User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(4)

4

4 stars

(11)

11

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

3.5 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Browse Code::Blocks Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -35 of 15 results

July 2021

User Profile Picture

Mahek from Soigner Technology Pvt Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

IDE for C & C++ Programming

Pros

Its a lightweight software with inbuilt libraries and debugging tool for C & C++ programming. It is open source and could be used to create GUI based applications. Syntax error tracking is much more efficient and compiler designing could be done using code blocks

Cons

There is nothing to dislike about this software but it could not be used used for high processing and data computation usage.

February 2021

Saad Ahmed from ScriptsFirm

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2021

An open source integrated development environment for C, C++, and many other programming languages

It is a superb IDE which is free, easy, and reliable. This software is a masterpiece and every beginner should start its programming journey from this software. Moreover, it is also useful for professionals because it includes all the functionalities required for advance software development.

Pros

This was the first integrated development environment (IDE) which I started using during my engineering studies and since then I have developed several academic as well as professional software using this IDE. It is Old and truly a gold. It a complete suite that can write, compile, debug, and run the program in several classical programming languages.

Cons

It is difficult to point out something that I dislike about this software because it is too good. However, if they include several other programming languages like Python, Go, and Java by default in their IDE so that can make it more useful.

June 2021

Jonathan from North West University

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2021

Well thought out, needs improvements

Code::Blocks has done the job it is required to done quite nicely. However some functionality I feel is required for an IDE I feel is missing.

Pros

Code::Blocks is easy to install and easy to use. Code::Blocks simplifies the workspace, especially for beginners, this is a pro. But for more advanced programmers, there seem to be essential functionality missing.

Cons

Code::Blocks could be improved if it had extension created by users, for the needed functionality that is required for modern programmers. Code::Blocks looks out dated and a new interface would be refreshing. Code::Blocks does not have an up-to-date linter to highlight wrong code and suggest most relevant code.

May 2021

User Profile Picture

Henro from NWU Potchefstroom

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2021

Is Code::Blocks still good to use?

Code::Blocks is a platform where you can easily do what you want to do, without too much of a hassle. If you don't try to find out what else it has to offer though, you will never find out; it is all there, it just doesn't present itself to you.

Pros

Code::Blocks is straight to the point, and that is something that is not found frequently these days. A lot of programs bombard you with all of their features, and you are left to wonder where you even begin. With Code::Blocks, you find your way pretty easily, without fancy unwanted features. Code::Blocks is free to download and to use and is easily accessible on the internet. The community for Code::Blocks is big and it is never hard to get a question answered if you wonder about something

Cons

Although the user interface is easy to navigate, it is not the most beautiful sight. It looks outdated and dull, and it is not the most thrilling of experiences to code in Code::Blocks. If you don't browse through Code::Blocks, you won't really know what more it has to offer, because there is no navigation tutorial of some sort.

April 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2021

Good Open-source IDE

Codeblock is an easy-to-use, basic IDE suitable for those who are starting out with C/C++ since that's how I started using it as well. It doesn't have the greatest interface or latest features, but it does have a great community backing it up, and the documentations are pretty detailed to help you through your coding process.

Pros

I mainly started using Codeblocks for C/C++, and since it was the only software that supported the addition of Harvard's CS50 library, by being open-source. You can configure it any way you want - as programmer, everything is under your control. The debugger is quite helpful for resolving bugs in your code, and the software is rather easy to install and setup. It is also very light-weight, barely consuming system resources. It works both Windows and Linux OS, is updated almost weekly, and it is free to download and use for anyone wanting to start coding.

Cons

It doesn't have much support for all the new languages and frameworks. The software can be buggy at times, an its interface is too outdated for the present times. It requires manual setup of GNU compiler, and the window itself can be confusing for a beginner. There is also no in-line code suggestions, so it can be difficult and tiring to figure out bugs in your code.

June 2021

Janrich from North West University

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2021

Code::Blocks, free and lightweight but starting to feel old.

Overall, Code::Blocks provides great features and functionality considering it's free. If you're looking for a bare-bones IDE to code console applications in languages like C or C++, it's a great option.

Pros

Code::Blocks allows you to program in multiple languages while still being relatively lightweight compared to other IDEs. It will run without performance hiccups, even on very low specced PCs. Finally, it's free and open-source and can simply be downloaded and installed.

Cons

The user interface is starting to feel a bit old. The style has the same feel as software such as Notepad++ or Delphi 2010. Code suggestion/ completion is really bad, as well as error dialogs.

July 2021

Ravi from Koza

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Productivity boost for C++ developers

Pros

Native IDE means it uses less resources and faster to start, I like that it can search symbols from library path and make it easy to use auto complete

Cons

May be more support over using debugger when working with remote device like Android NDK.

April 2021

User Profile Picture

Jitu from Infodevelopers Pvt. Ltd.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

2.0

April 2021

the Way to learn C/C++ programming

Pros

a very simple open source platform for begineers. I have used C::B in my High School days and i find it really useful for doing C/C++ coding and its still my go to platform when i do C/C++ programming. Its a very light weight software and easy to install.

Cons

still the best editor for C++ but the interface is outdated and look old fashioned. Its support very few languages and also provide less freedom to user in choosing templates.

July 2021

User Profile Picture

Nadyan from BPlus Tecnologia

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

A great IDE for the beginner and the senior

I first started using Code::Blocks in my computer science grad school and it was very helpful. Since there I used it a long time and all my needs were satisfied.

Pros

Code::Blocks was one of the first IDE I used and the interface and the compiler configurations are very easy to understant and switch in case of some custom compilations.

Cons

The debugging tools are a little less effective than other IDEs in the market.

June 2021

Bendre from CTU

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Okeee

I dont have much experience but I love it

Pros

The easy to use user interface and the application is easy to understand overall

Cons

The price is honestly a bit high and it would be smart to lower the price a bit

April 2021

Mirza from Start - Programming

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2021

Code::Blocks Review

I personally used Code::Blocks for years and I am still using it. I found it really interesting and easy to use for all programming and coding rookies, which was one of my part time jobs ( teaching beginners programming). Overall, I only have the best experience with it and I highly recommend this open-source IDE.

Pros

For all people out there who are new to programming, Code::Blocks is an open source cross-platform they should use. It runs in many different computer languages with really fast GNU GCC compiler and the best thing is that it's free to download for all users and it can be used on systems like Windows, Linux and Mac-OS . The platform is really easy and flexible to use, even with not much computer knowledge you will be able to use it, which is really great for one open-source IDE. One of the best things with this IDE is that it does not require PC or Laptop with high specification, it can basically run on anything these days. One of my favorite things are error tracing and syntax highlighting. Error tracing and syntax highlighting are really important and they help trough your work by warning you where your mistake is or might be in a line of code. I can say for shore that I am pleased with Code::Blocks and all functions it has to offer.

Cons

Code::Blocks is getting improved every day, but still there are some thing that should be improved much faster. One of those things is a "Darkmode" which is really helpful when you are sitting in front of a computer for hours and you want to rest your eyes from all that screen brightness. There is also a fact that you have to install correct and certain version of compiler with GNU GCC or else the program won't work, but that is not that much of a problem if you know what are you doing. Everything else to me is just perfect, the platform should full-fill your needs and expectations especially if you are a rookie in a computer world, world of codes and programs..

June 2021

Mordecai from self employed

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2021

Code Blocks IDE Review

Code blocks IDE, suitable for c++ developers. It has easy and simple interface and easy to understand errors by the help of the colors when coding.

Pros

1. It has fast compiler 2. It is light and can run on most average machines 3. It also has easy navigations. 4. It is easy to download and simple configuration.

Cons

Code at times doesn’t look attractive when dealing with indention.

February 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2021

One of the simplest IDE for C/C++

Overall C::B is a stable IDE with enough features to provide easy development in C/C++.

Pros

Codeblocks is one of the simplest IDE which can be used for development for both C/ C++ and Fortran. C::B is also a very light software which makes it easy to use.

Cons

C::B is comparatively old to others and thus lacks some features which are mainstream in its counterparts. it also faces some problems in terms of spell checker and profile template.

July 2021

Alejandro from Grupo America S.A

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Music

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2021

Code::Blocks the best for begginers

Pros

The software itself its so good for people that are new to a program language and how to code, I like it so much when I first started coding, it offers so much tools and its very simple.

Cons

In all the aesthetic, its seems that something is missing, like is just an Word page, I guess its that simple because its no to scary new people, but I didnt like that

June 2021

Dima from Matogen

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2021

Code:Blocks - I had better

Overall, I think Code:Blocks is an average product. It may work well for someone who is a beginner and is just starting to work with IDE's - or maybe for someone who is more old school and used to older look and feel. For more advanced features, I would recommend something like Visual Code or Atom.

Pros

The product does the basic job yeah )) You can have color themes on different code syntaxes, compilation is there and the other fundamental things, like a debug/output window.

Cons

Honestly, I miss the plugin ability. Other software, such as Visual Code where there is a massive community library, has the ability to pull in various multiple plugins to enhance working experience. This is something I do not see in Code:Blocks and the devs can consider adding this in the future.