User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.26

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

3.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4

  • icon"I can say for shore that I am pleased with Code::Blocks and all functions it has to offer."
  • icon"One of the best things with this IDE is that it does not require PC or Laptop with high specification, it can basically run on anything these days."
  • icon"The software itself its so good for people that are new to a program language and how to code, I like it so much when I first started coding, it offers so much tools and its very simple."
  • icon"It requires manual setup for GNU compiler. It also doesn't have dark-theme which is unacceptable."
  • icon"Code::Blocks looks out dated and a new interface would be refreshing. Code::Blocks does not have an up-to-date linter to highlight wrong code and suggest most relevant code."
  • icon"There is also no in-line code suggestions, so it can be difficult and tiring to figure out bugs in your code."

All Code::Blocks Reviews

1-25 of 35 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Vishal

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2022

Code Blocks - The only IDE you will need for coding C/C++

Using CodeBlocks IDE for mentoring new members in the development team. Most of the members love working with the IDE due to its simplicity and ease of operation.

Pros

Code Blocks is a great tool for developing C/C++ Programs. Well suited for beginners as it is a light weight IDE. Syntax highlighting features makes coding easier. The text ditor features like Font settings can be easily configured as per your personal requirements. Detecting errors and fixing them is easier as the IDE highlights the error containing code with a red symbol. This feature is quite useful for beginners. Newer versions of the IDE are available at regular intervals making it better with each release.

Cons

After executing a C/C++ program, if you forget closing the output window, the Run option gets disabled until the current output window is closed. This can be improved by allowing multiple output windows to remain open without affecting the functionality of the Run option.

Anonymous

Company size: 1 employee

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

Best IDE for Developers working on C++ Projects

I've been using codeblocks for developers for a while now, and I find it to be a great resource for learning new things and honing my programming abilities. I am very appreciative of the codeblocks developers for offering such a fantastic platform for me to study and hone my programming abilities.

Pros

The best IDE to debug and log into code to find bugs and learn new things.

Cons

GUI is bit old but it is very easy to use and has a lot of features. A new UI will be great.

Reasons for switching to Code::Blocks

I found debugging tool much more helpful in Code Blocks.

User Profile

Lyes

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

October 2021

Code::Blocks - Review 2021

I've been using Code::Blocks in my first year as a computer science student just because the teacher obliged us to work with (He is from old school XD). After that, I directly switched to other IDEs. And now as a developer, I think that I've took the right decision.

Pros

The only thing I liked in Code::Blocks is that it's free, open-source and cross-platform.

Cons

The user interface must be changed, it's too outdated for the present time. The software might have bugs sometimes and it takes a long time to start. It requires manual setup for GNU compiler. It also doesn't have dark-theme which is unacceptable. In one word : it's Old School.

Abdelrahman

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2022

Best C/C++ IDE

I think code blocks is the best C/C++ IDE i've Ever used and very suitable for programers and problem solving contestants.

Pros

-A very easy to use IdE with a free access makes it the best choice for c/c++ programmers and provide great features that makes the user experience very smooth. -It provides great options to include and make changes to your environment and adding libraries and make suggestions based on these installed libraries.

Cons

-what i do not like about code blocks is that it does not have the best UI which could make it difficult for begginers to use for the first time. -the error handling and messages aren't the best way to handle errors. -i faced some problems during the installation of gnu++ which made me lost and searched alot to know how to setup it.

User Profile

Henro

Verified reviewer

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

May 2021

Is Code::Blocks still good to use?

Code::Blocks is a platform where you can easily do what you want to do, without too much of a hassle. If you don't try to find out what else it has to offer though, you will never find out; it is all there, it just doesn't present itself to you.

Pros

Code::Blocks is straight to the point, and that is something that is not found frequently these days. A lot of programs bombard you with all of their features, and you are left to wonder where you even begin. With Code::Blocks, you find your way pretty easily, without fancy unwanted features. Code::Blocks is free to download and to use and is easily accessible on the internet. The community for Code::Blocks is big and it is never hard to get a question answered if you wonder about something

Cons

Although the user interface is easy to navigate, it is not the most beautiful sight. It looks outdated and dull, and it is not the most thrilling of experiences to code in Code::Blocks. If you don't browse through Code::Blocks, you won't really know what more it has to offer, because there is no navigation tutorial of some sort.

User Profile

Andres

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2022

The best software to start programming

Code::Blocks is a really good begginer software, as it is free I would highly recommend it for schools for the first programming courses. The teacher would need to know the software before in order to be a good guide. While it doesn't provides a navigation tutorial, after exploring it a little bit you will see everything it has to offer.

Pros

Code::Blocks is a really good and free software that is perfect to use as an IDE for C and C++ languages, 2 languages that are widely considered some of the best options to start learning code, this is why is, for me, one of the best softwares to start learning programming.

Cons

The only bad thing is that isn't the best option to do more advanced tasks like data processing, so when you pass the learning stage you will need to adquire another software for your programming tasks. Also the interface isn´t the most modern one.

GnimWazou Gaston

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2022

Code block review

Pros

Code block offers a very accessible development environment. It is the perfect IDE for C++ programming

Cons

Like any other software the beginnings are difficult, code block lacks tutorials for beginners

Anonymous

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2021

Good Open-source IDE

Codeblock is an easy-to-use, basic IDE suitable for those who are starting out with C/C++ since that's how I started using it as well. It doesn't have the greatest interface or latest features, but it does have a great community backing it up, and the documentations are pretty detailed to help you through your coding process.

Pros

I mainly started using Codeblocks for C/C++, and since it was the only software that supported the addition of Harvard's CS50 library, by being open-source. You can configure it any way you want - as programmer, everything is under your control. The debugger is quite helpful for resolving bugs in your code, and the software is rather easy to install and setup. It is also very light-weight, barely consuming system resources. It works both Windows and Linux OS, is updated almost weekly, and it is free to download and use for anyone wanting to start coding.

Cons

It doesn't have much support for all the new languages and frameworks. The software can be buggy at times, an its interface is too outdated for the present times. It requires manual setup of GNU compiler, and the window itself can be confusing for a beginner. There is also no in-line code suggestions, so it can be difficult and tiring to figure out bugs in your code.

Anonymous

Company size: 1 employee

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

Your IDE for C++

Overall, my experience with CodeBlocks has been positive, since it provides a free but powerful IDE

Pros

In addition to its powerful but lightweight C++ IDE, CodeBlocks offers many cool features. My favorite is the code suggestion feature because it helps me get the job done faster.

Cons

the User Interface can be much better as well as the syntax highlighting

User Profile

Nadyan

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2021

A great IDE for the beginner and the senior

I first started using Code::Blocks in my computer science grad school and it was very helpful. Since there I used it a long time and all my needs were satisfied.

Pros

Code::Blocks was one of the first IDE I used and the interface and the compiler configurations are very easy to understant and switch in case of some custom compilations.

Cons

The debugging tools are a little less effective than other IDEs in the market.

Dima

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

June 2021

Code:Blocks - I had better

Overall, I think Code:Blocks is an average product. It may work well for someone who is a beginner and is just starting to work with IDE's - or maybe for someone who is more old school and used to older look and feel. For more advanced features, I would recommend something like Visual Code or Atom.

Pros

The product does the basic job yeah )) You can have color themes on different code syntaxes, compilation is there and the other fundamental things, like a debug/output window.

Cons

Honestly, I miss the plugin ability. Other software, such as Visual Code where there is a massive community library, has the ability to pull in various multiple plugins to enhance working experience. This is something I do not see in Code:Blocks and the devs can consider adding this in the future.

Kevin

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2021

Code::Blocks

Pros

Code::Blocks is highly configurable, free of charge and open sourced.

Cons

As a beginner, I found Code::Blocks entirely unintuitive. The GUI is lacking in my opinion. It wasn't a completely horrible experience, and it has its benefits (e.g. configurability, flexibility etc.) but I can't justify Code::Blocks when there are so many amazing IDEs that have more options, are more intuitive, have better customer support and are more heavily supported.

Mirza

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2021

Code::Blocks Review

I personally used Code::Blocks for years and I am still using it. I found it really interesting and easy to use for all programming and coding rookies, which was one of my part time jobs ( teaching beginners programming). Overall, I only have the best experience with it and I highly recommend this open-source IDE.

Pros

For all people out there who are new to programming, Code::Blocks is an open source cross-platform they should use. It runs in many different computer languages with really fast GNU GCC compiler and the best thing is that it's free to download for all users and it can be used on systems like Windows, Linux and Mac-OS . The platform is really easy and flexible to use, even with not much computer knowledge you will be able to use it, which is really great for one open-source IDE. One of the best things with this IDE is that it does not require PC or Laptop with high specification, it can basically run on anything these days. One of my favorite things are error tracing and syntax highlighting. Error tracing and syntax highlighting are really important and they help trough your work by warning you where your mistake is or might be in a line of code. I can say for shore that I am pleased with Code::Blocks and all functions it has to offer.

Cons

Code::Blocks is getting improved every day, but still there are some thing that should be improved much faster. One of those things is a "Darkmode" which is really helpful when you are sitting in front of a computer for hours and you want to rest your eyes from all that screen brightness. There is also a fact that you have to install correct and certain version of compiler with GNU GCC or else the program won't work, but that is not that much of a problem if you know what are you doing. Everything else to me is just perfect, the platform should full-fill your needs and expectations especially if you are a rookie in a computer world, world of codes and programs..

Khush

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Research

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2022

Good IDE for development.

Good.

Pros

The GUI is nice for learning development of programming.

Cons

Sometimes the software can be laggy and can glitch.

Reasons for choosing Code::Blocks

Better offer.

Reasons for switching to Code::Blocks

Better offer.

User Profile

Ahmed

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2021

Coding with The Code::Blocks

Summing up my experience with code::Blocks I would say one of the reasons that helped me take the initiative to learn coding was this software and I highly recommend any beginner to start with it.

Pros

• The software is totally free. • A place for beginners to start with as it has so many built-in features. • Moving to the professional level it's a good tool to debug with as it contains all the functionalities required for advanced IDE. • The ease execution of a good.

Cons

• For more sophisticated projects it may have a lot of issues with no reasonable reasons. • Doesn't support several languages. • Needs to be interfered with in order to get knowledge of the features available in hand.

Saad Ahmed

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

February 2021

An open source integrated development environment for C, C++, and many other programming languages

It is a superb IDE which is free, easy, and reliable. This software is a masterpiece and every beginner should start its programming journey from this software. Moreover, it is also useful for professionals because it includes all the functionalities required for advance software development.

Pros

This was the first integrated development environment (IDE) which I started using during my engineering studies and since then I have developed several academic as well as professional software using this IDE. It is Old and truly a gold. It a complete suite that can write, compile, debug, and run the program in several classical programming languages.

Cons

It is difficult to point out something that I dislike about this software because it is too good. However, if they include several other programming languages like Python, Go, and Java by default in their IDE so that can make it more useful.

User Profile

Mahek

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5