons

Macola 10 is owned by a software company called ECi. They recently announced they are severing all ties with their reseller partners. They are forcing all customers to now get support directly with them and are increasing the support costs. We're being told that we can't work with our reseller anymore and instead have to get consulting and professional services directly through ECi. At this point, I don't know if I would recommend any new customers to choose Macola 10.

December 2017

Juan Carlos from Tecnomotum

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

I used this ERp in my last job, is very useful, it has many power to make your own tools with it

It was a tool for daily job, so this tool beefing up the prductivity all time...

Pros

- You can create your own tools, in previous editions with VB6 and the with .net, that makes great experience even if you don't know very well how to use Visual Basic, because if the ERP doesn't have and function that you need, you can create it!
- Support for Databases is awesome and the performance, I never have some problem with this ERP, in fact, sometimes I had to use it throught VPN and it works great.

Cons

- For some people the problem is Front end, it looks like "Old software" for me it is not a a problem, because despite of this "problem" the UX is good and is better in new versions.

August 2017

Elcio from Corvalent Corporation

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

Full ERP Integration Solution Makes Macola 10 a Winner

Overall, Macola 10 is a great value to an organization that, with some light development, provides a wide range of solutions all integrated, avoiding redundancy, disconnects, an therefore saving time and headaches.

Pros

Macola 10 goes way beyond an ERP application, providing a platform that allows an infinite number of custom solutions.
Allows complete integration of most applications a manufacturing organization needs to run successfully.
Compelling relation between cost and benefit.
Mostly web based application.

Cons

User interface has some catch up to do.
Standard support is fairly limited.
API connections to many well know cloud applications not readily available.
Specific documentation not easily found sometimes.

November 2018

Steve from Carpentry, Interior Design

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

We have used Macola ERP software for the last 32 years to run our business

Pros

Once you get everything configured and set up the software performs perfectly. We have occasional issues and support will take the time to trouble shoot with us and fix the problems. They are migrating to synergy and the interface is powerful. Integrates well with Excel and Crystal reports. Good support team.

Cons

Some of the menu's and program titles are written in a European spelling. We are struggling to get Double declining balance method of depreciation to work. It took a while to get Payroll to work, but now that its working, it's doing the job well.

June 2017

SUSAN from WHALEN LLC

Company Size: 201-500 employees


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2017

M10

Great innovation, would like Exact to look to users to ask about what they could really use in future innovations, a survey would be nice after and have customers rate the enhancements. E.G. releasing and updating PO promise dates en masse instead of one at a time, adding locations by product category instead of item number, etc.

Pros

Very interactive with nice drill down. I wish there was a list of ES features that were no longer available before implementing, read on.

Cons

New AR and AP screens and parameter searches not as easy as ES. We use ship to addresses and look up by rep or other screens which are no longer available.

September 2016

Patrick from good2grow


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

September 2016

An ERP software that will grow with your business!

Pros

A fully integrated and real time ERP application, with all the functionalities a medium size business would need with little to no customization. Exact is a very responsive company, listening to their customers/users’ needs and feed-back and constantly developing and improving their product. Additionally Exact has a multitude of partners covering most if not all of the extra needs/applications a business may have (EDI, WMS, Reporting etc.). Exact has a very good support department and VAR network. We have been using Exact Macola for over 10 years!

Cons

The multi location MRP and standard costing funtionalities are still limited but in development for release in the coming 12 to 18 months.

September 2017

Keith from Trinity Lighting

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2017

Good ERP - very customizable

Handles all of our needs from sales to accounting

Pros

Easy to use. You have the ability to customize almost every aspect of the software - at the cost of consultants. Exact is constantly working to get improvements added and they correct bugs when they are found. Customer Service is pretty responsive, but if it too technical, consulting fees may apply.

Cons

Basic reports that should be in the software are not there - can be made if you are familiar with Crystal or you want to pay a consultant to make what you need

July 2017

Gabriel from Amphenol Sine Systems

Company Size: 201-500 employees


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2017

Great integration process in all the business areas.

In general its a good product but a lot of opportunities go improve the functionality and user experience

Pros

screens flexibity, module integration, Sql server , function segregation. strong financial operation. Great Business process management and great and proactive alert system. usage of SSRS reports

Cons

native reports are not usable, crystal reports or SSRS must be used to customize common reports. Macola and Synergy have different databases

April 2017

Court from Design Ideas, Ltd.

Company Size: 11-50 employees


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2017

Almost 30 years and still going strong

It has served our company well. We are upgrading to the newest version and looking to take great of all the new functionality.

Pros

Lots of Configurability, Our end users are very happy and find it a friendly experience. Good Partner Ecosystem - Custome representatives were super fun.

Cons

Mixed Architectures as they move from legacy code to modern screens. Sometimes too many options for our needs.

May 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

Great, web-based ERP platform.

Pros

This product has been around for a while so it's pretty battle tested. Macola 10 is web-based so more progressive in design.

Cons

There are still some bugs that come up now and then that need to be addressed by they help desk staff.

September 2017

Steve from Olympia Sales Co.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2017

In our implementation of Macola 10.5 we have had some issues setting up payroll, and currently are waiting on a fix from the Macola technical team to fix them.

The support team from macola do not seem to want to help us. We have contracted with Triangle partners for our support and they do a very good job, but do not know the payroll system. We tried contacting macola for this help and they wrote us off so fast you couldn't even see it. I think we have found a work around through Triangle. I would hope that they would have a vested interest in seeing the successful implementation of any customer upgrading so that we could hand out 5 star reviews instead of 3 star. If your customers are happy and successful with your products they will let the world know about it. If they are unhappy with any aspect of the product or service they will also let the world know about it. Make your customers happy by helping when they request it. Especially after dropping 10's of thousands of dollars on the upgrade.

Pros

We have been using Macola Software for 30 years and have found it to be bullet proof and take care of our needs.

Cons

The help screens are in Dutch, we are americans. The linking of Synergy to Exact is glitchy. We are still trying to figure out a few of these bugs.

February 2017

Dalls from DeBeukelaer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

Macola

I love this product its an easy system to use when ordering items small or large.

Pros

I like the simplicity of having everything organized and having it in the right section

Cons

Sometimes the application freezes on you.

September 2016

Heather from Nielsen-Massey Vanillas, Inc.


Ease-of-use

3.5

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2016

EM10 - Usability

Pros

The lot tracking is spot on, for a food manufacturer this is critical to our business. The software also provides a great workflow management system that is hard to find in other solutions bundled with the ERP options in the similar market space.

Cons

Consistent product direction has been lacking at times over the years, however, they have made significant adjustments over the last 4 years and this seems to no longer be an issue.

May 2017

Brandon from Hinkle Hardscapes

Company Size: 2-10 employees


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2017

Solid Product, Can be a bit confusing

Pros

Ultimately, Macola does what it's designed to do. Allows for accurate inventory tracking, billing, and journal entries.

Cons

The interface is not necessarily as user friendly as it could be. I would probably recommend a more modern look and feel.

September 2016

Chris from Foam Supplies

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2016

Macola 10 - Customization is Standard!

The "core" functionality of Exact Macola 10 is built on previous versions of Exact's ERP softwares. This results in a very stable back-end. The difference between Exact 10 and every other software we considered is the ability to easily customize user interface without special tools or add-ons. All that is needed is an understanding of ASPx and some creativity. We are a chemical manufacturing company. Our Production workers record their own activity directly into Macola 10, using 100% custom screens. Not only does this reduce errors and increase efficiency, it also gave us additional functionality that we wouldn't of otherwise had. Among other things, we are able to limit the ingredients they see to only those required for the particular step of the production process they are currently on.

Pros

Very customizable while still providing a very stable back-end.

Cons

Some of the newer features don't meet expectations - the web services pieces, for example, aren't great.

June 2017

Amanda from Kleen Test Products

Company Size: 201-500 employees


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2017

It works, but basic at this level

Pros

Has many functions available, and security options to ensure each person sees only what applies to then.

Cons

Without one on one training for each individual area of the program it is hard to navigate and at times confusing. Even for someone computer savvy.

March 2018

Arlex from EYEMAR EXPRESS

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Macola the ERP for light manufacturing.

When I worked at Alaso I was Product Director and was responsible for the engineering changes and the materials list of the products.

Pros

Macola is an extraordinary ERP has modules for all business areas of small and medium enterprises.

With Macola you can automate the management of a business throughout your value chain.

Cons

Macola's weakness is that its escalation to large organizations has a tendency to be unstable.

I consider that macola can improve in its reports, when I use it I think that report database editors like Cristal Reports give more options in this regard.

February 2019

Korene from ENI

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

2.0

February 2019

Not as Fancy as it Sounds

I wish they would give reports way more options. also - searching for address is a pain.

Pros

Its pretty straight forward in the very basic way you can imagine.

Cons

Nothing helpful with reports that you want to create or ways to adjust how certain reports are pulled. The system loves to freeze up. Basic at best.

May 2018

Kristofer from Furniture Warehouse Outlet/Jordan Mfg. Co. Inc.

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

Program feels outdated and is not very user friendly. It almost never freezes or force closes.

Pros

I like the amount of things it can do all in one system. Very reliable with very few and far between hiccups.

Cons

It feels old and outdated. It also isn't very user friendly. You have to have a different window open for every task you do.