User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(26)

26

4 stars

(6)

6

3 stars

(2)

2

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

5.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse Aware IM Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -16 of 34 results

June 2018

User Profile Picture

Mark from Micronetics, Intl.

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

We can develop web, mobile, Saas applications in a fraction of time of conventional tools.

Usually, development takes a long time. With AwareIM we are knocking out products so quickly our marketing team can't keep up. Also if someone comes to us with an idea, they are shocked to see a working prototype in a couple of days.

Pros

AwareIM is fully integrated with database, logic, security, web, mobile, and desktop. Coming for a 4GL C/S tool, it took 5 years of looking at other products to find a similar tool for web development until I found AwareIM. Every other product when it came to logic, it required coding in javascript, etc. AwareIM uses English like statements, has built in security, handles or the database automatically including any DB changes. The speed of development is unmatched. We can prototype a working a full app, in a couple of days. The ability to use the same logic but have different screens for different types of users makes development for mobile, tablets a breeze. There is no tool that can compare to this if you want speed of development, ease of mainteance, built in security; basically everything in one package. It's very rare that when working in a system that you marvel at the genius of it. You will with AwareIm.

Cons

Everything that we requested, mainly mobile, and adding PhoneGap has been added. The only thing we would prefer is if AwareIM had an online activation server. If we want to move our C/S application using PSQL we can click deactivate and it will then allow us to activate on another system. With AIM it requires a written request and although it has never been an issue, there may be times in the evening, weekends we may want to move to a different server. In defense of that, AwareIM will work for 30 days. We just prefer the ability to activate and deactivate on our own.

August 2019

Nabil from Woollahra Municpal Council

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

AwareIM - Best application development software platform

Extremely satisfied with adopting AwareIM as my organisation's main application development platform. The end users have been very impressed with the applications produced using AwareIM.

Pros

AwareIM is a very well structured application development platform and takes care of creating the entire user interface of an application using clever visual perspective controls. The software allows a developer to build an entire application database structure behind the scenes without needing specialist database administration skills and SQL knowledge. Using AwareIM's version control and testing tools makes prototyping ideas for a proof of concept a very simple task before progressing to full application development. The sample applications, documentation and video tutorials that are available, provide excellent reference for building any application. This is all well complemented by excellent support from the AwareIM team and an active developer community.

Cons

It is an extremely addictive software application, so tend to spend hours using AwareIM without getting bored :)

Reasons for Choosing Aware IM

The speed of developing software applications. The company's claim that with AwareIM you can build software 10 times faster than the fastest product is grossly understated. It is great value for money.

Reasons for Switching to Aware IM

The speed of application development using AwareIM. Microsoft Access had limitations and didn't cater for scalability in a large multiuser customer base.

May 2021

David from Infospot

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2021

AWAREIM review from a newbie

Poor customer service/internal company support. Great community of long time developers who offer help getting through some tough spots. Without that help form the community, AwareIM would have been a complete bust. AwareIM is just not a robust enough product for creating a SaaS web product. I am sure its great for small "one-off" projects, or projects developed by long time AwareIM experts. If you are building a company around a product, use an established python framework product like Django.

Pros

Get up to speed very quickly for basic features, ease of deployment

Cons

UI is very clunky. Difficult to deliver a polished, professional looking UI unless you are an HTML/Javascript expert, or someone that has used the product for years. Internal support was poor, so getting advanced features to work was next to impossible.

Reasons for Choosing Aware IM

I chose AwareIM prematurely, but quite honestly I did not have the web skills to use python frameworks.

Response from Awaresoft

Replied May 2021

Hi David, thank you for your review. Just one question - why did you say that our customer support was poor? It is not free as support is not included in your license, but once you pay for it, it is the best money can buy. Lots of our customers can attest to it. So we are a bit puzzled and disappointed by such an assessment.

May 2021

Roger from Cornerstone Software. LLC

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2021

AwareIM- Magic for the web!

Overall, I am very happy with AwareIM. It allows me to develop large scale applications that would normally take a team of developers to create. I am able to create POC quickly and customize the application as much as it needs.

Pros

AwareIM allows you to develop applications in less time. Its business rule based engine allows for managing business logic in a simple manner from each table or Business Object as they are called in AwareIM. Creating queries and forms is fast. Built in library of Kendo UI widgets is very nice and expanding with each new release. Customization using CSS, HTML, java script is endless.

Cons

Report writer needs to be improved. It based on Jasper Reports but has limited features compared to the Jasper Reports itself. Processing a lot of records can be slow.

Reasons for Choosing Aware IM

Licensing was a lower cost, allows for creating browser based applications. Not a steep learning curve.

Reasons for Switching to Aware IM

Cost and features for creating browser based applications

May 2021

Maria from Heffernan Consulting

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

Coming from MS Access Development to Aware IM has been so easy

The team at Aware IM, especially [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], have been amazing with the training and support they have offered. They have been a pleasure to deal with.

Pros

I am a MS Access Developer of 28 years and have written many commercial level programs using that platform. I looked for quite a while to find a replacement for my clients who were using MS Access and I found Aware IM. I found the software to be very easy to use, very intuitive, and the How to Use, User Manual & all the Training Videos made the process so easy. The team at Aware IM were very responsive and gave me several one-on-one training sessions when I requested them. So far I have built 6 systems using the program, two of which will be rolled out to clients in the next 6 months. My customers seem to be very happy with the results so far and with the cost of the licence.

Cons

There has been a bit of an issue with linking current clients' SQL Server Data where the Foreign Key should link all the tables together. This is a bit hit and miss with the naming convention as you cannot use the same field name as the primary key in either of the tables. I am still trying to work away round this issue.

Reasons for Choosing Aware IM

HyperOffice, based in the USA, was described as far better than it actually was when I started using the demo. Caspio was so expensive, that I would never have been able to sell it to my clients as a replacement for MS Access.

Reasons for Switching to Aware IM

Microsoft will not be supporting MS Access moving forward so I felt it was time to start looking for a web based, replacement for my clients.

May 2021

Maurice from FreeFlight

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2021

Amazing software for non-programmers

Brilliant. I achieved in 3 months what would have taken maybe two years of development with other systems

Pros

Using AwareIM. I am able to focus on "Business Rules" rather than how to code those business rules. Prior programming knowledge is not essential (although helpful). What matters more is that you can think logically about the problem/business case, and I guess more importantly, what daft things users might do to mess things up, and then map out the business rules necessary to achieve a successful outcome. The software suite enables me to design different login screens/experiences for people with different access levels, construct menus, auto generate forms for data input, create and design query grids, as well as schedule processes that run overnight when the rest of the world sleeps. Built in Time Zones and Locales means I can quickly customise my app for any language/country and there is even an option to create mobile apps using PhoneGap . AwareIM's built in communication channels also makes it super easy to manage both incoming and outgoing mail that route directly to the users. CRM systems that keep track of all customer correspondence are a breeze to implement. and finally, there is even a built in system for both exposing and consuming RESTful services. With a Developer license, I am able to either run my software as a service, hosted on my servers or compile runtime versions for clients who wish to go it alone (additional runtime licenses need to be purchased from AwareIM

Cons

The Report writer is not great - but with so much else going on - I neither need or use it. But I guess some people are still hell bent on consuming a tropical rain forest or two.

Reasons for Choosing Aware IM

Minimal learning curve, 30 day evaluation, Choice of back end databases - and I opted for MySQL, runs on cloud based servers

June 2018

Tom from Lutheran West High School

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

AwareIM has allowed me to produce powerful systems in a fraction of the time.

AwareIM allows me to build systems beyond what I could have ever imagined .. especially when compared to the small amount of time I have to invest to achieve those results.

Pros

1- Excellent support - A developer that actually listens & responds DIRECTLY to customers and their needs s very rare today. The AwareIM support team does just that. Over my 10 year ownership of this powerful tool, I've experienced a dramatic evolution of the product because they listened to the needs of their user base & added new features accordingly year after year. 2- Leverage - AwareIM allows me to build powerful systems without the need to stay current in Java, HTML, SQL queries, Kendo framework, etc .... it handles all that coding auto-magically. As a result, I can spend my time focusing on building systems that focus on the needs of the end user rather than spending my time keeping up on all of the latest technical aspects of the underlying technology. 3- Engaged developers worldwide - Over the years, I have had direct communication with AwareIM developers from all over the world ... Australia, Canada Australia, South Africa, India, UK, Germany, and various places in the United States to name a few. Once a developer dives in to understand the AwareIM rules-based paradigm, I find they are very willing to help each other solve problems both through the AwareIM online forums, phone calls, private messages, or online video chats. Receiving help from others at crucial times over the past 10 years has been invaluable to me. Summary: As you can tell, I am a huge AwareIM fan. I could keep going if there was not a character limit in the "Pros" section.

Cons

This sounds trite, but my biggest con is that I can't allocate more of my time to using AwareIM to build more systems.

May 2021

Jaymer from JaymerCo

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

I'm spoiled

Its a RAD tool, and reduces my maintenance times drastically over the lifetime of a project. Thats doesn't always equate to lots of billable hours when modifications are needed, but I have peace of mind and lower stress for it.

Pros

I hate writing traditional, procedural code. Its what kept me from working my way through the K&R "C" book in 1985. I was already into 3GL tools and just didn't like writing low-level code. AwareIM isn't "no code"... but thats if I need to add in some Javascript (or Java) somewhere. And there's still "Logic" related steps/rules/"code" to write. But a lot of the work is done in AwareIM... not like a code generator makes tons of code behind the scenes for you, but an environment thats built for business to help assist you in making applications.

Cons

AwareIM developers have things we wish were improved, sure. Nothings perfect. But most of us are in close-contact with a development & support team that listen and respond to requests and bug fixes regularly.

Reasons for Choosing Aware IM

I continue to evaluate other tools and programming environments. COT, Inde, Xamarin, Radsystems, Windev, Alpha, Servoy and many others. But I have not found anything worth leaving AwareIM for.

Reasons for Switching to Aware IM

Many other Magic developers had made the switch and encouraged me to look into AwareIM.

September 2020

Britt from Manufacturers ERP Services Inc

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

AwareIM is simply OUTSTANDING = best software configuration - low code framework around

In the manufacturing business space - many manufacturers have specific requirements that are simply too narrow to be included in ERP packaged software. ith AwareIM we are able to address manufacturers additional requirements that cannot be met with an ERP package using REST services that minimize or eliminate the need for customers to modify their ERP code. We can even extend ERP systems that have no REST interface with our own REST published services.

Pros

Web App development of line-of-business is easy with this fully featured application configurator - low code tool. Our line-of-business apps require robust UI and non-procedural rules engine performance and AwareIM has all of it. I have 35 plus years of 4GL framework experience with multiple framework products and I have never seen a more complete product. We develop apps that extend ERP systems with REST services (very complete) in AwareIM.

Cons

The automatic documentation part of the tool should be template-ized as we must provide documentation of complex apps. The fast application development using this agile development tool would greatly benefit from additional capability in this area.

May 2021

Henrik from Fokalbiz

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2021

Best RAD tool in the world

I have developed many different applications in AwareIM in different areas and the tool itself is awesome in most ways and I am still a ravid Aware IM fan almost 10 years after starting on my AwareIM journey and that should tell you a lot.

Pros

I like the fact that AwareIM provides a complete RAD solution enabling you to develop more or less anything you want (without needing to have all of the technical knowhow). You can use the default RAD GUI and develop complex applications but you can also "tinker" and do more complex stuff, integrations, JS stuff etc. etc. if you want to as AwareIM is "open" for things like that. I also like Awaresoft consistently releasing new versions year after year with new great stuff and the goodness just keeps on coming.

Cons

The learning curve is quite steep and it is sometimes difficult to get feedback through to Awaresoft about things I as a user want, bugs I see etc. but I can´t blame that on Awaresoft as I am one of their users and they surely get a lot of different feedback ideas, suggestions etc. etc. on a daily basis.

May 2021

James from Stephenson Computer Consulting, Inc.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

Why I use Aware IM

My experience has been good. It has taken a while to get comfortable with Aware IM compared to tools I am more familiar with. But that is also the very nature of software development.

Pros

Aware IM allows me to not have to deal with most of the minute details of building database driven websites, unless I really want to. I can concentrate on the things that are most important and not have to worry much about what goes on 'behind the curtain'.

Cons

There is a significant learning curve. Like many frameworks, it is opinionated and expects things done in certain ways.

Reasons for Choosing Aware IM

Community support and knowing a number of other developers who had made the switch.

Reasons for Switching to Aware IM

We needed to be able to rapidly build new applications for our clients and to convert existing client/server applications to web based.

June 2018

Manoj from SoftServ Solutions Pvt. Ltd.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

AwareIM is an advanced next gen RAD tool. You think about an app in morning & its up by evening.

We can develop enterprise apps rapidly with workflows, UI and database with no dependency on technical experts.

Pros

AwareIM is a very powerful rapid application development tool. Technically, its based on Java platform which gives it more reliability, security and robustness. You can use most of the databases with it i.e. MySQL/MSSQL/Oracle and Derby. So far, we have developed 19 Enterprise Apps on AwareIM with an average user count of 1600 which are live in Production. Application development time gets reduced by 70% in comparison to conventional software development. It provides almost all the features which an application requires i.e. Email/Gantt Chart/ Reports/ Online doc,excel edit using Zoho and Office 365/ CSV downloads for data and much more. Along with web desktop app, you can instantly have mobile friendly app as well which works on browser or you can create an installer using Phonegap. It has so much in one package and price is very reasonable. You need not be a technical expert to develop an app using AwareIM. Eventually, its a "No Code" platform which enables almost everyone to develop a software application. However, if you are a tech geek, you can add more flavors with your skills and can achieve almost everything which is not a native offering from AwareIM. Through custom HTML/CSS and Java code, you can enhance its capabilities. My 100 out of 100 to this product. Support is quick and AwareIM's forum helps a lot in case of questions/issues.

Cons

It has a closed community as of now with very less experts and developers which makes it sometime difficult to overcome with a technical issue. Only one developer can work on one app (bsv) at one time so increasing manpower to meet timelines in case of critical deliveries does not work well here. Rest all is good. Very happy and satisfied to use the product.

June 2016

David from Pure Performance

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2016

Ingenious and Innovative RAD concept.

I doubt there is a RAD tool available today which is as 'rapid' in developing apps as is AwareIM AND which can develop as sophisticated apps as can AwareIM. A good way to convey the concept of application development in the context of AwareIM is the following analogy: 1. the UI components/controls in an application are like musical instruments 2. the code which is already built/inherent in components which directly contols/manipulates their behavior or appearance when a property setting is changed or method is invoked by script you write, is like members of an orchestra who play the instruments eg. if during runtime application script changes the visible property of a component to false, the component disappears. you didn't write the script to make it disappear. the component already has script inbuilt to make it disappear when the script of your application changed the visible property. this inbuilt script is like band members of an orchestra who are directly playing the instruments 3. the script (Javascript, C++, etc.) you would ordinarily write to develop an application (ie. string the components together such they interface/interact with each other and behave in a certain way as to create a working application) is like the conductor of the orchestra who conducts the members of the orchestra to play their instruments in such a way that the outcome is a harmonious symphony Aware is like the conductor, and it makes you the 'conductor of the conductor'. Conductor of the Conductor: YOU simply enable (or not) settings which effectively instruct (conduct) the conductor how to conduct the members of the orchestra so as to play your symphony (application). No Coding required. Conductor: Aware understands/speaks the language (Java/JS) of members of the orchestra and thus how to conduct them. It translates your instructions (communicated to it via settings you enabled (or not)) into the language members of the orchestra understand and conducts them accordingly. In summary: You Configure not Code your application. The data model structure/way in which Aware handles data relationships (parent-child) is excellent. There's no frigging around creating database tables, defining their fields, field types, etc., and then having to go back and add fields to forms and views, or change their names/bindings, etc. Basically, you don't have to do anything hands-on 'database table' related.

Pros

You work with objects, not tables. When U create an object and define its attributes, Aware creates a database table accordingly with each attribute of the object being a field in the table. You then create different forms/layouts for each object, including or excluding attributes as required subject to the scenario in which the form will be used. Add, modify or delete an attribute of an object and Aware automatically makes the necessary changes to the structure of its database table. To create a Parent-Child (Master-Detail) relationship you do not have to get embroiled in join statements or defining key fields, or making sure the child database table has a field for, and child records contain a value in that field which is, the identifier of the parent, etc., so the two tables can later be joined togther by you when you write sql statements all throughout your applications. INSTEAD, for the object which is to be the parent you simply add an attribute and select the type of that attribute as being the object that you want to be its child. Then you tick a checkbox to indicate whether multiple instances of that attribute are allowed (think order line items) and another setting to indicate whether the parent object exclusively owns the object represented by the attribute, and you're done. Thereafter, behind the scenes Aware maintains the relationship you defined between the objects via creating the attribute and selecting and ticking settings.

Cons

Could do with a drag and drop WYSIWYG form designer which would speed up development further. The runtime UI behavior of a couple of components/controls is slightly 'irregular', though not an impediment.

June 2018

User Profile Picture

Jon from Plantain.io

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Rapid Application Development (RAD) for the Web

It gives me a consistent platform that does many things for me under the hood so I can focus on design.

Pros

I single-handedly built an end-to-end change management app with many tables, which wouldn't have been otherwise possible given my time, skill-set and budget. You can check it out at plantain.io. The updated IDE since version 8.0 is much more intuitive. And the new features with 8.1 are great. Aware really listens and responds to its customer base. The forum is quite active with and you can get most of your questions addressed there. The multi-device and multi-language support is fantastic. The platform is really flexible and can accomodate practically any customization you can imagine. Of course, the more you customize with Java, Javascript, stored procedures, HTML and/or CSS, the less RAD it is. So I try to stick with the built-in functionality as much as I can (and it goes a long way). I like the logic behind it.

Cons

8.0 was buggy as hell. I was just learning 7.1 when I jumped to 8.0 and half the time I couldn't tell if the issues I encountered were due to my ignorance of the platform or a bug. Word of advice - don't become an early-adopter unless you are more seasoned. At least Aware squashed most of the bugs quickly and advised on workarounds for known issues. Also, the learning curve with AwareIM is rather steep (less so with the new IDE). The user guide is dry as melba toast and I sometimes found it lacking. I wish AwareIM took greater advantage of the Kendo UI library, but that's on the todo list.

June 2018

Francisco from Wahogna SAS

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

I am a developer in a software and systems consulting company. To my clients I recommend AwareIM.

satisfied customers with my developments and advice

Pros

fast learning curve, rapid development of applications with the ease of being able to create hybrid applications, is excellent for any type of company very useful in the modemdo of planning a robust and versatile development at the time of development. Database management with object-oriented methodology, multiple developments in web environment, allowing the use of data base engines more commonly used in the software market. the faclity to create documented projects.

Cons

The policy of selling by users is very expensive for medium-sized companies, the location is to say the management of several languages should be more automatic, or allow a better editor for the translation. for developers we have a hard time convincing our clients (I speak of Latin America) the reason why they should buy the AwareIM server plus the application that is developed and additionally a value for the number of users that the application will have. It must be understood that not all users are developers.

June 2018

Japsin from SoftServ Solutions Pvt. Ltd.

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

AwareIM is a future-ready software development architecture aimed at `no code or low code concept.

Pros

AwareIM is a future-ready software development architecture aimed at `no code or low code concept. This is a fantastic software development tool which helps one reduce time to market (TTM). With its simplified coding language, one can easily get on with development activities. AwareIM's capability can further be increased by integrating it with custom java coding. Such coding is needed to achieve certain business requirements which is not readily available with AwareIM's configuration tool. AwareIM is directly linked with Agile methodology of software development. There can be numerous iterations and releases with AwareIM. It makes coding simpler. It is beyond magic.

Cons

1. UI is not attractive enough based on today's UI options we see in the market. 2. The developer community is not as big as other RAD tools in the market, although their service is good.

June 2018

Pete from Creative Interface

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

I was an early adopter with this software more than 10 years ago and continue to use it everyday.

I have been able to assist dozens of companies all around the world in the last 15 years using AwareIM to develop sophisticated, yet cost effective solutions to overcome day-to-day challenges of managing core business processes.

Pros

Flexibility, speed of development, continuous product development, slick end user interface features. As a developer of large scale, advanced web applications for commercial use, I really like that I am able to extend and enhance the out-of-the box functionality via sql stored procedures and native javascript. AwareIM is an awesome product and is one of the best business decisions that I have made in my career.

Cons

Because of the power of the business rule implementation, the software can become slow in execution if you are not very careful in how you write processes and rules as the execution engine can get bogged down in running and re-running rules excessively as data changes.

September 2016

Gheorghe from Weblike PRO

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2016

Awesome Business Applications

Hi, I have started with this tool in 2012 when I saw a review about this tool "The best invention since sliced bread" and since than I enjoy it everyday (the bread also :) ) . I come from the bigger family of PHP, but I can tell you with AwareIM I can focus on customer's business flow and don't have to waste time on writing hundreds of lines of code, etc. Since version 7 has released in March 2016, I feel that only sky is the limit, I can use my knowledge of html, css to build awesome dashboards, in short the apps are looking great. Also I have never met such a quick support responsiveness, they are active in releasing minor and major releases and really listen to developers community.

Pros

Very easy to learn. Speed of development

January 2019

User Profile Picture

Himanshu from BASICX

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Limitless

I am developing applications on AIM from more than a decade. A long time before when I was working on an ERP project build on Java/Oracle/JS. It was a difficult time and we are struggling with the application development process where you had limited resources. In between, I discovered AwareIM and download the trial version to evaluate. I was so fascinated with the product that builds 60% of the same ERP in very less time. Power to extend the capabilities using plugins gives us complete leverage to build application successfully. It has power to disrupt the industry.

Pros

AwareIM gives the opportunity to individual irrespective of a professional developer or regular administrator to create the application without boundaries.

Cons

The Configuration tool is little flaky sometimes and builds updates could be easier.

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Amazing Speed and Productivity

Pros

Aware is fantastic at managing the database so I don't have to. Maintains consistency of attributes and business objects meaning that all those "test_rename" attributes that you made can be renamed in an instant and every reference is updated! Auto generates forms for every business object, makes it fast to get a prototype out and that prototype can be an iterative development artefact - no wastage. Now with REST API calls. Active and helpful community that can usually answer any of your questions.

Cons

Integration with Tomcat is a little opaque and I'd like the CSS implementation to be more visible in the development platform.

June 2018

Andrea from Whitfield Executive Development

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Dependable, positive, long-term user, and great for non-coders

Time saver, ease of use, rapid development.

Pros

The time you save programming in Aware IM is the greatest feature. The flexibility to customize your database, save money, and run on multiple platforms (Mac, Windows, Linux) sets it apart. With very little programming knowledge, I have been able to create multiple applications that are complex. My clients can serve their users both in the office and on the road. I am able to manage their data in the cloud. The developer forum is very helpful. The company is responsive to the needs of the developers and provides regular updates. I've been a developer for 10 years and have had a very positive experience.

Cons

Because it does use a fair number of third-party integrations (which can also be a pro), troubleshooting when there is an issue can be a challenge. To customize the user interface beyond what you are given out of the box does require programming knowledge such as CSS and Javascript.

June 2018

Steve from idp-apps

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Easy to learn, easy to use, top quality apps.

This tool makes it easy to RAPIDLY develop applications without compromising quality. It is great for web applications and the support is really good. Another HUGE benefit is the way it is priced. Paying a once off fee and getting a year of updates is very convenient. If you don't want to update AwareIM then you don't need to pay any yearly fees. With the once off fee you get a year of updates.

Pros

Speed of development, a lot of ability for customization, great community and awesome results. This software does it all.

Cons

Mobile support is some what limited. There is a process to get to 'having' a mobile app that is handled by other platforms that must be manually followed using Aware IM.

January 2019

User Profile Picture

Roy L. from L3W, LLC.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

With Aware IM, I do the work of a whole team

When I have demonstrated the applications I developed with AwareIM, on at least 3 occasions, I have been asked how large a team I managed to build the solution. When I explained that I built them myself and how quickly with AwareIM, they were dumbfounded. I can delegate or complete any part of a system myself.

Pros

Defining and maintaining a domain model is a snap. Generating the UI, even with multiple levels of nested collections is simple but very powerful. Deployment of updates can be previewed in test mode and confidently applied to production. Extensions in Java are powerful and straightforward. The system easily supports over one hundred objects/entities with excellent performance.

Cons

Earlier versions did not support having multiple developers working on the same project. That weakness has been corrected in more recent versions.

May 2021

Jake from CTV Soft Pty Ltd

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

You are your limit

I've been using Aware Im for many years and the product is just simply amazing. For my personal experiance, the only limit with Aware IM is your own imagination.

Pros

The power of design and development from novice to expert.

Cons

The only Con that I can come up with is you. The developer and designer imagination.

Reasons for Switching to Aware IM

Try Aware Im and you will understand. There are too many reasons to list.

June 2018

User Profile Picture

Bruce from the benton group

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

I have been a software developer for over 40 years (Yes, over 40!). This tool is most productive!

speed to deliver custom data-centric applications

Pros

For Rapid Application Development, there is no better product. It has so many unique features, too many to mention, but some are: Runtime engine, code free development, database centric design

Cons

there is a learning curve. It is NON-procedural, rules based system, so you have to embrace the mindset that the engine knows when to trigger the rules.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Extremely efficient development tool.

We are a custom lead management and CRM developer and Aware IM has helped us broaden our reach by being cost effective, mobile ready and easy to add plugins for API integration with other applications.

Pros

Nice look, easy navigation and easy integration with other applications.

Cons

The import tool is clunky and needs to be improved so end user (non - developers) can import data themselves.

June 2018

Dan from Benchmark Software

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Excellent product. You just can't believe how complete it is.

Very fast development.

Pros

I like that everything you need is included: database maintenance, forms, queries are provided as Standard, Calendar/Scheduler and Custom. Email templates, Report writer and the best thing - the Rules engine.

Cons

Only complaint is to get new bootstrap versions incorporated quicker and more features of the kendo ui.

July 2015

Hein from Sinov8.net

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

July 2015

Amazing Flexibility

I Can honestly vouch for this product! If you have some basic understanding of Business Rules (I.e. even excel IF / ELSE statements) and you know what you are looking to achieve, and you are willing to put in some hours (Very FUN Hours) to learn a new tool... Then Purchasing AwareIM Will be the best decision you have ever made. I Am not trained programmer... I Am completely Self tough and have managed to build a very professional looking and VERY effective maintenance management solution within about 12 months since I started toying with AwareIM, which I now sell on a licence base hosted in the AWS cloud and I am already making a small income from it every month. The development process is broken down into Clear sections which makes it easier to get a grip on...so you can learn it bit by bit and start doing more and more complicated things. HOWEVER... Because it's easier than conventional programming languages does not mean that it's not as flexible. This tool is Extremely flexible and it almost feel like the sky is the limit when developing business grade Data management applications. And because it is so open to extensions you can always have a custom plugin or function developed if you feel the need for it. The support is Pricey but very good and one of the best parts for me is the the AwareIM community of developers. I've learned SOOOO much on the forums and there is always someone willing to lend a helping hand or who enjoys helping others to solve problems. I will definitely give this product a large Thumbs up! :-)

June 2018

User Profile Picture

Erick from PROESA (Procesos Eficientes, S.A.)

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Aware IM is extremely easy to use without compromising the ability to develop great applications.

Fast development, reliability, scalability and fast return on investment. You can develop any type of application and continuously improve it with investing too much time.

Pros

The software is really easy to use and is based on several standards. What I like the most, is the continuous improvements and updates of the software. Aware IM always brings new features that you can easily implement on current applications.

Cons

Aware IM doesn't have out-of-the-box integrations with other solutions. Maybe it is because it is a developer tool, but it would greatly be appreciated to provide those integrations. I have to say that the mechanism for doing the integrations are included in the software.

May 2021

Adriana from Centro Financiero Empresarial

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

Buen Producto

Excelente

Pros

Su forma fácil y amigable de desarrollar

Cons

que los formularios no lucen como si fueran formularios web

Reasons for Choosing Aware IM

por la experiencia que tenia y lo facil de desarrollar soluciones

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Best Zero code platform used so far

Pros

Aware IM can be installed on your own premise, that makes it a rare feature in the world of zero code platform, in the same price range. It is optimize for business oriented application, with simple and clean user interfaces for the final application. You don´t need to take care of the design of every single element. Has basically all the functions requested for the creation of business applications database-oriented. Finally, the support is very responsive.

Cons

The license mechanism is not immediatly clear. If you want to deploy the running application on a server, while keeping the editing on a local desktop, you need basically two differen licenses.

July 2015

Mark from Customaware Systems Pty Ltd

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

July 2015

No nonsense application development for the web

All software development tools take some time, persistence and discipline to master and Aware IM is not exception. But the effort is certainly worth it. Aware IM breaks the software development paradigm down to focus on the business objects and business rules and as such significantly reduces the development and maintenance time required to build, deploy and support excellent robust business applications for the web. What used to take weeks now takes days and what used to take days now can be delivered in hours. An extraordinary product and the vendor support is the best I have ever experienced in 35 years of software development.

June 2018

Julio from SNP Security

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Security and Investigations

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Ease to use, and good value tool.

Pros

The tool has quite a lot of features, it also one of the cheapest on the market. UI produced is elegant and customizable.

Cons

The new IDE needs work, some of the features are hidden in the menus. It also needs work on security aspects.

July 2015

Codrin from Idronic

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

July 2015

Most intuitive tool for rapid development

We found AwareIM to be incredibly suited for developing full and complex browser and mobile applications. We cannot recommend it highly enough.