All Soluno Reviews

1-25 of 101 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Alex

Verified reviewer

Law Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2020

Replace your law firm accounting software (especially it is PCLaw) with Soluno

See above

PROS

We started the practice 25 years ago on PCLaw. As we migrated through different practice management programs (we use Clio now), PCLaw never changed. However, it was clear that it was not getting the love from the developers over time, but they still charged us annually as if it was. We also had significant issues on a semiannual basis that required database rebuilds and tech support. This was in addition to certain usability issues (like getting constant errors every time we needed to email bills to clients). We made the decision to find an alternative in early 2018. With the help of a consultant (Optiable), we were introduced to Soluno. We did our research and spoke with the Soluno team several times in early 2018 to make sure it was a good fit. In the late summer of 2018 we then decided to provide them a snapshot of out data from PCLaw and create a test account. This allowed us to put the software through its paces with our own data. Time entry, emailing fake bills, editing time entries, writing checks, reconciling accounts - you name it, we tried it. And since the folks from Soluno were former PCLaw guys, Soluno just felt comfortable to use. We decided to move forward and went live on 1/1/2019. The transition was smoother than I expected and the Soluno team was there every step of the way. We did have some hiccups in early 2019, but they were quick to address the issues. Overall, we like the product very much and are happy with the decision to migrate.

CONS

Some of the reporting we were used to in our old accounting package is not available. However, we are told that many of them are on the road map for future release. That said, the few missing reports are easily forgotten by all of the benefits of not having to manage the software and having the ability to access it anywhere.

Reason for choosing Soluno

See above

Reasons for switching to Soluno

See above

Kelsey

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2022

Great, straightforward legal accounting software

Soluno is definitely more efficient than our previous software and is much more intuitive. Billing is a lot faster and setting up new billing templates is very easy. We mostly use it for accounting purposes so we haven't used the case or document management features. I love that it is cloud based as we do not have to complete a long install process for each new user and our remote employees can always access it with no problems.

PROS

Really easy to use Lots of things are customizable and the support team is very open to suggestions

CONS

Would love if there was a closed file feature so that we could remove files or have them destruct after a set period of time.

Reason for choosing Soluno

Better pricing, and we did the demo and found Soluno just a lot more user friendly.

Reasons for switching to Soluno

We had been looking at switching from PC Law because they were changing their pricing structure anyways, and then we had a cyber attack that helped push us to starting fresh with better software.

Brisia

Law Practice, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2023

Senior Bookkeeper

It has been 50/50 - The daily use is friendly, however the functionality for more specific features is restricted. For instance, GST and PST reports needs to be closed monthly, if anything needs adjustment or correction the remittance period needs to be re-opened. I would prefer to close remittances when year end finalizes rather than monthly.

PROS

It has features that are easy to hand with.

CONS

The restrictions for users are not customizable.

Reasons for switching to Soluno

It was partners decision to move to a base cloud software.

Ben

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2020

Exceptional product

We are finally running our back office and front office software in a piece that is intuitive and easy to learn. This saves us a lot of time and effort in operating it compared with what we used to have to do. We no longer have to pull our hair to try to do get some necessary report or run some necessary function in the software and everything is straightforward. I am really glad that we ended up with this product.

PROS

This product is exceptional in that (i) it is very easy to use and (ii) it combines the back-office accounting and the front office so it is comprehensive and fulsome. This is why this product stands out above all others. The ease of use and the fact that it contains all back office accounting, plus the exceptional customer support from the provider, simply make this product exceptional. I should also note that the support in migrating our data from the previous software has been exceptional as well.

CONS

There are always features that can be added and I noticed that they improved the User Interface recently.

Reason for choosing Soluno

It integrates back office and front office, it is cloud-based (which was important for us), it is easy and straightforward to use, and it has a small dedicated team that provides exceptional and very timely support with no delays whatsoever. I cannot speak highly enough about this product.

Reasons for switching to Soluno

For a small firm like ours, the previous software was far too complex, involved and cumbersome for us to easily use.

Grace

Law Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2020

Great software, great support- what more could you ask for?

Our overall experience has been wonderful. They took a very stressful event of having to merge two different systems and made it as smooth as possible. I would definitely recommend this software to anyone looking for a change. Very modern, constantly updating and fixing things, fantastic customer support, what more could you ask for!

PROS

I like that this software is very easy to use and navigate. All the icons are pretty self-explanatory. I think was blows me away the most is their customer service/support. We had two firms merging that used two different programs and they spent countless hours making sure everything converted well. Huge shout out to [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] who is still to this day just a quick phone call away to help us with any question big or small. They really care about their product and their customers.

CONS

Nothing I dislike about this software. They take every suggestion and add it to their list of things to update and improve. A couple things we are hopeful to see implemented is the integration of credit card processing within Soluno; adding the ability to incur interest on files; and automating the transfer of trust funds to fees incurred at the end of the month.

Reasons for switching to Soluno

We made the switch from PCLaw and TimeSlips. We moved from PCLaw as the program was very outdated. Every time there was an update you would have to pay for new licenses. Timeslips does not offer as much and needed to be combined with Quickbooks which duplicated a lot of efforts.

Vendor Response

Hi Grace - we are so appreciative of this review. Transitioning between software can be tricky and we're so happy to hear that our team helped to make that a smooth experience! Also, our credit card processing integrations are coming soon - we hope your firm will love it.

Replied January 2020

Sheryl

Law Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2019

Great Software and Awesome Customer Service!

We previously used PCLaw and decided to make a change mostly because we had software problems that wouldn't be addressed nor fixed by the company but also we made a company decision to move to cloud-based software. The transition to Soluno was easy. The software was similar in function to what we were used to because representative were involved with PCLaw previously. That made it an easier transition for our employees. They continue to be extremely responsive to our suggestions for enhancements to the software.

PROS

This software is very user friendly and the tech support is very quick to respond and fix any issue we may encounter. They keep improving and adding new features regularly. Their team also explains things in understandable terminology and not "industry" language - very helpful!

CONS

There are some integrations (ie: credit card payments and payroll GL importing) that aren't available but I am assured that they are on the list for future improvements to the software. A printable user manual and basic (for new users) and advanced (for existing users) training videos would also be helpful.

Reason for choosing Soluno

We made a company decision to move to cloud-based software and Soluno was similar in function to what we were used. Their team was also extremely responsive to our concerns and questions, before and after implementation. They continue to be an amazing company to work with!

Reasons for switching to Soluno

LexisNexis wasn't putting effort into fixing their product. We would discuss our continued problems with PCLaw which lasted several years with LN management and technical team but wouldn't get any resolution. In fact, they started to cut tech support staff making it more and more difficult to get issues fixed.

Brian

Legal Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2019

Soluno Review

Our main focus in using the system is basic accounting and basic time entry. We also use the system for financial reporting, but only at the basic level since we export reporting and run higher metrics in excel. Currently we use the system also for conflict checking, but in the future this will likely be separated and done through our document management systems.

PROS

Soluno works very well in daily management of a 20-25 attorney law firm. The accounting data entry side of the system is fluid and works well to cover all possibly scenarios that happen in daily law firm management.

CONS

The reporting tools could use to be more robust and management friendly. Ultimately you can get the answer needed, but more customization on reporting that can be setup and run quickly would be very helpful. From a time entry standpoint it covers all bases, but a calendar view and individual time management from a reporting level would be very helpful.

Reason for choosing Soluno

We prefer to grow with our software company as opposed to getting something out of the box and settled for years. Soluno was at the right stage of development where it functioned well and we could add to its growth by offering input and benefiting from the customization's.

Reasons for switching to Soluno

Aderant is mainly a DMS system and never put the time in their accounting product acquisition. We needed a product that was Cloud based and could grow with a firm that is growing and plans to grow.

