All MYOB Business Reviews

1-25 of 117 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Ivan

Verified reviewer

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2018

A Solid Piece Of Software

PROS

I have used MYOB for years, it's perfect for getting the job done, and easy to use.

CONS

Sometimes the ability to change or delete transactions is a little bit dangerous.

Anthony

Telecommunications, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2022

MYOB Accounts Plus

overall good

PROS

Online and off line accessMobile scanning of receipts

CONS

some search features could be better. Doesn't narrow down search when entering items or descriptions

Reason for choosing MYOB Business

easier to use

Paul

Consumer Goods, 2-10 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

Probably OK If you Are a Trained Accountant or Bookkeeper

We wasted a lot of time and resources using this software for our small business accounting needs. Whilst it did the job in the end we believe there are simpler options such as XERO for us non- accountants.

PROS

As a small business owner not trained in the art of accounting there wasn't a lot we found easy about using MYOB Essentials. The reporting process at the end is probably our highlight.

CONS

We found MYOB Essentials cumbersome to set up and use. The support team was basically of little help. Sending files to our Accountant at the end of the tax year was a pain. MYOB Essentials is better suited to those with a deeper knowledge of accounting than what we have in our business. That is why we switched to XERO which we find much easier and more efficient to use.

Reason for choosing MYOB Business

We chose MYOB Essential based on their reputation as a simple inhouse accounting software solution.

Adam

Supermarkets, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

MYOB Easy

PROS

Application layout makes it easy to navigate

CONS

The upgrade feature needs to run in the background.

Nicole

Verified reviewer

Staffing and Recruiting, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2018

One of the top software for bookkeeping

PROS

I enjoy using MYOB simply because it does everything you need for a small business - sometimes needs more explanation with accounting though for new people.

CONS

glitches with POS machines is really the only thing I ever came across with this program, so not alot from a small business perspective.

Ellsi

Entertainment, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2023

Good to start but difficult with finer details.

It worked well as a start package for the small business and didn't cost anything for the first year so was a great starting option. However it was difficult to learn and take further with lots of niggly issues.

PROS

Good app availability to easily capture expenses and receipts. Simple to get started and underway with and often free with certain banks etc for the first year.

CONS

Beyond some basic functionality it was difficult to understand how best to do many things. In addition it was very difficult to reconcile amounts where a bank fee had altered the incoming amount. Often resulting in adjusting the original invoice rather than simply applying a fee during reconciliation.

Reason for choosing MYOB Business

Ultimately it was offered free for a year so was a good starting point compares to paying.

Karen

Education Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2019

MYOB for business

PROS

I used MYOB a few years ago. At that time MYOB seems the only one which is capable of doing accounting tasks in Australia

CONS

I used MYOB a few years ago. At that time MYOB online version seems poorly designed, not suitable for multitasking

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

Great software, but too pricey for my needs

Good software with lots of useful functionality, but too pricey for my needs and too cumbersome compared to other options

PROS

MYOB will polished with lots of mine integrations and options.

CONS

There are a number of different portals with different purposes and I would get lost sometimes navigating the various sites.

Reason for choosing MYOB Business

I didn't choose it in the end.

Thomas

Financial Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

Thomas Review

A great experience for first time accounting users.

PROS

It's a great, easy to use product that would suit any type of business.

CONS

It's limited by that it doesn't allow multiple businesses for consolidated accounting, so it'll always lose to bigger systems.

Peter

Verified reviewer

Publishing, 11-50 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2018

An industry standard, needs better support

PROS

This is one of the mainstream products available around and has a lot of users all over the globe. There is a great chance that your accountant is familiar with this and will be able to make great recommendations

CONS

Updates can be cumbersome and provided they work well they are easy to apply. I have had a couple of instances where we needed support and it has been very lacking. General technical support is poor with cancelled webinars and staff which appear not to know more than the most basic for troubleshooting.

adam

Apparel & Fashion, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2020

not to bad...quit easy to use.

Customer service can be slow to respond. That said when you do get onto them they do know how to assist.

PROS

Simple and easy to use. A good range of add on products.

CONS

No real ability to grow with your business. Its really only suitable SME

Gavin

Accounting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed March 2021

MYOB essentials before it was put on the accountright platform was excellent.

Mostly problems compared to the old software.

PROS

Payroll is ok it has some nice features on pay items but nothing the old essentials could do easily.

CONS

The list is far too long. The old essentials is excellent. All that needed to be done is have the option of reports it had be converted to excel rather than PDF. The decision to go to accountright will be fatal.

Reasons for switching to MYOB Business

I was aware that account right was an awful product. I was told that this was a myob upgrade with improved reporting options. I was 3 to 4 months into the new financial year before I was informed that the current software is based on Account Right. MYOB have been working on fixes to my problems for months. Not one problem I found has been fixed. I think they unable to fix this mess.

Steven

Hospitality, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

If you find something good, stick to it.

It has been an essential tool in running our business effectively and maintaining legal compliance since we started in business in 2011.

PROS

The wide range of features and varied reports that can be produced to assist with trackingn expenditure , budgeting and forecasting. Regular updates keep us compliant with tax law.

CONS

I do not operate the software. Unable to answer.

Reason for choosing MYOB Business

Recommendation of accountant.

Elizabeth

Food & Beverages, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed August 2021

Upgrade of platform rubbish

Very frustrating, dissatisfaction and disappointment. Will be looking at Xero.

PROS

Nothing about the new upgraded platform, all information has to transferred over. Too many gimmicks of cartoon characters , boxes with useless information and graphs taking up half of the dashboard. Support of myob is very inexperienced and wasted 3 hrs on the phone to resolve payroll issues. Did not ask or want the upgrade now paying more for a useless product.

CONS

Navigation is too complex, nothing is clear and simple. Super is not calculated correctly, some of the information has not migrated over with the new platform had to re input details. A lot of wasted time.

Jan

Consumer Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed March 2022

The Updated Version is Catastrophic for a very small business

you wait for hours to receive help then get cut off as the wait time is so long

PROS

Not much, the old version worked perfectly, we were given an ultimatum

CONS

Undeposited funds should not be automatic, you cannot delete

Reason for choosing MYOB Business

Because we were forced to update with no alternative

Mark

Accounting, 11-50 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed August 2020

MYOB Review

PROS

I like that it has been around for many many years, and the functionality has NEVER changed or been improved

CONS

The lack of development and modernisation of the product

Chris

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2017

This is great accounting Software thank you

I have been using this software for over 10 years it is a bit expensive but works well Especially after it went to cloud based

PROS

And I like if anything goes missing my computer gets Stolen or burns or virus then I don't lose everything because it's on the clouds

CONS

The cons are that it is too expensive for what it is

Beverly

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY