Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(32)

4 stars

(24)

3 stars

(6)

2 stars

(1)

1 stars

(0)

Feature Ratings Breakdown

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Funtionality

4.0 / 5
  • Pros

  • "very easy system to follow. Balancing the check book is top notch. Making any kind of change ore correction is very easily done."

  • "Very easy and straight forward to use. Can manage any size business with ease. Great flow of information within the system. "

  • "Easy to use , flexible to fix wrong data entries, can import almost any transaction type , cover core functions"

  • "Quickbooks can handle the accounting for any size company. It is easy to make an accountant's copy to send over for the CPA for year end activities."

  • Cons

  • "Some of the functions are not set up where you would expect them to be so you have to hunt for them the first time you use them."

  • "I wish back up options were better for the small business. An easy automatic cloud option would be great! "

  • "It is not very good for specialized accounting, such as project based accounting and non profit accounting."

  • "A lot of money to renew every year. need to buy payroll in addition not so easy to customize forms for my business"

Filter reviews by:

Sort by: Most Helpful | Most Recent

Showing 1-20 of 63 reviews

Do you use this product?Write a review

August 2016

Chris from Burlington Merchandising and Fixtures


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.5

Functionality

2.5

August 2016

Not for the long-haul (canadian version)

Pros

Ease of use, and very quick to learn. This version allows up to 5 concurrent users.

The audit trail and stock reports are very user friendly with plenty of filters. Expect a very quick turnaround training new staff and getting them up to speed, as the interface and functionality is hard not to grasp.

Since this is the premier version, I was not assigned an account rep. There is also a toll free line overseas for any technical/database bug issues.

I did like the support for merchant services and the support given for if we were to upgrade. The only real (noticeable) difference between this and the enterprise version is slightly less options for role centre "customization" and being capped at 5 concurrent users.

In the Canadian version, plugging in to SQL server is the way to go in order to obtain custom reports.

Cons

The role centers "handcuff" users to certain roles. When it comes to the general ledger, the "all-or-nothing" functionality doesn't allow the controller to shut off access to certain parts of the financials. Ideally, the controller should be able to define a role center to allow posting/viewing in certain account groups and not to others.

Inability to approve and subsequently lock down POs and SOs. Once a PO/SO gets issued, a user with basic access can always change unit costs and quantities. This hinders the business' scaleability.

The Canadian version no longer allows the user to compress the data file in previous periods. This may be frustrating for companies who rely on lengthy journal entries, as the database file size will exponentially grow.

If you are a job shop (or project-based company), do not expect much in terms of job-cost reporting. The software is limited to populating a customer field when posting an expense. You will have to manually set up jobs as customers and instruct staff to classify expenses under the proper subgroup.

October 2017

Michael from MC Tax Consulting

Company Size: 1 employee

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2017

QB Premier Desktop

Quickbooks (QB) Premier is the top line version of QB and has many industries that it customized for. Sometimes you can buy one then select your industry in which you'll be lock in or buy the specific one for your industry. It's also the most expensive version of QB. The accountant edition is the Top line version and has access to all industries but it doesn't necessarily work that well when switching between industries. People using the 'cash basis' will find QB easy to use. Once you use the 'accrual' method along with invoicing, things get messy VERY EASILY! PEOPLE MUST LEARN HOW TO USE QB PROPERLY BUT DO NOT!! THE FAULT OF A MESSY QB FILE IS THE OWNER(S), NOT THE BOOKKEEPER/ACCOUNTANT! PAY SOMEONE TO FIX YOUR QB FILE IF POSSIBLE! Payroll module is available at an cost but it's NOT very good. Outsource to an external payroll company for payroll instead! When people say that they only use QB to track their expenses/income like a check book but DO NOT use it for anything else, then there's TROUBLE!

Pros

Relatively simple to use, though users MUST LEARN how to use QB PROPERLY!!
Ready made Generic reports

Cons

EXPENSIVE!
Garbage in, garbage out! Don't blame software when MAJORITY of mistakes are done by Users NOT KNOWING WHAT THEY WERE DOING!!
MUST learn to use the software properly!
Software support/life has been reduced to ~3 yr cycle.
Online bank feeds don't work 100% so must pay attention to what is (not) imported from online banking account!
Many features are BURIED within menus and submenus!!
Client files are ONLY compatible with the previous yr's version instead of ALL Years versions (i.e. 2017 file may be opened in 2016 but not any older year versions) like it used to be YEARS ago!
Compacting files do NOT work well as it screws up the beginning balance after it compacted and many client accounts are messed up as well. Need this feature to remove MANY Years worth of OLD financial data!
Payroll module is available at an additional cost with an ANNUAL fee!

September 2018

Karla from Altitude Financial Services LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Depends on what you need

I have used this for many, many years and still like it a lot. But I don't know how long desktop solutions will be around given the stampede to cloud-based subscription software.

Pros

You are not dependent on internet to make use of it, and as it has developed over the years it has many easy to use features, and special accountant tools. I like the desktop data flow reminder for clients to help them understand how to use the product. Each year they release a new version with new or improved features, and there are regular maintenance releases. You can choose one of the industry specific versions of QB Premier that best meets the needs of your business. Setting up a company file can be very easy if you know what you are doing.

Cons

This is a desktop software that you have to replace with updated versions. After 3 years you no longer are able to get support or updates (each May a year gets "sunsetted") though it will still work. It is not easy to work with your accountant without sending files unless you pay for a hosting solution. Naturally, if you don't have it backed up frequently away from your local computer, you can lose your data in a crash and may not be able to recover it. Bank feeds for automated data entry usually incur bank charges, which is not true in QuickBooks Online.

July 2017

Kim from Action Lock - South Georgian Bay

Company Size: 2-10 employees


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2017

Quick books looks after (almost) everything I could possibly need for me to run a business, it is just taking me a bit of time to learn.

Overall, I am very happy with quick-books. I miss the simplicity of WAVE sometimes, but love how quick books manages my inventory, ordering needs, purchase orders, sales receipts, email, logo's, etc. I would probably have benefited from a class first. Having started using it, I would never go backwards again and give it up. It is part of the company now. One of us!

Pros

Pretty much everything needed to run a business is in quick books. Love how everything is mapped out on the home page. Was trying to run small business with "WAVE" and Excel. We were doing it but it was hard to keep track of everything. Love having a program that manages everything you could possibly need all in one place. Lots of help available on line (great), if you know what the problem is and where to look for the answer.

Cons

When a mistake is made, trying to find the mistake and fix it can be quite difficult. My Mistake: Figuring out what has to be voided or deleted before I can void or delete something else. Figuring out what the mistake was, knowing where to look for it ( I have entered a couple of entries twice. One as an invoice that was paid, and one as a sales receipt. When I was doing a search for the sale, because they were entered differently ...when I did a search for the sale amount both transactions wouldn't show at the same time. They only looked for INVOICE, or BILL etc- It wouldn't search for amount in two different ways of billing. Both of them had been deposited before I realized I was wrong. Boy did I spend a lot of time 1st figuring out what had happened , then 2nd figuring out how to fix it so everything reconciled. There is a lot of "help" available on line, so long as you know what you are looking for. Would be great if there was free learning available on line in video form to watch while you do.

October 2017

Jaunett from Custom Payroll & accounting

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

Really good value

QuickBooks has a "double edge sward" in that it is easy to manipulate. If you know accounting, it is a good thing. If you do not know accounting, is is a bad thing.

Pros

The different modules are designed so that tricks in one module work in other modules. Reports are easily manipulated to produce the information I need. I can easily adapt chart of accounts to fit the needs of my client. I love the accountant transfer system. I can work on client's books from my office. They release updates often and are always improving the software.

Cons

My clients can make changes to accounts and reports that messes up the financial statements. QuickBooks allows changes too easily for people who do not have an accounting background. QuickBooks does not produce an Income Statement, I have to adapt a Profit and Loss statement if I want that report. The financial are not formatted so that they look nice.

February 2018

Jen from Quantum Business Solutions, LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Quickbooks Premier

It's a very easy to use software. You can easily customize reports, comment on reports, export reports in Excel format, customize all types of needs. It integrates with Outlook easily. I would highly recommend this software if you are an accountant or bookkeeper or in need of a specialized set up of a type of business. If you don't need these items, I would then go to Quickbooks Pro which will do everything you need and cost 1/3 of the money yearly for renewals.

Pros

Overall the product has more reports than Quickbooks Pro, but otherwise they are very similar. It allows for more specialized types of companies to set up such as Contractor version, Property Management version etc... If you set up as an accountant or bookkeeper with Intuit, they will refer business to you.

Cons

It's about 3 times the price of Quickbooks Pro costing per year to renew. There aren't really any downsides to the product otherwise.

July 2018

Dennis from Innovative Green Builders, Inc.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Terrific Software to Tracking Business Health in Specific Industries

This software has been really great to use. It's very good in the construction industry but also works well in property management! It can do everything from estimates to billing to payroll.

Pros

This software is very easy to use ...even with payroll capability. It works using various registers for each account. It also comes with a variety of reports that are very helpful in evaluating business processes...like job profitability in the construction industry. It comes complete with online videos of "how to" perform various functions like setting up accounts and billing. You simply cannot go wrong with this software.

Cons

Sometimes the automatic backup fails to work, but they always manage to get it back up and running. The backup is off-sight in the cloud and occurs with whatever frequency you choose.

April 2018

Jody from UPstream Iintl.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2018

Has basic functionality, not very intuitive and somewhat buggy.

The software works okay, but I feel it is lacking in many respects. And the bugs and data errors are extremely frustrating.

Pros

Allows you to categorize sales and expenses by class.
Can export data for manipulation and reporting in Excel.
Does direct deposit payroll.

Cons

Bug: doesn't let user select "check" as payment type.
Not very intuitive for a lot of it. For example, if you issue a credit to a customer, you can't apply it to any of their invoices unless the credit is issued through the same receivable account. It should at least recognize that there is a credit available for that customer.
Lacking in reports. We use it for a non-profit and have the non-profit version - but there is no report, out of the box, that allows you to quickly see what is available to spend for each project (identified as a class). You can start with the balance sheet, but have to calculate what's available. And donor contribution reports are also not readily available in a format ready to send, or export.
Frequently has data issues and needs to rebuild the data files.

December 2017

Aleshia from Hoel Engineering Ltd

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2017

Overall Good

Generally happy

Pros

Has lots of additional features within the payroll section, like using weekly timesheets to enter payroll hours, that if used properly can help streamline invoices and ensure accuracy with billable hours. There's lots of other apps that are compatible and sync up with Quickbooks too. Love being able to add Classes to separate out the divisions in our company.

Cons

Unfortunately some records don't allow or don't carry over the class function. For example, a classified invoice gets paid but the payment doesn't get classified, so when you try pulling balance sheets by class the A/R only has the invoices and not payments, giving a super off number and in a big company you're not about to calculate that manually.
Can also be touchy when looking at old payroll records so you need to be trained on what not to do or what to watch for.

July 2018

Jennifer from ROK Builders

Company Size: 1 employee

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2018

Quickbooks Premier based of 2018 Edition

Pros

Like all of QB's editions, it is very easy to use and navigate. If you're bank makes you pay to hook into it, you can easily imput data with a QBO file or use the batch entry function to get information in quickly. This has been a huge time savor me, especially when I have customers who haven't kept up with their books in some time.

Cons

My issue with all of QB is that reporting doesn't always give you what you're looking for, so you need to build something outside of QB. I'm sure there is a very good reason, but I also don't like having to switch to single user mode to make some settings/preference changes.

January 2018

Brenda from HN Construction Services

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

An Invaluable Business tool

Overall great software that helps my company run smoothly.

Pros

Before using quickbooks I had been using a software that cost a month. It was impossible to use and took forever. The interface was confusing and inefficient. I have been using quick books for a decade and my favorite thing about it other than the affordable price is the almost intuitive user interface. It's home page is a beautifully designed mind map of applications. And each feature is easy to use.

Cons

Payroll is not included but can be added on for a monthly fee which is fine. I just wish the payroll would come with more features.

November 2017

Judy from Living Stone Construction, Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

QuickBooks for Small Business

Pros

QuickBooks is very user friendly and almost anyone can learn to use this software for their business. It exports reports to Excel easily, which is one feature I love for month end financial reporting. It is easy to pull reports for anything by customizing canned reports.

Cons

While QuickBooks is very user friendly, sometimes that is a bad thing. An accountant must do the input or review the input. Many times people who are not familiar with accounting make errors, because you really can change anything (unless you set up security properly, which is hard in a small office environment).

March 2018

Alex from Prosoft Technology

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

QuickBooks Premier Does It All!

The program is easy to use, has incredible support, and really does it all. This program will work very well for individuals and small businesses alike. From one employee to 1000 employees, it will meet your needs across the board. Accounts Payable/Receivable, Payroll, Business Checking, various reports, and the list continues, everything you need in one neat package!

Pros

1 - Easy to use
2 - Great support
3 - Great for individuals/small business
4 - Multi-features
5 - Streamlined features
6 - Several Reports

Cons

1 - Some sections might require more thinking
2 - The immediate help bubbles could offer a little more explanation.
3 - Make sure you balance in all areas...

October 2017

Stephanie from SLA

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2017

Overall good product for the price

The Help Feature that is within QB is great! If ever in doubt of how to do something, if the Help Feature doesn't have a direct answer, it searches previous replies by other users to come up with a solution. Very handy.

Pros

Easy to search for existing documents, and keep all information tied to customers and vendors within their profiles.

Cons

Customers and vendors lists can become a disaster. Many times they are not entered the exact same way. If you have a large number of customers and vendors, it is difficult to remember that a profile might have been created already. QuickBooks ends up having multiple profiles separate from one another for the same company. It can be cleaned up, but is very time consuming. My customer and vendor profiles remain a mess, as I DO NOT have the time to fix!

January 2019

Dorothy from GLEC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Very user friendly

Luckily software is so well developed one does not need much support.

Pros

It is very user friendly. Easy to understand. I love the way you can drill into numbers to get an understanding of what its made of. Also easy to share with accountant, since many accounting firms use QB.

Cons

Not enough support. That part of the "service" is "outsourced" all over to independent business people. When you call a support line you never know who you will get.I've had many bad experiences and oft times they are more concerned with selling you an expense support package.

February 2018

Stefan from Economic Consulting

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Slow Start But Once You Get The Hang of It... It's Great!

Overall very happy with both products!

Pros

QuickBooks is fairly easy to use and customizeable. A bit of a learning curve on the front end but once you get going it's fairly simple. You enter the information and Quickbooks does all the "dirty work" in the background. With the addition of TSheets it has made time tracking SUPER easy. TSheets Customer Service (this means yout DM1) is REALLY GREAT and rounds out the product nicely. Both are comprehensive enough to get all the time tracking, accounting and financial reporting you need.

Cons

A bit of a learning curve on the front end and they could use a few more comprehensive, professionally produced training videos.

August 2017

Kathy L Cox from Printing and Office Supply

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

It is a wonderful system. transfers POS to Accounting with ease . very easy system to use and it allows you to do what you want.

I am not very good with computers but Quick books makes it very easy to follow. Run reports, make adjustments, e-mail invoices. It is a great system

Pros

very easy system to follow. Balancing the check book is top notch. Making any kind of change ore correction is very easily done.

Cons

This accounting Premier has a great price. But when combined with Point of Sale, the price is a bit much and that is just (1) user.
I think if you buy one you should be able to get additional ones at a good discounted price like at least half the price.

April 2017

Justin from Genesis Industrial Supply

Company Size: 2-10 employees


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2017

QuickBooks Premier is Entirely Sufficient and Good Foundation for New/Small Business

QuickBooks Premier is a fairly comprehensive program for managing your new or small business. It is very good at accounting and basic information management - estimates, invoices, items, vendors, customers, etc. It lacks some of the more comprehensive features of competitive offerings, or even QuickBooks own Enterprise solution but offers a good foundation for software that can handle most of what you'll need it to do.

Pros

Accounting
Customizable Reports
Layout Design for Quotes, Invoices, Etc.
Contract (Custom) Price Management

Cons

Inventory Management
Some Glitches Here and There

March 2019

Steffiny from Craftsmen Business Interiors, Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

QB Premier Contractor Edition 2016

Overall QuickBooks Premier is a great program for your needs.

Pros

The company I work for has the QuickBooks Premier Contractor Edition 2016. My favorite aspect is the ease of use to handle daily accounting tasks and the features to pull reports.

Cons

There are certain functions that are a bit more difficult that a CPA or the customer service team cannot assist with. A couple of examples include the inability to create contra-accounts and ordering W-2c forms through the software.

May 2018

Alejandra from Westport realty inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

One of the oldest programs but still one the best

Pros

Offers all of the basic accounting practices that are needed for a business, you can track your expenses, bills that you have paid, inventory, cash flow and even banking transactions and that is just a taste of what they can do.

Cons

Having the ability of login into a program like this when you are out of the office is greatly beneficial so having something to access on a mobile device would also be good for future use.