All Sage 100 Contractor Reviews

1-25 of 407 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Excellent Software

My experience with this software was excellent. I had used a basic Sage Accounting software for years and before Sage bought this particular accounting software, it was Peachtree. I loved it.

PROS

Reporting is excellent. User friendly. Ease of teaching employees. online forums are spot on for good information. Immediate help via chat or calling with more difficult issues. I love that they can help by driving my computer when I could not figure out an issue. They take fixes seriously for the next update. Very professional looking invoicing and reporting and very easy to get exactly what you need without a bunch of drop downs and reconfiguring of the crystal reports.

CONS

There is actually nothing I dislike about this software. It is by far my favorite accounting software.

Lucy

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2023

Sage 100 Contractor is a value adding 'asset'

Real and full visibility and near real time results. Utterly refreshing and makes my job that much easier. Excellent reporting.

PROS

Sage 100 C offers employment costing solutions. Following budgets vs. real expenses is crucial in the construction sector, and Sage 100 Contractor assists us (my client and i) in meeting this demand.

CONS

Data migration form the old software and Implementation was full of glitches but the client support were always available and willing to assist.

Reason for choosing Sage 100 Contractor

The high level of product support form the service provider. In addition to wanting you to utilize their product, their customer service personnel also wants you to be successful in whatever goal you have for it.

Reasons for switching to Sage 100 Contractor

Unreliability. Inaccurate financial reporting as a result of an aged and un-updated software.

Dennis

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2021

Wouldn't Recommend for a Specialty Contractor

We use Sage 100 for all of our accounting/payroll/purchasing/subcontracting and project management.

PROS

I've been using the software for seventeen years --- drill down works great --- generally intuitive to use. Can teach others to use in a short time.

CONS

Reports are needing serious work that Sage just won't change, Some work arounds that we implemented when we first started using the product are STILL required seventeen years later. There are also STILL issues within the program that Sage just can't fix. Have had to hire third party consultants to help with some issues and reports.

Reason for choosing Sage 100 Contractor

Seventeen years ago we were just getting started. Price/Functionality were a huge consideration. To say we've grown out of it is not a fair statement because we are still using the program.

Vendor Response

Thank you for submitting a product review. Your feedback is invaluable to the continued improvement of products and services from Sage.

Replied May 2021

Nelly

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

Quick Easy Construction Accounting

PROS

We upgraded from an antiquated program called Great Plains we had used for 25 years, there was no way to integrate or move our data to Sage. The process to get started was fairly easy, it was just a matter of reentering all our payable, receivable and setting up our GL. Once we got trained on it we found ways to streamline our work load.

CONS

The thing I liked the least was setting up my GL, they gave me way too many accounts and after entering them all, I discovered that I needed to delete half of them, they did not work for our business.

Reason for choosing Sage 100 Contractor

Ease of entry and the program was 1/4 the cost from Microsoft Dynamics

Reasons for switching to Sage 100 Contractor

Our system was outdated and our GL got corrupted

Linda

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2021

Sage 100 Contractor

Overall, we are happy with the product although we do not use it to its fullest.

PROS

Most like the payroll software. Very easy and has a lot of extra features such as ability to do certified payrolls.

CONS

Finding some of the reports is counter-intuitive. Often we really have to search from what we are looking for - and sometime there is no report. Happens for audits when we are asked to provide a few years worth of data.

Reasons for switching to Sage 100 Contractor

Too limiting with number of jobs that could be set up.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to helping drive your continued success in construction and real estate.

Replied May 2021

Timothy

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed August 2021

Sage 100 Contractor - Honest Feedback

It covers the basics of what we need, but really has not raised the level of service we are providing through technology. Sage 100 seems to have a good base, but needs a lot of development to make it standout.

PROS

We liked the fact that Sage 100 has Accounting, Service (work order management), and New Construction (Job management) in one package. Our goal was to make sure all programs are seamlessly communicating by having the same platform. None of these products really standout as special, but have the basic functions.

CONS

Basic functions in Accounting were set up strange and go against GAPP principles. Payroll is cumbersome to manage and Sage does not have a really good field time capture solution. SSO is basic and inconsistent. Basic navigation to look up customers and manage service contracts are not streamlined. It takes to many steps to access information and no easy wildcard "look up" functions.

Reason for choosing Sage 100 Contractor

The ablity to have all three components of our business in one platform.

Reasons for switching to Sage 100 Contractor

CUC Soft was purchased by Service Titan and shut down.

Tonya

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2021

Good Software for the price

I came in right after they had gone live with Sage, I see things that should have been done differently, but now it's too late.

PROS

I do like that you have more lock down control than you do with Quickbooks. I also like that there are several ways to get to something.

CONS

The reports need serious improvement, and that you can't have more than one address for a vendor. I also don't like that the attachments link can be broken so easily. We got a new server and moved everything over, but it broke the links to the attachment data. Also, we purchased Sage because we were told Procore would link to everything, well, here we are 2 years later and we still cannot push invoices from Procore to Sage 100. The ability to correct some issues are difficult if not impossible.

Reasons for switching to Sage 100 Contractor

For better control and the ability to link with Procore

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to helping drive your continued success in construction and real estate.

Replied May 2021

Lisa

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2021

New SAGE 100 user review (General Contractor)

PROS

SAGE 100 has been a great tool for us as a GC operation. It gives us lots of ways to manage job costs including those associated with uninsured subcontractors. Once training was completed (albeit remotely), our personnel found that the software was easy to use and navigate.

CONS

Transition and rollout of SAGE 100 Contractor took much longer than expected but this was not well-communicated by team that sold us the software. Transition team was remote but effective - they assumed we had extensive accounting knowledge when, in fact, the sole operator of SAGE 100 in our office is a part-time bookkeeper, not an accountant. Payroll calculations are rarely correct (we use an outside Payroll processor) even though tax tables are up-to-date.

Reasons for switching to Sage 100 Contractor

We made this change because Quickbooks online does not job cost. There are very few software packages that DO track and report job costs and our GC had prior experience with SAGE products (Timberline).

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to helping drive your continued success in construction and real estate.

Replied May 2021

Shannon

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2021

Good Software for Construction

PROS

This software has each feature that we need. Payables, receivables , payroll and you can see a budget vs. actual

CONS

That you need to have it on a server, it would be nice to have it on an online platform. It feels a little archaic

Reasons for switching to Sage 100 Contractor

Quick books you were able to void and it goes away

User Profile

Rick

Verified reviewer

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2018

Overall a very good software package. Very robust and is very good to tie things together.

We moved from Quickbooks to Sage 100 Contractor. The job reporting, job costing, and percentage of completion accounting was key to our move.

PROS

Job data, inventory and vendor data are all tied together so you can run job cost reports and drill into the data easily.

CONS

At the moment - limited abilities to push/pull data through API's. Payroll works well - but the one timekeeping system that has API's into Sage 100 Contractor did not work for us.

Mary

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2021

A few items to improve an already great product.

PROS

My boss has a lot of money going out; with that in mind, I start my bank reconciliation early and keep it going until month end. Sage far surpasses all other accounting software in this particular process.

CONS

Searching for an item could be improved dramatically! Also, if I issue a check by copying an old one issued to the same person. It becomes a journal entry and if I ask the computer for all payments issued to that person that journal entry is not always included. I need to be careful and check job costs, not just payments made. One other item, when issuing a check, I appreciate the manual check choice being added, I would suggest a small tweak, I wonder if you offered the verbiage "Debit Card", as well. I would be curious to attend short 15 minutes or so, info meetings- that would focus on educating users on particular features, for example in estimating and scheduling. Something that would have visual aids not just reading in the Sage Help. Maybe a recording in Zoom or YouTube a meeting accessible through your help site. I am a visual learner reading does not help me as much as a visual coach. One last item I would like to see implemented, I doubt it can be but here goes. If possible when I need to start a help ticket, sometimes what I need say is complicated. I need to type 2-3 paragraphs. I wish there was a streamlined way to get a person to talk to. Using the chat box is great unless it is a complicated issue, I wish I could type ## or something and that would direct me to the call back Que. Thank You so much for asking.

Reason for choosing Sage 100 Contractor

Some of your features are particular helpful for our industry.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to helping drive your continued success in construction and real estate.

Replied May 2021

Michael

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2021

Construction User

We have had nothing but great experience with the software and customer service has be great.

PROS

The software help tracking expenses and history of job cost is top of the line. Progress billing is the best and easiest we have seen.

CONS

It does have a deep learning cure but once you are past that it is easy to use software

Reason for choosing Sage 100 Contractor

Compatible with windows

Reasons for switching to Sage 100 Contractor

There data base could not handle our needs

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to helping drive your continued success in construction and real estate.

Replied May 2021

Elaine

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

Sage 100 Contractor

Very good.

PROS

It has more detail than our previous software. I really like the drill-down capability.

CONS

I would like to be able to work with someone at Sage to improve their Progress Billing fields. It is good for a basic set-up, but many of the Contractors that we bill have custom forms, requiring more fields that require the use of the Custom Fields tables. Good that the fields are there, bad in that they do not appear on the screen while billing. Makes the progress billing seem clunky. Also, would like more flexibility in the report writing (such as Outer Join, Left Join, Right Join).

Reason for choosing Sage 100 Contractor

Cost was moderate compared to the higher end construction software.

Reasons for switching to Sage 100 Contractor

We needed more flexibility in our software.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to helping drive your continued success in construction and real estate.

Replied June 2021

Brittany

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2021

Good software but would like to make some changes

We use Sage for billing out contract for long term electrical work projects and for quick electrical repairs. I personally do not have much to compare it to as the only other system I have used it Sage 50.

PROS

I like how we can use this software for both residential one time work orders and jobs that last consecutive months.

CONS

I dislike that when you search for a part you cannot search it by a key word in the name of the part. For example if part is named 4' risers yellow, I can only find the item by searching "4", I cannot find it by searching "risers". Alerts sometime seem to not work. I know my co workers mentioned that to me and since I have been shy of using them.

Reasons for switching to Sage 100 Contractor

I am not sure.

Michelle

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2021

Sage 100 review

Overall, we have become more acquainted with the software which has lessoned the frustration. That and having a great IT rep to help us through issues is a tremendous +

PROS

Our company was with American Contractors prior to SAGE. There are some areas that are an improvement over AC. With the help of our Sage IT, [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], we were able to work through the initial frustration of a new system. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] is a tremendous asset to us!

CONS

Not as user friendly as we hoped for. We have worked now with Sage since 2019 so things are easier. Originally, we thought it was an older platform and that is why some actions were outdated and still are. For instance, coding material sent to jobs through payroll. Not an option to code to the job at time of entry. We have to print the report, and do a general journal to apply.

Reasons for switching to Sage 100 Contractor

Number one was the price and the sales pitch assured us of more ease in performing our daily tasks.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to helping drive your continued success in construction and real estate.

Replied May 2021

John

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

Sage 100 Contractor

Sage customer service/tech support, used to be great, but now you are forced to start with chat, which is typically sub par even from 1st tier support. You do finally get things resolved but it just takes a lot longer and for a user who is out in the field with limited time it becomes inconvenient.

PROS

Accounting, Payroll, Billing, Job Costing

CONS

Proposal/ Quote, implementation needs a lot of improvement

Reason for choosing Sage 100 Contractor

Quicken doesn't have AIA billing.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to helping drive your continued success in construction and real estate.

Replied June 2021

Andrew

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY