Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.60

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5


Pros and Cons

  • icon"I love how easy it is to get started with a new project in Codeship and that it doesn't require you to clutter your repository with yet another configuration file."
  • icon"The advance user friendly web-based graphical user interface help in to implement the continuous integration pipeline for code delivery."
  • icon"Multiple ways to personalize and automate your deploy process, using your own code. Easy to start using but still have many options."
  • icon"The main problem that we had as a team were false failures. We often saw that a code change that had no real issues would fail due to something external to the code itself."
  • icon"What I dislike most about this service is that it's a bit expensive and they could have a cheaper plan for small companies."
  • icon"We suffered some downtimes that affected a lot our deployments. The plans starts with only one or two parallel deployments, sometimes it's too few."

Have you used Codeship and would like to share your experience with others?

Write a review

All Codeship Reviews

1-15 of 15 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Abhinav

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2019

A faster way to ship your code.

Codeship simplify and enhance your CI/CD pipeline by speeding the bug catching. Image caching feature integrate with docker and speed-up the build pipeline with help of docker image cache. The notification dashboard help in to let you know the process of your code and also let you know if any action is needed in case of break.

Pros

Codeship is a platform to achieve the Continues Integration. This open source tool comes with the two versions, Codeship basic and Codeship Pro. The advance user friendly web-based graphical user interface help in to implement the continuous integration pipeline for code delivery. Shared build nodes and parallel testing and deploy help in to speed up the development & delivery pipeline. We can scale-up the pipeline any time to optimize the testing and delivery process. Once the test cases pass it create the logs and automatically deploy system. Integration with Docker help in to easily managing the container in our build environment. The pro version have a advantage of configuration via the repository.

Cons

Codeship is really an amazing tool to get hands on it, but compare to its features its community size is not as large as expected they should work on to scale-up the community size. They should at-least provide the three parallel test pipeline in free version also as once the user implement it know the power of the parallel test pipeline.

User Profile

Gurleen

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2019

Codeship - A faster way to ship your code with CI

The web-interface provide flexibility to set up and configure build server. The Codeship Basic version come with the 100 builds/month, a concurrent build agent and a parallel test pipeline with unlimited number of projects with no user and team limit. Best feature in it is dependency caching parallel test suites to speed up our builds and DevOps process.

Pros

Codeship provides the platform to deliver the code with confidence as it speeds up the development and operation process. Customization, maintaining and scaling the infrastructure is simple with the help of Codeship. Build & Automation test templates helps in catching the irrelevant code and bugs in CI/CD pipeline. The Flexible workflow allows us to control the build, test and deploy hierarchy can be modified as per need of the development pipeline.

Cons

Codeship come with the in-build integration but some plugins stop working after the upgrade. The Codeship basic as the feature is disabled. To work with Native Docker we need to upgrade it to Codeship PRO version which come with the flexible workflows and configuration options.

User Profile

Daniel

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

October 2018

So-So CI/CD Tool

Codeship is good at telling you if something works, but not so great at detecting what is actually wrong with a piece of code.

Pros

In general, Codeship is good to have on our main software project. We have a quick view of whether our new code works. It helps to speed up the review process.

Cons

The main problem that we had as a team were false failures. We often saw that a code change that had no real issues would fail due to something external to the code itself. When we began upgrading our stack, we found that Codeship became more trouble than it was worth.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2021

Simple CI/CD

We use it as the main CI pipeline to execute tests and static checks over the code on each push. We also use it to automate the staging deployment. It's very useful to automatize the process and it's easy to configure it to use with Docker using a yaml file.

Pros

Easy to configure. Easy to understand what's doing. I like the webhooks and the automations you can do. We've integrated it with Slack so we receive notifications when something is not working properly on CI or when some builds finishes.

Cons

Sometimes the service does not work properly because of the downtime but it's something that lately they were improving and it's not happening very frequently. The problem is that when you base your deployment on this kind of tools, you get blocked if the service is down. It may be our fault and probably we should have an alternative for that situations.

User Profile

Ramindu

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

April 2019

Simple build pipelines across multiple platforms

Codeship has enabled me to manage application deployment automation across heterogenous platforms, providing easy-to-use integrations with both deployment environments and version control systems.

Pros

Codeship provides a well-integrated, simplistic approach to creating build pipelines on a variety of platforms. Be it major cloud platform providers or your simple webhosting where you copy your files using SFTP, Codeship has the solution for you. Integrations with major platforms are out of the box and very easy to configure. It also provides a good deal of integrations with various version control providers so that you can trigger your code deployments with a single push to your repository. Codeship also provides simple and effective monitoring tools and notifications.

Cons

At times, the parameters implementing a particular configuration such as SFTP push may not be self-evident. However, this can be resolved easily by reading the documentation.

Pedro

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2022

Ease of use, clean interface

Pros

We have been using Codeship for our CI for a few years, and recently made the switch to the pro version, allowing us to not share servers, use a dockerized environment and add more pipes. Throughout this time the team has taken advantage of the clear interface, ease of use and debugging, and overall I'd say we are satisfied with the results we get.

Cons

Moving to pro actually removed one ability that we had prior: rerunning a single pipe. But that's not a constant need so the impact wasn't too significant.

User Profile

Luis Felipe

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2019

Must have for any tech team

I usually am really happy using Codeship, it doesn't cost much and offer a simple solution for our deployments.

Pros

- Multiple ways to personalize and automate your deploy process, using your own code - Easy to start using but still have many options

Cons

- We suffered some downtimes that affected a lot our deployments - The plans starts with only one or two parallel deployments, sometimes it's too few

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2018

Very Useful

Pros

I love the service, I'm QA and I can follow all deploy running in many platforms, I can see all problems and wich steps the errors happened.

Cons

Sometime the system does not update in real time.

User Profile

Erdem

Verified reviewer

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2017

It is really easy to setup and use.

Very useful for continous integration.

Pros

Easy to use, easy to configure. Integrates with github. You can debug your failed builds by literally connecting to build machine.

Cons

Sometimes it becomes down and prevent builds for a long time. If we have a hurry, it would become problem for our team.

User Profile

Tobias

Verified reviewer

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2018

Everything you need for automated quality control and continuous deployment

Codeship helps me make sure everything works as it should and gets deployed to where it should. This automation both removes tedious work and also makes everything run so much better in the end.

Pros

I love how easy it is to get started with a new project in Codeship and that it doesn't require you to clutter your repository with yet another configuration file. Speaking of configuration, Codeship offers a very detailed level of it and I've yet to find a use case where they haven't been able to cater to.

Cons

I really can't think of anything. Even the free version of Codeship delivers enough functionality for most projects.

User Profile

Enrique

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2018

Codeship is great for code coverage and continuous integration.

Pros

Easy configuration, using setup files on your project. It has native docker support and lets you define containers for your build environment.

Cons

Codeship may not be that easy to use for newcomers who don't have any experience with continuous integration. The pro version is also expensive, but they have a free version as well that will work for some users.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2018

Terrific managed solution for CI/CD

Pros

This software helps bridge the gap with unstable builds and deployments. Setting it up with your project is relatively easy.

Cons

The price can come a bit steep but may be cheaper than paying somebody to set up your own CI/CD software.

Response from Codeship

Ahoy there, thanks for the review, we absolutely appreciate you taking the time to do this. In regards to the rating for support, would you mind letting us know what we could do to improve? We try to do our very best for each and every support case we get, but there is definitely room for further improvement and getting additional feedback on this would be great. You can reach me directly via email at mlocher@cloudbees.com Please let us know if there is anything else we can help with and have a great day. ~ Marko

Replied May 2018

Anonymous

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2018

Great for code deployments

Pros

I like how easy it is to deploy my code and add code review and comments. It makes the process painless.

Cons

Sometimes the software might not update comments fast enough, you would have to referesh the software for changes to take effect.

Paul

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2016

Ship with ease and confidence

We tried them all but always came back to codeship. Codeship provides the most user friendly workflow for building, testing and then ultimately deploying your code. We successfully ship our code to production multiple times a day thanks to having codeship on our team.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2018

Very good Continuous Integration service

Pros

CodeShip integration with GitHub is very good and there are many resources allowing users to get started with ease.

Cons

What I dislike most about this service is that it's a bit expensive and they could have a cheaper plan for small companies.

Showing 1 - 15 of 15 reviews