User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.71

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"I use Notepad as my Integrated development environment for Python programming and it makes my programming easier. It helps in code completion too."
  • icon"It is a free and open source, has a great number of available features, easy to edit code and support plug-ins OT be integrated."
  • icon"The ability for the tags to stay intact and recognize colors/comments in the code is great. For log searching, this is invaluable."
  • icon"I sometimes get lost when I open a lot of files/tabs and he opens a small arrow to manipulate the tabs. But I think it could be more flashy."
  • icon"There is no preview pane, it is only available for microsoft, and it has been unstable at times. It did not offer all of the features I needed."
  • icon"I missed that unable to collaborate with team and sometime missed features of IDE."

All Notepad++ Reviews

1-25 of 1,602 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Kyle

Company size: 1 employee

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

April 2021

A good mid-point between notepad and visual studio.

User Profile

Gaurav

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

Notepad++ is the best file editing software

It's a amazing experience working on notepad++. We can easily select one set of columns out of half a millions rows. We can easily insert some words in the start or end of each rows or to the number of rows we want.It makes my life simple. Like in notepad if you copy the data rows and column alignment was missing , but with notepad++ it great to see the output and can easily see what is in what colum...alignment is one of the best feature i love about this product

Pros

with notepad++ we can see data in rows column without actual column line and we can easily see what is in what column. We can select few column data as well and if we want to put something in front of every row or at the end, we can easily do that

Cons

It's keyboard shortcuts is something we need to learn before started working on notepad++, but once you gets comfortable with the shorucut, you will love this product. But these shoutcuts should be embedded in the software like in help menu there should be one page of shortcuts

Reasons for switching to Notepad++

Alignment is not there, and even many keyboard shortcuts which is in notepad++ was missing in notepad

HansOlivier

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

November 2022

A simple all around text editor

I have used Notepad++ for note-taking and code editing in embedded systems. For text note-taking, it is probably the best resource out there and I have used it both professionally and personally. As for embedded systems, it was quite useful to edit my code with such a lightweight software instead of a bigger IDE such as PyCharm or CLion.

Pros

Notepad++ is free and is being constantly kept up to date. It can be used to edit code, take notes, write reports, etc. It is probably the best option to write a text draft. It has multiple powerful and diverse extensions. One could replace both Word and any IDE with Notepad++. It's ability to save files internally is probably it's best feature.

Cons

It is quite a jack-of-all-trades, but a master at nothing. The fact that it is free is evident. One cannot execute it's code from the IDE. Although it is possible to write code, it does not correct you efficiently when a mistake is done.

Reasons for switching to Notepad++

Notepad++ was just a more complete version than BlocNote from Windows,, while also presenting the option of adding extensions.VS Code does have the ability to run code, contrarily to Notepad++, but his extensions are far less lightweight and VS Code's terminal was not absolutely needed for me.Finally, real code IDEs were far too heavy for finite memories in embedded systems, which is why I implemented Notepad++.

Farai

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2022

Super Simple, Mighty Effective

A normal editor for basic tasks that I recommend if there is not intense development being done.

Pros

The product is easy to use. With a couple of clicks, you have a solution that can help you in the day by day activities. You can easily type in your text, indent, code, and multiple other things. There is no wait time when opening files as it renders them with lightning speed.

Cons

The lack of integration with other apps is a major buzz kill. A little work on the interface is also due.

Zain

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2022

Super Simple, Super Snappy and Super Sturdy!

Notepad++ is *the* essential tool for anyone wanting more than regular Notepad AND less than bloated and sluggish text editors like VS Code, Atom, and the whole slew of "modern" Electron-based editors. While it doesn't have the most modern look, lacks some features and QoL improvements that are expected in today's digital environment, it excels with its super fast startup times, dead simple text editing features suited for coding, doesn't feel bloated or gets in the way of your flow, is lightweight and snappy, and packs a slew of cool features that might be a bit hidden at first, but once you know where to look or need them, they pack lots of power :) And while I do wish it would get a graphical upgrade, it should not come at the cost of its speed, simplicity and performance. Until someone manages to make an alternative that's like VS Code in features and look and feel, BUT with Notepad++'s speed and performance, I'm sticking with N++ for now :)

Pros

The blazing fast startup speeds, the simple yet flexible UI and features, the code highlighting in so many languages, and the ease of writing code in a dead simple environment that is lightweight, fast and doesn't get in the way of getting to develop your cool ideas I also love how it keeps all the files open, even unsaved ones, so that you're able to jot down stuff quickly or paste code snippets without losing them when closing Notepad++ :) Also, it has some really handy keyboard shortcuts for essential stuff that I now can't live without in other text editors, like CTRL+D to duplicate line :D

Cons

While the native GUI allows for a snappy and fast-booting experience, there can be some "archaic" features or "outdated" ways of doing things, or outright some essential QoL features missing that are ubiquitous in the modern dev era. While most aren't an issue, the biggest drawback that I experience is that code hinting can become rather slow in a large codebase, as the dropdown menu "stutters" for every single letter typed, and you'd think such a trivial matter would have better performance. But it's not an issue as it only happens sometimes, and it pales in the face of every other pro :)

Reasons for switching to Notepad++

Performance, startup speeds, simplicity in its UI, and familiarity

Catarina

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2022

Powerful, simple and a mandatory tool

The experience has been great. It is a powerful yet very simple tool that is always installed on my computers, whether they are personal or professional ones, and that I highly recommend to work colleagues, friends and family.

Pros

The simplicity of usage, the highly useful built in features that are provided (line operations and file programming language detection) and the powerful plugins that you can add to the tool for a particular objective (example: plugin for file comparison).

Cons

The user interface could be a little bit more modern and there could be with some built in themes but that does not affect the usage (or the likelihood to use) of Notepad++.

Reasons for switching to Notepad++

The number of utility built in features and the ability to add new ones in a very simply way by adding existing plugins.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2022

Notepad++ Review

I mostly use Notepad++ for making notes for myself and also editing files or codes. As it has a simple UI, it makes me concentrate more while finding bugs. It also includes Regex support, which makes text manipulation simple. I use Notepad++ frequently (nearly every day), and it has helped me accomplish many tasks that would normally take hours to perform manually.

Pros

The thing that I liked most about Notepad++ are as follows, - Many programming, scripting, and markup languages are supported - When a file is saved in a specific file format, the code syntax is highlighted, making it simple to edit - Its a Open source software which makes it more flexible - It allows users to work on numerous files at the same time in a single window - It features information autosave, so there is no need to manually save the file

Cons

The thing that I liked the least about Notepad++ are as follows, - The user interface appears to be basic and out of date. Because it is not a full-fledged IDE, it does not provide code auto completion or formatting - There is also no fully support for dark-mode - There are certain issues while comparing multiple files - It is only available for Windows and has restricted features and functionality

Reasons for switching to Notepad++

It was more easier to use and I felt using it was more better than sublime text.

Muzaffarhusain

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2022

All time great source code editor for software developers

I am a software developer and have been using Notepad++ for more than 10 years. It really helps to do coding especially when a developer needs help with some syntax.

Pros

It supports multiple programming languages. Also autocomplete and code highlight features are very useful for novice to experienced developers. It is really lightweight and very much faster. Best part is that it is free to use.

Cons

It is not available for all the operating system platforms.

Reasons for switching to Notepad++

Sublime Text was not as user-friendly and easy as Notepad++

Robert

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

Notepad++ is THE editor for Windows

It does what I want in a very lightweight way without bloat.

Pros

Just a text editor with some QoL and doesn't try to do everything. Syntax highlighting and language support without any configuration.

Cons

It doesn't come default in Windows. Seriously, this should be the standard out of the box solution for Windows.

Reasons for choosing Notepad++

Just enough QoL features without any expanded scope.

User Profile

Denver

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Photography

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

A Personal review of Notepad++

Pros

There are lots of reasons to like this software, from the easy layout to the tabbed files, to the plugins, to the in-built hashing tools, to the macros. They are all there and all work very well! The fact that the software keeps your files open between sessions is also AMAZING.

Cons

There are no functions that I do not like about this software.

Reasons for switching to Notepad++

Notepadd++ is easier to use and has more functionality for a better price.

Trinity

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2022

Notepad++ is the best Text Editor.

mostly use notepad++ for writing notes for myself, making and editing files . As well as a readable when a file is large

Pros

Allows users to work with multiple files in a single tab.syntax highlighting

Cons

sometimes start up is slow other then that can't think of any other improvments

Reasons for switching to Notepad++

there's a major drawback when opening larger files

Denison

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2022

Notepad++: Simplified IDE and Enhanced Text editor

Experience with Notepad++ is fantastic. Notepad++ has excellent community support, which solves the query in a simple Google search. Notepad++ has been my machine's default text editor for a long time.

Pros

I have been using this application for over a decade; it has never disappointed me. Most liked about Notepad++ is that it is an open-source application; it will take less than a minute to install, the user interface is straightforward to understand, and you can quickly get used to its options. I use this application to change the text's regular expression and code python programs. The "Extended" option and "Regular Expression" options get the job done in the replace menu. From the Plugins admin panel, you can install, update or remove the plugins; the collection of plugins is vast and very useful. Notepad++ is very customizable. You can create macros for the similar task to be done quickly

Cons

Notepad++ has no cons, from my point of view. There is room for improvement in this application; UI can be improved UI remains the same for a very long time. Notepad++ can extend its support to macOS, also.

John

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2022

Best Text and Source Code Editor on Windows

This is a great program, and well written. It's actually further elevated, in my opinion, by the fact that it is donation based software. It's really great, but even if you don't donate you still get to use the full features he's put into it. This to me underscores the confidence the author of the program has in the program he's written, and let's the quality of it be a testament unto itself.

Pros

Supports colorized syntax features for multiple languages, including Python, Pearl, R, C++, HTML, Java, etc. This really makes it easy to find your way through various code. Moreover, it's not just for source code. It supports a very versatile find/replace (including RegEx support) feature that makes sorting through various text sequences very easy. Even working with nucleotide or amino acid sequences is easy, and easily facilitates putting together FASTA files for use in other software to do alignments.

Cons

This is really great software that does a lot for programming purposes. It would be nice to see it compliment though more of the bioinformatics side by adding the color scheming for nucleotide/amino acid characters. As an example "A, T, G, C" would be a standard color, but ambiguous bases could be different sets of colors As an example, it would be nice to see "R" which is the ambiguous base code for purines (G, A), or "Y" for pyrimidines (T, C) which could be other individual colors themselves. This way, in a string of text: ATGGGCGGATGTATTACCAYG, all the regular bases would be color blue, but the "Y" could be orange and would stand out from the rest of the text. I find that color schemes that color amino acids by polarity/acidity to sometimes be a bit of eye-clutter on screen, but others might find this feature very useful as well.

Reasons for switching to Notepad++

All the rich features and flexibility enables daily use with ease, and no awkward steps to transition from the standard notepad program. It also supports greater file sizes than the standard notepad.

User Profile

Antonio

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

June 2022

Free, easy to use, fast, what else?

It is super positive. It is a product that I must always have installed on my PC. Opening a file, writing a short document, working with JSON and XML, reading source code... every day there is something that I do with this product!!

Pros

The product is easy to use. Just with a couple of clicks you have a solution that can help you in the day by day activities: you can take easily quick notes (potentially without saving, the file will stay there), you can use the tool to open files with specific formats like XML and JSON leveraging additional plugins for formatting in the right way the file. Last but not least, Notepad++ is really fast when opening a file, it is immediate, you do not need to wait.

Cons

It is difficult to find a real limit to the product. As functionalities, it is done more than what promises to do. Obviously, you can't compare the product with other solutions specialized to do specific things, for example, if you need to work with C# code frequently, you may prefer a dedicated and specialized environment. If you need to write a document including for example charts and images, you should use something else.

Reasons for choosing Notepad++

For my requirements, just with a single product, I was able to find what I need. That was the main driver of the choice. Obviously, if you need something more specialized, you should evaluate other products. In my case, I saw Notepad++ as a quick win: I have a fast way to open the files that I need.

Eero

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Consumer Electronics

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2022

Excellent tool for programming, and more!

I use Notepad++ for programming, but since the Search & Replace tool is so good, I have very often used it for other kinds of tasks too. For example, doing batch modifications to CSV files. Very easy to use once you find out where everything is.

Pros

Notepad++ is an excellent tool for writing code. I like how the code is highlighted, how the search and other options work. There are just so many little well-thought details that make this a great application.

Cons

Nothing really. The icon could be more modern if I have to answer something. :D

Reasons for choosing Notepad++

I started using Notepad++ first and only later compared it to these other products, which I then tested. But I kept using Notepad++ because the others didn't offer me any extra benefits.

Reasons for switching to Notepad++

Well, Notepad++ is not really an alternative to Dreamweaver, but I started creating websites on Dreamweaver a long time ago and then moved on to writing code, and Notepad++ was the tool of my choice.

User Profile

Andrew

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2021

Great document editor and search tool

This replaced my previous paid editor, great tool, fast and useful.

Pros

Sometimes you have to edit a really large file, and nothing else will open it, well Notepad++ will. I had documents that my previous text editor just couldn't handle [well not without a lot of waiting and screaming], Notepad++ handles them with ease. I use it as a task management tool as well as an easy text editor. Also Windows doesn't always search all files when you do a search, you can use Notepad++ to do a complete search of a folder/s to find text in files.

Cons

Not the prettiest of editors, but fully featured, and updates itself when needed.

Reasons for choosing Notepad++

Ability to open and edit large files.

Reasons for switching to Notepad++

Editing large files.

Rodrigo

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2021

Small, fast and convenient

We normally use visual studio, but it is too heavy for small tasks. The VS code is also too big and confusing for that, as it always tries to deal with project folders. In Notepad++ we can open files individually and edit a script or fix a programming error in a larger project from another tool, check the charset of a file or even write manuals in markdown. It is a Swiss Army knife for most of the auxiliary functions in our routine.

Pros

It is a super notepad, very fast to open, very efficient for handling large files, great for editing scripts or parts of larger programs. I also find it amazing how easy it is with the wizard to define your own programming or markup language. This extends the app to domain languages. It also has localization for several languages.

Cons

I even went looking for something I don't like about it, but I couldn't find it. Perhaps the only thing missing is that it has a Linux version.

Reasons for choosing Notepad++

First because when testing it against others, the interface is friendly, some would call it old-fashioned, but it's really cool, easy to adapt and no frills. Other editors we've tested were either expensive, or big, or confusing, or difficult, or trying to emulate the experience of a full IDE, but when you use notepad++ I don't think that's what you have in mind.

Reasons for switching to Notepad++

In this case we needed something that would give us the same speed and ease that we had with VB6. The tasks of correcting a script, cleaning up a CSV data file, or changing an xml became slow and cumbersome in VS and VS Code. So we found notepad++ and found a small, lightweight, very powerful and really useful tool.

Alex

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY