All SendBird Reviews

1-25 of 31 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Chad

Verified reviewer

Market Research, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2017

Implementation was super easy and functional very quickly. We got up to speed super quick.

PROS

It is super stable. After trying to build our own using firebase... This was an awesome experience that got us deployed super quick. It is fully featured and ready out of the gates requiring very little adaptation.

CONS

There are still some things that are not included in our portal management. However, engaging support has been able to resolve them.

Sean

E-Learning, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2017

Good chat foundation that you can build upon

Sendbird allows you to get up and running with a chat solution pretty quickly. We have since customized it a lot (integrating it with Slack, building notifications etc). It is pretty good for plug and play if you are looking for a basic chat service. We don't use their UI, but their UI is good straight out of the box. Their response time is a bit slow, and they have made some changes to their product without warning and detailed descriptions of those changes. All in all it was a good solution for us because we needed to focus on other things and don't have the bandwidth to worry about make sure our chat foundation is reliable. Sendbird has been pretty reliable with only a couple of times going down. Their pricing is good for what you get. If you are just looking for a plug and play chat service then you should definitely consider Sendbird. If you are looking to customize it a lot like we have, then I would suggest thinking about what you are trying to achieve, as it may be better to just start from a little lower level like socket.io. We ultimately decided on Sendbird, and have been pretty happy thus far.

PROS

Plug and Play

CONS

Needed to customize quite a bit and the customer support is not the fastest.

Juraj

Gambling & Casinos, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed January 2024

Chat on torn.com MMORPG

PROS

Nothing. It was a mistake and everyone hates it.

CONS

They replaced previous in-game chat with sendbird several months ago. They are still fixing serious problems, it causes whole site to hog CPU, lag horribly and it still does not have all features of old chat.

Toshiki

Media Production, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2021

Responsive and helpful partner to build a chat feature with

Very pleasant and would recommend using Sendbird to other engineers looking for chat integration.

PROS

The customer service team has been very responsive with any inquiries. Although they are a third party partner, it feels like they are in my own team. Integration was very easy and straightforward as well.

CONS

Sometimes when there are errors, we have to reach out to them, instead of them reaching out to us.

Nicolas

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2017

Found it was the most customisable chat API available for iOS (and Android).

Not having to implement it by ourselves :)

PROS

On top of the customisable API, one thing I appreciated the most was how easy you can communicate with the team behind SendBird. Had a request regarding some push notifications with WatchOS that were actually missing and within a few days, after some email exchange, here it was.

CONS

The fact it is not open source I would say. Open sourcing it would make it better for the community.

Vendor Response

Thank you for being a valued customer Nicolas! Deeply appreciate your kind words. We look forward to further contributing to C&Z Tech's success.

Replied June 2017

Steven

Verified reviewer

Broadcast Media, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed May 2022

I would never recommend this product

Absolutely terrible. We ended up cancelling our subscription, and asked for a partial refund for the unused portion of the costs. They refused. We contacted the credit card company and asked to rebate the charges, and Sendbird fought it. We were unable to get anything at all. What kind of a company takes your money and refuses to rebate unused service. We are are a B2C startup and every dollar counts. At the same time, I believe in customer service, and would never screw a customer out of their money. What a bunch of dirtbags! I would never do business with this company again! We ended up having our devs make a chat in house. Stay away. Far away.

PROS

Very little - the basic interface was ok

CONS

They wanted to charge us way more for moderation tools, which we believed should be an essential part of any chat software. And we were in development mode with virtually no users - so we needed time to ramp up to scale.

User Profile

Patrick

Verified reviewer

Computer & Network Security, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2021

A great team, helping to integrate a great product

PROS

Team is willing to help you - starting from your first contact. all relevant platforms we need to integrate the chat on, are supported. if you have some custom requests, the team is willing to find a good solution to enable your business implement their plan.

CONS

the ui kit could offer more functionality.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2021

Great team to work with

PROS

Great tech support. Always proactive when we face issues

CONS

Some features were missing when we initially tied up and had to custom implement on our side

Mike

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2017

Great product/service

We've been working with SendBird for nearly 2 years. The customer service has been excellent and the learning curve to get up and running, minimal. Already a great service/product when we began, it's been nice seeing the team refine and expand the product. Each iteration has been well thought out and implemented. Highly recommended.

PROS

Ease of use, minimal learning curve

CONS

A couple times in the early days I found the documentation lacking a little but it appears this is no longer an issue.

Vendor Response

Hi Mike, I am grateful for the all the supports you send us from the very beginning of Bombd app integrating with SendBird!

Replied June 2017

SE-WON

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2017

It's very easy to use and the transmission speed is also good.

PROS

What makes chat services available to users without direct management. Considering the labor cost, the use of the solution seems to be efficient. The part where sustained service is maintained at a reasonable speed for use.

CONS

Constraints on custom. It feels like extra cost for administrative features but not cheap. I am currently using the moderation tool but it is not easy to check the chat history because the filter function is not advanced. It would be nice if you could experience paid services before contracting.

Vendor Response

Mr. Lim, I really appreciate your feedback. Out team will assure to improve our product to become more user friendly.

Replied June 2017

Scott

Financial Services, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2016

A Growing Product

I think the product is useful and needed. Chat is quite difficult to implement into an app on both the front-end and back-end. SendBird makes it much easier to do so, but still needs work in terms of documentation and support. It was not that easy to implement a front-end solution, albeit a custom one. I would like to be able to speak with a tech support staff via chat. It was very difficult to get support over email with long wait times in between correspondence - at least when I was a non-paying member. One might say that is a crucial time to convert someone to paying. A direct line via Slack or even their own messaging service would be incredibly useful. I still have issues to this day with implementation related to connecting, temporary messages, caching, error handling, etc. There are a LOT of odds and ends that need to be taken care of, and I'm willing to bet most apps implementing this solution are not bug free or on par with more mainstream chat services and I think it should be. Overall, I like the product. I think there's a lot more that can be done with it, and I look forward to future releases.

PROS

Definitely makes it easy to add chat. Saves a ton of time and headaches. It's a better back-end solution than I could have done personally.

CONS

- Needs better technical support. - Needs a better front-end solution. - Not very easy to implement.

William

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2016

Solid product, but much more room for growth

I launched my app Pro Photo Shoot using SendBird as the engine for in-app messaging. I was very pleased with the way the API handled conversations, as it really took a lot of work out of the process, which can be very complicated if building from scratch. A few things in the suggestion box: - Faster, faster, faster! Make the API as fast as possible. - Improve your console to make it easier to drill down into a conversation when needed

PROS

Ease of use. Decent SDK and REST interface.

CONS

Documentation is a little thin. It could be more robust with details, examples, and use cases.

Vendor Response

Responsiveness to our client needs is always the top priority for us. Thank you for your feedback and I will make sure to serve customers betters in production and inquiry responses - Mark (Head of Growth at SendBird)

Replied December 2016

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2021

Better alternatives, just don't do it.

We wanted a simple, fast, chat solution to drop into our app. Sendbird promised this, but did not deliver.

PROS

Seemed like it had the features we wanted, small hungry team that promised a lot.

CONS

Poor quality product, terrible documentation, engineering support that didn't know how their own product worked. We paid a lot of money for this software, got locked in, have regretted it every day since. Will leave as soon as we can.

Min Suk

Media Production, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2017

I, as a prodecre at Pikicast; mobile media, am currently using Sendbird for live streaming service.

No need to develop chatting tool, Low cost for using such tool

PROS

Easy to use, quick response for issues or inquiries. Also it's easy to implement at the beginning of the service.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your kind review, we feel extremely lucky to have been a part of Pikicast's mega growth journey in the past two years!

Replied June 2017

Omar

Mental Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2016

Very flexible, Very customizable, Very good!

Our product relies heavily on the messaging aspect, so we chose our chat SDK really carefully. Before settling on SendBird, we tried about 10 different chat SDKs. SendBird was the clear choice for us due to how customizable and flexible it is. This flexibility gave us the freedom to easily build many features using their SDK. Sendbird is still evolving. We sometimes experience service issues and interruptions from time to time. However, their customer support is really amazing and they have been extremely helpful. They even built specific features we suggested. TL;DR: Go for it!

PROS

Flexible & Customizable, great customer support

CONS

Infrequent service interruptions and bugs

Vendor Response

Dear Omar, Thank you for your support. Sibly has been very unique use case for us that integrate SendBird inside (mental) health care industry. Please don't hesitate to give us a feedback and send us inquiries that we are more than happy to follow up. Mark (head of growth, SendBird)

Replied December 2016

Frank

Internet, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2017

Overall SendBird is a killer product, and a critical part of our product offering.

An (almost) out of the box production-ready and performant chat as a service solution with incredible group communications features that is easy to integrate and build on.

PROS

For our use case the large scale public and private group chats were absolutely essential. The performance is impressive, the API straightforward, and the iOS client code provided was good enough for us to build on and ship production worthy code quickly.

CONS

The API has a few design flaws and, while superior to the competitors offerings that we have direct experience with, the iOS client code is pretty mediocre. Building truly high quality client UI/UX will still involve a significant amount of effort.

Vendor Response

Frank, we will put much effort to offer better UI and Design experience going forward. Thank you so much for the feedback

Replied July 2017

Deepak

Sports, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2021

SendBird is an awesome product and team!

PROS

SendBird makes it really us to build out complex chat features with minimal overhead! This helps us quickly differentiate vs. other competitors.

CONS

Documentation could use some improvement, but their team is amazingly helpful in filling in any gaps.

Erick

Photography, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE