User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.78

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4

Value for money

4

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"The software is a low code solution helping development cycles being 6 - 10 times faster. What i like is that we are able to minimize coding thanks to the visual modeller that ships with the solution."
  • icon"Also we liked the full stack approach. From ideation, automated deployment and database creation to version management and integrated feedback loops."
  • icon"The licence system makes Mendix unaccessible for smaller budgets. Some Mendix versions can contain annoying bugs."
  • icon"The mobile app deployment system through PhoneGap is confusing. Native themes are visually slightly outdated."
  • icon"Mendix is a licensed system which make it inaccessible for smaller budgets. Some versions contain annoying bugs."

Browse all Mendix Reviews

  • Have you used Mendix and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 17 of 17 reviews

User Profile

Patrick

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2021

No-code how it should be done

Pros

The fact that it works. In my experience, the competition had too many requirements/limitations/bugs that make them very tedious to be used by someone who doesn't have experience with it. Mendix does what it's supposed to do and doesn't expect its users to implement workarounds for every new feature. The integration between development, versionning, CI/CD is both simple and powerful. Native featureset is very extensive. Although I've never had to do it myself so far, it's good to know that Java/JavaScript features can always be added if need be.

Cons

The mobile app deployment system through PhoneGap is confusing. Native themes are visually slightly outdated. Modifications to CSS are doable through SASS editors. It would be nice if it were better integrated with the no-code IDE.

Reasons for choosing Mendix

Features

User Profile

Kacper

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

May 2022

Great tool for quick development of simple apps

I have worked with Mendix for almost 4 years now and have developed several large applications. I took part in short 1-month projects and in a long project lasting over 1 year. In both cases it was possible to deliver production ready application that suited the needs of the customer. Platform is not flawless but it's the best low code platform from which I have had a chance to try with many options and powerful set of customizable components. I definitely recommend this platform for simple applications, because that's what Mendix is best at.

Pros

Simple applications are really easy to create and manage using this software. Thanks to online capabilities and built in SVN/git it is possible to quickly deliver applications while collaborating with the team. From my experience the development process is 5 times faster than with traditional development methods! My customers are always surprised that we can deliver production ready application within even two months! Another plus is the possibility to add java and javascript actions when a custom operation is required.

Cons

While developing a simple application is really easy using Mendix, when the logic is more complex and the operations are more sophisticated, the process gets harder. Because of development speed every change in requirements is twice as painful. The platform is also not the best when it comes to performance - some operations are impossible to be developed optimally without usage of java code. Also mendix academy courses have errors which makes it hard to train newcomers in the technology.

İbrahim

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

Mendix is the best

Pros

You need to install the business modeler program in your local, and design your business model (domain) model through this program. You can develop applications for both web and mobile. This is a very important feature. By using the structure they call micro-flow, we can design business processes and business rules without coding.

Cons

In order to use the tools and the system efficiently, training is required. It is a somewhat complex software.

Vicki

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

September 2018

Mendix is just ok

Pros

I use it to weartest products, which I love to do. So it’s hard not to like.

Cons

Most of the time when I pull up this site, it loads so I cannot see the left side of the screen. This is frustrating. I don’t know how to fix it.

Jal

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Outsourcing/Offshoring

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2022

A streamlined and centralized system in which our data is excellently organized and collated

There is room for improvement; however, everything is good.

Pros

I rarely encountered bugs and technical difficulties using this software. It has been excellent in data gathering and reporting. We integrate our product and customer data using this software, and it has been perfect so far.

Cons

Although rare, the system sometimes slows up when a lot of information are being handled. This lead to delays in my day-to-day activities.

User Profile

John

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2018

Fast faster fast

Because we are able to build solutions like portals & Apps without writing code in an Agile way of working (stories & sprints) we are able toe deliver more value to business demand and business is engaged because they understand what we build and see results almost every week.

Pros

The software is a low code solution helping development cycles being 6 - 10 times faster. What i like is that we are able to minimize coding thanks to the visual modeller that ships with the solution. Also we liked the full stack approach. From ideation, automated deployment and database creation to version management and integrated feedback loops.

Cons

There are always improvements possible. At this moment we are happy with the continue flow of new functionality like the Artificial Assist approach predicting the next step when developing.

Mohammed

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

November 2015

Easy to learn, time and cost effective enterprise rapid app developement platform

Mendix is an enterprise application development platform that will enable to turn your dream app into reality in no time. Since last 2-3 years I use Mendix almost every day to build complex business solutions for various industries without putting in much time and effort where business can see the working solution and development cost savings within weeks. Its easy to learn, even for the business users who don't have any technical background. Using pre build components from app store will help you to focus on core business requirements and deployment to cloud is just couple of clicks in minutes. Along with the development platform it includes project management tool which is tightly coupled to its IDE and fits perfectly with Agile (Scrum) that enables to work very closely with the customers giving everyone clear visibility on overall progress of the project. Overall having this product in today's digital world will really help to drive your innovation and to bring your digital ideas to market in no time. Pros: Rapid device specific or responsive application delivery to market with modern UI framework, helpful community providing answers almost instantly on forum, good customer support, easy to learn, easy to create custom UI's and publish web or REST services, scalable product always up to date with the market. After the latest release scheduled this month it will be an open platform, provide offline mobile support and will have availability in the AWS marketplace. Cons: There are many pre build widgets and other components on app store but still needs to grow more. Community is adding to it every day and I believe this will be on going which will for sure immense the app store.

Response from Mendix

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your feedback inspires us to make Mendix's application platform even better.

Replied November 2015

Pim

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

November 2015

Great app platform for creating great applications

I loved creating things for customers, but I'm not a die-hard programmer. I was fascinated by the modeldriven approach Mendix has as I could now deliver apps much more quickly, without having to write code. I'm working with Mendix now for 2 years and still exciting about the possibilities and speed. We even created our own products with Mendix. So our own ideas became alive. For instant the Sportlight search, IFTTT for Mendix and some document generation apps.

Pros

+ Bring the ideas or dreams of your customer to reality with a working app. + Quick, fast, rapid, agile. Did I mention speed? + Surprise your customers and friends

Cons

- Sometime a bit difficult to explain what a App platform is like Mendix to non-tech people. But if you prototype their idea you can let them see it works or let them talk to one of our fans(=customers)

Response from Mendix

Thank you for your feedback! Love how you use prototypes to define what the platform can do - very creative.

Replied February 2016

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2020

Great option for creating business software

Pros

I've worked through Mendix for one of the university projects, where we modelled a warehouse and production with a detailed specification of roles and functionalities. It ended up being a very straightforward job, as Mendix bypasses the need for coding, be it backend or even frontend, it handles everything. It let us create a massive and detailed system in a fraction of the time it would take for it to be developed in Java, for instance.

Cons

At times it could be inconsistent, and I believe it was due to performance issues, where rushing through functionalities would cause them to break due to not being able to save changes fast enough.

Savan

Verified reviewer

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: GetApp

April 2014

All-in-One development tool for everybody

Mendix is a model-driven development platform to deliver all kinds of complex mobile,tablet and web applications with simplicity. It is a rapid app development tool where the progress is visible on day-to-day basis instead on months, Mendix provides end-to-end service from project management tool, company app store/services and hosting which allows us to focus on new things and not waste time of doing same work multiple times. It is a very easy system to learn with no programming knowledge required and can be managed by very few people. Overall highly recommend product with endless possibilities within an organisation.

Pros

One click deployment with super-fast turnaround from a concept to something substantial in days. End-to-end services provided. Highly scalable or can even be quite complex but still maintains flexibility and speed to do changes easily.

Cons

Appstore has less apps right now but it should grow with the new appcloud and sandbox releases.

Ankit

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2021

designing 7 developing the UI is cake walk

Pros

With very limited development experience, I felt designing web application, managing the navigations and publishing the application is relatively easy. The exhaustive list of tools offer make the product comprehensive in development the UI. The changes made get saved right away into the cloud enabling better collaboration among team members. We were able to build a proof of concept in less than 24 hrs.

Cons

With the basic version, the "take over" functionality sometimes is annoying when one is working in group.

Tiko

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

November 2015

Rapid application development platform

Mendix is a platform that allows for very rapid and efficient web application development. As a Mendix consultant I am able to use Mendix to realize custom IT solutions for my clients while exceeding their expectations in time to market and low development cost.

Pros

Easy to learn, quick to master. Rapid development Easily scalable Continuous improvements to the platform

Cons

The licence system makes Mendix unaccessible for smaller budgets. Some Mendix versions can contain annoying bugs.

Response from Mendix

Thank you for your review! We strive to make the best product possible; user feedback is always encouraged and appreciated.

Replied November 2015

Pim

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

November 2015

Awesome platform for creating great (mobile) applications

I loved creating things for customers, but I'm not a die-hard programmer. I was fascinated by the modeldriven approach Mendix has as I could now deliver apps much more quickly, without having to write code. I'm working with Mendix now for 2 years and still exciting about the possibilities and speed. We even created our own products with Mendix. So our own ideas became alive. For instant the Sportlight search, IFTTT for Mendix and some document generation apps. Pros: + Bring the ideas or dreams of your customer to reality with a working app. + Quick, fast, rapid, agile, did I mention speed? + Surprise your customers and friends Cons: - Sometime a bit difficult to explain what a App platform is like Mendix to non-tech people. But if you prototype their idea you can let them see it works.

Response from Mendix

Hello Pim, thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback!

Replied November 2015

Savan

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

November 2015

Used Mendix for almost three years now working my way through working as an Senior Mendix Developer

Mendix is a model-driven development platform to deliver a lot of different web/mobile based solutions. It is a rapid app develpoment tool which helps us identify new markets/app/products quickly and gives faster return on investments. Its a very simple and easy to learn or adapt. Developer often doesnt needs to be from a technical background however understanding of data would be advised. Pros- Newer design frameworks, open model api, speed of delivery, quick to learn, one click deployment, build mobile apps including offline quickly, visuall modelling really helps understand the code quickly, free sandbox environments Cons - App store could still be bigger, support portal interface could be improved.

Response from Mendix

Hello Savan, thanks for the review! It's our mission to provide the best possible platform for you to build web and mobile applications and support your company's growth. Happy developing!

Replied November 2015

Eric

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: GetApp

September 2013

The most comprehensive rapid application delivery platform available.

Mendix manages to balance the ability to create complex enterprise applications with a complete set of features ranging from agile project management, to a model-driven-development environment, and from one-click deployment to security/performance management in the cloud or onsite.

Pros

- Supports multi-device apps/device-specific UIs - Deploy onsite or in Mendix's cloud - Integrated feedback mechanism - Subscription pricing model - Visual models interpreted at run-time, so no messy code-generation

Cons

- smaller Community/AppStore than Force.com - Development environment downloaded locally

Tiko

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

November 2015

Rapid web application development platform

Mendix is a platform that allows for very rapid and efficient web application development. As a Mendix consultant I am able to use Mendix to realize custom IT solutions for my clients while exceeding their expectations in time to market and low development cost. Pros: Easy to learn, quick to master. Rapid development Easily scalable Continuous improvements to the platform Cons: The licence system makes Mendix unaccessible for smaller budgets. Some Mendix versions can contain annoying bugs.

Response from Mendix

Hello Tiko, thank you for your review! We strive to make the best product for our users, and your feedback is key to that success.

Replied November 2015

ayesha

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

March 2018

High productivity Application Platform as a service

Pros

The fact that I can create an application in days rather than months or years, and customize the application as it suits my needs.

Cons

Mendix is a licensed system which make it inaccessible for smaller budgets. Some versions contain annoying bugs.

Showing 1 - 17 of 17 reviews