User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(659)

659

4 stars

(231)

231

3 stars

(27)

27

2 stars

(3)

3

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse Sublime Text Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 913 results

December 2021

User Profile Picture

Stephen from Springbuk®

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2021

Sublime Text

I use it daily to look at text files, find the issues with the data I am analyzing and using it for Python scripts. It is great.

Pros

I use this software for various types of coding and data manipulation. It works great for both. For coding, it will highlight various text based on the language you select. For data, it is easy to pull in the data, parse it by what you need and fix it.

Cons

I currently use the free version which is great. I do not like the constant popups to purchase the software. I understand why but my organization will not purchase it for us yet.

Reasons for Choosing Sublime Text

I chose it over the standard text editor on a Mac. I found it has way more uses than just a plain text editor.

Reasons for Switching to Sublime Text

Text Editor on a Mac did not have enough features.

January 2022

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2022

Good text editor, with a few bells and whistles

Even though I don't use it as my main text editor, it's my preferred option when I want to make quick changes in small projects. Its clean and simple UI make it easy to work and switch between projects, and I've never had to worry about memory consupmtion. From time to time I miss having an integrated terminal or a debugger, but I really appreciate its minimalist approach; you end up decoupling your development tools, which in consequence boosts your productivity.

Pros

- it has a clean and intuitive user interface, which makes it easy to use - the UI can be customized with themes and fonts - it has autocomplete and indenting integrated, which boosts your productivity while programming - it has a "projects" feature, which can be helpful if you have to work on multiple projects - it's available in Windows, Mac and Linux - you can extend its functionality with plugins - it's lightweight

Cons

- the "projects" feature, although helpful, can be a little hard to set up - it doesn't have as many plugins as other text editors such as Visual Studio Code - there is no marketplace for searching and installing plugins - it doesn't have an integrated terminal - it doesn't have an integrated debugger - it doesn't have any kind of integration with version control tools sush as Git - it's not free. Although no features are locked behind a paywall and there's no time limit for the evaluation period, a pop-up appears periodically prompting you to buy a license, which could be bothersome for some people - it's not open source, which some people won't tolerate

Reasons for Switching to Sublime Text

I needed a text editor with a simpler and more aesthetic UI, which Notepad++ lacked.

April 2019

User Profile Picture

Ernesto Enrique from Grupo Tera

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

2.0

April 2019

Good choice but not the best

Sublime was my fast text editor for many years. When I needed to edit a code file without the need of IDE features or when I needed to do it on a computer with low resources, sublime text came to the rescue.

Pros

I used Sublime Text for years, it is a tool that, unlike the ones that existed at that time, worked very fast. Today is still one of the lightest and most powerful tools that exists in the market and that would be the most interesting feature it has. Thanks to Sublime Text I met Emmet, the writing engine where you can do things like write in several sections of the same document at the same time, upload or download portions of code within the document as if it were a block. A powerful tool that you can customize, from your style of colors, thanks to Sublime Text I also knew Monokai, the color scheme that nowadays, years later I still use.

Cons

There are a couple of things that I do not like about Sublime Text and one of them is the reason why I ended up using another application. The first one is the pop-up message to remind you that you are using the free version and if you wanted to buy it. It is the most annoying thing that exists and appears every time you save a document a few times and to develop applications is annoying since you save the document about 30 times per hour minimum. The second thing that I do not like has to do with the evolution of the application. When I used Sublime Text there was no other similar one. But today there are many others that have the same characteristics of Sublime plus other features that I use a lot and that's why I ended up migrating to another application.

November 2021

Juan Pablo from Index

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Graphic Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2021

Una gran alternativapara novatos para codificar

Generalmente lo uso para editar código especialmente líneas en en php y css, es mu últil por la codificación de color y su estupendo interfaz que de una forma sencilla permite encontrar facilmente las etiquetas que etán ordenadas por colores

Pros

La facilidad de uso y la implmentación, es realmente muy intuitivo y sobre todo muy claro al importar código de diferentes lebguajes

Cons

Posiblmente lo que menos me encanta delprograma es que debería contar con una librería un poco más automatizada cuendo se empieza a escribir como otros software lo hace para que permita ir codificando con más ayudas.

Reasons for Choosing Sublime Text

Al ser un usuario de Mac, no existen tantas alternativas como en Windows u tro sistema operativo, asi que me pareció el más sencillo y óptimo en cuento a calidad - precio.

Reasons for Switching to Sublime Text

Por su costo, lo ligero en cuanto a peso y muy espscífico para mis necesidades

December 2021

User Profile Picture

Askin from Writee

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2021

Easy to manage and stylish

Pros

Easy to use, easy to manage files. It has a strong community. It looks pretty stylish. In general, it gives what is expected from a code editor.

Cons

There are code editors at similar levels that are free. Ok, sublime text can also be used for free, but the fact that it has completely free competitors makes one think.

December 2021

Maaz from Comsats University

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2021

Sublime Text

Sublime Text is a simple and easy to use powerful code editor that is easy to learn and use.

Pros

SublimeText is a powerful and pleasantly designed script editor employing all the major tools and features necessary for a code editor. It works on many operating systems like Windows, Linux, etc. It also has a portable version through which you can carry it on a USB in an ever ready to use state, to use it on any device with out the need to install or setup from the beginning. It easily integrates with a lot of useful plugins available on the internet.

Cons

The only drawback that Sublime Text have is that it does not have an inbuilt code eror debugging feature.

January 2022

Carlos Hugo Martin from TDI Peru

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2022

Experience with Sublime Text

It was used for the log display as well as the configuration file modification.

Pros

Its interface is very usable, in addition to having a good number of plugins that are easy to configure.

Cons

The price is very high for the capabilities you have, this is in comparison to other software on the market.

December 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2021

Text editing on steroids

Pros

The ability to load and edit huge files without any effort. Easy to use and really fast and lightweight.

Cons

It's not suitable for software development for complex projects, but if it were, it would not be fast and lightweight anymore.

Reasons for Switching to Sublime Text

Speed.

December 2021

Jelle from Slimnu

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2021

Easy but strong

Pros

Sublime is a very easy tool to use for any programming language. You can also make your own plugins for it, which I think is great.

Cons

I think that Sublime could use more functionalities instead of only integrating plugins.

Reasons for Switching to Sublime Text

Sublime has a lot of good plugins to add.

December 2021

User Profile Picture

jhn from SKYTECHS

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2021

Sublime Text Review

As a software developer this software has really to write codes in doing my web and application development

Pros

This product is very easy to use while doing hard coding during software development. It has gives suggestive codes while writing codes hence helping coders to code.

Cons

This software is generally good and i like everything about it.

Reasons for Choosing Sublime Text

it has a good interface and suggesting codes

July 2021

Aniket from Indraprastha Institute of Information Technology

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2021

Making your text editing experience Sublime

One doesn't always wants to start a whole big IDE just to edit a simple file. Many text editors that are present, are either very old and have a boring UI. Sublime Text on the other hand is just amazing with its modern look, plug-ins and the ability to theme it.

Pros

The user interface. The UI of Sublime Text is still very modern compared to many popular text editors people use. Other than the UI, Sublime Text is also very fast and responsive, and has support for many popular languages/extensions with the possibility of adding plug-ins and theming the editor. The speed of the editor is simply what makes it the best text editor for me.

Cons

Nothing. Sublime Text is perfect. It is free to use as well. One small nit-pick I find kind of annoying is the pop-up which (used to) comes only once during start and asks about purchasing a license Sublime Text. It used to be annoying, when we finally thought of buying a license to use it. Also, it is important to support the development team that created this amazing product!

Reasons for Switching to Sublime Text

Notepad++ and Sublime Text are great text editors, but we found Notepad++ to have a very old layout and dated. Theming options are also limited on Notepad++ and it also lacks the integrated terminal that Sublime Text has. Since both are free to use, we decided to shift to Sublime Text which solved all our issues with Notepad++ instantly.

October 2020

User Profile Picture

Sanskriti from F1soft International Private Limited

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Sublime Text: A light-weight text editor for smooth coding

Overall, my experience with Sublime Text was great. Since, we deployed sublime text on our desk we are able to solve underlying complexities at coding at ease. We are able to program or write codes for web applications to creating responsive websites, within a single text editor. As it supports multiple languages, we are able to switch between programming language or integrate one with another. Also, I loved the well organized folders tab that has extremely helped us in dealing with each and every files we need at work.

Pros

Sublime text is a pretty cool text editor with an incredibly active package repository. It's light weight and available for multiple platforms i.e. Mac, Linux and Windows. It's an all in one feature-rich editor meant for smooth coding. Going with premium versions, it has lot of integrated features including distraction free writing mode, quick shortcuts, search function, split editing and much more.

Cons

The only cons, I found in this text editor is that- it doesn't support direct installation of theme, extensions or plugins. We need to depend upon other third-party programs or IDE's to get these features. Apart from that, this application has no any further issues.

Reasons for Switching to Sublime Text

Sublime supports third-party package integrations, annotations, shortcut keys and generate automatic code or autocomplete the texts, which is mostly lacking in Notepad++.

October 2020

User Profile Picture

Rob from Robustas Engineering

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Write Between the Lines

Sublime is quite simply the best Text Editor that I've used. It's followed me from MacOS to Ubuntu, and with all the language choices that have come along the way... You can even very quickly turn it into a JavaScript IDE competitor with just a handful of plugins

Pros

Ignore reading between the line; Sublime's ability to contextually understand which language you are coding in saves you the stress, instead offering you the power to simply write! From the syntax highlighting you'd expect from other major IDEs such as Eclipse, or Visual Studio, alongside their ubiquitous autocomplete, you'll be pleasantly surprised with Sublme (the name of the app is sooo apt!). But here's the sweetest part; Sublime is the developer's best friend.... It's plugin friendly, and plugin rich (heck there are even tutorials about how to write your own Sublime plugin). Everything from turning it into a JavaScript powerhouse, to GIT integration, adding language parsers, even adding 'epic sounds' wen you write 'epic code' (https://github.com/Atbox/CodeChampion) With the fact that you can even integrate compilers with Sublime, it's the world's loveliest text editor (which may as well be an IDE).

Cons

If you want and IDE out of the box, go with VSCode or the likes, but in all fairness, I struggle to find anything that I cannot throw at Sublime Text with any real trouble to integrate... It's the gift that keeps giving.

Reasons for Choosing Sublime Text

While Atom may well catch up, Sublime's endless list of plugins make it a hard candidate to beat.

Reasons for Switching to Sublime Text

While Notepad++ was definitely a vast improvement over the standard Windows Notepad, we all grow up.... My first experience in the 90's was writing simple HTML in Notepad, and using Windows, the natural step was from there to Notepad++. The thing is though that once you've delved into the professional coding realm, worked with companies using .Net (and obviously Visual Studio), then continuing into non-compiled scripting languages, then you simply cannot regress back to Notepad ++... You need the big boys toys, the one that'll get the job done quickly, and let you even commit it through GIT in the process.

May 2020

Gerson from Financial Services

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

An Excellent Text Editor

Sublime is an excellent light weight text editor that one could make as heavy as they want with the addition of add-ons and extensions to help make Sublime a go-to daily driver when it comes to wanting a text editor that can be used for hours every day. While I can't use Sublime for every codebase/project, I definitely enjoy using it when I can and not have to fear that I will be getting slowed down.

Pros

The thing I enjoy most about this software is that it allows someone a lot of freedom in what they want. One could keep it a simple text editor, which allows for editing your own code while giving a nice view, but one can also take it as far as they want, with the addition of addons and extensions that can help one’s performance. Addons such as being able to access a server and its files from Sublime have been useful in improving my workflow at home remotely. You also has access to a lot on how Sublime itself acts in terms of the text of said file one is editing such as spacing, autocorrect, etc. You can easily edit not only how Sublime window itself looks but also how the text and classes within the code is displayed and with the help of Sublime's built in-extension one can also getting instant display formatting for a variety of different common coding languages they could end up working with.

Cons

While one can use Sublime right out of the box, doing so one would be missing out a lot in what Sublime offers along with a lot of the different options that make Sublime stand out in comparison to other similar text editors. Getting Sublime to work like how one wants is possible but requires going out of your way to learn the intricacies of Sublime and does require a lot of fine tuning to get to work.

April 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

“Simple and fast text editing software; Sublime Text”

This is an amazing software which I use daily to edit codes and to format them. I like its simplicity and wide range of available functions. I recommend this software as I use this to edit and make my reports. In my opinion, it is the fastest text editing software I ever found, because surprisingly it opens the program quickly just after the click.

Pros

I like its simplicity of usage. As it is the fastest text editing software, the time consuming for a particular task is less and it can be considered as a time-saving software. It supports different varieties of languages in basic code formatting. It displays the highlights of the code by identifying the programming language and its type. It is one of the features that I love to use this software because these highlights are coordinated with colors. Well organized files, low memory usage, flexibility, and quick launching facility are some advantages I noticed in this software. The code suggestion feature and auto-completion feature are very helpful for me to continue my codes. Its infinite plugin options facility and customizability of this software are really amazing features that it has. It has multiple selection abilities to retrieve something without doing it a number of times by saving my time a lot. As Sublime Text software has an ability to open files that are larger than 16MB, I can open my reports as they are usually larger than 16MB.

Cons

Though I noticed a few downsides of this software as overall Sublime Text is the best editing software. It is unable to open two projects at once and it does not have a printing function for the code. The appearance of the troublesome popup message which asks to get the full version is really irritating. I hope Sublime Text would develop without these downsides!

January 2020

Michael from Arch DevOps

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Just enough power to be dangerous

It's been really amazing. I enjoy how easy it is to set up, and our clients do too. When they realize what you can do with what seems like "notepad on steroids" they get pretty excited. It's great that it has the functionality of macros like what vim has, with a nice graphical interface. Plus it's got the inbuilt environment to run scripts right away. I turn to this tool instead of larger IDEs because, frankly, I just wanna get done.

Pros

I like how flexible and lightweight it is. I use it as my main IDE when developing automation for myself or for our clients at Arch DevOps. It's gotten a lot more use from me since I don't have to install larger tool suites just to write some Ruby scripts.

Cons

No fault of Sublime itself but there are some plugins that are a little wonky. I expect from reading about them online that they would work fine but there are compatibility issues, or it's not clearly documented how to use the plugin. And again, it's not the fault of Sublime itself.

Reasons for Switching to Sublime Text

IntelliJ and Eclipse were both such heavyweight IDEs and took a long time to set up and cajole into getting them to behave properly. Since the language I operate most in is Ruby, and the way we write automation is fairly simple, those other IDEs were way too much tool for the job. Notepad was TOO low tech, and Sublime was just right. Another thing I found, and this is gonna sound weird, but deliberately "handicapping" myself by NOT using a full fledged IDE was that I made some really great innovations in the area of software test automation. Not having some of the helps you would normally find in Eclipse and IntelliJ kind of forced me to architect the code better, name things appropriately and simplify things to where we don't have to write much code at all to build out a solution for a client.

December 2019

User Profile Picture

Louis from Captavi

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2019

A customizable IDE for everyday coding

I started using Sublime about 5 years ago. I saw it as an upgrade over notepad/notepad ++. I have enjoyed watching it grow and the features increase. In the last year or two new IDE's have come out. They have massive feature sets, and many are great tools. I have not been able to leave the comfort of Sublime 3. I have attempted to use some of these other massive programs. Only to find them to be a massive bottleneck on some of our older systems/small VM ware instances. I have found it nearly impossible to embrace an alternative as I would not be able to use that alternative in every environment that I work. I am a huge fan of Sublime. I do acknowledge that many new IDE's are making this a highly competitive market. If you need a consistent editing experience. You can literally run Sublime off a thumb drive and carry it everywhere with you! Sublime is the most consistent editor I have used.

Pros

I like that is lightweight. It barely uses resources. It boots in a flash. It is great on multiple OS's. No matter if I am on OSX/Linux/Windows I can have my familiar editing experience with me. It has extensive plugin options. You can customize the software in a flash using the built-in command-line style extension loader.

Cons

The system for installing extensions is great and easy, but it is not robust on features. You need to do your homework outside of sublime to figure out if it is the right extension for you. You also need to consult these outside websites to even get a good picture of what all extension options are out there.

Reasons for Switching to Sublime Text

I liked the look and feel of the UX as well as the customization. During that period (2015 ish) the new features that were being implemented in Sublime were very exciting.

November 2019

ELISIARA from XC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Sublime Text - Super light and convenient text editor

In general is a great text editor, including my favorite, especially for the lightness, because it opens super fast and does not lock during use. In addition to the available features there is the possibility of installing plugins with additional features in this way to further enhance and improve this editor, the only thing I miss very much eg the automatic generation of getters and setters has plugins to assist in this process, but do not automatically generate all the getters and setters you need, but just bring a body for you to complete by entering the correct attribute names you want to get the getters and setters;

Pros

- Lightweight interface, loads the project very quickly; - Leaves the colored text according to the file extension, which makes reading very attractive; - Ability to apply functions by shortcut .: ctrl + p to search by filename; ctrl + s to save; ctrl + / to comment, in which case you still enter the comment according to the file type, where if .sql is -, if .js or .php is //, etc; - Set and save specific text layout and editing preferences in general, such as erasing spaces when saving, editor style and font size, etc; - Allows you to apply various types of search filters: searching all files, only files of a certain length, for a regular expression, and this is very useful as it saves you a lot of time when making bulk selections and edits in project files; - Possibility to edit several lines of code simultaneously. - View in two tabs or more within the same project, being able to see two files side by side; - Identify with markups which file you have edited but not yet saved, when working with GIT this is very useful; - There is the option to install additional features via plugins, and there are several plugins ready with extra features for this editor; - If you started creating a file but did not save it before closing the editor, no problem, because opening it again will still be there, which is very useful when you want to have a draft-only file and notes, and if you want to keep it for a while with the project, but you don't want to save it, because then it no longer

Cons

- Do not open two projects at the same time, when requesting to open a new project the current project is closed; - Has no spell checker; - Okay, it's a text editor, not an IDE, but it could have the capabilities to automatically generate entity getters and setters; - No console for direct interaction with code execution. That's not why I won't stop using it, but it may be a feature that may be available in some future release.

September 2019

Jim from AristaMD

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

A standard for developers.

A great experience. Customized into everything I wanted, had all the tools I needed to edit in a windows environment for deployment into linux.

Pros

There's a ton to love here. Customizable color palette to work in dark, light, colorblind-specific and other preloaded or completely customizable shades. Preloaded LINT tools for most languages means that keywords, variables and branch statements are highlighted with various colors. Excellent and fast find/replace for open files, or, files in a directory you specify. Tons of addons, including my favorite DIFF tool to compare two files. Will save in Linux or windows file formats in case you work on one platform and your code runs in another. Also integrates well with GitHub.

Cons

There is a bit of a learning curve for the advanced features. Sublime can be run as easily as windows notepad, but if you want addons, LINT for unusual languages, or unusual features (vertical select), then it does take a bit of practice to get good with.

Reasons for Choosing Sublime Text

Better features and more stable.

Reasons for Switching to Sublime Text

It's a bit more stable and polished than Notepad++, though it is a purchased product whereas Notepad++ is free.

September 2019

Francisco from Information Technology and Services

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Perfect JavaScript IDE

For coding frontend is the first option, very fast, no high CPU/RAM consuming, so I'm very happy that I discovered 7 years ago and I daily continue using it. I have to say that first time you work with it, you need to install some extensions and configure it in the way you like to work, this can take a few hours, but after that annoying time you will be happy with the performance.

Pros

This tool is not overloading your CPU or RAM. This is one of the biggest problems I see in other IDEs. First time you install it, you can see that design is very simple and the application run very quick. It is easy to find any file or text in all the project with no delay. I like the way the bars are differenciated. Left menu, files opened and the position in the current file at the right left pane. The last is very helpful to have an idea of the size of the code. The base default colors are great so you maybe don't need to adjust a lot, however the visual aspect configuration can be modified with a lot different options. Automatically it is giving different colors to the some special keywords, comnets, statements, parameters... and also you can select these colors. The background in black with such rest of colors is very nice! Also the typography is very clear. The folder structure is not a mess of folders, so you have a small separation between all of them, different icons for the tipe of file and the background is grey to differenciate it from the rest of the screen where you have the code. You can install several plugins but first you need to install the Package Control. Then with Ctrl + Sifht + P, you can start typing the plugin you desire and all them are appearing. Finally it is only needed to select it to be installed. In my case, I'm using it for coding frontend but it is possible to code any kind of programming language.

Cons

I didn't like that the program came with a Package Installer by default and I had to install the Package Control. However in the offitial page everything is documented and well explained. There are a lot of extensions to install so when you are trying to find one it could be good to have a kind of sorting by ranking of best valued.

July 2019

User Profile Picture

Gonzalo from Freelance

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

One of the best text-editors out there

An overall great text-editor, lightweight and easy to use, perfect for developers that want to customize their coding experience.

Pros

I remember the first time I saw Sublime Text installed in the computer of a fellow developer, the black background blew my mind, the interface was sleek and super minimalistic. It's been five years of that day and I am still using it daily. When I need to compare files, search in files or work on multiple files at the same time Sublime is my way to go, the Go to Definition or Anything feature is also super helpful when dealing with big projects. Sublime Text is a dream came true for fans of tweaking their tools, you can customize almost every single aspect of the editor and with an active theme developing community it's hard to get bored of the appearance of your editor. The selection of plugins is huge and you can extend Sublime text to adapt to your needs, frameworks of choice, syntax highlighting and so on. I love the integration with Emmet. Besides that Sublime is cross-platform and lightweight, you can run in seamlessly in not so powerful machines, Linux, Windows, etc. One thing that has saved my day many times is that Sublime will keep the workspace and unsaved files even if my computer crashed or suddenly restarted, I was relieved to find my work done once I opened Sublime again.

Cons

The package control is still not as nice to use as in another text editors when you install a package the progress of it and the successful installation notice are easy to miss (just a tiny text on the bottom bar). The packages bring another problem as well: many of them have been abandoned, are buggy, outdated and can make the editor crash easily. Sublime is a powerful text-editor where you can run your own projects, for Phytonists it's a great deal but it's not a full IDE and you will need many plugins to extend the editor enough to reach some of the basic features on a full IDE. A toolbar could be of great use for people like me that keeps forgetting keyboard shortcuts. One thing that it's quite annoying is the popup asking you to buy the software, being out there so many open-source editors this little annoyance can lead to switching to another tool. Recently I had to work on an Angular 6 project and to use Typescript on Sublime Text and find the needed packages was time consuming and not that easy.

May 2019

User Profile Picture

Elvis from INNOVO pq

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

The most effective, powerful and sophisticated text editor that exists.

Thanks to Sublime Text I can work in my development projects quickly and efficiently allowing me to finish them in record time, recycle code for reuse and modify projects easily increasing my productivity and income.

Pros

With Sublime Text I can create any type of project without limitations of programming language or framework thanks to its thousands of packages available either for website development projects through HTML code or in application projects with PHP, Python or Pearl, I can also work on projects with other languages such as Java, Ruby, MySQL and others, with Sublime I have the ability to move quickly through the documents of the entire project with its "GOTO ANYTHING" function or with the “GOTO DEFINITION" which generates an index of all the classes of the project, also through its multiple selection I can make all the changes I want in different areas of the document at the same time saving me a lot of time, the COMMAND PALETTE allows me to change the syntax automatically just looking for the one I want to navigate through the menus, thanks to its documents division function I can use my screen in an incredible way, allowing me to visualize several files at the same time and compare code or look for possible errors in them, I can also change instantaneously the projects in which I work without complications and without losing progress in which I am closing, It should be noted that Sublime Text is the text editor with the best performance that I have used and it is cross-platform since I can use it on Windows, Mac and Linux. For this and much more the most effective, powerful and sophisticated text editor that exists.

Cons

There is nothing I can say, it is just the best.

January 2019

User Profile Picture

Chiranjib from Nokia Bell Labs

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

The best text editor I have used

I use it everyday to write everything, from random texts for my reports and articles to codes for work.

Pros

Sublime hands down is the best text editor I have ever used. I can speak about its endless features for a day but let's highlight the best ones. - It has the keyboard shortcuts inherited from the classic vim editor. Even one can switch to the vim mode of text editing. - The multi-tab feature (like any browser like google chrome) is very helpful for managing multiple text files. Also it always auto-saves. Saved me a lot of time when the desktop accidentally hanged or my laptop was off due to battery drainage. - The color scheme for multiple programming environments make it a standard IDE for many platforms. The code highlight feature is very helpful. - For the lovers of dark mode or dark screen, this is the text-editor to use. Actually this is the first thing I liked about sublime when I chose it after dumping notepad++ or other editors. - Even codes can be run directly from the editor by connecting the compilers (like gcc or g++) from sublime. - There is a thriving community out there designing cool new themes for sublime. So just download a theme if the look becomes boring! - Finally it is cross-platform! Doesn't matter whether you are in windows, mac or linux, sublime text is free to download and use.

Cons

There is really nothing to dislike except the fact that every time I save a file, there is a pop-up window appearing that that it is a free version and we can pay them to support their development. Although I know this is true, but showing this message everytime is a bit annoying. There are sometimes errors in plugin. So download and install plugins at your own risk. You can always do a fresh installation if things are messed up!

February 2019

User Profile Picture

Nairoby from CANTV

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Lightweight and multiplatform

Pros

It is a recommended text editor for developers, but honestly it is very useful for any user, since you can write plain text, when you press a word, it places all the matches (multi selection), you can have a very long text and the right side There is a mini image of the content that you are making and where you are spatially located. It is very light and easy to install, you can add some features through plugins, you have multiple options to differentiate the code: php, sql, css, html, java among others, it has autocomplete what allows to speed up the work, as well as the option for code blocks between keys or labels, when positioned on one, Sublime highlights the closing or vice versa. For the most demanding, you can change the type of letter and the colors to personalize it, it has a great variety of shortcuts that sometimes are not so easy to remember. You can go typing text and if you close the window by mistake, Sublime opens again with the tab and the content that you had, that is, it keeps, in addition it displays on the left side the content that you have opened and it is very easy to locate, since you can have it saved in different directories but Sublime gives you access to them directly. It is multiplatform, we can install it in windows and linux versions without problem. A wonderful feature is that we can work in one window or up to four and go editing simultaneously.

Cons

- It is not free, but the trial version has no time limitation. - The plugins are not so easy to install and locate, you have to do it through Package Control and follow some steps to make it work.

April 2021

Daniel from Mable

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2021

Sublime Text: The Minimalistic Text Editor

Sublime Text is a great text editor that I use for small projects due to Sublime Text being lightweight and quick to use. I would definitely recommend Sublime Text to anyone who wants a fast, minimalistic text editor that is packed with features

Pros

Many people swear by Sublime Text and it is easy to see why. The general design scheme of Sublime Text is very simple and meets most of my needs. Not only this but the overall program is very quick and lightweight. This means fast loading, compilation, execution times. This also means that Sublime Text is able to handle large files better than other text editors. I have never had Sublime Text crash or freeze on me! There are also other great things about Sublime Text like the auto complete as well as syntax highlighting, both of which are quite valuable. Sublime Text also natively supports a few dozen programming languages and is able to detect problems in real time.

Cons

The settings panel can be a little intimidating for a beginner to use and could definitely get confused easily because it is in a text file. I think that an actual user interface would have made more sense here. Another issue is that Sublime Text is managed by a small team meaning that development is somewhat slow at times.

Reasons for Switching to Sublime Text

I was amazed at how much better Sublime Text's design was and how fast it was. The switch was almost a no brainer!

November 2019

Jordan from Trinamic Digital Solutions

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Sublime is.....sublime

I use it daily for coding of all various types and love it for it's simplicity and wide-band of functionality. I think this is a purists' text editor but I love it for that reason.

Pros

I use Sublime daily and appreciate it for it's simplicity and developer focused UI. On top of the ability to open ANY type of file, the clean code viewer window is just something I've grown to love. With the folder structure on the left and the code 'quick view' pane on the right I can easily flip through projects and folders to get my work done. Also the 'find and replace' functionality is quite thorough and allows me to find anything/everything I need at a moment's notice.

Cons

Can't really say that I have many negative things to say about this software except that I cannot get the automatic update functionality to work in my past 2 windows laptops running windows 10.

Reasons for Switching to Sublime Text

Sublime was MUCH more lightweight while still offering most all of the functionality Komodo was providing to me as far as text-editing goes.

October 2019

User Profile Picture

Rahul from Loginext Solutions PVT LTD

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

One of the best multi use text editor for every individual

Sublime Text is a great tool to have and use. I have been using this tool for more than 4 years. Even if I have other text editor Sublime Text is the one I always have in my system. It's a great tool, you must try this if you haven't used it yet.

Pros

Sublime Text is a great replacement of any other text editor in the market. The best part in sublime text is its black based theme. The multi line editing feature is a saviour. It also support multiple plugins for different programming language which makes it a one stop editor if you are a full stack developer. Multiple plugin for auto-formatting is pretty awesome in Sublime text. The inbuilt feature to rename, add, delete files and folder is great here.

Cons

The global search is not great compared to other text editor. You get some unwanted results also while searching. Downloading plugin is also not a simple task. It can be made more simple for the ease of user for end user.

Reasons for Switching to Sublime Text

The global search is awesome in visual studio and the inbuilt console is also great.

September 2020

MOHAMMAD from Telecommunications Consultants India Ltd

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Sublime-Simplicity is the Best Editor.

It has been my Editor Since 2015, when I switched from Eclipse. Sublime is Simple and easy to code text editor which is best suited for Professional as well as Educational Programmers. With various Themes Binding, I didnot get bored with the Coding Stuffs.

Pros

1. The Built in Packages which comes as a part of Package Control are awesome. 2. The Build-System support for languages is commendable. 3. The Themes and user design is also awesome with adjustable editor and debugger window. 4. The Key bindings for Github, switchings within projects or between projects is easier. 5. Most Suited for Python and C++.

Cons

1. Community Followers for Sublime are decreasing with New Products being launched. 2. Less features included for Functional Programming Languages like Scheme, Ocaml and Haskell.

Reasons for Choosing Sublime Text

As my title says, "Simplicity". As a programmer, you should customise your own editor.

Reasons for Switching to Sublime Text

1. Bored with the Key Bindings. 2. Bored with the Programming Language Java.

December 2019

User Profile Picture

Irfan from DatumSquare IT Services

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Best option to choose as a Text Editor

I'm happy to use Sublime Text because its fast and sometimes you don't need to create projects or open projects to make changes in one or two files. Its best for opening a file and exploring folder.

Pros

- Sublime text is by far the best text editor available with huge support for a number of languages even free version is feature rich - Availability of different color modes is a plus in a simple fast and light weight text editor - Beautiful code highlighting even for full development because if debugging is not needed then folder explorer is the best option to easily navigate between files and work on different projects at the same time - Unlike other text editors Sublime has a full feature text search and great feature to search and replace text in a document - Ability to add third party extension and extend core functionality of Sublime is just an other great feature

Cons

- Would have been great if debugging were available in free version but unfortunately that's not the case. But again sublime text is just a text editor and should not be used as an IDE - If you don't pay then a notification will keep asking you to pay which kinda frustrates sometimes but still software remains usable even if used free version - There are so many active version which is kind of confusing which one to use and which one to leave. - Well for a text editor I must say these cons are acceptable because again it should not be used as an IDE rather should be used as text editor

February 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

A great text editor with great customization options

Very positive. I use it for a lot of text-based needs.

Pros

Sublime Text makes it easy for me to customize it to my specific needs, whether I'm coding, writing, or keeping up with my daily tasks and projects.

Cons

Some of the modules that you can add to the application make it a little hard to use Sublime Text effectively.

Reasons for Choosing Sublime Text

It's easy to use and it has a great network of users who help each other with issues or questions.

Reasons for Switching to Sublime Text

It has a smaller footprint.

March 2021

User Profile Picture

Austin from Google

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2021

A lightweight text editor that is starting to get outclassed

Overall, Sublime is a pleasant text editor, and I had no complaints using it. However, it currently lacks some compelling features provided by other text editors.

Pros

Sublime is pleasant, and it offers all of the basic quality of life features that any software developer would want. Sublime's greatest strength is that it is extremely easy to pick up and start working immediately. The program is intuitive and responsive, and it's an especially good text editor for students.

Cons

Sublime seems to lack some features compared to other text editors geared towards programmers. Namely, Sublime isn't as extensible - lacking an integrated extensions shop and simple APIs. Community-developed extensions can massively improve the functionality of a text editor, so I feel this was a missed opportunity. I also feel Sublime's integrated terminal should be available by default, as it isn't intuitive to discover on your own.

Reasons for Switching to Sublime Text

Sublime is much more lightweight.

November 2018

User Profile Picture

Gharsallaoui from Dot-IT

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

A sublime texte editor

Helpful text editor, very effective in light web projects or browsing files, very fast does not have bugs or crashes generally. May be it would be one of the coolest text editors if it was free.

Pros

- One of the first black background text editors - You can easily change your theme preferences like color, text font etc... - Extremely fast and light, it doesn't require a powerful machine to use it - Almost support all programming language without Updating or adding manually it's Settings. - A big extensions & plugin support that make your coding experience much faster and easier (like auto-completing, Emmett etc. ....) - Keyboard combination binding is so powerful, you can add a full code template within a second - the first text editor that stand out even if you open it 10 times and still be able to work with different files. - Great online support, well documented and can be installed in a very short time.

Cons

- Not a free text editor: unfortunately, all these features come with a price. As a developer, I find this a bit disturbing especially when you see other text editors with the same performance and the advanced features for free!! - You always have to search for how to install plugins and extensions, it's not really clear and sometimes it can be challenging to find the right plugin and how to install it not the classic way. - No auto save as a default feature - Needs a lot of plugins to get it close for an IDE performance or characteristics. - Poor graphic displaying the project folder, console (including the shortcut) - Commenting your code is always disturbing (keyboard shortcut is very unstable) - Updating its preference need to be studied! You feel like you have to be a Sublime Text expert to adjust some features.

January 2021

Aris from POWERPC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

Powerful Text Editor

We are using Sublime Text except from developing new web apps, we use it to mass-edit data from text or SQL files. We would not prefer any other text editor than Sublime Text because of the startup time, its lightweight interface and quick processing times.

Pros

I like the fact that Sublime Text can handle very fast large files without breaking up the main program and getting non responsive. A good example is large XML files or large SQL query files. The most useful feature after Sublime Text plugins, is the command palette. The command palette let's you navigate between functions and files inside an open project/folder, also execute different commands such as create new files etc. Developers who use the bash will find command palette very useful!

Cons

One feature that all the forums are talking about and is missing from Sublime Text is the command prompt integration embedded inside the editor. This would win a lot more time at our work.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Beautiful and flexible code & text editor, but not an IDE

Pros

Sublime sports a beautiful minimalistic user interface, which can be easily personnalized through themes. It is an extremely fast code editor, both in terms of startup time and while running with many files open. It supports all programming and markup languages, from web to C++ to Markdown. Its main strength is its extensibility: plugins can be written in Python to improve or add pretty much any features. There are thousands of plugins providing better support for specific languages, formatting capabilities, etc. It also has built-in support for language-specific and context-aware snippets, which come-in very handy. Navigation between and within source files is extremely efficient using the "command palette", which allows jumping to files, methods, definitions, etc. Fuzzy matching means that file & method names can be typed very partially, while still finding the right thing. Finally, there's recently been the addition of Git and Sublime Merge integration, so that changes are now highlighted and diff can be visualized in place.

Cons

Compared to full-fledged IDEs, or even Visual Studio Code, Sublime Text lacks advanced code intelligence features (e.g. method autocompletion). The autocomplete feature only suggests words that have been written in the current file. I've never found this to be an issue in practice though.

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

A great and lightweight tool to edit the code and text with amazing features.

Sublime Text is great for code editing and formatting , but not ideal for a full on project development. This has some powerful features and does a great job for what its meant to be.

Pros

Sublime text is an easy to use editor which I use almost everyday. It is also fast compared to other editors and it can manage large files without loading the computer and making it stuck. Since. I mainly use this to edit and format my text files, I find the search feature to be very efficient and fast compared to note pad or note++.It is also easily customization where we can have multiple themes, font sizes, fonts etc. as per we like.

Cons

It is not a free software that it has pricing. Its hard to use it for a full project development, but good for simple development works due to lack of features for development.

Reasons for Switching to Sublime Text

Ease of use and Sublime Text handles bigger files easily without making the machine stuck.

October 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

The best lightweight text editor

It has been fantastic to use Sublime. The best part being, it is so lightweight that it works flawlessly even on machines with lesser power

Pros

It provides numerous shortcuts to help drastically increase your productivity and speeds up the time to get the job done. You can install support for various languages and it will help you autocomplete. Along with that it also provides beautiful syntax highlighting (with changeable color schemes). If you spend some time customizing it, you can make it just the way you like it. It also supports a cursor to be placed at multiple places, so that you can write/edit at multiple locations. You should definitely check out the keyboard shortcuts that sublime provides, to help use it better

Cons

It is comparatively difficult to integrate a terminal within sublime and in general not very straightforward to compile code

April 2021

Abhik from Indian Institute of Technology Bombay

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

Most effecient text editor for Programmers and web developers - Sublime Text

Sublime Text Rocks overall. While comparing with competitors, like VS Code or Atom editor, Sublime text wins in its speed. VS Code lags while start. Sublime text has no lagging issue.

Pros

Sublime Text has many shortcuts for easy programming. You can select multiple lines and edit them together. This helps a lot. It shows all references to functions and variables and provides easy navigation.

Cons

I'm facing difficulty while deselecting a single line from multiple selections. I often need to deselect all the tens of line I selected for editing, to remove one selection. There is some complex procedure I found in their forum, but it didn't work easily. Further, there are no ways to integrate any compiler etc.

Reasons for Switching to Sublime Text

Notepad++ is not available for Linux (Ubuntu). Further, the interface is not as good and efficient as Sublime Text.

February 2021

WAQAS from Byco

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Best Text Editor for Coder

Overall experience of using Sublime Text is great. It works great and provides features to cop with many developer related tasks. It organize the code with is easy to read and search and multi cursor are one of my favorite. But in 2021, there are free IDE's like Atom and Visual Studio Code are available which are much better than this and support by big community and lots of plugins and themes available for the masses.

Pros

I love it when use it for the first time. One of the best Text Editor for Developer. One of the best text editor with tons of features. Lots of color scheme options and love the directory tree feature.

Cons

First of all it is not free. You have to paid to use it. In past it is updated frequently but now I think they are on to other things as updates are very less to fix issues. It's loading time is higher compared with other open source text editor of same category.

February 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Non c'è letteralmente limite a ciò che Sublime Text permette di fare

Il mio consiglio a tutti gli sviluppatori Front-End è si passare immediatamente a Sublime Text, ovviamente comprando la licenza Pro. Avranno sotto i polpastrelli un software malleabile e adatto a qualsiasi linguaggio debbano sviluppare. La mia esperienza non potrebbe essere più positiva: affidabile e piacevole da usare, grazie alla sua UI completamente personalizzabile!

Pros

Sono un fan entusiasta di Sublime Text fin dal 2013, quando ho iniziato a sviluppare codice Front End. Letteralmente spazza via i concorrenti, grazie alla sua espandibilità e flessibilità: esiste un plugin o una personalizzazione per praticamente qualsiasi esigenza, e questo dal mio punto di vista è il cardine che lo rende insostituibile. Leggero, veloce e personalizzabile: ho provato tutti i software concorrenti, e li sbaraglia tutti. A livello aziendale non è usato come software ufficiale da tutto il team: io lo utilizzo per qualsiasi esigenza che riguarda la manipolazione del testo.

Cons

L'aspetto più ostico del software è che di base si presenta senza plug-in, la cui ricerca e installazione è completamente a carico dell'utente. Trattandosi di un software rivolto al mondo dello sviluppo software, ciò non dovrebbe rappresentare però un ostacolo, dato che l'espansione del software si attua con direttive simili al linguaggio JSON.

October 2019

User Profile Picture

Aymane from Aymsou

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Sublime Text Review - From my Best Editors

- I working with sublime text for over three years, so i do a lot of projects with it. i use it because it's fast on launch, also i use another editor as an IDE but not all times.

Pros

- Multi selection feature (I found it only in sublime text) - Native editor and works perfectly on windows and mac - Recording Macros - Saving Macros - Split selection into lines - Convert case made easy with sublime text - Install/Browse packages easily - Expanding selection - User Interface Exact same on windows and mac - Paste and indent (Helpful for python) - Very Fast - Goto functionality - Projects functionality - Snippets made easy with sublime text - Quick and easy to write code - Command Palette (I use it for python compile and run) - Display code in different colors and fonts (but not easy to change it)

Cons

- Templates little - Arabic and UTF-8 language not working perfectly - Find on folder not getting all results - Fonts and color schemes not changing Easy - No debugging - Just a text editor (Not and IDE) - doesn't have more documentations and tutorials - Needs to install extra plugins to get full features on it - Package control sometimes not working (Infinite Progress) - GOTO Line sometimes not working

Reasons for Choosing Sublime Text

- Native Software for all platforms, it's native so it's fast in use

May 2021

Gabriel from Accenture

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

A robust text editor I used for years

Pros

The UI is very polished, this is the first pretty text editor I used. It was my first encounter with a command palette, which greatly increases the productivity when coding. This editor was my daily driver for a good 5 years.

Cons

Fixes and features are not released that often. Since this is a proprietary tool, its development is limited to a small team working exclusively for Sublime Text. There is also no way to audit its security, which is very important if I'm connecting it to a private version control repository. In the end, not being open source is what drove me away from it.

Reasons for Switching to Sublime Text

I never liked Notepad++ interface, which looks like classic Windows applications. There were plugins, but a lot were hit and miss.

September 2019

David from Flywheel

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Lightweight, simple, sleek code editor with lots of plugins available and the best thing its free!

Great simple, sleek, lightweight code editor. I use it on a Mac with a few plugins installed which include a plugin to help format CSV documents, as well as another to help prettify JS,CSS,HTML code.

Pros

Product doesn't appear to use a lot of cpu or memory, is lightweight and does a great job as a simple code editor. It has all of the basics like Syntax highlighting for multiple programming languages, has the ability to install additional plugins for extra functionality (ie. like re-formatting code / pretty print code, Vim shortcuts, etc) and my favourite advanced functionality is the ability to multi-select text/edit/add/remove text in a document (ie. select the last word on a number of lines in your document, remove that word and add some new text).

Cons

Small learning curve to get to know some of the shortcuts - but definitely worth the while and will help speed your code editing. Please learn how to use the multi-select functionality as it is super powerful - Here is how Sublime pitches that functionality on their site - "Make ten changes at the same time, not one change ten times. Multiple selections allow you to interactively change many lines at once, rename variables with ease, and manipulate files faster than ever."

December 2018

User Profile Picture

Bhavin from OpenXcell ( CMMI Level 3 )

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Code your thoughts into Sublime

The overall experience with Sublime Text is very nice. Majority of the tasks to write , manage and deploy the code get completed with the help of Sublime Text. If you are familiar with Sublime Text 2 then Sublime Text 3 is not unknown and hard to use.

Pros

The best thing which I like about Sublime Text is , light weight and easy to install. Apart from that It is super fast in terms of coding and syntax error. The second thing is, you can integrate your git setup with Sublime Text using command palette and a package name "git savvy". Every developer has his/her own way to code the project. For that Sublime Text provides UI tweakability which helps developer to be in thier desired environment. Sublime Text has enough support for buffer completion where you don't need to remember word or syntax for your code. You just write the starting characters of the word and if your word or syntax appears then select that element and hit Enter and there you go !

Cons

It is not a full IDE(Integrated Development Environment). It has poor language inadequete support for Linux. Though it starts withing 2 seconds but it takes time to load bigger files in windows. It has not toolbar. A prompt box of "purchasing" appears while you write the code and save the file. Sometimes it get crashed due to poor quality plugins. For Scripting languages like Typescript, Javascript , Sublime is not a good choice.

August 2019

User Profile Picture

Román Josué from Agile Solutions

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

A great text editor for Data Scientists!

Great experience with Sublime text, and highly recommend it if you are working in Data Science or Machine Learning.

Pros

When I entered the world of Data Science, I had a hard time trying to find a good text editor for my purpose: edit code, and explore CSV files with the same tool. Sublime text was the answer to my personal request. It allows me to open huge CSV or plain text files and explore them in no time, I can search through them, replace text, and much more. In addition, I can edit both R and Python code with ease thanks to Sublime Text.

Cons

I don't like that Visual Basic is not recognized yet. I use it a lot also as Excel is a vital tool for my data analytics task.

Reasons for Switching to Sublime Text

I couldn't load huge CSV files and work with them efficiently

January 2021

Samantha from ANREV

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2021

Sublime runs very fast, does not hog memory or CPU, and has tons of useful shortcuts for code edits.

It's still a great software and I still use it everyday. Except I start noticing that the community seems to be dying (due to the birth of VS code). Packages are outdated, and sometimes they just don't quite work well and there isn't much of an alternative.

Pros

The shortcuts, and core features are very useful. It makes code and text editing extremely efficient. It is also very memory / cpu efficient, runs very fast.

Cons

The project configuration and build system can be quite limiting sometimes. I try to automate things and lint my code based on nature of each projects, and I run into limitations which I have to either find a workaround, or give up on it.

Reasons for Switching to Sublime Text

Sublime has more features and help me with productiity with code editing.

March 2020

User Profile Picture

Tigran from Information Technology and Services

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

Sublime, simple.

Overall it's a one of the best code editing software I've used and can strongly recommend to developers.

Pros

Sublime is one of the fastest coding software in the world. It has simple usage, has a lot of libraries contributed by community.It very ease to use not only for python dev, because it's written in python and has defaults in it, but also for web developers.

Cons

Because this software is one of the best it's hard to mention any serious cons that has sublime but very scarcely it crashes with memory issues and it does not have history keeper like more big IDEs like WebStorm.

Reasons for Choosing Sublime Text

It's the recommended in that time and has larger community than others.

Reasons for Switching to Sublime Text

It worked more light than NetBeans

November 2018

User Profile Picture

Muhammad from Protege Global

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2018

This is the best software that people do in the developer

If I have my experience, do the lion express with almost almost what I have with Rhinestabout Thread, and I'm very happy if they're comfortable, they're freelancer and instead of other software like Notepad Plus Plus. And if the software is a bit smaller if we see it, it is slightly higher, but instead of seeing the editor of the toe, it is the best thing in the light that I have to say that this molecular And so advanced editor, however, is not yet seen so I would tell everyone that whatever is a developer who also has programming field If they belong to them, they are saying that same person as saying. Thanks

Pros

This is a very good software that people programming, whose life is available, with timed relays, I will try to lie to this software, stand out the same editor as a very great platform because it's how Its interface is very easy Joseph is fondly and is quite useful. For them, I would say that you are all doing this and I have a single program on their own, so I decided to marry was lying and I am quite a friendly lot and read this.

Cons

I should be that the bus taking him to death a little advance Let the rest, including almost all point to the possible fine and in my view if it is left to be made this editor made another death for the user that will see if it is really great.

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

SublimeText is the ultimate text editor

It is 24/7 open in my computer, I use it to make annotations and do simple text processing, which is great.

Pros

It is highly extensible and by default has incredible functionalities, the one I felt in love at first sight is being able to select all similar words by just pressing a hotkey. It is also super fast and has the hot exit feature, so you don't lose your work even if the program is closed by accident.

Cons

At first I tried to use it for more heavy programming and one thing that made me switch to another tool for this specific use was that the file explorer was very limited at that time.

Reasons for Switching to Sublime Text

I like to know what is popular among development tools and Sublime Text kept being recommended by users.

February 2021

User Profile Picture

Emon from ICT Solution Point

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

" Sublime Text: A standard code editor. ''

My overall experience with Sublime Text has been great till now... It is a right choice for the programmers.

Pros

Sublime Text is a super lightweight software. Is is fast and stable. When you click on Sublime Text , it loads almost instantaneously. Sublime Text can easily handle large files.There are no performance issues at all. Sublime Text supports many programming and markup languages and functions can be added with plugins. Sublime Text has minimap features, which is petty cool. It also has powerful search option.

Cons

Sublime Text is a great software but not always beginner friendly and after using a limited time you have to buy licenses for using Sublime Text.

May 2019

User Profile Picture

Alex Danilo from Information Technology and Services

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Subime Text

Pros

Sublime text is a great tool for a software developer, having a friendly interface, that you can customize, easy to use for new users. Also, has convenient features, that allow you to split the screen on Layouts (columns and rows) for maximize the space on your screen and make easy work on two or more files at the same time. Furthermore, Sublime-Text is lightweight, fast, and has updates periodically, that assert the constant improvement of this tool. Moreover, it is very flexible, you can install several plugins e.g. Semantic highlights, code's beautifiers, and format tools. This helps you to have a nice, clear, and clean code. Also, Sublime takes care of your code, it saves the last version your changes even if you have forgotten to save properly or if you PC turn-off suddenly.

Cons

Sublime is a good choice for software developers, but you will be forced to use plugins to improve its functionality. The clean Sublime is very basic for developers daily actions; so for integration with external repositories(Git) allowing you to compare code version, pull, and put your commits, you need to use Sublime Merge.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 913 reviews