Paridokht

Legal Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed June 2022

Soluno

They need to develop this software more friendly with more capability.

PROS

Soluno software is restricted to Trust accounting.

CONS

This software is not flexible as the other accounting software.

Reasons for switching to Soluno

PC Law software is designed for desktops and has no online software yet.

Janice

Law Practice, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2023

Accounting

Time savings is a huge plus with the software. Also the cloud based software is great, easy to access on numerous devices if necessary. I can keep an eye on productivity very easily and that is very important to the bottom line. Very easy to use software.

PROS

Integration from PCLAW was seamless. All trust activity was moved from PCLAW and that was very important. We have over 30 staff and the videos for all of the functions were very good and almost no additional training was needed. Very intuitive software

CONS

I really don't like that it doesn't pick up a/r's on billing. Also when changes are made in the prebill mode it doesn't change the trust transfer amount. I often bill 50 matters at a time and I have to be so careful to change these amounts. On occasion I don't catch them and it just looks bad from a client perspective.

Reason for choosing Soluno

All round much better software. Most of what we looked at either had a 3rd party link for some of the functionality and same cost for a lot less functions.

Reasons for switching to Soluno

Remote access (which they say they won't support) was just not conducive anymore with people working from home and such a large staff.Old software and often problematic. Their tech support fees were very costly for old software I had been working on for 38 years. Their tech support staff was also terrible.

Mary

Law Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2019

Very happy that we switched over to Soluno

PROS

It is user friendly and relatively easy to navigate and the customer service is exceptional!

CONS

Creating certain reports can be a bit difficult and there are not enough report views.

Reason for choosing Soluno

Our consultant worked with us and for our needs determined Soluno would be the best fit for our practice.

Reasons for switching to Soluno

Wanted to go to a cloud based solution. When looking at our options, Soluno rose to the top of the list.

Vendor Response

Hi Mary - we really appreciate you taking the time to review Soluno. We are always thankful for your feedback and its great that you find the product easy to move through! Upcoming improvements to the reporting screens will make it easier to create new report views, and we're always happy to work with you through our support chat to make further improvements!

Replied June 2019

Natalia

Law Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2020

You Get More Than You Paid For

Soluno is a great product with superb training and customer service. You get more than you pay for with Soluno. The product is web-based, which is great for lawyers being able to keep track of time and docket from anywhere - zero excuses for dockets not being in on time! As with any law firm, we strive to please our clients, which includes, presenting invoices in any manner that is desired by the clients; Soluno has spent countless hours working with me to ensure that each and every client receives what they want when they are billed. As a growing firm, we require training for new staff on a rolling basis; Soluno ensures that time is made to train our new staff immediately; usually on their first day. Overall, Soluno is very easy to use, has various reporting capabilities, can be used anywhere and has amazing staff, who are always available and always pleasant!

PROS

Soluno is a great product with superb training and customer service. You get more than you pay for with Soluno. The product is web-based, which is great for lawyers being able to keep track of time and docket from anywhere - zero excuses for dockets not being in on time! As with any law firm, we strive to please our clients, which includes, presenting invoices in any manner that is desired by the clients; Soluno has spent countless hours working with me to ensure that each and every client receives what they want when they are billed. As a growing firm, we require training for new staff on a rolling basis; Soluno ensures that time is made to train our new staff immediately; usually on their first day. Overall, Soluno is very easy to use, has various reporting capabilities, can be used anywhere and has amazing staff, who are always available and always pleasant!

CONS

Soluno is a great product with superb training and customer service. You get more than you pay for with Soluno. The product is web-based, which is great for lawyers being able to keep track of time and docket from anywhere - zero excuses for dockets not being in on time! As with any law firm, we strive to please our clients, which includes, presenting invoices in any manner that is desired by the clients; Soluno has spent countless hours working with me to ensure that each and every client receives what they want when they are billed. As a growing firm, we require training for new staff on a rolling basis; Soluno ensures that time is made to train our new staff immediately; usually on their first day. Overall, Soluno is very easy to use, has various reporting capabilities, can be used anywhere and has amazing staff, who are always available and always pleasant!

Ashley

Law Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2022

Refreshing Canadian Based Accounting Software

PROS

This software is very user friendly. A quick tutorial will have you ready to go in no time. The payable feature provides the ability to upload a copy of the invoice being paid which can be extremely helpful. The development team is always working to improve the software and user experience. Overall, a positive experience with this software over the last 1.5 years.

CONS

Integration from PCLaw to Soluno was a pretty smooth process. As they are a growing company it can be hard to keep up with demand for new features, like specific tailored billing templates, however, they do take your input on what is needed for future updates.

Carla

Legal Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2019

I Won the Software Lottery

I now have quick, accurate information available at a moments notice for my Partners when they ask me for account balances, monthly billings, client ledger card information, etc. I no longer have to keep separate excel spreadsheets for reporting information to my Partners. I now have an automatic 3 way reconciliation.

PROS

I love the fact that this product is very user friendly, functional and makes sense! All the reports and documents are in pdf format and you have the option to convert them to excel if needed. This product has saved me so much time and energy that I feel like I've won the software lottery!

CONS

There is nothing I don't like about this product.

Reason for choosing Soluno

We had some negative reviews about PC Law regarding it becoming antiquated. Soluno was much more user friendly and we appreciate that they are continually updating and improving their software based on the needs and recommendations from its clients.

Reasons for switching to Soluno

Too much time was being spent recording the same information in 3 locations. Time Slips for billing and Business Works for accounting did not talk to each other and I still had manual client ledger cards.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your kind words Carla. Its great to hear that Soluno has been such a great fit for your firm!

Replied June 2019

Nathalie

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Review of Soluno

We love it but we had a steep learning curve, having been with PC Law for 30 years!

PROS

We love the Cloud accessibility and once you are familiar with how the system is organized, it's fun to use.

CONS

I still struggle with the automatic generation of Form 9A, and I don't find it obvious how to find the reports that I need. I don't find the tabs and the options that intuitive.

Reason for choosing Soluno

Team came from PC Law and I thought the transition would be seamless.

Reasons for switching to Soluno

Cloud accessibility

Philip

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2020

An excellent product for law firms, large or small.

We have been extremely pleased with the Soluno program and the service and responsiveness of their staff.

PROS

Soluno is very user-friendly, it is easy to maneuver through the different modes and reports and it provides all of the detail and functionality that you would expect from a more complicated program.

CONS

There is very little not to like. There were some minor challenges with importing data and getting it set up as we wanted but overall, even that process was pretty seamless.

Reason for choosing Soluno

Our IT consultant recommended Soluno as he had other clients that were using it and were happy with it.

Reasons for switching to Soluno

We were frustrated with the limitations and the difficulties in using PC Law, as well as the fact that data was often lost by PC Law and was not retrievable.

Arabella

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed June 2022

Small Firm comments

It is a much more up to date product than the previous version but still a little clunky

PROS

It is a modern tool, and the support is almost always immediate and very helpful

CONS

It is counter-intuitive without the accompanying manual. It is geared to US law firms so most of the pre-programmed codes are irrelevant. Most annoying are (i) the inability to change change out rates across a file instead of manually changing each time entry and (ii) inability to charge for a fixed period of time eg ignore time for April, raise a bill for May: cannot be done.

Robin

Legal Services, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2022

Pleased with Soluno

Pleased. Integration went well as we had the services of [SENSITIVE CONTENT], and Soluno team working with us.

PROS

(1) Knowledgeable Customer Service staff. (2) Ease in entering and confirming that information.

CONS

(1) When entering a Journal Entry for payroll I have to manually type in the explanation for the G/L codes each time. (2) At the end of the year we like a simple printouts of our top 20 clients overall based on dollar amounts collected and then the same report by attorney. I was told there is not one.

Reasons for switching to Soluno

No upgrades and horrible customer service.

David

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT