User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(6)

6

4 stars

(21)

21

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "- Easy to use - Great UI and easy to learn - Rest API "

  • "Simple core design Easily generate documents based on trackers Integration with wiki and managing bugs "

  • "Codebeamer is very powerful, because it's very flexible. "

  • Cons

  • "It is a very good tool for IT minded users, but other users may struggle with the usability and the complexity"

  • "Sometimes it is not easy to find all options in the software. The menu can be interleaved so you need some time to find the option. "

  • "The look of the charts / reporting functionality is not perfectly fitting the needs of our company. I would look very much forward to a better visualisation and flexibility of the charts."

Browse codeBeamer ALM Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -22 of 28 results

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Great tool

Pros

- Easy to use - Great UI and easy to learn - Rest API

Cons

- User Management with rights and roles. - Import Export of ReqIf files.

October 2019

Robert from BridgeHead Software Ltd

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

codeBeamer ALM a powerful tool

Basically, unites the whole process of software development, from conception of the idea to realization, to QA, to release, to bug fixing, etc.

Pros

codeBeamer ALM is extremely customisable; it covers all aspects of ALM; requirements, software architecture, computer programming, software testing, software maintenance, changes, continuous integration, project management, and release management; allows multiple teams, geographically dislocated, to seemingly work on the same project; tracks every single activity in the process; has a good potential for writing good Wiki pages; has placeholder for technical documentation; practically every tracker type item has comments, attachment, description, etc.; well established links between trackers, downstream references; customisable automation, say you can generate downstream task when system requirements change to a state; completely configurable state diagrams, etc.; excellent testing framework, test cases, test sets, test runs, etc.

Cons

As with every system, the value of it depends on how much you put into it; but IMHO codeBeamer ALM has a very high potential to give you exactly what you need from an ALM tool; say there is integration with SVN, etc.; there is a danger of overcomplicating, but that is the price of very flexible customisation; if you design your process well, you should be OK, etc.

March 2019

Nikolaus from PMDM

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Using of codeBeamer ALM

We are working with codeBeamer to fullfill the requirements from Automotive Spice and for this usecase the tool is very good for. Also we are working for medical products and with codeBeamer it is very simple to change the workflows from automotive projects to medical projects.

Pros

The easy way to create a traceability from the requirements to the tests.

Cons

The user management is not so easy to handle with

August 2017

Alan from Bigfoot Biomedical

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

We invested significant effort to configure codeBeamer and realized significant benefit in return!

Pros

Very flexible and powerful platform that can be adapted in a variety of ways to align to your process and practices for managing your application lifecycle. Expect to invest time and effort to configure the platform to meet your needs and expect significant return on your investment. Over a 6 month window we rolled out codeBeamer capabilities for: 1) Requirements Management 2) Risk Management 3) Architecture and Design Management 4) Test Management 5) Defect Management 6) Scrum Team Rituals (Sprints, Stories, Tasks, ...) codeBeamer is now our single digital system of record for the full Application Lifecycle.

Cons

It can be challenging to debug why a user is unable to execute a task given the intersection of 1) license constraints 2) project permissions 3) tracker permissions 4) field permissions

December 2018

Zoran from Automation

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

codeBeamer keeps one's promise other ALM's don't even dare to give

Before I joined the codeBeamer world, I worked with other ALM tools. It was really a hard time, lots of things didn't come together or were poor in performance. I remember my first steps in codeBeamer. It was like an epiphany - suddenly everything makes sense and it's really that easy to accomplish. Actually the tool supports you in collaboration and structured workflow.

Pros

Simply: it works! Seriously. I worked with other ALM tools. Either the tools didn't cover (understand) the ALM universe, or the tools were glued together resulting in diminished functionality or even failure. Supected links. Traceability browser. Test coverage. Those tools work perfectly in codeBeamer.

Cons

Sometimes it's difficult to handle WYSIWYG. Implementation is done with a third party tool (Froala) and codeBeamer is bound to its limitations and drawbacks. Usually I get my ideas realized within the HTML editor, but sometimes you have to struggle a little.

May 2017

Matthias from Fraunhofer

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2017

Great ALM solution for managing large number of projects

Pros

Good agile development features including Kanban board and Scrum process artefacts Easy management of integrated SCM repositories (Git, SVN) Good handling of project templates to specify and provide organisation specific development process templates REST API for a flexible integration of CodeBeamer with other tools Improved dashboard functionalities for project and user dashboards

Cons

It would be great to get more out-of-the-box integrations with other popular parts of a development toolchain like: Slack, IntelliJ

March 2018

Nikolaus from PMDM

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

codeBeamer is very good to use it for handling/tracking requirments and to create specifications.

Pros

Tracking the requirements Tracability between requirements Create and use the libraries Baslining of the specifications Ajust the workflows of each Tracker/department Release management SW-test reuse Change management for the requirements/test

Cons

There are tree ways to create the authorization/user-management and this is sometimes difficult because of the roles for each project. If in our template project is create a new role we have to make the input in each prject manually.

May 2017

Christian from Allianz Handwerker Services

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2017

Very good ALM tool with best features of many other tools.

Pros

* adaptability * large scale of functionality (from requirements to implementation, to testing, releasemanagement and Support) * very good documentation about codebeamer * webinars from intlant * full-text search

Cons

* too many posibilities for filtering or reporting of issues with too different features (the one you use allways needs a feature of another search functionality) * too less posibilities for dashboards (maybe changes with 8.1) * project management (ok its not the focus of this tool, but it would be nice)

March 2018

Dominic from Minebeamitsumi

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Good usedfull tool to manage a complete product development.

Pros

This software offers a lot of functions which we use for product development. I use it for development of automotive products. Due to the huge amount of options it is easy to customize the software for your needs.

Cons

Sometimes it is not easy to find all options in the software. The menu can be interleaved so you need some time to find the option.

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Powerful and Extendible, but needs configuration

We're using codebeamer to support the requirement management, risk management, and software development processes for medical device development. We also run Scrum in codebemaer.

Pros

Codebeamer is very powerful, because it's very flexible.

Cons

With great flexibility come a great many settings. Some of those (such as role permissions) are very tedious (and error-prone) to set up. A few buttons with macros, or a text-based interface would have been nice. Also, automation across trackers (say, tasks in user stories) can be tricky/not satisfactory.

March 2018

Patrick from Allianz Handwerker Services GmbH

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

A Tool for all your needs. From document exchange to requirements engineering.

All Informations and almost all processes needed for business in one software.

Pros

Multiple features along ALM and customizeability of the product. The integration of the multiple features in one product.

Cons

Features leave the product and information about that is missing. Qualtity of the .0-releases could be better.

March 2018

Norbert from Sysmex Europe GmbH

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Very powerful tool, very stable, not so easy to use for non-IT persons

Complete documentation of all artefacts along the software development process, flexible workflows, full traceability, all stakeholders in the process working in the same integrated environment

Pros

very powerful, with a multitude of functionality, not only to tracker the artefacts along the software development process, but also to collect all other types of documents, manage teams, great reporting, basically any object can be described and traced in this tool.

Cons

In some parts the usability is difficult, especially for non-IT people, who are coming from a document-oriented way of working.

December 2018

Norbert from Sysmex Europe GmbH

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

codeBeamer Review

Complete coverage of our software development process with full traceability in a strongly regulated medical environment

Pros

The generic approach which more or less allows to define any object or artefact needed along the software development lifecycle in the tool

Cons

It is a very good tool for IT minded users, but other users may struggle with the usability and the complexity

March 2018

Romesch from EFS GmbH

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

The codeBeamer is a great ALM tool, which difficulty lies in the first steps, a proper project setup

Pros

It's a browser based tool and for almost every funktion a GUI or WYSIWYG is available. It includes all necessary parts for complex development project; therefore you can avoid a tool break between a classic requirement management tool such as DOORS and a test management tool. This is one advantage use codeBeamer compared to other tools on the market.

Cons

The complexity you're faced with during the first setup of a complex project. The user interface itself is easy to handle, but the working process behind the UI is not self explained. Dashboards, Reports and Trackers are loaded every time they are opened. For elements with big data this lasts quite some time. Therefore it is not helpful for newcomers to codeBeamer that the customer support only works with a ticket system. It would be appreciated also to provide a german speaking customer support.

April 2019

Lukas from Robert Bosch Power Tools

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Well working Application Lifecycle Management Tool

Pros

+ Everything in one tool + interfaces to other tools + flexibility to adopt to own needs

Cons

user experience. one example is 3 different spots for "Save" buttons. The GUI can be confusing...

June 2017

Christine from DATATRAK International

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2017

Codebeamer offers a creative and thorough environment for us to creat and manage projects and tasks.

The ability to collaborate with my team and others, working towards the completion of tasks and projects of all sizes.

Pros

I very much appreciate the flexibility of the Codebeamer structure. The option to group items by project or by type figures greatly into our staff's needs. The ability to sort by type of item (and task) allows our team to save time and increase productivity.

Cons

I have utilized Codebeamer for several years and have yet to stumble on a hurdle or work-staller. I think it works great - as designed.

March 2018

Wolfgang from EFS GmbH

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

lots of possibilities need to be configured first, which is almost not feasible for a new user

Pros

a: CodeBeamer is browser based, that is very convinient b: a GUI or WYSIWYG is available for almost every function

Cons

a: unfortunately there is no german speaking customer support I can explain my problems b: dashboards, reports and trackers are loaded every time after opening - this lasts very long for elements with big data

May 2017

Paul from Banner Engineering Corp

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2017

Very powerful, a bit complicated

Pros

I like this for our requirements management that mates with test cases for a full requirements to test result traceability.

Cons

At times the interface seems a bit "clunky" and not as intuitive as desired. There are arrows in some spots and pull-downs in other spots. Once you figure out the interface things go smoothly

November 2018

Eugen from W&H Dentalwerk Bürmoos GmbH

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Easy to Use and customizeable Tool

Pros

- Ease of Use - Service and Support available - Customizeable Tool - Variety of Functionalities - Reporting possible - Versioning System and Audit Trail

Cons

- Not possible to adapt Codebeamer to some special company's processes - Few Useability Bugs

March 2020

Slawomir from BOGE Elastmetall GmbH

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2020

Useful tool with week spots

Pros

Good for requirement management. Integration with OFFICE, DOORS and JIRA helps a lot. Integration with GIT. Great review hub functionality. Very flexible and configurable. Stable with new featuers comming fast. Good support from Intland. Documentation available and helpful.

Cons

User interface far from good - partially confusing, partially just ugly.

Reasons for Choosing codeBeamer ALM

Price (you get a lot of functionality for your money).

August 2017

Timothy from Theranos, Inc.

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Smooth install with Validation.

Control and documentation of our development process

Pros

The configurability of this software is outstanding. For each item, you can vary the content, the workflow and the access by status, user and role to the content. We have been able to make the tools conform to our process rather than conform our process to the tool.

Cons

The various licenses control a bewildering number of grants and denials of capabilities. Some things are a great surprise.

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2018

Good management system for software development tickets.

Pros

I appreciate the ability to link entries. We have FRS, development, and testing tickets all linked for product releases and it does a great job of helping organize that information.

Cons

I find it cumbersome to assign certain attributes. The pick lists can be difficult to search and sometimes it is hard to determine the correct choice based on those lists. It can be frustrating.

April 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

I use it to document generation and life-cycle management(documents>review>release).

Can used to work on a real -time project even a free trial

Pros

Simple core design Easily generate documents based on trackers Integration with wiki and managing bugs

Cons

UI needs some improvement(performance) Does not support inline documents for live docs Ajax unable to handle large datasets

April 2018

Ovidiu from Automotive Manufacturer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

Allows our entire team to always be on the same page.

Pros

Kanban view for a better work management. Nice customisations potential and customer orientation development step by step.

Cons

Lack of specific examples in webinars. Lack of traceability between low-level requirements and source code.

December 2018

Boris from Daimler Protics

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

CodeBeamer

Pros

Well structured, good Usability and helpful support

Cons

incomplete Documentation makes it hard to use advanced features

May 2017

Stephan from BMW

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2017

Promising ALM solution with many interesting details

Pros

Comprehensive functionality across the whole lifecycle, modern graphical user interface and ease of use

Cons

Currently we are in the phase of evaluating the codebeamer Software, and there one concern is the scalability of The tool

March 2018

Oscar from Stoneridge

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

I have worked with other tools and codeBeamer has proved better than all of them.

Pros

Efficiency and traceability throughout the requirements and test management. Inclusion of tools like Jira and the bridge with DOORS gives much added value.

March 2018

Daniel from Quality department

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

The codeBeamer platform is incredibly flexible and allows endless user customization to build the AL

Pros

I do especially like the one stop solution that enables me to get applications checked from testing till release.

Cons

The look of the charts / reporting functionality is not perfectly fitting the needs of our company. I would look very much forward to a better visualisation and flexibility of the charts.