User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.58

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4

Value for money

4

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"Heroku provides easy-to-use deployment services for a number of technologies, allowing for rapid prototyping that is easy to share with others."
  • icon"It's great that it supports so many different languages, and the knowledge base and step-by-step tutorials are outstanding."
  • icon"I'm impressed how easy it is to deploy and manage apps in Heroku. There are so many plugins to do pretty much anything you can think of, from databases, to caching, to monitoring, to auto-scaling."
  • icon"This will leave a bad impression on our side projects if potential users were to find out about it after it’s been inactive for sometime."
  • icon"This group refused to use phone, so the limited accessbility was only with email, when they would always pickle us back and forth to differing departments, not finding any solutions for us."
  • icon"Debugging when build failed is kinda hard from UI. Not having control on the machine code runs makes sad of a software engineer."

Browse all Heroku Reviews

  • Have you used Heroku and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 252 reviews

Anshuman

Company size: 10,001+ employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

January 2022

Great for using for hosting projects

User Profile

Ramon

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2019

For all applications

My API and database is in heroku, in free mode, and meets the requirements well. Fully integrated with git, after each commit + push the service is automatically restarted with updates.

Pros

It is highly scalable, starting with a free version and then scaling up as needed. Deploying and Continuing Integration is very useful as well as being integrated with git, keeping your master up to date.

Cons

Sometimes I get confused about the real usefulness of each tab in web configurations, but it is something that is little used, does not disturb.

Reasons for choosing Heroku

price, user-friendly interface, free mode of use, git integration already implemented

Suman

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2020

Heroku is easiest option for deployment.

I'd give 9.5 out of 10 for Heroku. This is the easiest deployment service I have ever seen. Add ons and dyno scaling makes is very good tool. The have nice documentation too in overall.

Pros

It is the easiest option for deployment I have ever seen. And the option for addon is plenty. The option for dyno scaling is easy. Also Review app feature from Heroku is one of the most underrated features for them. We user review the app feature for all pull requests and all QA reviews.

Cons

It is a bit expensive for a starter and low traffic web application. Most of the time debugging is pretty easy with Rollbar and Papertrail logs but those only works when the app already started. If the app cannot start after deployment it gives H10 error which is very generic and does not tell anything about the error.

Reasons for choosing Heroku

Because of the Ease of deployment and review app feature.

Chris

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2022

Hard to beat platform for application deployment

Overall, I love using Heroku and will keep using it as my preference for application deployment. The integration with Terraform and GitHub actions leave me more time to spend writing code.

Pros

Heroku's platform is very intuitive and easy to learn as a developer. The APIs available make it possible to automate lots of the CI/CD pipeline which cuts back on tedious tasks and lets developers have more time for developing. It's also possible to integrate with Terraform for easy and consistent setup between various applications.

Cons

The removal of the free tier is my least favorite aspect. Free tiers are great for proof of concepts and low mileage/hobby applications. It's a great way to get toes in the door, which leads to whole accounts being set up.

Nat

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Banking

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

August 2020

Go Somewhere Else!

Heroku has refused to dialogue despite us giving them several chances over the half of the decade. So they've blown it. So time to say our official good byes.

Pros

Not really anything that stood out too much.

Cons

We have a long list but will give the short story. We are never coming back to this company again for multiple reasons which we addressed to them several times for the past 4-5 years. Employees completely blew us off, and if they even did answer on some rare occassion, they woud send out derogatory and antagonistic communications. This group refused to use phone, so the limited accessbility was only with email, when they would always pickle us back and forth to differing departments, not finding any solutions for us. Although we continued to warn them that if they do not improve their prices, features, and attitude and professionalism, they still ignored us. So a promise is a promise: they are never getting a single email from me ever again, although they still send me antagonistic emails to us, rather than simply helping us- you know, the ones paything THEM for their salaries. They are so lucky to have their jobs still? They don't even deserve to be in the workforce! And to this day, they still insist on sending harassing emails to us despite the fact that we have now officially blocked them TWICE. And they wonder why they don't get respect from us. Treat us like your toilets, Heroku had better believe they will have to suffer the consequences and then some. Trust and respect are earned, not given. Good bye and best of luck to you. Go somewhere else. This group is full of harassers! And that's unethical behavior on their part.

Reasons for switching to Heroku

Reread all the aforementioned.

Dushyant

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2022

Feature rich, easy to setup PaaS

H is a great tool to deploy for small teams and people wishing to host small projects. I connect my Github repos to the platform and it automatically handles much of the build and setup process. It can do better in terms of diversifying its scope of services, rather than just sticking to server hosting

Pros

Heroku allows us to deploy simple full stack applications to the cloud, without us having to go through the complex AWS/GCP/Azure configurations. For pet projects and/or minor applications, it provides a great uptime, fast deployment, CI/CD, database deployment plugins, and good logging mechanisms, so that we developers can focus on the business logic without worrying about configuring our environment

Cons

I faced several issues while setting up simple applications, and the answers to fix them were more like hacks. Its CLI, while useful is prone to bugs and lacks documentation. It provides limited functionality compared to IaaS platforms like AWS.

Vincent

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2022

Free tiers are great to start off with for new developers / integrators.

Pros

Heroku cli ,and ease of attaching resources to 'applications'.

Cons

gets costly with increased dyno units, and higher spec database (postgres).

Reasons for choosing Heroku

Trial stage, and very easy to provision and setup a working application prototype with full CI/CD

Reasons for switching to Heroku

trial and provision a PaaS solution.

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2021

always want to love Heroku, keep getting stuck on like

Pros

Heroku is great for turn keying an app or DB during the early days

Cons

lack of console or the ability to just get a straight shell is always why we leave, project after project

Reasons for choosing Heroku

we tend to use render.com and netlify as we scale and probably will cease using heroku as an MVP or random experiment provider in next year or so

Alessandro

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2022

Very application oriented

Pros

With Heroku, I can deploy my application with no effort! What I need is to write 1 line config file and focus on my application. I like to deploy my application directly from GitHub, then Heroku takes care of the rest!

Cons

The concepts about execution time and price are a bit hard to understand at first.

Reasons for switching to Heroku

Lambda AWS requires too much work to configure the stack/service. Heroku doesn't.

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2022

Most complete PaaS, with most CI/CD tools

Pros

CI/CD tools, pipeline, and collaboration tolls

Cons

The pricing of platform is so expensive, and growth quickly

User Profile

Akshila

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2022

Heroku - Easy way to do developments

Overall good solution.

Pros

This is really easy to use and dyno scaling is really easy to do developments.

Cons

pricing is really high for large applications, most of the time we get H10 error, and hard to fix them but the error is generic.

Thiago

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

May 2022

Easy to scale PaaS in top of Amazon regions for your own or orgs git projects

Heroku has a friendly UI and set it up very easily with git flow inside a corporation. The way it scales up/down its really intuitive and makes a team work without issues. However, sometimes, the PaaS lacks in display some different regions availability and have a higher cost for private spaces, so need some planning before implementing in your org to check if fits with your needs.

Pros

The way Heroku let you scale up clustered instances using the dynos all through an friendly UI its a really useful feature that makes effortless get your app up and running to handle huge amount of traffic. Also its really simple setup a Review App pipeline created automatically by a git hook which makes easy create versions of the app based in a PR Review or purposed change.

Cons

I think Heroku lacks in display different regions in the free tier and also private spaces. This limit your application for certain regions - if you're planning have a Data Residency and Region availability isn't recommended in my opinion. Also Heroku depends 100% with Amazon availability - once some regions of amazon or ec2 was off last year, the whole panel wasn't able to access. I would suggest have a backup plan with dynos in a different provider to have resilience in third-party providers.

Reasons for choosing Heroku

I think Heroku still have an intuitive UI that makes easier for a team manage without go over so much documentation or troubleshooting if something happens. Also the company provide some support and buildpacks for legacy code, like frameworks such as Meteor and different Node versions.

David

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Public Relations and Communications

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2020

Most straight forward git push deployment around

Wonderful developer / DevOps experience. In ~6 years of using the service we've hardly seen any issues attributable to Heroku itself (rather to AWS which they buiding their service on top of).

Pros

Very simple to deploy and configure. Allows developers to manage deployments and serverside configuration without the need for a dedicated DevOps team. Apart from just running applications their Heroku Postgres offering is rock-solid (and last I checked: the largest Postgres cloud deployment in the world).

Cons

- Support for 0 downtime deploys via "preboot" is too rudimentary. Preferably it would verify that the deployed code actually managed to boot before routing traffic. Also no built in support for canary deploys. - Could use more dyno types (ie. instance types) to fit more use-cases. However introducing more options would also complicate the product and business model so understandable that it's kept simple. - Somewhat overpriced. - For security focused enterprise organisations the lack of fine grained security settings might be an issue.

Reasons for choosing Heroku

Ease of use. Good reputation. Perfect fit for Ruby on Rails applications.

Reasons for switching to Heroku

Switching from bare metal to cloud was a pretty obvious thing to do back in 2014. We chose Heroku since they were the de-facto PaaS for Ruby on Rails applications and we wanted to allow developers to manage deployments without a dedicated DevOps team.

Gerson

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2020

A Nice Hosting Option

Heroku is a good option for those looking a potential hosting service for their apps, and not only are the base and free options well-fleshed out, and the pricing is not egregious. While one has to be sure to take the time to learn Heroku, not only their web app but also their CLI, that's expected, and they make sure they provide a lot of resources for newcomers. I continue to use Heroku and hope to test them in larger scale apps in the future,

Pros

Heroku is a good hosting option for one's own apps. Being able to support several different languages is also a big plus of not having to worry about moving different code bases and still being able to work with Heroku. Upon creation, adding a project to Heroku does take a bit of work but when it definitely gets going, it does feel good and pushing updates doesn't take long for them to get running with the Github integration, which is a massive QoL addition within Heroku. Within apps there a lot of options that one can work with, even with the free plan and give lots of information to be able to track how one's app performance along with being able to keep track of potential errors and faults. The Heroku CLI is also nice to work with and well developed, being able to manage directly from terminal is important. The different staging options are pretty going in being able to test one's own app before even releasing out to the public and having a lot of options in testing before release is a big plus. While learning, I do have to say that Heroku’s wiki is fleshed out and provides a lot of information for someone new to such software.

Cons

Navigating through their website could use improvement, and while I have gotten used to Heroku and generally have a good idea of where their content is, I do feel like in the beginning I was constantly wondering where some options where and felt like information could definitely be better displayed along with general navigation. I also which there was a way to change up the appearance of the desktop app.

Jorge

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2017

Heroku, take control on your server side app deployment!

Heroku is a fast, easy, nice and very reliable place to host your server side apps, node.js and ruby on rails apps works like a charm. I use HEROKU to deploy my apps, it allows me to store logs, run commands on the server side, clone the entire app and create a new environment, add services to my apps such as Sendgrid, Postgres DB and many many other. It also allows you to create pipelines and setup your environment variables in a very easy going manner over the web tools but also there is the CLI that allows you to do all the actions over the console. The overal service experience is great, once you start working with HEROKU, git will be your best friend since it is the way to deploy your apps. It even provides you with many development environments for your app like Swift and any other that have some sort of package manager. Last but not least you can manage your project collaborators and ownership over the web manager so you can create your app and add all the members on your development team in no time or you can create an app for your client and once its finished you can transfer the app ownership to your client. This is by far one of the best services for apps development i'd found in years, it really reduces the development and deployment time, no setup for each app, just the joy of git push heroku master ..... Done

Pros

To get start with the services you just need to create the app in the web manager app, witch makes it super Easy to use, it is super FAST to deploy and run the apps. It is highly scalable, you can start with a free dyno and scale it over the paid plans according to your needs with makes it ver cost efficient. It might replace your git repository but also it is very easy to create several environments for your app in no time with exact clones of it even with environmental variables

Cons

The only one that i can mention right now is that i haven't found a really nice solution for push notifications (i'd like to find something easy going like send grid )

User Profile

Pawan

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2021

Best web hosting platform

Overall, the experience with Heroku has been pretty good. I can deploy my projects on the go and view them live. I have been using it for my personal projects as it has less maintenance to do by myself and focus more on development and it saves my time.

Pros

I have been using it for 4 years to showcase my personal projects to others on GitHub. It's a great platform to deploy my projects and it supports all types of programming languages. I like the features of deployment of my GitHub repositories and also set up the webhook for automatic redeployment on changes on my GitHub repositories. It's easy to use and doesn't need to deal with a lot of infrastructures as it's a PaaS. Also, the startup can use this platform and focus more on development rather than setting up own servers and configuring it. Also i love feature of scaling the web apps/services starightforword, i just need to specify the number of dynos to scale it. It offers both the powerful dashboard and CLI so i can perform something on its dashboard or by using its CLI. I love when i can deploy a web app in no time so its fast and simple to deploy. It also provides free addons such as PostgreSQL, redis etc which i can use in my web apps.

Cons

Heroku Dynos are not cheap compared with the EC2 instances and the price may increase when we need scaling on the projects. The free tier can only create limited apps and also only a dyno is available with limited hours. Not all add-ons are available free of cost.

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2018

Like it so far!

I love working withHheroku, but I don't have to pay for it cause the company I work for pays for it. If I was working on a side project that didn't have a very big tech budget I would probably choose something else. If the company can afford it though Heroku would be my first pick

Pros

- Being able to roll back my app is HUGE! - Easy to deploy from the command line (although my work has it setup so when I commit to master in github it deploys the latest version) - Has a nice CLI to get info, restart the app, and such... - Has add ons which easily integrates with the app. - Easy to setup different environments of the same app. - Easily see how the app is doing.

Cons

Heroku interface is really nice to work with, but some of the add-ons don't have the best interface. I know the code for those add-ons are not made by Heroku, but I wish Heroku had higher standards for their add-ons. There are some super useful add-ons that just have little things about them that are weird or confusing. Plus most of the add-ons I have used don't have a very pretty interface. If Heroku put a little pressure on them to clean up their user experience that would be helpful.

Yashovardhan

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2022

Best Place to run node.js for backend work

Overall, my experience with Heroku has been good. They offer great service and are always improving their offerings. The documentation is excellent and the support is responsive. I haven't had any major issues with using Heroku. They make it easy to get my app up and running quickly and easily. The documentation is great and the support team is responsive and helpful.

Pros

First, it is very easy to use and set up. You can get your app up and running in just a few minutes. Second, it has great documentation and support. If you have any problems, you can usually find a solution in the Heroku docs or on the Heroku support site. And finally, Heroku is always adding new features and improving their platform. I also liked the ease of use and the concise documentation.

Cons

The least liked thing about Heroku is the way it charges for resources. For example, if you want to keep your app running continuously, you have to pay for a dyno (virtual machine) every month. This can add up quickly if you have multiple apps or need to run multiple dynos simultaneously.

Reasons for choosing Heroku

It is specifically designed for node.js than other services

Balveer

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2022

Best & Friendly to use for begginers want to host Web Applications

Pros

I love the user friendlyness of this software, very easy to connect with github & deploy the application. View logs made it easy to debug the errors, where as in other cloud deployment platform need more technical knowledge.

Cons

Some time I found it little difficult to deploy some of my bigger projects which include databases & some other operations. And one more thing that I least like is to auto shutdown/restart my application, so that I can save my monthly dyno for letter use.

Reasons for choosing Heroku

Easy of use.

User Profile

Olivier JM

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY