User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(14)

14

4 stars

(7)

7

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

5.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

5.0 / 5

Browse Mapbox Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -28 of 22 results

July 2018

User Profile Picture

Francis Carolina from elbrunchshow.wordpress.com

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

The most versatile geographic and cartographic management tool in the market.

Pros

What I like most about this tool is that it is in the cloud. You do not have to go through difficult installation processes like with similar products. It is easy to work, even if you are not from the GIS area or have another career not related to geography. I like the possibility of interaction that has the data on a map. It is perfect for presentations to multidisciplinary groups of people who do not know how to analyze a map, since the final products possess qualities that traditional digital maps do not possess. Mapbox has known how to evolve in the field of GIS, combining the ease and practicality of similar services such as google maps, with the precision and efficiency in editing and processing proprietary software data such as Argis. The best part is that it is open source.

Cons

It is a tool for online use, so when there are faults in the internet connection, obviously the quality of the mapbox service is limited. In addition, the tool has some free geoprocessing and upload functions to the cloud, but those of us working with GIS know that a map completed with its associated data base can weigh hundreds of MB, and that cloud storage space It is definitely not free and nothing affordable.

December 2019

Jamison from Grey Sky Media

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Beautiful software

We've been using Mapbox for about 4 years and 2 versions. we'll continue to use them moving forward.

Pros

Mapbox makes it easy to create custom-colored maps, but that's not where its power lies. Mapbox's API allows us to implement custom maps and pins integrating our data simply. The vector-based map is fast and integration is simple with their documentation

Cons

No real cons to speak of. You really need to be a programmer to work with mapbox though, lay people will find it challenging to implement.

January 2018

Nicholas from msu

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

Map box took advantage of the option to offer open source

Pros

I believe this is one of the easier mapping software products on the market today. I have tested a handful.

Cons

Sometimes it was a bit clunky in terms of navigation and finding specific items. There is a bit of a learning curve.

April 2019

User Profile Picture

Skyla from Skylark

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

One API for all map solutions!

Overall the tool is must have for an aviation industry. Developers must have this skill to plot and locate geographic data on interactive map.

Pros

Mapbox provides intuitive studio GUI for developers. Easy to design Maps for developers. Either use API for designing or use web GUI, both provide endless features. High customization, Programming Language Support, GIS application strong backend support, Large community support makes is most usable product.

Cons

Data Visualization and Geo location plotting requires more understanding of the code samples. No official support for major languages than JavaScript.

May 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Very in-depth custom map creator with loads of options for developers and non-developers alike

I've been able to make very detailed area maps of remote areas with historical styling and information

Pros

I'm definitely a more simplistic user of this platform; I mainly use it to create period maps and detail locations of interest. I know there is a much more in-depth side to it for power users. It essentially lets you create highly detailed and stylized maps, and even interactive maps. I can't speak for the software development side since I'm not a developer, but I know that it allows for you to create custom maps for your project using your own data, styles, and customer interactions, that you can then deploy in various settings.

Cons

I guess since it is aimed at developers, it can definitely be confusing to try and use if you are not one.

February 2021

Andy from Montgomery Group

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Steep Learning Curve but Worth the Effort from Amazing Results

It's possible to use this application to create stunning maps without being a programmer, however with some knowledge building of your own you can really achieve some incredible maps. Looking forward to seeing how this application will really expand with creative users!

Pros

This mapping application is by far the most advanced tool for map development. It literally does whatever your imagination can dream up!

Cons

There is quite a steep learning curve but with some Youtube digging and tutorials for members there is a massive amount to learn if you are not familiar with basic programming.

Reasons for Choosing Mapbox

This product was recommended by a large travel booking engine who recommended connecting Mapbox to their API for extremely diverse connectivity.

Reasons for Switching to Mapbox

Google My Maps is too basic, contains branding has extremely limited features compared to Mapbox. For those considering going into maps as a career, this is the application to learn!

September 2020

Frank from Alliance One International

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Best map alternative to google maps.

Mapbox plugin was easy to add to both html code and wordpress sites. It has a nice set of layer styles that all look good.

Pros

The restrictions around Google maps plugin to web projects make Mapbox a google alternative. It is a free service that does not require attaching a credit card to use.

Cons

Mapbox is less detailed as compared to google maps in terms of showing building and their names in less known countries in Africa.

Reasons for Switching to Mapbox

I switched from google maps because it requires users to register with a GCP account to integrate google maps into their websites and applications

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Beautifully designed maps with lots of features

Pros

MapBox is amazing for developing interactive map software solutions. The ability to view and toggle 3D layers, their additional tools, and their visualization features makes MapBox one of the best map solutions out there

Cons

The price point for private applications is a little bit confusing.

April 2018

User Profile Picture

Nathan from HMB Professional Engineers, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

MapBox is one of the best webmapping options out there - and getting better!

Pros

I like how flexible it is - I can almost always get what I'm imaging to happen, without a huge amount of hassle, or without running into walls. It's easy to get up and running, and has a ton of API options.

Cons

The learning curve is pretty steep, and there aren't a ton of demo projects that you can take and run with. It's also not the fastest rendering in the world.

December 2019

User Profile Picture

Adam from Lane Engineering, LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Mapbox is A Fantastic Tool

The ability to incorporate many different map styles in my React project gave me a lot of versatility. I found their docs easy to understand and would recommend anyone to try Mapbox if they are getting started with Web Map development.

Pros

I love the ability to call to the Open Street Map API and style the maps with the easy tools provided from Mapbox's Studio editor. Mapbox was easy to incorporate into my projects.

Cons

Getting started I found it challenging to navigate the website and make use of all the resources that Mapbox provides.

November 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Open source SDK

It is nice to be able to read documentation about the SDK and such. Overall I still use google maps for daily use, but I happen to program with Mapbox frequently.

Pros

Mapbox is a solid map alternative to Google and Apple maps. Tesla uses it, Uber used to... It's nice for programming and customizable with good documentation for your own app.

Cons

It can be expensive (but I'm not the one paying it haha). The API is not editable, only the SDK is, so not the entire software is customizable, only some.

July 2021

João Gabriel de from Estadual de Feira de santana

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Good production base on it

It is very good, specially in the quality of the work. I do recommend for it. However, you need to be patient to undestand how to laying and classify the feactures to use.

Pros

Mapbox it is very good if you want to produce maps with different tematics and different classifications. Some people uses it to produce architecture maps, which it is very good and oply oused. It is good if you want to classify according to your needs.

Cons

The platafor of the software is quite difficult to be undestand. It takes me hours do understand how to classify things.

September 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Good vector maps provider

Pretty good. Did not encounter any major issues with service or software.

Pros

It provides you the ability to have the English language instead of local while zooming in real-time. A big plus.

Cons

The number of bugs on their repo on Github

Reasons for Switching to Mapbox

Vector maps + dynamic languages on zoom + better load time

January 2019

User Profile Picture

Tamas from Catsurveys Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

SuperB maps

Pros

You can create beautiful maps in a minute, upload your data design it and add to map. Mapbox.js also awesome.

Cons

For starter companies who has no really income at the beginning but their business would like to use mapbox for commercial purposes, I think its a bit expensive.

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Need a map? Now you have Mapbox

Pros

Great tool for getting maps into things. YES IT'S THAT SIMPLE. The app works, loads of features, and has handled everything I've been able to throw at it.

Cons

Getting through the documentation when you're stuck can be difficult.

May 2018

vikash from Impact Analytics

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

I like it very much

Pros

Some of pros are: 1. Standardised data flow for large organised projects 2. it is very fast loading due to custom tile generation 3. Relative ease of customization of map tiles 4. Beautiful base maps that can be modified via click-editing

Cons

some of cons are: 1. System is too complex for simple projects or maps 2. It has a steep learning curve for developers used to other APIs 3. Documentation examples are sometimes inadequate for understanding

July 2018

David from Kindale

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Great Maping API for your apps

Great look maps for my app

Pros

I just created a mobile game with there API it was great and easy to implement. It has lots of easy to use features. It create great looking maps. you change the way they look. The pricing is good to if you need more then the free version offers.

Cons

It can be hard to learn at first. there is not a lot of tutorials out there on it. Can be pricey if you use it for a large app,

April 2018

User Profile Picture

Edward from MT Marqueting

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Appropriate application to stay located, in the place where you are.

Pros

The addresses are always updated, allowing you to enjoy more of the places, without having to get lost.

Cons

It is very simple, it does not have anything out of the ordinary, although it works completely and it is very productive for those who use it, in the matter of innovation, it is not very noticeable. The rest works perfectly.

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Mapbox is great for developing applications with custom detailed maps

Developing apps with custom maps and features is relatively simple with Mapbox.

Pros

Mapbox gives you everything you need to create beautiful custom maps and applications.

Cons

I have yet to find anything to really complain about in using Mapbox. The documentation is thorough but I could see newer developers having issues with some things.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

A must

Pros

Open and with lots of options and always new proposals / suggestions

Cons

Not easy for a newbie. Dedicated classes / how to would be much appreciated

June 2019

Daniel from Serf Systems Inc.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Mapbox is a good product for mapping software

Pros

Mapbox loads incredibly fast compared to other softwares

Cons

It took me quite a while to learn how to use Mapbox to its full potential

August 2020

Amy from IGT

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

Better then any other map creation alternative

Pros

Mapbox provides highly customisable maps which are way better then google maps.

Cons

Mapbox SDK's do not support cross platform applications.