All Vyond Reviews

1-25 of 245 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Robbi

Insurance, 1,001 - 5,000 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed January 2022

Quick wins for low cash outlay!

User Profile

Juan

Verified reviewer

Insurance, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

The Best Animation Software for Instrucional Designers, Freelancers, and Business Owners

Vyond allows me to quickly enrich training material in an absolute impressive format. It helps me to work Agile by eliminating the need to wait for Voice Over Specialist because the HQ voice-over voices sound extremely human like. On top of that, it's an amazing tool for storytelling creation, even for gamification purposes.

PROS

The animation effects are amazing, the new HQ voice-overs are impressive because they sound human like and the lip-sync is very good. The character creator could offer more options, but it certainly offers good enough variety to create a similar version of yourself or others. Combining actions like for example walking into an scene and then saying high is pretty easy to setup with motion path and you can even select in what direction the character is looking.

CONS

Every time you want to Preview and scene, you have to wait a few seconds. When using it for a long time, it would be better to refresh the web browser to reduce loading. It requires a very high-speed internet connection.

Linda

Insurance, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2021

Great tool for don't have time professionals

Overall, my experience has been good. You learn to work around it's little oddities. I think it is a good software, especially for the quick turn around you are able to accomplish.

PROS

Once we got Vyond, I was surprised how quick and easy it was to learn and use. We purchased with a specific project in mind and I had the project completed in less than a week. The templates Vyond gives you access to use are easy to use and easy to pick a part and make your own; making you seem like you are the developer around.

CONS

I'm not particularly fond of the cropping tool. It has improved, but it does not behave like other cropping tools. Additionally, I find it weird that you can right click on an object to copy, but you can only use the keyboard shortcut for the paste option. Also, some of the character sets are never, ever going to make it into the videos for the business that I work for. Zombies being one. Need more business appropriate image sets. Speaking of image sets, the search feature for the image sets and for the applies actions takes some getting use to. Sometimes what they are called is not at all what you would call it.

Reason for choosing Vyond

Price and being able to hit the ground running without a large learning curve.

Shamael

Legal Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2021

Vyond Review

My overall experience over the past 3-4 months has been amazing. The team at Vyond is very proficient with disseminating information on updates through blog posts and webinars. I have devised so many tips and tricks of my own to animate scripts.

PROS

Vyond is quite easy to use and not very hard for one to get proficient at it. The updates are frequent and always to the benefit of the users. Because of the glut of actions/characters in Vyond library, a video can be made more expressive with smart use of continue scene and instant effect. Despite its limitation, if one is applicable enough they can devise new tricks to animate a script to make it more communicable.

CONS

I feel the software has a long way to go to match industry-standard tools like After Effects. Having said that, adding more features would make Vyond complicated for a user not familiar with any animating software (thus losing on its user-friendliness). But one can always use third-party software to compensate for the limitations of Vyond. I feel more can be done on actions with a character using a prop. A feature that allows a user to change props used by a character in an action would really help. Perhaps Vyond can have two versions. One for an uninitiated user with all the simple-to-master tools and interface and one for the more experienced Vyond user with the option to customize actions or create new actions.

Sean Matthew

E-Learning, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Making Ideas Reality - Fast

Vyond allows me and my team to rapidly develop and create visual storytelling in a way that otherwise wasn't possible to us before. We're able to quickly prototype and storyboard, gain approvals with the easy export functions and then flesh out and make real.

PROS

Rapid Build-out of videos is the number one big function for us. The ability to quickly lip-sync audio to video. Use text-to-speech prior to doing actual voice over recording allows for speed. The customization of characters and upload custom content helps us make the output more our own.

CONS

Smoother animation selection transitions between the built-ins. Sometimes this inability leaves a jerky hard cuts in the middle of the animation which takes the viewer out of things.

Reasons for switching to Vyond

Voice Lip-sync functionality and various other ease of use functions

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review, Sean Matthew. We appreciate your feedback on transitions. Please feel free to share feedback or connect with us anytime at community@vyond.com.

Replied April 2021

Ellen

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Great for fast explainer videos

Vyond has helped me to develop content for both soft and technical skills training in a way that is engaging, visually appealing, and fun for adult learners. It is customizable enough to work for most L&D teams. I appreciate that it also allows me to occasionally add some humor to e-learnings (when appropriate for the right audience). I've used it collaboratively with teammates in the past and have easily onboarded others to the program.

PROS

Vyond has a great asset library and the UI is pretty straightforward. I've used it to develop training in the past. It also is easy to add narration to custom characters and upload your own assets for inclusion in videos. It has a wealth of customizable templates.

CONS

The zoom/pan function can get a bit tricky and cause the editor to crash. Also note with any cloud-based products info security is always a consideration.

Reason for choosing Vyond

Best repository/library of templates and visual assets that are easily customized. Easy editor.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review, Ellen. Also, thanks for the feedback on the Zoom/Pan function. I'll share this with our team. Please feel free to share feedback with us anytime at community@vyond.com.

Replied April 2021

Teresa

Financial Services, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Lots of Fun

I absolutely love adding Vyond videos to explain a concept or define something towards the beginning of a learning solution. It helps set a fun, light-hearted, and often-times humorous tone, which also helps the learner connect with the video and creates the buy-in we look for from learners when they are getting into a learning solution. That buy-in helps the content imprint in their memories. :)

PROS

I love how many character actions and prop options are available. It's so easy and super fun creating videos with Vyond.

CONS

I always find a need for more character building (like additional clothing and accessory options), action, and prop options. I also find it challenging when I add a sound effect that is very short and I need to move it on the timeline...I end up having to extend the length of it to be able to move it then I have to try to get it back to the length it was prior to extending and moving it.

Reason for choosing Vyond

Vyond seemed easier to use and had so many more eye catching, engaging options for building fun videos. Learners love when we include Vyond videos in our learning solutions.

Monica

Judiciary, 201-500 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2021

User friendly, wide usage

Very good. Been a customer for a few years and intend to stick with this company as it grows.

PROS

Vyond is relatively easy to use and has templates, props, and scenes to suit most circumstances.

CONS

Certain professions, sports, hobbies, and scenes, if included, will easily make this a far more superior tool. For example, I couldn’t find characters or costumes for a dance scene I needed. I had wanted to illustrate stress relieve hobbies people can pick up during quarantine like sewing, but not available. Also I am not sure why there’s no “talk HAPPY but no lip sync” option.

Reason for choosing Vyond

Truth be told, it was because at that time, only Goanimate offered a free trial period. I tried it. And I decided to continue with it.

Reasons for switching to Vyond

Vyond is a lot more expensive but overall functions are more complete. But vyond lacks the superhero storylines that pow toon has.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review and feedback, Monica. What professions, sports, hobbies, and scenes can we prioritize adding to make your work easier? Please feel free to connect or share feedback with us anytime at community@vyond.com.

Replied April 2021

Jennifer

Insurance, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Love this software!

The benefits are so many with this platform - fun, creative, engaging content can be creative for multiple audiences. I use it to create an image, gifs, AND videos. There are so many purposes! The templates are helpful and can easily be modified.

PROS

Vyond makes it easy to create images, gifs, AND videos that support employee engagement initiatives and of course for all types of training. I am able to create fun, informative graphics and videos that enhance the training the develop.

CONS

As a one person L & D department, I would like the ability to create contemporary characters. It's only available on the Professional platform and I'd really like to see it as an option on the Premium option. I don't need a scalable, teams platform as I am a one person team!

Reason for choosing Vyond

The ability to create animated videos with character actions - not just animated powerpoints or slides.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review. We are lucky to have you as a customer and we appreciate your feedback. Please feel free to connect with us anytime via email community@vyond.com or in our customer community https://vyond.force.com/community.

Replied April 2021

Carol

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Vyond a Great Video Creation Tool

I love using Vyond to create training videos and interesting presentions to keep our employees engaged.

PROS

I love that Vyond gies you the option to create videos with ease and you can use cartoon or serious characters. It has also improved on text to speech which I use a lot in my video creation. I love being able to create my own characters to use in my videos.

CONS

I think that Vyond can improve on their editing features. They need to make it easy to import mp4s and be able to edit them with the transitions and animation. They need to offer more options for clothing and features when creating characters.

Reasons for switching to Vyond

Vyond was easier to use and gave me the ease of creativity.

Vendor Response

Carol, Thank you for your review. Feel free to connect with us directly about any features or assets you'd like us to add. Email your feedback to community@vyond.com or reply here.

Replied May 2022

Chia-Wen

Think Tanks, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Vyond is so fantastic in producing professional but interesting video

Vyond is an easy-using platform. Even though I do not have any animation background, I can still learn and use Vyond to produce professional videos in a short period of time.

PROS

Vyond provides lots of templates for users, so I can easily construct my ideas through these templates, then customized them to fit my demand. Besides, I can also make my personal characters with different styles, and use the character to represent me since I am not comfortable with camera. Last but not least, the interface is quite easy to understand and use.

CONS

Since my company is Taiwanese reseller team, sometimes I have to hold a seminar to teach HR how to use Vyond. However, because the link-sharing function is locked for free trial account, so they cannot share their work with other colleagues, or present their work to boss. Moreover, sometimes the sharing link is not workable on mobile, so this situation might keep some people from buying Vyond.

Reason for choosing Vyond

Abundant templates and attractive functions (such as movements and facial expression)

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review and feedback, Chia-Wen. Please feel free to connect or share feedback with us anytime at community@vyond.com.

Replied April 2021

Carolyn

Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2021

Easy to Use for a Variety of Projects

Overall, I highly recommend Vyond and it is one of my most used products while creating online courses. There are so many opportunities for creativity and the tool is designed in a way that makes is easy and fun to create custom assets for courses.

PROS

Vyond is easy to use for many different projects. There are a wide variety of pre-made icons, pictures, characters, etc. in the library or you can create your own. In addition, it is easy to upload photos, music or videos for projects. One of my favorite things to make in Vyond is GIFS. They are a quick and eye catching way to get information to learners. Their customer service team is also PHENOMENAL and they truly care about making sure the product is working for your team/your needs.

CONS

I wish they had more healthcare related assets in the library. Some of the items we need are very specialized and we have to find a way to create them ourselves either from imported pictures or by piecing together tubes, shapes, etc. from the library. A plus side is that a Vyond rep reached out to me directly about this and asked me for input so that they can talk to the production team.

Reason for choosing Vyond

My colleague and I had both used Vyond in previous positions and loved working with the tool. It was a no-brainer when it came time to choose an animation software.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review and feedback, Carolyn. We are working on adding more healthcare assets and appreciate the insight you gave us. Please feel free to connect or share feedback with us anytime at community@vyond.com.

Replied April 2021

Peter

Government Administration, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2021

Vyond is an excellent communication tool for public education and outreach

Vyond has made complicated subject matter easy to convey via animation. It is more entertaining to the public sector and keeps their attention where live video may not. The versatility of the Contemporary, Business Friendly and Whiteboard animations styles cover most any subjects or can be adapted to your needs.

PROS

I love the various customization features. I am constantly discovering useful techniques via their Community website. I am so glad I chose this software for it's ease of use and fantastic support! Vyond has exceeded my expectations and foresee a continuous relationship with their knowledgeable team members. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] has been in constant touch with the Vyond community and is a wonderful person who really listens and cares about my feedback!

CONS

Vyond has been constantly improving and I appreciate that very much. I know some things need worked out by the development team and take some time to appear. I'd like to see a way to create folders for imported assets so I can organize them per animation. I think the timeline should scroll along with the animation's playhead. That would be very helpful to me.

Vendor Response

Thanks for your review Peter! We are lucky to have you as a customer. We appreciated your feedback and I've shared it directly with our product team.

Replied March 2021

Natalie

Insurance, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2021

If you know video editing basics, getting started with Vyond is simple

Vyond has helped us create videos in a way that we've never been able to do before. I have several years of video editing experience with Final Cut, Edius, and Adobe Premiere but nothing like Vyond before. This would be a feature we'd have to outsource if it weren't more affordable and intuitive for someone with my experience to figure out. It's practical and for the most part, reasonably priced.

PROS

The best feature about Vyond is its pre-made templates. They're constantly adding new ones that are more timely and relevant. The templates make it super simple for me to put together a video much faster than I would if I had to recreate something like that. My second favorite feature is replace. That makes it SO easy to truly customize existing templates for efficiency and branding purposes.

CONS

Adding motion is still a sore spot for me. I don't find it easy to implement the feature in a project and it never turns out the way I'd like. I wish this part was more intuitive. And I'd like to see more templates, although I mentioned there are a lot and I enjoy them, I'd like to see more added more regularly. Also, for the price that you pay for a subscription, you should be able to have at least two users.

Reason for choosing Vyond

I was looking into another option (can't remember the name) based on a suggestion from a colleague. I almost bit the bullet and went with that even though I didn't like it when I did a free trial. Then I found Vyond by chance and was much more impressed with how user friendly it was.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review and feedback, Natalie. Please feel free to share feedback or connect with us anytime at community@vyond.com.

Replied April 2021

Ralph

Financial Services, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2021

Good product

Decent amount of templates and environments available. There can never be enough of these, please continue making more. I keep losing character's action continuing when Continue Scene option is used to extend scenes where character is performing actions. So if a character is explaining something and looking left, his arm/body re-orients to the Continued Scene if I decide character's head looks right, instead of left for new Continued Scene. This makes simple, fluid character actions like arm moves and stance appear choppy and incongruent.

PROS

Templates speed up the mundane tasks of creating moving images and environments.

CONS

Lots more templates needed. Get ride of the amputee options that always seem to appear first for any character actions. Simple actions like "Standing" or "Talking" often return amputees as first option with regular appearing options further down the Actions List. Or perhaps have a group of Frequently Used Actions for characters instead so I don't have to scroll all the way down for the ones I need in each desired action.

Reason for choosing Vyond

I already bought Vyond but keep getting enticing Powtoon offers which are 40% below Vyond's yearly price.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review, Ralph. Your suggestion for a "Frequently Used Actions" section is excellent and I will share this with the team. Please feel free to share feedback with us anytime at community@vyond.com.

Replied April 2021

Kirk

Computer Games, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2021

Epic!

PROS

Vyond is easy to learn and has a robust set of props, characters, expressions, etc. that allow us to enhance our training content with storytelling elements. Since implementing Vyond, we've produced more video content faster, and with better engagement from employees.

CONS

Overall we're very happy- I would like to see a number of 'quality of life' improvements to make working within the tool faster, as well as continued growth of the props, characters, etc. Specifically white board style options.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review, Kirk. What kind of tools or quality of life improvements are you looking for us to prioritize adding? I'll also share with the team your request for more additions to the whiteboard style. Please feel free to share feedback with us anytime at community@vyond.com.

Replied April 2021

Sandra

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Something for all experience levels

I've created elearning videos that were embedded in scenarios within Articulate Storyline, and standalone learning bursts that are more like reminders of concepts. And we've modified templates to use for COVID training internally. Most recently, I've created marketing videos that are more like commercials for our products, used on our external website and sent to our clients.

PROS

I love how easy it is to use Vyond - and it's great for a wide range of experience levels. If you have no background in animation or video, and just want to get something out fast, the templates make it super easy. If you are more experienced, there's a huge variety of characters, props, actions, and other features to let you can get as creative as you want. Plus, it's just so danged fun to use! It's appealing from that perspective as well. I love being creative, and the end results are fun, but also polished and professional. Makes me look good ;-P

CONS

I can't think of anything I don't like. Maybe a wider variety of characters? We like to show diversity. But that is nitpicking, because there IS diversity. Just be nice to have more.

Vendor Response

Sandra, thank you for your review. What kinds of backgrounds, props, poses, or actions can we add to help add to our diversity? Please feel free to share with us at community@vyond.com.

Replied April 2021

Karen

E-Learning, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Level Up Your Instructional Videos

Vyond helps us create clear, fun videos to explain all sorts of processes. It has always been well received.

PROS

This software is a real game changer! You are able to create custom vides that can really impact eLearning products. We use it often and it really enhances our products.

CONS

At times the web based app is not responsive. Items freeze or do not work properly. Would like to see more character, scene and item choices added bi-annually.

Reasons for switching to Vyond

Vyond was the better choice.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review and feedback, Karen. Please feel free to connect or share feedback with us anytime at community@vyond.com.

Replied April 2021

Brandi

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING: