User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(23)

23

4 stars

(22)

22

3 stars

(6)

6

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "-Easy to use from an administrator side, has really helped with our project accounting and financials every month. -Customizable reporting is fantastic."

  • "I really like how financial transactions flow through the system, and help us save time in financial management. It is easy to record a transaction and see the impacts through the system."

  • "A lot of out of the box functionality which is good on the wallet Plenty of built-in reports so the need to customize is lessened."

  • Cons

  • "I wish Unanet would develop an app. They do have a mobile website which is really good for timesheets and expense reports - but I'd love to see an app in the future."

  • "would like to see them continue to expand in their markets so they can keep growing an engaged customer base"

  • "I still want to improve the macros a bit more..!!"

Browse Unanet Project Portfolio Financials Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 51 results

April 2018

Lynn from Thompson Gray, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Became a Unanet user in 2015, and am still loving it as a total project based accounting solution!

Unanet's ease of use and flexibility has allowed me to be much more productive and timely in delivering reports, processing monthly billings, accounting reviews, month end close, and many more activities!

Pros

Unanet is extremely user friendly! My favorite aspect is the ability to review project performance data in real-time. This functionality makes it easy to provide our customers with data they need to determine project funding, spend plans, run-out dates, and so much more. In my career, I have used several project accounting systems, and Unanet outshines them all in terms of ease-of-use, flexibility, and customer support!

Cons

My one drawback is the absence of purchasing functionality, however, since Unanet is rolling that out soon, I really will not have any "cons" to speak of!

November 2019

Cathryn from ESAC, Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Good product for Government Contractors

Timesheet and Expense functions are excellent to use. With the implementation of invoicing, we are able to generate invoices faster and eliminate many possible human errors working with spreadsheets previously. Using an automated system definitely helped us passing a recent Government accounting system audit.

Pros

We utilize Unanet timesheet, expenses and invoicing functions. These functions are very helpful in streamlining our business processes and provide required/validated controls as a Government contractor. There are also many resources available to support users, such as Knowledge Centers, Help files, frequent webinars, Unanet University, etc.

Cons

After using the software for four years (including recent two also on invoicing), I still couldn't troubleshoot certain issues myself and sometimes unsure of certain data flows. Hopefully my confidence grows as I continue using the product.

Reasons for Choosing Unanet Project Portfolio Financials

Unanet was the software in use when I joined the company, but I believed the cost was one of the determining factors.

October 2019

Frank from Brandes Associates

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Defense & Space

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2019

Very Poor SW Update Test and Verifcation Before Release

Pros

Product is fine as long until an update is release

Cons

Can not trust an update will "work" without extensive problems and loss of past functionality. It recent "update" timeslip functions that a junior SW tester should have determined didn't work (resulting in a quick update) were not found prior to release. MAJOR issue is that Government Cost Plus reports and invoice function DOES NOT WORK. After a week of "so called customer service" - No answer other than it is being worked..... Blogs indicate that multiple users are having similar issues. How can a basic function not be verified before release?!?!?!?

November 2019

Kathleen from STARGATES, INC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Great Software

Pros

Unanet is very user friendly and on the off chance you can't figure something out their support team is right there to help you and in a timely manner. Unanet allows you to attach documents to everything so we no longer need to keep track of things in different places. You can attach award and mod docs to the contracts, bank statements to reconciliations, checks and invoices to AP Vouchers and AP Payments. It's a great way for everyone to have access to the things they need.

Cons

Some of the updates they add change the information for my custom reports and you need to make adjustments to get the same information after the update is live. However the system exports a template so you can make the changes easily without having to recreate the whole report.

Reasons for Choosing Unanet Project Portfolio Financials

Cost was a factor but of all the systems we looked at Unanet housed all the capabilities we were looking for.

July 2017

Ed from Lukos

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Defense & Space

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

Essential capability for government contractors. Unanet has been key to our success.

Pros

Integration. Unanet combines time/expense, project management, billing, and financials all in one system. No import/export of data between systems. When an employee logs time or expenses, the cost automatically rolls into your billing, accounting, and project management functions. DCAA Compliance. Calculates indirect rates and applies to billing. Enforces DCAA timesheet rules and JTR travel rules. Using this software enabled us to consistently get invoices approved by DCAA in less than 5 days, and got our incurred cost proposal accepted without an audit as "low risk." Report and Invoice Formats. Very customizable in all aspects. I'm told they are much more flexible than competing systems. Two months after we implemented Unanet, we received our first CPFF contract as a small business. If we did not have Unanet, we would have hired at least one more overhead person, and probably several more. Unanet has been a key factor in our business success.

