All Kevel Reviews

1-25 of 49 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Joshua

Verified reviewer

Furniture, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2018

Perfect for a marketplace looking to add an internal promotions feature

Adzerk provides an ad-engine-as-a-service, along with budget tracking and analytics and all the rest. It plugs in perfectly to permit marketplaces to create their own promotion and boost features without needing to build their own ad server. And you can track impressions and clicks and then generate reports for your own users through Adzerk as well. Since everything is accessible via the API, even the creation of new advertisers and ad programs, we were able to build our feature to be completely self-service for our users. Adzerk allowed us to quickly create a new revenue stream and immediately paid for itself.

PROS

Most ad engines are built to place blobs of HTML in iframes or similar constructs. They're fine for display ads around the internet, but useless if you're trying to create your own internal advertising and promotion system. Adzerk provides a well-documented, unopinionated API that is happy to return JSON objects instead of HTML, permitting you to easily make use of it internally to create your own white label feature. It fill exactly the gap that we needed and has plenty of additional functionality (more complex decision making rules, bidding models, etc.) for potential expansion and refinement down the road.

CONS

The object hierarchy and terminology can be complex and confusing. Figuring out how to map your own data model and use case to Adzerk's can take a little while and a bit of experimentation. They were quite responsive to our requests and questions during the setup and integration period, which helped us overcome this issue.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2019

Full featured product with great customer support

My experience to date has been pleasurable. I know if there is anything that doesn't line up with my expectations, there is a great support team to help work through it. Response times via email were never more than a day, and if further discussion was necessary, it was easy to schedule a phone call (often including time to speak with lead engineers). At times there was a little extra heavy lifting. Whereas a feature may already exist with another platform, we had to define requirements and hope it can be completed. In most cases I would say this process was a mere speed bump in development. The time implications were offset by the ability to have a say in the resulting product, and potentially customize to our specific needs.

PROS

I liked most that the support was very personable and timely. Additionally, Adzerk were very open to new feature requests when certain functionality that we needed did not exist.

CONS

The product seemed to often live in the shadow of larger products (/product i.e. dfp/gam). Documentation and features may have lagged a bit behind ad servers with a larger user base, or engineering resources.

Anonymous

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2018

Intriguing idea for a software platform but doesn't deliver performance

Unfortunately we received minimum benefits although it was a great concept.

PROS

I like the technical approach to being able to place your own ads and manage them on your website. The interfaces set their business model apart in terms of independent setups and administration of ads.

CONS

Unfortunately it just doesn't deliver in terms of performance and uptime. We can't afford for it to not do this consistently.

Vendor Response

We're sorry you didn't find the performance you were looking for. We have very few clients with performance/uptime issues, so would love to chat more about your particular use case and what type of performance you were ideally looking for. We are available to chat at marketing@adzerk.com. We hope in the future we can find another way to form a partnership.

Replied October 2018

User Profile

Rémi

Verified reviewer

Music, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

Easy API-based integration, well built platform, great engineering support!

At TouchTunes, we run music promotions and ads on a network of over 65,000 digital jukeboxes in bars, restaurants and other social venues across North America and Europe. Patrons can also be the DJ and control these jukeboxes by installing the TouchTunes mobile app on their iOS and Android phones. Downloaded over 8 Million times to date, patrons can receive free credits to play the jukebox, notably from promotional music campaigns. We needed an ad platform that would allow us to integrate quickly and seamlessly with these various devices, at the API level, and that would scale to handle the typical peak traffic on busy Friday nights. The Adzerk team has been a great partner during integration, understanding our special use cases, recommending various implementation options, and always just a Slack message away answering engineering questions in real time!

PROS

Adzerk's APIs allowed us to do almost everything we needed. This made the migration from our previous ad platform super easy. The APIs are well documented, unlike any other competitors evaluated. The web Management UI is simple, responsive and gets the job done. Changes are reflected in near real time in ad serving. Same for reporting. From discussions with their engineers, their backend is built to scale and it shows, their ad serving APIs are incredibly fast.

CONS

It would be nice to have permission levels on the web Management UI. The Management UI has a Creative Template feature allowing you to create addition input fields for a creative. This is great, I wish they had more options to validate user input (dropdowns, min/max, regex matching perhaps, etc).

User Profile

Lance

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2019

Adzerk Review

We've worked with the Adzerk team from the beginning - I cannot believe it's been 10 years! I've known the reps from as far back as his days with The Lounge network. He leads a team of true professionals that are knowledgeable, attentive and puts out a great product that's always growing and adapting to the market.

PROS

Ease of use and unmatched customers service. The team is very responsive to any questions or concerns that we've had over the years. The product is solid.

CONS

I really don't have too much from a negative standpoint that I can think of. A limited client side UI would be helpful for some of our clients though.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2018

Great API and reporting tools, great for custom-built solutions/marketplaces, but slightly buggy UI

Pleasure to work with. When issues arise they're resolved quickly. They're constantly improving their product.

PROS

- Great API that has become much more reliable since we started using it years ago - Very reliable delivery, even when the management console is down, the ads continue delivery - Amazing reporting tools, including realtime stats - Easy-to-use and extend JS library - Responsive and thorough support team

CONS

Discrepancies between UI 1.0 and 2.0 sometimes make work difficult. Various errors without explanations are difficult to understand and work around.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2018

GREAT TEAM!

Super positive experience with Adzerk. The platform is MUCH easier to use / navigate than the behemoth enterprise platform we used previously. And the Adzerk team is AMAZING!

PROS

What I like most about Adzerk is the employees. Everyone I have worked with on the support team has been incredibly helpful, patient, and attentive.

CONS

Not a perfect fit for our eeds but they seem to be adding feature enhancements frequently.

User Profile

Alejandro

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2019

Adzerk - a great ad server partner

Adzerk has allowed us to focus our time on building the business side of our company. We have plugged in their ad server with a unique configuration and saved a lot of time and effort doing so, confident that portion of our tech stack is in good hands.

PROS

Adzerk's stack is easily customizable, allowing you to set up your configuration to fit specific business needs. Overall, a very reliable product led by a great team.

CONS

Some reporting features that include looking at segments of a campaign are currently unavailable for reporting. Other than that, Adzerk has it covered.

Sam

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2019

Adzerk Review

The customer support team has always been quick to respond and helpful with all requests. The API and UI also enabled our team to build products around them. The one thing that could be made more clear is Adzerk's roadmap and what new features are in development for 6 months in the future.

PROS

Adzerk's reporting API is very easy to pull the latest data from. Setting up campaigns in the UI is a seamless process.

CONS

The reporting feature in the UI recently has not been loading the latest data. For example, on May 28, I pulled several reports in the UI and each time a new report loaded it would show the data from the first report. The reporting API should also show conversions.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2018

Easy to use with great customer service

Adzerk allows us to serve customer digital ads on our website and make money from them. It has allowed us to move previous print customers to an online platform.

PROS

Adzerk is easy to use. I am able to teach non tech minded staff how to create digital ads in Adzerk quite easily. I find the customer service is great, I get a reply to my question usually within the day. Our developers are often impressed how easy it is to ad serve from Adzerk onto our site.

CONS

I find the help document a bit hard to follow at times, it could maybe be written a bit simpler for people like me who aren't very tech minded.

Daniel

Entertainment, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

Flexible solution but needs to be more future thinking

Overall we have had solid customer service from the Kevel team and maintain a strong relationship. I do wish that the team has been faster with product improvements though, there have been features that we have been requesting for years that are table stakes with other platforms (eg. avails ) so I would love to see the team move faster in the future

PROS

I think Kevel is great at providing tools to help build custom ads and custom ad experiences. This versatility is key in helping publishers create very unique ads that can help protect a user experience or provide a very high quality ad experience on publisher properties. From an API perspective there are many powerful tools available for engineering teams to access again providing great flexibility in what a team is able to create

CONS

While the platform is very powerful it is lacking in usability non engineering users (such as trafficking teams). Many features such as advanced reporting and creative template creation are not available in the UI and require additional work to access through accessing APIs and log level reporting. Supporting the software requires continuous engineering support so its important for teams to plan accordinly.

Vendor Response

Thank you Daniel for your thorough feedback and for being a long-time Kevel customer. We're so glad that you enjoy the product, and we hear your concerns. Since you posted, we have released many new features over the past year dedicated to improving the usability of the UI. For instance, we have sped up the app, added more reporting, and allowed for creative template creation within the UI, amongst other small changes to improve the user experience. Please let us know if there are other frustrations you continue to have.

Replied December 2021

Weston

Publishing, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2020

Adzerk is a pretty solid digital ad serving platform overall

I use Adzerk every day, and my overall experience with Adzerk is good. Adzerk has helped us accomplish our advertising goals, and I look forward to continuing to use Adzerk. As we continue to grow as a company and expand our digital advertising offerings, Adzerk has continued to meet our needs.

PROS

The product is easy to use and setup. Implementing different ad types and sizes was easy on our four company websites and in our email newsletters. Creating and managing campaigns, flights, and creatives is easy once you figure out where things are located in the system. There are plenty of options that can be configured on campaigns. The different APIs could be very useful in custom applications. We haven't used the APIs yet, but I foresee us using them in the future for custom applications.

CONS

Inviting users to view their ads in the system needs a little more work in my opinion. I have had multiple users complain about the reporting part they have access to not working very well or lacking features for reporting. I know a nice feature would be a metric for the viewability (did someone see it on the screen) of an ad in an application. I know some of clients ask for this metric, but we don't have it to give to them.

Jenna

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

User friendly with exceptional client service

I have loved Adzerk since the day we implemented their system. It was miles beyond the original technology our business had been using prior and the customer service is absolutely outstanding. Patient, Kind (regardless of the complexity of your question), Knowledgeable and most importantly VERY quick to reply to support inquiries. We are big fans.

PROS

We mostly utilize Adzerk for our standard display advertising campaigns. What I love is how easy it is to upload and duplicate assets as well as how clean the interface is aesthetically. The conversion tracking feature has been very helpful in client win-back and renewal meetings. We appreciate how simple of a setup a campaign/flight can be as well as some of the more intricate options that are available for those more difficult, heavily targeted campaigns. The UI is easy enough to accommodate a newer Ops hire and offers more in-depth optimization tools for the experts. The extensive knowledge base has also been an extremely useful resource for everyone in between in an ever evolving space.

CONS

For the sake of mentioning a Con for validity, there a few small glitches that I know are being worked on as we speak. One example in particular is having to pad each individual flight by a certain impression percentage each month to be certain they fully deliver via the reporting tool, even though at the campaign level the status bar indicates we are pacing correctly. Again a very minor issue with a manageable work around in place.

Kristyn

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

AdZerk For Your Business!

The customer service team really goes above and beyond to ensure that your issues are resolved quickly and effectively. This has been extremely important to us as we are a small team and having additional resources available to troubleshoot and resolve matters has proved invaluable.

PROS

I like the many options for how to manage your inventory. Daisy chain ordered, header bidding, optimized - there are different selections that help monetize best for your business needs. Also, there are a lot of customizations you can make within the campaign setup and header code that provide unique solutions.

CONS

I find it a challenge to run responsive tags such as Adsense or others within AdZerk. There isn't an ideal way to do this which is less than ideal as the alternative is to run these tags hardcoded which limits your ability to manage inventory within your ad stack and overall sales forecast.

Reasons for switching to Kevel

Cost was a big factor in our overall decision initially. I've worked with several companies that have all made the switch to AdZerk for overall value and tech ability to truly customize your business.

Adam

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

Great Product

Great people who have worked with us over the years answering questions on how we can improve our ad serving using their products.

PROS

It's one of the best products for non programmatic ad serving. You have the ability to fully customize your ad response to complete your user experience which allows for you to have completely native ads. If you know what you're doing in the ad space it gives you something you won't be able to do with DFP/GAM. The more creative you are, the better this product will be for you. I highly recommend it for any team that does a direct sales or performance based advertising.

CONS

There are two cons and one is easily something you can overcome. The first is if you strictly use their UI, it can be a challenge, but you have the ability to do everything via API if you prefer. The second is if you strictly intend to use this product programmatically you won't be experiences the real benefits but in no means will you be going wrong.

Daniel

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2021

Kevel has been great to work with! Customer Support team is phenonmenal

PROS

It had all the features we required for our business and met the goals for implementation w/ a 3rd party ad server. It was very hard to find something that aligned with what we needed. The API docs were well written which helped speed the integration.

CONS

There are missing features like the ability to count unique users in the analytics. We also had to write our own metric tracking. There was no out of the box library for capturing impressions on an ad, so we had to write our own scripts to track ad impressions (still used their API to capture the data point)

Reason for choosing Kevel

Kevel seemed to have the most flexibility in how / when we serve ads, reasonable price point, and a great customer service team.

Reasons for switching to Kevel

GAM did not provide the level of insights and flexibility of ad serving that we required. It was difficult to get ads to even show up sometimes, and some cases we simply were unable to get ads to show up at all and we were unclear why. Our proprietary ad server had too much work to implement all the required features / meet performance needs. We do not have a dedicated digital dev team.

Josh

Internet, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2019

Easiest and Fastest way to Implement your own Native Ad Server

PROS