All Ionic Reviews

1-25 of 27 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Rachel

Verified reviewer

Consumer Services, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

Ionic for hybrid applications development

I started using it with my thesis advisor recommendation, am building an app that should fully function on ios and Android, so we decided to ionic and that's the best decision i made.

PROS

Ionic is best app development environment if you are planning to build hybrid applications and wants avoid double work ,which is writing code for Android and ios in separate. And for people who wants ready for use design they can just pick one template and customize it as their own needs .that's so helpful and time saving for most users.

CONS

I don't have anything that i can mention as a drawback of ionic but since this days there are many new competitors with same features and functionality, ionic should keep updating itself

Juan

Restaurants, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2023

Great solution for PWA and hybrid app building, if you like to tinker.

Despite the drawbacks, it's a good solution to start building a PWA or hybrid app. You can start with little code copy-paste from the tutorial and have "something" to start building on. We have apps and portals build with it and are generally quite happy once you get used to some of the drawbacks. Also I've started using the new streamlined wizards to setup new projects and it seems the've solved a lot of the issues and complexity.

PROS

That it's very extensible, and it uses HTML/SCSS, which allows us to leverage a million of external plugins, codepens etc. It's brilliant and allows for a afantastic looking app that everyone on the team can add to with little previous knowledge.

CONS

The quirks. The build system is slow and oftentimes fails for no particular reason. Deleting the cache, node_modules and rebuilding from scratch (which can take a long time) slowed down our team more time than I'd like. Also the setup process for a new team member once your app is large enough gets stupidly complicated.

Reasons for switching to Ionic

The initial switch was motivated because one of the lead developers knew and loved the platform. We build a small PoC and were able to add to it quite fast. In less than two weeks we had the skeleton (and some of the skin) of our fully featured app running on iOS and Android devices.

Rob

Consumer Electronics, 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2023

Hmmmmmmmmm

Please give me some handouts of how to work with ionics

PROS

It looked very promising. It is far more complicated as i expected it.

CONS

The demo that was delivered did not run.

Anonymous

5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2022

Best tool for quicker mobile application development

we have developed 2-3 application for the inhouse employees such as for Sales People, Management People for their day to day activities. Overall experience is very good. Saved lots of $ by developing application in Ionic.

PROS

1. Feel like a native application is one of the key feature Ionic is having. 2. Its feature to code once and deploy multiple times is very useful and saves lots of efforts in terms of money and time. 3. Ready made templates are available

CONS

1. Customize application development is little bit challenge sometimes when you need to build customized controls. 2. Continuous updates are required as new version of ionic and angular is coming very frequently.

Reason for choosing Ionic

Good look and feel. Faster as compared to other options. Various UI components available.

Reasons for switching to Ionic

Look and feel was not proper and it lags sometimes. Easy to use pluggins and great availability of resources.

Devin

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

The best way to Scale Mobile Apps

PROS

The Doumentation and pricing structure were cheap and well maintained

CONS

Sometimes hars to get good customer support

Reason for choosing Ionic

Clear and easy to read Documentation made it a very easy decision.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

Flexibel and powerful

PROS

I use it for rapid app development. As web app, I can develop and test fast. And it's great that you can deploy it as native mobile app.

CONS

I could not find a fast and easy way to choose or change to a dark mode color scheme.

Reasons for switching to Ionic

I used Flutter, it needs a seperate widget for almost every single property. It's hard to read. Also, it cannot be tested in browser, building / running is often slow.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

web/mobile app development just needs Ionic

PROS

you can reuse your web development skills to build mobile and web apps. Basically, apps that run everywhere and are very relevant.

CONS

perhaps the docs with the APIs for the components could be better explained, I always feel there is a gap between what the docs say and how I write the code in my apps.

Reason for choosing Ionic

they use Angular as a backend framework and Angular has a good name in the web development area.

Muhammad

Financial Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2023

IONIC is easy

PROS

easy to use and lots of references and easy to find on the internet

CONS

Maybe the plugins that have been provided are lighter because sometimes the plugin load is very heavy

Sommie

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2023

It just works

PROS

It's the low barrier of entry and the fact that there's tons of documentation out there to help you build out what you're trying to with it.

CONS

The pricing for the app builder service — Ionic Creator.

User Profile

Tommy

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

Great flexible development platform with a huge potential

Took a long time to install and get all operational, but time well spent as it looks like. Hope to deliver a great app to the designers to dress up my basic app but should be a breeze.

PROS

I like the fundamental idea of a common javascript codebase for all our front end apps. I like Angular so it's a match made in heaven. Large installed base and user groups, tips and help on the Internet.

CONS

It's a handful to install and configure, both on Android and iOS. Did not make it easier with a beta release installed of Xcode.. All issues were eventually fixed and all working smoothly.

Reason for choosing Ionic

Save time now and in the future. One code base - great.

Leandro

Program Development, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Just produce

The benefits are many: integration with libraries and frameworks on the market, plugins, the fact that a single project can run on multiple platforms (IOS, android, web), documentation with examples.

PROS

The fact that it is a technology capable of producing fast and agile results for different types of platforms makes development very simple.

CONS

at the moment there is nothing I should regret.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2022

Ionic- A Hybrid app development framework

PROS

I have used Angular based Ionic framework to develop and release my app in Android play store and iOS app store. Ionic with its libraries and packages and build process has made this very easy to develop.

CONS

App is a hybrid app. It offers near native experience but not exactly native.

Chritina

Information Technology and Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2023

Ionic

PROS

This platform provides a well-structured set of tools for development. I like the Ionic CLI which makes all configurations quick and makes it very easy to troubleshoot application issues. Cross-platform UI option that works on the same device and supports Angular. Very suitable tool for fast apps where native mobile app capabilities are not required. This app is very poplar, has very good documentation and some good third party libraries. Integration is a bit tricky at times, but the documentation makes it manageable. It's a very widespread option, user friendly, meets expectations.

CONS

Occasionally there is a problem with integration, but nothing that can't be solved, there are messages like "Scrolling problem" after deploying some features. Customizing the app if we need to create customization controls is not always easy, but still the pros outweigh the cons and I enjoyed using the app.

Manjeet

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

Ionic review

PROS

Itnis easy to use and the learning curve is not too steep.

CONS

Overall it is very good but sometimes the integration with 3 party libraries a bit tough

Christopher

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2021

Multiplatform Mobile Development

Overall I like Ionic. The fact that you can have one code base for multiple platforms is definitely a benefit. Plus when you develop your changes are reflected real time in the browser which is great for UI development.

PROS

The best thing about the Ionic framework is the ability to write for multiple platforms with a familiar project structure. You can initialize your project as an Angular or React project and write code as if you are writing for a web app. With one code base you can deploy to ios and Android. Write an app once and reach any audience.

CONS

What I like least is that the framework automatically puts in a lot of permissions when you use certain components. Once you deploy to a platform, you can remove the permission that aren't being used; however, it's an extra step.

Patricio

Graphic Design, 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

Versatilidad

me pareció bastante buena, dado que me sirvió para aprender a realizar una app.

PROS

Lo que más me gustó de IONIC fué lo fácil de usar, y lo simple de conectar APIs

CONS

lo que menos me gustó de ionic, pero que va de la mano, es que algunos temas o complementos (cosas externas) estaban un tanto deprecadas

Reason for choosing Ionic

el motivo por el que elegí ionic es por la versatilidad del mismo

Mario

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2023

A good mobile UI toolkit for quick projects

PROS

A great framework to add to projects that have strict deadlines or budgets. It's great that it integrates with Angular and helps build cross-platform mobile apps with a consistent and polished user interface.

CONS

The main thing was the learning curve, for people who are new to the framework.

Mauro

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

What I needed

I panicked when PhoneGap Build was discontinued, but thanks to this framework I solved the problem in one day

PROS

It is a valid alternative to phonegap build to create cordova applications. The Appflow service completes the work with the compilations of the packages

CONS

The AppFlow build service is a little expensive, not a lot, but it's worth it, after Phonegap Build is decommissioned

Reasons for switching to Ionic

Phonegap build has been discontinued

Ciro

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY