User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(17)

17

4 stars

(9)

9

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse Helix Core Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -23 of 27 results

May 2020

User Profile Picture

Dominic from Lionbridge

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Games

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Hard to master

Perforce is great, when you master it. It becomes a very powerful and useful tool once you know how to use it.

Pros

Perforce is the perfect software if you want to work with a team remotely on the same project. In video game development, you could have 500 people working on the same game at the same time. Perforce allows everyone to work on specific things within the project from their own computers.

Cons

Perforce's user interface is very complicated to understand and to master. Many people that I know, including me, make a lot of mistakes after and there is not enough information online to figure it out.

August 2021

Matthew from Gilson, Inc

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2021

Solid easy to use source control

We use Helix Core to store everything related to software - source code, artifacts, design documents, tests, test results, etc. It handles everything we throw at it with ease. In over 15 years of using Helix Core, we have not had any issues with data integrity, speed or storage.

Pros

The software is hosted by our company, is easy to manage, easy to maintain and does it's job. The primary focus for the tool is source control. While Helix Core allows for integration with other applications, it has remained true to being first and foremost a world-class source control management tool.

Cons

Remote depots were slow and confusing, though that has seen much improvement in the past few years. Setting up the remote depots was not difficult in the final analysis, but getting our remote contractors to manage Helix was problematic. We would use remote depots again if the need arose, but internet speed increases, remote clients can just VPN into our network.

Reasons for Choosing Helix Core

Simplicity and check-in control. We migrated from VSS to Helix with no issues. A decade later, we tried TFS and were shocked by the complexity. We have a small team using source control (about 20) and do not have the resources for a full time SCM admin. Git was not difficult, but Helix was faster with the benefit of being network hosted.

October 2017

Michael from DELL

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2017

Easy to download and easy to work with.

Ease of use.

Pros

All files are arranged neatly and in order for easier access. I find the information on all files to be up to date and time stamped according to when they were last edited.

Cons

I had to manually set up my own workspace folder. Again once this was set up correctly the features seen in the depot folder are available in my workspace.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

best source control software around

i've been using this product for almost 20 years, and i'm not planning to change any time soon. it does what i want. it's pretty easy to use. it can do just about anything you need it to do. the company stands behind their product, and they support it very well. what more needs to be said.

Pros

i have been using this product (both as Helix and Perforce) since 2000, and it's wonderful. it has just about every feature you could want. on those rare occasions when i had to contact their support department, i got answers immediately, and whatever the problem was, it was resolved very quickly. over the years, there was only one thing i wanted that the software couldn't do, but i easily created a workaround that did exactly what i needed.

Cons

several years ago there was a feature called "windows explorer integration". that feature has gone away in the more recent versions, which is too bad, as it was quite useful. there are other ways to do the same thing, but it was a nice feature to have around.

May 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Helix

Helix is used in the main big studios to share files in a project. And is very important to learn and understand well this software before working in the industry.

Pros

Perforce is used in a lot and studios and also used in many 3D animation school. You can share large document/ modify them and post them back in the project

Cons

It could get confusing , there aren't tutorials and you can easily erase files in a important project. without a good internet connection transfering file could take alot of time

Reasons for Choosing Helix Core

Helix is used in the main big studios to share files in a project.

October 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2017

Great tool, easy to use but missing some important functions like searching capabilities and sorting

It is a good source control program

Pros

Easy to use, has most common features intuitive. I like most the revision graph that assists in finding the history of a file.

Cons

Search capabilities are poor. There is not enough filtering capabilities while searching for files, jobs, Change Lists or any other entity. I would also expect the ability of more complex searches to combine filters. e.g. search all jobs/Change lists by a certain user for a specific branch. Such option does not exist.

December 2018

User Profile Picture

Wesley from Ubisoft Toronto

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Games

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

A powerful tool once you learn how to use it

My overall experience has been both using it for testing and software development. On on hand, I will occasionally be tasked to look at previous revisions to locate when a bug was introduced in our software. On the other hand, I also upload my own work to our repository, as a part of the project.

Pros

What I like most is how powerful it is when it comes to moving between revisions. Even in huge projects, it is not difficult to revert back to and older, or newer, version of your project.

Cons

While this software is powerful, it is also difficult to use. It can take a lot of time and practice, and even some mistakes, before you fully grasp what the software can do.

October 2017

User Profile Picture

Shih from Extron Electronics

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

Helix Core Review

Pros

the GUI interface with side-by-side compare is very useful. the shelve feature is also something better than git stash

Cons

I had a hard time install p4 command line version in Ubuntu 14. https://www.perforce.com/downloads/helix-command-line-client-p4 it downloaded the website index.html, not any installer file it might be better to support apt-get for ubuntu version. Or have the app in the Ubuntu marketplace

October 2017

User Profile Picture

Ann from Citrix Systems, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

High quality product with new features being added continually

Pros

Excellent control at file level, easy tracing of history, multi-platform support, good UI interface. We've had hundreds of developers using it for thousands of lines of code in hundreds of branches over many years and been very happy. We've had very good support.

Cons

It is difficult to rename or move files without causing issues for merging. I hear our enterprise license is very expensive.

October 2017

User Profile Picture

Ashish from Ixia Network Visibility Solutions

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

I love properties of perforce like finding differences, merging, code review capabilities and UI

Pros

File comparison between different versions. Labeling and branching. Filtering with different user names, dates, and changelists.

Cons

Merging should be more intelligent. I get sometimes unwanted changes also merged when automatic merge is on. The merge UI is not so great.

September 2017

JAMES from ICAT

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2017

I have grown accustomed to this software.

Peace of mind for source control. Being able to roll back changes.

Pros

I like the Eclipse plugin. Branch history display is fairly intuitive. Merging tool works pretty well.

Cons

Sometimes something will go wrong with a check-in and your files will get locked. Eclipse requires restart to reconnect to eclipse plugin. Eclipse perforce client does not remember my password. With the upgraded perforce Helix client some of my changelists are now indicating different colors (blue and black) and have become difficult to resolve. The eclipse plugin does not recognize added files.

September 2017

Liang from Qualcomm

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Hardware

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

Build and Manage Complex Software Across Its Entire Lifecycle

It helps me manage all digital content'even large files'in a single repository, and delivers files quickly to large, distributed teams.

Pros

It's amazing to use Helix Visual Client (P4V) on different OS platform with similar user experience, really like perforce's strong notion of a changelist.

Cons

It would be expensive for small & medium scale project. If the data infrastructure is loosely bonded (there is off-line time), svn rocks. You can do a lot even if the server would not be reachable. Perforce essentially requires an always-available server connection.

September 2017

Thomas from Diamond Game

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Gambling & Casinos

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2017

Fairly easy to use

We are transitioning to use test track as our primary management system for releases. It helps keep track of everything with the releases.

Pros

Requirements documents have made running through our test cycles must faster. Easy to create test cases off the requirement docs my company creates. I also like the ability to regenerate test runs.

Cons

There is no good way for us to 'only' use Helix for releases. We must rely on other ways to track when releases are started, in development, ready for QA, and ready to be deployed. Right now we use folders for only QA, but it isn't ideal.

October 2017

Lars from Eltomatic A/S

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

Very good product. Easy to use. Stable.

Pros

The Perforce diff and merge tool. Very nice way the tool works when merging files, split screen and colors.

Cons

Installing updates or recover the database (we had a server with a defect HDD) is for me a kind of avoiding thing. I have had errors when recovering the P4 server, and in the end skipped the update, waited for the next release, which recovered without errors.

September 2017

Sachin from Abbott Vascular

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2017

Really good tool for maintaining documents and code.

Pros

Integration with C# and Java application - API features. Label feature - to bundle the code Merge and Integrate feature - it is must for teams working in multiple iterations of code. Very easy and intuitive look and feel.

Cons

Renaming of folder looses version history. There got to be some easy mechanism to keep a log of operations on the folder (renamed)

September 2017

Prabhat from Adobe Systems

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2017

Its pretty decent version control software and easy to understand and use.

Pros

File level permissions. Difference against multiple versions of source code. Can work on it while offline. Its centralized to my organization. Very flexible (and partial) checkouts (with customizable workspaces/clients), whereas it only supports full clones

Cons

Somehow I feel that is slower than git and also it takes lots of space in disk. I have to keep track of merges in P4v.

October 2017

Boopathi from Abbott Vascular

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

I have been Perforce Administrator for the last 4 years, the customer service is the best in Perforc

We use this for version controlling and to document our artifacts

Pros

The ease of use and simple user interface is very simple to use. We did not need to explain more about the product to the new users.

October 2017

Derek from Hydropoint Data Systems

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

It just works !!!

Great version control, it always seems to work, developers never complain.

Pros

Easy to use, developers are familiar with Helix Core and are easily able to check files in and out. Great Version Control.

Cons

Sometimes there is latency. Getting new users up to speed takes a bit longer the average. We still have to contact support for some of the administrator tasks.

September 2017

Dave from A & S Computer Services

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

i don't think i would trade this software for anything

it keeps track of everything. i find the labelling feature particularly useful, so you can retrieve all the files (exactly) that went into a particular release.

Pros

i have used other CM systems before Helix. this product has all the features of the others, works on more platforms, and is easier to use.

Cons

sometimes administration can be a little counter-intuitive. there are certain administrative tasks the force you to go from screen to screen to screen to find what you are looking for. also, the upgrade process requires too many manual steps (at least it used to, perhaps that has changed).

October 2017

Roland from Atos

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

There were no real problems yet, everything is just fine

Our development process became much cleaner and smoother

Pros

Easy to use, everything works as described in manuals and I don't know of any user (20 users) having any complaints

September 2017

srinivasa from Cogent Infotech

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

it was awesome and very user friendly

Pros

it was so good very user friendly, especially features like label and conflicts tracking. checkin and checkout features are awesome..

September 2017

Harsh from Advanced Micro Devices

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Computer Hardware

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

Overall good

Good for editing and submitting code.

Pros

Features are good. I found it convenient. I don't have much experience with other competitive tools.

Cons

Sometimes finding a help is difficult online. Would be better if they provide chat session for customer support.

September 2017

Zak from Biofire Diagnostics, Inc.

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

Easy simple and efficient!

Pros

I like that it is easy to understand who has certain documents checked out. The work space is easy to define and use. I enjoy that any file can be put on revision control.

Cons

I dislike how when you switch computers it is difficult to keep the documents check out. I got a new computer and I had to contact the admin to release some documents that I had checked out.

July 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Easy to use website

Pros

Easy to set up a free trial and start using. Website is very detailed to navigate and throughly explains the product.

Cons

Not very useful for real estate which is the field we're in at this time. Product seems great but not for us.

September 2017

Swarna from Guidewire

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

Very easy to use but hangs often

Pros

Easy to use. Most of command line functionality is available via UI.P4 admin allows easy access to creation and deletion of users.

Cons

Hangs often especially p4admin. I use mac. It hanged during a demo which made the demo totally useless. Because of this issue getting difficult to work with only solution seem to be is to kill and restart application.

September 2017

Richard from Digital Dimension

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Motion Pictures and Film

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2017

Mostly setting up Proxy server and troubleshooting basic tcp connection issue

Personnaly nothing just my users that getting the benefits of it :) But for my part minimal maintenance required

Pros

Dont have much of maintenance to do once the initial installation is in place. But straight forward but once you know about it.

Cons

The installation step on windows are not so clear for first time user(installer). The no GUI interface for the configuration of a proxy.

April 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

A great version control product

Pros

We use P4V( helix visual client) in our organisation for version control. Easy to compare files between current and previous versions. Integrating, labeling,creating changelists is easy. UI is user friendly.

Cons

Sometimes i get unwanted/extra characters in my files while merging. Also it is very expensive comparatively.