Cons

Learning Curve. With power comes complexity. Unanet is no exception. Rollout was difficult, and there were a lot of setup decisions to be made without a full understanding of the functionality implications. We got the budget version of rollout services; I don't recommend that. Flexibility. Unanet can be too customizable at times. Sometimes I wished they would just say "here is the way to do this" instead of giving so many choices for how to implement some functions. Accounts Payable. Less than fully developed Vendor Invoice reporting, especially lack of ability to link to projects at invoice level. Costs incurred via invoice also do not appear in T&E reports, and now way to budget and control vendor costs.

November 2019

Ruth from Sonoran Technology and Professional Services, LLC

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Professional Training & Coaching

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Unanet Solves Many Requirements

Pros

I like the ease of entering hours worked as well as paid time off. It is easy to view accrued paid leave time making it a simple solution for planning.

Cons

There seems to be a disconnect within certain sections. 1. If a new pay rate is entered and saved in error, it has never allowed the option to delete the error and revert to the original entry. 2. The designation on the People – Profile - Hire Date is misleading. It should be titled Paid Leave Accrual start date since that is what its function is. Our company starts accruals for new hires effective the first day of the pay period they are hired in.

November 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Highly Recommend Unanet

Pros

I love the real time data you receive from Unanet. When a time sheet is updated, you automatically see the data within your project reports, etc. This allows for managers to view the most up to date data on hours and funding. This also allows for faster completion of time sheets which leads to quicker billing times.

Cons

The learning curve. There was a learning curve coming from another product but we were all able to quickly pick up the system and begin using it.

November 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Solid Accounting and Project Control Software

Good experience with project budget management, project reporting, corporate accounting, invoicing, accounts payable, time keeping, expense reporting. The integration of all these functionalities has sped up invoicing, reducing days sales outstanding, reduced costs in terms of project budget overruns, and generally made the finance teams’ lives easier.

Pros

Unanet is very intuitive relative to other ERP/project control/accounting software solutions that I have used in the past. It is very easy to navigate to the information you are looking for, and Unanet is robust enough to display it in just about any configuration. It integrates all the most common business functions seamlessly (accounting, invoicing, project reporting, timekeeping, expense reports, etc.), and has greatly expedited our workflows.

Cons

Although Unanet has very robust reporting capabilities, it only gets you part of the way to the goal when it comes to reports and summarization. Most reports are simply a wall of numbers of revenue/cost line item by reporting period, and it takes time to digest that information and/or translate it into a format that works well for presentation to non-financial employees or leadership.

November 2019

Jacob from Advent Advisory Group LLC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Excellent Tool for Project Time Tracking

Unanet has allowed us to better manage our projects through time tracking. We have been able to better understand how our staff is spending their time.

Pros

Unanet is a great tool to track project-specific time. Very easy to assign staff to projects and establish time budgets.

Cons

The reporting module is a little clumsy. Some options are not intuitive but you can usually solve the issue using the extensive help module.

Reasons for Choosing Unanet Project Portfolio Financials

Ease of use, reporting capabilities.

November 2019

Suzanne from BHEF

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Unanet is easy to work with

I like using Unanet. It's fairly easy to learn to use the interface, but there are some items that should be reviewed by developers. Sometimes customizations or changes that need to be made are difficult to figure out on your own without calling customer service because the places to make these changes aren't intuitive to find for an average admin user.

Pros

It's easy to customize and setup new users.

Cons

Interface is generally easy to use, but there are quite a few parts that are not intuitive.

July 2017

Arturo from INNOPLEX

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2017

A great innovative product that is much more than your average project accounting system

Pros

Unanet is a true ERP system that can be used to combine several business units into one. Most project accounting systems are typically only used by accounting departments. However, unlike most systems, Unanet is built to allow access to just about every department in an organization with its role based capabilities. I like the fact that every person in the company is given the capability to create and save their own reports in addition to having personalized dashboards to satisfy specific business needs. The system is only as good as the data it is being fed. That being said, in order to optimize the system's value, its essential that the entire organization buys into the system and utilizes it like a true ERP system.

