User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(222)

222

4 stars

(100)

100

3 stars

(11)

11

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "The command line interface is really well designed and documented. The deamon is light, easy to install in all platform and works really fast"

  • "Absolutely amazing, and super reliable. I'm able to pull down basically any image/machine at any version with almost anything preinstalled (and if I can't find it, I could make it)."

  • "It runs great from a performance standpoint; each container takes mere seconds to setup and start. The command line interface is well designed, with logical statements and commands. "

  • Cons

  • "We do have problems with stuck images occasionally, but otherwise it works nicely."

  • "- At times it can be difficult to get your way around its gigantic number of features - It's easy to use but difficult to master"

  • "The OSX and Windows versions aren't as good as the linux one, but it still worth it."

Browse Docker Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 341 results

April 2021

Aleksandr from JetBrains inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

World changing containers and standard de-facto

Docker was first (I believe) on themarket of containerized software. There was a lot of talks that it is nothing more than an interface to unix cgroups and that docker has no future, this is just hyped piece of software. Time proved them wrong. Docker became a standard solution, participated in Open Container Initiative and while fully comply with all the OCI requirements, docker is used much widely. Container solves library/dll hell - that means that you may have two application that require incompatible libs running on the same computer without any problems. Applications are separated, they can't affect each other, their resource consumption may be tuned using docker tools. You may build proof of concept wiring containers into a single docker-compose and have the whole stack running here. Multi stage build allows to build software which does not have access to any secrets used during build step. You may use tons of software without installing it, just by running them in the docker.

Pros

Great documentation. Easy to use. Exists on any OS and platform you may need it (doesn't work with latest ARM Mac yet, but I believe this is a matter of time). Allows to you to use any software / platform / solution you want without actually installing it on your computer. Docker-compose may ran the whole stack right on your laptop and multistage builds takes care of safe software building. Free docker registry on top of that. Tremendous amount of how-to.

Cons

Some functionality behaves differently depending on platform. For example - mounted volumes. Some of issues related to file permissions stays there for at least few years. Internal volumes can not be extracted and moved to another computer easily, which somehow defeats it's purpose. Doesn't play well with WSL/WSL2 and especially if you pair it with build in kubernetes.

Reasons for Switching to Docker

Requires way less resources, easy to setup, doesn't really affect network setting, less intrusive.

August 2020

Matthew from Think Bixby Technologies, LLC

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

The lean virtual machine tool we've been waiting for

Feels like a bit of a learning curve coming from using VirtualBox, vagrant, etc., but when you get that first cluster of virtual environments running interacting apps you know how worth it it was

Pros

Docker works on every platform and makes it simple to match production and development systems. It's similar to older virtual machine and VM management tooling, but much more lean and 100% open source.

Cons

Getting started can be intimidating. While it's worth the time invested, development teams accustomed to working directly on their own hardware or with traditional virtual machine tools will have a bit of a learning curve.

Reasons for Choosing Docker

It's faster, smaller and scales more quickly and easily

Reasons for Switching to Docker

Lean, fast, efficient tool

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

Fundamental for modern software services

We are running a fleet of microservices on Amazon ECS and Docker is part of our development, testing, staging and production environments.

Pros

It's become a de-facto standard and there are a lot of resources online to learn everything, from basics to the really advanced tidbits.

Cons

Being a very complex system, sometimes it's hard to keep track of all the parts. Is runc part of Docker? What about containerd? What's moby? The fact that operating system packages with the same name include different things doesn't help. Sometimes there are also subtle bugs that take days to track and attribute to Docker.

December 2020

Carlos from OneLogin

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

How to demo a MVP

I like the problems Docker solves in my case, I work in some specific subcomponent which lives in a docker container, so I usually don't have to worry about the impact other than the parts where the component will interact with others, but that is not usually docker related stuff other than ports and shared storage.

Pros

I find very convenient the way I can ship a demo by creating a docker image with all what is needed inside. I am more tended to the idea of a container serving a single purpose, but in much cases docker can be used to package and ship all that is needed to have a not complex MVP, even if it was complex several docker images can be built, but talking about simple cases I found docker easy of use by the final audience, they do not need to know all the details or have strong skills, just a few instructions and they are ready to see the demo. And also in some more complex cases, end users with more deep technical skills simply ask for a docker image with specific requirements, since they know how to connect the pieces and they have some infrastructure in place they can easily plug in the docker image.

Cons

IMO the user experience for a developer is more easy in linux based environments than in Mac environments, or it also could be that the development environment provided by some companies is some kind attached to mac computers but then on the testing, deployment, and production environments is more linux based. So the experience is not kind of uniform in my opinion.

September 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Better DevSecOps with Docker

Containerized application is inevitable. All software companies/departments will be used Docker to ship applications. Docker can be managed by command line. So, you only need to memory a few scripts. I strongly recommend docker. However, docker security is another issue to be handled.

Pros

First of all, it's very easy to use. If you have experience on powershell or other batch scripts, you can handle docker command perfectly. Docker changed the world deeply. Container architecture is certain to happen all devops processes. With Docker, software development process and shipping are quite simple. It's because Docker provide a standard file system and command scripts.

Cons

If you are Microsoft Windows 10 user, you need to install specific version of windows that supports Docker. When you decide to use Docker, you have to buy a security application to secure docker file and docker images, containers. So, it is another cost.

Reasons for Choosing Docker

Docker is commonly use and some part of it is open source. It brought a standard shipping.

January 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Best way to containerization

Docker is very useful for us it saves the cost upto 50% and continous integration and new features are on time after implementing docker

Pros

Docker is new sensation in the world of software development we can easily ship our code and applications in a bundle with their binaries and dependency so anyone can run application easily. Docker is the best way to ship your application on multiple platform with less resources.

Cons

Docker is not available for windows we have to download vm to run it on windows

Reasons for Choosing Docker

It comes with docker hub where millions of images are available and it is easy to use

January 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2021

Run your micro-services on widely accecpted runtime - Docker

We have our major applications running in micro-service architecture and Docker is the main framework which is heavily being used within our organisation. We not only use it within our organisation but also, for our client base development as well. It is highly reliable and with machines with above-average configuration, this tool framework seamlessly. Also, with its Kubernetes cluster functionality, it offers huge benefits for testing in a sandbox environment.

Pros

1. Widely accepted by the micro-services community. 2. A very large community is supporting docker which helps you to find a solution to any problem in minutes. 3. Provides a single-node Kubernetes cluster which can solve major problems of having Kubernetes for small scale companies. 4. Seamlessly integrate with Windows/ Linux command line, and can directly be accessed by referencing its libraries.

Cons

1. Heavy consumption of memory. 2. It computer goes low on memory, Docker instance fails, which in turn fails all your application running on the framework. 3. Takes a while to boot up, which can be made better by increasing the efficiency of the program. 4. Managing Docker settings at times becomes a challenge because of highly hidden options. It can be fixed by taking surveys from the users and refactoring the UI elements.

March 2021

User Profile Picture

Ramindu from Virtusa Corporation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Docker is the quintessential containerization tool

Our organization uses Docker to standardize environments for local workstations and remote deployed environments. It has enabled project teams to make sure issues with the environment in deployed applications are minimized.

Pros

Docker is the most popular container tool that helps teams set up and mange environments to run their applications without having to resort to VMs. It provides a simple interface to create environments and test, deploy and maintain applications within local, on-prem or cloud infrastructure. It has an extensive community that builds Docker images, pre-built environments that support for a variety of operating systems, programming languages and tools.

Cons

Docker can have a somewhat steep learning curve and is hard to explain to someone who doesn't know about it. Some of the more nuanced configuration options can be hard to find and harder to understand for newcomers. The support for Windows environments is also not as extensive as it could be.

February 2021

User Profile Picture

Mandeep from Verizon

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Docker

There are lot of issue which we faced before docker, but After we started using Docker we were able create any number of environment very easily and issue free and application are very light weight easy to share our application to tester.

Pros

Docker is a very awesome tool to deploy containerized application. Docker is very helpfull while working in very big team. Docker make it very easy to deliver code or application as container. Docker makes environment setup very easy as it allows platform-dependency. Docker help to build, run any application anywhere .Using Docker we can create our images and we can push those images in Docker hub using Docker we can run our application as a lightweight, portable, self-sufficient container anywhere.

Cons

One of the major issue I have faced with docker is, it is very difficult to run a Docker container build for windows on other operating system like Linux.

February 2021

User Profile Picture

Rabinson from Diagonal Technologies Pvt. Ltd.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

No dependency conflicts

It has helped me with the project set up in no time. Just build the images and you are up and running. However, the port mapping confusions and the volume issue is hectic but overall it is a great tool.

Pros

The best thing about docker is we can sync installed dependencies in all the server and easily make the app run easily without tedious configuration setup as the docker handles all. Working local and deployment on dev, staging, or production servers is super easy.

Cons

I always tend to have this issue of volume with docker so I have to remove the unused or orphan files which feel a bit of tedious work.

October 2020

MANAS from Lowes

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2020

Setup your app environment ones and use it everywhere, Containerisation helps improve Prodectivity

Docker improves your developments productivity, it reduces the overhead of code deployment , and reduces environment based failures, because if the application is Dockerised then the Env will be the same everywhere, i had a really good experience with Docker

Pros

Docker will help increase the productivity and drastically reduce the development cost, using Docker we can setup anything that is needed, any number of services and machines in the virtual space, can do routing and load balancing between them, They have a really great documentations, tutorials to get started with, and we have a docker hub where all the native images are available, like mysql, psql, ubuntu much more, we can create our own image , its jus the way you set up your machine in reality , wright all the command steps that you will do in a file, the docker will set it up, Now the Docker team is providing free interactive portals in docker hub , with which you can play around inside a virtual space console , try out different things on there and write the commands that worked for you in your docker file, The software s free i suppose, this free version suffices all the use-cases, You can also use the Docker in production , set up a cloud machine and install docker in it, and start your docker using your docker compose file , its as simple as that , write your setup script ones and use it anywhere and everywhere, this reduces your cost and management, without docker you may be using many cloud machines and services like one for the application, DB, LB, etc, now with docker you can do it all under one machine the new Dev who joins in your team can set up his dev env easily just by installing Docker and start working effectively, test changes without deploy.

Cons

You should have a good local machine to run heavy Docker containers, it its a simple container with one or two virtual containers then its fine , but to run a complex setup you need a really high configuration system , else it will be really slow and will reduce the productivity of the developer, it has a big learning curve to Dockerise a application, it is easy to use , but not easy to develop the containers , means initial development to setup docker needs good understanding of both docker and your application infrastructure

May 2019

Jeff from Silver Peak

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Docker Swarm makes management of cluster super easy

I lover the philosophy behind the design of Docker and Docker Swarm. As a developer, my experience with using Docker was great and takes a lot of headaches away from the developer.

Pros

Docker Swarm makes setting up a server cluster very easy. With just a few commands, can setup a cluster and start deploying services. Compare to Kubernetes, it reduces the time to setup things like the Api server, the cluster db, and other components. Everything just came with the tool.

Cons

Not a lot of discussion about Docker Swarm compare to Kubernetes. Community is a lot smaller. Not a lot of cloud services available using Swarm other than Docker Enterprise. Pretty much all the cloud service providers have Kubernetes support.

Reasons for Choosing Docker

We need to deploy a lot of on premise clusters on customer's servers. Compare to the alternatives, Docker Swarm is easy to setup, and easier to maintain. Less learning curve for customers. Also, the clusters we need are also not as complicated, and not a lot of customization that other alternatives provide is required.

September 2019

Gareth from IO

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Great addition to our workflow

Docker has given us a reliable way to reproduce development environments across multiple work machines as well as on production environments. It's sped up our process of getting new developers setup on projects as well as starting new projects knowing that they'll just work. It's been a great boost in our efficiency to take on new projects.

Pros

Docker is great for setting up development environments for projects and making sure everyone is working on the same basis. That includes locally as well as in production environments. Once you have you have your configurations set it becomes trivial to drop it into any project with similar requirements. It's very flexible in what it allows you to do. It definitely speeds up the on-boarding of new team members.

Cons

Docker works 99% of the time. It's fairly reliable. Every now and then things won't work for no reason. It usually ends up being some or other obscure issue. Luckily enough if you search hard enough there's usually someone that has experienced the same problem and has managed to resolve it. There's thankfully many ways to tackle a problem when it comes to Docker.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Containers are really helpful

It's a great way to test new technologies in a robust manner.

Pros

Ability to spin up software with just a few clicks. Initial setup doesn't require to much experience. Downloading new images and containers creation gives a lot of joy. It's a great way to perform POC and experiments as if they appear to be invaluable the removal from the device is simple and doesn't leave any orphaned dependency packages. Scaling services through Swarm allows to greatly improve performance of applications that can work in such environment. There is a huge variety of systems on which it could be run.

Cons

By default the docker service storage is kept on /var (on linux systems) which doesn't usually tend have a lot of free space. The amount of documentation available could be overwhelming in the beginning. If you would change the storage driver on an existing docker environment you will loose all your containers and images. If you would like to keep them you need to import and export them manually. There are some security concerns and it's easy to expose yourself if you don't know what you're doing.

October 2018

User Profile Picture

Raúl from XSales Mobility, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Dockertize your platform right now!

All my current infrastructures of my clients are based on docker, I have been able to create database clusters with maria DB and several nginx using docker, likewise I have been able to create API's and micro services with containers that I have created myself

Pros

Docker has proven to be a fairly efficient and stable virtualization platform for productive environments of high stress and traffic flow. The compatibility with other work tools is almost 100% guaranteed and also allows testing and deployments at speeds never before reached by infrastructure departments. One of the most significant advantages is the large repository of images of applications that are available in the docker hub. Without a doubt, of the best tools that I use in my day to day

Cons

It takes great knowledge of linux and infrastructure to use docker, it is not a tool for beginners, if you do not have the basic knowledge of a LAMP or LEMP for example, you can not deploy a disconnected application in docker, much less create base clusters of data, among many other things.

April 2019

Vandana from Deloitte India

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

OS level Containerization

Docker Enterprise is a leading container platform because of the feature and customization provided by it. We are deploying the multiple client server without any major effort. Docker helps to deliver the release of the product with better compliance. High level encryption of images and communication between cluster make the container secure.

Pros

Docker is a powerful tool for containerization. It gives the platform for build, test and deploy application using container. The Docker container helps in adopting the DevOps methodology that helps in rapid release. Docker container helps to isolate the application which helps to execute the consistent test results. Dockers helps to optimize the development and operational process. Docker Enterprise provides a one stop solution to all problems from its dashboard.

Cons

Docker daemon configuration for container and images is a tricky part and it should be simplified. Managing the Swarm and Kubernetes for orchestration is a complex part with using Docker API.

May 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

I run containers for projects, and tools, like discourse, Docker is simplifying my life!

Time saving, money saving, two great benefits !

Pros

The community is highly reactive, the software is stable, can be easily used, even if your are not a technical guru. Docker simplify usage of tools, apps. No more worries about which version of this lib, or this framework to install and run an app. It is easier to try things too, you get the container, you run it, and you test, no more complicated install, no more OS breakage because you have to install some new version of a lib who break the rest of your setup ! Last but not least, it's simple to deploy and use with some majors cloud hosting, it is a great tool for starting businesses, and you have can scale if you need to, start small and save money, and if you need, go big.

Cons

You have to choose or manage well your container, the main trouble to my point of view is to have too old container, meaning you need to update your operating system to have the more recent security feature, if you have an old operating system you are vulnerable. People often don't think about that aspect, and the risk is to have lot of apps running on old OS.

December 2019

Manjunath from Accenture

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

Docker - for your everyday shipping (container) needs!!

We have our various products interacting with each in the form of microservices which has been possible due to dockerization. Its the backbone of the hosted infrastructure as it helps to build this apps, distribute and deploy them predictably every single time.

Pros

1. Containerization - this wasnt even a word before Docker made it a household verb for every developer. Allowing multiple services to be independent of each other, in other words to form a microservice by virtualization at the VM level. Its a Linux ship! 2. Rapid Deployment - developer can simply push the build and deploy happens atuomatically 3. Images are easily available in plenty for consumption 4. Intuitive command line interface 5. Its predicatable - Works exactly the same way on any OS platform and that augurs well for enterprise needs

Cons

1. Breaking a monolithic application into microservices is tough and hence, dockerization of an existing application can take some amount of investment 2. A bit of learning curve if not hands-on with linux. 3. High load throughput can be troublesome at times, docker hangs in such situations 4. Debugging can be a challenge sometimes 5. Backward compatibility with various Docker versions is also spotty. 6. Docker can be an overkill if the application is already on Amazon lambda, Elastic Beanstalk

May 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Powerful, essential, awesome

Pros

Docker provides an efficient way to build, run and manage containerized applications. Also, it integrates with Docker Hub, which contains tons of built-in images that can be directly used or as a starting point to build our own images. Additionally, Docker is lightweight, very stable and fast, so it is too easy to get a complex dev/testing environment up and running in seconds, but also it can be used in production environments. It includes different tools like Docker Compose and Docker Swarm to ease even more complex tasks to orchestrate our applications. Moreover, tons of products/services provide integrations with Docker, such as Jenkins, Bamboo, Amazon Web Services, Datadog, etc.

Cons

The learning curve is high at the beginning and after having been working for a while with the software, there are still tons of options to explore and to work with.

March 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Powerful, flexible, and scalable to enterprise-level implementations for virtualized applications.

Pros

High adoption rate across multiple platforms and major vendors. Microsoft and major linux flavors support Docker. Lots of documentation and deployment guides online, and plenty of IT professionals have adopted the tool. Lots of contributors are providing images and documentation to get you started with many popular applications and software. Great scaling design that considers running Docker across many different servers, and does a good job at making the deployment generic, where an Administrator does not have to hard-code specific file paths for a given server. But rather, they can generalize their deployment commands to work on many servers. Flexible shared resource design with volumes makes sharing config file across multiple containers/servers easy.

Cons

Be careful with images provided by the community. Some images have poor documentation, or function strangely. Be sure to test each image. Recommendations to some command syntaxes may cause some confusion for new administrators. Ultimately, these revisions create options for and admin, but I found it a bit confusing determining which options were the best practice, and for what reasons.

January 2019

Gurleen from Tech Mahindra

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Docker - Configuration Management Tool for Containerization

Most interesting and powerful thing of Docker is the integration with the Visual Studio, TeamCity, AWS and other services and software. Scalability of the service is also high. We deploy the 100+ servers of same project in just eight hours earlier which used to take four to five days.

Pros

Docker is the DevOps Tool that is used to for Containerization. It's the best tool to automate the build, Deploy and Release Management. By using it,the risk of human error is eliminated. It can be integrated with any operational infrastructure or multiple cloud. It boosts the agile process with DevOps methodology. The enterprise level of security delivers the application with a protected way. Best thing in it is Docker simplify the development process with the automation with the help of containerization.

Cons

In every release of docker, we need to check and test the compatibility of our product before implementing it, which is totally unplanned. It should come with more brief documentation as the learning curves are sharp. The integration of some cloud based services is not stable.

October 2018

Sanchita from Amdocs

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Docker - A Containerization holder

Docker is making my life easy as now I don't have to worry about deployment on my multiple servers and resolving the issue 'Working on my BOX' as its always testing code in truly independent environment. Containerization is helping use in high availability, by this we have achieve zero outage to our server because of deployment.

Pros

Docker is one of the best containerization application. To achieving continue integration it's very helpful. Managing the deployment container and images is now easy with Docker. Docker help to do the things for you by automation. Once you configure a Docker in your environment it will make sure that issue will not occur due to development or production environment. It also very helpful in deployment and virtualization. The best thing in it is secure and transparent as it's source code is open.

Cons

As docker can be configure in all environment and architecture, but it is sometime very challenging to solve the particular issue that is making hurdle in configuring it. Documentation is also limited as it is not covering all the aspects or environment in which we or our organization is working. I feel they should also provide the some enterprise feature like image management in open source version also.

June 2019

Steven from Untold Studio

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Remove Excuses

Pros

Docker is like a virtual machine, where your computer is running a different environment but it's somehow not a real virtual machine, it's like a "slice" of functionality. The basic idea is, everyone can develop in the exact same environment (always CentOS version 6.2, PHP version 7.1.2, Nginx version blah blah blah). Theoretically, you'll never run into the "well it works fine locally!" problem. An example when doing website development, and there is frustration when one Mac has a bunch of weird stuff installed that makes it hard for the developer to get the site up and running. With Docker it's like, "okay run these commands and it'll spin up an environment that's identical to what's working for me" and not screw up your current Mac settings. If you've already got a `docker-compose.json` file ready, that's a good part of the battle, then it's just `docker-compose up`.

Cons

Docker takes quite a bit to spin up and manage (but it seems like the world is moving to Docker). Major dislike is how much research has to be done when I often find myself asking "wait, why is my hard drive so full of old Docker images? why didn't they get deleted automatically?" and having to google stuff like that. Also, wrapping your head around your host (Mac) vs container.

October 2019

kalaiselvan from Bahwan cyber tek

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Docker Review

Overall, it is a great tool for containerizing the application which avoid the unnecessary time spends for the deployment of application across the environment.

Pros

Docker is certainly a important tool for Containerized application and Devops Process. It is very simple and easy to use for moving the application from environment to other environment(i.e like copy and pasting) Creating docker image is very simple and services specifically micro services can be scaled which in turn improves the performance. Docker container is operated with simple batch commands and can write easily for promoting the containers. Docker eliminates the server configuration, cluster configuration with simple commands which eventually reduce the deployment process.

Cons

Mostly docker storage happens on LINUX Box which essentially requires the background knowledge on the Linux Commands. Documentation has to be improved certainly to help beginners.

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Developer and administrator best friend!

Secure and easy way to run thousands micro services.

Pros

Easy to learn, easy to use and most advanced tool to o build, ship, and run distributed applications. Doesn't matter if your running thousand of micro services or just a small home serwer with few web apps - docker is the way to go. It's realy easy to learn how to use it (has great documentation and community) and how to create your own container images. It's wery stable project now and i'm succesfully using it on production enviroment with more than 300 applications. It's great way to improve your infrastracture security by isolating every application in dedicated environment.

Cons

Docker Hub (place where you can store your pirvate container images) is a little pricey. Running private container repository could be challenging.

September 2018

User Profile Picture

Supun from Edhirya IT Private Limited

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Solid product, best DevOps Application

Docker has an extremely adaptable work process in which I work with in situations and in addition portable applications to website pages, it fills in as a virtual machine to copy and recreate its functionalities.

Pros

The best thing about docker will be docker cloud. You can have your application in docker cloud and offer with your colleague or make it open which make it to a great degree accommodating to introduce your application in truly any framework without agonizing over the framework conditions. Heaps of supporters are there in docker cloud.

Cons

Not more documentation about various approaches to send application. Not great documentation about various directions you can keep running on docker-make and their conditions. Some time you feel stuck while taking care of specific issue and you discover no assistance in the web.

April 2020

User Profile Picture

Monish from lowes

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

Docker helps us achieve Product Development's best practises

Had a patchy Experience when i was setting up my Docker Context, after the context setup the development life cycle became easier

Pros

The Virtual Development Environment is auto setup on the local without any overhead time required from the developer which increases the developers development efficiency, Any newly joined employ can setup there Virtual Dev Environment in minutes and start contributing, Docker is quit stable so it can even be used on production, it is comparable with almost all dev tools like DB's etc .. It has a huge community and the Docker images for many other setups are available on docker hub with good documentation, which can be directly used in creating your docker context, Docker caches the images in the local and never download's it again from the hub

Cons

Using a dev application on docker is easy, but however Configuration to setup docker virtual env is very difficult for the beginners, The docker works really slow on mac, but works well on virtual environment, Some images like EMR, Redshift and Snowflake are not available on docker hub

September 2020

ALPER from Easy Software

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

goodbye virtual machines welcome containers

* Before docker, we have to provide the Virtual machine and also make the configurations on the virtual machine but after Docker we do not have to setup those configurations as give the container and make it work .

Pros

* A container based application which eases to make deployment and execution of your program. You do not have to say customer download those and make those configuration at those files. just give the container and he will have the all the application with the working environment in it . I guess it's one of the best invention at this century.

Cons

* PErsistent data storage is not simple at it's described * Unfortunately not all the applications support containers * It does not work with well if your application have lots of graphical features

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

Automate what used to take weeks and careful planning

Pros

I love how testable docker is outside of needing to spin up a new server every time you make a change to a dockerfile build. This way, I can iterate very fast on any changes I want to make and have the benefit of caching old steps in the build to make it even faster locally.

Cons

This is a problem more because we have been using docker for many years, but the offerings have changed recently in terms of how you run docker on Mac vs Linux causing the old instructions of how we used to install the software and VM on our machines (docker-machine) to be outdated. This has caused issues with installing it on newer employees computers but we just need to accommodate ourselves to how the new deployment infrastructure of docker for mac works.

May 2018

Dylan from IXON B.V.

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

Industry standard when it comes to containerizing applications

I am in the process of containerizing our entire architecture. It sometimes is a struggle to get it working, but the parts that are running are so much more stable and scalable.

Pros

It is the most advanced and most mature way to create, deploy and maintain application containers. It has alot of features out-of-the-box, including native container orchestration with Swarm, but there are also a multitude of official and 3rd party plugins to add. The Docker Engine is extremely fast and all commands are built up very logically (if you know a few commands, you can intuit the rest of them very easily).

Cons

There is a bit of a learning curve in using the software. The other downside (which is minor) is that because the software has changed alot in the last few years, the non-official documentation is out-of-date. This means that reading a 3rd party blog post that is only a year old is almost useless. This, coupled with the fact that the official documentation is not great, results in the fact that some advanced features (like inter-container communication) is tricky to get correct.

November 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

The standard container solution in 2020

I use it every time I need to build a microservice architecture. Also, transparently, it runs my apps on Google AppEngine. It also comes in handy when needing to run software with many dependencies that you don't necessarily want to install on your OS.

Pros

Docker is used by millions, meaning that most software you'll encounter supports it out of the box. In addition to that you have their container registry, Docker Compose, and other helpful tools that make using it as frictionless as possible.

Cons

Docker is UNIX software created by people who probably never used a UNIX system. The usage is confusing and non-idiomatic. Moreover the interface is not well thought out - for example the poorly named and frequently confused "exec" and "run" commands.

October 2020

User Profile Picture

Abhinav from OATI

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Docker An Easy Containerization Tool

Docker help in achieving the DevOps methodology with help of quick environment setup for testing and release. After using the Docker in our project we get more time to invert tin performance enhancing rather than managing the environment.

Pros

Docker is easy to configure and easy to deploy. Docker provide isolation to development and testing and that helps in enhancing the product performance. It's written in Go language. The product provide OS-level virtualization. The Docker for windows provide full container management in Windows environment.

Cons

Docker Compose and Docker Swarm are tools that help in orchestration but for Swarm you need to buy it. Even then its totally worth as containerization cut the full project cost drastically.

April 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2021

Excellent software for providing containers for distributed system

I have used it to deploy code and run services and containers have been a satisying experience.

Pros

1. Very easy to deploy for your distributed system. 2. Memory effective and provide ways of clearing dangling docker images. 3. Helps in rapid deployment of code and rollbacks. 4. Provides flexibility to run the services anywhere helping a lot in remote work and cloud deployment. 4. Great for collaboration in heavy pipelines and local testing before deployment in cloud. 5. Great command line options for various features and functionalities.

Cons

1. Fast updates lead to stale documentation which can cause issues. 2. Switching to Docker containers can be a steep learning curve and can be time consuming.

March 2019

Jay from SAIC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Indispensible tool in the world of DevOps and System Administration.

Docker has made managing services in a networked environment even easier to maintain. It has also become essential to streamlining many stages of a continuous delivery pipeline for developing software. I can't imagine working without it.

Pros

Docker is extremely useful and easy to use for building and deploying services in a networked environment. They took a technology that's been around for years and developed a deployment and tooling system for containers that make them a no brainer to use.

Cons

If I have to mention one con is that Docker tends to make you buy into their whole ecosystem of tools almost. This can sometimes be a detriment if you find certain technologies that might not mesh well. However, they have made strides modularizing the tools.

October 2019

Mehmet Raşid from Turkish Airlines

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Airlines/Aviation

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Docker usage experience

Since docker provides you an isolated environment for building, packaging and running your applications it solved it works on my machine problem in our development teams. It also helped us building microservices architecture and CI/CD pipelines

Pros

Docker increased my productivity dramatically by providing tools for building, deploying and running my applications in an isolated environment. You can also download ready to use images from Docker Hub and run complex environments in your development machine in no time.

Cons

Docker is not a beginner friendly tool since you need to learn a few complex concepts like containers in order to get full benefit from it. And you also need to be familiar with command line tools.

June 2020

Caleb from Caterpillar

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Mining & Metals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Great for building code in a different architecture than host OS

I am the lead architect of Docker for our team of engineers. I have designed three different docker containers that our engineers use to develop all of our source code. I developed bash scripts which help for quickly starting/stopping containers without having to know all of the Docker commands.

Pros

Docker is extremely helpful for compiling code for different architectures. We use Ubuntu 18 for the host OS, but also have a Ubuntu 12 and Ubuntu 14 32-bit containers that we use to develop and compile source code within.

Cons

At first, the program is a bit confusing to get the hang of with the use of Dockerfiles.

Reasons for Choosing Docker

We ended up using Docker because the 32-bit OS doesn’t work well on the newer computer hardware.

August 2019

Yasiru from LOLC Technologies

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Being Flexible and portable with Docker

As for an Enterprise, docker saves time and make the workflows easier.

Pros

Docker containers are portable and lightweight. Writing dockerfiles is very straightforward and being able to add other images as layers is really useful and helpful. It's easy to spin up any docker container in matter of few seconds. And also the vast availability in Docker Hub is really useful. Because you can find any software or tool dockerized in there. And the support Docker has all major cloud platforms is very high.

Cons

Learn before use. You have to get a good idea about what docker container is and why we have to use them before you start using them. Because if not using docker containers and getting something done using them is confusing. Also you may ended up with using incompatible docker containers also. Learning curve is steep.

August 2018

Srikanth from SALESFORCE COM INC

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Good Platform for running small size VM's on Machine

Pros

Easy to do POC of any product and get started. This enables us to run multiple versions of OS on the same machine and test our application seamlessly. Easy to bring up a new nodes in case of any failures, as all we need to do is start docker container with old image. It works well in the microservices environment where the services are decoupled. It truly enables us to build docker image anywhere and run anywhere.

Cons

Has a higher learning curve while configuring advanced concepts like network configuration etc. Still in the initial phases and relatively has less user community. Sometimes it may take lot of time to figure out few things like network sharing with host etc.

October 2018

User Profile Picture

Elliott from BPL Marketing

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Revolutionised the industry!

I can now share projects between colleagues and friends extremely easily and it has enabled me to automate quite a lot of my deployment process. I'm glad I learned how to set up servers before docker became a thing, but docker is still my first choice every time I start a new project.

Pros

It gives developers the ability to share projects with zero set up time - all you need to do is download a project and docker will read the dockerfile and spin up the appropriate servers locally for you. It couldn't be any easier from a developers perspective.

Cons

It has a steep learning curve, especially for non-developers - this is however pretty much unavoidable with command line tools and once you have learned it you can never go back.

October 2019

User Profile Picture

Fabian from GSK

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Docker for testing software

We were trying to isolate applications without the need of hosting them on different VM's. Docker was ideal for that. We could separate applications on one VM in different containers.

Pros

Once setup the number of existing images that can be used is overwhelming. We used docker to test software from different vendors who provide there software as docker images. It's really easy to get familiar with it and once you start building your own images and containers it will give you a lot of fun.

Cons

The security aspect of the available docker images. If you don't check you might download and use containers that might contain rootkits or malicious software.

February 2021

Tigran from Information Technology and Services

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Docker for Devs

Overall docker help developers to deploy and set project on local env in short time and solves problems that happen during setting project on different OSes, so my experience is using docker is good.

Pros

This is the best soft to solve "works on my machine problem". The only thing i know for using services separately and implementing microservice architecture. It helps Developers to deploy project in local environment without doing any manual configuration. It saves a lot of time.

Cons

Well there are some issues I've faced with docker, sometimes it does not work properly on windows, but not always, so I couldn't mention any other disadvantages for docker.

March 2018

Joaquin from Roche

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

I used docker client in Mac and Linux it's really a great piece of FLOSS

Pros

It allows you to have a ready to go dev environment which could be more realistic than other solutions, without the need to fetch things from internet every time you need it to work. You can also customize a dev working space with all the tools and configurations you may need to be able to start working, simplifying a lot the bootstrapping of a development environment. The online repo of containers is amazing and has a lot of FLOSS ready to deploy on any platform that supports them

Cons

It's incredible powerful so it's also hard to comprehend completely. Expect at least 1 month of heavy work and doc reading to master this tool.

August 2018

Gurusharan from The Alpha Developers

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Scale your Application As Docker Containers

Pros

Docker lets you have convert your regular application into a highly portable application which can be scaled very easily. Docker can run directly on Linux kernal, which makes it independent of the host machine's environment making it easy to port. You can run any number of containers based upon machines capabilities, all having completely separate environments. You can use any container management system to manage your application using docker.

Cons

The only issue i found in docker is the process of docker image creation which takes much amount of time. Also even for a single line change of code, whole image needs to be rebuild.

September 2020

Sanchit from Zelle

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Best framework to containerize applications!

We had been using the conventional virtual boxes to deploy our applications before which was a lot of overhead to maintain configs in each box and allocate resources. With docker, containerization of our micro services was extremely easy as each service image was easy to deploy and run anywhere without the overhead of high resource allocations and seem less integration between the APIs for end to end testing.

Pros

We shifted from virtual box deployments to docker containerizations recently. Docker is much more efficient with resource allocations and much easy to use to containerize a micro service. We were easily able to test our APIs end to end with the use of docker now since it shared resources on need basis and did not require a large amount of resources to be blocked like in the case of virtual boxes on local.

Cons

Docker dashboard UI can be improved. Currently a lot of configurations for the containers have to be done from command line, the UI can be improved to implement those rather.

November 2019

User Profile Picture

Danilo from VAGAS.com

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

A complex tool with easy commands

Besides not so easy to begin with, it's a great tool to use during the development cycle, because it frees you of the need to install many dependencies, like databases and other systems that your application will interact with

Pros

Docker has made it easier to use dependencies during the development cycle, by "abstracting" the installation of many tools, like databases and queue systems, for example, so you don't have to worry about how to install them in your specific operating system

Cons

Some commands outputs could be more verbose, showing the ID of thew containers that are using some image, for example, when you are listing your existing containers.

May 2018

Maxim from OneBar Inc

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Used both Docker and a paid version of Docker Cloud - very satisfied!

Incredibly simplified DevOps

Pros

Docker is a beautiful piece of engineering that solves portability and scalability in the cloud. There are few other competing containerizing solutions, but Docker has the absolutely biggest community and it helps a lot. Every tool, example, tutorial, workaround - anything you can find on the internet. Docker cloud provided us with a registry + some compute power to build our images for very cheap.

Cons

Docker Inc is experiencing some turbulence on the business side, so the project future is a bit unclear. But at least the open-source part should be fine, not sure about the paid services.

June 2020

User Profile Picture

Yana from AKA

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Docker is the best tool for deploying everything you need for make project work

Docker do the main job for you!

Pros

I run docker everyday for different projects at my company, so basically what this software do is to configure environment that needed for your project, it follows by instruction that you create and just go string by string automatically install and set up different additional tools which required for your project. So the main benefit from Docker - its stable and super fast, saves your time.

Cons

Didnt find any negatives, i think its the best one for configuration and doing all stuff that you dont want to spend time on, docker will do it for you.

March 2019

User Profile Picture

Aayush from Infosys ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

Awesome way to Package and ship application

containerization of the solutions developed and deployment in client environment has become easy and fast. Saves lot of effort in setting up of environment in clients machine

Pros

The containerization is one the best thing it provide plus docker hub. solves problems of a developer and also deployment for a software professional. Management of docker images are simple and can be done by any developer. Security and community support is good. Saves lot of effort of a softwares developer

Cons

Previously it was platform dependant on linux but now support windows 10. So earlier windows support was an issue

March 2018

Yasmany from The Primos NYC Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Best container runtime daemon

Environment isolation for development, easy of deployment

Pros

The advantages of using docker from development to production are a lot. As a developer you can isolate your environments allowing you to run different versions of the same software without colliding. As ops you can now easily provision and pack your software for easily delivery and deployment on any OS that supports docker. Docker helps easy the hard line between dev and ops

Cons

Recently their strategy have turn from 100% open source focused to be more company focused enhancing docker enterprise and leaving docker community a bit more in the back

August 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

the standard for containerizing applications

Good experience, solid product.

Pros

Docker made it VERY EASY to build, deploy, and run containers. They have a great set of tools and ecosystem around the docker runtime. The container format is very portable and can be uploaded to the dockerhub public registry or your own private registry. The main engine is opensourced via the containerd and runc projects.

Cons

Sometimes installation can be tricky based on the operating system chosen. For running production apps, we've seen docker fail which is why you need a container orchestration system to manage the deploy of apps.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 341 reviews