User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(19)

19

4 stars

(2)

2

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

5.0 / 5

Customer Support

5.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse PHPRunner Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -30 of 20 results

March 2019

Chuck from Hawthorne Services, LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Best RAD tool for web-based development in the world

We market and sell the following cloud-based solutions that were built with PHPRunner: Employee Performance Management (with built-in 360 Feedback); Customizable Industrial Skills Testing; and Employee Engagement and Survey solutions. All built and improved over several years using the capabilities of PHPRunner.

Pros

PHPRunner solves complex web-development problems with a holistic approach. It has a friendly Windows client for design and development. Your DB scheme can be developed within the client, using Maria-MySQL, MS-SQL, DB2, MS-Access, Postgres, Oracle, SQLite, ODBC, you name it. Authentication for your app with static or dynamic permissions is built-in and easily modified. A flexible interface with many design themes can be used to design your pages, including modern interface (grid sorting and rearrangement). Reports and charting (bar, line, gauge, pie, donut, stacked column, etc.) are easily done with the platform. Import and export of data is supported. Mobile web app interface can be included. Built-in menus with customization, built-in email capabilities, etc. etc. etc. Built-in distribution/update to your host. I could go on and on. Most importantly, event customization capabilities that allow you to tailor special features above and beyond the system is easily retained and re-merged as you enhance and add to your application. My experience goes back at least 5 major and many minor versions and over 8 years. Support is very good. They have REALLY helped me and my business!

Cons

There is very little to dislike. If anything, keep in mind that you should strive to stay reasonably current as web methodologies change (like the advancement of PHP versions). Keep up to date with your web host and their PHP and MySQL/Maria versions. Xlinesoft has done a great job improving and enhancing this offering, and in keeping the solution current with modern web technologies.

May 2020

Corrie from Host U All

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

The best database application software ever

I designed many web applications using PHPRunner. Some of the biggest are call center environments, Help desks, shopping cards, ToDo lists, SMS functionality, Management dashboards, Literally hundreds of insurance applications, and last but not least, Lean Sigma six process applications that can monitor any process and its behavior using standard deviation.

Pros

PHPRunner can connect to your current database and create professional business applications in minutes. You do not need to be a hardcore programmer; however, if you can do a little coding, you will create big sophisticated applications as an individual, that will leave development teams asking, how did he do all of that in such a short time. The end to end process of creating an application from scratch is well thought out. It can be overwhelming if you open PHPRunner for the first time, but following the instruction and spending some time following available tutorials, you will be up and running in no time.

Cons

One can build anything using PHPRunner. Some advanced topics like custom CSS can be challenging as some visual CSS effects need to be coded.

Reasons for Switching to PHPRunner

Qlikview can only read data. PHPRunner can Add, Update, Delete. You have full control over the data using PHPRunner. QlikView is not for web applications. PHPRunner is.

March 2019

carlo from Leonardo

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Airlines/Aviation

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2019

is a good product

Pros

its ease of use,frendly and more easy to learn

Cons

Integration of static pages with dynamic pages

September 2021

Bob from Just me

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2021

Initial project build with PhpRunner

I am working on a rewrite of an Access case management system that I built 12 years and have supported ever since. I am amazed by how relatively easy it has been to build and get the features I needed. Support here on the PHPRUnner User Group on Facebook is very fast and helpful. Since I am in the 12 months after licensing, I get free support via email from the company (not code) and it has been very responsive. The most difficult part for me has been in figuring out the code I need to write to do special things. Again great support from other users. I have been making a list of places to get help or training available for PhpRunner. Cory's videos are wonderful, the vendor has Live Demos where you can run them to see what is possible and download the project and data and run locally and see how it was built. I could go on and on about resources available to help you.

Pros

Almost everything. You can do a simple app with default features very quickly. When building something more complex I typically find there is an option in the software to do what I want.

Cons

Somewhat difficult to figure out what code I need for events

January 2021

Bob from Van Wezel Performing Arts Center

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Performing Arts

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

Database Management Made Easy

Database management for a performing ARTS hall, and website for an HOA association.

Pros

PHPRunner always works! I never have to wonder if there are going to be issues when I build a new database.

Cons

I can't think of any. The software is fantastic, and support is better than that!

Reasons for Choosing PHPRunner

I did demo's of both programs three years ago. With PHPRunner I had a functional database and website built in less than an hour. With Scriptcase, I worked on a site for two hours and never did get it to work correctly.

March 2019

Alfredo J from IBEX-USA.COM

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Executive Office

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

A Joy to work with the PHPrunner Software and Xlinesoft

It has provided a product which has a very short learning curve due to its intuitive format. I use it to support multiple enterprises which include. * Healthcare. * Non Profit Organization, that uses it to support over 26 public schools with a program where kids help kids, titled, Helping Hands Ending Hunger. * Book Publishing. * Metallurgical Fabrication Enterprise. * Various Small mom-and-pop operations.

Pros

Ease of use, stability, integrates well with databases and other products. The latest version (10.1) of PHPrunner provides allows formatting of final panels presented to the user in a very intuitive environment. I have been using their products since 2005 and have always found them to be solid and reliable. The best part is the intuitiveness that it provides, having a computing experience that spans many, many years I started in the development and programming of systems in 1968, retiring as IT Director for a fortune 1000 enterprise in 2002 for the 1st time and still going with my own company.

Cons

I would say although the Help portion is very extensive, sometimes it falls a bit short of providing the answer. Understanding that it is impossible to provide answers to every event or case...

March 2019

Robert from RSC Solutions

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

My Experience with phpRunner

I built and currently administer a web-based Payroll system, a Benefits system, and an Equipment Inventory, Performance and Location system.

Pros

I have been using phpRunner since 2008. I have tried most of the other rapid development software packages and in my opinion, phpRunner was the best choice. I love their latest feature, the new Designer GUI. If you're familiar with Microsoft Access, the Designer GUI is similar. You can drag & drop your fields. You have a properties selection area on the right side. The software is divided up like Access. You start with the Table area GUI, the Query GUI, setting up your field properties and search setting. Then a choice of Security settings. Then you have the Designer GUI and then the Events area. Once you finish building your project you can upload it to the server with their built-in FTP setup. Their support is great and has always been very helpful.

Cons

Like with any software there is a small learning curve.

March 2019

JEFF from Fire Vap

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Easy and Efficient RAD Software for PHP applications

Basically, I am the CEO and developer for a company. I build PHP applications (of course, I'm using PHPrunner) for Training companies which helps them to load their learners and also allows their clients to see what training has been done and also see the trends every month. This has helped training companies boost their client bases which is a win for me.

Pros

It saves me from having to learn PHP coding from scratch and helps to rapidly build the applications without much coding. You can connect to multiple databases and you are not limited to just one. The themes are fantastic and you don't really have to do much improvisation. Dashboards are a fantastic feature and makes your application look more professional.

Cons

Nothing to dislike, just that sometimes you got to think outside the box if you want extra things to be done, but then again the support is fantastic. I submit a ticket and get a response the very next day and nowhere do I get this kind of service.

March 2019

Al from DoMyWeb LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

The Best PHP Software in the Business!

Ever since I started using PHP Runner, I have nothing but praise - From the software, their web hosting services and overall service, PHP Runner is number one in my book.

Pros

I love the fact that you can take an existing Database and with some programming migrate it right into PHP runner given you a professional and customizable web site for your database. I was able to take membership databases and incorporate them so that no matter where the customer was, they could add/edit and lookup data making it great for the gym membership databases that I was servicing.

Cons

The ability to support certain USB devices like signature pads - they all can not incorporate into the software.

June 2021

JOSE RAMON from 4hc.es

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

The best application builder

My experience is excellent. I only use PHPRunner for development. The product is getting better and better in every new version. I have developed very simple applications and very complex ones. And the tool helped me always. It is possible to make a very good application without "low code" development, but if you want, you can do it by coding in low level too. The reports, export and import tools, dashboards are excellent tools.

Pros

You can develop an application in minutes. And you can develop a huge application too

Cons

When version changes, you have to rebuild the whole application

September 2019

Alfredo from International Business Exchange - USA

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

A well thoughout rapid deployment, eficient and reliable software

I have created a donation tracking system for HELPING HANDS ENDING HUNGER LLC used by over 40 schools in Georgia, that tracks unopened/untouched food items that are repurposed at the end of the week as donations which are coupled with food banks donations. The software tracks certain items, their weight, the amount of CO2 Recovery and the number of meals created and number of persons served. Producing reports of items handled and donated. Since the inception of this application is has tracked and allowed to evaluate the effort put fort by kids who are trying to help peers who might otherwise go hungry on weekends. Numbers so far since 2017: FAMILIES HELPED - 48,637; ADULTS - 86,092; CHILDREN - 124,059 POUNDS DONATED - 520.052; CO2 RECOVERY 327,119; MEALS 433,755 PHPrunner was used from the ground up for this application no other software was ever involved ==================================================================================== PHPRunner used by STRATEGIC MEDIA BOOKS to track the production of books from manuscript reception, production, to launch, sales and production of royalty payments, in over 50 titles for 35 authors...

Pros

It's ease of use to create basic applications that allows clients/users to grasp the concepts without complicated manuals

Cons

I would say that some of the examples presented in the help need a bit more expansion.

November 2020

Willard from Geomast Geospatial Solutions

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

An Amazing Tool

my experience with PHPRunner has been really awesome. Using PHP runner, i built my first web app and it was very motivating to be able to achieve this without writing a single line of code. PHP Runner is an excellent tool for developing professionally appeasing web apps and desktop apps.

Pros

The software is very intuitive and easy to use and has powerful features for searching and querying data as well as importing /exporting data. Steps for creating an application are presented in the simplest form you will ever find and allows you to develop web/desktop applications rapidly and lets you deliver solutions with minimal or no code at all. I also like that the software allows you to easily create dashboards with dynamic charts and graphs. The software also allows you to customize reports even when your project has been deployed very easily.

Cons

PHP Runner is a very mature product and allows you to do most tasks you will have to do. Though I found it a bit difficult to implement complex SQL operations, It still remains a remarkable tool and best RAD tool I have used so far.

August 2019

Mark from Midtron Electronics

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Best PHP software on the Market

I really enjoy it. I get that same thrill that I used to get in the old days programming line after line of basic just to watch a sprite move across the screen.. I can't seem to put it down.

Pros

The powerful interface and the multilevel creation ability. One can generate a working site in a very short time with very little experience or add jscript and/or php code to make a very sophisticated piece of software

Cons

I can't say anything that I dislike. It does keep me up half the night .. Just one more section then I'll go to bed type of thing... I do wish they would make version for developing smart phone apps.

December 2020

Carlos from P3 Technologies

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Awesome product

The interface is very intuitive and with a bit of digging you can easily accomplish great things.

Pros

The User Interface is really easy to use. There are many options available to lay out your application. Code generated is robust and supports PHP 7. Support is really responsive. Documentation is good. Forums are a great resource for ideas. Development is active.

Cons

I used another product before this that was a little less wizard driven and therefore in my opinion a bit easier to customize the apps. You could also on the fly select the language that you wanted to generate, but I think that bloat took over and the product died.

Reasons for Choosing PHPRunner

The User Interface is much more intuitive.

Reasons for Switching to PHPRunner

Codecharge is no longer being developed.

December 2020

Mehak from To The New

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

Best tool to build a quick site or a prototype.

The experience with PHPRunner has been great so far, I was able to adapt to the software easily and was able to developed applications in very less time.

Pros

Very easy to use and setup, it is able to connect easily to any existing database and can be used for data migrations using easy scripts. It can be used easily to develop a quick web application prototype.

Cons

There are not many drawbacks that can be mentioned for PHPRunner, one that can be mentioned is that it is difficult to customize forms on the web page, so we end up using the pre-defined templates.

September 2019

Dallas from Empire Marketing Strategies

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

PHPrunner review Sept 2019

Developing web apps to collect and share sales data.

Pros

Ease of use and great technical support. The best

Cons

No Cons, I love it all.. It's the very best.

September 2019

Edgar from Davies Molding LLC

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Plastics

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Intuitive, easy to use and fast

It has been a great experience using PHPRunner, life saving at times. For the ease of use and being robust and ability to connect to pretty much any kind of database, your imagination is the limit.

Pros

The software is easy to understand and able to build robust applications is a very short amount of time

Cons

One of the things I have been hoping to see is auto print after an new entry or update, it would be a great feature but with all the other features of this software is hard to complain about it.

August 2019

User Profile Picture

Usama from IT

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2019

A Perfect Solution For Rapid Development

Its worth the money !

Pros

Its super easy to use. You can get the whole application up and running in no time. It takes care for most of the front-end so you can easily focus on the business logic. Also takes care of security and permissions. Easy to convert the project in any language with runner.

Cons

Email sending by runner has become quite an issue for me but the customer support helped me out and fixed it in the latest release.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

PHP Runner

Excellent software, good quality

Pros

Easy of use, great value for the money.

Cons

Nor always available support, need to send too many requests

September 2019

Chris from Celestia Workshop

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Still growing!

Pros

Every year we receive new features from dear PHPRunner developers. All these new features save enormous time for us. The software itself is very solid and robust. You can focus on your idea and feel confident on the security and safety PHPRunner bring you.

Cons

More template please!!! Beautifying still takes some time for us.