User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(18)

18

4 stars

(49)

49

3 stars

(5)

5

2 stars

(7)

7

1 stars

(1)

1

  • Pros

  • "What I like about this product is it’s ease of use and capabilities, very helpful for my business and it is interactive"

  • "Extremely easy to use. It has a strong and flexible Project Accounting system. It is easy to customize."

  • "It's very easy to use. I love the flexibility it provides to the user and integration with SQL is a great advantage."

  • Cons

  • "In my opinion I think it is a little bit pricy, costs too much to make it fully functional. But nonetheless it is good."

  • "The learning curve was a little steep for me which comes as a result of it being such flexible software. However, once learned, it is a very valuable resource and tool. "

  • "It requires some hardware resources that can be overwhelming for small businesses. But the more you allocate for this area, the bigger the reward."

Browse Microsoft Dynamics SL Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 80 results

January 2018

Gerson from TECRA TECHNOLOGIES

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

Identify the modules you need and focus on that

Once you configure and deploy this solution, you get a better understanding of your clients businesses.

Pros

Multi Company functionality is fantastic. This is a product designed to empower your people and making them more productive. It's focused on Financial and projects deployments. Provides the tools to share information across the company. Budgets, Invoices, projects and information in general. It's scalable and focused on Professional Services, Government Conntractors, Service in General, Distribution and we can say that Construction can be an industry that is perfect for this software.

Cons

It requires some hardware resources that can be overwhelming for small businesses. But the more you allocate for this area, the bigger the reward.

January 2018

Holly from Video Corporation of America

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

Have used Dynamics SL for around 8 years. Very comfortable with it and pretty easy to get use to.

Using them daily, I understands many ins and outs. I've been cross trained over the years in many of the modules. I understand there will be an upgrade coming in the near future and look forward to seeing a preview of it.

Pros

Reporting is great. I use reports weekly for time sheets when entering in payroll, for commission data. All of the look up screens are simple and give great information-- such as in the modules for Accounts Receivable, Accounts Payable, Purchasing, and General Ledger.

Cons

Different modules do not speak to one another. You have to go to several different modules to complete a task, so multiple windows must be open at a time. It tends to slow down our servers and sometimes crashes when you are in the middle of something.

November 2017

Jeff from Tennyson Center for Children

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Functionality

2.0

November 2017

Tough to use, makes reconciliations a nightmare

Investigate NetSuite. I've heard it's better.

Pros

-The biggest pro with Dynamics SL is the interchange functionality with Excel. Exports from Dynamics SL to Excel have the formulas pre-written, and the formatting isn't great but isn't crazy. Copy and paste a journal entry from Excel to the GL!!! Yes please! -Subledgers are abundant. -Useful and simple multicompany reporting. -Good for project-based accounting I guess.

Cons

Where to start? CASH MANAGER AND BANK RECONCILIATIONS. The biggest thing that drives me crazy about Dynamics SL is that users can enter an accounting event, say a check, where the check date is different than the transaction date and both are different than the post date. In other words, there is no control function over periods!!!! One transaction could impact three different periods. Go back to the check example, where a check cut on July 1 could have a period post of June 30 and a transaction date of August 1. The check shows in the GL in June, Cash manager in August, and AP aging and reports in July. Absolutely horrible control for an ACCOUNTING system. -Not user friendly or simple to use. My staff all have over a year experience and still don't know where certain things are in the system. -Requires a lot of third-party support, which piles on the consulting fees in addition to the fees paid for annual maintenance to Microsoft. -DSLUG [Dynamics SL user group] doesn't seem very user friendly either. My guess is that most outstanding organizations are on different software. I suppose there are a lot of "hidden tricks" which make you valuable if you know the system inside and out, but since most users can't just pick it up off the street [even with an accounting background], they end up paying a lot to the consultants.

April 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2018

The system is good for a smaller company. As our company has grown it has become difficult to use.

As a smaller company it was pretty easy to get around. I have felt the upgrades have made significant difference.

Pros

It's basic set up isn't too hard to use ONCE you have had some training. The set up of projects versus general ledger is pretty user friendly.

Cons

The reporting piece is pretty limited without customization. We have had to rebuild the general ledger and projects. If we didn't have an EXCELLENT internal support employee we would be in great trouble.

January 2020

Timothy from Christensen Farms

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Farming

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

SL may be a legacy product but provides solid value

It has been in use at my company for 14 years. While lacking a modern UI, it has been a good value for the investment.

Pros

The ability to develop custom software modules using their tools. We created three robust modules that integrate with core financial, project and distribution modules.

Cons

Microsoft doesn’t seem to put much investment in the product any longer. The legacy VB.Net Windows client is dated.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Dynamics SL

Had out grown the other product.

February 2015

Bonnie from Tenacity Solutions

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2015

SSI Consulting/Dynamcis SL review

Pros

Dynamics SL is very flexible, and it handles government contracting very well. SSI does a great job of implementation and ongoing support. It is especially helpful that they understand the nuances of government contracting.

Cons

Being very flexible is good news and bad news. It means you have to be more thorough in your setup to make sure you get things the way you want them. It also means that the support consultant is critical to getting it right. SSI is great at this. Just wish there were more like them. Dynamics SL is very flexible and great for government contractors. SSI is great in those areas as well. They have been extremely helpful, from planning and implementation through continual support.

March 2018

Michelle from ESCCO

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2018

We have been able to customize SL to make it work for our company needs

Pros

This software is easy to pull any data you need through quick queries with the export to excel feature.

Cons

There is quite a bit of setup going into programming to get it to run the way you need it because there's different pieces to get the system to work.

July 2018

Houssam from Al Zaim United Co.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

It is very helpful for my business

Pros

What I like about this product is it’s ease of use and capabilities, very helpful for my business and it is interactive

Cons

In my opinion I think it is a little bit pricy, costs too much to make it fully functional. But nonetheless it is good.

August 2018

Mary Love from JWS

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Easy to use. Amazing software!

Pros

It is a user-friendly software where you can familiarize the functions/tasks easily with lesser supervision.

Cons

So far I can't remember anything that I could say the least likeable about this product/software.

February 2018

Elizabeth from Corporación Soloplástico, C.A.

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

Great and reliable software!

We are currently using this software for accounting in our company

Pros

I love how extremely customizable Dynamics SL is when it comes to fitting our team needs. Also it is backed by the biggest software name in the industry so the overall quality is great

Cons

It's learning cuve is very steep because of the degree of customization built in it. But otherwise is a really great tool.

February 2017

Allison from The Mariners Museum

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2017

Microsoft Dynamics SL

Good product. Have been using it for 17+ years.

Pros

user friendly

Cons

located on a server rather than online

September 2017

Jose from Kings Aire

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

2.0

September 2017

Dynamic SL Review

Pros

Provides the necessary tools to process a service dispatch function. Have been using Dynamics SL since 2005 and at that time, it was one of the best available software that had the service dispatch module along with the accounting software. We also had a local dealer that helped us implement.

Cons

Has not kept up with changing times. Not sure how much Microsoft spend in research and development of Dynamic SL to stay current with changing technology. You have to access various screens to view information that should be available with a click. The service invoices are not connected to payroll, inventory, or purchasing. There are constant bugs in the software that we have to get a third party to fix.

September 2017

Jennifer from LC Home/LC Real Estate Group

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

Perfect for Project Based Accounting

This is a real accounting system, if you've got people who have never used anything but Quickbooks, you're in for a big mess! If you've got real accountants and not bookkeepers, you will be VERY pleased with this product.

Pros

It interfaces with our purchase order software (Sapphire Build) and gives us the detailed job cost we were lacking from our old accounting software.

Cons

It is not very user friendly. Training is almost non existent for it, and it isn't a widely used software.

August 2016

magdalene from Tidyzone Cleaning Company

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

August 2016

Micooft Dynamics SL - Making Accounting Much Easier

Pros

It helps me with entering time from any device. For my company, less time needs to be invested to create invoices from timecards. •Project profitability is guaranteed as we do less of the work that tends to lose us money and more lucrative work. •The ease with which we are able to hide unwanted fields makes data entry simple especially for he users ho don't use computers on an ever day basis.

Cons

•When we have a lot of invoices rather than just a few large invoices, it can be frustrating by how long it takes Flexible Billings to generate a lot of invoices •It would be nice if Dynamics SL had an easy integration to some of the nicer salestax tools but its ok

April 2016

Taylor from Ensorcell Investments

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.5

Functionality

5.0

April 2016

Dynamics SL Review - I recommend it!

Pros

I love the fact that Dynamics SL is extremely customizable when it comes to fitting my business needs. It is backed by arguably the biggest software name in the industry so the overall quality is definitely apparent.

Cons

The learning curve was a little steep for me which comes as a result of it being such flexible software. However, once learned, it is a very valuable resource and tool.

January 2019

Mark from Skyline

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Dynamics SL works for most

Pros

Microsoft Dynamics SL is a good program for tracking finance, service, human resources, and more. It worked well for most companies out of the box.

Cons

The problem with Microsoft Dynamics SL is it is not ideal for a lot of companies. The software is really limited in who it is useful for. I would like it to be more flexible.

February 2015

Paul from FLS

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

February 2015

Controller of private company, using Microsoft Dynamics SL

Pros

The product is written by one of the best names out there, Microsoft, and is supported by a great team. Getting a hold of them is easy and working with them is a pleasure.

Cons

It is built with today's technology, using SQL and Crystal; tools that my IT staff is familiar with. The database is easy to navigate and the programs can be easily integrated with our own home grown system. Microsoft is always trying to improve the product and in this latest release (SL2015), they have really hit a home run with some of the new tools, features and enhancements!

November 2016

pavneet from 3i infotech

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2016

It's not good

Everything about the system is to be disliked. The system has problems in every module you would normally use. The available canned reports don't have all the information you would want. To add fields to a report is not intuitive if possible within the scoping screens and if not possible within those screens you have to pay a consultant to customize the reports for you (and even that might not be possible). The system with give weird errors and you have to shut down your computer to try and continue on with what you were doing. The reporting tools available to link with the system are not great either and usually have trouble communicating with SL.

June 2016

Yanli from Agricultural Research Foundation

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

3.5

June 2016

Non profit organization experience

Pros

Flexible and easy to use, customer service are very knowledgeable and you most likely have the same support person for each module. The turnaround is very fast, within 24 hours.

Cons

It would be better to improve reporting functionality

January 2017

Yanli from Agricultural Research Foundation

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2017

Dynamic SL accounting

This is a great product for accounts receivable, accounts payable and general ledger. Not quite great for fund accounting, we have to twist it to work for us to manage the project, fund etc.

Pros

Easy to use, works very well with Microsoft excel. You can copy/paste from Excel to Dynamic for some of the data entry which is so convenient. Customer service staff are very experienced and helpful.

Cons

Reporting is a weakness. I have to work between Dynamic and Excel to manually generate financial statements.

September 2016

Emmanuel from Child Research and Resource Centre

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2016

Work with the it between 2000 to 2007 in international organisation

Pros

Not the one who setup the product, but found it very easy to use in multi-project environment

Cons

The preparation and management of 'resource and application of funds' was manually calculated making it a little problematic

February 2017

Kyle from VSC Fire and Security

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

Solid and dependable ERP that fits our business

Dynamics SL is a solid product that is very dependable and flexible to our needs. It has helped accommodate our growth and expansion for years into other geographies and with new applications.

Pros

It is dependable, agile, able to integrate with almost any other solution in our IT footprint and intuitive.

Cons

While it handle's 90% of our business, need to rely on some ISV's to accommodate. They generally work very well together - just another thing to manage.

November 2016

Jaspal from Commercial Syndicate

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2016

Review of Microsoft Dynamics SL

I am in accounting so most of my business problems are monetary. I love how smoothly all of my transactions flow between reports.

Pros

The flexibility of creating your reports to suite your company needs is a great asset of this product. It is user friendly and can be great for small up to large companies.

Cons

I would like to have a feature that allows you to preview the affect of a journal entry before it posts. I would also like to be able to edit descriptions after a posting and an error has been discovered. That error is forever in the GL.

July 2016

Julie from A Place For Rover, Inc.

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2016

Great product!

Pros

We converted everything from Quickbooks to Dymanics and the transition was smooth.

Cons

Nothing. Really liked the product and they improved the software as customers suggested.

July 2014

Michael from Eastex Telephone Cooperative

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.5

July 2014

Dynamics SL Review

Pros

We love the flexibility of Dynamics SL and being able to customize it if necessary. Working with SIS has been great, and their team is very knowledgeable about SL and writing code.

Cons

Like any software, it has some quirks that one has to figure out, such as the attachment functionality. If you copy a JE that has an attachment, it brings the attachment to the new JE. However, if you delete the old attachment from the new JE, it also deletes it from the original JE as well. There's just quirky stuff like this.

September 2016

Robert from Burma Bibas, inc

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2016

Seamless and effective.

Pros

Pricing was very fair, and rollout was smooth. Product performs almost exactly as advertised!

Cons

Needed a bit more customization than we originally discussed.

November 2016

Vikash from gallium industries limited

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2016

Review of Microsoft Dynamics SL

We use Microsoft Dynamics SL as our financial software handling all accounting operations and as a financial reporting base. We used it to keep track of our G/L accounts as well as make debit and credit adjustments to our factories overseas. It helped us keep track of what we owe and what is to be paid out to us.

Pros

Easy to create debits and credits to applicable accounts. Built on a SQL Server back-end. SQL Server is fairly easy to use and integrates well with other Microsoft products. Screen customization.

Cons

Difficult to reverse an incorrect entry.

September 2016

Daniel from The Gart Companies

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.5

September 2016

Good product

Pros

The ability to manage all my financial accounting in one view. It's a great plus I. 2015

Cons

There is nothing I don't like about it. The service should be better

March 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

This product helps a lot of larger contractors effectively.

Helps our team plan logistics quickly and integrate our routes efficiently for our jobs.

Pros

I love the fact that this integrates with so many things. You can iframe forms within your website to pull all your data directly into the CRM (a much cheaper option than having a developer build api connections that auto populate the information).

Cons

I would say this is a pretty expensive product compared to what is out there. Once you get over that size though, this is a good pick.

September 2016

Kelby from Redwood

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2016

Assistant General Manger

Pros

Organized numbers and easy to read/use! Your business will love this software

Cons

Cost is a little high at first but after awhile it pays for itself

November 2016

harmandeep singh from New York University

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2016

Microsoft Dynamics SL Review

It is resource planning software product for project driven small and mid size companies

Pros

Available as online and client service It could be easily integrated with microsoft project server It supports numerous industry specific add-ons from other microsoft software vendors

Cons

The technology used by software is old customer support is only available through third party vendors It does not offer native apps for android and IOS devices

February 2017

Michelle from Business Owner

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2017

Microsoft Project Management

Microsoft Project Management software has pretty much had a market monopoly for many years in terms of powerful functionality. However, the choices have become more diverse without sacrificing powerful management features. Also, I have found other applications much more user-friendly with ongoing training support & superior customer service.

Pros

Functionality

Cons

Complex, not user friendly, low level of customer service, expensive.

November 2016

Gargi Singh from Nyu

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2016

Value for money

The product feels good to operate and manage. The overall experience is pleasant with a few minor glitch's. But that can be ignored if you are not a big fan of extravagant UI.

Pros

Value for money. great functionality and swift response.

Cons

Customer support from microsoft is always lousy , so expect them to be a little delayed like always.

November 2016

Hanna from Auburn University Welcome Week

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2016

Great Product, Y'all!

I first encountered this product through Auburn University, and really enjoyed the convenience of the product and the ease of customer support. With Microsoft Dymanics SL, it's good to have exactly what you need in mind, and the program is super helpful with accommodating those goals. And it offers copy/paste features! A total bonus for quick planning and organization.

Pros

Copy and paste feature, awesome customer support, great for organization.

November 2016

Adarsh from Tata Consultancy Services

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2016

Review of Microsoft Dynamics SL

Dynamics SL, like Dynamics NAV has a tremendous toolset for customizing. If you allow the customizing to occur-make sure that you have the staff or budget to support lots of customizations as the mods do make support and upgrading a bit more challenging.

Pros

Strong independent Users Group. TCO is very competitive.

Cons

The field service module is not multi-currency compliant.

November 2016

sagar from Talent4Assure Test Services Private Limited

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2016

Review of Microsoft Dynamics SL

It is a very efficient software for small and midsize companies which require project and product management.

Pros

Strong Distribution Series Strong Financial Capabilities and Multi-company / Intercompany

Cons

The technology seems very old It does not have other modules like Grant Management, National Accounts and Fixed Assets.

November 2016

Srajan from Tata Consultancy Services

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2016

Review of Microsoft Dynamics SL

Organizations that have challenging project accounting needs should definitely review this product. Very few products come close to Dynamics SL in handling these broader project accounting needs as well as Dynamics SL.

Pros

Provides flexibility for complex project based cost accounting. Flexible reporting and billing.

Cons

Improve the budgeting and forecasting.

November 2016

Prabhdeep from Capgemini

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2016

Review of Microsoft Dynamics SL

Microsoft Dynamics SL is designed to easily manage the complexities of a project-based business, which helps you run more efficiently and giving you insight you can use to deliver accurate estimates on time and on budget.

Pros

It's very easy to use. I love the flexibility it provides to the user and integration with SQL is a great advantage.

November 2016

sagar from Talent4Assure Test Services Private Limited

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2016

Review of Microsoft Dynamics SL

Installation and implementation require a lot of steps. Partner´s community is decreasing because of the raising of new ERP companies that are using new technologies to build its software.

Pros

I love the fact that Dynamics SL is extremely customizable when it comes to fitting my business needs. It is backed by arguably the biggest software name in the industry so the overall quality is definitely apparent.

Cons

The learning curve was a little steep for me which comes as a result of it being such flexible software. However, once learned, it is a very valuable resource and tool.

January 2017

Charlene from Agricultural Research Foundation

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2017

Microsoft Dynamics SL - Accounting

This system is very easy to use in a menu driven sort of way. It has good features and not so good features. Hopefully, they are working on a fix for the not so good.

Pros

Menu-driven, easy.

Cons

Reports need to be customized, not able to do some year-end reports so you have to do those manual.

January 2017

Claudia from Kec

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2017

Dynamics

I have used this system for over ten years. The system is fairly easy to use.

Pros

I like the accuracy of the reports you can run within this system.

Cons

I hate when batches get stuck in unreleased mode or manual checks don't post to vendor history.

July 2017

Angela from Kunz Law

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Legal Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2017

Microsoft Dynamics SL

Pros

Microsoft Dynamics SL is easy to use and provides an adequate foundation for keeping track of due dates and deadlines.

Cons

Microsoft Dynamics SL is fairly expensive for what you get. For the money spent on the software, it should have more capabilities.

February 2015

Bill from SSi Consulting

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.0

February 2015

Implemented Dynamics SL over the last 20 years.

Pros

I like that it's flexible, customizable, and has deep project functionality and excellent financial capability. They have a strong series of partners for installation and support. Reports are written in Crystal and can be modified.

Cons

Sometimes the depth of features means that it is time-consuming to implement and learn.

April 2016

Carl from Model Die and Mold Inc

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.5

April 2016

Soloman Review

Pros

It does a great job of job costing and recording all the detailed transactions

Cons

To many extra processing steps, example, after you have entered a cash transaction, then you have to release the cash transaction, then you have to release it from the GL, then you have to post to the GL.

May 2019

Sari from ProEd Communications

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

2.0

May 2019

Poor time sheet system

Pros

Not many, overall basic design and interface

Cons

Horrible time taking features, constantly miscalculating hours spent on tasks after inputted. Limited space in notes field to describe tasks completed leading to acronym or shorthand which can be misleading.

June 2016

Charlene from Agricultural Research Foundation

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2016

11 years of satisfaction

Pros

Microsoft Dynamics SL has a very user friendly AP/AR/GL data entry system. It is very easy to figure out and makes data entry a breeze. They have great customer service!

Cons

There is still a lot of manual work to produce your monthly/quarterly/yearly financial reports. You are able to export the data into Excel to get the reports you need but there is not an easy/automated way to get those reports.

September 2016

Lynn from Arion Systems, Inc

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

2.5

Value for money

2.5

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2016

Microsoft Dynamics SL

Pros

Microsoft is a large company so hopefully Dynamics SL will be supported and be around for a long time.

Cons

This accounting software does not come with canned financial statements and even though this has been requested for years, it is still not available.

November 2016

Diego from J.P. Morgan

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2016

Review of Microsoft Dynamics SL

Project setup is quite easy for users, as is review and analysis. We manage by budget for each project and have never had an issue or need for additional information. Time and Expense capturing by employees is painless and efficient. This is highly important to a project centric organization. It meets our needs and users are content.

Pros

AP, AR and GL processing is straight forward and quite efficient. Multi-Currency - We use three different currencies, and Dynamics allows us to easily create journal entries, raise sales invoices, and receive payments in any of those currencies.

Cons

Integration with other Systems

October 2018

Rosie from The Real Peru

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

1.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Project software with big learning curve

Pros

Dynamics SL works best for small to medium size organizations. The software is able to do what you need--budgets, forecasting, local and web-base analytics, etc. While it has many features, we have designated a main person on our team to be the expert and then help teammates along the way as the software is bulky and can be very confusing up front.

Cons

This software comes with a big learning curve. Don't expect to get started on your projects right away with this tool as you'll need to do significant training to understand the benefits before use.

October 2016

Hanna from Auburn University

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

Big Fan of the Functionality

As a PM manager of a coffee shop, professionalism and communication is key. This program allows us to introduce and share a number of thoughts, maintain finances (such as projects on a budget), assign tasks where needed, and much more. These are important concepts that many other programs lack (in sum). I have been extremely satisfied with all Microsoft products, and this only affirms that appreciation for their quality.

Pros

Better budgeting options, assigning/creating specific tasks that allow others to be engaged and the business to grow.

Cons

More options regarding inventory would be a helpful addition to the program.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 80 reviews