User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(9)

9

4 stars

(9)

9

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse Codeanywhere Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -31 of 19 results

July 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Feasible convenience

I can go to work and develop my personal site during my break times. Or be anywhere in the world and access to a computer, then i can edit my site. With the built in ssh console this is just so useful.

Pros

I stopped development for nearly a year but i kept my subscription because the price is so reasonable i felt it holds value to keep it. I started development again and this service is fantastic for what i need

Cons

Sometimes the auto text is annoying but i should find the setting to turn it off. Also tbe auto indentation doesnt seem to work well when i have a custom 2 line indent. But these things are not seriois issues since the other features are just so good.

Reasons for Choosing Codeanywhere

The price and how well it works

June 2021

Justin from awesomeinc.org

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Codeanywhere anytime with anyone

I use codeanywhere to collaborate and push out small websites with distributed teams. I also teach our bootcampers how to use CA. Final projects are built and deployed using CA.

Pros

IDE, git support, custom stacks and ability to provide licenses to our students

Cons

lack of Python/Django support, switch from previous IDE to the new environment had a few pain points

Reasons for Choosing Codeanywhere

ease of use and customer service

Reasons for Switching to Codeanywhere

It was too difficult for beginning developers.

Response from Codeanywhere

Replied July 2021

Hi Justin, Thanks! We are supporting Python container stack out of the box - create a container, and select Pyhton! If you have any additional questions, please reach out to support@codeanywhere.com or directly via the new Live Chat Widget - on the website and in the dashboard! Codeanywhere Support

July 2021

Joseph from Joseph Geis Productions

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2021

Decent, but not worth the cost

Codeanywhere has made it convenient for me to work on projects when I am away from my main machine, particularly when I am using a device that isn't capable of running developer software. I used it until they changed their pricing model to charge all users, since I can't justify paying per-month for an online editor, especially since I don't use the container functionality that much.

Pros

It is decent as an editor and allows for connections to different remote sources, as well as its own built-in development container system. It works fairly well in different browsers (although some keybinds might interfere).

Cons

The interface isn't particularly great, and it seems unreasonable for them to charge to access remote servers (at least for a student). The built-in preview panel also can be clunky, and sometimes the container system can be temperamental with regards to proxying a running dev server.

Reasons for Switching to Codeanywhere

AWS acquired it

June 2021

Sydney from Lehigh University

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2021

Student User

Pros

Code anywhere was fairly easy To learn to use and was a reliable compiler for learning to code using Java.

Cons

Debugging errors was sometimes difficult as you had to run the code each time. You also had to declare each file before running which was tedious.

Response from Codeanywhere

Replied July 2021

Hi Sydney, Thanks for the feedback! We now have an integrated debugger - no worries whatsoever! If you have any additional questions, please reach out to support@codeanywhere.com or directly via the new Live Chat Widget - on the website and in the dashboard! Codeanywhere Support

June 2021

Kathleen from Kathy is Awesome

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2021

Big improvements in recent updates

I like having an "always on" container so that I can show my work to someone. plus codeanywhere is handy for spinning up and destroying sites that I only need for a short time.

Pros

I like that it's very simple to set up a WordPress site. I'm a WordPress plugin developer, I don't want to be a linux system admin.

Cons

For the longest time, I could not COPY and PASTE in the terminal when using Firefox. This was infuriating, but does seem to be resolved with their recent updates. While support is generally pretty helpful, I have had instances of waiting several weeks for a response too.

Reasons for Choosing Codeanywhere

I still use Local a lot. However, local runs pretty slowly on Windows and the number of times I need to code but am not connected to the internet is pretty low. If the git GUI supported staging lines/chunks I would probably ditch Local entirely

Reasons for Switching to Codeanywhere

when cloud 9 was bought out by amazon it became completely unusable. It became a complex task to create a new WordPress container/site.

Response from Codeanywhere

Replied July 2021

Dear Kathleen, Thanks for the review and feedback. Since our new platform release in May 2021, there are no issues in regards to your review. We also have additional support agents waiting to reply and resolve all your questions and issues! If you have any additional questions, please reach out to support@codeanywhere.com or directly via the new Live Chat Widget - on the website and in the dashboard! Codeanywhere Support

June 2021

Graham from Wangaratta Website Design Services

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2021

Has some good and not so good features.

I am building mainly Wordpress websites at the moment, and I like to use codeanywhere to test updates on sites, so the containers must be able to be easily restarted after not being used for a while.

Pros

I like that clients can view my websites as I build them. Very easy set up of wordpress containers.

Cons

Doesn't allow the upload of large files, over 6gb. Containers all too frequently fail to load.

Reasons for Switching to Codeanywhere

Amazon took over Cloud 9 and made it impossible to use, no matter how I tried could not load wordpress. Amazon also had a very hard to understand pricing model.

Response from Codeanywhere

Replied July 2021

Hi Graham, Thanks! You can install large file support extensions from the extensions marketplace! We also offer different plans with regards to memory management (SSD and RAM). If you have any additional questions, please reach out to support@codeanywhere.com or directly via the new Live Chat Widget - on the website and in the dashboard! Codeanywhere Support

June 2021

Erick from Iwebhotel

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Design

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Very easy to use

In every way it's a great tool to do HTML5, CSS3, database and php programming.

Pros

Codwanywhere is my programming FTP tool, and works really fine in every way.

Cons

It could be cheaper to get more ftp connections, or at least give 20 connections for basic price. And it would also be great if we could split screen, and more effective download and upload more files at same time.

Response from Codeanywhere

Replied June 2021

Dear Eric, Thanks for your valuable feedback! Note that in our new VS-Code like IDE downloads and uploads are effective, and you can share your container with a friend for a true pair-programming experience. This is a new release, check it out! Best, Codeanywhere Team

June 2021

Saulo from Otaku Wanted

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Exactly What I needed

I'll continue to use Codeanywhere to update my websites. It's a great tool and haven't found any other service that offers the same tools at the same price. It's an overall great service and experience.

Pros

I purchased the service to be able to update and manage my website's code from anywhere and from any computer. The service works as promised and it's awesome that I can hop onto any computer, login, and make the changes I needed to my website.

Cons

The level of documentation for setting up some connections is very poor. And when I reached out for a question on setting up and FTP connection, I never heard back from the support team. Eventually I figured it out on my own.

Response from Codeanywhere

Replied July 2021

Hi Saulo, Thanks for the feedback! We are currently updating our documentation for a better and faster onboarding of new users! If you have any additional questions, please reach out to support@codeanywhere.com or directly via the new Live Chat Widget - on the website and in the dashboard! Codeanywhere Support

July 2021

Michael from Region 16

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Codeanywhere is great for remote developers

overall this is a great product I would highly recommend it

Pros

I love the fact that I can make simple edits on my phone or on my computer. The ability to have the same experience on my MacBook pro's I have on my Chromebook or my Android was outstanding.

Cons

I had some experiences where the shared server environment where my server was hosted blocked the IP addresses from code anywhere. I didn't have a good pathway to fix the problem and the hosting provider wasn't able to help me. It did resolve itself over time

Reasons for Switching to Codeanywhere

I still use both programs but I love the fact that I can use code anywhere on multiple platforms

June 2021

Juan José from NN

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2021

Get developmeny enviroment

Pros

Codeanywhere has all you need to start to develop with different tech stacks. You don't need install anything on your computer. In minutes, you will have your the tools that you need

Cons

I would like a customer support by telephone or live chat

Response from Codeanywhere

Replied July 2021

Hi Juan, We have a Live Chat Widget ! If you have any additional questions, please reach out to support@codeanywhere.com or directly via the new Live Chat Widget - on the website and in the dashboard! Codeanywhere Support

March 2021

User Profile Picture

Adrian from R&D

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

A solid cloud IDE

No major complaints aside from the stacks provided when starting a new project are a bit outdated. Not really a show stopper as I can always update this on the cam itself or bring my own stack

Pros

Ease of use and good pricing are things I enjoy from Cloud IDES, CodeAnywhere is well priced and just works.

Cons

IDE feels outdated when compared newer offerings and project environments could be updated (specially the OS stack)

Response from Codeanywhere

Replied April 2021

Hi Adrian, Thanks for your review! We are in the progress of launching an upgraded IDE, stay tuned!

July 2021

Ian from IDS Media Group Limited

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2021

A bit buggy in places but generally very good

Generally pretty good and I'd say it's helped to improve me as a coder

Pros

Ease of use. Nice IDE layout (still using the classic IDE, haven't enjoyed the new one so much). No need to install software and can use it quickly on any device

Cons

It's a bit buggy in places. Can't download folders to my local machine, have to download files one by one. Since the introduction of the new IDE it's also a bit confusing with what connections are where

Reasons for Switching to Codeanywhere

Didnt like the Adobe model and it installs loads of crap on my computer. I switched from photoshop and illustrator to Affinity products but couldn't find a good coding alternative, until CodeAnywhere

June 2021

Robin from Explose

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Great software to manage/edit code on-the-go

Pros

The ease of editing code and connecting to multiple sources. You can edit in realtime on websites and save all code instantly. Saves a huge amount of time.

Cons

Setting everything up could be difficult for someone without knowledge. With the lack of tutorials you have to know what you are doing.

Response from Codeanywhere

Replied July 2021

Hi Robin, Thanks for leaving us a review. We are working on a completely new documentation site to help users onboard faster and easier. If you have any additional questions, please reach out to support@codeanywhere.com or directly via the new Live Chat Widget - on the website and in the dashboard! Codeanywhere Support

July 2021

Winston from Liturgy Builder

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

A great web application that acts native

Overall experience is excellent with only one small software glitch on codeanywheres part

Pros

The fact that it's in the web. I run it on an ARM powered surface pro X so I prefer the web approach for a smooth experience.

Cons

The new interface is a little confusing and seems to be missing aspects of the old ide etc. For example spinning up directly connected GitHub containers.

Reasons for Switching to Codeanywhere

Ease of use

June 2021

MICHAEL from Torino

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Review about Codeanywhere , Michael

It was all Good .

Pros

I like the ease of use , the concept of modularization in the APP development (containers),I can develop from anywhere .

Cons

The user interface is not eye catching , and it need , s some addtional tools ,speed .

Response from Codeanywhere

Replied July 2021

Dear Michael, Thanks for the valuable feedback - we are working on improving UI/UX. If you have any additional questions, please reach out to support@codeanywhere.com or directly via the new Live Chat Widget - on the website and in the dashboard! Codeanywhere Support

June 2021

John from Sprplx

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Phone App & web

Pros

Once set up very easy to use I use both app & web versions mainly to ssh into server Its like putty but on steroids

Cons

Nothing at the moment it does what I need it for

Response from Codeanywhere

Replied July 2021

Dear John, Thanks for the review! If you have any additional questions, please reach out to support@codeanywhere.com or directly via the new Live Chat Widget - on the website and in the dashboard! Codeanywhere Support

June 2021

Simonas from Vieta

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Writing and Editing

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2021

Happy with the software, but not using it enough

Pros

Code anywhere, literally, I use it mostly for trying new stuff on the go

Cons

Signs me out constantly, a bit slow, compares to local

Reasons for Switching to Codeanywhere

it's not available anymore

Response from Codeanywhere

Replied July 2021

Dear Simonas, Thanks for the feedback! We've recently fixed the signout, so now you are logged in as long as you don't click on sign out! If you have any additional questions, please reach out to support@codeanywhere.com or directly via the new Live Chat Widget - on the website and in the dashboard! Codeanywhere Support

June 2021

Oscar from Videodepot

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Broadcast Media

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2021

codeanywhere

Pros

I can litteraly code anywhere, there's no need to always have the same laptop or be at my desktop I can just carry a light chromebook and just pickup where i left

Cons

it took me a while to understand the containers but that's my fault since i'm still a noob in this coding thing XD

July 2021

Aaron from LDR Site Services

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Logistics and Supply Chain

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2021

Always on, always ready

Pros

Being able to code from anywhere (hence the name I guess) on pretty much any device I use is obviously the best part.

Cons

Debugging could be improved greatly. Support for additional languages would also be greatly appreciated.