Cons

Unanet has very strong project accounting reports to manage projects efficiently. However, I would like to see a bit more from the financial side of the system. For example the system does not have a cash flow statement which is essential for most organizations. That being said, I am impressed with the current financials in place as it was just introduced 2015. I believe in a few years the system will be nearly perfect for any organization as in continues to innovate its capabilities.

March 2018

Nabeel from Salient CRGT

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Unanet is an innovative tool that looks like the future of financial softwares

Unanet is an amazingly powerful software that is way ahead of its competitors in its user-friendliness and its intuitiveness.

Pros

Unanet is an excellent project accounting and financial tools. It is incredibly easy to use and its inherent intuitiveness make this is an extremely powerful tool. It even comes up with cell phone app and can be navigated from virtually anyplace. It seems like Unanet is a more advanced, technological and user-friendly version of its competitors like CostPoint and GCS Premeir.

Cons

Unanet is such a powerful financial tool that there is very little not to like about it. However, still like all softwares, it has its shortcomings and one of the major shortcomings it has is its ability to accommodate complex project setup structures that roll up and consolidate into a higher level. This makes project setups in Unanet very different and challenging and it also greatly affects corporate financial reporting.

July 2015

Cory from Transparent Technologies Solutions

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

5.0

July 2015

Unanet is a great product!

Pros

Our experience with Unanet has been excellent. We are using it to support a DCAA auditable accounting and financial practice and it is working quite well. Its flexibility as to the setup and configuration at the user interface level is outstanding. It truly allows us to create our company policies and procedures and tailor Unanet to those and not vice versa. It is a lightweight interface that is intuitive and well designed. It includes the ability to configure user roles for everyone from a basic timesheet or expense user to a Controller or CFO that oversees the entire financial operation of the business. We have especially enjoyed its ability to export financial data to CSV files, be able to manipulate those exports, and import them into payroll systems, accounting systems, and more. Moreover, it is scalable and cost-effective. It allows you to setup an operation for a startup company and scale it accordingly, including costs, as you grow. It is a 100% tailorable and lightweight ERP. It can implement as little or as much rigor as you desire into your finance and accounting operations. We are excited to further understand and eventually implement Unanet financial as it seems to be on a strong trajectory in its early stages. It is a great product that we highly recommend!

Cons

I haven't found any issues with Unanet that haven't been resolved and/or I can configure it to support for me. It is an incredibly tailorable and well thought out software product.

August 2017

Nabeel from Salient CRGT

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

Unanet Project Module Review

Overall Unanet operates more like a modern day application than a traditional accounting software. With its great user friendliness and flexibility, the software seems set to keep increasing in popularity.

Pros

The Unanet Project Module is an extremely user-friendly module that redefine the meaning of intuitiveness in regards to the project setups and structure. Anyone with little to no background can pick up this module and start setting up projects and running reports. The module is organized in a neat format and the speed through which changes can be saved and projects updated add great value to the customer

Cons

The Unanet Project Module while having some great features lacks a 'roll up' feature the likes of which are found in competitor software like CostPoint. Due to this lack of functionality, the reports can often not run on Level 1 of a project since the projects below do not roll up under a parent project.

December 2016

Jenny from Solvability

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Defense & Space

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2016

DCAA Compliance with outstanding reporting for Program Managers (PM)

Unanet makes it easy for employees to complete their timesheets, allows notes and includes the audit trail requirements for DCAA Compliance. But what I like best is the way it supports Program Managers, who can get REAL TIME reporting from a huge number of reports and charts. You can also set budget hours at employee level or task level, preventing overruns and labor transfers.

Pros

Easy to import and export - plays well with multiple systems and they've done a great job of keeping it open. Excellent charts and reports for Program Managers (PMs), as well as people in accounting who are doing billing, project reporting, and financials.

Cons

Sometimes I am not sure of the sequence of steps and have to look it up, but it's all well documented in their online knowledge center with many examples, not just the old "a targeted rate is a planned rate."

June 2018

Eric from The Answer Exchange, LLC.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Unanet is a fantastic ERP for project based organizations

Unanet is a great value for the money and I would recommend it to any organization who has project based reporting and accounting.

Pros

Unanet is a fantastic ERP system for project managers. You have instant access to burn rates, project team hours, labor category and cost rate information. Project Managers can track progress, budget, and project profitability in real-time. It has made reporting financial and project information more streamlined, faster, and more accurate to customer and senior management. Also, because it is web-based and accessible anywhere timesheets, expense reports, and approvals can be done from anywhere.

Cons

None, the Unanet team is constantly working with their customers to enhance the product, add new features, and streamline the process.

July 2017

Jeff from Matrix Research, Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

Unanet - Best solution for real time data in one system

Real-time data in one location and accessible by any user we give access!

Pros

Unanet as a company has set the bar on customer service and support. The Unanet product itself is a user friendly solution housing one data base for all your project and financial data. Reporting is real-time and with very powerful report criteria selection allowing you to report on any data you can imagine. Importing and exporting data in Unanet is a breeze and supports many file platforms.

Cons

The current application doe not contain a purchase order/commitment tracking module. However, Unanet is working on this solution. Unanet also doesn't have a cash flow statement in their financial module, but I'm sure with a minor investment in time, I could create a format within Excel and export the data from Unanet as needed

July 2009

Keith from Lunarline

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

July 2009

DCAA / EVM compliant timekeeping and project management system

Unanet is good for both small and large companies and provides a single repository for all timekeeping, project, planning and personnel data with robust reporting. The integration of multiple platforms (time, project) is well executed and allows companies to see what is happening at the project/task level in real time. Expense reporting that meeting federal government travel regulations and granular permissions to ensure that users only apply expenses to those projects for which they have been assigned This is a strong product as it combines both the compliance (DCAA, EVM, JTR) and ensures that timekeeping, expenses and project reporting are accurate. It allows the delegation of responsbilities for cost rate, bill rate and project managment increase productivity and visibility.

Pros

Extremely strong timekeeping capabilities down the the task level Granular permissions for all levels of the organization Excellent reporting structure on all aspects of personnel and projects Easily customizable export features Ability to easily import data for people, projects, etc Robust integration from timekeeping, planning, projects and tasks Cost Effective solution with "pay as you go" model Availability and uptime near 100% (hosted) Excellent customer support (including complex reporting, exports, etc) The abililty to "slice and dice" data to meeting government, commercial and internal reporting requirements Ability to add cost structures based on company actuals (DCAA-G&A, Overhead and Fringe) Robust expense reporting eliminating "paper expense reports"

Cons

Not able to export reports (need to cut and paste) Tech support should provide a "tiered" pricing structure (currently one rate for all support)

March 2019

Amy from Universal Strategy Group, Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

Highly Recommend Unanet

We are able to accurately track project time and expenses, gather information on all our vendors and independent contractors, and report on our financial progress.

Pros

The efficiency with which you can manage projects, personnel profiles, vendors, and accounting information within one system; the ability to maintain information and generate reports (in many different ways).

Cons

After upgrading versions, there are some flaws in how the paid time off reflects and minor issues in downloading some reports, but otherwise, not much we dislike.

February 2017

Debora from Toyon Associates, Inc

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2017

System Upgrade Lesson

We wanted to replace a home grown system for time and expense reporting and billing processes. We use QB for our accounting and financials. We were looking for more controls, better reporting, more automation, and better accountability from all levels. We started our implementation about October 2016 and went live 1/1/2017. Unanet will help us in each of the areas named, but the system is not as well designed for our needs as we had hoped. We've found a few pitfalls, but Unanet is trying to help us resolve some of them. Others are changes they have planned for future editions. Problem is, I need them now.

Pros

It's easy for my consultants to use.They like the portability of a cloud based system, and they like the security. I like that it requires people to be accountable when you set up the approval trails. Service line managers have better control over who is working on what, so they can better manage budgets, staff, and delivery schedules. We've just started looking at the reporting features (which is why the overall rating is 4 stars) and it looks like we are going to get a lot of information a lot quicker. That will save a ton of time.

Cons

The system isn't really designed for a consulting firm like ours. We have a couple thousand active projects and some of my consultants ended up with hundreds of projects on their available list. We weren't able to label our projects exactly how we wanted to. We made some consessions that we didn't want to make during the set up process. We have some concerns about how the information from Unanet is going to play with QB but we're just starting that process.

July 2009

Andrew from Adayana Government Group

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

July 2009

Unanet Provides Core Operational Functionality

I highly recommmend Unanet as a product and a company to do business with.

Pros

The Unanet product, we use the full product suite, is easy to implement, configure, and use. It provides numerous options for configuration that supports a wide range of users from simple to complex. We began using it purely for timekeeping and expense reporting to meet Federal Government contracting requirements. We now employ a much greater range of features including the use of it as our project management tool. The product integrates with our accounting system (Aldebaron's SYMPAQ) with minimal customization. Unanet Technologies is a very responsive and customer friendly company. They regularly solicit input from their users for the development of new features. They conduct an annual user meeting to demonstrate functionality, provide an opportunity to dialog with their customers, and provide value-added presentations. Customer support is very responsive when questions are posed or problems arise.

Cons

There are some functional limitations around reporting at the task level which is important for our company in order to use the full capabilities of the tool. Unanet has listend to the concerns and are working a solution for future release. There are other minor limitations related to how we operate our business, but I would not considre a product flaw.

March 2019

Brad from G2, Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

Unanet for a Small Company

Overall, if you’re a small company in the services space and looking for an easy to implement cost accounting system, I’d recommend Unanet.

Pros

Unanet is easy to enter data and use for employees entering time and expenses. It’s also fairly intuitive for employees to pull reports for time and PTO.

Cons

Unanet is not intuitive for detailed reports for project managers and is somewhat cumbersome for advanced reporting.

August 2015

Jenny from Solvability

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2015

Unanet Projects offer powerful reporting tools

Pros

Unanet project tracking is easy to update - can upload data from excel and also export to excel. So many reports help me manage projects. I created my own - detail of client time charging to use when I need to document what I've done on a project over time. Also created one that shows charging with monthly totals so they can see the level of support. Have also used Unanet reporting to pass DCAA audits with a client.

Cons

would like to see them continue to expand in their markets so they can keep growing an engaged customer base

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Upgrading to Unanet Financials

We hope to get rid of excel based invoices and move into standardized versions. Unanet financials will also allow us to generate indirect rate statements in real time.

Pros

We were able to upgrade to Unanet Financials from an older accounting software system. As we continue to grow - maintaining fewer systems is a high priority.

Cons

I would like if it were easier to share reports between users.

November 2019

Kaitlyn from GoldenWolf

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Facilities Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Unanet for GovCon

Pros

Unanet is perfect for a growing company trying to keep overhead and admin staff small. Their customer support is great and they have a wealth of knowledge available online. Additionally, Unanet welcomes suggestions from customers on how to improve their software and the suggestions are actually made, when possible.

Cons

I wish Unanet would develop an app. They do have a mobile website which is really good for timesheets and expense reports - but I'd love to see an app in the future.

August 2015

Michael from Capital Connections LLC

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2015

Fantastic & User-Friendly Project Management System

Pros

Project Portfolio is fast, highly configurable, and easy to use. Having tried several systems in my previous $130M company, I chose Unanet Project Portfolio for our PMO. We supported over 1,000 projects per year providing real-time project management & reporting, linked to our Deltek CostPoint accounting system. It revolutionized our effectiveness and dramatically improved cost visibility and profitability, while cutting PM management time. Great product!

Cons

The vendor is awesome... but I wish they had a mobile app for time & expense entries via mobile devices. Since it's web-based you can use your mobile device, but it requires more effort than it should.

June 2014

Michael from AXIS Integrated

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.5

June 2014

The Best Time Tracking Tool I Could Find!

Pros

I like the reporting capabilities, the customized user dashboards, and the "Alerts" feature. Now each employee knows what projects they are to work on and where their project stands in term of hours used. We use the Alerts to let a project team know when a certain amount of time has been used on a project (50%, 75% and 90%). This lets the team and sales discuss the progress in a timely manner. We have noticed that some projects are delivered on time, and in other cases, we are able to stay on top of out-of-scope opportunities just by talking about the project status when the alerts are received. This is making everyone more accountable for what they do, and the overall business more profitable. It's perfect!

Cons

The utility that is used for actual tracking of time. You need some kind of start and stop feature so that you know how long you have worked on a certain project. It would help a lot when working on multiple projects in one day, for instance.

March 2019

Beth from KSA Integration

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Outstanding Product

Outstanding platform!!!

Pros

The training was easy and was well executed remotely System is extremely intuitive and very strong resource material End Users rarely have issues and almost instantly understand how to navigate Great customer service support

Cons

The interface is pretty bland Reporting can be a tad tricky to set up initially

July 2017

Susan from PEMDAS Technology & Innovations

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

I can't say enough good things about this tool

Pros

The reporting features are great. It's very easy to use. Our employees have no issues with either time or expense reporting. Very intuitive and easy to use. They also have outstanding customer support and training.

Cons

I wish you could drill down into some of the reports. It would make invoicing simpler. That would be my one and only add.

December 2016

Aislinn from iNovex Information Systems, Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2016

Unanet Review

We have had a great experience with the implementation of Unanet at our company. We previously only used Unanet for time keeping purposes, and then purchased their financial reporting software in 2015. Unanet Customer Support was very helpful in the implementation of the software and made it an easy transition. We are able to store all of our financial reporting in one system, and it is easily accessible.

Pros

I really like how financial transactions flow through the system, and help us save time in financial management. It is easy to record a transaction and see the impacts through the system.

Cons

In relation to my "pro," if a financial transaction does not easily fit into the software, or it's considered more of a "one-off" transaction, it can be difficult to account for these one-off items.

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

Good Prodcut

Unanet has served its purpose in helping me track my time

Pros

For a basic user like myself, Unanet is pretty easy to use when putting in timecards and general expenses on a daily basis

Cons

It looks a bit archaic, but this is just nit-picking, the software does what it is supposed to do, but would be nice to get a modernized version.

April 2019

Allison from Sonoran Technology

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Defense & Space

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Unanet Review

Pros

I was introduced to Unanet when I began a contracting job, being the first time I was ever required to keep time I was hesitant. But Unanet instantly calmed my worries. It was easy to navigate and has easily understandable how to guides. This software made it easy to start timesheets, submit timesheets, and check things like paid time off.

Cons

The only con I found with this software was the requirement to put comments in for changes on the time sheet. For example I put 9 hours on accident so I changed it to 8 and was required to submit a comment that also needed to be approved. Although this isn’t a huge deal it was inconvenient for a simple error.

January 2017

Tiffany from PhaseOne

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2017

Not bad for what it's used for

We use Unanet for time and records keeping while at the same time using it for our Resource Management tool on the Consulting side. It took awhile for the main users and admins to get ramped up. Some of us attended training and were still left with questions at the end.

Pros

A lot of out of the box functionality which is good on the wallet Plenty of built-in reports so the need to customize is lessened.

Cons

Ease of use is lacking. Even with training, our admins have a tough time navigating Admin settings are tough -- you either get full access or limited. No in betweens.

August 2017

Amanda from Environmental Intelligence LLC

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2017

Unanet- easy to use for small business

Unanet is a great software package if you are looking for something which charges a low rate on a "per seat" basis. however, as your company grows this expense could become too high for the quality of product you are getting. Project setup features can be on the time consuming side for an inexperienced user.

Pros

Reports can be extracted easily to CSV and accounting features are simple and do not require many steps to complete

Cons

Not much room for custom reports, significant training is required for onboarding new staff to use product, and product guides on website only offer the bare minimum of guidance. Custom instruction books may be required for company staff training

July 2009

Baan from TalaTek LLC.

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

July 2009

Must Have for Small Business

Easy to use and designate different roles in your organization. Integrates neatly with Quick Books for invoicing. Gives real time information about your business without having to dedicate overhead resources to project management and finance. Available template reports and graphics allow for ease of management of overall business on a daily basis. Great value for your money.

Pros

Unanet allows my small business to act and think big! The tool allows me to plan tasks, track projects, allocate resources, hours per each task, forecast business revenue, calculate business expenses with graphics and quick and simple reports. Effectively I have a project management and finance department all at my fingertips. The tool allows you to meet your business growth seamlessly.

Cons

Some might consider this overkill for an organization of less than 10 people, due to the initial cost and the learning curve. I personally found the value of the information provided by Unanet to be worth the investment and time.

August 2019

marjan from Quadrint

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Unanet makes time keeping easy

Timekeeping for employees.

Pros

I like that I can enter hours in 15 minute increments.

Cons

Nothing. The systems works great and allows me to keep track of my time.

July 2009

Nikki from Intelligent Software Solutions, Inc.

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

July 2009

Financial Manager/CFO

I would recommend Unanet to any company that has the need for a project management tool.

Pros

We have been using Unanet for a couple of years now and just continue to find more and more capabilities for our needs. Unanet has a very flexible database that allows us to customize the system to suit our needs, as well as having a very mature system right out of the 'box.' We use the timekeeping function, the expense reporting function, the budgeting/planning functions, as well as the EVM tools. Unanet has a wide range of uses and we are very happy with the system.

Cons

The only complaint that we have about Unanet is that the 'Project Costing Reports' do NOT break out costs by task. This is something that we have recommended to Unanet as a feature upgrade, when they do their new releases, but we haven't seen it come out yet.

November 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2017

Fairly easy to use project management software

Currently reviewing this software along with others. but it appears to be one of the better time management suites.

Pros

Unanet is fairly simple to use, works pretty well. It makes it easy to keep track of time and resources, and provides nice simple visual reports.

Cons

A little confusing to set up, but this is more likely due to my simple use case and not needing/wanting to spend time learning the more complex usage such as integrating into accounting software.

April 2018

Yeshuwanth from Choose portal Pvt Ltd

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

Fairly easy to use project management

Pros

consistently get invoices approved by DCAA in less than 5 days, and got our incurred cost proposal accepted without an audit as "low risk."

Cons

The current application doe not contain a purchase order/commitment tracking module. However, Unanet is working on this solution. Unanet also doesn't have a cash flow statement in their financial module

July 2017

Melissa from CRC

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

2.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2017

Productive, but not user friendly

Pros

-Easy to use from an administrator side, has really helped with our project accounting and financials every month. -Customizable reporting is fantastic.

Cons

-Not the most user friendly from an employee's perspective. Interface and everything is not intuitive.

April 2018

MEHEDUL HASAN from Itskybd

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Excellent project accounting and financial tool

Highly Recommended for Architectural Firm and contractor

Pros

I like Most of this product feature are Role-based for security – administrator, user, manager, project manager, financial roles, and customer

Cons

A published data model for external report writers feature would be more flexible and improve customer support

January 2017

Kyle from Enercon Services, Inc.

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2017

Nice Product for Small to Medium Sized Business

Just implemented Unanet for our accounting and project management system. Overall it's a good system, with phenomenal reporting capabilities. The time and expense side for end users is very intuitive and easy to use. The PM side is a bit of a learning curve, but the implementation team works with you hand in hand to support. GREAT support overall!

February 2017

PAVAN from SGS Life Science Services

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2017

Unanet Project Portfolio

This is very good product and was helpful to me. Initially it was little difficult to get user-friendly, but eventually, i got used to it.

Pros

I really like the features and functionality.

Cons

a little bit hard to get used to it as I found not so user-friendly initially.

October 2016

Arjun from Texas A&M

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2016

Review of Unanet Project Portfolio

The ease of use is the stand out aspect of this product. I would recommend it.

October 2016

Kateyn from Rustic creations

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2016

Good product

Easy to navigate and keep up with projects in real time

November 2019

Nathalie from cnas

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Great timekeeping tool

the benefits I have realized are effective timesheets

Pros

What I like most about this software is the ability to go back and change things if there is a good reason.

Cons

What I like least about this software is its a little complicated to deal with expense reporting, but that's minimal.

October 2016

Arpit from Texas A&M

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2016

Appreciate the Usability aspect of the product

I like the UI screen which is less cluttered and more organized unlike Microsoft Project Management Tool. It also helps you think aloud before exploring options.

Pros

I like its simple yet effective UI

Cons

I still want to improve the macros a bit more..!!

February 2015

Larry from Pixel Puppy Productions

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.5

February 2015

One of the best options

Pros

There are some really great resources to help use it in the most effective way possible.

Cons

I can't say that I really have any complaints about this particular vendor.

May 2019

Michael

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: GetApp


May 2019

October 2009

Nathan from L-3 Marine Systems

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

5.0

October 2009

Review 1

a solid tool

Pros

Customer support - timely, available Functionality - good standard reports

Cons

Not easily customizable In a small org it's hard to have the resources available to populate to the level of detail Unanet requires.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 51 reviews