All Heroku Reviews

1-25 of 299 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Anshuman

Retail, 10,001+ employees

Used less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed January 2022

Great for using for hosting projects

User Profile

Efezino

Verified reviewer

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2022

Easy to use

Heroku is a powerful and user-friendly platform that makes it easy for developers to build, deploy, and manage their applications. While it may not be the cheapest option available, its extensive feature set and flexibility make it well worth considering for any development team.

PROS

One of the key benefits of Heroku is its ease of use. Developers can quickly get started by simply pushing their code to the platform using Git, without having to worry about the underlying infrastructure. Heroku also provides a range of pre-configured build packs and add-ons that make it easy to add additional functionality to your application.Another strength of Heroku is its flexibility. It supports a wide range of programming languages and frameworks, including Ruby, Java, Node.js, Python, and Go. This means that developers can choose the tools and technologies that best fit their needs, without being locked into a specific stack.

CONS

Heroku can be somewhat expensive compared to other PaaS options. Its pricing model is based on the amount of resources (e.g. memory, CPU) used by your application, and can quickly add up as your application grows and scales. Additionally, some developers may find the platform to be too opinionated, as it imposes certain constraints and limitations on how applications can be built and deployed.

Thiago

Higher Education, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2022

Easy to scale PaaS in top of Amazon regions for your own or orgs git projects

Heroku has a friendly UI and set it up very easily with git flow inside a corporation. The way it scales up/down its really intuitive and makes a team work without issues. However, sometimes, the PaaS lacks in display some different regions availability and have a higher cost for private spaces, so need some planning before implementing in your org to check if fits with your needs.

PROS

The way Heroku let you scale up clustered instances using the dynos all through an friendly UI its a really useful feature that makes effortless get your app up and running to handle huge amount of traffic. Also its really simple setup a Review App pipeline created automatically by a git hook which makes easy create versions of the app based in a PR Review or purposed change.

CONS

I think Heroku lacks in display different regions in the free tier and also private spaces. This limit your application for certain regions - if you're planning have a Data Residency and Region availability isn't recommended in my opinion. Also Heroku depends 100% with Amazon availability - once some regions of amazon or ec2 was off last year, the whole panel wasn't able to access. I would suggest have a backup plan with dynos in a different provider to have resilience in third-party providers.

Reason for choosing Heroku

I think Heroku still have an intuitive UI that makes easier for a team manage without go over so much documentation or troubleshooting if something happens. Also the company provide some support and buildpacks for legacy code, like frameworks such as Meteor and different Node versions.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2023

Heroku Review

PROS

For what we use Heroku for, its very good. We were using Heroku as a proxy server and currently with Heroku Dynos for running our apps.

CONS

I think some of the issues we started seeing with Heroku did not have a lot to do with them but I think rather how software development was starting to go, for example we were deploying our API server on Heroku as a proxy and using other platforms for the frontend, but there has been some consolidation recently where a few other tools have started to feel easier to deploy and build on than Heroku.

User Profile

Andres Ernesto

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

Excelent product

good tool, I have had no problems when deploying the backend in NodeJS

PROS

easy to use both when debugging within the tool and deploying a backend

CONS

at the moment I have no complaints about the tool

Reason for choosing Heroku

ease of deployment and adjustable prices

Rafael

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

Excellent for fast-deploy

We ran the first version of our app in Heroku, at the beginning of the company. The smooth and easy operation of heroku, helped us a lot on the initial days.

PROS

Good UX, extremely quick and easy to deploy solutions that need fast go-live. Pricing is simple to understand

CONS

We found that for the early stage of our app, heroku handled it good, but as the app grew and we needed more customization, it lacked some features. Also, there was no Brazil based servers at that time.

Reason for choosing Heroku

All in one solution, easy to deploy, clear understanding of pricing.

Ricardo

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

Deployment of a machine learning as a service

The overall experience were good, I was able to deploy my environment and connect it on an application. I had hard time with libraries imcompatibilities, but it was fixed during the implementation.

PROS

It's graphical resources are very intuitive with easy "step by step" procedures. Their log service helped me go through issues and solve them.

CONS

It could keep a free tier for small business like mine. I just have a POC and I have to pay to use it, as long as I know.

Reasons for switching to Heroku

Because I needed something easier to use and that was affordable.

User Profile

Rohit

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

Excellent Platform as a service provider with good support!

We have greate Experience with Heroku till now, we have deployed multiple Web-apps through Heroky and they all are running smoothly without any issues. i would highly recommend heroku, they also have few service available for free so one can use it to test their system or can use it to test the Web-app performance.

PROS

Heroku is a trusted PAAS provider Available in the market, they support Variety of Programming Languages and databases. one can easily integrate it with any other third party Source control or versioning control software to track the source code and other things. We can use it to deploy modern Web-Application written in various programming languages.

CONS

Heroku is a great service provider till now but it is bit expensive at other side, they provides Quality support though but services could be little cheaper. they supports lots of software and tools but i didnt find the comprehensive Documentation to integrate the tools and services they should add documentation for those.

Filmon

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

A Powerful Application Development Solution

PROS

I like the container security features and also the collaboration features With Heroku, application development has never been this easy

CONS

With Heroku, you only need to have some experience and no issues.

User Profile

Dimitri

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2023

Save time, save money

Heroku is a time and money saver for every startup that needs to deploy fast without having a team for it. We saved invaluable resources just knowing that in one click, everything would keep up to date.

PROS

Heroku lets us avoid the hassle of setting our own servers, configure and update them. It saves a lot of time and enforces good practices.

CONS

The PaaS paradigm can give less flexibility. There are workarounds, but you better rethink how you send mails, store local files or program a CRON.

Stephen

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2023

Great PaaS solution for early stage startups

PROS

It's really easy to get things up and running on Heroku. It is no frills, but also very straightforward. It just works.

CONS

I would love if it had native support for cron jobs. They have apps you can add to support cron jobs, but they are expensive.

Jorge

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2017

Heroku, take control on your server side app deployment!

Heroku is a fast, easy, nice and very reliable place to host your server side apps, node.js and ruby on rails apps works like a charm. I use HEROKU to deploy my apps, it allows me to store logs, run commands on the server side, clone the entire app and create a new environment, add services to my apps such as Sendgrid, Postgres DB and many many other. It also allows you to create pipelines and setup your environment variables in a very easy going manner over the web tools but also there is the CLI that allows you to do all the actions over the console. The overal service experience is great, once you start working with HEROKU, git will be your best friend since it is the way to deploy your apps. It even provides you with many development environments for your app like Swift and any other that have some sort of package manager. Last but not least you can manage your project collaborators and ownership over the web manager so you can create your app and add all the members on your development team in no time or you can create an app for your client and once its finished you can transfer the app ownership to your client. This is by far one of the best services for apps development i'd found in years, it really reduces the development and deployment time, no setup for each app, just the joy of git push heroku master ..... Done

PROS

To get start with the services you just need to create the app in the web manager app, witch makes it super Easy to use, it is super FAST to deploy and run the apps. It is highly scalable, you can start with a free dyno and scale it over the paid plans according to your needs with makes it ver cost efficient. It might replace your git repository but also it is very easy to create several environments for your app in no time with exact clones of it even with environmental variables

CONS

The only one that i can mention right now is that i haven't found a really nice solution for push notifications (i'd like to find something easy going like send grid )

Dushyant

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

Feature rich, easy to setup PaaS

H is a great tool to deploy for small teams and people wishing to host small projects. I connect my Github repos to the platform and it automatically handles much of the build and setup process. It can do better in terms of diversifying its scope of services, rather than just sticking to server hosting

PROS

Heroku allows us to deploy simple full stack applications to the cloud, without us having to go through the complex AWS/GCP/Azure configurations. For pet projects and/or minor applications, it provides a great uptime, fast deployment, CI/CD, database deployment plugins, and good logging mechanisms, so that we developers can focus on the business logic without worrying about configuring our environment

CONS

I faced several issues while setting up simple applications, and the answers to fix them were more like hacks. Its CLI, while useful is prone to bugs and lacks documentation. It provides limited functionality compared to IaaS platforms like AWS.

Isak

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed September 2022

Simple and affordable platform as a service

Heroku allows us to focus on developing actual applications without the need to worry about complex server configuration and networking.

PROS

Ease of setting up new applications and provisioning add-ons. Great user interface for easily managing applications.

CONS

Limitations in application setup makes it unsuitable for large multi-service systems. HTTP requests are limited due to a enforced timeout of 30s.

User Profile

dishant

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2019

Offers great service for server side app deployment

I am using this software to deploy ruby based web apps for our clients. It offers an easy to use and easy to manage web app facility. If the cost of the service is reduced a little bit, I would love to give them full stars. Some business and developers must use this at least once.

PROS

Heroku offers one of the best services to deploy server-side apps. It is a fast, reliable and straightforward way to use apps. I found it very easy and efficient to create different environments for your app. It allows focussing more on the app rather than deploying it. I found it very easy to connect the web app further with the databases. One can easily test or scale any app with the tools provided. It is an excellent alternative of the git since; it gives the ability of version control from the same system.

CONS

When you have to scale up your application, pricing of the service will get pain for you. One limitation which I had noticed is the inability to have direct access to the services. This results in decidedly fewer customisation options for a developer. Some add-ons have an inferior user interface.

User Profile

Christian

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2022

Great Platform as a Service Offering

I use Heroku to deploy and host several web applications I’ve built for clients. Some are PHP & Laravel and some are Python & Django. I make use of the Postgres add on for all of them as well as the Cloudinary add on for a few.

PROS

Push to deploy or build out a full development lifecycle pipeline - Heroku provides all the features you need to make it all easy no matter your processes.

CONS

Teams requires paid tier applications and could be free to make collaboration a little easier. It would also be nice to see a GitLab integration added.

Reason for choosing Heroku

Free tier until I need things paid

Jeff

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2017

I used to love Heroku a lot, and I transferred all of my projects to Heroku, but now I rarely use it

PROS

I love it's simplicity, and it was very cheap for small projects, and easy to integrate a lot of different 3rd party services.

CONS

Heroku was my go to place if I wanted to host a prototype or hobby project. Right now, everything is getting very expensive, and the service is basically the same as 4 years ago. There are basically no new features for individual developers. There are a lot of new features like teams and pipelines for larger projects for companies. It's more revenue driven now but I don't blame them, it makes sense. One thing I think it would be nice to have is, there can be cheaper servers (maybe a separate dyno hours) for front end only apps (just like S3 hosting for static sites).

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

A good plattform for your services

PROS

Heroku's GitHub integration and pipelines make it easy to organize and automatically deploy multiple services and and move them through their stages of development. The fact that you can "promote" a service from staging to production without building/compiling is a game changer for me. Not to mention the large catalog of third party integrations that can be deployed and integrated with services in just a few clicks.

CONS

There are quite significant gaps between the pricings of dynos. If a certain tier isn't enough for you, the next tier may cost more than double.

User Profile

Danilo

Verified reviewer

Internet, 51-200 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2019

Best PaaS to publish apps

Super easy to set up and use, with a lot of plugins, but a little expensive if you grow to much on it

PROS

Super easy to set up and use (with a git-like terminal client), a lot of plugins that enable you to add databases, cache, and some useful stuff to your app just by pointing-and-clicking. You can test any app idea that you have with a real URL in a matter of minutes (if you already have the app, of course...)

CONS

Maybe if your app grows, the prices aren't so low to maintain a big infrastructure, but if money is not your problem than Heroku is the way to go!

Anonymous

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY