What are Vena users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using Vena software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.37

15 Reviews

5
6
4
8
3
1
2
0
1
0
4.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4.5

Customer Support

out of 5
4.5

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"It is compatible with other tools, this is also excellent."
  • icon"Adaptability with Excel while still being able to use all Excel native functionality. Easy to input variables and run data rich spreadsheets."
  • icon"Allows data import, easy to navigate and use, customer support is very helpful."
  • icon"There is no drag and drop from a selection of columns, fields etc. However once you learn the tool, reporting becomes easier."
  • icon"I do not feel that the tool is difficult, or that it is not organizationally functional."
  • icon"Some users experienced unexplained data losses. Compatibility with MACs an issue."

Jump to:

Browse all Vena Reviews

  • Have you used Vena and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 15 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 15 of 15 reviews

User Profile

Andrews

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2022

Come an intelligent solution for your company and making reports and dashboards

What fascinates us most about this instrument is that Vena allows us to complete checklists/end-of-month checks. Each of the to-do's can be easily found on a single board/screen.

Pros

What fascinates us most about this instrument is that Vena allows us to complete checklists/end-of-month checks. Each of the to-do's can be easily found on a single board/screen.

Cons

Since we have used this product, we have not found a single flaw because the product we use is unique to our organization. As monthly reports now have the ability to provide department managers within a minute of the books closing

Lori

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

Vena provides flexibility to set up budgets, reports and other processes as flexibly as we need.

We were able to streamline and centrally collect data for our budgeting process, which save considerable time for the budget administrator and other admin assistants across our university. We created Board-level reporting templates that can be re-used every year to report the results of the budget process with only changes made as necessary for the format of the current reporting year. We collect forecasting information from over 330 departments and compile all the information within one template to estimate the financial outcome for the fiscal year. We have been able to include data in planning of various kinds in ways that we weren't able to by just using Excel, resulting in better planning results. We can create new planning or reporting processes and have the flexibility to save additional data input that isn't part of our ERP data. Overall, we have saved time, improved processes, created one version of the data visible to all involved in the process and created efficiencies by being able to share data across processes.

Pros

Flexibility to set up whatever process we are working on the way it needs to be set up for our business requirements. Continual improvements being done on the Vena add-in and browser administration interface. Formatting Excel templates and reports exactly as needed. Ability to pull in data from all data versions for any reporting or template. Ability to save non-financial data to use in reporting or calculations. Ability to control user input as needed to better quality data. Prompt customer service responses. Great implementation team. Administrative control over data visible to individual users. Workflows to show status for process steps and email notifications when a workflow step is ready for input or review. Once learned, allows for creation of new processes to collect or report data.

Cons

Having to download each Excel file, but once downloaded, it's easy to select the data we want to see.

Merylin

Verified reviewer

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

Business management tool

My experience has been good, this is because I can organize, manage or calculate from financial processes to accounting analysis if I so require, and it also has more advanced functions than the known tool.

Pros

what I like the most is that it has known capabilities and its monthly training for beginners is much less than others, but it is a functional and fast tool, it also has many templates

Cons

I do not feel that the tool is difficult, or that it is not organizationally functional

Adwin

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time used: More than 2 years

2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

February 2017

Vena

Useful product but hard to use without constant support from their consultants.

siva

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2018

Excel based Performance Management Tool

Pros

Our Financial Planning and Analysis team picked Vena from many other tools. The reason for zeroing on this tool, is, it is an excel based tool. We have been doing all this work in excel since years. We have standardized the process and have fixed excel templates. However excel has certain limitations like version control, access control, audit trail etc. With Vena we overcame the limitations of excel while retaining the power, flexibility and ease of use of excel. We have many desperate IT systems some by choice and some by compulsion due to various acquisitions. We import the data from all these systems into vena database. Data is automatically consolidated and aggregated per our requirements for use in advanced management reports as well as ad hoc reports in vena. Vena offers workflow and approval management by project, department etc. Further one can drill up, drill down, slice and dice the data using vena. Variance analysis is a piece of cake in this tool. Vena customer service is good too.

Cons

There is a learning curve like any other tool. There is no drag and drop from a selection of columns, fields etc. However once you learn the tool, reporting becomes easier.

Tobin

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

Add super powers to your Excel templates

Pros

I don't have to learn SQL programming languages or wait around for my computer department to do something . I can manage everything myself.

Cons

Being a young company, they need more demonstrations, downloaded working files to build users skills.

Whitney

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

Powerful, User Friendly Budgeting, Reporting, and Analysis Tool

Improved budgeting and ad hoc reporting

Pros

The Excel interface is my favorite part about Vena. Everyone within our business is familiar with and comfortable using Excel. Therefore, when we started using Vena for budgets, our contributors did not have to learn a completely new interface. However, Vena offers so much more than just Excel. I love how Vena shows you who made changes to the file and what the previous values in the file were. It helps hold people accountable. It is also very easy to make powerful reports using Vena.

Cons

We built a very complicated template which took a long time to open. However, Vena was very helpful in helping us optimize our template and improve the performance drastically.

Garlock

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2018

VENA SOLUTIONS IS AWESOME!

Pros

I particularly like how easily Vena integrates with my existing software programs (Microsoft Excel based), and the support provided to our business has been second to none!

Cons

There were a few glitches during set-up and installation and there is a bit of a learning curve as we customized the program to fit our particular requirements, however customer support made life as easy as possible.

Trenton

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

The ease of use is a big plus for me, but the consistent rollout of buggy updates is frustrating

Pros

The ease of use is a big plus for me. Was able to pick up a majority of the best practices within a couple weeks of use

Cons

I realize you are continually trying to enhance the product, but quality has been faulted in the past couple months.

Serguei

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2020

Great software to consolidate numbers from multiple sources

Overall great experience using their spreadsheet templates which saves you a lot of time and helps you avoid errors.

Pros

I used to work at a bank where we had to collect financial information from numerous departments and Vena really helped us reduce the time we spent on consolidating the balances and avoid errors. Overall, a great software package if you need to collect huge amounts of the same data from different sources.

Cons

The only issue I had with this software was updating the template if new requirements were issued. If you contact customer support they can definitely help you but if you decide to do it yourself you need to become an expert in Vena.

Pat

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2019

VENA

Pros

Excel based which makes it very easy to use when you're already using excel.

Cons

The cut and paste feature takes a while specially since I work with big files.

Matt

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2017

Powerful tool for budgeting and forecasting

Pros

Adaptability with Excel while still being able to use all Excel native functionality. Easy to input variables and run data rich spreadsheets

Cons

Setup time on individual templates can be cumbersome. Error messages are not very specific so you spend lots of time contacting the Help Desk.

Robert

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time used: Less than 6 months

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2017

Review of VENA reporting and budgeting capabilities

VENA leadership very supportive of our implementation. Reacted quickly to our concerns

Pros

Ease of design and compatibility with Excel. Flexibility in implementation allowed us to try multiple iterations and change items like budget template design mid project.

Cons

Some start up bugs - Excel add in had to be added in a few times. Some users experienced unexplained data losses. Compatibility with MACs an issue

Shannon

Time used: Less than 6 months

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2016

Vena Cloud

Pros

Allows data import, easy to navigate and use, customer support is very helpful.

Cons

I'm sure there is something that could be improved, but personally, I cannot think of a single thing!

Kevin

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 6 months

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2015

First post implementation impression

Pros

Ease of use and retention of the all familiar Excel.

Cons

I look forward to the day Vena has a robust user group.

Showing 1 - 15 of 15 reviews
Vena

Vena

4.37/5 out of 15 reviews
icon7 recommendations
The number of recommendations our advisors have made over the past 30 days. Our advisors assess buyers’ needs for free and only recommend products that meet buyers’ needs. Vendors pay Software Advice for these referrals.
PriceWatch Demo