User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.71

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"Web App development of line-of-business is easy with this fully featured application configurator - low code tool."
  • icon"We develop apps that extend ERP systems with REST services (very complete) in AwareIM."
  • icon"Nice look, easy navigation and easy integration with other applications."
  • icon"It based on Jasper Reports but has limited features compared to the Jasper Reports itself. Processing a lot of records can be slow."
  • icon"It has a closed community as of now with very less experts and developers which makes it sometime difficult to overcome with a technical issue."
  • icon"This is a bit hit and miss with the naming convention as you cannot use the same field name as the primary key in either of the tables. I am still trying to work away round this issue."

All Aware IM Reviews

1-25 of 34 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Mark

Verified reviewer

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2018

We can develop web, mobile, Saas applications in a fraction of time of conventional tools.

Usually, development takes a long time. With AwareIM we are knocking out products so quickly our marketing team can't keep up. Also if someone comes to us with an idea, they are shocked to see a working prototype in a couple of days.

Pros

AwareIM is fully integrated with database, logic, security, web, mobile, and desktop. Coming for a 4GL C/S tool, it took 5 years of looking at other products to find a similar tool for web development until I found AwareIM. Every other product when it came to logic, it required coding in javascript, etc. AwareIM uses English like statements, has built in security, handles or the database automatically including any DB changes. The speed of development is unmatched. We can prototype a working a full app, in a couple of days. The ability to use the same logic but have different screens for different types of users makes development for mobile, tablets a breeze. There is no tool that can compare to this if you want speed of development, ease of mainteance, built in security; basically everything in one package. It's very rare that when working in a system that you marvel at the genius of it. You will with AwareIm.

Cons

Everything that we requested, mainly mobile, and adding PhoneGap has been added. The only thing we would prefer is if AwareIM had an online activation server. If we want to move our C/S application using PSQL we can click deactivate and it will then allow us to activate on another system. With AIM it requires a written request and although it has never been an issue, there may be times in the evening, weekends we may want to move to a different server. In defense of that, AwareIM will work for 30 days. We just prefer the ability to activate and deactivate on our own.

Nabil

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2019

AwareIM - Best application development software platform

Extremely satisfied with adopting AwareIM as my organisation's main application development platform. The end users have been very impressed with the applications produced using AwareIM.

Pros

AwareIM is a very well structured application development platform and takes care of creating the entire user interface of an application using clever visual perspective controls. The software allows a developer to build an entire application database structure behind the scenes without needing specialist database administration skills and SQL knowledge. Using AwareIM's version control and testing tools makes prototyping ideas for a proof of concept a very simple task before progressing to full application development. The sample applications, documentation and video tutorials that are available, provide excellent reference for building any application. This is all well complemented by excellent support from the AwareIM team and an active developer community.

Cons

It is an extremely addictive software application, so tend to spend hours using AwareIM without getting bored :)

Reasons for choosing Aware IM

The speed of developing software applications. The company's claim that with AwareIM you can build software 10 times faster than the fastest product is grossly understated. It is great value for money.

Reasons for switching to Aware IM

The speed of application development using AwareIM. Microsoft Access had limitations and didn't cater for scalability in a large multiuser customer base.

David

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

May 2021

AWAREIM review from a newbie

Poor customer service/internal company support. Great community of long time developers who offer help getting through some tough spots. Without that help form the community, AwareIM would have been a complete bust. AwareIM is just not a robust enough product for creating a SaaS web product. I am sure its great for small "one-off" projects, or projects developed by long time AwareIM experts. If you are building a company around a product, use an established python framework product like Django.

Pros

Get up to speed very quickly for basic features, ease of deployment

Cons

UI is very clunky. Difficult to deliver a polished, professional looking UI unless you are an HTML/Javascript expert, or someone that has used the product for years. Internal support was poor, so getting advanced features to work was next to impossible.

Reasons for choosing Aware IM

I chose AwareIM prematurely, but quite honestly I did not have the web skills to use python frameworks.

Response from Awaresoft

Hi David, thank you for your review. Just one question - why did you say that our customer support was poor? It is not free as support is not included in your license, but once you pay for it, it is the best money can buy. Lots of our customers can attest to it. So we are a bit puzzled and disappointed by such an assessment.

Replied May 2021

Roger

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2021

AwareIM- Magic for the web!

Overall, I am very happy with AwareIM. It allows me to develop large scale applications that would normally take a team of developers to create. I am able to create POC quickly and customize the application as much as it needs.

Pros

AwareIM allows you to develop applications in less time. Its business rule based engine allows for managing business logic in a simple manner from each table or Business Object as they are called in AwareIM. Creating queries and forms is fast. Built in library of Kendo UI widgets is very nice and expanding with each new release. Customization using CSS, HTML, java script is endless.

Cons

Report writer needs to be improved. It based on Jasper Reports but has limited features compared to the Jasper Reports itself. Processing a lot of records can be slow.

Reasons for choosing Aware IM

Licensing was a lower cost, allows for creating browser based applications. Not a steep learning curve.

Reasons for switching to Aware IM

Cost and features for creating browser based applications

Maria

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2021

Coming from MS Access Development to Aware IM has been so easy

The team at Aware IM, especially [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], have been amazing with the training and support they have offered. They have been a pleasure to deal with.

Pros

I am a MS Access Developer of 28 years and have written many commercial level programs using that platform. I looked for quite a while to find a replacement for my clients who were using MS Access and I found Aware IM. I found the software to be very easy to use, very intuitive, and the How to Use, User Manual & all the Training Videos made the process so easy. The team at Aware IM were very responsive and gave me several one-on-one training sessions when I requested them. So far I have built 6 systems using the program, two of which will be rolled out to clients in the next 6 months. My customers seem to be very happy with the results so far and with the cost of the licence.

Cons

There has been a bit of an issue with linking current clients' SQL Server Data where the Foreign Key should link all the tables together. This is a bit hit and miss with the naming convention as you cannot use the same field name as the primary key in either of the tables. I am still trying to work away round this issue.

Reasons for choosing Aware IM

HyperOffice, based in the USA, was described as far better than it actually was when I started using the demo. Caspio was so expensive, that I would never have been able to sell it to my clients as a replacement for MS Access.

Reasons for switching to Aware IM

Microsoft will not be supporting MS Access moving forward so I felt it was time to start looking for a web based, replacement for my clients.

Maurice

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2021

Amazing software for non-programmers

Brilliant. I achieved in 3 months what would have taken maybe two years of development with other systems

Pros

Using AwareIM. I am able to focus on "Business Rules" rather than how to code those business rules. Prior programming knowledge is not essential (although helpful). What matters more is that you can think logically about the problem/business case, and I guess more importantly, what daft things users might do to mess things up, and then map out the business rules necessary to achieve a successful outcome. The software suite enables me to design different login screens/experiences for people with different access levels, construct menus, auto generate forms for data input, create and design query grids, as well as schedule processes that run overnight when the rest of the world sleeps. Built in Time Zones and Locales means I can quickly customise my app for any language/country and there is even an option to create mobile apps using PhoneGap . AwareIM's built in communication channels also makes it super easy to manage both incoming and outgoing mail that route directly to the users. CRM systems that keep track of all customer correspondence are a breeze to implement. and finally, there is even a built in system for both exposing and consuming RESTful services. With a Developer license, I am able to either run my software as a service, hosted on my servers or compile runtime versions for clients who wish to go it alone (additional runtime licenses need to be purchased from AwareIM

Cons

The Report writer is not great - but with so much else going on - I neither need or use it. But I guess some people are still hell bent on consuming a tropical rain forest or two.

Reasons for choosing Aware IM

Minimal learning curve, 30 day evaluation, Choice of back end databases - and I opted for MySQL, runs on cloud based servers

Tom

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2018

AwareIM has allowed me to produce powerful systems in a fraction of the time.

AwareIM allows me to build systems beyond what I could have ever imagined .. especially when compared to the small amount of time I have to invest to achieve those results.

Pros

1- Excellent support - A developer that actually listens & responds DIRECTLY to customers and their needs s very rare today. The AwareIM support team does just that. Over my 10 year ownership of this powerful tool, I've experienced a dramatic evolution of the product because they listened to the needs of their user base & added new features accordingly year after year. 2- Leverage - AwareIM allows me to build powerful systems without the need to stay current in Java, HTML, SQL queries, Kendo framework, etc .... it handles all that coding auto-magically. As a result, I can spend my time focusing on building systems that focus on the needs of the end user rather than spending my time keeping up on all of the latest technical aspects of the underlying technology. 3- Engaged developers worldwide - Over the years, I have had direct communication with AwareIM developers from all over the world ... Australia, Canada Australia, South Africa, India, UK, Germany, and various places in the United States to name a few. Once a developer dives in to understand the AwareIM rules-based paradigm, I find they are very willing to help each other solve problems both through the AwareIM online forums, phone calls, private messages, or online video chats. Receiving help from others at crucial times over the past 10 years has been invaluable to me. Summary: As you can tell, I am a huge AwareIM fan. I could keep going if there was not a character limit in the "Pros" section.

Cons

This sounds trite, but my biggest con is that I can't allocate more of my time to using AwareIM to build more systems.

Manoj

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2018

AwareIM is an advanced next gen RAD tool. You think about an app in morning & its up by evening.

We can develop enterprise apps rapidly with workflows, UI and database with no dependency on technical experts.

Pros

AwareIM is a very powerful rapid application development tool. Technically, its based on Java platform which gives it more reliability, security and robustness. You can use most of the databases with it i.e. MySQL/MSSQL/Oracle and Derby. So far, we have developed 19 Enterprise Apps on AwareIM with an average user count of 1600 which are live in Production. Application development time gets reduced by 70% in comparison to conventional software development. It provides almost all the features which an application requires i.e. Email/Gantt Chart/ Reports/ Online doc,excel edit using Zoho and Office 365/ CSV downloads for data and much more. Along with web desktop app, you can instantly have mobile friendly app as well which works on browser or you can create an installer using Phonegap. It has so much in one package and price is very reasonable. You need not be a technical expert to develop an app using AwareIM. Eventually, its a "No Code" platform which enables almost everyone to develop a software application. However, if you are a tech geek, you can add more flavors with your skills and can achieve almost everything which is not a native offering from AwareIM. Through custom HTML/CSS and Java code, you can enhance its capabilities. My 100 out of 100 to this product. Support is quick and AwareIM's forum helps a lot in case of questions/issues.

Cons

It has a closed community as of now with very less experts and developers which makes it sometime difficult to overcome with a technical issue. Only one developer can work on one app (bsv) at one time so increasing manpower to meet timelines in case of critical deliveries does not work well here. Rest all is good. Very happy and satisfied to use the product.

David

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2016

Ingenious and Innovative RAD concept.

I doubt there is a RAD tool available today which is as 'rapid' in developing apps as is AwareIM AND which can develop as sophisticated apps as can AwareIM. A good way to convey the concept of application development in the context of AwareIM is the following analogy: 1. the UI components/controls in an application are like musical instruments 2. the code which is already built/inherent in components which directly contols/manipulates their behavior or appearance when a property setting is changed or method is invoked by script you write, is like members of an orchestra who play the instruments eg. if during runtime application script changes the visible property of a component to false, the component disappears. you didn't write the script to make it disappear. the component already has script inbuilt to make it disappear when the script of your application changed the visible property. this inbuilt script is like band members of an orchestra who are directly playing the instruments 3. the script (Javascript, C++, etc.) you would ordinarily write to develop an application (ie. string the components together such they interface/interact with each other and behave in a certain way as to create a working application) is like the conductor of the orchestra who conducts the members of the orchestra to play their instruments in such a way that the outcome is a harmonious symphony Aware is like the conductor, and it makes you the 'conductor of the conductor'. Conductor of the Conductor: YOU simply enable (or not) settings which effectively instruct (conduct) the conductor how to conduct the members of the orchestra so as to play your symphony (application). No Coding required. Conductor: Aware understands/speaks the language (Java/JS) of members of the orchestra and thus how to conduct them. It translates your instructions (communicated to it via settings you enabled (or not)) into the language members of the orchestra understand and conducts them accordingly. In summary: You Configure not Code your application. The data model structure/way in which Aware handles data relationships (parent-child) is excellent. There's no frigging around creating database tables, defining their fields, field types, etc., and then having to go back and add fields to forms and views, or change their names/bindings, etc. Basically, you don't have to do anything hands-on 'database table' related.

Pros

You work with objects, not tables. When U create an object and define its attributes, Aware creates a database table accordingly with each attribute of the object being a field in the table. You then create different forms/layouts for each object, including or excluding attributes as required subject to the scenario in which the form will be used. Add, modify or delete an attribute of an object and Aware automatically makes the necessary changes to the structure of its database table. To create a Parent-Child (Master-Detail) relationship you do not have to get embroiled in join statements or defining key fields, or making sure the child database table has a field for, and child records contain a value in that field which is, the identifier of the parent, etc., so the two tables can later be joined togther by you when you write sql statements all throughout your applications. INSTEAD, for the object which is to be the parent you simply add an attribute and select the type of that attribute as being the object that you want to be its child. Then you tick a checkbox to indicate whether multiple instances of that attribute are allowed (think order line items) and another setting to indicate whether the parent object exclusively owns the object represented by the attribute, and you're done. Thereafter, behind the scenes Aware maintains the relationship you defined between the objects via creating the attribute and selecting and ticking settings.

Cons

Could do with a drag and drop WYSIWYG form designer which would speed up development further. The runtime UI behavior of a couple of components/controls is slightly 'irregular', though not an impediment.

User Profile

Jon

Verified reviewer

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2018

Rapid Application Development (RAD) for the Web

It gives me a consistent platform that does many things for me under the hood so I can focus on design.

Pros

I single-handedly built an end-to-end change management app with many tables, which wouldn't have been otherwise possible given my time, skill-set and budget. You can check it out at plantain.io. The updated IDE since version 8.0 is much more intuitive. And the new features with 8.1 are great. Aware really listens and responds to its customer base. The forum is quite active with and you can get most of your questions addressed there. The multi-device and multi-language support is fantastic. The platform is really flexible and can accomodate practically any customization you can imagine. Of course, the more you customize with Java, Javascript, stored procedures, HTML and/or CSS, the less RAD it is. So I try to stick with the built-in functionality as much as I can (and it goes a long way). I like the logic behind it.

Cons

8.0 was buggy as hell. I was just learning 7.1 when I jumped to 8.0 and half the time I couldn't tell if the issues I encountered were due to my ignorance of the platform or a bug. Word of advice - don't become an early-adopter unless you are more seasoned. At least Aware squashed most of the bugs quickly and advised on workarounds for known issues. Also, the learning curve with AwareIM is rather steep (less so with the new IDE). The user guide is dry as melba toast and I sometimes found it lacking. I wish AwareIM took greater advantage of the Kendo UI library, but that's on the todo list.

Jaymer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2021

I'm spoiled

Its a RAD tool, and reduces my maintenance times drastically over the lifetime of a project. Thats doesn't always equate to lots of billable hours when modifications are needed, but I have peace of mind and lower stress for it.

Pros

I hate writing traditional, procedural code. Its what kept me from working my way through the K&R "C" book in 1985. I was already into 3GL tools and just didn't like writing low-level code. AwareIM isn't "no code"... but thats if I need to add in some Javascript (or Java) somewhere. And there's still "Logic" related steps/rules/"code" to write. But a lot of the work is done in AwareIM... not like a code generator makes tons of code behind the scenes for you, but an environment thats built for business to help assist you in making applications.

Cons

AwareIM developers have things we wish were improved, sure. Nothings perfect. But most of us are in close-contact with a development & support team that listen and respond to requests and bug fixes regularly.

Reasons for choosing Aware IM

I continue to evaluate other tools and programming environments. COT, Inde, Xamarin, Radsystems, Windev, Alpha, Servoy and many others. But I have not found anything worth leaving AwareIM for.

Reasons for switching to Aware IM

Many other Magic developers had made the switch and encouraged me to look into AwareIM.

Britt

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2020

AwareIM is simply OUTSTANDING = best software configuration - low code framework around

In the manufacturing business space - many manufacturers have specific requirements that are simply too narrow to be included in ERP packaged software. ith AwareIM we are able to address manufacturers additional requirements that cannot be met with an ERP package using REST services that minimize or eliminate the need for customers to modify their ERP code. We can even extend ERP systems that have no REST interface with our own REST published services.

Pros

Web App development of line-of-business is easy with this fully featured application configurator - low code tool. Our line-of-business apps require robust UI and non-procedural rules engine performance and AwareIM has all of it. I have 35 plus years of 4GL framework experience with multiple framework products and I have never seen a more complete product. We develop apps that extend ERP systems with REST services (very complete) in AwareIM.

Cons

The automatic documentation part of the tool should be template-ized as we must provide documentation of complex apps. The fast application development using this agile development tool would greatly benefit from additional capability in this area.

Henrik

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2021

Best RAD tool in the world

I have developed many different applications in AwareIM in different areas and the tool itself is awesome in most ways and I am still a ravid Aware IM fan almost 10 years after starting on my AwareIM journey and that should tell you a lot.

Pros

I like the fact that AwareIM provides a complete RAD solution enabling you to develop more or less anything you want (without needing to have all of the technical knowhow). You can use the default RAD GUI and develop complex applications but you can also "tinker" and do more complex stuff, integrations, JS stuff etc. etc. if you want to as AwareIM is "open" for things like that. I also like Awaresoft consistently releasing new versions year after year with new great stuff and the goodness just keeps on coming.

Cons

The learning curve is quite steep and it is sometimes difficult to get feedback through to Awaresoft about things I as a user want, bugs I see etc. but I canĀ“t blame that on Awaresoft as I am one of their users and they surely get a lot of different feedback ideas, suggestions etc. etc. on a daily basis.

Francisco

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2018

I am a developer in a software and systems consulting company. To my clients I recommend AwareIM.

satisfied customers with my developments and advice

Pros

fast learning curve, rapid development of applications with the ease of being able to create hybrid applications, is excellent for any type of company very useful in the modemdo of planning a robust and versatile development at the time of development. Database management with object-oriented methodology, multiple developments in web environment, allowing the use of data base engines more commonly used in the software market. the faclity to create documented projects.

Cons

The policy of selling by users is very expensive for medium-sized companies, the location is to say the management of several languages should be more automatic, or allow a better editor for the translation. for developers we have a hard time convincing our clients (I speak of Latin America) the reason why they should buy the AwareIM server plus the application that is developed and additionally a value for the number of users that the application will have. It must be understood that not all users are developers.

Japsin

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY